Notebookcheck
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

PlayStation 5 DualSense controller gets first live official hands-on video that should finally answer the back buttons question

The DualSense controller will be revealing some of its secrets in a live hands-on video. (Image source: @summergamesfest)
The DualSense controller will be revealing some of its secrets in a live hands-on video. (Image source: @summergamesfest)
The PlayStation 5 DualSense controller is going to be the star of the show in a live hands-on demonstration hosted by noted game journalist Geoff Keighley. It should be an opportunity to show if the PS5 accessory has back buttons or not, and there might even be a glimpse at the console or PS5 UI as well.
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

Sony has lined up another big reveal for hardcore PS5 fans with the help of Geoff Keighley as part of the Summer Games Fest Extravaganza. The DualSense controller will be put through its paces in a live first look and play of the PlayStation 5 accessory. Although there have been some alleged real-life images of the DualSense already posted online, there’s no denying the accessory in Keighley’s hand in the promo clips for the live hands-on is the real deal.

The live DualSense controller feed, which can be watched via platforms such as YouTube and Twitch, begins on Friday July 17 at 12:00 pm (noon) ET or 9:00 am PT – there is a list of major time zones at the end of this article. A brief clip of the video has already been shared, and it's clear to see that the PlayStation 5 controller fits in the holder’s hand in a perfectly ergonomic and comfortable way. Unfortunately, there’s still no reveal of the back of the DualSense…

Many have been wondering if Sony has hidden some secret interesting back buttons on the DualSense. Before the PS5 accessory’s real name was known, it was widely rumored there would be a plethora of functionality integrated into the underside of the device. However, with the release of the Back Button OLED panel accessory for the DualShock 4 controller, it seems plausible that Sony will do the same thing for the DualSense.

Along with discovering if the DualSense has back buttons in the hands-on video, some fans believe they have already caught a glimpse of the PS5’s UI (see image below). Although this is more likely part of a demo game (such as the pre-loaded Astro’s Playroom), there has been discussion over whether there will be a glimpse of the console hardware or UI in the DualSense hands-on or if Keighley has simply been lent a PS5 devkit to play with. There’s only one way to find out, so tune it to the hands-on video at the following times:

  • 9:00 am PT
  • 10:00 am MDT
  • 11:00 am CDT
  • 12:00 pm EDT
  • 4:00 pm UTC
  • 5:00 pm BST
  • 6:00 pm CEST
  • 7:00 pm MSK
  • 9:30 pm IST
  • 12:00 am (July 18) CST
  • 1:00 am (July 18) JST
  • 2:00 am (July 18) AEST
  • 4:00 am (July 18) NZST
DualSense controller. (Image source: @geoffkeighley via NeoGAF)
DualSense controller. (Image source: @geoffkeighley via NeoGAF)
PS5 UI in the background or game demo. (Image source: Facebook clip)
PS5 UI in the background or game demo. (Image source: Facebook clip)

Source(s)

@geoffkeighley (1/2) & @summergamefest & Facebook & Reddit & NeoGAF

YouTube (thegameawards 1/2)

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 
Daniel R Deakin
Daniel R Deakin - Managing Editor News - 2329 articles published on Notebookcheck since 2012
My interest in technology began after I was presented with an Atari 800XL home computer in the mid-1980s. I especially enjoy writing about technological advances, compelling rumors, and intriguing tech-related leaks. I have a degree in International Relations and Strategic Studies and count my family, reading, writing, and travel as the main passions of my life. I have been with Notebookcheck since 2012.
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > News > News Archive > Newsarchive 2020 07 > PlayStation 5 DualSense controller gets first live official hands-on video that should finally answer the back buttons question
Daniel R Deakin, 2020-07-17 (Update: 2020-07-17)