Notebookcheck

Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5 Laptop Preview

J. Simon Leitner (translated by Mark Riege), 11/05/2017

Who invented it? To recognize similarities to the Apple design language in other manufacturers has become a tradition by now. The inhibition threshold for this is particularly low in the Chinese brands. With the Mi Notebook Pro, Xiaomi follows Apple's MacBook Pro, at least in terms of the looks. At a price below 1000 Euros (~$1160), the device offers an attractive package with a quad-core CPU, dedicated graphics card, and pleasing aluminum case. But what is behind the exterior?

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a loyal reader of notebookcheck? Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team!

Especially wanted: 
German-English-Translator - Details here
Review Editor - 
Details here
News Editor - Details here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro

For the original German review, see here.

To mention it right away: The Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro is currently not (yet?) available in the German market, but you can purchase or import it through Chinese shops. However, then you have to deal with the concerns when importing hardware from China (risks, warranty, custom duties, etc.).

The Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro is a slim multimedia notebook covered completely in aluminum. At a thickness of 16 mm (~0.63 in) and a weight of less than 2 kg (4.4 lb), it aims to compete directly against high-end racers such as Apple's MacBook Pro 15, Asus' Zenbook UX550, or the Dell XPS 15, in particular with its design. Our test unit comes into our test lab equipped with an Intel i5-8250U with four native cores together with a Geforce MX150 graphics solution by Nvidia, as well as 8 GB of RAM and a 256-GB SSD. The online price is about 900 Euros (~$1044), any import costs such as duties and taxes not included. (It will be available in the US starting from $860.)

We share our first impressions and measurements in the following preview article. Our test will be expanded and completed in the following days.

Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5 (Mi Notebook Series)
Graphics adapter
NVIDIA GeForce MX150 (Laptop GT 1030) - 2048 MB, Core: 1252 MHz, Memory: 5010 MHz, GDDR5, 388.00, Optimus
Memory
16384 MB 
, DDR4 2400MHz
Display
15.6 inch 16:9, 1920x1080 pixel 141 PPI, no, BOE0747 NV156FHM-N61, IPS LED, glossy: yes
Mainboard
Intel Kaby Lake-U iHDCP 2.2 Premium PCH
Storage
Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP, 256 GB 
, 256 GB SSD
Soundcard
Intel Kaby Lake-U/Y PCH - High Definition Audio
Connections
4 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 0 USB 3.1 Gen2, 1 HDMI, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm headphone combo port, Card Reader: SD-card reader (SD/SDHC/SDXC) , 1 Fingerprint Reader
Networking
Intel 8265 Tri-Band WiFi (Oak Peak) Network Adapter (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 4.1
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 15 x 360 x 244 ( = 0.59 x 14.17 x 9.61 in)
Battery
60 Wh, 8000 mAh Lithium-Polymer
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
Camera
Webcam: 1MP camera 1280×720
Primary Camera: 1 MPix
Additional features
Speakers: dual speaker, Harman Infinity customized, 2x 2.5 W, Keyboard: chiclet, Keyboard Light: yes, USB Type-C charger, 12 Months Warranty
Released
10/01/2017
Weight
1.95 kg ( = 68.78 oz / 4.3 pounds), Power Supply: 200 g ( = 7.05 oz / 0.44 pounds)
Price
900 Euro

 

Below is a detailed test video of the Mi Pro by TechTablets.com (in English). You can find the complete review here.

Case

As many of its role models, Xiaomi's Mi Notebook Pro also has an aluminum case. The case is visually pleasing overall, only the display lid looks a little bland without any logo. Xiaomi calls the color of its aluminum racer "Deep Gray," which is quite similar to the "Space Gray" of the Californians in our comparison. The stability and haptic are also compelling. The differences to much more expensive models only become obvious in the details, such as the bottom edge of the case which turns out to be slightly too sharp on the sides. This can for example be explained by the case construction. Xiaomi is not using a unibody concept here, but works with form-pressed metal plates on a magnesium frame inside. However, considering the price range in which the Mi Pro notebook competes, the result is impressive. 

Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro

Size Comparison

At a weight of about 2 kg (~4.4 lb) and a case thickness of 16 mm (~0.63 in), the Mi Pro laptop is one of the thinner, yet heavier models in our comparison field. Dell's XPS 15 is about 100 grams (~0.22 lb) heavier, and Apple's current completely redesigned MacBook Pro is almost 200 g (~0.44 lb) lighter and about 1 mm (~0.04 in) thinner. If you compare the XPS 15 with the current MacBook Pro 15, it becomes clear that the Dell XPS is already desperately waiting for an update, since by now the racer has become too thick and heavy in comparison. There are first rumors speaking about an update of the XPS series for the coming CES 2018. Dell XPS 13: Neues Design wird wohl nächstes Jahr kommenHowever, thanks to the slim Infinity-Edge display bezels, the advantages of the other dimensions of the XPS 15 still remain. 

Connections

On the left side, the Xiaomi Mi Pro offers one HDMI-Port, two USB 3.0 connections, and a 3.5 mm port for a headset. On the right side, we can find two two Type-C connections far in the back, one of which is also used for charging the device. Although charging is only possible through that port, unfortunately this is also the port that can be used for a high-resolution monitor (Displayport). In the test we were able to connect a Dell U3415W with 3440x1440 pixels at 60 Hz. In this case, you would need an adapter to charge it at the same time.
According to Xiaomi, the Type-C ports are Gen. 1 connections with a transfer rate of 1.5 GB/s. In our test, we were annoyed about the distribution of the ports (no Type-A USB ports on the right side) and about the fact that the two USB Type-C ports are not similar and cannot both be used for charging or connecting a display. 

SD Card Reader

Positive: The notebook offers a full-size card reader. However, the observed transfer rates are very low in comparison. 

SDCardreader Transfer Speed
average JPG Copy Test (av. of 3 runs)
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
(Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
120.5 MB/s ∼100% +463%
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
(Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
77.4 MB/s ∼64% +262%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
21.4 MB/s ∼18%
maximum AS SSD Seq Read Test (1GB)
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
(Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
252.6 MB/s ∼100% +1352%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
17.4 MB/s ∼7%

Communication

In the test, the WiFi transfer rates were satisfactory, even if they do not quite reach the values of the competitors. Compared to the other devices with the same WiFi module (Intel 8265 Tri-Band WiFi) we tested, the Xiaomi Mi Pro places in the bottom quarter. Probably the antennas were not placed optimally in the device.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
Broadcom BCM15700A2 802.11ac
949 MBit/s ∼100% +62%
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
Killer Wireless-n/a/ac 1535 Wireless Network Adapter
648 MBit/s ∼68% +11%
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
594 MBit/s ∼63% +2%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
Intel 8265 Tri-Band WiFi (Oak Peak) Network Adapter
585 MBit/s ∼62%
Huawei MateBook X
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
520 MBit/s ∼55% -11%
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
Intel 8265 Tri-Band WiFi (Oak Peak) Network Adapter
409 MBit/s ∼43% -30%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
Broadcom BCM15700A2 802.11ac
845 MBit/s ∼100% +79%
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
Intel 8265 Tri-Band WiFi (Oak Peak) Network Adapter
661 MBit/s ∼78% +40%
Huawei MateBook X
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
644 MBit/s ∼76% +37%
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
Killer Wireless-n/a/ac 1535 Wireless Network Adapter
529 MBit/s ∼63% +12%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
Intel 8265 Tri-Band WiFi (Oak Peak) Network Adapter
471 MBit/s ∼56%
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
377 MBit/s ∼45% -20%

Maintenance

At the bottom, you can find 8 Torx-TX5 screws, which can easily be removed with the corresponding screw driver. There is also a 9th screw hidden underneath the central rubber foot in the back. We also needed a plastic leverage tool to loosen the bottom plate from its anchoring without damaging it.
Inside, you can see the screwed-in battery, and access to the fan and the inserted SSD is also possible. We are a little surprised to find another M.2 slot which is unoccupied and an area on the main board labeled as "WLAN LTE 4G" which is also unoccupied. For testing purposes, we insert a Samsung PM951 NVMe SSD with 256 GB into the unoccupied M.2 slot and start the device. The additional storage is recognized immediately and works flawlessly. Thus you can equip the Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro very cheaply with a large storage capacity on your own. You can find more information on the storage performance in the Performance section. 

Nine TX5 screws have to be removed...
Nine TX5 screws have to be removed...
...to gain access to the built-in components, ...
...to gain access to the built-in components, ...
... such as the PCIe SSD.
... such as the PCIe SSD.
There is also an additional M.2 slot, ...
There is also an additional M.2 slot, ...
... into which you can simply insert additional storage.
... into which you can simply insert additional storage.
An LTE modem is not offered, but is included in the board-layout.
An LTE modem is not offered, but is included in the board-layout.

Input Devices

Keyboard

In terms of the looks, without a doubt you can see similarities between the built-in keyboard and the well-known devices from California. However, there are big differences in the typing experience. For example the stroke of the individual keys, which are arranged in chiclet style and have a concave surface, is comparatively large. Xiaomi specifies the stroke at 1.5 mm (~0.06 in). Subjectively, the pressure point and resistance are well adjusted, and typing on the keyboard immediately succeeds without any problems.

Touchpad

Xiaomi has equipped the Mi Pro notebook with an ample-sized touchpad of 8.4 x 12.8 cm (3.3 x 5 in). Due to the high scratch-resistance in the test, this is probably a pad with a glass surface. The haptic experience can be called excellent. The finger always slides across the pad flawlessly, and even multitouch gestures work well. The only negative: a fingerprint reader inserted in the right top area of the touchpad mars the otherwise flawless experience. Because of the way it is constructed, mechanical clicks can be triggered easily only in the bottom half of the touchpad. The haptic and acoustic feedback turns out very good. Perhaps the force needed for this might be a tad too high for some users. However, at this point we can form a positive overall impression of the offered input devices.

Display

The built-in 15.6-inch panel has a resolution of 1920x1080 pixels (Full HD). The display sharpness can be described as sufficient, but with a density of 141 pixels per inch, the panel cannot keep up with the crisp images we are used from smartphones. Our measurements of the display with the model number BOE0747 NV156FHM-N61 provide basically good results. The brightness is almost 300 cd/m and the maximum contrast ratio a good 925:1 (black/white). The brightness distribution only lags slightly in the left bottom quarter of the display, but this does not result in any visual effects.

293
cd/m²
298
cd/m²
296
cd/m²
281
cd/m²
296
cd/m²
292
cd/m²
265
cd/m²
284
cd/m²
286
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1 Display
Maximum: 298 cd/m² Average: 287.9 cd/m² Minimum: 5.9 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 89 %
Center on Battery: 277 cd/m²
Contrast: 925:1 (Black: 0.32 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 4.3 | - Ø
ΔE Greyscale 3 | - Ø
86.86% sRGB (Argyll) 56.83% AdobeRGB 1998 (Argyll)
Gamma: 2.1
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
BOE0747 NV156FHM-N61, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
APPA031, , 2880x1800, 15.4
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
CMN15E8 (N156HCE-EN1), , 1920x1080, 15.6
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
3840x2160, 15.6
Apple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz
APPA027, , 2304x1440, 12
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
INNOLUX N156HGA-EAB, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Huawei MateBook X
Chi Mei CMN8201 / P130ZDZ-EF1, , 2160x1440, 13.3
Response Times
149%
19%
-44%
12%
28%
30%
Response Time Grey 50% / Grey 80% *
47.9 (22.4, 25.5)
48 (23.6, 24.4)
-0%
38.8 (20.4, 18.4)
19%
57.2 (27.2, 30)
-19%
41.2 (15.6, 25.6)
14%
44 (25, 19)
8%
33 (15, 18)
31%
Response Time Black / White *
33.7 (19.2, 14.5)
33.8 (19.6, 14.2)
-0%
27.2 (14.8, 12.4)
19%
39.2 (23.6, 15.6)
-16%
30.4 (6.8, 23.6)
10%
13 (10, 3)
61%
24 (12, 12)
29%
PWM Frequency
21800 (99)
119000 (80, 210)
446%
25910 (20)
19%
961.5
-96%
25000 (30)
15%
Screen
29%
-5%
1%
12%
-36%
14%
Brightness
288
523
82%
313
9%
356
24%
358
24%
224
-22%
395
37%
Brightness Distribution
89
86
-3%
83
-7%
87
-2%
88
-1%
85
-4%
88
-1%
Black Level *
0.32
0.44
-38%
0.27
16%
0.37
-16%
0.47
-47%
0.48
-50%
0.45
-41%
Contrast
925
1239
34%
1241
34%
1000
8%
823
-11%
515
-44%
907
-2%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
4.3
1.6
63%
4.7
-9%
5.3
-23%
1.6
63%
5.39
-25%
1.55
64%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
3
1.9
37%
5.8
-93%
4.6
-53%
1
67%
5.25
-75%
1.91
36%
Gamma
2.1 114%
2.26 106%
2.06 117%
2.31 104%
2.26 106%
2.48 97%
2.34 103%
CCT
7100 92%
6834 95%
6518 100%
6284 103%
6680 97%
7609 85%
6491 100%
Color Space (Percent of AdobeRGB 1998)
56.83
58.7
3%
88.3
55%
61.6
8%
38
-33%
61
7%
Color Space (Percent of sRGB)
86.86
90.1
4%
100
15%
82.2
-5%
60
-31%
96
11%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
89% / 69%
7% / 1%
-22% / -11%
12% / 12%
-4% / -18%
22% / 17%

* ... smaller is better

At a DeltaE of 4.3 and 3, the color and grayscale reproduction is sufficient in the delivery state. A slight shift towards the blue color space is noticeable with the naked eye. After calibration with our photo spectrometer, the average deviation of the Grayscales to sRGB is an excellent 0.7 DeltaE. The ColorChecker result can also profit minimally and is reduced to a DeltaE of 3.1. The icm color profile of the calibrated display is linked in the box with the measured values.

Grayscales in the delivery state
Grayscales in the delivery state
ColorChecker in the delivery state
ColorChecker in the delivery state
Grayscales after calibration
Grayscales after calibration
ColorChecker after calibration
ColorChecker after calibration

The observed reaction times are within the usual range for the display technology used. We also determined that PWM is used for controlling brightness beginning from a reduction to 99% of the brightness. However, at 21.8 KHz, the frequency is extremely high, so that we do not expect any effects on the user.

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
33.7 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 19.2 ms rise
↘ 14.5 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 86 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (26.6 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
47.9 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 22.4 ms rise
↘ 25.5 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 77 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (42.5 ms).

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 21800 Hz99 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 21800 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 99 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 21800 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 55 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9238 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 247500) Hz was measured.

Performance

The selection of configurations offered by Xiaomi is limited. The Mi Pro can either be equipped with the current Intel i5-8250U or the i7-8550U, which are two native ULV quad-core processors with a TDP of 15 W, as well as with either 8 or 16 GB of working memory. The model with 16 GB of RAM requires the selection of the i7 CPU. In terms of the graphics, there is always a dedicated Nvidia Geforce MX150 with 2 GB of GDDR5 graphics storage. It is interesting that Xiaomi currently only offers an SSD with 256 GB, even though there are two M.2 slots. However, an upgrade on your own with suitable tools is not a problem.

Processor

Xiaomi already uses the newest, 8th generation of Intel processors in the Mi Notebook Pro. The performance of the i5-8250U in our test unit does not stand out in our comparison field. In the decision on the i5 or i7, the clock speed of the two chips is the deciding factor. While the i5 has a clock speed between 1.6 and 3.4 GHz, the i7 ranges between 1.8 and 4.0 GHz. This enables faster operations particularly in single-threaded applications. In the Cinebench R15 single test, our comparison chart shows an advantage of about 20% for the i7. In the multi-core test, the differences are negligible, since here it mainly depends on the cooling solution how well the developing heat can be diffused.
It is interesting that in the comparison with the well-liked i7-7700HQ 45W-TDP CPUs, which are often used in high-end multimedia notebooks (MacBook Pro 15, XPS 15, ZenBook UX550,...), the latter is still ahead by 20-30% in the multi-core test, while the results of the single-core test are very close together, depending on the device. Thanks to the high possible clock speeds, the new i7-8550U may win here.
The i7-7500U, which is often used in slim notebooks until now, has about the same performance during single-core load, but remains behind by a full 40% in the multi-core test. Here the new native quad-core chip can fully use its advantage. 

Cinebench R15
CPU Single 64Bit
Lenovo Yoga 920-13IKB-80Y7
Intel Core i7-8550U
170 Points ∼100% +17%
Razer Blade Stealth QHD i7-8550U
Intel Core i7-8550U
164 Points ∼96% +13%
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
157 Points ∼92% +8%
Huawei MateBook D
Intel Core i7-7500U
149 Points ∼88% +3%
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
148 Points ∼87% +2%
Acer Spin 5 SP513-52N-566U
Intel Core i5-8250U
145 Points ∼85% 0%
Acer Swift 3 SF315-51G-57E5
Intel Core i5-8250U
145 Points ∼85% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
Intel Core i5-8250U
145 (min: 144.66) Points ∼85%
Dell XPS 13 9360-4764
Intel Core i7-7500U
142 Points ∼84% -2%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
735 Points ∼100% +28%
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
724 Points ∼99% +26%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
Intel Core i5-8250U
576 (min: 544.28) Points ∼78%
Lenovo Yoga 920-13IKB-80Y7
Intel Core i7-8550U
576 Points ∼78% 0%
Acer Swift 3 SF315-51G-57E5
Intel Core i5-8250U
560 Points ∼76% -3%
Acer Spin 5 SP513-52N-566U
Intel Core i5-8250U
543 Points ∼74% -6%
Acer Spin 5 SP513-52N-566U
Intel Core i5-8250U
538 (min: 467.61) Points ∼73% -7%
Razer Blade Stealth QHD i7-8550U
Intel Core i7-8550U
521 (min: 508.92) Points ∼71% -10%
Huawei MateBook D
Intel Core i7-7500U
343 Points ∼47% -40%
Dell XPS 13 9360-4764
Intel Core i7-7500U
337 Points ∼46% -41%
Cinebench R15 CPU Single 64Bit
145 Points
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64Bit
576 Points
Cinebench R15 OpenGL 64Bit
93.96 fps
Cinebench R15 Ref. Match 64Bit
99.62 %
Help

As usual, we also look at the performance of the CPU in the duration test. In our Cinebench R15 multi loop, the results are already by about 5% lower after the first measurement and then remain on this level. So during constant load scenarios, you should expect a slightly lower performance.

0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510520530540550560570580Tooltip
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64 Bit

System Performance

In the PCMark benchmark comparison, our current configuration of the Xiaomi Mi Pro notebook (i5-8250U, 8 GB) places in the middle of the field of the current multimedia racers. The combination of quad-core ULV CPU, entry to mid-level graphics, and fast PCIe SSD is a solid platform for the productive and creative use of the notebook. Possible usage scenarios include image and video processing and gaming with adjusted settings, in addition to simple office tasks and web surfing.

PCMark 8
Work Score Accelerated v2
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 7700HQ, Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP
5028 (min: 5001) Points ∼100% +6%
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 7700HQ, Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
4934 Points ∼98% +4%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
GeForce MX150, 8250U, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
4746 Points ∼94%
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
Radeon Pro 555, 7700HQ, Apple SSD SM0256L
4648 Points ∼92% -2%
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 7700HQ, Lite-on CX2-8B512-Q11 NVMe SSD
4422 Points ∼88% -7%
Home Score Accelerated v2
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 7700HQ, Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP
4207 (min: 4206) Points ∼100% +12%
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
Radeon Pro 555, 7700HQ, Apple SSD SM0256L
4054 Points ∼96% +8%
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 7700HQ, Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
3833 Points ∼91% +2%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
GeForce MX150, 8250U, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
3766 Points ∼90%
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 7700HQ, Lite-on CX2-8B512-Q11 NVMe SSD
3588 Points ∼85% -5%
PCMark 8 Home Score Accelerated v2
3766 points
PCMark 8 Creative Score Accelerated v2
5354 points
PCMark 8 Work Score Accelerated v2
4746 points
Help

Storage Solution

Xiaomi's specifications on the SSD used are a little confusing: "256 GB PCIe × 4 NVMe SSD, maximum read speed of 1.5 GBs." Yes, the built-in Samsung PM961 is indeed a very fast PCIe SSD, but its speed is reduced in the Mi Pro. In our tests, we measure a maximum read speed of 1838 MB in the Crystal Diskmark 5.2. This is more than Xiaomi specifies, but it is much less than the storage is capable of. We have seen the Samsung PM961 with read speeds of above 3000 MB/s in various other notebooks in our tests.
The second, unoccupied M.2 slot probably has an identical connection (x2 lanes), and a PM951 we inserted for the test offered typical test results according to the high fill rate of 95% of the test unit. 

Samsung PM961 256 GB included in the delivery
Samsung PM961 256 GB included in the delivery
Our own addition: Samsung PM951 256 GB (95% fill grade)
Our own addition: Samsung PM951 256 GB (95% fill grade)
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
Apple SSD SM0256L
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
Lenovo Yoga 920-13IKB-80Y7
Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
CrystalDiskMark 5.2
16%
40%
-53%
32%
Write 4K
150
86.72
-42%
187.02
25%
82.77
-45%
142.1
-5%
Read 4K
36
23.33
-35%
48.96
36%
25.89
-28%
44.19
23%
Write Seq
1057
1473.23
39%
1378.45
30%
413.3
-61%
1112
5%
Read Seq
1074
1571.73
46%
1877.57
75%
493.8
-54%
1884
75%
Write 4K Q32T1
429
470.54
10%
515.99
20%
245.1
-43%
747.3
74%
Read 4K Q32T1
441
572.52
30%
583.14
32%
213.5
-52%
446.8
1%
Write Seq Q32T1
1283
1546
20%
1586.6
24%
430.7
-66%
1255
-2%
Read Seq Q32T1
1838
2993.4
63%
3266.5
78%
525.2
-71%
3400
85%
Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
Sequential Read: 1260 MB/s
Sequential Write: 1241 MB/s
512K Read: 1039 MB/s
512K Write: 827 MB/s
4K Read: 60 MB/s
4K Write: 154 MB/s
4K QD32 Read: 526 MB/s
4K QD32 Write: 435 MB/s

Graphics Card

The Nvidia Geforce MX150 graphics card used in the Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro is an independent graphics chip of the entry-to-mid-level. It tops the 3D performance of the integrated Intel UHD Graphics 620 by a full 150%, and even the sometimes still used Geforce 940MX can be beaten by about 50% in the 3DMark 11. However, your expectations in terms of 3D performance and games should not be too high. A Geforce GTX 1050 adds about another 75% performance on top of the MX150, and a GTX 1060, which is recommended as entry into the gaming world, more than triples the 3DMark result of the MX150.

3DMark 11 - 1280x720 Performance GPU
Razer Blade (2017)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), Intel Core i7-7700HQ
13870 Points ∼100% +226%
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), Intel Core i7-7700HQ
7461 (min: 7273) Points ∼54% +75%
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
AMD Radeon Pro 555, Intel Core i7-7700HQ
5185 Points ∼37% +22%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
NVIDIA GeForce MX150 (Laptop GT 1030), Intel Core i5-8250U
4252 Points ∼31%
Lenovo ThinkPad 25
NVIDIA GeForce 940MX, Intel Core i7-7500U
2849 Points ∼21% -33%
Apple MacBook Pro 13 2017
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640, Intel Core i5-7360U
2379 (min: 2355) Points ∼17% -44%
Razer Blade Stealth QHD i7-8550U
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i7-8550U
1675 Points ∼12% -61%
Acer Spin 5 SP513-52N-566U
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1653 Points ∼12% -61%
3DMark
1920x1080 Fire Strike Graphics
Razer Blade (2017)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), Intel Core i7-7700HQ
10853 Points ∼100% +233%
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), Intel Core i7-7700HQ
6074 Points ∼56% +86%
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), Intel Core i7-7700HQ
6032 (min: 6004) Points ∼56% +85%
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
AMD Radeon Pro 555, Intel Core i7-7700HQ
3721 Points ∼34% +14%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
NVIDIA GeForce MX150 (Laptop GT 1030), Intel Core i5-8250U
3263 Points ∼30%
Lenovo ThinkPad 25
NVIDIA GeForce 940MX, Intel Core i7-7500U
2340 Points ∼22% -28%
Apple MacBook Pro 13 2017
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640, Intel Core i5-7360U
1541 (min: 1484) Points ∼14% -53%
Acer Spin 5 SP513-52N-566U
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1124 Points ∼10% -66%
1280x720 Cloud Gate Standard Graphics
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), Intel Core i7-7700HQ
37128 (min: 36802) Points ∼100% +112%
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), Intel Core i7-7700HQ
31274 Points ∼84% +78%
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
AMD Radeon Pro 555, Intel Core i7-7700HQ
22624 Points ∼61% +29%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
NVIDIA GeForce MX150 (Laptop GT 1030), Intel Core i5-8250U
17552 Points ∼47%
Lenovo ThinkPad 25
NVIDIA GeForce 940MX, Intel Core i7-7500U
13362 Points ∼36% -24%
Apple MacBook Pro 13 2017
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640, Intel Core i5-7360U
11495 (min: 10969) Points ∼31% -35%
Acer Spin 5 SP513-52N-566U
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
9499 Points ∼26% -46%
Razer Blade Stealth QHD i7-8550U
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i7-8550U
9349 Points ∼25% -47%
3DMark 11 Performance
4521 points
3DMark Cloud Gate Standard Score
13662 points
3DMark Fire Strike Score
2954 points
3DMark Time Spy Score
1084 points
Help

Emissions

Noise Emissions

In the first days of our test, we mostly observed a silent operation during non-demanding office tasks and web-surfing. When the two fans started, they remained at a low speed and in an unobtrusive low-frequency range in terms of their noise level. During 3D operation, the 40-dB mark was breached, and the laptop became clearly audible. But even then, the noise can be described as more of a low-frequency whirring, which is also visible in the frequency diagram of our measurements.
We have a preliminary overall impression that is positive in this area. The Xiaomi Mi Pro often remains silent, and even when the fans are active, they operate in a frequency range that is unproblematic.

Noise Level

Idle
31 / 31 / 32.6 dB(A)
Load
41.6 / 44.7 dB(A)
 
 
 
30 dB
silent
40 dB(A)
audible
50 dB(A)
loud
 
min: dark, med: mid, max: light   Audix TM1, Arta (15 cm distance)   environment noise: 31 dB(A)
dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2038.940.837.739.841.241.940.32533.435.83332.532.931.932.93131.33231.832.132.330.732.44031.23330.932.330.631.530.95031.231.830.731.129.130.430.96329.53130.53129.532.129.48029.429.930.12827.929.428.610026.727.431.927.630.427.728.412526.327.228.526.827.726.527.816026.526.827.928.127.327.227.320025.726.627.626.526.726.426.325024.324.62624.526.824.725.431523.624.225.624.627.623.42440022.723.530.72431.323.123.850021.122.937.323.93920.823.463020.121.33422.240.520.321.380019.221.628.422.730.519.620.5100018.921.428.821.429.619.220.2125018.621.128.921.532.718.720.9160018.521.128.822.33218.321.2200017.720.828.821.230.818.220.4250017.520.329.921.332.318.120.2315017.519.430.521.233.918.119.5400017.61930.219.732.717.719500017.718.328.718.330.917.518.2630017.71826.417.930.117.518800017.618.12217.82417.717.81000017.817.820.717.82217.717.91250017.817.719.817.620.217.617.81600017.817.821.117.718.617.717.7SPL30.932.641.833.344.831.132.5N1.51.841.951.61.8median 18.6Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5median 21.1median 28.7median 21.5median 30.4median 18.7median 20.5Delta2.32.622.52.33.33hearing rangehide median Fan Noise

Temperature

Cooling system in the Mi Pro
Cooling system in the Mi Pro

If you put load on the Xiaomi Mi Pro notebook, it warms up mostly in the central area in the back. After opening up the back, you can easily see the cooling system of the laptop: two fans in the back, left and right, are cooling a heat pipe which leads across the central main components, the CPU and GPU. There is also a large metal plate to dissipate the heat from other components. In the infrared images, you can easily see the positions of the computing components through the case, as well as the fan openings on the back which lead the warm air to the top across the display. 
In our test, we measure a maximum surface temperature of almost 45 °C (113 °F) at the bottom in the central back area. Considering the built-in components, this is quite a bit. However, this should not lead to any direct limitations, in particular since the top warms up still slightly less.

Max. Load
 39.4 °C43.8 °C41.8 °C 
 39.1 °C42.5 °C39.7 °C 
 28.6 °C27.7 °C29.2 °C 
Maximum: 43.8 °C
Average: 36.9 °C
43.6 °C44.9 °C43.6 °C
31.4 °C36.3 °C32.1 °C
39.8 °C30.8 °C29.7 °C
Maximum: 44.9 °C
Average: 36.9 °C
Power Supply (max.)  58.3 °C | Room Temperature 21.2 °C | Raytek Raynger ST
Top of the Mi Pro in the stress test
Top of the Mi Pro in the stress test
Bottom of the Mi Pro in the stress test
Bottom of the Mi Pro in the stress test

Speakers

Two 2.5 W Harman Infinity speakers in the Mi Pro produce good sound.
Two 2.5 W Harman Infinity speakers in the Mi Pro produce good sound.

Our first impression of the built-in speakers is good thoughout. Only in the direct comparison to a MacBook Pro 15, the current reference in terms of notebook audio, we can hear any quality differences. The MacBook produces a higher volume overall and audibly more power in the lower frequency ranges. The analysis of the frequency diagram shows the weakness particularly in the mid-highs.
However, this is a complaint at a very high level overall. Considering the price-range which the Mi Pro is part of, the produced sound is more than okay.  The laptop is quite suited for playing music and filling small rooms with sound. 

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2036.840.940.72533.233.933.93131.231.229.14037.734.734.55039.133.230.76336.131.730.58038.63529.310043.844.128.412556.357.227.61605959.826.620062632625064.365.425.831564.366.124.640064.967.62350069.572.321.763067.169.620.480066.870.719.6100069.574.819125064.970.218.5160059.663.318.1200062.467.117.9250056.159.617.7315054.858.517.7400054.459.417.6500058.262.417.8630063.968.517.5800068.972.817.71000065.469.117.71250062.867.517.71600065.469.517.8SPL76.580.780.931.331.1N41.25252.41.61.6median 63.9Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5median 67.1median 18.5Delta3.44.63.340.638.132.233.332.633.833.739.534.339.629.448.828.652.227.35927.968.126.458.925.46723.967.922.666.123.374.922.875.721.573.42069.620.174.719.476.618.779.81873.318.173.217.874.717.871.817.874.318.17718.37018.272.318.268.318.572.131.5871.676.6median 19.4Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)median 72.32.83.3hearing rangehide median Pink Noise
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5 audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (81.6 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 7.8% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.3% away from median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | reduced highs - on average 5.4% lower than median
(±) | linearity of highs is average (7.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (10.2% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 10% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 85% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 17%, worst was 35%
Compared to all devices tested
» 2% of all tested devices were better, 1% similar, 96% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555) audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (87 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 7.8% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (11.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.1% away from median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 1.8% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (5.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (7.3% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 4% of all tested devices in this class were better, 1% similar, 94% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 17%, worst was 35%
Compared to all devices tested
» 1% of all tested devices were better, 0% similar, 99% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Frequency comparison (Checkboxes selectable!)

Power Management

Power Consumption

If you compare the measurements of the Xiaomi Mi Pro notebook to the current multimedia racers, you can immediately see an advantage in the power consumption. Using the 8250U 15-W CPU and the smaller MX150 can reduce the power consumption in particular during load by half compared to the other devices. As a reminder: in terms of performance, the i5-8250U is about 20% behind the 7700HQ in the Cinebench multi-core test, and the GPU is about 40% behind the stronger GTX 1050 in the 3DMark 11. You can easily see the power-consumption advantage of the devices that have a Full HD display compared to those with higher-resolution displays.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.9 / 1.1 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 3.7 / 7.5 / 8 Watt
Load midlight 49 / 55.2 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
8250U, GeForce MX150, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP, IPS LED, 1920x1080, 15.6
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
7700HQ, Radeon Pro 555, Apple SSD SM0256L, IPS, 2880x1800, 15.4
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
7700HQ, GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
7700HQ, GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), Lite-on CX2-8B512-Q11 NVMe SSD, IGZO IPS, 3840x2160, 15.6
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
7700HQ, GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN, TN, 1920x1080, 15.6
Dell Inspiron 15-7570
8550U, GeForce 940MX, Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Power Consumption
-60%
-56%
-136%
-50%
-5%
Idle Minimum *
3.7
3.4
8%
5.05
-36%
11.9
-222%
4.7
-27%
3.6
3%
Idle Average *
7.5
13.9
-85%
8.2
-9%
17.1
-128%
7.7
-3%
6.7
11%
Idle Maximum *
8
17.6
-120%
12.2
-53%
17.3
-116%
10.9
-36%
9.2
-15%
Load Average *
49
71.1
-45%
82
-67%
94.7
-93%
82
-67%
59
-20%
Load Maximum *
55.2
88.5
-60%
120
-117%
122
-121%
120
-117%
58
-5%
Witcher 3 ultra *
57.9
93.1
104.8
109

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

Considering the power consumption observed, the signs for a good battery life are very positive. Since Xiaomi does not skimp on the battery capacity either, using a 60 Wh Lithium-Polymer battery, the notebook can convince in the first test. In our practically relevant WiFi-surf test (150 cd/m2), the Mi Pro lasts for a full 10 hours.
For comparison: the strong-endurance MacBook 13 with a 54-Wh battery and a 7360U CPU with Intel Iris graphics can barely last a little more than an hour longer in our WiFi-Test (with the MacOS). 

Battery Runtime
WiFi Surfing v1.3
9h 57min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
10h 32min
Load (maximum brightness)
2h 02min
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
8250U, GeForce MX150, 60 Wh
Apple MacBook Pro 15 2017 (2.8 GHz, 555)
7700HQ, Radeon Pro 555, 76 Wh
Asus ZenBook Pro UX550VD
7700HQ, GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 73 Wh
Dell XPS 15 9560 (i7-7700HQ, UHD)
7700HQ, GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 97 Wh
Asus VivoBook Pro 15 N580VD-DM028T
7700HQ, GeForce GTX 1050 (Notebook), 47 Wh
Apple MacBook Pro 13 2017
7360U, Iris Plus Graphics 640, 54.5 Wh
Battery Runtime
-21%
-26%
-22%
-37%
-5%
Reader / Idle
1061
831
609
H.264
632
511
-19%
465
-26%
352
-44%
683
8%
WiFi v1.3
597
644
8%
535
-10%
434
-27%
392
-34%
681
14%
Load
122
60
-51%
70
-43%
103
-16%
82
-33%
78
-36%
Witcher 3 ultra
87
68

Preliminary Verdict

In the test: Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5
In the test: Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5

What we have seen of the Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro so far, leaves a very positive impression. The design and case quality are on a high level, there are good input devices, a solid display, performance on the expected level, emissions that are not problematic, and as a cream topping there is a good battery life. But as the saying goes, it is still too early to call it a day.

In the following days, we will continue our tests and look for any problem areas in the Chinese laptop. Until now, there have not been too many: there is only one charging Type-C port and the SD card reader performance is meager. We are particularly curious how the quad-core ULV CPU in combination with the Geforce MX150 GPU will fare during gaming use. 

According to our measurements, Xiaomi did many things right in the Mi Pro notebook. The device would really deserve a recommendation, but because of the unclear situation in case of a defect for example, we do not want to give this. However, things appear to start moving at Xiaomi, and the Chinese manufacturer recently opened a branch in Madrid, Spain. So we hope that sometime in the future, the hardware supply and warranty cases will be handled inside Europe. This would remove a weighty concern in the case of the Xiaomi Mi Pro notebook. 

Read all 7 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro i5 Laptop Preview
J. Simon Leitner, 2017-11- 5 (Update: 2017-11- 6)