Notebookcheck

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop (i5-7300HQ, GTX 1060, Full HD) Review

Florian Glaser, 👁 Florian Glaser, Felicitas Krohn (translated by Mark Riege), 05/31/2018

Insider tip. The Chinese electronics manufacturer, which was known in the past mainly for its smartphones, now offers a powerful high-end notebook for its home market. The Mi Gaming Laptop scores with an especially good price-performance ratio. For less than 1500 Euros (~$1732), you can get a GeForce GTX 1060, a quad-core-CPU, and a Full HD panel. Is it worth importing?

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop

If you take a look into our Top-10 list of the best affordable gaming notebooks, you can quickly see that mid-range GPUs on the level of the GeForce GTX 1050 (Ti) or Radeon RX 580 are dominating in the price range below 1500 Euros (~$1732). Those who only have a limited budget but want to get the maximum performance are at the right address with the Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop.

For the same or a similar price as the competitors, the 15-inch notebook has Nvidia's GeForce GTX 1060 high-end GPU with 6 GB of GDDR5-VRAM, bringing its images onto the IPS panel with stable viewing angles. The DirectX-12 chip is accompanied by a quad-core processor from Intel, or more exact, the Core i5-7300HQ, which although not offering Hyperthreading, is sufficient for most of the current games. In addition, our test model has 8 GB or DDR4-RAM (single-channel) and a combination of a 128-GB SSD and a 1-TB HDD.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060 (Mi Gaming Laptop Series)
Graphics adapter
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop) - 6144 MB, Core: 1405 MHz, Memory: 8000 MHz, GDDR5, ForceWare 397.64, Optimus
Memory
8192 MB 
, SO-DIMM DDR4-2400, single channel, 1 of 2 slots occupied, 32 GB max.
Display
15.6 inch 16:9, 1920 x 1080 pixel 141 PPI, BOEhydis NV156FHM-N61 (BOE0747), IPS, Full HD, 60 Hz, glossy: no
Mainboard
Intel HM175 (Skylake PCH-H)
Storage
Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ, 128 GB 
, SATA-III SSD + Seagate BarraCuda ST1000LM048, 1 TB HDD, 5400 rpm. Slots: 2x M.2 Type 2280 & 1x 2.5 inch
Soundcard
Realtek ALC1220 @ Intel Sunrise Point PCH - High Definition Audio Controller
Connections
5 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 0 USB 3.1 Gen2, 1 HDMI, 1 DisplayPort, Audio Connections: 1x headphones, 1x microphone, Card Reader: SD, SDHC, SDXC
Networking
Realtek Gaming GBE Family Controller (10/100/1000MBit), Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265 (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 4.2
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 23 x 364 x 265 ( = 0.91 x 14.33 x 10.43 in)
Battery
55 Wh, 3620 mAh Lithium-Polymer
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Camera
Webcam: HD
Additional features
Speakers: 2.0 Dolby Atmos, Keyboard: Chiclet RGB, Keyboard Light: yes, 180 W power supply, Quick Start Guide, various manufacturer tools
Weight
2.742 kg ( = 96.72 oz / 6.05 pounds), Power Supply: 495 g ( = 17.46 oz / 1.09 pounds)
Price
1300 EUR
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

In order to have the right device for any budget in its portfolio, Xiaomi also sells the Mi Gaming Laptop in three other configurations, which you can see listed in the table below.

Model 1 Model 2 Model 3 (Test) Model 4
Processor Core i7-7700HQ Core i7-7700HQ Core i5-7300HQ Core i5-7300HQ
Graphics Card GeForce GTX 1060 GeForce GTX 1060 GeForce GTX 1060 GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Working Memory 16 GB RAM 8 GB RAM 8 GB RAM 8 GB RAM
Storage 256 GB SSD 128 GB SSD 128 GB SSD 128 GB SSD

But those who like a good deal and see it here should be forewarned, since as a US or EU citizen, it is currently very difficult to get your hands on a unit at all. We only received the Mi Gaming Laptop through some detours. The owner of the techtablets.com website was so kind as to sell us his unit, which he originally purchased for barely 1000 Euros (~$1154) from the geekbuying.com internet shop (when importing it to Germany you would need to pay 19% value-added taxes).

Besides the availability, there is also a second problem from the western perspective. While the keyboard has the US layout, you are greeted by a Chinese version of the operating system (Windows 10 64 Bit). Granted, with a fresh license and a new installation, other languages are also possible, but the software for adjusting the keyboard illumination and the macro keys remain in Chinese, so that some functions are incomprehensible and only show their effect after trying them out. Depending on your region, you will also need to purchase the corresponding power cable. 

If you disregard such smaller and larger pitfalls, the Xiaomi notebook is a serious competitor for the established manufacturers – and not just because of the fast hardware and the relatively affordable price. In our test, the Mi Gaming Laptop must prove itself against other 15-inch notebooks from the budget Top-10 list such as the HP Omen 15 and Dell Inspiron 15 7000 models with the GTX 1060 Max Q and the Acer Nitro 5 and Medion Erazer X6603 GTX 1050 Ti devices among others. Does Xiaomi really have the best package overall, or are there some hidden weaknesses?

We also tested the entry level model using a GTX 1050 Ti and the same CPU, read the full review here.

Case - Understated character

The case is definitely one of the highlights of the 15-incher. In contrast to many other gaming notebooks that often draw attention with a gimmicky and often cheap-looking design (look for example at the Acer Predator 15), the Mi Gaming Laptop appears very elegant and timeless with its modest visuals, so that you could also use the device for some more serious occasions.

In terms of its quality, the case also leaves a good to very good impression. Although the base unit is made only from plastic, with its high-quality workmanship and the convincing stability, you could think the laptop had an aluminum unibody. Only the keyboard has some give when pressing with more force in some places. The lid is made of metal and is surprisingly robust for a notebook despite the bezel being relatively slim.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop

Independent journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible but we intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers and support us!

However, the 15-inch gamer still misses the mobility of an MSI GS65 Stealth Thin or a Gigabyte Aero 15X. A weight of 2.7 kg (~5.9 lb) is not optimal for frequent transport, even though the Mi Gaming Laptop follows the competition here. All the devices we are using in our test weigh between 2.6 and 2.7 kg (~5.7 - 5.9 lb). In terms of its thickness, the Xiaomi stands out positively, though. At 23 mm (~0.9 in), the "underdog" is a tick slimmer than its competitors, which reach 25 to 29 mm (~1 - 1.1 in, not counting the case feet).

It also receives some plus points for the hinges with an unusual design, which are able to hold the display tightly in place even when there is some shaking. The bottom of the case shows some further unique features. Not only did Xiaomi equip the bottom with a large grid, offering a view of the cooling system inside, but there are also some slim LED bars that can be illuminated in various colors and modes.

Size Comparison

390 mm / 15.4 inch 266 mm / 10.5 inch 26.75 mm / 1.053 inch 2.7 kg5.95 lbs389 mm / 15.3 inch 276 mm / 10.9 inch 25 mm / 0.984 inch 2.6 kg5.78 lbs389 mm / 15.3 inch 274.7 mm / 10.8 inch 24.95 mm / 0.982 inch 2.7 kg6.05 lbs380 mm / 15 inch 265 mm / 10.4 inch 28.8 mm / 1.134 inch 2.6 kg5.63 lbs364 mm / 14.3 inch 265 mm / 10.4 inch 23 mm / 0.906 inch 2.7 kg6.05 lbs

Equipment - Only second league

Connections

In terms of its equipment, we can see various cost-cutting measures. To keep the price as low as possible, the manufacturer has done some cost cutting, not the least in the connections. Thus, the buyers have to make do without a Thunderbolt-3 port, a Kensington Lock, and a dedicated DisplayPort. The latter was at least implemented via USB-C. Regarding the USB, in addition to a Type-C port, the 15-incher offers four classical Type-A ports of the 3.0 generation, which are positioned on the side and the back. The package is rounded off by an RJ45 port, an HDMI output, a card reader, and two audio ports (headphones + microphone), which are unfortunately unlabeled, just like all the other ports.

There is hardly anything to complain about concerning the positioning of the connections. Since almost all the connections are at the back half of the case, an external mouse usually has enough room to move freely.

Left side: 2x USB-A 3.0, headphones, microphone
Left side: 2x USB-A 3.0, headphones, microphone
Right side: card reader, USB-A 3.0
Right side: card reader, USB-A 3.0
Back: RJ45-LAN, USB-A 3.0, HDMI, USB-C 3.0 with DisplayPort, DC power
Back: RJ45-LAN, USB-A 3.0, HDMI, USB-C 3.0 with DisplayPort, DC power

SDCard Reader

Those who expect a fast card reader will be disappointed by the Mi Gaming Laptop. Barely 30 MB/s during sequential reads or writes and the transfer of images correspond only to USB-2.0 levels. The HP Omen 15 and the Medion Erazer X6603, which achieve around USB-3.0 speeds, show that this can be done faster. Some gaming notebooks are even able to crack the 100 or 200-MB mark, and theoretically our reference card would manage up to 260 MB/s.

SDCardreader Transfer Speed
average JPG Copy Test (av. of 3 runs)
Average of class Gaming
  (11.7 - 202, n=217)
91.7 MB/s ∼100% +240%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
77 MB/s ∼84% +185%
Medion Erazer X6603
  (oshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
72 MB/s ∼79% +167%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
27 MB/s ∼29%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
26.95 MB/s ∼29% 0%
maximum AS SSD Seq Read Test (1GB)
Average of class Gaming
  (13.4 - 257, n=215)
110 MB/s ∼100% +293%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
87 MB/s ∼79% +211%
Medion Erazer X6603
  (oshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
78.2 MB/s ∼71% +179%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
29.44 MB/s ∼27% +5%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
28 MB/s ∼25%

Communication

The 15-incher is also unable to play at the top in terms of the wireless communication. Although 659 Mbit/s during the receive test is sufficient for second place, an average of 363 Mbit/s during the send test (both in 1 meter (~3.3 ft) distance from the Linksys EA8500 reference router) are only mediocre and result in last place. Looking at the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 and the Medion Erazer X6603, you can see that the built-in Intel Wireless AC-8265 Wi-Fi chip can really perform better.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
701 MBit/s ∼100% +6%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
659 MBit/s ∼94%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
654 MBit/s ∼93% -1%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Qualcomm QCA6174
603 MBit/s ∼86% -8%
Average of class Gaming
  (132 - 702, n=202)
595 MBit/s ∼85% -10%
Medion Erazer X6603
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
517 MBit/s ∼74% -22%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Medion Erazer X6603
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
664 MBit/s ∼100% +83%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Qualcomm QCA6174
600 MBit/s ∼90% +65%
Average of class Gaming
  (131 - 721, n=202)
539 MBit/s ∼81% +48%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
522 MBit/s ∼79% +44%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
426 MBit/s ∼64% +17%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
363 MBit/s ∼55%

Software

As mentioned in the beginning, the preinstalled software is in Chinese. The central control app is the Mi Gaming Box. Not only can you find system information (such as CPU, GPU, and RAM usage) in its menus, but also configuration options for the Macro keys and the illumination settings of the case (keyboard, bars on the sides). As far as we could figure out, there is no option for fan control or overclocking.

Mi Gaming Box
Mi Gaming Box
Mi Gaming Box
Mi Gaming Box

Accessories

In terms of accessories, the buyers will only receive a Quick Start Guide and a power supply. While the 180-watt model is not particularly heavy at about 0.5 kg (~1.1 lb), it takes a lot of space during transport (about 16 x 7.5 x 2.5 cm, ~6.3 x 3 x 1 in).

Maintenance

The maintenance is reminiscent of other gaming notebooks. After you have removed nine Philips screws from the back (attention: one is hidden under the center of the rubber cover of the longish foot), the bottom of the case can be removed, which due to the additional hooks is harder than it looks and requires a tool to pry it off.

As soon as you have successfully performed this procedure, all the inside components can be accessed. Xiaomi has provided the Mi Gaming Laptop with two fans and several heat pipes, two RAM banks, two M.2 slots, and one 2.5-inch slot. The last is clearly at the expense of the battery capacity, so the author would have rather left this out, in particular since one of the two M.2 slots can apparently only be used if you take out the 2.5-inch drive – very awkward.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop

Input Devices - Top level

Keyboard

In the input devices, Xiaomi does almost everything right. Although it takes a little getting used to the layout with the Macro keys positioned on the left side (in the beginning we often hit the wrong key in the main block), otherwise we have nothing to complain about the keyboard. Despite the chiclet design, the rounded keys are comfortably large at 16 x 16 mm (~0.6 x 0.6 in). The typing experience reminded us of mechanical keyboards and we liked it. Compared to some of the other gaming laptops, the pressure point and stroke are fairly defined and crisp (even though the keyboard could have been a little more solid, as mentioned above).

Gamers should be pleased with the intensive RGB illumination, which can be adjusted in several steps, has various modes, and can be split into four zones, if so desired. It is great that due to their bright labels, the keys can be easily seen even without illumination. On the other hand, you could argue about the absence of a number block.

Chiclet keyboard ...
Chiclet keyboard ...
... with RGB illumination
... with RGB illumination

Touchpad

The mouse substitute follows the current ClickPad trend that does without the dedicated keys. Since Xiaomi has placed the keyboard far back, leading to a pleasingly large palm rest, the touchpad also has a lot of space. At a size of about 12 x 8 cm (~4.7 x 3.1 in), the smooth surface is amply sized so that you can draw longer lines without having to reset the finger. 

As necessary for a modern device, the Mi Gaming Laptop also supports various gestures. Zooming and scrolling via 2-finger touch worked without a hitch in the test. The ClickPad also recognizes left and right clicks reliably most of the time, although conventional touchpads are slightly ahead in this area. In contrast to the keyboard which can be operated fairly quietly and is thus suited for quieter surroundings, the mouse substitute was clacking noticeably during input.  

Display - Light and shade

The Full HD display offered a mixed performance. From a gamer point of view, we would call the panel less than optimal. In addition to the lack of the G-Sync support, which is due to the Optimus graphics switching, some buyers will also miss a high frequency choice. In times of 120 and 144 Hz panels, 60 Hz are not up-to-date anymore.

282
cd/m²
286
cd/m²
272
cd/m²
260
cd/m²
283
cd/m²
262
cd/m²
249
cd/m²
274
cd/m²
251
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 286 cd/m² Average: 268.8 cd/m² Minimum: 15 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 87 %
Center on Battery: 250 cd/m²
Contrast: 1230:1 (Black: 0.23 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 4.68 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.2, calibrated: 2.5
ΔE Greyscale 4.32 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
87% sRGB (Argyll 3D) 57% AdobeRGB 1998 (Argyll 3D)
Gamma: 2.36
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
BOEhydis NV156FHM-N61 (BOE0747), IPS, 1920x1080
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
ID: LG Philips LGD053F, Name: 156WF6, Dell P/N: 4XK13, IPS, 1920x1080
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
AUO42ED, IPS, 1920x1080
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
LG Philips LP156WF6-SPK6, IPS, 1920x1080
Medion Erazer X6603
LP156WF6-SPK3, AH-IPS, LED, 1920x1080
Response Times
34%
22%
41%
-15%
Response Time Grey 50% / Grey 80% *
53.2 (26.4, 26.8)
35.6 (20, 15.6)
33%
43.2 (21.2, 22)
19%
35 (16, 19)
34%
46 (36, 10)
14%
Response Time Black / White *
41.6 (23.6, 18)
27.6 (15.6, 12)
34%
31.2 (16.4, 14.8)
25%
22 (12, 10)
47%
29 (17, 12)
30%
PWM Frequency
21550 (99)
2174 (90)
-90%
Screen
-31%
8%
-16%
-33%
Brightness middle
283
235.4
-17%
304
7%
276
-2%
252
-11%
Brightness
269
223
-17%
289
7%
265
-1%
246
-9%
Brightness Distribution
87
91
5%
86
-1%
91
5%
94
8%
Black Level *
0.23
0.28
-22%
0.26
-13%
0.25
-9%
0.23
-0%
Contrast
1230
841
-32%
1169
-5%
1104
-10%
1096
-11%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
4.68
5.6
-20%
3.46
26%
5.06
-8%
7.83
-67%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
8
20.3
-154%
7.72
3%
10.13
-27%
15.5
-94%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 calibrated *
2.5
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
4.32
3.6
17%
2.46
43%
6.25
-45%
7.11
-65%
Gamma
2.36 93%
2.23 99%
2.38 92%
1.76 125%
2.19 100%
CCT
7612 85%
7214 90%
6915 94%
6873 95%
7930 82%
Color Space (Percent of AdobeRGB 1998)
57
35.2
-38%
59
4%
40
-30%
35
-39%
Color Space (Percent of sRGB)
87
55.4
-36%
91
5%
62
-29%
55
-37%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
2% / -21%
15% / 10%
13% / -6%
-24% / -29%

* ... smaller is better

Added to this is the meager response time. 41.6 ms when changing from black to white and 53.2 ms changing from gray to gray result in the last place in the test field. For comparison, the IPS panels of the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 and the Acer Nitro 5 remain below 30 and 40 ms respectively here. At least, we did not notice any prominent streaking.

CalMAN: Grayscales
CalMAN: Grayscales
CalMAN: Grayscales (calibrated)
CalMAN: Grayscales (calibrated)
CalMAN: Saturation
CalMAN: Saturation
CalMAN: Saturation (calibrated)
CalMAN: Saturation (calibrated)
CalMAN: ColorChecker
CalMAN: ColorChecker
CalMAN: ColorChecker (calibrated)
CalMAN: ColorChecker (calibrated)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop vs. sRGB (87%)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop vs. sRGB (87%)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop vs. AdobeRGB (57%)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop vs. AdobeRGB (57%)

If we concentrate on the remaining display values of the built in panel with the type designation BOEhydis NV156FHM-N61, we can also see some strengths. Although at an average brightness of 269 cd/m², the 15-inch screen is not one of the brightest (leading to some problems outdoors), thanks to its low black value (0.23 cd/m²), there is a high contrast of 1230:1, so that games, movies, and images appear very vivid and differentiated. For a gaming notebook, the color space is also decent. 87% sRGB and 57% are only bested by the HP Omen 15 in our competition.

Outdoors
Outdoors
Subpixels
Subpixels
Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Xiaomi could improve a little on the color accuracy. In the state of delivery, the panel has a slight blue tint, although this can be improved by some calibration (or you could just install our ICC file). Our test unit hardly had to struggle with screen bleeding or annoying halos. There was only a small lighter area in the left top corner. However, this only became noticeable in completely dark images.

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
41.6 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 23.6 ms rise
↘ 18 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 97 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (25.5 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
53.2 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 26.4 ms rise
↘ 26.8 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 88 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (40.8 ms).

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 21550 Hz ≤ 99 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 21550 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 99 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 21550 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9824 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Performance - Competitive

Although the Mi Gaming Laptop in our test configuration has to be content with 8 GB of RAM (here we recommend an upgrade to 16 GB) and does not contain a Coffee Lake chip with six cores yet, we can still classify the 15-incher as a high-end notebook.

CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
HWiNFO
GPU-Z
GPU-Z
Latencies
 

Processor

Besides the graphics card, the processor is also different between the models. While there is a Core i7-7700HQ with a 2.8-3.8 GHz clock speed and Hyperthreading technology (8 parallel threads) in the more expensive models, in the more affordable versions, there is only the Core i5-7300HQ, which has a clock speed of 2.5-3.5 GHz, does not support Hyperthreading, and can thus only run four threads simultaneously.

Singlecore rendering
Singlecore rendering
Multicore rendering
Multicore rendering
GPU load
GPU load

This situation is also reflected in the performance. During the multi-core test of Cinebench R15, the Mi Gaming Laptop is surpassed by about 40% by the competitors with the Core i7-7700HQ. We will evaluate next, whether the weaker CPU also has a negative effect during 3D applications.

Cinebench R15
CPU Single 64Bit
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
162 Points ∼100% +17%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
162 Points ∼100% +17%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
160 Points ∼99% +16%
Average of class Gaming
  (79 - 212, n=443)
153 Points ∼94% +11%
Medion Erazer X6603
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
151 Points ∼93% +9%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
Intel Core i5-7300HQ
138 Points ∼85%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
Intel Core i5-7300HQ
131 Points ∼81% -5%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Average of class Gaming
  (196 - 1979, n=444)
774 Points ∼100% +50%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
740 Points ∼96% +43%
Medion Erazer X6603
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
732 Points ∼95% +42%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
727 Points ∼94% +41%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
699 Points ∼90% +35%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
Intel Core i5-7300HQ
516 Points ∼67%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
Intel Core i5-7300HQ
514 Points ∼66% 0%
Cinebench R11.5
CPU Single 64Bit
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
1.83 Points ∼100% +17%
Medion Erazer X6603
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
1.72 Points ∼94% +10%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
1.71 Points ∼93% +10%
Average of class Gaming
  (0.71 - 2.38, n=412)
1.683 Points ∼92% +8%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
Intel Core i5-7300HQ
1.56 Points ∼85%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
Intel Core i5-7300HQ
1.52 Points ∼83% -3%
CPU Multi 64Bit
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
8.18 Points ∼100% +38%
Medion Erazer X6603
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
8.13 Points ∼99% +37%
Average of class Gaming
  (1.13 - 21.4, n=513)
7.33 Points ∼90% +24%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Intel Core i7-7700HQ
7.26 Points ∼89% +22%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
Intel Core i5-7300HQ
5.93 Points ∼72%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
Intel Core i5-7300HQ
5.92 Points ∼72% 0%

The clock speed behavior of the Core i5-7300HQ gives no reason for complaint. In our Cinebench loop, which runs for at least 30 minutes, the 15-incher presents a very constant performance. 3.1 GHz are identical to Intel's specifications for the multi-core Turbo.

0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510520Tooltip
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64 Bit
Cinebench R11.5 CPU Single 64Bit
1.56 Points
Cinebench R11.5 CPU Multi 64Bit
5.93 Points
Cinebench R15 CPU Single 64Bit
138 Points
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64Bit
516 Points
Help

System Performance

If you believe PCMark 10, the cost-cutting measures in the CPU, RAM, and SSD lower the available system speed by quite a bit. Despite having the most powerful GPU in our test field, the Mi Gaming Laptop is bested by the competitors by 5 to 16%. However, most of the time you will not notice a difference in everyday operations. All the devices boot up comfortably quick and respond very fast otherwise.

PCMark 10 - Score
Average of class Gaming
  (2603 - 7171, n=141)
5055 Points ∼100% +20%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7700HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
4861 Points ∼96% +16%
Medion Erazer X6603
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
4618 Points ∼91% +10%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ, Intel SSD 600p SSDPEKKW256G7
4474 Points ∼89% +7%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7300HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
4406 Points ∼87% +5%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), 7300HQ, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
4197 Points ∼83%
PCMark 8
Work Score Accelerated v2
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7700HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
5348 Points ∼100% +9%
Medion Erazer X6603
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
5129 Points ∼96% +4%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ, Intel SSD 600p SSDPEKKW256G7
5096 Points ∼95% +4%
Average of class Gaming
  (2484 - 6515, n=334)
4965 Points ∼93% +1%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), 7300HQ, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
4912 Points ∼92%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7300HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
4856 Points ∼91% -1%
Home Score Accelerated v2
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7700HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
4858 Points ∼100% +24%
Average of class Gaming
  (2554 - 6093, n=352)
4243 Points ∼87% +9%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ, Intel SSD 600p SSDPEKKW256G7
4177 Points ∼86% +7%
Medion Erazer X6603
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
4119 Points ∼85% +5%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), 7300HQ, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
3910 Points ∼80%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7300HQ, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
3759 Points ∼77% -4%
PCMark 8 Home Score Accelerated v2
3910 points
PCMark 8 Work Score Accelerated v2
4912 points
Help

Storage Solution

While PCIe drives are slowly but surely becoming more prevalent, Xiaomi is still using a SATA-III SSD for cost reasons. At least it is made by the established manufacturer Samsung. Due to its size of 128 GB, the M.2 model fills up very fast.

SSD
SSD
SSD
SSD
HDD
HDD
HDD
HDD

Since Windows 10 already eats up dozens of GB and more and more of the current games need more than 50 GB, the buyer often has no choice but storing his gaming collection on the secondary (and much slower) storage. The built-in 1-TB HDD from Seagate runs at 5400 rpm and achieves a typical performance level.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
Intel SSD 600p SSDPEKKW256G7
Medion Erazer X6603
Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
AS SSD
165%
29%
175%
Score Total
834
2405
188%
984
18%
2431
191%
Score Write
302
594
97%
344
14%
750
148%
Score Read
343
1241
262%
446
30%
1162
239%
4K Write
104.05
100.19
-4%
75.03
-28%
129.25
24%
4K Read
38.11
46.95
23%
27.86
-27%
46.58
22%
Seq Write
450.12
1180.85
162%
521.04
16%
1080.63
140%
Seq Read
501.5
2651.5
429%
1404
180%
2805.35
459%
Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
CDM 5/6 Read Seq Q32T1: 538.5 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Write Seq Q32T1: 521.7 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Read 4K Q32T1: 334.6 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Write 4K Q32T1: 185.1 MB/s
CDM 5 Read Seq: 508 MB/s
CDM 5 Write Seq: 468.7 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Read 4K: 35.48 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Write 4K: 120.7 MB/s

Graphics Card

Due to the massive performance jump, gamers should directly go for the GTX 1060 model, since with a GTX 1050 Ti, the Mi Gaming Laptop would be noticeably slower, as the Medion Erazer X6603 and the Acer Nitro 5 also confirm.

3DMark - 1920x1080 Fire Strike Graphics
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop)
11903 Points ∼100%
Average of class Gaming
  (385 - 40636, n=471)
10641 Points ∼89% -11%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q
10349 Points ∼87% -13%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q
10263 Points ∼86% -14%
Medion Erazer X6603
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop)
7694 Points ∼65% -35%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop)
7683 Points ∼65% -35%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop)
7666 Points ∼64% -36%
3DMark 11 - 1280x720 Performance GPU
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop)
15322 Points ∼100%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q
13279 Points ∼87% -13%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q
13075 Points ∼85% -15%
Average of class Gaming
  (513 - 50983, n=544)
12396 Points ∼81% -19%
Medion Erazer X6603
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop)
9518 Points ∼62% -38%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop)
9450 Points ∼62% -38%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop)
9357 Points ∼61% -39%

The latter notebooks are surpassed by more than 50% in the Fire-Strike test of 3DMark 13. The distance to the GeForce GTX 1060 Max Q of the HP Omen 15 and Dell Inspiron 15 7000 is almost 15%.

3DMark 11 Performance
11106 points
3DMark Cloud Gate Standard Score
16619 points
3DMark Fire Strike Score
9249 points
Help

Using the RPG hit The Witcher 3, we test whether the good 3D performance can also be maintained over a longer period. The result: even after 60 minutes, the frame rate hardly drops, from which we gather that the Turbo of the graphics card remains constant. The GeForce GTX 1060 is able to overclock via GPU Boost from the standard 1405 up to 1900 MHz, with the value leveling out at a good 1670 MHz in The Witcher 3.

01234567891011121314151617181920212223242526272829303132333435363738394041Tooltip
The Witcher 3 ultra

Gaming Performance

The combination of 8 GB of single-channel RAM and a quad-core CPU without Hyperthreading fails to power every game perfectly.

The Witcher 3 - 1920x1080 Ultra Graphics & Postprocessing (HBAO+)
Average of class Gaming
  (12.6 - 115, n=246)
46.6 fps ∼100% +16%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), 7300HQ
40.3 fps ∼86%
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7300HQ
35.2 fps ∼76% -13%
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7700HQ
34.6 fps ∼74% -14%
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ
24.2 fps ∼52% -40%

While The Witcher 3, Fortnite, Elex and the benchmark of Final Fantasy 15 are displayed in maximum detail (1920x1080) as fast as on the other GTX 1060 laptops, the performance in Far Cry 5, The Evil Within 2, and Kingdom Come Deliverance turned out noticeably lower in some parts. However, the latter games never slid into an "unplayable" range.

low med. high ultra
The Witcher 3 (2015) 72.840.3fps
The Evil Within 2 (2017) 36.535.1fps
ELEX (2017) 70.954fps
Fortnite (2018) 91.581.4fps
Final Fantasy XV Benchmark (2018) 39.8fps
Kingdom Come: Deliverance (2018) 43.636fps
Far Cry 5 (2018) 6259fps

Emissions - Screamer

Noise Emissions

The worst weakness of the Mi Gaming laptop is its high noise development. While the 15-inch notebook did not become too loud in the 3DMark 06 at 38-44 dB(A), after 60 minutes of The Witcher 3, the fans were screaming at 50 dB(A) on average, which corresponds to a clearly noticeable and, for many users, annoying noise level. At full speed, we measured even up to 55 dB(A). The comparison field behaved much quieter in 3D operation.

The high fan speed of the Mi Gaming Laptops can hardly be explained by high hardware temperatures. For example during the Witcher 3 run, the Core i5-7300HQ only warmed up to about 60 °C (140 °F). About 68 °C (154 °F) for the GeForce GTX 1060 are also moderate, so Xiaomi should be able to adjust the fan speed curve more gently. (Note: The BIOS offers an option to reduce the maximum speed.)

Noise level, idle
Noise level, idle
Noise level, load
Noise level, load
BIOS
BIOS

The notebook also deserves some complaint in idle mode as well. Although the fans turn off completely in the ideal case, so that you can only hear a slight HDD noise, from time to time the cooling system revs up unnecessarily. During supposedly small and harmless tasks such as Windows updates, installations, and program starts, the fans really like to turn on and come close to 40 dB(A). The competitors do this better most of the time.

Noise Level

Idle
30 / 34 / 38 dB(A)
HDD
32 dB(A)
Load
44 / 55 dB(A)
  red to green bar
 
 
30 dB
silent
40 dB(A)
audible
50 dB(A)
loud
 
min: dark, med: mid, max: light   Audix TM1, Arta (15 cm distance)   environment noise: 30 dB(A)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), 7300HQ
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7300HQ
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7700HQ
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ
Medion Erazer X6603
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ
Average of class Gaming
 
Noise
18%
5%
9%
10%
5%
off / environment *
30
28
7%
30
-0%
30.6
-2%
30.9
-3%
29.4 (27.7 - 32, n=248)
2%
Idle Minimum *
30
28
7%
30
-0%
30.6
-2%
30.9
-3%
31.5 (28 - 41.7, n=671)
-5%
Idle Average *
34
28
18%
33
3%
30.7
10%
30.9
9%
32.8 (28 - 46.6, n=671)
4%
Idle Maximum *
38
28
26%
37
3%
30.7
19%
31.6
17%
34.7 (28 - 50.4, n=671)
9%
Load Average *
44
30.3
31%
41
7%
43
2%
38.5
12%
40.5 (30.3 - 58, n=672)
8%
Witcher 3 ultra *
50
39.5
21%
42
16%
39.7
21%
Load Maximum *
55
46.5
15%
50
9%
45.8
17%
40.8
26%
47.7 (38.9 - 64, n=672)
13%

* ... smaller is better

Temperature

As we already indicated, the temperatures are all right. During the stress test with the FurMark and Prime95 tools, we were only able to measure up to 73 °C (163 °F) at the GeForce GTX 1060. The reason for the passable value is that the GPU throttles down to 1260 MHz (only during FurMark). Under full load, the CPU ran with the Turbo activated. After the Nvidia chip began throttling, the temperature of the Core i5-7300HQ dropped from 90 (194 °F) to about 70-80 °C (158-176 °F).

Stress test
Stress test
Full load, top (Optris PI 640)
Full load, top (Optris PI 640)
Full load, bottom (Optris PI 640)
Full load, bottom (Optris PI 640)

The case also does not warm up too much. During the 60-minute test with The Witcher 3, the top only heated up to a maximum of 44 °C (111 °F; during the stress test: 46 °C, 115 °F). Since the palm rest always remains below 30 °C (86°F), longer gaming sessions should not pose a problem. It can only become uncomfortable on the lap, since the bottom of the case reaches up to 52 °C (126 °F).

Max. Load
 44 °C
111 F
46 °C
115 F
44 °C
111 F
 
 42 °C
108 F
46 °C
115 F
43 °C
109 F
 
 25 °C
77 F
27 °C
81 F
28 °C
82 F
 
Maximum: 46 °C = 115 F
Average: 38.3 °C = 101 F
49 °C
120 F
51 °C
124 F
45 °C
113 F
52 °C
126 F
52 °C
126 F
37 °C
99 F
28 °C
82 F
25 °C
77 F
26 °C
79 F
Maximum: 52 °C = 126 F
Average: 40.6 °C = 105 F
Power Supply (max.)  50 °C = 122 F | Room Temperature 20 °C = 68 F | Voltcraft IR-900
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 38.3 °C / 101 F, compared to the average of 32.9 °C / 91 F for the devices in the class Gaming.
(-) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 46 °C / 115 F, compared to the average of 39.3 °C / 103 F, ranging from 21.6 to 68.8 °C for the class Gaming.
(-) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 52 °C / 126 F, compared to the average of 41.7 °C / 107 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 27.2 °C / 81 F, compared to the device average of 32.9 °C / 91 F.
(±) Playing The Witcher 3, the average temperature for the upper side is 37.1 °C / 99 F, compared to the device average of 32.9 °C / 91 F.
(+) The palmrests and touchpad are cooler than skin temperature with a maximum of 28 °C / 82.4 F and are therefore cool to the touch.
(±) The average temperature of the palmrest area of similar devices was 28.7 °C / 83.7 F (+0.7 °C / 1.3 F).
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), 7300HQ
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7300HQ
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7700HQ
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ
Medion Erazer X6603
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ
Average of class Gaming
 
Heat
13%
-11%
16%
18%
3%
Maximum Upper Side *
46
44
4%
47
-2%
41.1
11%
44.3
4%
45.6 (28 - 68.8, n=637)
1%
Maximum Bottom *
52
43.8
16%
54
-4%
38.8
25%
39.5
24%
49.2 (25.9 - 78, n=635)
5%
Idle Upper Side *
32
26
19%
36
-13%
28.7
10%
24.8
22%
30.7 (21.6 - 46.8, n=588)
4%
Idle Bottom *
32
28
12%
40
-25%
26.9
16%
24.6
23%
31.5 (21.1 - 50.3, n=586)
2%

* ... smaller is better

Speakers

Despite the "budget price," the sound does not need to hide behind the competitors. The opposite is the case. Xiaomi is using a 2.0 system which is positioned at the case front, certified for Dolby Atmos, and offers a better sound than the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 according to our audio analysis. Another positive: Thanks to the high maximum volume of 88 dB(A), the 15-incher is not only suited for small rooms or sitting close by but even larger spaces.

Although movies, music, and games are shown to good effect, when using a headset or external speakers you usually get better sound quality. 

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2038.540.72533.834.13127.629.64033.736.75025.932.3632536.7802543.41002947.512526.150.61602358.220023.161.925020.968.131520.271.740018.675.350018.17863017.980.680019.478.7100020.177.612501877.716001773.9200017.579.8250017.177.6315017.474.7400017.372.3500017.271.963001773.1800016.970.61000016.965.31250016.963.61600016.857.7SPL3088.2N1.479.2median 17.9median 72.3Delta1.97.635.14135.540.236.139.836.839.533.340.333.240.732.741.631.343.1314630.550.429.653.128.356.12757.926.657.626.260.325.664.824.865.824.362.124.365.623.966.623.566.623.465.923.262.722.968.122.974.122.876.822.880.922.873.522.864.122.960.936.184.12.754.8median 24.3median 64.12.15.1hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseXiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (88 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 12.6% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (8.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.4% higher than median
(+) | mids are linear (5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 2.5% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (12.8% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 21% of all tested devices in this class were better, 7% similar, 72% worse
» The best had a delta of 6%, average was 17%, worst was 37%
Compared to all devices tested
» 8% of all tested devices were better, 2% similar, 89% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577 audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (80.94 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 13% lower than median
(+) | bass is linear (6.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 2.7% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 8% higher than median
(±) | linearity of highs is average (10.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (17.3% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 55% of all tested devices in this class were better, 5% similar, 40% worse
» The best had a delta of 6%, average was 17%, worst was 37%
Compared to all devices tested
» 26% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 68% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Power Management - Unspectacular

Power Consumption

Without G-Sync, the path is free for Nvidia's Optimus graphics switching. This massively lowers the power consumption during idle operation, since then only the graphics chip of the processor is used (HD Graphics 630). 10-19 watts are about in the middle between the GTX 1060 Max Q notebooks Dell Inspiron 15 7000 (7-9 watts) and HP Omen 15 (18-30 watts). The GTX 1050 Ti laptops from Acer (4-10 watts) and Medion (5-9 watts) operate even more efficiently, which does not always have an effect on the battery life, though.

Under load, the Mi Gaming Laptop draws between 68 and 136 watts of power. Considering the graphics power, this is relatively little, and it can be mainly traced back to the Core i5-7300HQ which is more efficient than the Core i7-7700HQ in 3D operation.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.5 / 0.7 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 10 / 13 / 19 Watt
Load midlight 68 / 136 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), 7300HQ
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7300HQ
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7700HQ
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ
Medion Erazer X6603
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ
Average of class Gaming
 
Power Consumption
29%
-41%
24%
29%
-67%
Idle Minimum *
10
7.1
29%
18
-80%
4.1
59%
4.7
53%
20 (3.8 - 113, n=632)
-100%
Idle Average *
13
7.6
42%
23
-77%
6.9
47%
7.6
42%
25.5 (6.8 - 119, n=632)
-96%
Idle Maximum *
19
8.6
55%
30
-58%
9.5
50%
9.2
52%
30.6 (8.3 - 122, n=632)
-61%
Load Average *
68
59.5
12%
85
-25%
83
-22%
81
-19%
104 (14.1 - 319, n=623)
-53%
Load Maximum *
136
112.8
17%
158
-16%
126
7%
112
18%
168 (21.9 - 590, n=622)
-24%
Witcher 3 ultra *
110
89
19%
96
13%
108
2%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The battery life of the Mi Gaming Laptop leaves it in the middle of the field. Barely 4.5 hours of Internet surfing via WLAN or playing of HD videos (brightness adjusted to about 150 cd/m²) are neither bad nor particularly good. The same goes for the maximum of 6.5 hours in idle mode. While the Medion Erazer X6603 and the HP Omen 15 have no chance in the direct comparison, the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 and the Acer Nitro 5 last considerably longer at a maximum of 11 and 15 hours respectively – and that despite the battery having a similar capacity. 

In general, the Xiaomi does not have the best battery capacity. 55 Wh are only mediocre. Other slim gaming notebooks such as the Gigabyte Aero 15X put more value on mobility and boast with batteries in the 80 or 90-Wh range.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
6h 26min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
4h 35min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
4h 25min
Load (maximum brightness)
1h 20min
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060
GeForce GTX 1060 (Laptop), 7300HQ, 55 Wh
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 7577
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7300HQ, 56 Wh
HP Omen 15-ce002ng
GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q, 7700HQ, 70 Wh
Acer Nitro 5 AN515-51-788E
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ, 48 Wh
Medion Erazer X6603
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (Laptop), 7700HQ, 45 Wh
Average of class Gaming
 
Battery Runtime
47%
-19%
43%
-19%
-8%
Reader / Idle
386
659
71%
256
-34%
893
131%
340
-12%
334 (39 - 1174, n=612)
-13%
H.264
265
224
-15%
309
17%
227
-14%
244 (88 - 506, n=129)
-8%
WiFi v1.3
275
416
51%
198
-28%
400
45%
257
-7%
251 (78 - 622, n=292)
-9%
Load
80
96
20%
80
0%
63
-21%
46
-42%
78.6 (18 - 202, n=578)
-2%

Verdict - The price-performance tip

Pros

+ great price-performance ratio
+ fairly slim bezels
+ good input devices
+ decent sound
+ graphics switching
+ RGB illumination
+ robust case
+ elegant design

Cons

- operating system, software, and Quick Start Guide in Chinese only
- meager base equipment (8 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD)
- unnecessarily high noise development
- mediocre display response time
- battery could be stronger
- no Kensington Lock
- lame card reader
- no Thunderbolt 3
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop

Cheap goods from the Far East? While this prejudice might fit many products, it does not suit the Mi Gaming Laptop. In most of the categories, the 15-inch laptop can keep up easily with the competition or even surpasses it.

Although the case is no lightweight and there are even slimmer high-end notebooks, we were quite enthusiastic about the case. The workmanship, quality of materials, and design are beyond reproach. The input devices and the sound also feel better than in some 2000 or 3000-Euro (~$2309-3464) notebook.

But of course, not everything that shines is really gold. In order to keep the price attractive, Xiaomi was forced to cut some corners in some details, such as the lame card reader, the slow Wi-Fi performance, or the lack of certain connections (Thunderbolt 3, Kensington Lock). While 8 GB RAM and a 128-GB SSD are also meager, you can also purchase the device in a configuration with 16 GB and a 256-GB SSD.

But we could get over all these points in our opinion. What are clearly more annoying are the high noise level in 3D operation and the pointless fan behavior in idle mode. Although these are typical phenomena in gaming laptops, the competitors often allow alleviating them via manual adjustment. Whether you consider the lack of G-Sync technology a negative point is a matter of taste. Xiaomi implements Optimus instead, which helps the battery life.

The display leaves some mixed feelings. On one hand, we like the high contrast and the stable viewing angles, but on the other hand, some of the current gamer criteria (120/144 Hz, short response time) remain unfulfilled. Before the purchase, you should also know that due to the Chinese software, the Mi Gaming Laptop is meant only to a limited extent for the EU or US market. However, those who are not daunted by the entry obstacles and have the fortune to receive a unit directly or through some detours will get a successful overall package at a bargain price.

At the end of the day, the underdog advances to an insider tip and grabs a high placement in our list of the 10 best budget gaming notebooks.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 7300HQ 1060 - 05/28/2018 v6
Florian Glaser

Chassis
88 / 98 → 90%
Keyboard
87%
Pointing Device
81%
Connectivity
60 / 81 → 74%
Weight
58 / 10-66 → 86%
Battery
77%
Display
86%
Games Performance
91%
Application Performance
90%
Temperature
85 / 95 → 90%
Noise
66 / 90 → 73%
Audio
78%
Average
79%
85%
Gaming - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 10 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop (i5-7300HQ, GTX 1060, Full HD) Review
Florian Glaser, 2018-05-31 (Update: 2018-08- 7)