Notebookcheck

Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T (Core i7-7Y75, 256 GB, FHD, Touch) Laptop Review

Sebastian Bade, 👁 Sebastian Jentsch, Felicitas Krohn (translated by Alex Alderson), 08/29/2018

Unbelievably thin! The latest revision of the Acer Swift 7 is not only slimmer than its predecessor, but it also packs an Intel Core i7 Y-series processor, which should provide better performance and a multi-touch display. Find out in this detailed review the strengths and weaknesses of the latest Acer Swift 7 and how it fares against the competition.

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team!

Currently wanted: 
News Editor - Details here

The Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T mainly stands out because of its extremely compact design. The new Swift 7 is equipped with a larger 14-inch display that supports multi-touch, but there is little to get excited about under the hood. The device is equipped with an Intel Core i7-7Y75 Y-series processor, 8 GB of DDR3 RAM and a 256 GB NVMe SSD. Y-series processors consume considerably less power than their U-series counterparts, which means that the Swift 7 has no fan and is passively cooled.

It is worth bearing in mind that the Swift 7’s configuration is fixed besides the SSD, for which Acer has several options on its website.

You would be forgiven for thinking that Acer compromised on the components used in the new Swift 7 because of its compact design. However, the device comes with an LTE module as standard, which is not something that we see in most consumer-grade laptops.

The new Swift 7 costs a whopping 1,699 Euros (~$1,973) at the time of writing, the justifications for which we will be discussing at the end of this review. We have selected some equivalently priced devices against which to compare the Swift 7. We have included a table detailing our comparison devices and a summary of their specifications below.

Fujitsu Lifebook U938 Apple MacBook 12 Xiaomi Mi Air 13.3 HP Spectre 13 Dell XPS 13 Acer Swift 7 SF713
CPU Intel Core i5-8250U Intel Core m3-7Y32 Intel Core i5-8250U Intel Core i7-8550U Intel Core i5-8250U Intel Core i5-7Y54
GPU Intel UHD Graphics 620 Intel HD Graphics 615 Nvidia GeForce MX150 Intel UHD Graphics 620 Intel UHD Graphics 620 Intel HD Graphics 615
Display 13.3-inch 1,920 x 1,080 (IPS) 12-inch 2,304 x 1,440 (IPS) 13.3-inch 1,920 x 1,080 (IPS) 13.3-inch 1,920 x 1,080 (IPS) 13.3-inch 3,840 x 2,160 (IPS) 13.3-inch 1,920 x 1,080 (IPS)
RAM 12 GB DDR4 8 GB DDR3 8 GB DDR4 8 GB DDR3 8 GB DDR3 8 GB DDR3
Storage 256 GB SSD 256 GB SSD 256 GB SSD 512 GB SSD 256 GB SSD 256 GB SSD
Rating 89% 90% 85% 87% 88% 86%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T (Swift 7 Series)
Graphics adapter
Intel HD Graphics 615, Core: 300 - 1050 MHz, Memory: 933 MHz, 23.20.16.5038
Memory
8192 MB 
, DDR3L-1333, soldered.
Display
14 inch 16:9, 1920 x 1080 pixel 157 PPI, Multi-Touch, AUO B140HAN05.1, IPS, glossy: yes
Mainboard
Intel Kaby Lake-Y Premium PCH
Storage
SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB, 256 GB 
, M.2, 218 GB free
Soundcard
Realtek High Definition Audio
Connections
2 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 1 HDMI, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm headphone and microphone jack, 1 Fingerprint Reader, 1 x USB-C 3.0
Networking
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265 (a/b/g/h/n/ac), Bluetooth 4.0, CDC MBIM, LTE
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.98 x 328 x 237 ( = 0.35 x 12.91 x 9.33 in)
Battery
2770 mAh Lithium-Ion, 4-cell, Battery runtime (according to manufacturer): 9 h
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
Camera
Webcam: 1.3MP
Additional features
Speakers: Stereo, Keyboard: Chiclet, Keyboard Light: yes, USB Type-C Hub: 1x USB 3.0 Type-A, 1 x HDMI, 1x USB Type-C power out, Acer Care Center, Dolby Audio, 24 Months Warranty
Weight
1.179 kg ( = 41.59 oz / 2.6 pounds), Power Supply: 291 g ( = 10.26 oz / 0.64 pounds)
Price
1699 EUR
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The Swift 7 has an elegant and compact case that is made of aluminum. The device has a minimal design with only the Acer logo adorning the display lid. Unfortunately, the stylish matte-black finish is a fingerprint magnet, which somewhat detracts from the otherwise premium design. Moreover, the slim design comes at a cost to the stability. Our test device is particularly easy to twist and visibly bows to pressure at various points. By contrast, the display is more rigid than the rest of the device, but we could easily get the display to distort by applying pressure to the lid.

The display can be opened to an angle of 180 ° but not one-handed. This should not be a problem in daily use. While the display hinges are stiff they cannot prevent the display from noticeably rocking, but not overly so, when using the device.

Overall, the Swift 7 looks smart and is well crafted, but we would have preferred to see Acer use sturdier case materials.

Size Comparison

The Swift 7 is just 8.98 mm thick, which makes it the thinnest device in its class. The rest of the device measures 32.8 x 23.7 cm, which makes our test device larger than all our comparison devices; these all have smaller displays though.

The Swift 7 weighs 1.2 kg, making it one of the lightest 14-inch laptops currently on the market. This should appeal to those who are fans of portability; the power supply only adds 291 g to the device’s overall carry weight too.

Connectivity

The Swift 7’s thin profile makes it impossible to equip the device with conventional ports. The Swift 7 has two USB 3.1 Type-C ports like its predecessor, but Acer has moved these to the rear of the left-hand side to the right of the headphone jack. Acer has placed the nano-SIM card tray and power button on the opposite side, which leaves plenty of space for a microSD card reader which the Swift 7 sadly lacks. This omission means that you will have to carry around adapters if you need to connect USB Type-A devices or any form of card-based external storage. Acer includes a USB Type-C hub in the box that is equipped with one USB Type-A port, an HDMI port and USB Type-C power out. You will need to carry an additional memory card adapter though.

Incidentally, we could charge our test device with either USB Type-C port using the included charger.

Independent journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible but we intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers and support us!

Left-hand side: 3.5 mm headphone jack, 2 x USB 3.1 Type-C ports
Left-hand side: 3.5 mm headphone jack, 2 x USB 3.1 Type-C ports
Right-hand side: nano-SIM card slot, power button
Right-hand side: nano-SIM card slot, power button
Front: no connections
Front: no connections
Rear: no connections
Rear: no connections

Communication

Our test device is equipped with an Intel Dual Band Wireless AC 7265 module that provides support for Bluetooth 4.0. Our test device achieved 542 Mb/s in the iperf3 Client receive test and 632 Mb/s in the transmission test, which puts the Swift 7 in the middle of our comparison devices. Only the Apple MacBook 12 finished higher than the Swift 7 in both tests.

The Swift 7 can be connected to a wired Internet connection, but you will need a USB Type-C to Ethernet adapter; Acer does not include one in the box. We had no issues with establishing a wired connection with our test device and could even achieve a Gbit connection with the right adapter.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Apple MacBook 12 2017
Broadcom 802.11ac
660 MBit/s ∼100% +22%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Killer Wireless-n/a/ac 1435 Wireless Network Adapter
639 MBit/s ∼97% +18%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
609 MBit/s ∼92% +12%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
542 MBit/s ∼82%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
525 MBit/s ∼80% -3%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (71 - 950, n=85)
525 MBit/s ∼80% -3%
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
522 MBit/s ∼79% -4%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Apple MacBook 12 2017
Broadcom 802.11ac
689 MBit/s ∼100% +9%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
667 MBit/s ∼97% +6%
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
659 MBit/s ∼96% +4%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
632 MBit/s ∼92%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (72 - 949, n=85)
518 MBit/s ∼75% -18%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Killer Wireless-n/a/ac 1435 Wireless Network Adapter
505 MBit/s ∼73% -20%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
492 MBit/s ∼71% -22%

Security

Fingerprint sensor
Fingerprint sensor

We welcome the inclusion of a fingerprint sensor that supports Windows Hello, which is located to the left of the Tab key. Once set up with the short Windows Hello process, the fingerprint sensor worked reliably in unlocking our test device quickly. The fingerprint sensor is the only hardware security feature that Acer includes in the Swift 7.

Accessories

The Swift 7 comes with a compact 45 W USB Type-C charger, a USB Type-C hub and a matching black sleeve. Both these accessories are welcome additions, particularly the USB Type-C hub as having an option to connect USB Type-A devices is still a must for most users in 2018. The sleeve is well-made and there is a flap along the longer edge that is affixed with two magnets. It is worth bearing in mind that the sleeve is only big enough for the device, so the charger and hub must be stored separately.

USB Type-C hub
USB Type-C hub
USB Type-C hub
USB Type-C hub
Acer Sleeve
Acer Sleeve

Maintenance

The Swift 7 lacks a maintenance cover, but the degree of maintenance is limited by the device’s fan-less design and that most of the components are soldered to the motherboard. The only components that could be swapped or upgraded are the battery, the SSD and the Wi-Fi module.

With that being said, removing the bottom cover should be approached with caution. We did not remove our test device’s bottom case as we only had it on loan from Acer.

For those of you that are still interested in removing the bottom case, you will need to remove both the screws that are around its edge and those that are under the device’s rubber feet. We would then recommend prying up the bottom case with a plastic pry tool to avoid any damage.

Warranty

The Swift 7 comes with Acer’s standard 24 months warranty.

Input Devices

Keyboard

Acer Swift 7 SF714 keyboard
Acer Swift 7 SF714 keyboard
Acer Swift 7 SF714 keyboard backlighting
Acer Swift 7 SF714 keyboard backlighting

Acer has completely redesigned the keyboard, a major change of which is the inclusion of white backlighting. Acer has recessed the keyboard so that the keys are level with the palm rest. The keys measure 15 x 15 mm, which should be sufficiently sized for most users, while the white labeling is easy to read. Unfortunately, the typing experience is lacking. The keys have a shallow stroke and a barely noticeable pressure point, the combination of which makes typing feel spongy. We would have preferred a firmer typing experience and the degree of sponginess will bother frequent typists. There are also some compromises with key sizes and key placement that will take some getting used to. For example, Acer has included half-sized arrow keys, a small caps lock key and a relatively narrow backspace key. Moreover, the function keys are integrated within the number row while the keyboard shortcuts are integrated within the first line of letter keys.

Touchpad

The Acer Swift 7 SF714 touchpad
The Acer Swift 7 SF714 touchpad

The touchpad measures 12.1 x 6.5 cm, which is 1.9 cm narrower than the one found in the last Swift 7. The touchpad is still sufficiently sized for multi-touch gestures though and its finish is pleasantly smooth. While fast and precise navigation is possible, we noticed some inaccuracies towards the touchpad’s edges.

We should point out that this is a pure touchpad without a click mechanism. The lack of a click makes using the touchpad a struggle in daily life as simple gestures like drag and drop feel cumbersome without having the ability to first click then drag. We would have preferred Acer to have equipped the Swift 7 with a ClickPad instead.

Touchscreen

The Acer Swift 7 SF714 has a touchscreen
The Acer Swift 7 SF714 has a touchscreen

The touchscreen is a useful additional input method, albeit not a strictly necessary one as the Swift 7 is a traditional laptop rather than a convertible. However, the degree to which a touchscreen is useful in a traditional laptop is subjective. The touchscreen responded accurately and quickly throughout our tests with no issues.

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array
Impressively, the Acer Swift 7 SF714 exhibits no backlight bleeding.
Impressively, the Acer Swift 7 SF714 exhibits no backlight bleeding.

The Swift 7 is equipped with a 14-inch IPS display with a 1920x1080 native resolution. This is the only display that Acer currently offers with the Swift 7 too.

Our test device is equipped with an AU Optronics display that achieves an average maximum brightness of 309 cd/m² in our tests. While this makes the Swift 7’s display brighter than the HP Spectre, it is darker than all our other comparison devices. By contrast, the 4K Dell XPS 13 9370 has a 52% brighter display than the Swift 7. Our test device has a 0.26 cd/m² black value that is on par with most of the competitors, but its 1,169:1 contrast ratio is beaten by three of our five comparison devices. This is still an impressive contrast ratio though, but colors will look more vibrant on both the Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air and the Acer Swift 7 SF713-51.

Positively, our test device has no backlight bleed, nor does it use pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate brightness.

335
cd/m²
332
cd/m²
337
cd/m²
294
cd/m²
304
cd/m²
298
cd/m²
280
cd/m²
310
cd/m²
287
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 337 cd/m² Average: 308.6 cd/m² Minimum: 3 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 83 %
Center on Battery: 232 cd/m²
Contrast: 1169:1 (Black: 0.26 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 3.99 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.2, calibrated: 1.36
ΔE Greyscale 4.32 | 0.64-98 Ø6.5
94% sRGB (Argyll 3D) 59% AdobeRGB 1998 (Argyll 3D)
Gamma: 2.27
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
AUO B140HAN05.1, 1920x1080, 14
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Chimei Innolux, N133HCE-GP1, 1920x1080, 13.3
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Sharp LQ133M1JW28, 1920x1080, 13.3
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
SHARP LQ133M1JW15, 1920x1080, 13.3
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
AU Optronics AUO422D, 1920x1080, 13.3
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
ID: Sharp SHP148B, Name: LQ133D1, Dell P/N: 8XDHY, 3840x2160, 13.3
Response Times
25%
10%
12%
34%
-36%
Response Time Grey 50% / Grey 80% *
51 (25, 26)
31 (14, 17)
39%
43 (21, 22)
16%
39.6 (18.4, 21.2)
22%
27 (12, 15)
47%
67.2 (31.6, 35.6)
-32%
Response Time Black / White *
30 (15, 15)
27 (7, 20)
10%
29 (16, 13)
3%
29.3 (14.8, 14.5)
2%
24 (14, 10)
20%
41.6 (22.8, 18.8)
-39%
PWM Frequency
217 (20)
220 (18, 100)
2500 (20)
Screen
-4%
5%
-19%
5%
6%
Brightness middle
304
359
18%
344
13%
370
22%
304
0%
496.4
63%
Brightness
309
344
11%
320
4%
355
15%
287
-7%
469
52%
Brightness Distribution
83
92
11%
77
-7%
90
8%
80
-4%
84
1%
Black Level *
0.26
0.25
4%
0.31
-19%
0.23
12%
0.21
19%
0.5
-92%
Contrast
1169
1436
23%
1110
-5%
1609
38%
1448
24%
993
-15%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
3.99
4.57
-15%
2.72
32%
6.9
-73%
3.66
8%
2.9
27%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
5.47
9.25
-69%
5.92
-8%
12.2
-123%
5.66
-3%
5.26
4%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 calibrated *
1.36
1.4
-3%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
4.32
5.2
-20%
2.74
37%
7.4
-71%
3.51
19%
3.9
10%
Gamma
2.27 97%
2.47 89%
2.38 92%
1.76 125%
2.55 86%
2.066 106%
CCT
7261 90%
6887 94%
6794 96%
7529 86%
6955 93%
7169 91%
Color Space (Percent of AdobeRGB 1998)
59
58
-2%
61
3%
59
0%
63.9
8%
Color Space (Percent of sRGB)
94
89
-5%
94
0%
91
-3%
98.2
4%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
11% / 0%
8% / 6%
-4% / -14%
20% / 10%
-15% / -1%

* ... smaller is better

sRGB: 94%
sRGB: 94%
AdobeRGB: 58%
AdobeRGB: 58%

Acer has equipped the Swift 7 with a decent display. Fonts look crisp and images are rendered sharply. Moreover, colors are displayed clearly thanks to the good contrast ratio. The display is relatively color accurate by default too. Default Delta E 2000 deviations are only slightly higher than ideal values, and this can be significantly improved with additional calibration. We have linked our preferred ICC profile to use on your device should you so wish.

The measured color-space coverage is good enough for semi-professional photo editing, but the 59% AdobeRGB accuracy is too low for professional use. This is a trend among all our comparison devices too though.

CalMAN: Grayscale (uncalibrated)
CalMAN: Grayscale (uncalibrated)
CalMAN: ColorChecker (uncalibrated)
CalMAN: ColorChecker (uncalibrated)
CalMAN: Color saturation (uncalibrated)
CalMAN: Color saturation (uncalibrated)
CalMAN: Grayscale (calibrated)
CalMAN: Grayscale (calibrated)
CalMAN: ColorChecker (calibrated)
CalMAN: ColorChecker (calibrated)
CalMAN: Color saturation (calibrated)
CalMAN: Color saturation (calibrated)

Unfortunately, we cannot recommend the Swift 7 for outdoor use. The highly reflective display finish and the relatively low maximum brightness make using the Swift 7 in direct sunlight impractical. We would recommend finding a shady spot if you must use the device outside though.

Using the Acer Swift 7 SF714 in direct sunlight
Using the Acer Swift 7 SF714 in direct sunlight
Using the Acer Swift 7 SF714 in the shade
Using the Acer Swift 7 SF714 in the shade

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
30 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 15 ms rise
↘ 15 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 73 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (25.6 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
51 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 25 ms rise
↘ 26 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 86 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (41 ms).

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 53 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 8933 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

The Swift 7 has strong viewing angles thanks to its IPS display. We did not notice any brightness or image distortions even at acute angles.

Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance

Acer has made all the right choices when it comes to making the Swift 7 as portable as possible. The device is fan-less thanks to its low power Intel Core i7-7Y75 processor. This CPU will be powerful enough for most common office and multimedia programs, but you will have to make do with Intel HD Graphics 615 for graphics performance.
 
Overall, the component selection is well matched as demonstrated by the low DPC latencies.

CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
CPU-Z
GPU-Z
GPU-Z
HWiNFO
DPC-Latenzen
Intel Extreme Utility
Intel Extreme Utility (Benchmark)

Processor

Acer has included the low-power Core i7-7Y75 probably to fit with the Swift 7’s compact design and intended use. The Core i7-7Y75 is a dual-core Y-series processor, which means that it has only a 4.5 W TDP and a 1.3 GHz base clock speed that can turbo boost up to 3.6 GHz when required. While the Swift 7 should have better performance than its predecessor, it cannot compete with our more powerful comparison devices. The Core i7-7Y75 simply cannot compete against quad-core processors like the Intel Core i7-8550U or the Intel Core i5-8250U in terms of raw performance. The Swift 7 also falls 15% from the class average in the Cinebench R15 multithreaded benchmark.

It is worth noting that our test device performed equally well on battery power as it did on mains power.

Further benchmarks for the Core i7-7Y75 can be found here.

Cinebench R15
CPU Single 64Bit
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel Core i7-8550U
145 Points ∼100% +15%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Core i5-8250U
144 (min: 143.11, max: 143.49) Points ∼99% +14%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Core i5-8250U
144 Points ∼99% +14%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel Core i5-8250U
142 Points ∼98% +13%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
126 Points ∼87%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
  (121 - 130, n=3)
126 Points ∼87% 0%
Apple MacBook 12 2017
Intel Core m3-7Y32
120 Points ∼83% -5%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
111 Points ∼77% -12%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (20 - 171, n=233)
111 Points ∼77% -12%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel Core i5-8250U
636 Points ∼100% +145%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Core i5-8250U
529 Points ∼83% +103%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Core i5-8250U
522 (min: 490.92, max: 522.49) Points ∼82% +101%
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel Core i7-8550U
515 Points ∼81% +98%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (32 - 721, n=240)
306 Points ∼48% +18%
Apple MacBook 12 2017
Intel Core m3-7Y32
265 Points ∼42% +2%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
260 Points ∼41%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
  (236 - 260, n=3)
251 Points ∼39% -3%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
207 Points ∼33% -20%
Cinebench R11.5
CPU Single 64Bit
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Core i5-8250U
1.79 (min: 1.65, max: 1.93) Points ∼100% +24%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel Core i5-8250U
1.64 Points ∼92% +14%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Core i5-8250U
1.63 Points ∼91% +13%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
  (1.44 - 1.54, n=2)
1.49 Points ∼83% +3%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
1.44 Points ∼80%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
1.27 Points ∼71% -12%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (0.09 - 1.98, n=267)
1.144 Points ∼64% -21%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel Core i5-8250U
7.17 Points ∼100% +150%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Core i5-8250U
5.87 (min: 5.83, max: 6.19) Points ∼82% +105%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Core i5-8250U
5.63 Points ∼79% +96%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
  (2.87 - 2.98, n=2)
2.93 Points ∼41% +2%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
2.87 Points ∼40%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (0.33 - 7.17, n=406)
2.5 Points ∼35% -13%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
2.32 Points ∼32% -19%
Cinebench R10
Rendering Single CPUs 64Bit
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
6449 Points ∼100%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
 
6449 Points ∼100% 0%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
5545 Points ∼86% -14%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (50.8 - 8125, n=300)
4016 Points ∼62% -38%
Rendering Multiple CPUs 64Bit
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
11682 Points ∼100%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
 
11682 Points ∼100% 0%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
8756 Points ∼75% -25%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (1294 - 22468, n=297)
8469 Points ∼72% -28%
JetStream 1.1 - 1.1 Total Score
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel Core i7-8550U
263.8 Points ∼100% +45%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel Core i5-8250U
228 Points ∼86% +25%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Core i5-8250U
224.76 Points ∼85% +24%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Core i5-8250U
217.1 Points ∼82% +19%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
  (182 - 194, n=2)
188 Points ∼71% +3%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
184.5 Points ∼70% +1%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (34.8 - 277, n=104)
183 Points ∼69% +1%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
181.95 Points ∼69%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Core i5-8250U
32470 Points ∼100% +46%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Core i5-8250U
30794 Points ∼95% +38%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
25796 Points ∼79% +16%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
  (22300 - 26712, n=2)
24506 Points ∼75% +10%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (3963 - 41665, n=116)
24092 Points ∼74% +8%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
22300 Points ∼69%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Subnotebook
  (797 - 30250, n=124)
2139 ms * ∼100% -46%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel Core i7-7Y75
1468.2 ms * ∼69%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75
 
1468 ms * ∼69% -0%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel Core i5-7Y54
1309 ms * ∼61% +11%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel Core i5-8250U
1297.7 ms * ∼61% +12%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Intel Core i5-8250U
1236 ms * ∼58% +16%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel Core i5-8250U
1122.6 ms * ∼52% +24%
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel Core i7-8550U
937.3 ms * ∼44% +36%

* ... smaller is better

Cinebench R10
Cinebench R10
Cinebench R11.5
Cinebench R11.5
Cinebench R15
Cinebench R15
Jetstream 1.1
Jetstream 1.1
Octane V2
Octane V2
Mozilla Kraken 1.1
Mozilla Kraken 1.1

The passive cooling effectively cools the Core i7-7Y75 even under load, as demonstrated by the consistent Cinebench R15 multithreaded benchmark loop. Our test device only dropped from an initial score of 260 points to around 250 points, which represents around a 4% drop in performance.

0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260Tooltip
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64 Bit
Cinebench R10 Shading 64Bit
6198 Points
Cinebench R10 Rendering Multiple CPUs 64Bit
11682 Points
Cinebench R10 Rendering Single CPUs 64Bit
6449 Points
Cinebench R11.5 CPU Multi 64Bit
2.87 Points
Cinebench R11.5 OpenGL 64Bit
29.93 fps
Cinebench R11.5 CPU Single 64Bit
1.44 Points
Cinebench R15 CPU Single 64Bit
126 Points
Cinebench R15 Ref. Match 64Bit
97.8 %
Cinebench R15 OpenGL 64Bit
37.29 fps
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64Bit
260 Points
Help

System Performance

PCMark benchmark results also reflect the comparatively meager CPU performance that Cinebench demonstrated. While the Swift 7 is on par with the Apple MacBook 12 it cannot compete with our more powerful comparison devices.

Synthetic benchmarks only tell half the story though. The Swift 7 performs well in daily use and the fast SSD ensures that the device boots quickly. Our test device even copes with having multiple browser tabs open without any noticeable slowdown.

PCMark 8
Work Score Accelerated v2
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
GeForce MX150, 8250U, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
4811 Points ∼100% +21%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
4747 Points ∼99% +20%
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
UHD Graphics 620, 8550U, Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP
4562 Points ∼95% +15%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75, Intel HD Graphics 615
  (3970 - 4674, n=2)
4322 Points ∼90% +9%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
4140 Points ∼86% +4%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
HD Graphics 615, 7Y75, SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB
3970 Points ∼83%
Apple MacBook 12 2017
HD Graphics 615, 7Y32, Apple SSD AP0256
3946 Points ∼82% -1%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (1283 - 5363, n=175)
3944 Points ∼82% -1%
Home Score Accelerated v2
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
UHD Graphics 620, 8550U, Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP
3705 Points ∼100% +26%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
3676 Points ∼99% +25%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
GeForce MX150, 8250U, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
3656 Points ∼99% +25%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
3471 Points ∼94% +18%
Apple MacBook 12 2017
HD Graphics 615, 7Y32, Apple SSD AP0256
3078 Points ∼83% +5%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
HD Graphics 615, 7Y54, Kingston RBU-SNS4180S3256GG
3064 Points ∼83% +4%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (1027 - 4182, n=201)
2991 Points ∼81% +2%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75, Intel HD Graphics 615
  (2786 - 3134, n=3)
2951 Points ∼80% +1%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
HD Graphics 615, 7Y75, SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB
2933 Points ∼79%
PCMark 10
Essentials
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
8258 Points ∼100% +24%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
7149 Points ∼87% +7%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
GeForce MX150, 8250U, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
6887 Points ∼83% +4%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
HD Graphics 615, 7Y75, SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB
6654 Points ∼81%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75, Intel HD Graphics 615
  (6385 - 6654, n=2)
6520 Points ∼79% -2%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (3092 - 8549, n=47)
6397 Points ∼77% -4%
Apple MacBook 12 2017
HD Graphics 615, 7Y32, Apple SSD AP0256
6014 Points ∼73% -10%
Score
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
3678 Points ∼100% +78%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
3514 Points ∼96% +70%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
GeForce MX150, 8250U, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
3467 Points ∼94% +68%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (1150 - 3860, n=51)
2955 Points ∼80% +43%
Apple MacBook 12 2017
HD Graphics 615, 7Y32, Apple SSD AP0256
2568 Points ∼70% +24%
Average Intel Core i7-7Y75, Intel HD Graphics 615
  (2068 - 2576, n=2)
2322 Points ∼63% +12%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
HD Graphics 615, 7Y75, SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB
2068 Points ∼56%
PCMark 8 Home Score Accelerated v2
2933 points
PCMark 8 Creative Score Accelerated v2
3614 points
PCMark 8 Work Score Accelerated v2
3970 points
Help

Storage Devices

Our test device is equipped with an SK Hynix 256 GB NVMe SSD and offers the same volume of storage as its predecessor, which came with a slower SSD. By contrast, the SSD in our test device is an average of 36% faster than the Kingston SSD used in the last Swift 7. While the SK Hynix drive has relatively good 4K read and write speeds, it cannot compete with the Samsung PM961 SSD used in both the HP Spectre and the Mi Notebook Air.

AS SSD
AS SSD
CrystalDiskMark 3 (SSD)
CrystalDiskMark 3 (SSD)
CrystalDiskMark 5 (SSD)
CrystalDiskMark 5 (SSD)
CrystalDiskMark 6 (SSD)
CrystalDiskMark 6 (SSD)
CrystalDiskInfo
CrystalDiskInfo
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Kingston RBU-SNS4180S3256GG
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
Apple MacBook 12 2017
Apple SSD AP0256
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
Average SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB
 
CrystalDiskMark 3.0
-36%
-41%
-14%
25%
12%
-5%
Write 4k QD32
358.2
325.6
-9%
277.2
-23%
370.1
3%
325.01
-9%
476
33%
331 (288 - 358, n=3)
-8%
Read 4k QD32
428.3
329.4
-23%
246.5
-42%
521.3
22%
425.88
-1%
543
27%
342 (260 - 428, n=3)
-20%
Write 4k
130.6
76.07
-42%
79.77
-39%
12.78
-90%
146.89
12%
144
10%
110 (91 - 131, n=3)
-16%
Read 4k
45.47
36.62
-19%
26.45
-42%
9.721
-79%
59.22
30%
60
32%
42.1 (37.5 - 45.5, n=3)
-7%
Write 512
506.4
313.6
-38%
335.2
-34%
579.3
14%
842.9
66%
546
8%
483 (469 - 506, n=3)
-5%
Read 512
647.2
283.7
-56%
320.2
-51%
658.1
2%
750.73
16%
515
-20%
765 (647 - 873, n=3)
18%
Write Seq
757.5
401
-47%
401
-47%
898.5
19%
1159.9
53%
878
16%
735 (718 - 758, n=3)
-3%
Read Seq
976
431.2
-56%
464.9
-52%
954.8
-2%
1287.8
32%
907
-7%
1020 (976 - 1050, n=3)
5%
SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB
Sequential Read: 976 MB/s
Sequential Write: 757.5 MB/s
512K Read: 647.2 MB/s
512K Write: 506.4 MB/s
4K Read: 45.47 MB/s
4K Write: 130.6 MB/s
4K QD32 Read: 428.3 MB/s
4K QD32 Write: 358.2 MB/s

Graphics Card

The Swift 7 is equipped with the same Intel HD Graphics 615 iGPU as its predecessor. However, the boost clock speed is slightly higher at 1,050 MHz, which explains why the new Swift 7 scores higher in graphics benchmarks than its predecessor. The HD Graphics 615 is around 20% slower than the Intel UHD Graphics 620 used in the XPS 13 9370, the LifeBook U938 and the HP Spectre, but it is blown away by the Nvidia GeForce MX150 GPU with which the Mi Notebook Air is equipped, despite this being the much slower 1D12 variant.

Positively, the RAM operates in dual-channel mode, which allows the Swift 7 to get the most from its HD Graphics 615. Overall, graphics performance is currently even above the class average.

Further benchmarks of the Intel HD Graphics 615 can be found here.

3DMark
1920x1080 Fire Strike Graphics
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
NVIDIA GeForce MX150, Intel Core i5-8250U
2873 (min: 2870, max: 2876) Points ∼100% +198%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1200 Points ∼42% +24%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1169 Points ∼41% +21%
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i7-8550U
1052 Points ∼37% +9%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel HD Graphics 615, Intel Core i7-7Y75
965 Points ∼34%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (222 - 3459, n=207)
944 Points ∼33% -2%
Average Intel HD Graphics 615
  (647 - 965, n=10)
830 Points ∼29% -14%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel HD Graphics 615, Intel Core i5-7Y54
647 Points ∼23% -33%
1280x720 Cloud Gate Standard Graphics
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
NVIDIA GeForce MX150, Intel Core i5-8250U
18120 (min: 18100, max: 18140) Points ∼100% +143%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
9349 Points ∼52% +25%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
9291 Points ∼51% +25%
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i7-8550U
8787 Points ∼48% +18%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel HD Graphics 615, Intel Core i7-7Y75
7458 Points ∼41%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (1484 - 21461, n=231)
6960 Points ∼38% -7%
Apple MacBook 12 2017
Intel HD Graphics 615, Intel Core m3-7Y32
6863 Points ∼38% -8%
Average Intel HD Graphics 615
  (5478 - 7839, n=12)
6508 Points ∼36% -13%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel HD Graphics 615, Intel Core i5-7Y54
5541 Points ∼31% -26%
3DMark 11 - 1280x720 Performance GPU
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
NVIDIA GeForce MX150, Intel Core i5-8250U
3539.5 (min: 3537, max: 3543) Points ∼100% +164%
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1806 Points ∼51% +35%
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1657 Points ∼47% +24%
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i7-8550U
1587 Points ∼45% +19%
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
Intel HD Graphics 615, Intel Core i7-7Y75
1339 Points ∼38%
Average Intel HD Graphics 615
  (1032 - 1384, n=13)
1230 Points ∼35% -8%
Apple MacBook 12 2017
Intel HD Graphics 615, Intel Core m3-7Y32
1227 Points ∼35% -8%
Average of class Subnotebook
  (230 - 4494, n=321)
1167 Points ∼33% -13%
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
Intel HD Graphics 615, Intel Core i5-7Y54
1039 Points ∼29% -22%
 
3DMark 11 Performance
1474 points
3DMark Ice Storm Standard Score
53841 points
3DMark Cloud Gate Standard Score
5601 points
3DMark Fire Strike Score
861 points
3DMark Fire Strike Extreme Score
409 points
Help

Gaming Performance

The Swift 7 is a subnotebook designed for mobile use and not with gaming in mind. As such, while the Swift 7 can run some simple or older games, it cannot cope with more modern titles.

low med. high ultra
BioShock Infinite (2013) 48.628.324.47.9fps
Battlefield 4 (2013) 37.326.919.16.4fps
Sims 4 (2014) 155.194.243.529.6fps
Rise of the Tomb Raider (2016) 14.29.1fps

Emissions

Fan Noise

System noise characteristics
System noise characteristics

The Swift 7 SF714 is a passively cooled device so there is no fan noise. Hence, the device always runs silently. However, we did notice some quiet electronic noises when there was significant data access. We could only hear this when practically putting our ear to the device though, so you should not notice this when sat at a typical distance from the device.

Temperature

3DMark 11 post stress test
3DMark 11 post stress test

While Acer claims that the new Swift 7 manages its surface temperatures well, our test device heats up more than expected. The top portion of the device reaches around 40 °C under load with the warmest area reaching 44.7 °C. These are not dangerous or uncomfortable temperatures though and are only because the device is passively cooled. By contrast, surface temperatures on the Mi Notebook Air reach over 50 °C despite being actively cooled.

We also ran a series of one-hour stress tests to check internal temperatures. During a Prime95 stress test, CPU core temperatures peaked at 78 °C, but the CPU operated at an average of 1.75 GHz, which is considerably higher than the 1.3 GHz base clock speed. This means that the Swift 7 should not thermal throttle under heavy CPU workloads. However, our test device cannot maintain peak performance under combined CPU and GPU workloads as both share the small 4.5 W TDP. When running a combined FurMark and Prime95 stress test the CPU only clocks between 600 and 700 MHz while the GPU clocks at between 450 and 550 MHz. Core temperatures settled at around 64 °C during this stress test because of performance fluctuations.

The stress test did not have a lasting negative impact on 3D performance either as demonstrated by the 3DMark11 benchmark result that we ran after our stress testing.

Prime95 stress test
Prime95 stress test
FurMark stress test
FurMark stress test
FurMark and Prime95 stress test
FurMark and Prime95 stress test
Max. Load
 39.7 °C
103 F
44.7 °C
112 F
37.6 °C
100 F
 
 33.4 °C
92 F
36 °C
97 F
31.2 °C
88 F
 
 29.6 °C
85 F
28 °C
82 F
28.3 °C
83 F
 
Maximum: 44.7 °C = 112 F
Average: 34.3 °C = 94 F
34.7 °C
94 F
42.8 °C
109 F
38 °C
100 F
30.9 °C
88 F
33.8 °C
93 F
34.1 °C
93 F
28.7 °C
84 F
30 °C
86 F
30.7 °C
87 F
Maximum: 42.8 °C = 109 F
Average: 33.7 °C = 93 F
Power Supply (max.)  37 °C = 99 F | Room Temperature 22.6 °C = 73 F | FIRT 550-Pocket
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 34.3 °C / 94 F, compared to the average of 30.7 °C / 87 F for the devices in the class Subnotebook.
(±) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 44.7 °C / 112 F, compared to the average of 35.9 °C / 97 F, ranging from 22 to 57 °C for the class Subnotebook.
(±) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 42.8 °C / 109 F, compared to the average of 40.3 °C / 105 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 24 °C / 75 F, compared to the device average of 30.7 °C / 87 F.
(+) The palmrests and touchpad are cooler than skin temperature with a maximum of 29.6 °C / 85.3 F and are therefore cool to the touch.
(±) The average temperature of the palmrest area of similar devices was 28.7 °C / 83.7 F (-0.9 °C / -1.6 F).
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
HD Graphics 615, 7Y75, SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
HD Graphics 615, 7Y54, Kingston RBU-SNS4180S3256GG
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN
Apple MacBook 12 2017
HD Graphics 615, 7Y32, Apple SSD AP0256
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
GeForce MX150, 8250U, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
UHD Graphics 620, 8550U, Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
Heat
-5%
2%
-8%
-10%
-13%
-14%
Maximum Upper Side *
44.7
45.7
-2%
39.3
12%
38.9
13%
50
-12%
41.2
8%
43.2
3%
Maximum Bottom *
42.8
48.7
-14%
43.1
-1%
42.5
1%
47
-10%
44.2
-3%
46.2
-8%
Idle Upper Side *
25.5
25.5
-0%
25.4
-0%
30.6
-20%
27
-6%
32.1
-26%
29.8
-17%
Idle Bottom *
24.8
25.2
-2%
25.6
-3%
30.8
-24%
28
-13%
32.8
-32%
32.8
-32%

* ... smaller is better

Top case surface temperatures at idle
Top case surface temperatures at idle
Bottom case surface temperatures at idle
Bottom case surface temperatures at idle
Top case surface temperatures under load
Top case surface temperatures under load
Bottom case surface temperatures under load
Bottom case surface temperatures under load

Speakers

Dolby audio software
Dolby audio software
The Swift 7’s downward-firing speakers
The Swift 7’s downward-firing speakers

There are two small speakers on the underside of the device. While the sound quality is impressive, the sound reproduction is significantly muffled when the device is placed on a soft surface. Equally, we could not adjust the sound with any included audio profiles. Speech is clearly understood at maximum volumes and should be loud enough for making Skype calls without needing to use headphones. The microphone is sufficient in this regard too, although Acer should have included a better-quality microphone and speakers given the Swift 7’s high retail price.

The 3.5 mm jack worked without issue with both external speakers and headphones throughout our tests.

Power Management

Power Consumption

45 W USB Type-C power supply
45 W USB Type-C power supply

The Swift 7 is an economical device. Our test device consumes between 2.8 W and 7.9 W at idle, which increases to a maximum of 20 W under load. This puts the Swift 7 almost on par with the MacBook 12 in terms of power consumption and 6% more power-efficient than its predecessor. The Swift 7 consumes considerably less than its predecessor when idling though.

The included 45 W power supply will be able to charge the Swift 7 even when it is operating under full load. The power supply can charge our test device via either USB Type-C port.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.7 / 1.9 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 2.8 / 5.5 / 7.9 Watt
Load midlight 18.4 / 20 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
7Y75, HD Graphics 615, SK Hynix BC501 NVMe 256 GB, IPS, 1920x1080, 14
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
7Y54, HD Graphics 615, Kingston RBU-SNS4180S3256GG, IPS, WLED, 1920x1080, 13.3
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, Micron 1100 MTFDDAV256TBN, IPS, 1920x1080, 13.3
Apple MacBook 12 2017
7Y32, HD Graphics 615, Apple SSD AP0256, LED IPS, 2304x1440, 12
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
8250U, GeForce MX150, Samsung PM961 MZVLW256HEHP, IPS, 1920x1080, 13.3
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
8550U, UHD Graphics 620, Samsung PM961 NVMe MZVLW512HMJP, IPS, 1920x1080, 13.3
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G, IPS, 3840x2160, 13.3
Average Intel HD Graphics 615
 
Average of class Subnotebook
 
Power Consumption
-6%
-19%
5%
-76%
-38%
-81%
-21%
-94%
Idle Minimum *
2.8
4.1
-46%
2.4
14%
2
29%
3.9
-39%
2.8
-0%
4.3
-54%
4.12 (2.8 - 8.2, n=16)
-47%
6.84 (1 - 36, n=559)
-144%
Idle Average *
5.5
6.4
-16%
5.5
-0%
5.4
2%
7
-27%
6.2
-13%
8
-45%
7.02 (5.5 - 10.8, n=16)
-28%
10.1 (2.06 - 39, n=559)
-84%
Idle Maximum *
7.9
6.8
14%
6
24%
6.6
16%
7.5
5%
9.4
-19%
8.1
-3%
7.89 (7.4 - 12.7, n=16)
-0%
12.4 (3.9 - 55, n=559)
-57%
Load Average *
18.4
16
13%
31
-68%
22
-20%
44.4
-141%
32.2
-75%
46.6
-153%
20 (18.4 - 25.1, n=16)
-9%
33.3 (6.3 - 75, n=549)
-81%
Load Maximum *
20
18.7
6%
32.6
-63%
20
-0%
55.1
-176%
36.6
-83%
49.8
-149%
23.8 (20 - 36.1, n=16)
-19%
40.3 (7.6 - 111, n=552)
-102%
Witcher 3 ultra *
32.8

* ... smaller is better

Battery life

3DMark 11 on battery power
3DMark 11 on battery power

The Swift 7 has impressive battery life, underlining its use as a highly portable device. Our test device lasted 19 h 30 m idling, which dropped to a still impressive seven-and-a-half hours in both our H.264 video loop battery test and our Wi-Fi battery test, during which we run a script that simulates the load required to render websites. We set the display brightness to 150 cd/m² for the purposes of these tests. In practical terms, this should mean that the Swift 7 will last for three movies before being recharged.

Our test device fully recharges in just over two hours. We should also point out that the CPU and GPU perform equally well on battery power as they do on mains power. The Cinebench R15 and 3DMark 11 results are almost identical on battery power and mains power.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
19h 36min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3 (Edge 42.17134.1.0)
7h 32min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
7h 30min
Load (maximum brightness)
2h 34min
Maximum battery life
Maximum battery life
Minimal battery life
Minimal battery life
Wireless battery life
Wireless battery life
H.264 battery life
H.264 battery life
Charging time
Charging time
Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T
7Y75, HD Graphics 615,  Wh
Acer Swift 7 SF713-51
7Y54, HD Graphics 615, 41.58 Wh
Fujitsu Lifebook U938
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, 50 Wh
Apple MacBook 12 2017
7Y32, HD Graphics 615, 41.4 Wh
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air 13.3 2018
8250U, GeForce MX150, 39 Wh
HP Spectre 13-af033ng
8550U, UHD Graphics 620, 43 Wh
Dell XPS 13 9370 i5 UHD
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, 52 Wh
Average of class Subnotebook
 
Battery Runtime
-7%
-3%
19%
-24%
-3%
-22%
-17%
Reader / Idle
1176
792
-33%
1167
-1%
779
-34%
869
-26%
597 (87 - 2557, n=527)
-49%
H.264
450
410
-9%
433
-4%
477
6%
649
44%
459 (182 - 950, n=102)
2%
WiFi v1.3
452
438
-3%
506
12%
540
19%
368
-19%
352
-22%
408
-10%
463 (206 - 805, n=173)
2%
Load
154
182
18%
123
-20%
77
-50%
104
-32%
106
-31%
122 (40 - 347, n=531)
-21%
Witcher 3 ultra
81
96.7 (81 - 115, n=3)

Verdict

Pros

+ stylish and ultra-thin case
+ multi-touch display with no backlight bleed
+ IPS display with strong viewing angles
+ no PWM
+ good Wi-Fi performance
+ LTE module
+ fingerprint sensor
+ fast NVMe SSD
+ Acer sleeve and USB Type-C hub included
+ backlit keyboard
+ energy-efficient
+ good battery life
+ runs silently

Cons

- expensive
- only two USB 3.1 Type-C ports
- case is prone to fingerprints
- touchpad lacks dedicated buttons
- no memory card reader
- no configuration options
The Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T, test device courtesy of Acer Germany.
The Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T, test device courtesy of Acer Germany.

The Acer Swift 7 SF714 is an ultra-compact subnotebook that is well suited for mobile use. The Swift 7 slightly improves on its predecessor in all areas; the greatest difference is the larger 14-inch multi-touch display. Acer has also revised the chassis to make the new Swift 7 even thinner than its predecessor. Unfortunately, this somewhat compromises stability though.

Acer has maintained the limited port selection with its latest Swift 7, but we welcome the inclusion of an LTE modem. We just wish that Acer had included a memory card reader as this would have added to the device’s flexibility.

We have high praise for the included accessories though. The sleeve has a premium feel to it and is well made. This also applies to the USB Type-C hub, which expands the Swift 7’s port selection to one USB Type-A port and a single HDMI port.

The Acer Swift 7 SF714 improves on its predecessor in all areas, particularly with its larger multi-touch display. The price has also changed, namely upwards. Has Acer missed a trick in this regard though?

A big criticism of the Swift 7 is its pricing. The Acer Swift 7 SF714 costs an eye-watering 1,699 Euros (~$1,973), which is a significantly lower price-performance ratio than its predecessor. Ultimately, potential buyers must decide for themselves whether the innovations and slightly increased performance justify this steep increase in price.

We cannot give the Acer Swift 7 SF714 a clear buy recommendation solely because of its high retail price.

Another smaller gripe we have is with the touchpad. Its lack of a click mechanism makes using the device that much more difficult in daily use.

Overall, the Acer Swift 7 SF714 is a smart and ultra-mobile device with impressive battery life that is let down by its high price.

Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T - 08/28/2018 v6
Sebastian Bade

Chassis
87 /  98 → 88%
Keyboard
79%
Pointing Device
82%
Connectivity
45 / 80 → 56%
Weight
73 / 35-78 → 88%
Battery
89%
Display
86%
Games Performance
56 / 68 → 82%
Application Performance
79 / 87 → 90%
Temperature
92 / 91 → 100%
Noise
100%
Audio
59 / 91 → 65%
Camera
41 / 85 → 48%
Average
74%
86%
Subnotebook - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 1 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Acer Swift 7 SF714-51T (Core i7-7Y75, 256 GB, FHD, Touch) Laptop Review
Sebastian Bade, 2018-08-29 (Update: 2018-09- 1)