Notebookcheck

HP ProBook 450 G6 (Core i7-8565U, GeForce MX130) Laptop Review

Christian Hintze, 👁 Andreas Osthoff (translated by Alex Alderson), 03/19/2019

Business all-rounder? We have covered several HP ProBook 400 series laptops recently, including the 440 G6 and 430 G6. Now it is the turn of the ProBook 450 G6, the 15-inch version of HP's entry-level business-laptop range. The company has equipped our test device with an Intel Core i7 processor and an Nvidia GeForce MX130 GPU that promises to be a good all-round package, at least on paper. Read on to find out whether the ProBook 450 G6 improves upon its predecessor and if it can challenge other established 15.6-inch business laptops.

The HP ProBook 450 G6 is another laptop to add to the company’s already burgeoning ProBook 400 series, which makes up a lot of its entry-level business portfolio. Last year we reviewed its direct predecessor, the ProBook 450 G5, which featured an Intel Core i5-8250U processor, 8 GB RAM, a 256 GB SSD but no dedicated GPU. That device retailed for around 849 Euros (~$964), which is 350 Euros (~$397) cheaper than our ProBook 450 G6 review unit. The additional outlay gets you an Nvidia GeForce MX130 dedicated GPU and a Core i7-8565U processor along with 16 GB RAM, a 512 GB SSD plus a 1 TB HDD.

The ProBook 450 G6 is almost freely configurable in markets like the United States and the United Kingdom, where the G6 starts with a Core i3-8145U, an HD display, 4 GB RAM, and a 500 GB HDD for around $526. By contrast, there are no customisable configurations on the HP Germany website, with there being only five preconfigured variants to choose from instead. The cheapest model in Germany currently retails for 828 Euros (~$940) and features a Core i5-8265U processor, a 1080p display, 8 GB RAM, a 1 TB HDD and a 16 GB SSD.

We have chosen to compare our review unit with other comparably priced 15.6-inch business laptops including the ProBook 450 G5 and its bigger brother, the ProBook 650 G4. Our other comparison devices are the Acer TravelMate P2510, Dell Latitude 5590 and the Lenovo ThinkPad E580.

HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Graphics adapter
NVIDIA GeForce MX130 - 2048 MB, Core: 991 MHz, Memory: 1253 MHz, GDDR5, Nvidia 417.35, yes
Memory
16384 MB 
Display
15.6 inch 16:9, 1920 x 1080 pixel 141 PPI, no, Chi Mei CMN15FE, IPS, glossy: no
Mainboard
Intel Cannon Lake-U PCH-LP Premium
Storage
Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ, 512 GB 
, 1 TB Toshiba MQ04ABF100 HDD, 5,400 RPM, 428 GB free
Soundcard
Intel Cannon Lake-LP - cAVS
Connections
1 USB 2.0, 3 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 1 HDMI, 1 DisplayPort, 1 Kensington Lock, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm combined headphone and microphone jack, Card Reader: Full-sized SD card reader, 1 Fingerprint Reader
Networking
Realtek RTL8168/8111 Gigabit-LAN (10/100/1000MBit), Intel Wireless-AC 9560 (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth Bluetooth 4.2
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 20 x 365 x 257 ( = 0.79 x 14.37 x 10.12 in)
Battery
45 Wh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Camera
Webcam: 720p HD HP camera
Primary Camera: 1 MPix
Additional features
Speakers: Stereo, Keyboard: Chiclet, Keyboard Light: yes, 12 Months Warranty
Weight
1.992 kg ( = 70.27 oz / 4.39 pounds), Power Supply: 339 g ( = 11.96 oz / 0.75 pounds)
Price
1209 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The ProBook 450 G6 has a plastic display frame
The ProBook 450 G6 has a plastic display frame

HP has reworked the case design of its ProBook 450 series again. While it constructed the ProBook 450 G5 mostly from plastic save for the aluminium palm rest, the G6 has an all-metal build apart from the display frame and the hinge housing. Nevertheless, the added metal does not make the G6 completely rigid, with our review unit creaking when we apply the slightest pressure to its case. Moreover, the hinge groans even when we open the display.

Overall, the case feels sturdy, and we could not get the display to deform even if the display lid gives way slightly. The G6 has an upgraded hinge compared to the one that HP used in the ProBook 450 G5, which allows the former’s display to open to 180°, allowing it to lie flat against a table.

The move to a metal design dispenses with the two maintenance flaps that the ProBook 450 G5 had, which is a shame. You must now remove the bottom case to access the internal components, but more on that in our Maintenance section.

The ProBook 450 G5 has two maintenance flaps...
The ProBook 450 G5 has two maintenance flaps...
...that HP has omitted with the G6.
...that HP has omitted with the G6.

It is worth keeping in mind that the G6 sucks in cool air through the grilles on its bottom plate and expels waste heat via the grille on the left-hand side of its frame. We expect that our review unit will get hottest around this area, about which we will discuss more in our Temperature section. Please note that the battery is firmly installed and is not user-replaceable.

The G6 is slightly smaller than its predecessor, with it being 9 mm narrower, 6 mm shorter and about 1 mm thinner. Moreover, HP has shaved 100 g off despite having used more metal, but that difference will vary depending on which G6 configuration you purchase. The power supply that HP included with our review unit is also relatively svelte and weighs 339 g.

By contrast, the slightly more expensive ProBook 650 G4 is 12 mm wider and 4 mm thicker than our review unit. Overall, the ProBook 450 G6 is narrower and thinner than almost all our comparison devices. The Latitude 5590, ThinkPad E580 and TravelMate P2510 are all slightly shorter and thinner than our review unit, but the ProBook 450 G6 is noticeably narrower than all three devices. All but the Latitude 5590 of our comparison devices are 100 g heavier than our review unit too.

Size Comparison

379.5 mm / 14.9 inch 254 mm / 10 inch 22.1 mm / 0.87 inch 2.1 kg4.63 lbs377 mm / 14.8 inch 257 mm / 10.1 inch 24 mm / 0.945 inch 2.2 kg4.85 lbs376 mm / 14.8 inch 263 mm / 10.4 inch 20.9 mm / 0.823 inch 2.1 kg4.63 lbs376 mm / 14.8 inch 250.65 mm / 9.87 inch 20.6 mm / 0.811 inch 2 kg4.45 lbs369 mm / 14.5 inch 252 mm / 9.92 inch 19.95 mm / 0.785 inch 2.1 kg4.63 lbs365 mm / 14.4 inch 257 mm / 10.1 inch 20 mm / 0.787 inch 2 kg4.39 lbs

Connectivity

HP has carried over almost all the ports that the ProBook 450 G5 had, which will please most business users. However, this conservatism also stands in the way of progress. While HP has finally removed the largely obsolete VGA port, it has not added anything in its place. There is no Thunderbolt 3 either, which could have proved useful, nor are there any high-speed USB 3.1 Gen 2 ports. Moreover, the HDMI port operates on just 1.4 b speeds rather than 2.0, which means it cannot output video in 4K. The Type-C port supports DisplayPort though, which provides the G6 with a way of outputting in 4K at 60 Hz. You can also charge the device either with the proprietary barrel connection or the Type-A port on the right-hand side of the frame and the Type-C port.

The placement of the headphone jack also irritated us. HP placed the headphone jack on the left-hand side of the ProBook 450 G5, but the company has moved the headphone jack to the right-hand side on the G6, which means that you may now catch your external mouse on a headphone cable.

Furthermore, most of the ports are distributed along the right-hand side of the frame, which will further obstruct most people who like to use an external mouse. The HDMI and USB Type-A ports are close to each other too, so you will probably struggle to connect peripherals to all ports along the 450 G6’s right-hand side without some cables clashing.

More positively, the 450 G6 has a full-sized SD card reader, which is something that its big brother lacks. It is a shame that HP has dispensed with the smartcard reader and the docking port that the ProBook 650 G4 has though.

Right-hand side: 3.5 mm jack, 2 x USB 3.1 Gen 1 Type-A, HDMI, LAN, USB Gen 1 Type-C, power connector
Right-hand side: 3.5 mm jack, 2 x USB 3.1 Gen 1 Type-A, HDMI, LAN, USB Gen 1 Type-C, power connector
Left-hand side: Kensington lock slot, USB 3.0 Type-A with charging functionality, fan vents, SD card reader
Left-hand side: Kensington lock slot, USB 3.0 Type-A with charging functionality, fan vents, SD card reader
Front: No connections
Front: No connections
Rear: No connections
Rear: No connections

SD Card Reader

We tested the speed of our review unit’s SD card reader with our Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC UHS-II reference card. The card can achieve over 200 MB/s transfer speeds, as demonstrated by the Latitude 5590. The ProBook 450 G6 gets nowhere near to emulating these speeds, but it is in good company with most of our other comparison devices, which all average around 75 MB/s in our JPG copy test and 83 MB/s in the AS SSD sequential read test. In short, the ProBook 450 G6 has a competent SD card reader and one that is much faster than the one in the TravelMate P2510. It is nothing special though.

SDCardreader Transfer Speed
average JPG Copy Test (av. of 3 runs)
Dell Latitude 5590
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
178.2 MB/s ∼100% +134%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
77.3 MB/s ∼43% +2%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
76.1 MB/s ∼43%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
74.1 MB/s ∼42% -3%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 microSDXC 64GB)
68.1 MB/s ∼38% -11%
Average of class Office
  (10.2 - 191, n=250)
60.6 MB/s ∼34% -20%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
32.6 MB/s ∼18% -57%
maximum AS SSD Seq Read Test (1GB)
Dell Latitude 5590
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
203.3 MB/s ∼100% +148%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
86.1 MB/s ∼42% +5%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
82.5 MB/s ∼41% 0%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
82.1 MB/s ∼40%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 microSDXC 64GB)
78.6 MB/s ∼39% -4%
Average of class Office
  (9.5 - 255, n=225)
77.4 MB/s ∼38% -6%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
24.2 MB/s ∼12% -71%

Communication

HP has equipped our review unit with an Intel Wireless-AC 9560 Wi-Fi card, which is newer and faster than the corresponding cards in our comparison devices. The ProBook 450 G6 tops both our iperf3 Client Wi-Fi comparison tables, averaging well over 600 Mb/s in both tests that we ran. The laptop also offers considerably faster upload speeds than its predecessor, which averaged 483 Mb/s to the G6’s 682 Mb/s.

Overall, the ProBook 450 G6 offers excellent Wi-Fi performance for a business laptop and should not let you down in daily use.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Wireless-AC 9560
634 (min: 437, max: 666) MBit/s ∼100%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
628 MBit/s ∼99% -1%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
557 MBit/s ∼88% -12%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
513 MBit/s ∼81% -19%
Average of class Office
  (5 - 688, n=191)
463 MBit/s ∼73% -27%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
328 MBit/s ∼52% -48%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165
313 MBit/s ∼49% -51%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Wireless-AC 9560
682 (min: 650, max: 687) MBit/s ∼100%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
620 MBit/s ∼91% -9%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
483 MBit/s ∼71% -29%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
480 MBit/s ∼70% -30%
Average of class Office
  (34 - 688, n=191)
434 MBit/s ∼64% -36%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165
345 MBit/s ∼51% -49%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265
250 MBit/s ∼37% -63%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510520530540550560570580590600610620630640650660670680690Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø634 (437-666)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø681 (650-687)

Security

The ProBook 450 G6 has numerous security features too. HP has equipped our review unit with a fingerprint sensor that sits just below the right-hand side of the keyboard, a Kensington lock slot and a Trusted Platform Module (TPM) 2.0, although Microsoft requires all OEMs to equip their laptops with the latter if they preinstall Windows 10.

Our review unit also includes plenty of security software including the HP Password Manager and HP Device Access Manager among others. We have included a full list below of the security software that HP includes.

The ProBook 450 G6 comes with numerous security features and software
The ProBook 450 G6 comes with numerous security features and software
A look at the ProBook 450 G6’s fingerprint scanner
A look at the ProBook 450 G6’s fingerprint scanner

Accessories & Warranty

Accessories

The HP USB-C Universal Dock currently costs $229
The HP USB-C Universal Dock currently costs $229

The ProBook 450 G6 comes with few accessories though. Our review unit arrived with only some setup instructions, a recovery DVD and a power supply in its box.

HP sells countless accessories should you need a laptop bag, a spare power supply, more RAM or a docking station. The latter connects via USB Type-C and has several ports, which allows the ProBook 450 G6 to output to two 4K monitors simultaneously. The docking station currently retails for $229, which is expensive. The ProBook 450 G6 should work with third-party Type-C docking stations though should you wish to save some money.

Maintenance

As mentioned earlier in this review, HP has dispensed with the two maintenance covers with which it equipped the ProBook 450 G5. Accessing the internal components requires loosening not only the seven screws but also prying away the plastic clips that hold the bottom plate to the frame. We would recommend doing the latter carefully with a flat plastic pry tool, but please keep in mind that the clips are fragile and easily breakable. Removing the bottom plate gives access to the battery, the fan, the heatsink and the two SODIMM slots. Moreover, you could swap out the SSD, the 2.5-inch HDD or the Wi-Fi card should you need to do so.

A look at the ProBook 450 G6 with its bottom plate removed
A look at the ProBook 450 G6 with its bottom plate removed
HP hides the two SODIMM slots beneath aluminium shielding, of which one is free
HP hides the two SODIMM slots beneath aluminium shielding, of which one is free
HP has equipped our review unit with an M.2 2280 SSD and a 2.5-inch HDD
HP has equipped our review unit with an M.2 2280 SSD and a 2.5-inch HDD

Warranty

HP Care Packs extend the warranty coverage for up to three years
HP Care Packs extend the warranty coverage for up to three years

The ProBook 450 G6 comes with a 12-month limited warranty that includes a pickup and return service. This applies to the battery too.

HP sells several warranty extensions should you wish to expand your warranty coverage. The company charges an additional 106 Euros (~$120) for next working day hardware support and sells its Care Pack coverage, which allows you to expand your ProBook 450 G6’s warranty to up to three years. Please note that you can only buy a HP Care Pack when the factory warranty is active or if it is within six months of expiring. You can check what Care Packs are available for your laptop by visiting the relevant HP website for your region and navigating to Support, then HP Care Pack. Some regional websites like HP UK will ask you for your device’s product number before listing which Care Packs are available to purchase.

Please see our Guarantees, Return policies & Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices


Keyboard

The ProBook 450 G6 has half-sized up and down arrow keys
The ProBook 450 G6 has half-sized up and down arrow keys

The ProBook 450 G6 has a full-width keyboard and number pad as its predecessor does. However, the keys now sit within the machined aluminium rather than in a separate keyboard deck as they did previously, which makes the G6 more structurally stable than its predecessor.

The keys and layout are unchanged though. Unfortunately, HP still includes the half-sized up and down arrow keys along with the narrow left shift and tab keys.

The keys have a medium stroke, crisp pressure points and are pleasant to type on, although they are not overly quiet. We like that HP has included backlighting though, which not all supposedly modern business laptops have. The backlighting has two settings and can be switched off if you do not need it on.

A look at the ProBook 450 G6’s keyboard deck…
A look at the ProBook 450 G6’s keyboard deck…
and with the backlighting switched on in a dark room
and with the backlighting switched on in a dark room

Trackpad


A look at the glass trackpad
A look at the glass trackpad

The ProBook 450 G6 also has a comparatively large trackpad that measures ​​11.5 x 7.3 cm. The trackpad is easy to use and smooth enough to slide one’s fingers across easily without much resistance. The integrated mouse buttons worked well during our tests too and emitted an audible clicking sound when pressed.

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The ProBook 450 G6 has a matte 15.6-inch display that operates natively at 1920x1080. Our review unit has a Chi Mei CMN15FE panel that achieves an average maximum brightness of 226 cd/m², according to X-Rite i1Pro 2. Please keep in mind that your G6 may have a different display to ours, as many OEMs partner with multiple display manufacturers to build their laptops.

Our review unit has a 10% darker display on average than its predecessor, which is disappointing, and it is one that is darker than all our other comparison devices too. The panel is 88% evenly lit though, which is on par with our best comparison devices.

The display has no bright spots either, which you may otherwise know as backlight bleeding. However, the backlight tends to distort if we apply pressure to the panel, which underlines that the ProBook 450 G6 is not as strong as it could be.

Our review unit suffers from hardly any backlight bleed
Our review unit suffers from hardly any backlight bleed
But we can get the backlight to deform by applying pressure to the display lid
But we can get the backlight to deform by applying pressure to the display lid
236
cd/m²
230
cd/m²
237
cd/m²
214
cd/m²
242
cd/m²
213
cd/m²
215
cd/m²
237
cd/m²
213
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 242 cd/m² Average: 226.3 cd/m² Minimum: 11.9 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 88 %
Center on Battery: 244 cd/m²
Contrast: 1152:1 (Black: 0.21 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 4.7 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.1, calibrated: 4
ΔE Greyscale 2.7 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
64% sRGB (Argyll 3D) 40.8% AdobeRGB 1998 (Argyll 3D)
Gamma: 2.26
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Chi Mei CMN15FE, , 1920x1080, 15.6
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
AUO41ED, , 1920x1080, 15.6
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
CMN15D3, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Chi Mei CMN15D3, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
BOE NV156FHM-N49, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Dell Latitude 5590
NV15N42, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Apple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz
APPA027, , 2304x1440, 12
Response Times
-50%
-28%
-17%
-25%
-71%
-23%
Response Time Grey 50% / Grey 80% *
34.4 (17.2, 17.2)
52.4 (24.8, 27.6)
-52%
31 (14, 17)
10%
40 (23, 17)
-16%
48 (26, 22)
-40%
53.2 (26.8, 26.4)
-55%
41.2 (15.6, 25.6)
-20%
Response Time Black / White *
24.4 (14.4, 10)
36 (19.6, 16.4)
-48%
24 (14, 10)
2%
32 (13, 10)
-31%
32 (18, 14)
-31%
39.6 (23.2, 16.4)
-62%
30.4 (6.8, 23.6)
-25%
PWM Frequency
26040 (40)
1000 (90)
-96%
25000 (10)
-4%
25000 (90)
-4%
1000 (98)
-96%
Screen
-22%
4%
17%
9%
-15%
25%
Brightness middle
242
252
4%
305
26%
259
7%
290
20%
243
0%
387
60%
Brightness
226
249
10%
270
19%
230
2%
267
18%
234
4%
358
58%
Brightness Distribution
88
88
0%
80
-9%
82
-7%
81
-8%
83
-6%
88
0%
Black Level *
0.21
0.22
-5%
0.39
-86%
0.19
10%
0.19
10%
0.19
10%
0.47
-124%
Contrast
1152
1145
-1%
782
-32%
1363
18%
1526
32%
1279
11%
823
-29%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
4.7
6.9
-47%
3.26
31%
3.13
33%
4.9
-4%
6.6
-40%
1.6
66%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
18.5
18.4
1%
6.84
63%
7.81
58%
9.52
49%
22.3
-21%
4
78%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 calibrated *
4
3.09
23%
5
-25%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
2.7
6.9
-156%
1.98
27%
1.42
47%
2.92
-8%
5.2
-93%
1
63%
Gamma
2.26 97%
2.43 91%
2.38 92%
2.36 93%
2.31 95%
2.24 98%
2.26 97%
CCT
6442 101%
7524 86%
6540 99%
6391 102%
6091 107%
6990 93%
6680 97%
Color Space (Percent of AdobeRGB 1998)
40.8
36.3
-11%
40
-2%
40
-2%
37
-9%
39.2
-4%
61.6
51%
Color Space (Percent of sRGB)
64
57.2
-11%
63
-2%
63
-2%
58
-9%
60.8
-5%
82.2
28%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
-36% / -26%
-12% / -4%
0% / 10%
-8% / 1%
-43% / -27%
1% / 17%

* ... smaller is better

Our review unit has a 0.21 cd/m² black value according to X-Rite i1Pro 2, which helps it achieve a 1,152:1 contrast ratio. Both values are on par with our comparison devices, although colours may look more vibrant and blacks deeper on the TravelMate P2510, ThinkPad E580 and Latitude 5590 than on the ProBook 450 G6. The difference will only be minor though, if it is noticeable at all.

The ProBook 450 G6 has acceptable colour deviations for a business laptop, but they can be improved upon by calibrating the display. You can find our calibrated ICC profile in the box above our comparison table should you wish to try it with your machine. Please keep in mind that the profile will improve the colour accuracy of only CMN15FE panels. You can check what panel your ProBook 450 G6 has by using programs like HWiNFO 64.

Our review unit’s colour-space coverage is on par with our comparison devices and a few percent higher than its predecessor. However, no device shines here, and there are much more colour-accurate devices out there should you need a laptop for colour-critical work

The ProBook 450 G6 also uses pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate its brightness, which can cause issues like eye strain and headaches for some people. The screen in our review unit flickers at 26 kHz at 40% brightness and below, which should be high enough not to cause most people any issues. However, we cannot guarantee this for those who are PWM sensitive.

Overall, the TravelMate P2510 averaged the best values in our comparison table. By contrast, our review unit finished in third place alongside the ProBook 650 G4.

64% sRGB colour-space coverage
64% sRGB colour-space coverage
40.8% AdobeRGB colour-space coverage
40.8% AdobeRGB colour-space coverage
Using the ProBook 450 G6 outside in the sunshine
Using the ProBook 450 G6 outside in the sunshine

The ProBook 450 G6 is largely usable outdoors, but it has its limitations. The display’s matte finish helps to diffuse reflections, while its decent contrast ratio and low good black level prevent the screen from looking too washed-out in sunlight. However, its maximum brightness is simply too low to comfortably read the display in bright direct sunlight as demonstrated by the photo to the right. We would recommend finding some shade where possible if you must use the ProBook 450 G6 outside on a sunny day, but its display should remain readable in most other conditions.

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
24.4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 14.4 ms rise
↘ 10 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 38 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (25.5 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
34.4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 17.2 ms rise
↘ 17.2 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 25 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (40.7 ms).

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 26040 Hz ≤ 40 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 26040 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 40 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 26040 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9705 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Our review unit has stable viewing angles thanks to its IPS display. We noticed no colour or image distortions even at acute viewing angles, but the display luminosity drops off noticeably at certain acute angles as demonstrated in the photo below. In short, you should have no issues with using the ProBook 450 G6 in daily use, and it has much more stable viewing angles than a laptop with a TN panel would.

Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance

Our ProBook 450 G6 review unit has no latency issues
Our ProBook 450 G6 review unit has no latency issues

The components with which HP has equipped our review unit are a good compromise between energy-efficiency and performance. The Intel Core i7-8565U is an ultra-low voltage (ULV) CPU that consumes less power than a Core i7-8750H would do, but it can still clock up to 4.6 GHz when required. Likewise, its Nvidia GeForce MX130 GPU is more powerful than an integrated Intel GPU but is more power-efficient than its GeForce GTX 10 series and RTX 20 series counterparts. HP complements the CPU and GPU with 16 GB of RAM, a 512 GB SSD and a 1 TB HDD.

The ProBook 450 G6 comes in numerous configurations including those that are cheaper than our review unit. There are also configurations without a dedicated GPU should you not need the added graphics power that the GeForce MX130 brings. The Core i5-8250U and 8 GB RAM model is one such configuration without a dedicated GPU and currently retails for 750 Euros (~$851), which is significantly cheaper than our review unit.

Processor

The Core i7-8565U has a 1.8 GHz base clock speed and can use Intel Turbo Boost technology to run at up to 4.6 GHz on a single core when required. The CPU can also boost up to 4.1 GHz across all four cores. It is worth noting that OEMs can tweak how long the CPU can run at peak clock speeds by adjusting its temporary maximum thermal design power (TDP).

We subjected our review unit to a looped Cinebench R15 Multi 64-bit benchmark for 30 minutes to determine how well it maintains its performance under sustained load. The system initially scored 545 points, before dropping to 507 points in the second benchmark pass through. Our review unit then scored between 505 and 513 points for the remainder of our benchmark loop, which represents an 8% drop in initial performance. The CPU also initially operated at around 3 GHz before downclocking to 2.3 GHz once it had exhausted its Turbo.

Unfortunately, the ProBook 450 G6 does not get the most from its processor. The Core i7-8565U is theoretically more powerful than the Core i5-8250U, but our comparison tables demonstrate otherwise. Our review unit scored 7% less than its predecessor and 21% less than the Latitude 5590 in CB R15, and both of those devices are powered by the Core i5-8250U. In short, the Core i7-8565U does not provide any better value for money than its nominally weaker counterpart. However, we do not have a Core i5-8250U-powered ProBook 450 G6 on hand to test whether it achieves similar benchmark scores to its predecessor. There is no guarantee that the two systems would achieve comparable results even if they are powered by the same CPU.

Please keep in mind that the CPU downclocks to around 2.1 GHz when running on battery. Correspondingly, our review unit performed worse in CB R15 and other synthetic benchmarks.

0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510520530540550Tooltip
: Ø511 (506.9-545.23)
Cinebench R15
CPU Single 64Bit
Average Intel Core i7-8565U
  (73.1 - 191, n=21)
166 Points ∼100% +20%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U
156 Points ∼94% +13%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel Core i5-8250U
145 Points ∼87% +5%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U
145 Points ∼87% +5%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel Core i5-8250U
145 Points ∼87% +5%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Intel Core i5-8250U
142 Points ∼86% +3%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U
138.25 Points ∼83%
Average of class Office
  (20 - 180, n=500)
110 Points ∼66% -20%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U
696 Points ∼100% +26%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel Core i5-8250U
605 Points ∼87% +9%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel Core i5-8250U
596 Points ∼86% +8%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U
  (361 - 815, n=22)
595 Points ∼85% +8%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U
553 (min: 490.31, max: 513.51) Points ∼79%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U
521 Points ∼75% -6%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Intel Core i5-8250U
504.475 (min: 432.57, max: 532.94) Points ∼72% -9%
Average of class Office
  (36 - 1050, n=503)
327 Points ∼47% -41%
Cinebench R11.5
CPU Single 64Bit
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U
1.84 Points ∼100%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U
  (0.65 - 2.07, n=8)
1.784 Points ∼97% -3%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U
1.65 Points ∼90% -10%
Average of class Office
  (0.23 - 2.07, n=422)
1.129 Points ∼61% -39%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U
7.76 Points ∼100% +40%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U
  (5.55 - 7.4, n=8)
6.41 Points ∼83% +15%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U
5.55 Points ∼72%
Average of class Office
  (0.26 - 11.6, n=594)
2.75 Points ∼35% -50%
Cinebench R10
Rendering Single CPUs 64Bit
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U
8899 Points ∼100%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U
  (6936 - 9160, n=4)
8429 Points ∼95% -5%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U
8153 Points ∼92% -8%
Average of class Office
  (0.4 - 9160, n=433)
4259 Points ∼48% -52%
Rendering Multiple CPUs 64Bit
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U
28932 Points ∼100% +40%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U
  (17901 - 26851, n=4)
22019 Points ∼76% +6%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U
20677 Points ∼71%
Average of class Office
  (1.51 - 29780, n=430)
9735 Points ∼34% -53%
Cinebench R10 Rendering Multiple CPUs 64Bit
20677 Points
Cinebench R10 Rendering Single CPUs 64Bit
8899 Points
Cinebench R10 Shading 64Bit
3521 Points
Cinebench R11.5 CPU Multi 64Bit
5.55 Points
Cinebench R11.5 OpenGL 64Bit
70.78 fps
Cinebench R11.5 CPU Single 64Bit
1.84 Points
Cinebench R15 Ref. Match 64Bit
99.62 %
Cinebench R15 OpenGL 64Bit
73.61 fps
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64Bit
553 Points
Cinebench R15 CPU Single 64Bit
138.25 Points
Help

System Performance

Our review unit performed well in both sets of PCMark benchmarks that we ran. The ProBook 450 G6 finished strongly in all PCMark 10 benchmarks, although it should have achieved even higher scores with its comparably more powerful CPU and GPU. PCMark 8 is more of a mixed bag, with our review unit finishing bottom in the Home Accelerated v2 benchmark but second in the Work Accelerated v2 benchmark.

Overall, the ProBook 450 G6 operated smoothly throughout our tests. We experienced no crashes or system stutters, and it proved powerful enough for all office and Internet-based applications.

PCMark 10
PCMark 10
PCMark 8 Home
PCMark 8 Home
PCMark 8 Work
PCMark 8 Work
PCMark 10
Digital Content Creation
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 8550U, Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
3124 Points ∼100% +6%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
2958 Points ∼95%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
 
2958 Points ∼95% 0%
Dell Latitude 5590
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SK hynix SC311 M.2
2953 Points ∼95% 0%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
2901 Points ∼93% -2%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006
2844 Points ∼91% -4%
Average of class Office
  (320 - 3503, n=119)
2562 Points ∼82% -13%
Productivity
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006
6015 Points ∼100% +1%
Dell Latitude 5590
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SK hynix SC311 M.2
5940 Points ∼99% 0%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 8550U, Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
5930 Points ∼99% 0%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
5930 Points ∼99%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
 
5930 Points ∼99% 0%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
5763 Points ∼96% -3%
Average of class Office
  (1444 - 7588, n=119)
5388 Points ∼90% -9%
Essentials
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 8550U, Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
7775 Points ∼100% +2%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
7638 Points ∼98%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
 
7638 Points ∼98% 0%
Dell Latitude 5590
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SK hynix SC311 M.2
7459 Points ∼96% -2%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
7410 Points ∼95% -3%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006
7377 Points ∼95% -3%
Average of class Office
  (2683 - 8992, n=119)
6836 Points ∼88% -11%
Score
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 8550U, Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
3757 Points ∼100% +2%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
3668 Points ∼98%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
 
3668 Points ∼98% 0%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006
3595 Points ∼96% -2%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
3574 Points ∼95% -3%
Average of class Office
  (803 - 4269, n=120)
3176 Points ∼85% -13%
Dell Latitude 5590
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SK hynix SC311 M.2
2469 Points ∼66% -33%
PCMark 8
Work Score Accelerated v2
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 8550U, Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
5140 Points ∼100% +2%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
5033 Points ∼98%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
 
5033 Points ∼98% 0%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
4804 Points ∼93% -5%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
GeForce MX130, 8250U, SK Hynix HFS256G39TND-N210A
4769 Points ∼93% -5%
Dell Latitude 5590
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SK hynix SC311 M.2
4670 Points ∼91% -7%
Average of class Office
  (1226 - 5428, n=322)
3978 Points ∼77% -21%
Home Score Accelerated v2
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 8550U, Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
4273 Points ∼100% +24%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006
3781 Points ∼88% +9%
Dell Latitude 5590
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SK hynix SC311 M.2
3757 Points ∼88% +9%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
3566 Points ∼83% +3%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
GeForce MX130, 8250U, SK Hynix HFS256G39TND-N210A
3461 Points ∼81% 0%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
3457 Points ∼81%
Average Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
 
3457 Points ∼81% 0%
Average of class Office
  (1169 - 4458, n=377)
3031 Points ∼71% -12%
PCMark 8 Home Score Accelerated v2
3457 points
PCMark 8 Work Score Accelerated v2
5033 points
Help

Storage Devices

HP has equipped our review unit with a 512 GB Samsung PM981 SSD, which is one of the quickest SSDs on the market. CrystalDiskMark and AS SSD benchmarks highlight this, with our review unit achieving considerably higher transfer speeds than all our comparison devices.

Our review unit also has a 1 TB HDD that operates at 5,400 RPM. The drive performed well in HD Tune, but it is much slower than most 7,200 RPM HDDs and SSDs. The HDD in the ProBook 450 G6 runs more quietly than a 7,200 RPM drive, but you can still hear it in daily use, which is not the case with SSDs.

Please see our HDD/SSD benchmarks page for more information about the Samsung PM981 and how it compares against other drives.

AS SSD
AS SSD
AS SSD Copy
AS SSD Copy
CrystalDiskMark 3
CrystalDiskMark 3
CrystalDiskMark 5
CrystalDiskMark 5
HD Tune: 1 TB Toshiba MQ05ABF100 HDD
HD Tune: 1 TB Toshiba MQ05ABF100 HDD
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
SK Hynix HFS256G39TND-N210A
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
Dell Latitude 5590
SK hynix SC311 M.2
Average Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
 
CrystalDiskMark 5.2 / 6
-58%
-37%
-62%
-41%
-54%
32%
Write 4K
126.1
51.64
-59%
89.72
-29%
71.76
-43%
86.05
-32%
76.72
-39%
121 (90.4 - 159, n=34)
-4%
Read 4K
43.92
27.1
-38%
30.73
-30%
21.23
-52%
36.81
-16%
28.41
-35%
174 (29.5 - 4505, n=34)
296%
Write Seq
1669
471.6
-72%
385.3
-77%
257.1
-85%
845.2
-49%
436.7
-74%
1495 (112 - 2125, n=34)
-10%
Read Seq
2224
499.3
-78%
1986
-11%
476.3
-79%
1268
-43%
508.4
-77%
1647 (501 - 2494, n=34)
-26%
Write 4K Q32T1
410.4
283.2
-31%
339.9
-17%
202.6
-51%
161.1
-61%
288.1
-30%
415 (198 - 1707, n=34)
1%
Read 4K Q32T1
338.1
257.9
-24%
241.7
-29%
282
-17%
249.6
-26%
271.9
-20%
393 (268 - 1015, n=34)
16%
Write Seq Q32T1
1979
476.6
-76%
345.2
-83%
265.6
-87%
1034
-48%
503.4
-75%
1924 (1714 - 2128, n=34)
-3%
Read Seq Q32T1
3368
532.5
-84%
2759
-18%
559.4
-83%
1732
-49%
549.4
-84%
2956 (1772 - 3487, n=34)
-12%
Write 4K Q8T8
4.686
1621 (1484 - 1772, n=6)
Read 4K Q8T8
452.5
1494 (1022 - 1620, n=6)
AS SSD
-75%
-48%
-66%
-71%
-63%
11%
Copy Game MB/s
660.05
182.22
-72%
286.07
-57%
132.74
-80%
210.03
-68%
978 (607 - 1273, n=23)
48%
Copy Program MB/s
414.28
122.4
-70%
246.73
-40%
173.97
-58%
208.57
-50%
412 (233 - 526, n=23)
-1%
Copy ISO MB/s
1381.5
284.65
-79%
369.5
-73%
907.82
-34%
311.53
-77%
1566 (917 - 3259, n=23)
13%
Score Total
3658
849
-77%
1303
-64%
980
-73%
1099
-70%
912
-75%
3901 (2348 - 4771, n=32)
7%
Score Write
1265
229
-82%
459
-64%
299
-76%
237
-81%
326
-74%
1710 (147 - 2379, n=32)
35%
Score Read
1608
407
-75%
592
-63%
452
-72%
582
-64%
385
-76%
1454 (896 - 2125, n=32)
-10%
Access Time Write *
0.182
0.092
49%
0.054
70%
0.233
-28%
0.173
5%
0.047
74%
0.1205 (0.027 - 2.52, n=32)
34%
Access Time Read *
0.044
0.145
-230%
0.079
-80%
0.08
-82%
0.176
-300%
0.111
-152%
0.0498 (0.029 - 0.073, n=32)
-13%
4K-64 Write
1023.47
144.07
-86%
327.56
-68%
202.12
-80%
91.55
-91%
212.7
-79%
1449 (96.2 - 2105, n=32)
42%
4K-64 Read
1351.59
338.31
-75%
408.49
-70%
375.85
-72%
419
-69%
305.96
-77%
1220 (664 - 1823, n=32)
-10%
4K Write
125.4
48.17
-62%
94.94
-24%
72.07
-43%
68.52
-45%
73.54
-41%
104 (1.76 - 134, n=32)
-17%
4K Read
50.57
25.58
-49%
29.81
-41%
27.61
-45%
31.54
-38%
29.03
-43%
49.4 (31.7 - 58, n=32)
-2%
Seq Write
1162.53
363.58
-69%
362.69
-69%
250.59
-78%
769.52
-34%
392.95
-66%
1567 (487 - 1991, n=32)
35%
Seq Read
2062.57
433.17
-79%
1541.71
-25%
487.3
-76%
1314.95
-36%
503.09
-76%
1848 (1049 - 2697, n=32)
-10%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
-67% / -69%
-43% / -44%
-64% / -64%
-56% / -60%
-59% / -60%
22% / 19%

* ... smaller is better

Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
Transfer Rate Minimum: 63.9 MB/s
Transfer Rate Maximum: 137.8 MB/s
Transfer Rate Average: 109 MB/s
Access Time: 18.7 ms
Burst Rate: 235.5 MB/s
CPU Usage: 4.9 %

Graphics Card

The ProBook 450 G6 has two graphics cards: The Intel UHD Graphics 620 that is integrated on its CPU and the dedicated Nvidia GeForce MX130. The latter is based on the old GeForce 940MX and is powerful enough to handle some light gaming. The system also supports Nvidia Optimus, which allows it to switch between GPUs to reduce power consumption and preserve battery life.

Our review unit outperformed the TravelMate P2510, which is also equipped with a GeForce MX130, in 3DMark and 3DMark 11, but it consistently scored significantly less than the AMD Radeon RX 550-powered ThinkPad E580. However, our review unit generally outscored our comparison devices with just integrated GPUs by around 45%.

The ProBook 450 G6 does not throttle its graphics power on battery unlike it does with its CPU. Our review unit achieved comparable scores in 3DMark 11 regardless of whether we tested it on battery or mains power.

3DMark 11
3DMark 11
3DMark 11 results on battery
3DMark 11 results on battery
3DMark Fire Strike
3DMark Fire Strike
3DMark Cloud Gate
3DMark Cloud Gate
3DMark 11 - 1280x720 Performance GPU
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), Intel Core i7-8550U
4444 Points ∼100% +53%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
NVIDIA GeForce MX130, Intel Core i7-8565U
2908 Points ∼65%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (2592 - 3203, n=13)
2903 Points ∼65% 0%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
NVIDIA GeForce MX130, Intel Core i5-8250U
2786 Points ∼63% -4%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1686 Points ∼38% -42%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1619 Points ∼36% -44%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1596 Points ∼36% -45%
Average of class Office
  (185 - 5107, n=623)
1251 Points ∼28% -57%
3DMark
1920x1080 Fire Strike Graphics
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), Intel Core i7-8550U
2874 Points ∼100% +21%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
NVIDIA GeForce MX130, Intel Core i7-8565U
2383 Points ∼83%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (2149 - 2495, n=12)
2357 Points ∼82% -1%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
NVIDIA GeForce MX130, Intel Core i5-8250U
2311 Points ∼80% -3%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1013 Points ∼35% -57%
Average of class Office
  (138 - 4109, n=447)
961 Points ∼33% -60%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
954 Points ∼33% -60%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
953 Points ∼33% -60%
1280x720 Cloud Gate Standard Graphics
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), Intel Core i7-8550U
17423 Points ∼100% +26%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
NVIDIA GeForce MX130, Intel Core i7-8565U
13776 Points ∼79%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (12166 - 14880, n=12)
13649 Points ∼78% -1%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
NVIDIA GeForce MX130, Intel Core i5-8250U
13246 Points ∼76% -4%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
8138 Points ∼47% -41%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
8065 Points ∼46% -41%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
7970 Points ∼46% -42%
Average of class Office
  (1208 - 27117, n=492)
6699 Points ∼38% -51%
3DMark 11 Performance
3122 points
3DMark Cloud Gate Standard Score
10308 points
3DMark Fire Strike Score
2226 points
Help

Gaming Performance

The GeForce MX130 is powerful enough for some light gaming and can comfortably handle older games like BioShock Infinite, which averaged over 60 FPS on its high graphics preset at 1366x768. Expectedly, the ThinkPad E580 generally achieved between 10% and 52% higher frame rates than our review unit.

However, the TravelMate P2510 also considerably outperformed the ProBook 450 G6 in Rise of the Tomb Raider despite being equipped with the same GPU, a nominally weaker CPU and less RAM. While this could be a cause for concern, the reason for the difference is fairly simple. HP has equipped our review unit with one RAM module, which forces the system to run in single-channel mode, limiting GPU performance. By contrast, the TravelMate P2510 operates in dual-channel mode, which allows it to get more performance from the same GPU. You could enable dual-channel mode by adding a second, and identical, RAM module, which should improve GPU performance to that of at least the TravelMate P2510.

Rise of the Tomb Raider
1920x1080 Very High Preset AA:FX AF:16x
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Intel Core i5-8250U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
13.9 fps ∼100% +12%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (12.1 - 14, n=7)
13.1 fps ∼94% +6%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
12.4 fps ∼89%
Average of class Office
  (2 - 28.9, n=26)
10.9 fps ∼78% -12%
1920x1080 High Preset AA:FX AF:4x
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U, AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop)
18.01 fps ∼100% +25%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Intel Core i5-8250U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
16.4 fps ∼91% +14%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (13.2 - 16.9, n=8)
15.6 fps ∼87% +8%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
14.4 fps ∼80%
Average of class Office
  (4.2 - 32.9, n=59)
11.5 fps ∼64% -20%
1366x768 Medium Preset AF:2x
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U, AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop)
35.98 fps ∼100% +52%
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Intel Core i5-8250U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
29.9 fps ∼83% +27%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (22.5 - 31.3, n=8)
28.1 fps ∼78% +19%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
23.6 fps ∼66%
Average of class Office
  (12.1 - 53.5, n=73)
17 fps ∼47% -28%
1024x768 Lowest Preset
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
Intel Core i5-8250U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
44.4 fps ∼100% +45%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U, AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop)
44.31 fps ∼100% +44%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (30.7 - 51.2, n=8)
43.7 fps ∼98% +42%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
30.7 fps ∼69%
Average of class Office
  (6.2 - 111, n=102)
26.8 fps ∼60% -13%
BioShock Infinite
1920x1080 Ultra Preset, DX11 (DDOF)
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
23.7 fps ∼100%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (22 - 25.1, n=9)
23.7 fps ∼100% 0%
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U, AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop)
22.17 fps ∼94% -6%
Average of class Office
  (2.54 - 54.8, n=226)
10.3 fps ∼43% -57%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
7.75 fps ∼33% -67%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
7.7 fps ∼32% -68%
1366x768 High Preset
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U, AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop)
72.56 fps ∼100% +14%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
63.4 fps ∼87%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (48 - 69, n=9)
62.8 fps ∼87% -1%
Average of class Office
  (8.1 - 128, n=319)
26.1 fps ∼36% -59%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
24.1 fps ∼33% -62%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
23.04 fps ∼32% -64%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
22.78 fps ∼31% -64%
1366x768 Medium Preset
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U, AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop)
88.32 fps ∼100% +20%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (61 - 84.5, n=9)
74.6 fps ∼84% +1%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
73.7 fps ∼83%
Average of class Office
  (10.8 - 145, n=339)
30.1 fps ∼34% -59%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
29.5 fps ∼33% -60%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
27.92 fps ∼32% -62%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
27.81 fps ∼31% -62%
1280x720 Very Low Preset
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Intel Core i7-8550U, AMD Radeon RX 550 (Laptop)
155.28 fps ∼100% +16%
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
Intel Core i7-8565U, NVIDIA GeForce MX130
134.3 fps ∼86%
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
  (115 - 153, n=9)
132 fps ∼85% -2%
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
53.8 fps ∼35% -60%
Average of class Office
  (12.2 - 204, n=342)
53.6 fps ∼35% -60%
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
52.29 fps ∼34% -61%
Dell Latitude 5590
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
48 fps ∼31% -64%


051015Tooltip
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ; The Witcher 3: Ø7.02 (4-8)
low med. high ultra
BioShock Infinite (2013) 134.373.763.423.7fps
The Witcher 3 (2015) 26.121.310.67fps
Dota 2 Reborn (2015) 27.823.122.921fps
Rise of the Tomb Raider (2016) 30.723.614.412.4fps

Emissions

Fan Noise

The ProBook 450 G6’s fan generally operates silently at idle, unless we set the Windows 10 power mode to maximum performance, at which point it spins up to a maximum of 29 dB(A). However, the HDD constantly whirs at 29.4 dB(A), which prevents our review unit from operating silently. Removing or disabling the HDD would resolve this though.

The single fan also reaches a maximum of 38.4 dB(A) under sustained load, which is by no means loud. Unfortunately, the fan pulsates rather than runs constantly when the system is being pushed hard, which quickly got on our nerves during our tests.

Noise Level

Idle
29 / 29 / 29 dB(A)
HDD
29.4 dB(A)
Load
34.2 / 38.4 dB(A)
  red to green bar
 
 
30 dB
silent
40 dB(A)
audible
50 dB(A)
loud
 
min: dark, med: mid, max: light   Audix TM1, Arta (15 cm distance)   environment noise: 29 dB(A)
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
GeForce MX130, 8250U, SK Hynix HFS256G39TND-N210A
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 8550U, Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
Dell Latitude 5590
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SK hynix SC311 M.2
Noise
4%
-8%
-4%
-5%
-4%
off / environment *
29
29.1
-0%
30.3
-4%
30.3
-4%
30.1
-4%
29
-0%
Idle Minimum *
29
29.1
-0%
32
-10%
30.3
-4%
30.1
-4%
29
-0%
Idle Average *
29
29.1
-0%
33.8
-17%
30.3
-4%
30.1
-4%
29
-0%
Idle Maximum *
29
29.1
-0%
34.2
-18%
31
-7%
31.6
-9%
31.3
-8%
Load Average *
34.2
31.4
8%
36.2
-6%
35.6
-4%
37.7
-10%
36.6
-7%
Witcher 3 ultra *
34.2
Load Maximum *
38.4
32
17%
35.6
7%
38.6
-1%
38
1%
40.9
-7%

* ... smaller is better

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs203027.830.929.128.42523.726.525.824.2253124.926.527.325.930.24026.824.726.124.629.85026.324.624.625.726.66322.723.222.923.323.18022.522.324.123.424.31002323.9242222.812523.122.722.222.222.316022.322.821.821.722.420022.823.322.122.22325022.622.221.521.522.731521.922.12121.322.540021.420.820.220.42250021.120.919.919.822.663021.921.318.91923.980022.321.619.418.324.610002221.618.517.825.3125022.922.317.917.126.9160022.622.117.216.326.4200023.522.116.716.327.7250024.122.415.915.929.1315026.224.116.515.731.2400019.518.216.115.326.3500018.116.915.515.323.5630016.315.915.515.419.5800015.915.715.515.418.31000015.815.815.315.317.71250015.515.615.215.116.6160001515.215.114.916.4SPL34.23329.42938.4N1.91.81.31.22.7median 22median 21.6median 17.9median 17.1median 22.8Delta1.92.42.52.62.332.931.231.931.632.931.730.332.132.231.73331.432.730.23329.230.830.929.129.230.1283229.830.12928.629.128.12927.527.627.626.627.526.5262625.626.526.324.825.52526.32523.624.524.32524.623.32322.624.624.524.122.621.524.52924.920.920.72925.523.620.12025.524.922.919.818.824.925.721.819.118.125.72321.518.218.12326.724.917.717.626.729.726.617.617.229.727.924.717.517.427.928.124.717.417.428.130.227.717.217.330.228.422.917.617.428.423.519.917.917.823.52118.918182119.718.418.218.119.718.818.618.818.318.818.918.718.918.618.91918.918.818.71919.319.519.419.119.338.635.630.430.238.62.721.31.22.7median 25median 23.3median 18.8median 18.3median 252.91.92.11.42.9hearing rangehide median Fan NoiseHP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EAAcer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE

Temperature

Our review unit remains cool to the touch at idle and only reached a maximum of 24.1 °C. Moreover, the palm rest or the corresponding area on the bottom case did not exceed 30 °C during our stress tests. The left third of the former reached a maximum of 30.5 °C while playing The Witcher 3 though.

However, it is a different story for some areas of the bottom case, which got close to or exceeded 50 °C during our stress tests and while playing The Witcher 3. This will feel uncomfortable to the touch, so we would recommend placing the ProBook 450 G6 on a desk if you plan to push it hard. Additionally, these surface temperatures are far higher than all but the ThinkPad E580 of our comparison devices.

HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
GeForce MX130, 8565U, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
GeForce MX130, 8250U, SK Hynix HFS256G39TND-N210A
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 8550U, Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA
Dell Latitude 5590
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, SK hynix SC311 M.2
Heat
-1%
1%
-11%
-30%
3%
Maximum Upper Side *
39.4
42.2
-7%
35.7
9%
49
-24%
60
-52%
36.6
7%
Maximum Bottom *
50.2
45.5
9%
33.8
33%
47.4
6%
57
-14%
47.5
5%
Idle Upper Side *
22.9
23.9
-4%
28.4
-24%
26.6
-16%
29.1
-27%
23.2
-1%
Idle Bottom *
24.1
24.2
-0%
27.4
-14%
26.7
-11%
30.2
-25%
24.2
-0%

* ... smaller is better

Max. Load
 39 °C
102 F
39.4 °C
103 F
37.8 °C
100 F
 
 39.2 °C
103 F
37.9 °C
100 F
36 °C
97 F
 
 29.6 °C
85 F
28.5 °C
83 F
28.7 °C
84 F
 
Maximum: 39.4 °C = 103 F
Average: 35.1 °C = 95 F
48.7 °C
120 F
50.2 °C
122 F
41.7 °C
107 F
35.1 °C
95 F
35.3 °C
96 F
40.1 °C
104 F
26.7 °C
80 F
26.5 °C
80 F
26.8 °C
80 F
Maximum: 50.2 °C = 122 F
Average: 36.8 °C = 98 F
Power Supply (max.)  39.3 °C = 103 F | Room Temperature 20.9 °C = 70 F | Voltcraft IR-900
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 35.1 °C / 95 F, compared to the average of 29.4 °C / 85 F for the devices in the class Office.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 39.4 °C / 103 F, compared to the average of 33.9 °C / 93 F, ranging from 21.2 to 62.5 °C for the class Office.
(-) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 50.2 °C / 122 F, compared to the average of 36.4 °C / 98 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 22.5 °C / 73 F, compared to the device average of 29.4 °C / 85 F.
(±) Playing The Witcher 3, the average temperature for the upper side is 34.9 °C / 95 F, compared to the device average of 29.4 °C / 85 F.
(+) The palmrests and touchpad are cooler than skin temperature with a maximum of 30.5 °C / 86.9 F and are therefore cool to the touch.
(-) The average temperature of the palmrest area of similar devices was 28.2 °C / 82.8 F (-2.3 °C / -4.1 F).
CPU and GPU information during a combined FurMark and Prime95 stress test
CPU and GPU information during a combined FurMark and Prime95 stress test

We also subjected our review unit to a combined FurMark and Prime95 stress test that pushes the CPU and GPU to their limits. We run the stress test for an hour and measure core temperature changes.

The GPU core temperatures only reached a maximum of 65 °C during our stress test and averaged 915 MHz, which is just over 200 MHz less than its boost clock speed. Likewise, the CPU core temperatures reached about 68 °C, which is 32 °C shy of its maximum safe operating temperature. In short, the CPU and GPU both have plenty of thermal headroom to perform at higher clock speeds.

It appears then that HP has limited the CPU and GPU performance in favour of lower temperatures, although some parts of the case still get uncomfortably hot. While we understand why HP has favoured this approach, its execution leaves a lot to be desired. The ProBook 450 G6 simply does not run that coolly or quietly.

Speakers

The speakers have a rather thin and tinny sound to them. Even their maximum volume is not particularly high, which we measured at 74.4 dB(A). High-pitched tones dominate the frequency range too.

Hence, we would recommend connecting external headphones or speakers, where possible, for a better listening experience. We had no issues with the headphone jack or Bluetooth audio during our tests. It would have helped the ProBook 450 G6 stand out a bit had HP equipped it with dedicated headphone and microphone jacks.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2030.329.5252627.33126.926.54028.524.85025.724.86326.523.88023.623.610023.923.712522.923.216022.628.820021.7402502244.73152147.140020.85150020.251.563019.452.880019.159.3100018.561.1125017.566.6160017.564.1200016.862.2250015.962.5315015.663.4400015.462.5500015.464.7630015.462.3800015.458.61000015.256.31250015.153.61600014.950.3SPL29.474.4N1.232median 17.5median 56.3Delta2.69.235.335.132.931.831.83236.535.132.428.93328.936.328.848.32761.52752.924.860.92462.822.763.32269.521.267.82174.82075.919.472.718.97117.770.117.86917.671.817.668.117.671.417.673.717.670.417.571.617.671.617.669.617.459.717.583.630.662.51.5median 69.6median 17.84.62.4hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseHP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EAApple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (74.4 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 21.8% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.7% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 5.1% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (4.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (24.7% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 78% of all tested devices in this class were better, 5% similar, 17% worse
» The best had a delta of 8%, average was 21%, worst was 51%
Compared to all devices tested
» 69% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 24% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Apple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (83.6 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 11.3% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (14.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 2.4% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 2% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (9.3% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 1% of all tested devices in this class were better, 1% similar, 97% worse
» The best had a delta of 8%, average was 20%, worst was 50%
Compared to all devices tested
» 2% of all tested devices were better, 0% similar, 98% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Power Management

Power Consumption

The ProBook 450 G6 generally has higher power consumption than our comparison devices, but we expected as much considering that all but the ThinkPad E580 have a weaker CPU, no dedicated GPU or both. Our review unit consumed a maximum of 0.48 W in standby, which is nothing to worry about. Moreover, it consumed a minimum of 3.12 W at idle, which is less than all our comparison devices. Likewise, the system averaged 6.3 W at idle, which is over 4 W less than the ThinkPad E580 and is less than 1 W more than our Core i5-8250U-powered comparison devices.

However, power consumption spiked at 67.3 W during our stress test, which is higher than even the ThinkPad E580 of our comparison devices. The ProBook 450 G6 averaged 57.6 W under sustained load, which is slightly higher than our comparison devices that also have dedicated GPUs.

HP includes a 65 W power supply in the box, which is powerful enough to recharge the ProBook 450 G6 even when it is being pushed hard. While the system consumed 2.3 W more during our tests than the power supply could provide, it could only do so temporarily before exhausting its turbo and dropping back to around 57 W and 42 W while playing The Witcher 3.

Please keep in mind that HP also allows the ProBook 450 G6 to be configured with a cheaper 45 W charger, which we would recommend avoiding if you can. The company also allows you to configure a Type USB-C charger should you prefer to carry a universal charger around with you instead of a proprietary one.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.29 / 0.48 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 3.12 / 6.3 / 9.78 Watt
Load midlight 57.6 / 67.3 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
8565U, GeForce MX130, Samsung SSD PM981 MZVLB512HAJQ, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, SanDisk SD8SN8U256G1006, IPS LED, 1920x1080, 15.6
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, Toshiba XG5 KXG50ZNV256G, IPS LED, 1920x1080, 15.6
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
8250U, GeForce MX130, SK Hynix HFS256G39TND-N210A, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
8550U, Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), Lenovo LENSE20256GMSP34MEAT2TA, IPS LED, 1920x1080, 15.6
Dell Latitude 5590
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, SK hynix SC311 M.2, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Average NVIDIA GeForce MX130
 
Average of class Office
 
Power Consumption
17%
25%
7%
-38%
5%
-9%
-41%
Idle Minimum *
3.12
3.6
-15%
3.2
-3%
3.3
-6%
7.4
-137%
3.6
-15%
4.5 (3.12 - 7.5, n=12)
-44%
7.71 (0.77 - 32, n=933)
-147%
Idle Average *
6.3
6.2
2%
6
5%
5.6
11%
10.4
-65%
6.5
-3%
6.91 (5.3 - 9.7, n=12)
-10%
11.5 (4.2 - 42, n=933)
-83%
Idle Maximum *
9.78
7.2
26%
6.4
35%
7.8
20%
10.3
-5%
7.2
26%
8.9 (7 - 13, n=12)
9%
14 (5 - 67, n=933)
-43%
Load Average *
57.6
35.2
39%
34
41%
54
6%
57
1%
46.2
20%
55.8 (42.5 - 74.3, n=12)
3%
37.3 (7.43 - 99.3, n=918)
35%
Load Maximum *
67.3
46.4
31%
34.4
49%
63
6%
57
15%
68.8
-2%
67.7 (40.5 - 107, n=12)
-1%
45.9 (12.2 - 129, n=920)
32%
Witcher 3 ultra *
42

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The ProBook 450 G6 has a 45 Wh battery that is both 3 Wh smaller than the one with which HP equipped its predecessor and smaller than all but the battery in the ThinkPad E580 out of our comparison devices. Perhaps unsurprisingly, our review unit has worse battery life than most of our comparison devices.

Our review unit needs recharging after just 2:11 hours under continuous load, although this is better than all our comparison devices to which we subjected to this test. The ProBook 450 G6 also achieved a longer runtime than most of our comparison devices in our Wi-Fi battery life test, during which we run a script that simulates the load required to render websites. We also set the Windows 10 power mode to Balanced, disable all power-saving features and adjust the display to 150 cd/m².

However, the TravelMate P2510 and ThinkPad E580 last significantly longer than our review unit in our H.264 battery life test, where we run the short film Big Buck Bunny on a continuous loop. We make the same adjustments during this test as we do in our Wi-Fi test, but we also switch airplane mode on.

Overall, the ProBook 450 G6 has middling and underwhelming battery life. It is not terrible, but it is slightly shorter than most of our comparison devices.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
14h 36min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
9h 43min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
7h 42min
Load (maximum brightness)
2h 11min
HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA
8565U, GeForce MX130, 45 Wh
HP ProBook 450 G5-2UB53EA
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, 48 Wh
HP ProBook 650 G4 3UP57EA
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, 48 Wh
Acer TravelMate P2510-G2-MG-50WE
8250U, GeForce MX130, 48 Wh
Lenovo ThinkPad E580-20KS001RGE
8550U, Radeon RX 550 (Laptop), 45 Wh
Dell Latitude 5590
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, 51 Wh
Average of class Office
 
Battery Runtime
-21%
-16%
-4%
-13%
-14%
-25%
Reader / Idle
876
861
-2%
1044
19%
565 (101 - 1857, n=784)
-36%
H.264
462
516
12%
544
18%
401
-13%
418 (139 - 791, n=162)
-10%
WiFi v1.3
583
463
-21%
491
-16%
505
-13%
404
-31%
444
-24%
406 (105 - 964, n=316)
-30%
Load
131
118
-10%
81
-38%
82
-37%
101 (37 - 259, n=729)
-23%

Pros

+ compact and light
+ fast Wi-Fi
+ numerous maintenance options
+ nimble SSD
+ fan silent at idle
+ decent display
+ full-sized SD card reader
+ good battery life

Cons

- case creaks when pressure is applied
- no Thunderbolt 3
- no USB Gen 2
- comes with only one-year warranty
- dim display
- Core i7-8565U throttles under sustained load
- limited GPU performance because of single-channel mode
- fan pulsates slightly
- high bottom case temperatures

Verdict

The HP ProBook 450 G6 laptop review. Test device courtesy of Cyberport.
The HP ProBook 450 G6 laptop review. Test device courtesy of Cyberport.

The HP ProBook 450 G6 is largely unremarkable. There are hardly any areas in which it shines, but it does not make any serious blunders either. HP has made some noticeable compromises with the ProBook 400 series compared to the ProBook 600 series though.

It is not all doom and gloom. The SSD is exceptionally fast, as is its Wi-Fi module. Many of its components are upgradable or replaceable too, although accessing them is a more complicated process than it is with the ProBook 450 G5.

The HP ProBook 450 G6 is a compact and light 15.6-inch laptop that does well in most areas. However, our review unit offers poor value for money and does not stand out from its competitors.

The ProBook 450 G6 cannot get the most from its Core i7-8565U and makes the Core i5-8250U version better value for money in our opinion. Moreover, the pulsing fan will annoy some people, as it did with us. The display could also be brighter, while the ports could be better future-proofed too. In short, the ProBook 450 G6 is a solid business laptop that falls disappointingly short in several areas.

HP ProBook 450 G6-5TJ93EA - 03/14/2019 v6
Christian Hintze

Chassis
78 / 98 → 80%
Keyboard
79%
Pointing Device
89%
Connectivity
60 / 80 → 75%
Weight
63 / 20-67 → 92%
Battery
91%
Display
84%
Games Performance
65 / 68 →