Notebookcheck

PS5 news: State of Play date set; DualShock 4 will sort of work; dodgy leaks and crazy PlayStation 5 accessory price placeholders

State of Play will focus on upcoming titles for the PS5 and PS4. (Image source: Sony - edited)
State of Play will focus on upcoming titles for the PS5 and PS4. (Image source: Sony - edited)
PlayStation has finally announced the State of Play event for August but it might not be exactly what PS5 fans were hoping for. The DualShock 4 will work on the PlayStation 5 but only under certain conditions. More price placeholders have appeared and a tenuous source claims hardware revisions and SOCOM revival.

Sony and PlayStation have revealed when the next State of Play event will take place: Thursday, August 6 at 1:00 pm PT/4:00 pm ET (there is a list of times for other zones at the end of this article). Apparently, there will be some “check-ins on third-party and indie games from June’s PS5 showcase”…and that’s it, for the PS5 at least. The rest of the event will focus on PS4 and PS VR titles. So it looks like next-gen console watchers will have to wait a bit longer yet for price, pre-order, and hardware details. Just in case you are one of those that think Sony is trying to pull a fast one and surprise everyone with a reveal of the PS5 UI, or some big exclusive title, the related Twitter post even went as far as to point out “No big PS5 announcements!”

The “bad” news just keeps pouring in, depending on whether you are a glass is half-empty or half-full type of person. Sony has revealed that gamers can use the DualShock 4 controller but only when a supported PS4 game is being played on the PS5. If you want to play a PS5-only title on the console, then you will have to connect your DualSense controller instead. While some have complained about this state of affairs, it’s actually a pretty good thing, as you couldn’t use PS3 controllers on the PS4. Plus Sony wants to make sure gamers get the full PS5 experience by making sure the DualSense controller is used for PS5 games.

More PS5 and accessories price placeholders have appeared supposedly with yet another retailer, this time with the French Carrefour chain. The screenshot involved could be fake, so of course, take the incongruous prices with a pinch of salt:

  • PS5 Blu-ray edition: €499 (US$587/£449)
  • PS5 Digital Edition: €399 (US$469/£359)
  • Pulse 3D headphones: €49.90 (US$59/£45)
  • DualSense charging station: €49.90 (US$59/£45)
  • DualSense controller: €49.90 (US$59/£45)
  • PS5 HD camera: €49.90 (US$59/£45)
  • PS5 remote: €49.90 (US$59/£45)

Clearly not accurate, but at least the console prices fall into line with what is generally expected. But obviously the Pulse 3D headset is not going to be priced at the same point as the remote control or charging station, so it’s safe to say this latest “leak” is either fake or Carrefour just having a guess and getting bored of predictions by the time it was the PS5 accessories’ turn for placeholder pricing.

Talking about fake, these latest following rumors come from 4chan, so yes they are definitely false and shouldn’t be given the time of day, etc. But this OP apparently “leaked” (guessed) the State of Play date announcement and that it would be focused on games, so it’s worth having a look at their next claims. Apparently there will be a PS5 teardown coming in a couple of weeks with the price and pre-order information announced this month. It seems the PS5 will get a “slight hardware revision” and there is a big game reveal coming, which seems to be SOCOM following the OP’s clues (unnecessary capital letters in “Sure”, “Or”, and “GamesCOM”).

State of Play times around the world for August 6 (August 7):

  • 1:00 pm PDT
  • 2:00 pm MDT
  • 3:00 pm CDT
  • 4:00 pm EDT
  • 8:00 pm UTC
  • 9:00 pm BST
  • 10:00 pm CEST
  • 11:00 pm MSK
  • 1:30 am (August 7) IST
  • 4:00 am (August 7) CST
  • 5:00 am (August 7) JST
  • 6:00 am (August 7) AEST
  • 8:00 am (August 7) NZST
Official announcement. (Image source: @PlayStation)
Official announcement. (Image source: @PlayStation)
Alleged PS5 price placeholders. (Image source: GamerGen via @geronimo_73)
Alleged PS5 price placeholders. (Image source: GamerGen via @geronimo_73)
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > News > News Archive > Newsarchive 2020 08 > PS5 news: State of Play date set; DualShock 4 will sort of work; dodgy leaks and crazy PlayStation 5 accessory price placeholders
Daniel R Deakin, 2020-08- 4 (Update: 2020-09-30)
Daniel R Deakin
Daniel R Deakin - Managing Editor News
My interest in technology began after I was presented with an Atari 800XL home computer in the mid-1980s. I especially enjoy writing about technological advances, compelling rumors, and intriguing tech-related leaks. I have a degree in International Relations and Strategic Studies and count my family, reading, writing, and travel as the main passions of my life. I have been with Notebookcheck since 2012.