Notebookcheck
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

PS5 pre-order jitters triggered by image of PS4 demo kiosk and forumite goes for broke with PlayStation 5 event in August claim

The PS5 console still has some secrets to reveal on its rear side. (Image source: PlayStation/Sony)
The PS5 console still has some secrets to reveal on its rear side. (Image source: PlayStation/Sony)
An image of a PS4 demo kiosk being prepared for dismantling has been doing the rounds on social media with many convinced it was a PS5 demo booth being set up, indicating imminent pre-order news. Elsewhere, an unreliable PlayStation 5 commentator is seeking redemption by announcing an incoming event date in August.

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team! Especially English native speakers welcome!

English-Chinese-Translator - Details here

There is an almost palpable tension in the air in regard to PlayStation 5 pre-order news with fans being triggered by practically anything that could be an indication of that important moment. While a Sony executive has already made it clear that the company will keep fans informed, there are still many who seem convinced the PS5 designer will just spring pre-order details upon the world without fanfare. A tweeted image of what has now been debunked as a PS4 demo kiosk briefly ruled the PS5 whispers on social media as some believed it was a setup of a next-gen console demo booth at a store belonging to UK retailer Currys PC World.

It’s “evidence” like this that PS5 fans are desperately seeking; a sign that console pre-order details are incoming. Just over a week ago we had proof of how enthusiastic gamers are to make a PS5 pre-order “thanks” to a tweet from Roberto Serrano, who seemed pretty sure he knew the time and date of the big Sony-related occasion. Unfortunately, nothing came to pass (unless you count Amazon posting a few PS5 landing pages as an event), and of course fans didn’t hold back at venting their frustration at the hapless commentator. Still, it seems Serrano is ready for yet another go at predicting a PlayStation event.

While other PS5 watchers have apparently taken a hiatus due to their not-so-accurate “leaks” (farewell, Iron Man), Serrano hasn’t so much doubled down as tripled down with this latest reveal. He will be well aware of the blowback from his last attempt at unveiling big PS5 news, so perhaps he really has something genuine to reveal this time? Anyway, after you’ve pinched your salt, be aware that a PlayStation 5 event is supposedly occurring on Thursday August 6, which can be viewed via the official PlayStation channels (see "sources" and list of times/zones below).

It could be a PS5 price reveal, a glimpse at the console’s UI, pre-order details, an unveiling of the hardware’s rear (what is Sony hiding there?); Serrano has been wise to not post specifics and has also added the disclaimer “to be confirmed”. Just remember, Sony will give fans warning of when PlayStation 5 pre-orders are going to start, so perhaps it might be best not to queue outside of your local games store for hours based on information from a commentator who seems to prefer betting on any single number on the roulette wheel rather than playing it safe with odds or evens.

August 6 rumored PlayStation 5 event start time:

  • 1:00 pm PDT
  • 2:00 pm MDT
  • 3:00 pm CDT
  • 4:00 pm EDT
  • 8:00 pm UTC
  • 9:00 pm BST
  • 10:00 pm CEST
  • 11:00 pm MSK
  • 1:30 am (August 7) IST
  • 4:00 am (August 7) CST
  • 5:00 am (August 7) JST
  • 6:00 am (August 7) AEST
  • 8:00 am (August 7) NZST
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 
Apparently this is not a PS5 demo booth. (Image source: @IronCoreGame)
Apparently this is not a PS5 demo booth. (Image source: @IronCoreGame)
Alleged PS5 event details. (Image source: @geronimo_73)
Alleged PS5 event details. (Image source: @geronimo_73)

Source(s)

Reddit & @IronCoreGame & IGN

@geronimo_73

Official PlayStation channels: website, YouTube, Twitch

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Daniel R Deakin
Daniel R Deakin - Managing Editor News - 2283 articles published on Notebookcheck since 2012
My interest in technology began after I was presented with an Atari 800XL home computer in the mid-1980s. I especially enjoy writing about technological advances, compelling rumors, and intriguing tech-related leaks. I have a degree in International Relations and Strategic Studies and count my family, reading, writing, and travel as the main passions of my life. I have been with Notebookcheck since 2012.
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > News > News Archive > Newsarchive 2020 07 > PS5 pre-order jitters triggered by image of PS4 demo kiosk and forumite goes for broke with PlayStation 5 event in August claim
Daniel R Deakin, 2020-07-22 (Update: 2020-09-30)