Notebookcheck

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019 Review: Return of the Exotic

Florian Glaser, 👁 Florian Glaser, Felicitas Krohn (translated by Finn D. Boerne), 11/19/2019

Budget gamer. Back in 2019 the Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop not only surprised us with a sturdy high-quality case but also a good price-performance ratio. Find out whether the 2019 iteration follows suit.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019

As previously reported three different models of the 2019 edition of Xiaomi’s Mi Gaming Laptop will be available. A base model equipped with a Core i5-9300H with 8 GB of RAM, a mid-range model based on the Core i7-9750H with 16 GB of RAM, and last but not least a flagship model equipped with a GeForce RTX 2060 instead of a GeForce GTX 1660 Ti. The latter might not be that much slower than the former, but it lacks its raytracing capabilities. All units are equipped with a 144 Hz IPS FHD and a 512 GB NVMe SSD.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019 (Mi Gaming Laptop Series)
Graphics adapter
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop) - 6144 MB, Core: 1110 MHz, Memory: 7000 MHz, GDDR6, ForceWare 441.12, Optimus
Memory
16384 MB 
, 2x 8 GB SO-DIMM DDR4-2666, dual channel, all slots populated
Display
15.6 inch 16:9, 1920 x 1080 pixel 141 PPI, NV156FHM-N4G (BOE0867), IPS, FHD, 144 Hz, glossy: no
Mainboard
Intel HM370
Storage
Toshiba XG6 KXG60ZNV512G, 512 GB 
, NVMe-SSD, Slots: 2x M.2 Typ 2280 & 1x 2.5-Zoll
Soundcard
Intel Cannon Point PCH - cAVS
Connections
4 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 1 HDMI, Audio Connections: 1x headphones (output), 1x microphone (input), Card Reader: SD,SDHC,SDXC
Networking
Realtek Gaming GBE Family Controller (10/100/1000/2500/5000MBit/s), Intel Wireless-AC 9560 (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5), Bluetooth 5
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 21 x 364 x 265 ( = 0.83 x 14.33 x 10.43 in)
Battery
55 Wh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Camera
Webcam: HD
Additional features
Speakers: 2.0, Keyboard: Chiclet RGB, Keyboard Light: yes, 180 W charger, 12 Months Warranty
Weight
2.6 kg ( = 91.71 oz / 5.73 pounds), Power Supply: 500 g ( = 17.64 oz / 1.1 pounds)
Price
1400 EUR
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team! Especially English native speakers welcome!

Currently wanted: 
News and Editorial Editor - Details here

As with its predecessor Xiaomi’s exclusive target audience for the Mi Gaming Laptop are Asian markets, which is why it's almost impossible to tell you how much exactly the device is going to cost. By default, it ships with a Chinese version of Windows. However, some retailers offer an English Windows 10 at a premium.

Its main competitors are other 15-inch notebooks with Core i7-9750H and GeForce RTX 2060, such as the MSI GL65 9SEK, Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH, Asus Strix GL531GV, or Acer ConceptD 7.

RatingDateModelWeightHeightSizeResolutionBest Price
83%11/2019Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
2.6 kg21 mm15.6"1920x1080
81%10/2019MSI GL65 9SEK
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
2.3 kg27.5 mm15.6"1920x1080
86%08/2019Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
2.3 kg26 mm15.6"1920x1080
86%08/2019Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
2.4 kg25.9 mm15.6"1920x1080
86%11/2019Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
2.2 kg17.9 mm15.6"3840x2160

Since Xiaomi has left the case mostly unmodified, except for the unfortunate omission of a previously available USB-C port, we are not going to cover case, connectivity, and input devices in great depth as part of this review. Instead, we would like to refer you to our review of the 2018 model.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019

Size Comparison

365 mm / 14.4 inch 260 mm / 10.2 inch 26 mm / 1.024 inch 2.3 kg5.07 lbs360 mm / 14.2 inch 274 mm / 10.8 inch 25.9 mm / 1.02 inch 2.4 kg5.29 lbs357.7 mm / 14.1 inch 248 mm / 9.76 inch 27.5 mm / 1.083 inch 2.3 kg5.07 lbs364 mm / 14.3 inch 265 mm / 10.4 inch 21 mm / 0.827 inch 2.6 kg5.73 lbs359 mm / 14.1 inch 255 mm / 10 inch 17.9 mm / 0.705 inch 2.2 kg4.85 lbs
SDCardreader Transfer Speed
average JPG Copy Test (av. of 3 runs)
Average of class Gaming
  (11.7 - 206, n=263)
91.7 MB/s ∼100% +18%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
78 MB/s ∼85%
maximum AS SSD Seq Read Test (1GB)
Average of class Gaming
  (13.4 - 257, n=261)
109 MB/s ∼100% +28%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
85 MB/s ∼78%
Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Intel Wireless-AC 9560
1380 MBit/s ∼100%
Average of class Gaming
  (141 - 1380, n=284)
615 MBit/s ∼45% -55%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Intel Wireless-AC 9560
1160 MBit/s ∼100%
Average of class Gaming
  (144 - 1160, n=284)
568 MBit/s ∼49% -51%

Display

The FHD display has been upgraded significantly. Gone is the previously installed 60 Hz panel. Instead, the 2019 model features a blazingly fast 144 Hz display.

305
cd/m²
292
cd/m²
312
cd/m²
291
cd/m²
316
cd/m²
291
cd/m²
274
cd/m²
297
cd/m²
278
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
NV156FHM-N4G (BOE0867)
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 316 cd/m² Average: 295.1 cd/m² Minimum: 15 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 87 %
Center on Battery: 279 cd/m²
Contrast: 1374:1 (Black: 0.23 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 3.84 | 0.6-29.43 Ø6, calibrated: 1.64
ΔE Greyscale 3.66 | 0.64-98 Ø6.2
92% sRGB (Argyll 3D) 60% AdobeRGB 1998 (Argyll 3D)
Gamma: 2.62
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
NV156FHM-N4G (BOE0867), IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
MSI GL65 9SEK
AU Optronics B156HAN13.0, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
BOE NV156FHM-N4G (BOE084D), IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
Panda LM156LF-GL02, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
AU Optronics AUO31EB, IPS, 3840x2160, 15.6
Response Times
-175%
9%
-154%
-304%
Response Time Grey 50% / Grey 80% *
8.8 (4.4, 4.4)
26.4 (13.2, 13.2)
-200%
8.8 (4.4, 4.4)
-0%
26 (13.6, 12.4)
-195%
49 (24, 25)
-457%
Response Time Black / White *
12 (6.8, 5.2)
30 (17.6, 12.4)
-150%
10 (5.6, 4.4)
17%
25.6 (14.8, 10.8)
-113%
30 (17, 13)
-150%
PWM Frequency
Screen
-49%
-8%
-65%
-14%
Brightness middle
316
277.3
-12%
284
-10%
290.1
-8%
365
16%
Brightness
295
256
-13%
277
-6%
274
-7%
357
21%
Brightness Distribution
87
86
-1%
87
0%
86
-1%
84
-3%
Black Level *
0.23
0.2
13%
0.3
-30%
0.54
-135%
0.275
-20%
Contrast
1374
1387
1%
947
-31%
537
-61%
1327
-3%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
3.84
5.25
-37%
3.53
8%
5.16
-34%
4.4
-15%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
5.69
19.43
-241%
6.11
-7%
18.09
-218%
10.2
-79%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 calibrated *
1.64
4.39
-168%
1.81
-10%
4.35
-165%
4.3
-162%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
3.66
3.5
4%
3.56
3%
4.4
-20%
2.3
37%
Gamma
2.62 84%
2.1 105%
2.47 89%
2.1 105%
2.08 106%
CCT
7165 91%
6895 94%
7257 90%
7362 88%
6336 103%
Color Space (Percent of AdobeRGB 1998)
60
35
-42%
59
-2%
38.1
-36%
88
47%
Color Space (Percent of sRGB)
92
55
-40%
91
-1%
60
-35%
100
9%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
-112% / -68%
1% / -5%
-110% / -79%
-159% / -58%

* ... smaller is better

Our measurements indicate significantly reduced response times that decreased from around 41.6-53.2 ms to just 8.8-12 ms. This should make for an image free of ghosting and artifacts even when playing fast-paced shooters. Unfortunately, Xiaomi has opted not to include support for G-Sync, most likely a cost-cutting measure (re: license costs). Instead, the Mi Gaming Laptop supports Optimus in order to maximize battery life.

CalMAN: grayscale
CalMAN: grayscale
CalMAN: saturation
CalMAN: saturation
CalMAN: ColorChecker
CalMAN: ColorChecker
CalMAN: grayscale (calibrated)
CalMAN: grayscale (calibrated)
CalMAN: saturation (calibrated)
CalMAN: saturation (calibrated)
CalMAN: ColorChecker (calibrated)
CalMAN: ColorChecker (calibrated)

The IPS panel offers much more than just great response times. Thanks to a comparatively low black level of just 0.23 nits and a decent maximum brightness of 295 nits the resulting contrast ratio is 1,300:1.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop vs. sRGB (92%)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop vs. sRGB (92%)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop vs. AdobeRGB (60%)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop vs. AdobeRGB (60%)

Color space coverage (92% sRGB, 60% AdobeRGB) is on a par with the competition, and so are the viewing angles.

Subpixel array
Subpixel array
Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
12 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 6.8 ms rise
↘ 5.2 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 13 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (24.8 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
8.8 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 4.4 ms rise
↘ 4.4 ms fall
The screen shows fast response rates in our tests and should be suited for gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 7 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (39.5 ms).

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9331 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Performance

The flagship SKU can definitely be considered a high-end gaming notebook. A hexa-core CPU combined with a GeForce RTX 2060, a 512 GB SSD, and 16 GB of RAM should offer more than enough gaming and processing oomph for many years to come.

CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
HWiNFO
GPU-Z
AS SSD Benchmark
CrystalDiskMark
LatencyMon

Processor

Intel’s Core i7-9750H is one of the most successful mobile processors. The 14 nm Coffee Lake -based processor with a TDP of 45 W supports Hyper Threading and thus up to 12 threads simultaneously.

Single-core rendering
Single-core rendering
Multi-core rendering
Multi-core rendering
GPU load
GPU load

It runs at a base clock speed of 2.6 GHz and can turbo boost up to 4.5 GHz. Unfortunately, the Mi Gaming Laptop is incapable of fully utilizing the CPU’s turbo boost potential. In single-threaded load the CPU runs at 4.0 to 4.3 GHz while multi-core turbo boost is limited to just 3.3 to 3.8 GHz.

010203040506070809010011012013014015016017018019020021022023024025026027028029030031032033034035036037038039040041042043044045046047048049050051052053054055056057058059060061062063064065066067068069070071072073074075076077078079080081082083084085086087088089090091092093094095096097098099010001010102010301040105010601070108010901100111011201130114011501160117011801190120012101220123012401250126012701280Tooltip
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019 Intel Core i7-9750H, Intel Core i7-9750H: Ø1096 (1015.87-1242.3)
MSI GL65 9SEK Intel Core i7-9750H, Intel Core i7-9750H: Ø1185 (1166.86-1278.16)
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH Intel Core i7-9750H, Intel Core i7-9750H: Ø1208 (1186.17-1271.21)
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74 Intel Core i7-9750H, Intel Core i7-9750H: Ø1103 (1087.93-1223.2)

Like most other gaming laptops performance drops by around 10 % in our CineBench loop after the first iteration. Overall, the Core i7-9750H performed as expected.

Cinebench R15
CPU Single 64Bit
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Intel Core i7-9750H
190 Points ∼100%
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
Intel Core i7-9750H
188 Points ∼99% -1%
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
Intel Core i7-9750H
188 Points ∼99% -1%
MSI GL65 9SEK
Intel Core i7-9750H
188 Points ∼99% -1%
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
Intel Core i7-9750H
179 Points ∼94% -6%
Average of class Gaming
  (77 - 215, n=536)
157 Points ∼83% -17%
CPU Multi 64Bit
MSI GL65 9SEK
Intel Core i7-9750H
1281 Points ∼100% +3%
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
Intel Core i7-9750H
1271 Points ∼99% +2%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Intel Core i7-9750H
1242 Points ∼97%
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
Intel Core i7-9750H
1226 Points ∼96% -1%
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
Intel Core i7-9750H
1046 Points ∼82% -16%
Average of class Gaming
  (196 - 2022, n=539)
843 Points ∼66% -32%
Cinebench R20
CPU (Single Core)
MSI GL65 9SEK
Intel Core i7-9750H
465 Points ∼100% +1%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Intel Core i7-9750H
460 Points ∼99%
Average of class Gaming
  (340 - 509, n=60)
431 Points ∼93% -6%
CPU (Multi Core)
MSI GL65 9SEK
Intel Core i7-9750H
2785 Points ∼100% +8%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Intel Core i7-9750H
2588 Points ∼93%
Average of class Gaming
  (1530 - 4926, n=60)
2584 Points ∼93% 0%
Cinebench R15 CPU Single 64Bit
190 Points
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64Bit
1242 Points
Help

System Performance

System performance was also at a level expected of this system. With a score of 5,681 the Mi Gaming Laptop sits right in between its competitors albeit the differences are marginal. Subjectively, the device booted up very quickly and felt fast and snappy.

PCMark 10 - Score
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, Samsung PM981a MZVLB1T0HBLR
5997 Points ∼100% +6%
MSI GL65 9SEK
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
5761 Points ∼96% +1%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, Toshiba XG6 KXG60ZNV512G
5681 Points ∼95%
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, Intel SSD 660p SSDPEKNW512G8
5528 Points ∼92% -3%
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, WDC PC SN720 SDAPNTW-512G
5449 Points ∼91% -4%
Average of class Gaming
  (2603 - 7511, n=232)
5257 Points ∼88% -7%

Storage Devices

NVMe SSD is a staple of pretty much every 2019 high end notebook, and Xiaomi opted for a 512 GB NVMe SSD by Toshiba. Sequential read and write speeds top out at a superb 3,000 MB/s in Crystal Disk Mark, and the M.2 SSD was also very fast in random access scenarios. Given that the Mi Gaming Laptop features a free secondary M.2 slot as well as a free 2.5-inch slot the upgrade options are plentiful.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Toshiba XG6 KXG60ZNV512G
MSI GL65 9SEK
WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
Samsung PM981a MZVLB1T0HBLR
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
Intel SSD 660p SSDPEKNW512G8
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
WDC PC SN720 SDAPNTW-512G
CrystalDiskMark 5.2 / 6
-3%
10%
-16%
14%
Write 4K
110.3
150.2
36%
131.7
19%
121.9
11%
108.98
-1%
Read 4K
47.17
43.46
-8%
48.06
2%
53.62
14%
41.33
-12%
Write Seq
1381
1412
2%
1234
-11%
966.9
-30%
2534.91
84%
Read Seq
1327
1340
1%
972.5
-27%
1461
10%
1537.92
16%
Write 4K Q32T1
404.7
482.2
19%
576.3
42%
431.4
7%
396.65
-2%
Read 4K Q32T1
437.2
534.6
22%
655.1
50%
337.3
-23%
603.14
38%
Write Seq Q32T1
2960
1454
-51%
3012
2%
971.5
-67%
2542.4
-14%
Read Seq Q32T1
3278
1744
-47%
3481
6%
1727
-47%
3324.1
1%
Toshiba XG6 KXG60ZNV512G
CDM 5/6 Read Seq Q32T1: 3278 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Write Seq Q32T1: 2960 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Read 4K Q32T1: 437.2 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Write 4K Q32T1: 404.7 MB/s
CDM 5 Read Seq: 1327 MB/s
CDM 5 Write Seq: 1381 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Read 4K: 47.17 MB/s
CDM 5/6 Write 4K: 110.3 MB/s

GPU Performance

The GeForce RTX 2060 is Nvidia’s most affordable raytracing-capable laptop GPU. This particular DirectX 12 chip is based on the Turing architecture and features 1,920 shader units with access to 6 GB of GDDR6 video RAM.

3DMark 11 Performance
18262 points
3DMark Cloud Gate Standard Score
35196 points
3DMark Fire Strike Score
15004 points
3DMark Time Spy Score
6209 points
Help

The Mi Gaming Laptop performed very well in our GPU benchmarks. It scored first place within our test group in 3DMark 11 and 3DMark 13, which attests to a good turbo-boost utilization.

3DMark
2560x1440 Port Royal Graphics
Average of class Gaming
  (1097 - 6005, n=68)
3998 Points ∼100% +15%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
3464 Points ∼87%
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
3261 Points ∼82% -6%
MSI GL65 9SEK
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
3203 Points ∼80% -8%
2560x1440 Time Spy Graphics
MSI GL65 9SEK
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
6159 Points ∼100% +1%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
6109 Points ∼99%
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
6059 Points ∼98% -1%
Average of class Gaming
  (368 - 13013, n=174)
5806 Points ∼94% -5%
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Points ∼0% -100%
1920x1080 Fire Strike Graphics
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
16571 Points ∼100%
MSI GL65 9SEK
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
16331 Points ∼99% -1%
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
15913 Points ∼96% -4%
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
15552 Points ∼94% -6%
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
14970 Points ∼90% -10%
Average of class Gaming
  (385 - 40636, n=562)
11573 Points ∼70% -30%
3DMark 11 - 1280x720 Performance GPU
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
21303 Points ∼100%
MSI GL65 9SEK
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
21075 Points ∼99% -1%
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
20723 Points ∼97% -3%
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
19882 Points ∼93% -7%
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
19537 Points ∼92% -8%
Average of class Gaming
  (513 - 50983, n=637)
13721 Points ∼64% -36%

We were able to verify the latter during our 60-minute long "The Witcher 3" loop (1920x1080, Ultra), and the resulting core frequency of 1,500 MHz is much higher than the GPU’s base frequency of just 1,110 MHz. We did not notice any sudden drops in performance.

051015202530354045505560657075Tooltip
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019 GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, Toshiba XG6 KXG60ZNV512G: Ø62.8 (58-66)
MSI GL65 9SEK GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G: Ø58.8 (54-63)
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, Samsung PM981a MZVLB1T0HBLR: Ø56.5 (52-63)
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74 GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H, Intel SSD 660p SSDPEKNW512G8: Ø55.8 (52-60)

Gaming Performance

As long as you restrict yourself to gaming in FHD the GeForce RTX 2060 is more than capable of running all current games smoothly in maximum details. Only extremely taxing games, such as Anno1800 or Odyssey, might drop to less than 60 FPS on average.

The Witcher 3
1920x1080 Ultra Graphics & Postprocessing (HBAO+)
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
63.3 fps ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
60.6 (min: 50) fps ∼96%
MSI GL65 9SEK
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
58.7 fps ∼93% -3%
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
57 fps ∼90% -6%
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
56.7 fps ∼90% -6%
Average of class Gaming
  (12.6 - 115, n=333)
50.8 fps ∼80% -16%
1920x1080 High Graphics & Postprocessing (Nvidia HairWorks Off)
MSI GL65 9SEK
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
117.5 fps ∼100% +4%
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
117.4 fps ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
113 (min: 95) fps ∼96%
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 9750H
107 fps ∼91% -5%
Average of class Gaming
  (11.1 - 194, n=285)
88.9 fps ∼76% -21%

In most cases you should also be fine with running games in 2560x1440. However, 4K gaming in 3820x2160 is most likely going to be too demanding for this RTX 2060.

low med. high ultraQHD4K
The Witcher 3 (2015) 113 60.6 fps
Fortnite (2018) 130 107 fps
Kingdom Come: Deliverance (2018) 87.4 62.3 fps
Assassin´s Creed Odyssey (2018) 68 50 fps
Battlefield V (2018) 106 103 fps
Darksiders III (2018) 106 93.4 fps
Just Cause 4 (2018) 89.2 82.1 fps
Dirt Rally 2.0 (2019) 127 74 fps
Anno 1800 (2019) 67.1 37.3 fps
Need for Speed Heat (2019) 99.6 93.2 87.7 74.9 54.4 29.6 fps
Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order (2019) 99.6 93.8 87.6 61.9 30.1 fps

Emissions

System Noise

System noise is by far the Mi Gaming Laptop’s biggest shortcoming. Just like its predecessor the 2019 model turned out to be extremely loud under load. An average of 59 dB(A) while running "The Witcher 3" is beyond annoying and practically forces users to wear headphones. At an average of 44 to 51 dB(A) its competitors were significantly quieter.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2031.931.933.833.234.22537.334.44236.242.23130.828.932.528.7324030.9323429.138.45030.230.831.726.739.46330.630.527.826.432.68029.331.128.426.342.710027.628.625.923.53712534.238.325.324.932.816032.331.629.728.84120028.829.324.421.934.425031.427.823.321.437.131532.629.222.821.139.740033.828.422.11941.750034.43021.419.344.263034.129.121.618.244.780034.631.121.719.145.3100034.731.319.61845.3125035.831.820.318.846.516003530.819.618.446.3200034.431.118.317.646.6250037.229.318.418.148.3315036.628.218.217.949.9400031.224.417.817.850500031.923.517.817.948.4630029.321.717.717.446.8800024.418.917.717.644.41000021.518.117.817.541.7125002118.217.617.440.21600022.11817.617.334.6SPL46.140.931.630.459.1N5.43.71.71.413.4median 32.6median 29.1median 19.6median 18.2median 44.4Delta3.43.82.82.13.5hearing rangehide median Fan NoiseXiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019

We would also like to see some further optimizations in low load scenarios, such as office tasks, video, and browsing the web. The fans remain unobtrusive at 31-32 dB(A) most of the time, but tend to randomly ramp up to 40 dB(A). This is most likely going to be a major nuisance for many users.

Noise Level

Idle
31 / 32 / 42 dB(A)
Load
52 / 59 dB(A)
  red to green bar
 
 
30 dB
silent
40 dB(A)
audible
50 dB(A)
loud
 
min: dark, med: mid, max: light   Audix TM1, Arta (15 cm distance)   environment noise: 30 dB(A)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
MSI GL65 9SEK
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Average of class Gaming
 
Noise
7%
10%
11%
14%
10%
off / environment *
30
28.1
6%
30
-0%
28.2
6%
30.4
-1%
29.4 (27.7 - 32, n=335)
2%
Idle Minimum *
31
31.4
-1%
30
3%
28.8
7%
30.6
1%
31.4 (28 - 42, n=758)
-1%
Idle Average *
32
31.5
2%
32
-0%
31.4
2%
30.6
4%
32.6 (28 - 46.6, n=758)
-2%
Idle Maximum *
42
33.5
20%
34
19%
33.3
21%
30.6
27%
34.6 (28 - 52, n=758)
18%
Load Average *
52
49.3
5%
44
15%
46.2
11%
44
15%
40.8 (30.1 - 58, n=759)
22%
Witcher 3 ultra *
59
51.3
13%
48
19%
50.5
14%
43.9
26%
Load Maximum *
59
58
2%
52
12%
51.3
13%
44.2
25%
48.2 (38.9 - 64.1, n=759)
18%

* ... smaller is better

Temperature

Considering its noise emissions, the laptops surface temperatures were neither here nor there. A maximum of 51 °C (~124 °F) at the top and 57 °C (~135 °F) at the bottom place the device somewhere in the middle of the pack. At just 23 to 27 °C (~73 to 81 °F) idle temperatures were lower than on average.

The Witcher 3
The Witcher 3
Stress test
Stress test
Maximum load top
Maximum load top
Maximum load bottom
Maximum load bottom

The fast spinning fans had a positive impact on internal temperatures as well. For example, the GeForce RTX 2060 maxed out at just 70 °C (~158 °F) under load and Intel’s Core i7-9750H peaked at a slightly higher yet still more than acceptable 80 °C (~176 °F) in our stress test running Prime95 and FurMark simultaneously. We should note that running our stress test resulted in a temporarily disabled CPU turbo boost.

Max. Load
 48 °C
118 F
51 °C
124 F
48 °C
118 F
 
 43 °C
109 F
47 °C
117 F
42 °C
108 F
 
 25 °C
77 F
26 °C
79 F
26 °C
79 F
 
Maximum: 51 °C = 124 F
Average: 39.6 °C = 103 F
53 °C
127 F
56 °C
133 F
48 °C
118 F
55 °C
131 F
57 °C
135 F
39 °C
102 F
28 °C
82 F
26 °C
79 F
29 °C
84 F
Maximum: 57 °C = 135 F
Average: 43.4 °C = 110 F
Power Supply (max.)  46 °C = 115 F | Room Temperature 21 °C = 70 F | Voltcraft IR-900
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 39.6 °C / 103 F, compared to the average of 33.2 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Gaming.
(-) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 51 °C / 124 F, compared to the average of 39.6 °C / 103 F, ranging from 21.6 to 68.8 °C for the class Gaming.
(-) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 57 °C / 135 F, compared to the average of 42.3 °C / 108 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 24.7 °C / 76 F, compared to the device average of 33.2 °C / 92 F.
(-) Playing The Witcher 3, the average temperature for the upper side is 40.7 °C / 105 F, compared to the device average of 33.2 °C / 92 F.
(+) The palmrests and touchpad are cooler than skin temperature with a maximum of 30 °C / 86 F and are therefore cool to the touch.
(±) The average temperature of the palmrest area of similar devices was 28.8 °C / 83.8 F (-1.2 °C / -2.2 F).
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
MSI GL65 9SEK
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Average of class Gaming
 
Heat
-25%
-25%
-5%
1%
-5%
Maximum Upper Side *
51
49
4%
47
8%
43.4
15%
44.6
13%
45.9 (28 - 68.8, n=724)
10%
Maximum Bottom *
57
54.2
5%
60
-5%
49.2
14%
57.2
-0%
49.6 (25.9 - 78, n=722)
13%
Idle Upper Side *
27
40.4
-50%
37
-37%
30.8
-14%
27.4
-1%
30.8 (21.6 - 46.8, n=675)
-14%
Idle Bottom *
25
40
-60%
41
-64%
34
-36%
27.6
-10%
31.8 (21.1 - 50.3, n=673)
-27%

* ... smaller is better

Speakers

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2033.231.92536.238.53128.733.24029.135.85026.732.76326.436.38026.339.510023.546.312524.952.616028.85820021.959.225021.463.731521.165.44001970.950019.371.663018.278.680019.178.610001874.4125018.880160018.476.5200017.680.8250018.179.3315017.978.6400017.875.5500017.976.2630017.474.4800017.670.11000017.563.41250017.4611600017.356.3SPL30.489.3N1.481median 18.2median 71.6Delta2.1835.235.641.639.430.729.53535.930.230.627.930.728.441.825.242.724.234.326.149.321.857.520.767.820.667.219.269.518.770.917.974.61773.717.370.218.272.117.771.217.170.617.371.217.570.117.467.717.46317.467.717.566.417.258.517.260.917.560.43082.21.356.7median 17.5median 67.71.66.2hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseXiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (89 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 14% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (8.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 5.1% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (15.1% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 36% of all tested devices in this class were better, 5% similar, 59% worse
» The best had a delta of 6%, average was 17%, worst was 37%
Compared to all devices tested
» 15% of all tested devices were better, 4% similar, 81% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (82 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 14.6% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (14.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.9% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (3.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (6.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (13.3% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 23% of all tested devices in this class were better, 8% similar, 69% worse
» The best had a delta of 6%, average was 17%, worst was 37%
Compared to all devices tested
» 9% of all tested devices were better, 3% similar, 88% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Energy Management

Power Consumption

Thanks to graphics switching on demand, the 15-inch notebook only consumed around 10 to 20 W when idle, around 100 W in 3D (3DMark 06), and 196 W under maximum load. Using "The Witcher 3" to represent typical gaming load we were able to determine an average gaming power consumption of around 160 W. The power supply is rated at 180 W.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.6 / 1.5 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 10 / 13 / 20 Watt
Load midlight 100 / 196 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
MSI GL65 9SEK
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop)
Average of class Gaming
 
Power Consumption
-115%
-25%
-17%
7%
-46%
Idle Minimum *
10
41
-310%
15
-50%
10.9
-9%
7.6
24%
19.4 (3.4 - 113, n=719)
-94%
Idle Average *
13
45.3
-248%
20
-54%
14.7
-13%
13.6
-5%
24.9 (6.6 - 119, n=719)
-92%
Idle Maximum *
20
47.1
-136%
33
-65%
32.4
-62%
18.2
9%
30.2 (8.3 - 122, n=719)
-51%
Load Average *
100
94.9
5%
88
12%
121.9
-22%
102
-2%
104 (14.1 - 319, n=710)
-4%
Load Maximum *
196
214.2
-9%
213
-9%
209.6
-7%
183
7%
172 (21.9 - 590, n=709)
12%
Witcher 3 ultra *
159
149.4
6%
128
19%
143.5
10%
144
9%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

Despite support for Nvidia Optimus the Mi Gaming Laptop is not going to break any records due to its comparatively small 55 Wh battery. As expected, it reached around 4.5 hours in our Wi-Fi test (medium brightness) and 6 hours in our idle test (minimum brightness), which is neither particularly good nor particularly bad for a high-end device. Compare this to the Asus Strix GL531GV that ran out of power much sooner at one end of the spectrum, and the Acer ConceptD 7 that ran for almost twice as long at the other. All battery tests considered the Mi Gaming Laptop was roughly on a par with the MSI GL65 9SEK and the Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
6h 10min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
4h 24min
Load (maximum brightness)
0h 48min
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 55 Wh
MSI GL65 9SEK
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 51 Wh
Lenovo Legion Y540-15IRH
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 57 Wh
Asus Strix GL531GV-PB74
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 66 Wh
Acer ConceptD 7 CN715-71-743N
9750H, GeForce RTX 2060 (Laptop), 84 Wh
Average of class Gaming
 
Battery Runtime
-6%
-8%
-58%
106%
19%
Reader / Idle
370
262
-29%
233
-37%
822
122%
349 (39 - 1174, n=677)
-6%
WiFi v1.3
264
230
-13%
192
-27%
112
-58%
518
96%
259 (78 - 622, n=382)
-2%
Load
48
60
25%
67
40%
96
100%
79 (18 - 202, n=644)
65%
H.264
388
257 (88 - 508, n=148)

Pros

+ responsive high-contrast 144 Hz display
+ great price-performance ratio
+ robust high-quality case
+ decent input devices
+ simple design

Cons

- purchase overly complicated by availability, language, etc.
- only one external video output
- extremely loud in 3D load
- no Thunderbolt 3

Verdict

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019
Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019

The pros and cons of Xiaomi’s 2019 edition of the Mi Gaming Laptop are pretty much identical to its predecessor’s

On the plus side, we have a surprisingly robust high-quality case with its simple design that will fit in pretty much everywhere. We also liked its input devices as they were well-suited for both, office and gaming. The lack of Thunderbolt 3 is compensated by a fast 144 Hz display and a faster card reader.

Its biggest drawbacks are noise emissions, particularly in 3D. Simply put the 15-inch laptop is significantly too loud, something not even the great price-performance ratio can compensate.

Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019 - 11/18/2019 v7
Florian Glaser

Chassis
85 / 98 → 87%
Keyboard
83%
Pointing Device
81%
Connectivity
56 / 80 → 70%
Weight
59 / 10-66 → 88%
Battery
60 / 95 → 63%
Display
85%
Games Performance
92%
Application Performance
92%
Temperature
82 / 95 → 86%
Noise
55 / 90 → 61%
Audio
79%
Average
76%
83%
Gaming - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 7 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Xiaomi Mi Gaming Laptop 2019 Review: Return of the Exotic
Florian Glaser, 2019-11-19 (Update: 2019-11-20)