Notebookcheck

ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW (Core i9-9880H, RTX 2070) Laptop Review

Mike Wobker, 👁 Florian Glaser (translated by Alex Alderson), 06/04/2019

RGB inspiration. ASUS is focusing on more than just RGB lighting with the third incarnation of its ROG Strix Scar. The company has also included a nice security feature called Keystone along with a host of powerful hardware. The G531GW offers plenty on paper, but can it meet expectations?

ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW

ASUS sells countless gaming laptops under its Republic of Gamers (ROG) brand, which should suit just about any budget. The company caters for the premium market with the likes of the ROG G703GX right down to the sub-$1,000 ROG Zephyrus G GA502DU. All models share a striking design language, and they should handle most triple-A titles comfortably in at least 1080p. Somewhere in between is the ROG Strix SCAR III, a 15.6-inch gaming laptop that comes with up to an Intel Core i9-9880H processor, an NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 GPU and 32 GB of RAM. Our review unit is the G531GW, which comes with all those components along with a 1 TB Intel 660p SSD.

We have chosen to compare the G531GW against other comparably priced and equipped gaming laptops. Our comparison devices will include the Aorus 15 X9, Gigabyte Aero 15-X9, MSI GE75 Raider 8SF and Schenker XMG Neo 17. You can also add additional laptops into each of our comparison tables below, for reference.

Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
Graphics adapter
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop) - 8192 MB, Core: 1215 MHz, Memory: 1750 MHz, GDDR6, TU106, FoceWare 419.71, Optimus
Memory
32768 MB 
, 2 x 16 GB DDR4-2666 SO-DIMM, dual-channel, all slots occupied
Display
15.6 inch 16:9, 1920 x 1080 pixel 141 PPI, Sharp LQ156M1JW09 (SHP14D3), IPS, Full-HD, 240 Hz, glossy: no
Mainboard
Intel HM370
Storage
Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8, 1024 GB 
, PCIe. 1 x M.2 2280 slot, 1 x 2.5-inch drive bay, 890 GB free
Soundcard
Realtek ALC294 @ Intel Cannon Lake PCH
Connections
3 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 1 USB 3.1 Gen2, 1 HDMI, 1 DisplayPort, Audio Connections: combined 3.5 mm headphone and microphone jack
Networking
Realtek RTL8168/8111 Gigabit-LAN (10/100/1000MBit), Intel Wireless-AC 9560 (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 5
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 25 x 360 x 275 ( = 0.98 x 14.17 x 10.83 in)
Battery
66 Wh Lithium-Polymer, 4 cells
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Additional features
Speakers: 2 x 3.5 W stereo, Keyboard: Chiclet RGB, Keyboard Light: yes, Keystone chip with carry strap, McAfee Security, various manufacturer tools, 24 Months Warranty
Weight
2.324 kg ( = 81.98 oz / 5.12 pounds), Power Supply: 844 g ( = 29.77 oz / 1.86 pounds)
Price
2600 EUR
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

ASUS has built the ROG Strix SCAR III with a mostly plastic design, to which it incorporates several textures and finishes. The plastic is surprisingly sturdy, which gives our review unit a premium feel to it. The base unit is impressively robust too, with only the lid giving way slightly when we open or close it with one hand.

The G531GW not only has an RGB backlit keyboard, but also an RGB LED strip around the edge of its bottom case. There is an indent for the removable Keystone security chip, which also lights up when inserted.

ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW
ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW
ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW
ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW
ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW
ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW
ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW

The G531GW is comparably compact for a 15.6-inch gaming laptop thanks to its narrow display bezels. It is deeper than our comparison devices though at 275 mm (~10.8 in). However, only the Aero 15-X9 is lighter than our review unit.

Size Comparison

397 mm / 15.6 inch 268 mm / 10.6 inch 27 mm / 1.063 inch 2.7 kg5.84 lbs396 mm / 15.6 inch 261 mm / 10.3 inch 27.5 mm / 1.083 inch 2.5 kg5.51 lbs361 mm / 14.2 inch 246 mm / 9.69 inch 24.4 mm / 0.961 inch 2.4 kg5.29 lbs360 mm / 14.2 inch 275 mm / 10.8 inch 25 mm / 0.984 inch 2.3 kg5.12 lbs356 mm / 14 inch 250 mm / 9.84 inch 18.9 mm / 0.744 inch 2.1 kg4.67 lbs

Connectivity

The G531GW has a rock solid selection of ports that should prevent most people from resorting to using dongles or docks. You can connect the latter by USB Type-C should you need to though. The Type-C port also supports DisplayPort if you have the appropriate adapter. The G531GW has an HDMI 2.0b port too, which can output in 4K at 60 Hz. Sadly, ASUS has not included a card reader, which would have been useful.

Front: No connections
Front: No connections
Rear: Gigabit LAN, HDMI, 1 x USB 3.1 Gen2 Type-C, power connector
Rear: Gigabit LAN, HDMI, 1 x USB 3.1 Gen2 Type-C, power connector
Left-hand side: 3 x USB 3.1 Gen1 Type-A, combined headphone and microphone jack
Left-hand side: 3 x USB 3.1 Gen1 Type-A, combined headphone and microphone jack
Right-hand side: Keystone slot
Right-hand side: Keystone slot

Communication

ASUS has equipped our review unit with an Intel Wireless-AC 9560 module, which supports Bluetooth 5.0 and up to IEEE 802.11 ac Wi-Fi. Our review unit achieved excellent transfer speeds in our iperf3 Client Wi-Fi tests with our Linksys EA8500 reference router thanks to its 2x2 MIMO antenna. The G531GW finished top of our download test and third in our upload test, but our comparison tables are tightly packed with only a maximum spread of only 10% between devices.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
Intel Wireless-AC 9560
680 MBit/s ∼100%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
Killer Wireless-AC 1550i Wireless Network Adapter (9560NGW)
678 MBit/s ∼100% 0%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
Intel Wireless-AC 9560
663 MBit/s ∼98% -2%
MSI GE75 8SF
Killer Wireless-AC 1550i Wireless Network Adapter (9560NGW)
658 MBit/s ∼97% -3%
Aorus 15 X9
Killer Wireless-AC 1550i Wireless Network Adapter (9560NGW)
645 MBit/s ∼95% -5%
Average of class Gaming
  (141 - 702, n=223)
599 MBit/s ∼88% -12%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
MSI GE75 8SF
Killer Wireless-AC 1550i Wireless Network Adapter (9560NGW)
686 MBit/s ∼100% +2%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
Killer Wireless-AC 1550i Wireless Network Adapter (9560NGW)
680 MBit/s ∼99% +1%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
Intel Wireless-AC 9560
675 MBit/s ∼98%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
Intel Wireless-AC 9560
674 MBit/s ∼98% 0%
Aorus 15 X9
Killer Wireless-AC 1550i Wireless Network Adapter (9560NGW)
622 MBit/s ∼91% -8%
Average of class Gaming
  (144 - 721, n=223)
547 MBit/s ∼80% -19%

Security

ASUS has incorporated several security features within the G531GW. The company has included password protection at boot within the BIOS along with a removable Keystone chip. The latter not only stores your user profile with corresponding RGB settings, but it also decrypts an existing Shadow Drive when it is plugged into your machine. Keystone re-encrypts the data when removed to protect against unauthorised access.

Accessories

ASUS does not currently offer any ROG Strix SCAR III specific accessories other than those included with the device. The company does sell generic gaming and travel accessories such as keyboards, mice and bags though.

Maintenance

The G531GW is easy to maintain and repair. Only a few screws hold the bottom plate in place, the removal of which gives access to all internal components. The battery, RAM, SSD and Wi-Fi module are all easy to swap out, while you can maintain the cooling system too. Additionally, ASUS has included a spare 2.5-inch drive bay, to which you can connect a SATA drive should you need more storage. The company pre-installs the mounting cage and drive cable too.

A look at the inside of the ROG Strix SCAR III
A look at the inside of the ROG Strix SCAR III

Warranty

The G531GW comes with 24 months manufacturer’s warranty. Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies & Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices

Keyboard

The keyboard on the G531GW is likely to divide opinion. ASUS has included half-sized arrow keys, while the omission of a physical number pad will probably annoy some people. The company has printed the keys with pale lettering too that can be difficult to read in bright environments. The Function key numbers are also not backlit, which is an odd decision.

The keys have a soft touch finish and noticeable pressure points, which makes the G531GW suitable for prolonged typing sessions and for working in noise-sensitive environments. The surface of the keys is grippy too, so you should not find your fingers slipping from key to key when typing. The RGB keyboard backlighting is ubiquitous for gaming laptops, but it is a shame to see ASUS include zonal lighting rather than the individually backlit keys that other OEMs include on their gaming laptops.

A look at the keyboard and trackpad…
A look at the keyboard and trackpad…
…and with RGB backlighting enabled along with the number pad
…and with RGB backlighting enabled along with the number pad

Trackpad

The trackpad in our review unit has a smooth finish that works reliably and accurately even with wet fingers. ASUS has integrated a number pad too, which you can access by long pressing on the upper right-hand corner of the trackpad. You can only use the trackpad as a number pad with this mode enabled, but it works well enough.

ASUS has integrated two dedicated mouse buttons too, which emit a soft clicking sound when pressed. The buttons have pronounced pressure points and worked reliably during our tests.

A look at the trackpad with the number pad turned off
A look at the trackpad with the number pad turned off
A look at the trackpad with the number pad turned on
A look at the trackpad with the number pad turned on

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The G531GW has a 15.6-inch IPS panel that operates natively at 1,920x1,080. The panel has a 240 Hz refresh rate and achieved an average maximum brightness of 252 cd/m² in X-Rite i1Pro 2 tests. This makes the G531GW, which also has an 88% evenly lit panel, the second dimmest device in our comparison table ahead of the Aero 15-X9.

Disappointingly, the display uses pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate its luminosity, which can cause eye strain and headaches for some people. The panel in our review unit flickers at 24,040 Hz when set to 29% brightness, which should be a high enough resolution not to cause too many people any health issues. We would still recommend testing the G531GW first before you buy it if you are PWM sensitive though.

ASUS currently offers four displays with the ROG Strix SCAR III including the 240 Hz panel in our review unit. The company gives you a choice between a 90 Hz, 120 Hz or a 144 Hz panel, although they are all 1080p panels.

245
cd/m²
258
cd/m²
255
cd/m²
252
cd/m²
266
cd/m²
261
cd/m²
233
cd/m²
247
cd/m²
253
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 266 cd/m² Average: 252.2 cd/m² Minimum: 15 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 88 %
Contrast: 985:1 (Black: 0.27 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 1.81 | 0.6-29.43 Ø6.1, calibrated: 1.03
ΔE Greyscale 2.44 | 0.64-98 Ø6.3
97% sRGB (Argyll 3D) 62% AdobeRGB 1998 (Argyll 3D)
Gamma: 2.42
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
Sharp LQ156M1JW09 (SHP14D3), IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Aorus 15 X9
LG Philips LP156WFG-SPB2, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
LGD05C0, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Schenker XMG Neo 17
BOEhydis NV173FHM-N44 (BOE07B6), IPS, 1920x1080, 17.3
MSI GE75 8SF
Chi Mei N173HCE-G33, IPS, 1920x1080, 17.3
Response Times
1%
-8%
-37%
19%
Response Time Grey 50% / Grey 80% *
17.2 (9.2, 8)
15.2 (8.4, 6.8)
12%
16.4 (8.8, 7.6)
5%
18.8 (9.6, 9.2)
-9%
9.6 (5.2, 4.4)
44%
Response Time Black / White *
11.2 (6.8, 4.4)
12.4 (7.6, 4.8)
-11%
13.6 (8.4, 5.2)
-21%
12 (6.8, 5.2)
-7%
10.4 (5.2, 5.2)
7%
PWM Frequency
24040 (29)
971 (99)
-96%
25770 (17)
7%
Screen
-14%
5%
-13%
14%
Brightness middle
266
305.1
15%
250
-6%
304
14%
370.4
39%
Brightness
252
295
17%
235
-7%
289
15%
348
38%
Brightness Distribution
88
78
-11%
85
-3%
90
2%
89
1%
Black Level *
0.27
0.33
-22%
0.29
-7%
0.26
4%
0.29
-7%
Contrast
985
925
-6%
862
-12%
1169
19%
1277
30%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
1.81
2.58
-43%
1.46
19%
2.65
-46%
1.26
30%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
3.23
4.32
-34%
2.47
24%
6.11
-89%
3.02
7%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 calibrated *
1.03
1.33
-29%
1.5
-46%
1.21
-17%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
2.44
3.4
-39%
1.27
48%
2.75
-13%
1.4
43%
Gamma
2.42 91%
2.28 96%
2.4 92%
2.46 89%
2.2 100%
CCT
7005 93%
6374 102%
6749 96%
6763 96%
6747 96%
Color Space (Percent of AdobeRGB 1998)
62
60.7
-2%
60
-3%
60
-3%
59.7
-4%
Color Space (Percent of sRGB)
97
95.2
-2%
93
-4%
92
-5%
94.4
-3%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
-7% / -12%
-2% / 3%
-25% / -19%
17% / 15%

* ... smaller is better

Our tests also certify that the display in our review unit has a 0.27 cd/m² black value, which is lower than all but the XMG Neo 17 of our comparison devices. However, its meagre maximum brightness results in a disappointing 985:1 contrast ratio. Correspondingly, colours look rather washed out, while a slight grey tint covers blacks.

The G531GW still manages respectable 97% sRGB and 62% AdobeRGB colour space coverages. ASUS promises that the display will also cover 72% of NTSC, but we were unable to test this at the time of writing. Its AdobeRGB and sRGB coverages are better than all our comparison devices though.

Additionally, CalMAN analysis software and our photo spectrometer demonstrate that ASUS has done a decent job at calibrating the display in our review unit out of the box. The panel has comparably low DeltaE deviations upon delivery, but we managed to reduce these further with additional calibration. We have included the corresponding ICC file in the box above our comparison table should you wish to. It will only improve the colour reproduction of devices with a Sharp LQ156M1JW09 (SHP14D3) panel though and will probably reduce colour accuracy on other displays.

CalMAN: Greyscale
CalMAN: Greyscale
CalMAN: Colour Saturation
CalMAN: Colour Saturation
CalMAN: ColorChecker
CalMAN: ColorChecker
CalMAN: Greyscale - calibrated
CalMAN: Greyscale - calibrated
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - calibrated
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - calibrated
CalMAN: ColorChecker - calibrated
CalMAN: ColorChecker - calibrated

The G531GW is difficult to use outdoors because of its dim and contrast-weak display. Bright sunlight will overpower the panel, but its matte finish does a good job at diffusing reflections, so you should have no issues with using the G531GW outdoors in the shade.

Using the ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW outdoors
Using the ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW outdoors
Using the ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW outdoors
Using the ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW outdoors
97% sRGB colour space coverage
97% sRGB colour space coverage
62% AdobeRGB colour space coverage
62% AdobeRGB colour space coverage

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
11.2 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 6.8 ms rise
↘ 4.4 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 10 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25.3 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
17.2 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 9.2 ms rise
↘ 8 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 9 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (40.4 ms).

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 24040 Hz ≤ 29 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 24040 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 29 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 24040 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9554 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

The G531GW has stable viewing angles too, thanks to its IPS panel. Contrast levels drop off at acute viewing angles, but there are no brightness or image distortions. Hence, you should have no issues with reading the G531GW from practically any angle.

Viewing Angles
Viewing Angles

Performance

ASUS has equipped the G531GW with an Intel Core i9-9880H processor, an NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 GPU and 32 GB of RAM. The company also sells GeForce RTX 2060, GeForce GTX 1650 and GeForce GTX 1660 Ti variants along with Core i5-9300H and Core i7-9750H SKUs.

All variants are powerful to play modern triple-A games smoothly at 1080p. However, we would recommend the RTX 2070 model if you want to game in 4K on an external monitor or play in 1080p with DLSS and raytracing enabled.

 

Processor

The Core i9-9880H is an octa-core CPU based on Intel’s Coffee Lake architecture. The processor supports Intel Hyper-Threading, which means that it can execute up to 16 threads simultaneously. The Core i9-9880H also has a 2.3 GHz base clock speed that it can temporarily boost to 4.8 GHz using Intel Turbo Boost. The CPU can also use Thermal Velocity Boost to increase its clock speeds beyond what Turbo Boost would, but only when its core temperatures are 50 °C (~122 °F) or cooler. Hence, the use of Velocity Boost depends largely on the capabilities of a machine’s cooling system. One that kicks in early and keeps a CPU below the 50 °C (~122 °F) threshold should allow it to utilise Velocity Boost effectively.

We subjected our review unit to a looped Cinebench R15 Multi 64Bit benchmark to see how it performed under sustained load. Initially, the G531GW scored 1,310 points, which is well ahead of our Core i7-8750H powered comparison devices. Expectedly, the score for the second run through drops with the CPU having exhausted its turbo clock speeds. Surprisingly, the system peaked at 1,278 points by the fifth benchmark, before settling at between 1,260 and 1,270 points for the remainder of the loop, save for one instance where it dropped to 1,239 points.

Overall, these are impressively stable scores, which demonstrate that the G531GW should not throttle under sustained load, apart from early on when it exhausts its turbo. However, our review unit consistently scores around 10% worse than the P65 Creator 9SF, so the G531GW could be getting more from its CPU.

We should also point out that the system automatically switches to the Balanced power mode when we disconnect the power supply. This causes CB R15 Multi 64Bit scores to plummet to 363. Frustratingly, we were only able to select the more powerful Turbo power mode with our review unit connected to the mains.

Please see our CPU benchmarks page for more information about the Core i9-9880H and how it fares against other CPUs.

CPU information during a Cinebench R15 Single 64Bit benchmark
CPU information during a Cinebench R15 Single 64Bit benchmark
CPU information during a Cinebench R15 Multi 64Bit benchmark
CPU information during a Cinebench R15 Multi 64Bit benchmark
CPU & GPU information during a Heaven 4.0 benchmark
CPU & GPU information during a Heaven 4.0 benchmark
010203040506070809010011012013014015016017018019020021022023024025026027028029030031032033034035036037038039040041042043044045046047048049050051052053054055056057058059060061062063064065066067068069070071072073074075076077078079080081082083084085086087088089090091092093094095096097098099010001010102010301040105010601070108010901100111011201130114011501160117011801190120012101220123012401250126012701280129013001310132013301340135013601370138013901400141014201430144014501460147014801490150015101520153015401550Tooltip
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW Intel Core i9-9880H, Intel Core i9-9880H: Ø1267 (1239.62-1311.65)
Schenker XMG Neo 17 Intel Core i7-8750H, Intel Core i7-8750H: Ø969 (904.79-1042.12)
MSI GE75 8SF Intel Core i7-8750H, Intel Core i7-8750H: Ø918 (910.89-1045.5)
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657 Intel Core i9-9880H, Intel Core i9-9880H: Ø1439 (1417.84-1545.36)
Cinebench R15
CPU Single 64Bit
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
Intel Core i9-9880H
196 Points ∼100% +7%
Average Intel Core i9-9880H
  (183 - 196, n=3)
189 Points ∼96% +3%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
Intel Core i9-9880H
183 Points ∼93%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
Intel Core i7-8750H
174 Points ∼89% -5%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
Intel Core i7-8750H
166 Points ∼85% -9%
MSI GE75 8SF
Intel Core i7-8750H
166 Points ∼85% -9%
Aorus 15 X9
Intel Core i7-8750H
166 Points ∼85% -9%
Average of class Gaming
  (77 - 212, n=466)
154 Points ∼79% -16%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Average Intel Core i9-9880H
  (1401 - 1721, n=3)
1556 Points ∼100% +11%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
Intel Core i9-9880H
1545 Points ∼99% +10%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
Intel Core i9-9880H
1401 Points ∼90%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
Intel Core i7-8750H
1156 Points ∼74% -17%
MSI GE75 8SF
Intel Core i7-8750H
1066 Points ∼69% -24%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
Intel Core i7-8750H
1042 Points ∼67% -26%
Aorus 15 X9
Intel Core i7-8750H
1022 Points ∼66% -27%
Average of class Gaming
  (196 - 1979, n=469)
791 Points ∼51% -44%
Cinebench R15 CPU Single 64Bit
183 Points
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64Bit
1401 Points
Cinebench R15 OpenGL 64Bit
129.21 fps
Cinebench R15 Ref. Match 64Bit
99.6 %
Help

System Performance

The G531GW also performs well in system performance benchmarks such as PCMark. Our review unit generally trades blows with the Aorus 15 X9 for first place in our comparison tables. These decent benchmark results reflect our experiences in daily use too. Our review unit always runs smoothly and loads programs quickly. Likewise, the OS boots promptly, and we noticed no micro-stutters or lags even during heavy multitasking.

PCMark 10
Digital Content Creation
Aorus 15 X9
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW512G8
8408 Points ∼100% +15%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H, Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8
7311 Points ∼87%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 9880H, 2x Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ (RAID 0)
7161 Points ∼85% -2%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB
6734 Points ∼80% -8%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW010T8
6618 Points ∼79% -9%
Average of class Gaming
  (1764 - 11191, n=158)
6187 Points ∼74% -15%
MSI GE75 8SF
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Kingston RBUSNS8154P3256GJ1
6161 Points ∼73% -16%
Productivity
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H, Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8
8025 Points ∼100%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW010T8
7315 Points ∼91% -9%
Aorus 15 X9
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW512G8
7299 Points ∼91% -9%
MSI GE75 8SF
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Kingston RBUSNS8154P3256GJ1
7218 Points ∼90% -10%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB
7113 Points ∼89% -11%
Average of class Gaming
  (4175 - 8968, n=159)
7087 Points ∼88% -12%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 9880H, 2x Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ (RAID 0)
5986 Points ∼75% -25%
Essentials
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H, Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8
9146 Points ∼100%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB
8980 Points ∼98% -2%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 9880H, 2x Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ (RAID 0)
8961 Points ∼98% -2%
Aorus 15 X9
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW512G8
8943 Points ∼98% -2%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW010T8
8600 Points ∼94% -6%
MSI GE75 8SF
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Kingston RBUSNS8154P3256GJ1
8277 Points ∼90% -10%
Average of class Gaming
  (4892 - 10668, n=160)
8243 Points ∼90% -10%
Score
Aorus 15 X9
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW512G8
5870 Points ∼100% +1%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H, Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8
5826 Points ∼99%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB
5411 Points ∼92% -7%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW010T8
5353 Points ∼91% -8%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 9880H, 2x Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ (RAID 0)
5211 Points ∼89% -11%
MSI GE75 8SF
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Kingston RBUSNS8154P3256GJ1
5138 Points ∼88% -12%
Average of class Gaming
  (2603 - 7171, n=161)
5103 Points ∼87% -12%
PCMark 8
Work Score Accelerated v2
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H, Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8
5919 Points ∼100%
Aorus 15 X9
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW512G8
5828 Points ∼98% -2%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW010T8
5645 Points ∼95% -5%
MSI GE75 8SF
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Kingston RBUSNS8154P3256GJ1
5338 Points ∼90% -10%
Average of class Gaming
  (2484 - 6515, n=350)
4988 Points ∼84% -16%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 9880H, 2x Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ (RAID 0)
4482 Points ∼76% -24%
Home Score Accelerated v2
Aorus 15 X9
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW512G8
4843 Points ∼100% +6%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H, Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8
4578 Points ∼95%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 8750H, Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW010T8
4338 Points ∼90% -5%
Average of class Gaming
  (2554 - 6093, n=368)
4246 Points ∼88% -7%
MSI GE75 8SF
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H, Kingston RBUSNS8154P3256GJ1
3662 Points ∼76% -20%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 9880H, 2x Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ (RAID 0)
3505 Points ∼72% -23%
PCMark 8 Home Score Accelerated v2
4578 points
PCMark 8 Work Score Accelerated v2
5919 points
Help

Storage Devices

ASUS has equipped our review unit with a 1 TB Intel 660p SSD, which puts the G531GW in the midfield of our comparison devices. The 660p has decent transfer speeds, but it falls just short of the Samsung 970 EVO Plus and around 21% behind its sibling, the Intel 760p.

Please see our HDD/SSD benchmarks page for more information on the Intel 660p and how it compares against other drives.

Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8
Schenker XMG Neo 17
Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB
MSI GE75 8SF
Kingston RBUSNS8154P3256GJ1
Aorus 15 X9
Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW512G8
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
Intel SSD 760p SSDPEKKW010T8
CrystalDiskMark 5.2 / 6
1%
-39%
21%
-9%
Write 4K
135
92.74
-31%
73.33
-46%
147.2
9%
97.13
-28%
Read 4K
54.91
41.4
-25%
33.35
-39%
63.65
16%
53.66
-2%
Write Seq
1649
1363
-17%
848.5
-49%
1573
-5%
1526
-7%
Read Seq
1449
1259
-13%
963.6
-33%
2602
80%
2020
39%
Write 4K Q32T1
507.6
289.7
-43%
236.2
-53%
530.5
5%
285.6
-44%
Read 4K Q32T1
558.9
337.5
-40%
384.7
-31%
597.6
7%
321.8
-42%
Write Seq Q32T1
1759
3332
89%
867.4
-51%
1592
-9%
1533
-13%
Read Seq Q32T1
1826
3477
90%
1586
-13%
2981
63%
2351
29%
AS SSD
109%
-14%
32%
31%
Copy Game MB/s
380.55
1070.93
936.25
Copy Program MB/s
531.71
404.34
362.56
Copy ISO MB/s
1121.28
1328.83
1863.91
Score Total
2033
5248
158%
2109
4%
2544
25%
2722
34%
Score Write
867
2413
178%
799
-8%
859
-1%
957
10%
Score Read
768
1869
143%
869
13%
1116
45%
1180
54%
Access Time Write *
0.043
0.03
30%
0.059
-37%
0.031
28%
0.034
21%
Access Time Read *
0.128
0.048
62%
0.173
-35%
0.049
62%
0.114
11%
4K-64 Write
602.9
2048.1
240%
650.03
8%
584
-3%
702.74
17%
4K-64 Read
583.37
1579.26
171%
748.37
28%
868.5
49%
913.55
57%
4K Write
105.06
117.57
12%
67.12
-36%
119.55
14%
107.12
2%
4K Read
26.79
53.48
100%
25.36
-5%
56.55
111%
55.04
105%
Seq Write
1590.95
2468.54
55%
822.99
-48%
1553.41
-2%
1471.06
-8%
Seq Read
1574.03
2359.28
50%
948.8
-40%
1912.12
21%
2112.83
34%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
55% / 64%
-27% / -25%
27% / 27%
11% / 14%

* ... smaller is better

Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8
Sequential Read: 1326 MB/s
Sequential Write: 1519 MB/s
512K Read: 819.6 MB/s
512K Write: 1370 MB/s
4K Read: 29.57 MB/s
4K Write: 117.6 MB/s
4K QD32 Read: 563.1 MB/s
4K QD32 Write: 529.9 MB/s

Graphics Card

ASUS has equipped our review unit with a GeForce RTX 2070 GPU, a 12 nm chip based on NVIDIA’s Turing architecture. The GPU supports DLSS and raytracing, which can theoretically create more sophisticated lighting effects than GeForce GTX 10 series GPUs could achieve. The GeForce RTX 2070 is powerful enough to play modern triple-A games in 4K too.

The G531GW achieves decent 3DMark benchmark results in isolation, it is well beaten by many of our RTX 2070 powered comparison devices. Strikingly, our review unit only just edges out our RTX 2070 Max-Q powered comparison devices in 3DMark 11 and Fire Strike, despite theoretically having a 15% more powerful GPU.

Please see our GPU benchmarks page for more information about the GeForce RTX 2070 and how it compares with other GPUs.

3DMark
2560x1440 Time Spy Graphics
MSI GE75 8SF
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
7789 Points ∼100% +11%
Aorus 15 X9
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
7754 Points ∼100% +11%
Average NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
  (7006 - 7815, n=7)
7499 Points ∼96% +7%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
7006 Points ∼90%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q
6562 Points ∼84% -6%
Average of class Gaming
  (368 - 13013, n=111)
5525 Points ∼71% -21%
1920x1080 Fire Strike Graphics
MSI GE75 8SF
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
20236 Points ∼100% +11%
Aorus 15 X9
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
20227 Points ∼100% +11%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
19800 Points ∼98% +9%
Average NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
  (18169 - 20759, n=8)
19613 Points ∼97% +8%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
18169 Points ∼90%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q
17598 Points ∼87% -3%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q
16100 Points ∼80% -11%
Average of class Gaming
  (385 - 40636, n=492)
10922 Points ∼54% -40%
3DMark 11 - 1280x720 Performance GPU
Aorus 15 X9
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
26645 Points ∼100% +14%
MSI GE75 8SF
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
26097 Points ∼98% +12%
Average NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
  (23335 - 26975, n=10)
25287 Points ∼95% +8%
Schenker XMG Neo 17
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
25248 Points ∼95% +8%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
23335 Points ∼88%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q
22089 Points ∼83% -5%
MSI P65 Creator 9SF-657
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q
20837 Points ∼78% -11%
Average of class Gaming
  (513 - 50983, n=567)
12759 Points ∼48% -45%
3DMark 11 Performance
19674 points
3DMark Cloud Gate Standard Score
37721 points
3DMark Fire Strike Score
16068 points
3DMark Time Spy Score
6909 points
Help

Gaming Performance

The G531GW performed well in all our gaming tests too. Our review unit breezes through older titles such as "BioShock Infinite" and "Dota 2 Reborn" at maximum details in 1080p, while it averages an acceptable 67 FPS in more complex games such as "The Witcher 3". However, the G531GW achieves approximately 6% lower framerates than what we would have expected from an RTX 2070 powered laptop. Likewise, the Aorus 15 X9, GE75 Raider 8SF and XMG Neo 17 all averaged at least 70 FPS during the same test, underlining that the G531GW cannot get the best out of its GPU, for some reason.

Please see our games comparison page to see how the RTX 2070 performs in our games and in other machines. You can compare the GPU with other cards too.

The Witcher 3 - 1920x1080 Ultra Graphics & Postprocessing (HBAO+)
Schenker XMG Neo 17
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H
73 fps ∼100% +9%
Aorus 15 X9
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H
71.8 fps ∼98% +7%
Average NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
  (67 - 73, n=8)
71.3 fps ∼98% +6%
MSI GE75 8SF
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H
70.9 fps ∼97% +6%
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H
67 (min: 55) fps ∼92%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 8750H
58.3 (min: 48) fps ∼80% -13%
Average of class Gaming
  (12.6 - 115, n=266)
47.8 fps ∼65% -29%
BioShock Infinite - 1920x1080 Ultra Preset, DX11 (DDOF)
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H
167.38 fps ∼100%
Average NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
  (137 - 188, n=4)
162 fps ∼97% -3%
Aorus 15 X9
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H
154.3 fps ∼92% -8%
MSI GE75 8SF
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 8750H
136.9 fps ∼82% -18%
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 8750H
127.7 fps ∼76% -24%
Average of class Gaming
  (9.7 - 266, n=305)
93.2 fps ∼56% -44%
Dota 2 Reborn - 1920x1080 ultra (3/3) best looking
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H
117.1 (min: 100.9) fps ∼100%
Average NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
  (109 - 117, n=2)
113 fps ∼96% -4%
Average of class Gaming
  (14 - 120, n=14)
87.4 fps ∼75% -25%

We also subjected the G531GW to an hour-long "The Witcher 3" run-through to determine how the machine manages its performance under prolonged load. Our review unit averaged 66.4 FPS during this test, with it occasionally dipping to a minimum of 62 FPS. Overall, you should experience only a negligible loss in framerates during a prolonged gaming session.

05101520253035404550556065707580Tooltip
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 9880H, Intel SSD 660p 2TB SSDPEKNW010T8: Ø66.4 (62-71)
low med. high ultra
BioShock Infinite (2013) 362.19305.42291.89167.38fps
The Witcher 3 (2015) 67fps
Dota 2 Reborn (2015) 137.4126.5122.1117.1fps

Emissions

Fan Noise

The G531GW has two fans that work with several heatpipes to dissipate heat generated by the CPU and GPU. Our review unit runs silently during light tasks when set to the Balanced fan profile, but we measured the fan noise peaking at 39 dB(A) at idle.

The fans also reached a maximum of 54 dB(A) during our stress tests, which is loud enough to drown out the speakers even if they are playing at maximum volume. Worse still, they take a while to spin down after prolonged gaming, so you could be browsing the web or replying to emails with the fans running at full tilt.

Fan noise at idle
Fan noise at idle
Fan noise under load
Fan noise under load

Noise Level

Idle
30 / 37 / 39 dB(A)
Load
54 / 54 dB(A)
  red to green bar
 
 
30 dB
silent
40 dB(A)
audible
50 dB(A)
loud
 
min: dark, med: mid, max: light   Audix TM1, Arta (15 cm distance)   environment noise: 29 dB(A)

Temperature

The G531GW runs hot too. Surface temperatures peaked at 52 °C (~126 °F) while playing "The Witcher 3", although most of the device remained at between 41 °C (~106 °F) and 50 °C (~122 °F). The palm rest area remained below 35 °C (~95 °F) though, so you could game on the G531GW with it resting on your lap. We would not recommend it though as most of the chassis will feel hot to the touch.

You should have no problems when the system is idling though. Most of our review unit remained at around 30 °C (~86 °F), although the centre of the bottom case peaked at 35 °C (~95 °F). This should not feel uncomfortable against your lap in daily use, in our opinion.

System information while playing The Witcher 3
System information while playing The Witcher 3
System information during a FurMark & Prime95 stress test
System information during a FurMark & Prime95 stress test
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the bottom of the device under load
Heatmap of the bottom of the device under load

We also subjected our review unit to a one-hour stress test, during which we ran FurMark and Prime95 to push both the CPU and GPU to their limits. Internal temperatures did not reach critical levels, but both components thermal throttled, nonetheless. CPU core temperatures peaked at 84 °C (~183 °F), which caused the clock speed to drop to around 2.3 GHz. GPU core temperatures reached 77 °C (~171 °F), which should not necessarily cause it to limit its performance to prevent it from overheating. However, the GPU downclocks to 1,065 MHz, which is 150 MHz below its base clock speed.

Max. Load
 42 °C
108 F
42 °C
108 F
51 °C
124 F
 
 37 °C
99 F
41 °C
106 F
50 °C
122 F
 
 32 °C
90 F
32 °C
90 F
31 °C
88 F
 
Maximum: 51 °C = 124 F
Average: 39.8 °C = 104 F
45 °C
113 F
47 °C
117 F
49 °C
120 F
42 °C
108 F
46 °C
115 F
43 °C
109 F
32 °C
90 F
33 °C
91 F
31 °C
88 F
Maximum: 49 °C = 120 F
Average: 40.9 °C = 106 F
Power Supply (max.)  43 °C = 109 F | Room Temperature 20 °C = 68 F | Voltcraft IR-900
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 39.8 °C / 104 F, compared to the average of 33 °C / 91 F for the devices in the class Gaming.
(-) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 51 °C / 124 F, compared to the average of 39.4 °C / 103 F, ranging from 21.6 to 68.8 °C for the class Gaming.
(-) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 49 °C / 120 F, compared to the average of 41.9 °C / 107 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 28.9 °C / 84 F, compared to the device average of 33 °C / 91 F.
(-) Playing The Witcher 3, the average temperature for the upper side is 40.4 °C / 105 F, compared to the device average of 33 °C / 91 F.
(+) The palmrests and touchpad are reaching skin temperature as a maximum (33 °C / 91.4 F) and are therefore not hot.
(-) The average temperature of the palmrest area of similar devices was 28.7 °C / 83.7 F (-4.3 °C / -7.7 F).

Speakers

Speaker characteristics
Speaker characteristics

The G531GW has surprisingly good stereo speakers. They reached a maximum of 83.8 dB(A) during our tests and delivered a broad sound spectrum. Audio sounds detailed, and the speakers are a worthy replacement for external speakers.

You could still connect external audio equipment using Bluetooth or the 3.5 mm jack though. The latter is a combined headphone and microphone jack that gripped jack plugs tightly during our tests.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2034.237.52539.442.73131.235.1403043.65030.139.16327.939.98027.241.610026.753.712524.957.716024.76720022.762.825021.967.131520.466.540019.165.950019.27163018.572.980017.274.610001772.3125019.472.2160018.174.8200016.675.3250017.273.1315017.170400016.867.250001769.4630016.762.8800016.568.51000016.5681250016.556.91600016.449.7SPL29.883.8N1.361.8median 17.2median 68Delta2.24.237.246.632.738.32731.232.838.327.335.82643.627.352.225.764.323.669.424.167.323.669.422.56920.468.519.465.31966.817.970.518.572.518.371.317.769.61768.51765.517.664.117.363.517.360.517.458.117.359.217.358.217.262.917.155.417.144.129.9791.348.1median 17.7median 65.51.74.4hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseAsus Strix Scar III G531GWAsus GL504GS
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (84 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 5.5% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (11.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.9% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (3.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 2.1% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (6.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (10% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 4% of all tested devices in this class were better, 3% similar, 93% worse
» The best had a delta of 6%, average was 17%, worst was 37%
Compared to all devices tested
» 2% of all tested devices were better, 1% similar, 97% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Asus GL504GS audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (79 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(+) | good bass - only 2.9% away from median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (7.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.3% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 4.6% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (9.7% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 3% of all tested devices in this class were better, 2% similar, 95% worse
» The best had a delta of 6%, average was 17%, worst was 37%
Compared to all devices tested
» 2% of all tested devices were better, 0% similar, 98% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Power Management

Power Consumption

We expected our review unit to have higher power consumption than our comparison devices because of its more powerful CPU, but the results are startling. The G531GW consumes a minimum of 29 W at idle, which is higher than the maximum idle consumption of all but the Aorus 15 X9 of our comparison devices. Our review unit averages 157 W under load, which is around 40% higher than what our comparison devices averaged under the same conditions. Power consumption peaked at 217 W during our stress test, which is 12% higher than the XMG Neo 17 and 23% higher than the Aero 15-X9 respectively. Surprisingly, the G531GW is slightly more efficient than the GE75 Raider 8SF and the Aero 15-X9 under load.

ASUS includes a 280-W charger in the box. The charger is powerful enough to keep the G531GW charging even under sustained load.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 2.4 / 2.7 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 29 / 32 / 37 Watt
Load midlight 157 / 217 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
9880H, GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
Schenker XMG Neo 17
8750H, GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
MSI GE75 8SF
8750H, GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
Aorus 15 X9
8750H, GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop)
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
8750H, GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q
Average of class Gaming
 
Power Consumption
33%
21%
8%
38%
25%
Idle Minimum *
29
13
55%
16.4
43%
26
10%
16
45%
19.8 (3.5 - 113, n=653)
32%
Idle Average *
32
16
50%
21.9
32%
30.8
4%
18
44%
25.3 (6.8 - 119, n=653)
21%
Idle Maximum *
37
21
43%
25.4
31%
34.9
6%
23
38%
30.4 (8.3 - 122, n=653)
18%
Load Average *
157
96
39%
90.7
42%
90.7
42%
88
44%
104 (14.1 - 319, n=644)
34%
Load Maximum *
217
191
12%
222.9
-3%
241.2
-11%
167
23%
169 (21.9 - 590, n=643)
22%
Witcher 3 ultra *
173
172
1%
203.3
-18%
175
-1%
120
31%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The G531GW has a 66 Wh battery, which is a larger capacity than all but the Aero 15-X9 of our comparison devices. Despite this, our review unit finished second bottom in our practical Wi-Fi battery life comparison table with a runtime of just under three hours. Likewise, the G531GW needs recharging over an hour sooner than the average of gaming laptops that we have already tested. Our review unit performs comparatively better in our sustained load battery life test, but it still runs out of battery after just 1:21 hours.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
5h 28min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
2h 57min
Load (maximum brightness)
1h 21min
Asus Strix Scar III G531GW
9880H, GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 66 Wh
Schenker XMG Neo 17
8750H, GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 46.74 Wh
MSI GE75 8SF
8750H, GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 65 Wh
Aorus 15 X9
8750H, GeForce RTX 2070 (Laptop), 62 Wh
Gigabyte Aero 15-X9
8750H, GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q, 94.24 Wh
Average of class Gaming
 
Battery Runtime
-3%
20%
-46%
99%
15%
Reader / Idle
328
315
-4%
105
-68%
549
67%
339 (39 - 1174, n=629)
3%
WiFi v1.3
177
224
27%
212
20%
95
-46%
382
116%
254 (78 - 622, n=314)
44%
Load
81
55
-32%
61
-25%
174
115%
78.9 (18 - 202, n=595)
-3%

Pros

+ good maintenance and repair options
+ decent speakers
+ eye-catching RGB lighting
+ number pad integrated within the trackpad
+ Keystone security

Cons

- weak battery life
- no Thunderbolt 3
- thunderous fans
- underwhelming graphics performance for an RTX 2070 powered laptop

Verdict

The ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW laptop review. Test device courtesy of ASUS Germany.
The ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW laptop review. Test device courtesy of ASUS Germany.

The ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531WG is a solid gaming laptop. Unsurprisingly, modern triple-A games run smoothly on its 240 Hz Full HD display, while its RTX 2070 GPU is powerful to handle games at 4K on external monitors too. The laptop is easy to repair and maintain too, and we are fans of the inclusion of Keystone security. The number pad integrated within the trackpad is also a nice touch and distinguishes the ROG Strix from its competitors.

The ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW is a solid 15.6-inch gaming laptop. However, its loud fans and underwhelming RTX 2070 performance prevent it from attaining top marks.

Disappointingly, the ROG Strix did not perform as well as we would have expected in benchmarks and in our gaming tests. Other laptops simply get more performance out of similar hardware than our review unit can. Additionally, ASUS has equipped the device with punishingly loud fans, which drown its impressive speakers. Unfortunately, you will only be able to appreciate the speakers when you are not gaming. It is a shame that ASUS does not offer a 4K display option too, as the ROG Strix is powerful enough to play modern triple-A titles at that resolution. Overall, the ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW has a lot going for it, but it is let down by some significant deficiencies.

Asus Strix Scar III G531GW - 06/03/2019 v6
Mike Wobker

Chassis
87 / 98 → 89%
Keyboard
85%
Pointing Device
83%
Connectivity
59 / 81 → 73%
Weight
61 / 10-66 → 91%
Battery
69%
Display
84%
Games Performance
99%
Application Performance
96%
Temperature
83 / 95 → 87%
Noise
55 / 90 → 61%
Audio
88%
Average
79%
86%
Gaming - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 4 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > ASUS ROG Strix SCAR III G531GW (Core i9-9880H, RTX 2070) Laptop Review
Mike Wobker, 2019-06- 4 (Update: 2019-06- 5)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.