Notebookcheck

OnePlus 7 Pro Smartphone Review

Florian Schmitt, 👁 Florian Schmitt (translated by Alex Alderson), 05/16/2019

Profoundly premium. The OnePlus 7 Pro is the company’s new flagship. The device has a huge notch-free display, triple rear-facing cameras and much more. Read on to find out whether this so-called flagship beater can live up to expectations.
Update: Test completed..

OnePlus 7 Pro

Until now, OnePlus product launches have been predictable, with one smartphone being brought to market at a time. This year marks a break from tradition, with the company announcing the much speculated about OnePlus 7 and OnePlus 7 Pro. The latter, as the nomenclature suggests, is the first OnePlus device that could be considered flagship rather than a cheaper alternative priced to disrupt the flagship market. Strictly speaking, OnePlus has just released three smartphones if you count the 5G version of the 7 Pro. However, the device is identical to the standard 7 Pro except for the addition of a 5G modem. Moreover, it will only be sold in selected markets with established 5G networks like Finland and the UK. Hence, OnePlus is only releasing two new smartphones globally.

The 7 Pro is more than just a beefed-up version of the OnePlus 7 though. The former features a new design and a host of other firsts for OnePlus, whereas the latter is more of an evolution of the OnePlus 6T. The 7 Pro has no notch, for example, and a motorised pop-up front-facing camera like the Vivo NEX Ultimate. This gives the 7 Pro a higher screen-to-body ratio than the OnePlus 7, although the display differences do not end there. The 7 Pro is taller and has a larger display than its non-Pro sibling, while OnePlus has equipped the former with a higher resolution panel than the latter that gives it a higher pixel density. Moreover, the 7 Pro has a 90 Hz display compared to the 60 Hz one that the OnePlus 7 has. Incidentally, the 7 Pro is the first smartphone to have a display that can constantly refresh at 90 Hz. Other devices, like the Razer Phone 2, have variable refresh rate displays.

Additionally, the 7 Pro has three rear-facing cameras to the two in the regular model. Both have a 48 MP Sony IMX 586 main sensor, but the OnePlus 7 has just a 5 MP depth sensor, whereas the 7 Pro has telephoto and ultra-wide sensors. Both devices have an in-screen fingerprint sensor and come with 6 GB or 8 GB of RAM, although the 7 Pro has a 12 GB variant too. You can choose between 128 GB or 256 GB variants for both models too. Incidentally, the OnePlus 7 and 7 Pro are the first smartphones that have UFS 3.0 flash storage.

The 7 Pro will be available to purchase online from May 21, but you can buy the device three days earlier from pop-up stores like the one in Berlin. The 7 Pro starts at £649/US$669 and rises to £799/US$749 for the 12 GB/256 GB model, which is considerably more expensive than the OnePlus 6T or the 6T McLaren Edition. OnePlus has also brought the latter’s Warp Charge charging technology to the 7 Pro, but not the standard model.

We have chosen to compare the 7 Pro against the OnePlus 6T and the 6T McLaren Edition, along with modern flagships. Our flagship comparison devices will include the Apple iPhone XS Max, the Huawei P30 Pro, the Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus and the Xiaomi Mi 9.

  • 05.14.2019: Initial tests and photos
  • 05.15.2019: Additional benchmarks and heatmap images added. Temperature section expanded.
  • 05.16.2019: Additional benchmarks display tests and battery tests added.
  • 05.17.2019: GPS section updated, PWM measurements and additional test photos added.
  • 05.20.2019: Review completed
OnePlus 7 Pro
Graphics adapter
Memory
12288 MB 
Display
6.67 inch 19.5:9, 3120 x 1440 pixel 515 PPI, Capacitive touchscreen, AMOLED, 90 Hz, glossy: yes, HDR
Storage
256 GB UFS 3.0 Flash, 256 GB 
, 239 GB free
Connections
1 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, Audio Connections: Audio output via USB Type-C, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, compass, gyroscope, laser sensor, proximity sensor, sensor hub
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 5.0, GSM: Bands 2, 3, 5, 8. UMTS: Bands, 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 19. LTE: Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 66., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.8 x 162.6 x 75.9 ( = 0.35 x 6.4 x 2.99 in)
Battery
4000 mAh Lithium-Polymer, Warp Charge with 30 W fast charging
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 48 MPix Sony IMX586, 1.6 μm, f/1.6, OIS (camera 1), 8 MP telephoto, 1 μm, OIS, f/2.4 (camera 2), 16 MP ultra-wide-angle, f/2.2 (camera 3), triple autofocus: PDAF, laser, contrast; Videos at 4K/60 FPS
Secondary Camera: 16 MPix Sony IMX471, 1 μm, f/2.0, fixed focus, EIS, retractable
Additional features
Speakers: Stereo with Dolby Atmos, Keyboard: virtual keyboard, Charger, USB cable, SIM tool, silicone case, 24 Months Warranty, LTE Speed: Cat. 18 downloads (1.2 Gbps), Cat. 13 uploads (150 Mbps), fanless
Weight
206 g ( = 7.27 oz / 0.45 pounds), Power Supply: 126 g ( = 4.44 oz / 0.28 pounds)
Price
829 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

OnePlus has designed a completely newly chassis for the 7 Pro. By contrast, the company has carried over the design of the OnePlus 6T to the OnePlus 7. The 7 Pro is marginally wider than its predecessors like the OnePlus 5T and 6T McLaren Edition, although it is noticeably longer. The 7 Pro is thicker and heavier too. However, its rounded display conceals this added heft well and ensures that the 7 Pro fits nicely in our hands.

In our opinion, the front of the 7 Pro is its highlight, at least visually. OnePlus has done away with the notch that it used in the OnePlus 6T and has engineered the front-facing within a motorised housing, which gives the 7 Pro an impressive 88.6% screen-to-body ratio.

Both sides of the device are covered in glass, although OnePlus factory pre-installs a plastic screen protector. The protector has rather crisp edges that do not feel as smooth as the glass display, but it does offer added scratch protection.

OnePlus has made some changes to the back glass too. The company unveiled three colour options, which it calls Almond, Mirror Gray and Nebula Blue. The second of the three shimmers when the light catches it, while the latter has a matte finish that also has a slight colour gradient to it. The Almond colour is a blend of cream and white, which also comes with a golden frame. OnePlus will not sell the Almond model at launch though and is keeping it for a separate release.

Our test device is the Nebula Blue edition, which looks great to our eyes. Personally, we prefer the metal backs that OnePlus used to use on its older devices like the 5T as they feel more premium than glass. However, many manufacturers claim that metal backs interfere with the performance of antennas, whereas glass does not. Hence, glass is now the material of choice for many OEMs. The 7 Pro still feels like a premium smartphone though with its tapered edges that blend nicely into each other. The transitions between materials are small and evenly tight across the whole of our review unit, which adds to its flagship feel.

The 7 Pro is also sturdy and resists any pressure that we apply to the front or back glass. We can hardly twist our review unit too, albeit we can hear some quiet creaks when we try to do so. The 7 Pro also weighs 206 g, which is about as heavy as the iPhone XS Max. This is not necessarily a bad thing though and adds to the device’s premium feel. Overall, the 7 Pro is an impressively well-built smartphone. Its build quality is up there with the best of other modern flagships in our opinion.

OnePlus still does not IP certify its devices, although reviewers like Dave2D have demonstrated that it will survive being temporarily submerged in shallow depths of water. We would recommend against testing this out though and instead treat the device as if it were not water resistant or dustproof.

Size Comparison

162.6 mm / 6.4 inch 75.9 mm / 2.99 inch 8.8 mm / 0.3465 inch 206 g0.4542 lbs158.01 mm / 6.22 inch 73.37 mm / 2.89 inch 8.41 mm / 0.3311 inch 192 g0.4233 lbs157.5 mm / 6.2 inch 74.8 mm / 2.94 inch 8.2 mm / 0.3228 inch 185 g0.4079 lbs157.6 mm / 6.2 inch 74.1 mm / 2.92 inch 7.8 mm / 0.3071 inch 198 g0.4365 lbs157.5 mm / 6.2 inch 77.4 mm / 3.05 inch 7.7 mm / 0.3031 inch 208 g0.4586 lbs157.5 mm / 6.2 inch 74.67 mm / 2.94 inch 7.61 mm / 0.2996 inch 173 g0.3814 lbs

Connectivity

OnePlus still refuses to include a microSD card slot in its devices too. The company claims that storing data on microSD cards offers a worse user experience than using internal storage, which is a rather flimsy justification. However, the base model comes with 128 GB of storage, which should be enough for most people. All variants have dual-SIM card slots too.

OnePlus currently sells the 7 Pro in the following RAM and storage combinations:

  • 6 GB of RAM / 128 GB of storage: £649/US$669
  • 8 GB of RAM / 256 GB of storage: £699/US$699
  • 12 GB of RAM / 256 GB of storage: £799/US$749

The 7 Pro also supports Bluetooth 5.0 and NFC as all modern flagships do. However, OnePlus continues to follow the other flagship trend of omitting the headphone jack, the justification for which we covered in our OnePlus 6T review. In short, OnePlus claims that people are increasingly using wireless headphones instead of wired ones, a perverse logic that we Google has also used recently for explaining why it included a headphone jack on the Pixel 3a.

Right-hand side: Power button, alert slider
Right-hand side: Power button, alert slider
Left-hand side: Volume rocker
Left-hand side: Volume rocker
Underside: Dual-SIM card slot, USB Type-C port, microphone, speaker
Underside: Dual-SIM card slot, USB Type-C port, microphone, speaker
 

Software

OnePlus continues to its devices with OxygenOS. The version installed on our review unit is 9.5.2, which the company bases on Android 9.0 Pie. This build comes with April 2019 android security patches, which were only a month old when we started testing the device. OnePlus has introduced numerous new features with OxygenOS 9.5, including something called Zen Mode, which disables everything but the ability to use the camera or make and receive calls for 20 minutes. All notifications will be muted for that time, and you cannot cancel the timer once it has started. OnePlus has added a Quick Settings tile so that you can enable it without having to go into Settings too.

OxygenOS 9.5 also incorporates a quasi-LED notification light, whereby the edges of the screen light up when the device receives a notification. OnePlus has improved the gaming mode too, but we shall cover this in the Games section of this review. The inclusion of a screen recorder could prove useful for streamers as it can also record audio. The mode can record ambient sounds too, allowing you to give commentary as you game.

OnePlus continues to refrain from installing a slew of third-party apps. The company only pre-installed Netflix apart from the core set of applications, although the OS only allows you to disable rather than uninstall it, which is disappointing.

Overall, OxygenOS feels snappy and boots quickly. The OS is intuitive and has a few more useful features that stock Android lacks. It is also nice to see that OnePlus has certified the 7 Pro with Widevine DRM L1, which allows it to stream DRM protected content in HD. Not all OnePlus devices have been capable of doing so, for reference.

Display settings with night mode enabled
Display settings with night mode enabled
Display settings with night mode disabled
Display settings with night mode disabled
Device information
Device information
OxygenOS home screen
OxygenOS home screen
OxygenOS default home screen
OxygenOS default home screen

Communication & GPS

The 7 Pro also has all Wi-Fi connectivity that one would expect from a current flagship smartphone. OnePlus has equipped the device with a 2x2 MIMO antenna, while its modem supports up to IEEE 802.11 ac. Our review unit still achieved comparably slow Wi-Fi speeds in our tests despite its decent paper specifications. While most modern flagships average at least 600 MBit/s in iperf3 Client Wi-Fi tests, the 7 Pro could only manage around 470 MBit/s. Hopefully, OnePlus can improve this with a software update, although you will only the notice in speed if you have a high-speed internet connection.

The Wi-Fi reception also drops by around 25% when we move our test device approximately 10 metres away from our reference router. Websites and media content load still load quickly though.

The 7 Pro supports a wide selection of LTE bands, so you should have no problems with connecting to an LTE network irrespective of where you live. Our review unit maintained decent reception on the German D2 network during our tests and even down narrow streets too. Hence, you should experience no reception issues either if a mast is nearby.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi 9
Adreno 640, 855, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
678 (min: 549, max: 725) MBit/s ∼100% +45%
Huawei P30 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 256 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
661 (min: 624, max: 683) MBit/s ∼97% +42%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Adreno 630, 845, 256 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
633 (min: 619, max: 639) MBit/s ∼93% +36%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Mali-G76 MP12, 9820, 512 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
633 (min: 561, max: 684) MBit/s ∼93% +36%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
A12 Bionic GPU, A12 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
624 MBit/s ∼92% +34%
OnePlus 7 Pro
Adreno 640, 855, 256 GB UFS 3.0 Flash
467 (min: 375, max: 519) MBit/s ∼69%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=381)
221 MBit/s ∼33% -53%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Huawei P30 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 256 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
670 (min: 542, max: 717) MBit/s ∼100% +42%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
A12 Bionic GPU, A12 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
602 MBit/s ∼90% +28%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Adreno 640, 855, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
534 (min: 430, max: 578) MBit/s ∼80% +13%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Adreno 630, 845, 256 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
489 (min: 439, max: 508) MBit/s ∼73% +4%
OnePlus 7 Pro
Adreno 640, 855, 256 GB UFS 3.0 Flash
471 (min: 438, max: 506) MBit/s ∼70%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Mali-G76 MP12, 9820, 512 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
457 (min: 398, max: 508) MBit/s ∼68% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=381)
212 MBit/s ∼32% -55%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510520Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø467 (375-519)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø471 (438-506)
GPS test: Inside
GPS test: Inside
GPS test: At a window
GPS test: At a window
GPS test: Outside
GPS test: Outside

The 7 Pro uses BeiDou, dual-channel Galileo, GLONASS, dual-channel GPS including A-GPS and SBAS for location services. These allow our review unit to achieve a satellite fix with up to 6 metres accuracy outdoors, which is comparatively inaccurate for a flagship smartphone.

Likewise, we were surprised to see that the 7 Pro could not find a satellite when we tested it indoors. The built-in compass also takes a moment or two to calibrate, but it accurately shows our orientation in apps like Google Maps when it finds its bearings.

We also took the 7 Pro on a bike ride to compare its location accuracy against our trip computer, the Garmin Edge 520. Our results demonstrate a mixed picture. Our review unit was impressively accurate while we were cycling in open areas. However, it struggled to keep up with us in built-up areas and took large shortcuts to do so. Overall, the 7 Pro is accurate enough for general navigation devices, but other flagships like the Galaxy S10 Plus and iPhone XS Max have better GPS modules.

GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 - Loop
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 - Loop
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 - Bridge
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 - Bridge
GPS test: OnePlus 7 Pro - Overview
GPS test: OnePlus 7 Pro - Overview
GPS test: OnePlus 7 Pro - Loop
GPS test: OnePlus 7 Pro - Loop
GPS test: OnePlus 7 Pro - Bridge
GPS test: OnePlus 7 Pro - Bridge

Telephone Features & Call Quality

OnePlus has updated its phone app too, with the company moving the tabs for call history, contacts and favourites to the bottom of the app. There is now a dedicated button for adding a new contact too, while OnePlus has also set the search button to remain constantly visible. All other features and layout remain unchanged though.

The 7 Pro has mixed call quality. The earpiece doubles as a loudspeaker, which means that it can get deafeningly loud when used just as an earpiece. In fact, we had to reduce the call volume below 50% before our call partner sounded quiet to our ears. The earpiece gets so loud that you may as well have the call on speakerphone if you set the call volume above 50%.

Our call partner at least remained intelligible throughout our tests though. We occasionally noticed some background noise at high volumes too, but this is more because of the speaker reverberating and picking up ambient sound than the microphone struggling to filter out noise. The microphone also picked up our voice well, and we had no complaints from our call partner about our voice sounding too thin or quiet during our tests.

The 7 Pro supports voice over LTE (VoLTE) and Wi-Fi calling (VoWiFi), but you must enable these in Developer options as OnePlus disables them by default. Your carrier must have provisioned the 7 Pro on its network for both technologies to work though. They will not work just because you have enabled them.

Cameras

Photographed with the front-facing camera
Photographed with the front-facing camera

The 7 Pro has three rear-facing cameras, all of which are new to OnePlus devices. The 7 Pro is also the first smartphone released by the company to feature cameras with different focal lengths, which it to achieve 3x optical zoom. The front-facing camera, we mentioned earlier, is integrated within a motorised housing that retracts into the case when it is not being used.

The default camera app has fewer gimmicks than those developed by other OEMs. There are no augmented reality (AR) modes, for example, but there is a pro mode along with a portrait mode. The latter can create bokeh effect shots.

The main rear-facing camera is a 48 MP Sony IMX586 sensor. However, OnePlus has set the sensor to combine 4 pixels into 1 by default to create a 12 MP image, which you may have seen referred to elsewhere as pixel binning. The effect of this is to create a more detailed 12 MP photo than a traditional 12 MP sensor could. You can still shoot in 48 MP though if you switch to Pro mode in the default camera app.

The 7 Pro also has telephoto and ultra-wide-angle lenses. Both sensors are lower resolution sensors with narrower apertures than the Sony IMX586, although they still take detailed pictures in good ambient light.

OxygenOS’ night mode still disappoints though, despite the 7 Pro’s flagship-level main sensor. Unexpectedly, the Sony IMX586 takes sharper and less noisy looking pictures in the standard camera mode than it does in night mode. Hence, the night mode currently seems rather redundant.

The pop-up front-facing camera may look like the one that Vivo used in the NEX Ultimate, but that is where the comparisons should end. The mechanism in the 7 Pro not only moves faster than the one in the NEX Ultimate, but it also uses the accelerometer to protect itself. The housing retracts if the system senses that is falling, which should ensure that the camera does not snap off if you drop the device. OnePlus also rates the mechanism for up to 300,000 uses, which equates to over 5 years if you open and close it 150 times a day.

OnePlus has equipped the 7 Pro with a camera 16 MP front-facing sensor. Unfortunately, it is only a fixed focus sensor, which makes it tricky to keep objects or people in focus. The device also does not have a dedicated front-facing LED flash, but the default camera app can use the display as a quasi-flash.

Overall, the front-facing sensor takes colourful and detailed photos. However, the dynamic range in dark areas could be better. An autofocus sensor would have been more practical too.

The 7 Pro can record videos in up to 4K at 60 FPS, although OIS only works at up to 30 FPS for some reason. The default camera app can shoot at 240 FPS in 1080p and 480 FPS in 720p to create slow-motion effects. Videos shot with our review unit generally impressed us. The device adjusts exposure quickly in changing lighting conditions and does a good job at keeping objects or people in focus even if they are moving.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images
Photographed with the telephoto lens
Photographed with the telephoto lens
Photographed with the regular sensor
Photographed with the regular sensor
Photographed with the ultra-wide sensor
Photographed with the ultra-wide sensor
Photographed using night mode
Photographed using night mode
Photographed with the regular sensor
Photographed with the regular sensor

The main camera performed well under controlled lighting conditions too. Our review unit captures our test chart looks sharply and preserves fine structures. The image could be a bit brighter though.

The Sony IMX586 sensor also reproduces most colours accurately. Some colours are slightly warmer than the ColorChecker Passport reference colours though.

A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail
Our test chart in detail
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

Accessories & Warranty

OnePlus includes a 30 W charger in the box that the company markets as Warp Charge, which we first saw in the 6T McLaren Edition. Please note that the OnePlus 7 does not support Warp Charge. The company bundles a USB Type-C cable too, although it only supports USB 2.0 speeds. This is a strange move because the 7 Pro supports faster transfer speeds.

OnePlus also includes a SIM tool and a protective cover, but we are saddened to see no headphone jack adapter. OnePlus sells the adapter for £6.99/US$7.95 on its online shop, which is a rather cheap move in our eyes considering how expensive the 7 Pro is. The company does not include any headphones either and instead lists them as an optional accessory on its store.

You can buy replacement accessories from the OnePlus store too along with other accessories like the upcoming Bullets Wireless 2. OnePlus also sells accessory bundles like the 7 Pro Premium Bundle, which includes a case, a WARP30 charger, a Warp Charge cable and a set of Type-C Bullets headphones.

The 7 Pro comes with 24 months limited manufacturer’s warranty. OnePlus has now established itself in over 35 countries, so you should have no problem with returning the device for a warranty repair.

Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies & Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

A look at the Warp Charge 30 charger
A look at the Warp Charge 30 charger
The OnePlus 7 Pro Carbon cover
The OnePlus 7 Pro Carbon cover
The OnePlus 7 Pro Sandstone cover
The OnePlus 7 Pro Sandstone cover

Input Devices & Operation

The 7 Pro is the first OnePlus device to feature a curved display, which other OEMs like Huawei and Samsung have been incorporating in their flagships for a few years. Curved displays are still more style over functionality though, as it is much easier to unintentionally activate the touchscreen than it is on a device with a flat display. OnePlus promises to have worked to minimise accidental touches, but we still inadvertently did so a few times during our tests. The display at least responds quickly to inputs though thanks to its low latency, which we measure at 32.5 ms.

OnePlus preinstalls Google Gboard as the default keyboard on the 7 Pro. The app functions just as it does on other devices that we have reviewed. You can install other keyboards should you dislike the default one though.

The 7 Pro has an optical in-screen fingerprint sensor that OnePlus promises is larger and features a larger camera sensor than the one it used in the 6T. The company has placed the sensor in what should be a natural position for people’s hands, although it is rather particular about how you place your finger. The device illuminates a fingerprint shaped guide to help you hit the sensor first time though OnePlus has improved the recognition rate too compared to the solution that it used in the 6T. Our review unit unlocks impressively quickly for a device with an in-screen sensor.

You can also use the front-facing camera for facial recognition, but keep in mind that this is less secure and slower than unlocking the device with a fingerprint. The camera can recognise us even in low light though, but there are no advantages to using face unlock over the fingerprint sensor other than to watch the mechanism move up and down.

Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The 7 Pro has a 6.67-inch curved AMOLED panel that operates natively at 3,120 x 1,440. OnePlus markets the display as being a Fluid AMOLED panel, which could either refer to its curved edges or its variable resolution. The 7 Pro is the first smartphone to have a display that can constantly run at 90 Hz. Gaming phones like the Razer Phone 2 have high refresh rate displays too. However, they have variable refresh rates that only switch to higher refresh rates in games other supported content. 90 Hz consumes more power than 60 Hz does, but you can always set the display to the lower refresh rate should you want longer battery life.

OnePlus has worked with Samsung on the display in the 7 Pro, a partnership which it claims has created one of the best displays in any smartphone. This is not just a flimsy marketing claim either. DisplayMate rated the display A+ in its OLED Display Technology Shoot-Out, stating that it has “close to textbook perfect calibration accuracy and performance that is visually indistinguishable from perfect”.

Our tests confirm this assessment. The display in our review unit reached an average maximum luminosity of 584 cd/m² in our tests according to X-Rite i1Pro 2. Our tests demonstrate that the display is 97% evenly lit too. Colours also look vibrant, while the 90 Hz refresh rate makes any movements onscreen look noticeably smoother than they do on a 60 Hz panel.

584
cd/m²
583
cd/m²
589
cd/m²
581
cd/m²
586
cd/m²
597
cd/m²
578
cd/m²
579
cd/m²
580
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 597 cd/m² Average: 584.1 cd/m² Minimum: 2.16 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 97 %
Center on Battery: 586 cd/m²
Contrast: ∞:1 (Black: 0 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 1.39 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.1
ΔE Greyscale 1.6 | 0.64-98 Ø6.3
99.8% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.243
OnePlus 7 Pro
AMOLED, 3120x1440, 6.67
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
OLED, 3040x1440, 6.4
Apple iPhone Xs Max
OLED, 2688x1242, 6.5
Xiaomi Mi 9
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.39
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.41
Huawei P30 Pro
OLED, 2340x1080, 6.47
Screen
-66%
-3%
11%
-189%
-16%
Brightness middle
586
710
21%
656
12%
593
1%
435
-26%
597
2%
Brightness
584
721
23%
659
13%
587
1%
442
-24%
608
4%
Brightness Distribution
97
97
0%
88
-9%
94
-3%
95
-2%
89
-8%
Black Level *
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
1.39
3.7
-166%
1.7
-22%
0.9
35%
6.79
-388%
2.2
-58%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
2.7
10.3
-281%
2.8
-4%
2
26%
14.93
-453%
3.6
-33%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
1.6
1.5
6%
1.7
-6%
1.5
6%
5.4
-238%
1.6
-0%
Gamma
2.243 98%
2.1 105%
1.998 110%
2.27 97%
2.252 98%
2.23 99%
CCT
6672 97%
6611 98%
6487 100%
6548 99%
7588 86%
6268 104%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 122 Hz

The display backlight flickers at 122 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) .

The frequency of 122 Hz is very low, so the flickering may cause eyestrain and headaches after extended use.

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9654 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

AMOLED panels typically produce pure blacks because they can switch off pixels individually, as the display in the 7 Pro can. Blacks look rich and help the display achieve a theoretically infinite contrast ratio, which makes colours look sharper than they do on devices with IPS panels. Most modern flagships have OLED or AMOLED panels though, so they are all capable of matching the colour accuracy of the 7 Pro’s display.

OnePlus two colour modes within OxygenOS, which it calls Natural and Vivid. There is also an extended mode that allows you to switch between colour spaces and an option to manually adjust the display’s white balance.

Our review unit reproduces colours accurately regardless of the colour mode selected, although CalMAN does show that grey tones have a slight colour tint to them. Our review unit has excellent colour space coverages when set to the Vivid mode too. Natural mode yields worse coverage for larger colour spaces though.

The panel has low response times too, which makes it well-suited for gamers.

Overall, the 7 Pro has an excellent display. The panel supports HDR 10+, has low latency times and is impressive colour accurate out of the box. Likewise, the display in our review unit can reach a minimum brightness of 2.16 cd/m², which makes it dark enough to read comfortably at night or in dark rooms without straining your eyes.

CalMAN: Greyscale – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: Greyscale – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: sRGB colour space – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: sRGB colour space – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: AdobeRGB colour space – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: AdobeRGB colour space – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: DCI P3 colour space – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: DCI P3 colour space – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – Vivid colour mode
CalMAN: Greyscale – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: Greyscale – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - Natural colour mode
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - Natural colour mode
CalMAN: sRGB colour space – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: sRGB colour space – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: DCI P3 colour space – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: DCI P3 colour space – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: AdobeRGB colour space – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: AdobeRGB colour space – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – Natural colour mode
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – Natural colour mode

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
6 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 3 ms rise
↘ 3 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 4 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25.4 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
6 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 3 ms rise
↘ 3 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 3 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (40.5 ms).

AMOLED panels do not have backlights like IPS panels do, so OEMs generally get around this by using pulse-width modulation (PWM). PWM looks like flickering to human eyes and can cause health problems like eye strain or headaches for some people. The display in our review unit flickers at 122 Hz when set to 60 Hz, which is low enough to affect those who are PWM sensitive. Switching the display to 90 Hz increases the frequency to 367.6 Hz, which may still cause ill effects for some people.

OnePlus has introduced DC dimming with a new update though, which restricts the voltage that the LEDs receive to manipulate the display brightness. While this sounds like great news, this method of brightness control has its downsides. CalMAN and our photo spectrometer tell us that DeltaE deviations increase when DC dimming is enabled, although we cannot perceive any reduction in colour accuracy with our eyes. Moreover, the display still flickers at low brightness, which our test equipment recorded at a constant 60 Hz. We had the same experience with the Xiaomi Black Shark 2, although the flat amplitude may affect fewer people than PWM does. However, we would recommend trying out the 7 Pro before you buy it in case the flickering irritates your eyes.

In short, DC dimming represents an improvement over PWM. It is not a magic bullet for display flickering though.

PWM at 90 Hz
PWM at 90 Hz
DC dimming at medium brightness
DC dimming at medium brightness

The 7 Pro is easy to use outdoors even in intense sunlight thanks to its bright and contrast-rich AMOLED display. Our review unit remains readable under direct sunlight even at medium brightness, although the ambient light sensor does not work as aggressively as we would have liked it to do. Often the screen should be brighter in our opinion, as you we have tried to demonstrate in the photos below.

The 7 Pro has excellent viewing angles because of its AMOLED panel. We noticed no brightness, colour or image distortions even at acute viewing angles.

Using the OnePlus 7 Pro outdoors at minimum brightness
Using the OnePlus 7 Pro outdoors at minimum brightness
Using the OnePlus 7 Pro outdoors at medium brightness
Using the OnePlus 7 Pro outdoors at medium brightness
Using the OnePlus 7 Pro outdoors at maximum brightness
Using the OnePlus 7 Pro outdoors at maximum brightness
Using the OnePlus 7 Pro outdoors with the ambient light sensor enabled
Using the OnePlus 7 Pro outdoors with the ambient light sensor enabled
Viewing Angles
Viewing Angles
 
 
 

Performance

OnePlus equips the 7 Pro with the Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, the SoC of choice for Android OEMs excluding Huawei and Samsung. You may be familiar with the Snapdragon 855 from our Xiaomi Mi 9 review, which performed strongly in synthetic benchmarks. The 7 Pro cannot outperform the Mi 9 in benchmarks despite having liquid cooling. Its fast internal storage helps the system deliver excellent benchmark results and puts the 7 Pro on par with other flagships.

The integrated Adreno 640 GPU holds its own in benchmarks too and is powerful enough even for the most complex of apps.

Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
7470 Points ∼56%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
10177 Points ∼77% +36%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7482 Points ∼56% 0%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
13260 Points ∼100% +78%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
8574 Points ∼65% +15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (7470 - 7936, n=3)
7629 Points ∼58% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (663 - 21070, n=285)
4518 Points ∼34% -40%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
10812 Points ∼96%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
10259 Points ∼91% -5%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
11244 Points ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10999 Points ∼98% +2%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
8906 Points ∼79% -18%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
9880 Points ∼88% -9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (10812 - 11359, n=4)
11088 Points ∼99% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1174 - 11598, n=339)
4432 Points ∼39% -59%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
3472 Points ∼73%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4505 Points ∼94% +30%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
4774 Points ∼100% +38%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3523 Points ∼74% +1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
2420 Points ∼51% -30%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
3306 Points ∼69% -5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3472 - 3537, n=4)
3510 Points ∼74% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (437 - 4824, n=340)
1314 Points ∼28% -62%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
9974 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
7812 Points ∼78% -22%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9035 Points ∼91% -9%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
8689 Points ∼87% -13%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
9135 Points ∼92% -8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (8342 - 9974, n=3)
9117 Points ∼91% -9%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3227 - 9974, n=333)
4858 Points ∼49% -51%
Work performance score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
11766 Points ∼91%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
9793 Points ∼75% -17%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10985 Points ∼85% -7%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
10984 Points ∼85% -7%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
12996 Points ∼100% +10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (10330 - 11766, n=3)
11027 Points ∼85% -6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4290 - 13531, n=501)
5292 Points ∼41% -55%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
3317 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
2488 Points ∼75% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3288 Points ∼99% -1%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
3183 Points ∼96% -4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3288 - 3365, n=3)
3323 Points ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2314 - 15735, n=25)
2509 Points ∼76% -24%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
5794 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
5530 Points ∼95% -5%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5723 Points ∼99% -1%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4688 Points ∼81% -19%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5723 - 5794, n=3)
5762 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1416 - 14536, n=25)
2473 Points ∼43% -57%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
4969 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4348 Points ∼88% -12%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4914 Points ∼99% -1%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4242 Points ∼85% -15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (4914 - 4978, n=3)
4954 Points ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1550 - 14786, n=27)
2154 Points ∼43% -57%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
4429 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
2925 Points ∼66% -34%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
2723 Points ∼61% -39%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3754 Points ∼85% -15%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
3717 Points ∼84% -16%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4171 Points ∼94% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3754 - 4535, n=3)
4239 Points ∼96% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 4535, n=348)
1791 Points ∼40% -60%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
7115 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
5371 Points ∼75% -25%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
4828 Points ∼68% -32%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7076 Points ∼99% -1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
5869 Points ∼82% -18%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4361 Points ∼61% -39%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (7076 - 7115, n=3)
7100 Points ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (76 - 8206, n=348)
1531 Points ∼22% -78%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
6270 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4529 Points ∼72% -28%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
4121 Points ∼66% -34%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5913 Points ∼94% -6%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
5200 Points ∼83% -17%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4317 Points ∼69% -31%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5913 - 6312, n=3)
6165 Points ∼98% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (94 - 6312, n=351)
1428 Points ∼23% -77%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
4352 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
3087 Points ∼71% -29%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
2961 Points ∼68% -32%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3788 Points ∼87% -13%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
3439 Points ∼79% -21%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4164 Points ∼96% -4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3788 - 4462, n=3)
4201 Points ∼97% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 4493, n=363)
1768 Points ∼41% -59%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
10420 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4449 Points ∼43% -57%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
10374 Points ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10291 Points ∼99% -1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
8415 Points ∼81% -19%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
5767 Points ∼55% -45%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (10291 - 10420, n=3)
10337 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (131 - 14951, n=363)
2109 Points ∼20% -80%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
7955 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4052 Points ∼51% -49%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
6667 Points ∼84% -16%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7449 Points ∼94% -6%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
6368 Points ∼80% -20%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
5313 Points ∼67% -33%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (7449 - 7980, n=3)
7795 Points ∼98% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (159 - 7980, n=364)
1795 Points ∼23% -77%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
4063 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
2977 Points ∼73% -27%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
3027 Points ∼75% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3758 Points ∼92% -8%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
3496 Points ∼86% -14%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
3849 Points ∼95% -5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3758 - 4262, n=3)
4028 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (486 - 4262, n=422)
1727 Points ∼43% -57%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
6248 Points ∼98%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
5186 Points ∼82% -17%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
3726 Points ∼59% -40%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
6355 Points ∼100% +2%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
5246 Points ∼83% -16%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4400 Points ∼69% -30%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (6248 - 6362, n=3)
6322 Points ∼99% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (65 - 6362, n=424)
1269 Points ∼20% -80%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
5581 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4452 Points ∼79% -20%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
3544 Points ∼63% -36%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5509 Points ∼98% -1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
4721 Points ∼84% -15%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4264 Points ∼76% -24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5509 - 5734, n=3)
5608 Points ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (80 - 5734, n=432)
1215 Points ∼22% -78%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
4091 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
2875 Points ∼70% -30%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
2713 Points ∼66% -34%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3614 Points ∼88% -12%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
3551 Points ∼87% -13%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
3828 Points ∼94% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3614 - 4240, n=3)
3982 Points ∼97% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (512 - 4240, n=455)
1633 Points ∼40% -60%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
9845 Points ∼99%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
5303 Points ∼53% -46%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
7055 Points ∼71% -28%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9963 Points ∼100% +1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
8248 Points ∼83% -16%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
5431 Points ∼55% -45%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (9845 - 9983, n=3)
9930 Points ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 9983, n=455)
1727 Points ∼17% -82%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
7501 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4465 Points ∼60% -40%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
5205 Points ∼69% -31%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7166 Points ∼96% -4%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
6374 Points ∼85% -15%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4969 Points ∼66% -34%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (7166 - 7673, n=3)
7447 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 7673, n=463)
1482 Points ∼20% -80%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
26936 Points ∼76%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
32302 Points ∼92% +20%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
27717 Points ∼79% +3%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
25339 Points ∼72% -6%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
35217 Points ∼100% +31%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
31483 Points ∼89% +17%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (25339 - 45072, n=3)
32449 Points ∼92% +20%
Average of class Smartphone
  (8253 - 45072, n=617)
13393 Points ∼38% -50%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
106829 Points ∼67%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
70318 Points ∼44% -34%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
159735 Points ∼100% +50%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
106534 Points ∼67% 0%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
84459 Points ∼53% -21%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
63469 Points ∼40% -41%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (106534 - 110432, n=3)
107932 Points ∼68% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3585 - 162695, n=617)
19337 Points ∼12% -82%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
64389 Points ∼83%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
55740 Points ∼72% -13%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
77599 Points ∼100% +21%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
62225 Points ∼80% -3%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
64437 Points ∼83% 0%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
51779 Points ∼67% -20%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (62225 - 83518, n=3)
70044 Points ∼90% +9%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4164 - 83518, n=618)
16158 Points ∼21% -75%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
166 fps ∼73%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
96 fps ∼42% -42%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
226 fps ∼100% +36%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
167 fps ∼74% +1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
151 fps ∼67% -9%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
138 fps ∼61% -17%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (166 - 167, n=4)
167 fps ∼74% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (6 - 251, n=643)
33.7 fps ∼15% -80%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
60 fps ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
58 fps ∼96% -3%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
60 fps ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
60 fps ∼100% 0%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
60 fps ∼100% 0%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
60 fps ∼100% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (60 - 61, n=4)
60.3 fps ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.8 - 120, n=646)
26.3 fps ∼44% -56%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
101 fps ∼94%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
67 fps ∼63% -34%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
107 fps ∼100% +6%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
100 fps ∼93% -1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
79 fps ∼74% -22%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
91 fps ∼85% -10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (100 - 102, n=4)
101 fps ∼94% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.7 - 132, n=562)
18.4 fps ∼17% -82%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
55 fps ∼92%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
53 fps ∼88% -4%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
59 fps ∼98% +7%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
60 fps ∼100% +9%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
59 fps ∼98% +7%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
59 fps ∼98% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (55 - 60, n=4)
58 fps ∼97% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.4 - 115, n=567)
17.1 fps ∼29% -69%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
71 fps ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
67 fps ∼94% -6%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
69.3 fps ∼98% -2%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
69 fps ∼97% -3%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
56 fps ∼79% -21%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
56 fps ∼79% -21%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (41 - 71, n=4)
63 fps ∼89% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.6 - 88, n=424)
15.3 fps ∼22% -78%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
36 fps ∼61%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
37 fps ∼63% +3%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
58.9 fps ∼100% +64%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
58 fps ∼98% +61%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
50 fps ∼85% +39%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
47 fps ∼80% +31%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (36 - 58, n=4)
47.5 fps ∼81% +32%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.4 - 110, n=427)
14.6 fps ∼25% -59%
GFXBench
High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
15 fps ∼47%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
16 fps ∼50% +7%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
32.1 fps ∼100% +114%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
24 fps ∼75% +60%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
21 fps ∼65% +40%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
20 fps ∼62% +33%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (15 - 25, n=3)
21.3 fps ∼66% +42%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.86 - 59, n=128)
8.81 fps ∼27% -41%
2560x1440 High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
16 fps ∼94%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
17 fps ∼100% +6%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
16.3 fps ∼96% +2%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
16 fps ∼94% 0%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
14 fps ∼82% -12%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
14 fps ∼82% -12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (16 - 17, n=4)
16.3 fps ∼96% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.26 - 31, n=128)
6.11 fps ∼36% -62%
Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
23 fps ∼49%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
26 fps ∼55% +13%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
47 fps ∼100% +104%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
37 fps ∼79% +61%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
34 fps ∼72% +48%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
32 fps ∼68% +39%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (23 - 38, n=3)
32.7 fps ∼70% +42%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.8 - 59, n=129)
13.1 fps ∼28% -43%
1920x1080 Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
42 fps ∼91%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
46 fps ∼100% +10%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
36.8 fps ∼80% -12%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
41 fps ∼89% -2%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
37 fps ∼80% -12%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
36 fps ∼78% -14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (40.7 - 43, n=4)
41.7 fps ∼91% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.94 - 63, n=128)
14.7 fps ∼32% -65%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
42 fps ∼98%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
43 fps ∼100% +2%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
40 fps ∼93% -5%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
42 fps ∼98% 0%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
34 fps ∼79% -19%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
33 fps ∼77% -21%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (42 - 42, n=4)
42 fps ∼98% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.89 - 54, n=353)
10.4 fps ∼24% -75%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
21 fps ∼55%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
23 fps ∼61% +10%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
31 fps ∼82% +48%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
38 fps ∼100% +81%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
31 fps ∼82% +48%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
27 fps ∼71% +29%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (21 - 38, n=4)
29.5 fps ∼78% +40%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.6 - 58, n=357)
9.3 fps ∼24% -56%
Basemark GPU
1920x1080 OpenGL Medium Offscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
37.3 fps ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
32.26 (min: 8.31, max: 85.07) fps ∼86% -14%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
37.41 fps ∼100% 0%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
27.02 (min: 2.8, max: 80.83) fps ∼72% -28%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (33.1 - 37.4, n=3)
35.9 fps ∼96% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 651, n=52)
29.1 fps ∼78% -22%
Vulkan Medium Native (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
22.73 fps ∼71%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
27.18 (min: 8.36, max: 46.5) fps ∼84% +20%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
32.2 fps ∼100% +42%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
28.46 (min: 9.24, max: 54.37) fps ∼88% +25%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (22.7 - 32.2, n=2)
27.5 fps ∼85% +21%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 606, n=47)
26.2 fps ∼81% +15%
1920x1080 Vulkan Medium Offscreen (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
36.29 fps ∼94%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
38.5 (min: 9.69, max: 72.94) fps ∼100% +6%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
35.63 fps ∼93% -2%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
30.67 (min: 5.93, max: 132.19) fps ∼80% -15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (24.5 - 36.3, n=3)
32.2 fps ∼84% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 739, n=47)
31.8 fps ∼83% -12%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
369294 Points ∼99%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
333277 Points ∼89% -10%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
302955 Points ∼81% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
374820 Points ∼100% +1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
293768 Points ∼78% -20%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
316199 Points ∼84% -14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (359346 - 374820, n=4)
368756 Points ∼98% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 374820, n=245)
126277 Points ∼34% -66%
VRMark - Amber Room (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
4969 Score ∼99%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4967 Score ∼99% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4964 Score ∼99% 0%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
5020 Score ∼100% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (4486 - 4969, n=3)
4806 Score ∼96% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (927 - 5025, n=51)
2044 Score ∼41% -59%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
1364 Points ∼79%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
1383 Points ∼80% +1%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
1731 Points ∼100% +27%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
1378 Points ∼80% +1%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
1395 Points ∼81% +2%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
1409 Points ∼81% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (1264 - 1378, n=3)
1335 Points ∼77% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 1731, n=576)
726 Points ∼42% -47%
Graphics (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
9421 Points ∼60%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
8401 Points ∼54% -11%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
15659 Points ∼100% +66%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9270 Points ∼59% -2%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
7926 Points ∼51% -16%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
7758 Points ∼50% -18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (8125 - 9421, n=3)
8939 Points ∼57% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 15969, n=576)
1864 Points ∼12% -80%
Memory (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
5243 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4306 Points ∼82% -18%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
1815 Points ∼35% -65%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4031 Points ∼77% -23%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
3907 Points ∼75% -25%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
5210 Points ∼99% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3560 - 5243, n=3)
4278 Points ∼82% -18%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 6283, n=576)
1386 Points ∼26% -74%
System (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
9143 Points ∼78%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
8344 Points ∼71% -9%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
11675 Points ∼100% +28%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
8441 Points ∼72% -8%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
8138 Points ∼70% -11%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
8572 Points ∼73% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5993 - 9143, n=3)
7859 Points ∼67% -14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 12202, n=576)
2758 Points ∼24% -70%
Overall (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
4982 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
4520 Points ∼91% -9%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
4895 Points ∼98% -2%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4595 Points ∼92% -8%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 10240
4330 Points ∼87% -13%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
4701 Points ∼94% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3847 - 4982, n=3)
4475 Points ∼90% -10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (150 - 6097, n=580)
1367 Points ∼27% -73%
Basemark ES 3.1 / Metal - offscreen Overall Score (sort by value)
OnePlus 7 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 12288
1425 Points ∼59%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 8192
1928 Points ∼80% +35%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
Apple A12 Bionic, A12 Bionic GPU, 4096
2407 Points ∼100% +69%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
1415 Points ∼59% -1%
Huawei P30 Pro
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Mali-G76 MP10, 8192
1627 Points ∼68% +14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (1075 - 1425, n=3)
1305 Points ∼54% -8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (36.3 - 2754, n=91)
741 Points ∼31% -48%

We have managed to run browser benchmarks though, and the initial results are advantage Xiaomi. The 7 Pro achieved worse results than the Mi 9 in three of the four browser benchmarks that we ran on both smartphones. The margins are small, but the Mi 9 still has the edge currently.

Subjectively, our review unit loads websites and media content quickly. Even complex HTML 5 websites appear without delay.

Jetstream 2 - Total Score
OnePlus 7 Pro (Chrome 74)
62.5 Points ∼100%
Huawei P30 Pro (Chrome 73)
60.469 Points ∼97% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (45.5 - 62.5, n=2)
54 Points ∼86% -14%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus (Samung Browser 9.0)
44.128 Points ∼71% -29%
Average of class Smartphone (10.4 - 96.7, n=24)
30.1 Points ∼48% -52%
Speedometer 2.0 - Result
Huawei P30 Pro (Chrome 73)
67.8 runs/min ∼100% +10%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
65.7 runs/min ∼97% +7%
OnePlus 7 Pro (Chome 74)
61.5 runs/min ∼91%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (46.7 - 65.7, n=3)
58 runs/min ∼86% -6%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus (Samsung Browser 9.0)
56 runs/min ∼83% -9%
Average of class Smartphone (14.6 - 123, n=24)
44.9 runs/min ∼66% -27%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
155 Points ∼100% +40%
Huawei P30 Pro (Chrome 73)
122 Points ∼79% +10%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus (Samsung Browser 9.0)
115 Points ∼74% +4%
OnePlus 7 Pro (Chrome 74)
111 Points ∼72%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
108 Points ∼70% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (94 - 114, n=4)
107 Points ∼69% -4%
Average of class Smartphone (23 - 161, n=108)
63.3 Points ∼41% -43%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
43114 Points ∼100% +74%
OnePlus 7 Pro (Chrome 74)
24730 Points ∼57%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
24534 Points ∼57% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (17011 - 24807, n=4)
22771 Points ∼53% -8%
Huawei P30 Pro (Chrome 73)
22447 Points ∼52% -9%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus (Samsung Browser 9.0)
20849 Points ∼48% -16%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition (Chrome 71)
16902 Points ∼39% -32%
Average of class Smartphone (3126 - 43280, n=635)
6016 Points ∼14% -76%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=655)
10996 ms * ∼100% -460%
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition (Chrome 71)
2348 ms * ∼21% -19%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (1873 - 2529, n=3)
2122 ms * ∼19% -8%
Huawei P30 Pro (Chrome 73)
2009.1 ms * ∼18% -2%
OnePlus 7 Pro (Chrome 74)
1965 ms * ∼18%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
1873.2 ms * ∼17% +5%
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus (Samsung Browser 9.0)
1856.6 ms * ∼17% +6%
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
603.1 ms * ∼5% +69%

* ... smaller is better

As we mentioned earlier in this review, the 7 Pro comes with either 128 or 256 GB of flash storage. The device is the first smartphone that you can purchase with UFS 3.0 flash storage, although the Galaxy Fold would have held this accolade but for its various display issues.

UFS 3.0 has been spoken about as being significantly faster than UFS 2.0, but initial AndroBench results demonstrate that that is not always the case. While the 7 Pro achieved almost twice as fast sequential read speeds than our fastest comparison device, its random and sequential write speeds only match those of the Mi 9. Worse still, our review unit has much slower random write speeds than the Mi 9 and the P30 Pro. Apps and the OS still load quickly, but UFS 3.0 does not appear to currently live up to the hype.

OnePlus 7 ProSamsung Galaxy S10 PlusXiaomi Mi 9OnePlus 6T McLaren EditionHuawei P30 ProAverage 256 GB UFS 3.0 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-28%
125%
-28%
116%
0%
-65%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
60.74 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
68.19 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
47.9 (9.5 - 87.1, n=382)
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
73 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
82.6 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
66 (8.1 - 96.5, n=382)
Random Write 4KB
24.8
22.7
-8%
165.32
567%
22.3
-10%
159.22
542%
24.8
0%
19 (0.14 - 250, n=685)
-23%
Random Read 4KB
174.1
135.16
-22%
149.36
-14%
145.1
-17%
174.36
0%
174
0%
43 (1.59 - 174, n=685)
-75%
Sequential Write 256KB
387
249.06
-36%
388.27
0%
253.3
-35%
250.82
-35%
387
0%
89 (2.99 - 388, n=685)
-77%
Sequential Read 256KB
1468
811.17
-45%
666.06
-55%
733.1
-50%
849.48
-42%
1468
0%
250 (12.1 - 1468, n=685)
-83%

Games

The Adreno 640 is already a capable gaming GPU, but OnePlus has incorporated a game mode into Oxygen OS that promises to enhance the display among other tweaks. Within gaming mode is Fnatic mode, which OnePlus developed in partnership with the eponymous eSports team. When activated, the device not only mutes all notifications but also optimises the GPU and SoC to deliver peak performance in games.

The 90 Hz display should also come into its own in games, but developers must first add support before titles can take advantage of this higher refresh rate. Arena of Valor is one game that does support higher refresh rates, but our review unit still only averages 60 FPS according to GameBench results, as does Shadow Fight 3. Asphalt 9: Legends only runs at 30 FPS though, but this appears to be a software limitation.

We should also point out that the accelerometer, associated sensors and touchscreen all worked perfectly during our gaming tests. We experienced no issues with any of these components.

Arena of Valor
Arena of Valor
Asphalt 9: Legends
Asphalt 9: Legends
Shadow Fight 3
Shadow Fight 3
010203040506070Tooltip
; Arena of Valor; min; 1.28.2.2: Ø60 (58-61)
; Arena of Valor; high HD; 1.28.2.2: Ø60 (59-61)
; Shadow Fight 3; high; 1.18.3: Ø59.8 (57-61)
; Shadow Fight 3; minimal; 1.18.3: Ø59.8 (52-61)
; Asphalt 9: Legends; High Quality; 1.5.4a: Ø29.6 (27-31)
; Asphalt 9: Legends; Standard / low; 1.5.4a: Ø30 (29-31)

Emissions

Temperature

GFXBench battery test
GFXBench battery test

The 7 Pro remains pleasantly cool at idle, although the front of the device occasionally reaches a maximum of 30.9 °C. However, surface temperatures reach uncomfortably hot levels under load. We measured our review unit hitting 47 °C on some parts of its display, which is almost dangerously hot.

Our review unit performed well under sustained load, and only thermal throttled minimally. This is partly thanks to the copper heatpipe that OnePlus has included, which we have seen other OEMs include in their recent flagships like Samsung and its Galaxy S10 Plus or gaming phones like the Razer Phone 2. In practical terms, framerates should remain more or less consistent even during prolonged gaming sessions.

Max. Load
 47 °C
117 F
45.2 °C
113 F
40.6 °C
105 F
 
 46 °C
115 F
44.7 °C
112 F
41.4 °C
107 F
 
 45.2 °C
113 F
43.8 °C
111 F
40 °C
104 F
 
Maximum: 47 °C = 117 F
Average: 43.8 °C = 111 F
35.4 °C
96 F
38.9 °C
102 F
42.9 °C
109 F
36.6 °C
98 F
39.5 °C
103 F
42.1 °C
108 F
37.4 °C
99 F
40 °C
104 F
40.9 °C
106 F
Maximum: 42.9 °C = 109 F
Average: 39.3 °C = 103 F
Power Supply (max.)  43 °C = 109 F | Room Temperature 21.5 °C = 71 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 43.8 °C / 111 F, compared to the average of 33 °C / 91 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(-) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 47 °C / 117 F, compared to the average of 35.5 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(±) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 42.9 °C / 109 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 30.4 °C / 87 F, compared to the device average of 33 °C / 91 F.
Heatmap of the front of the device under load
Heatmap of the front of the device under load
Heatmap of the back of the device under load
Heatmap of the back of the device under load

Speakers

Pink Noise speaker test
Pink Noise speaker test

Finally, OnePlus has developed a device with stereo speakers. The 7 Pro uses its earpiece and bottom speaker to create a stereo effect. The company claims to have positioned the main speaker to the right of the Type-C port to minimise the possibility of it being obscured by your palm. Apparently, most people tilt their devices to the left when switching to landscape mode, which would put the speaker at the top edge of the 7 Pro, rather than on the bottom edge if it were to the left of the Type-C port.

Subjectively, the speakers sound excellent. The ones in our review unit reached a maximum of 91 dB(A) during our tests, which is punishingly loud. The earpiece sounds much thinner than the dedicated speaker though, which delivers a surprising amount of bass. Overall, they produce a well-balanced and warm sound that is pleasing to our ears.

We would still recommend connecting external speakers or headphones where possible though, as they will provide a better listening experience than the speakers can. You can connect audio peripherals either via Bluetooth or USB Type-C. We had no issues with either during our tests.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2047.650.12544.645.13140.239.74037.739.95038.440.86331.933.88028.73010029.137.41252839.616026.349.920025.858.625024.463.73152465.840023.864.450022.568.963022.569.480021.773.5100021.881.8125021.179.8160022.381.3200022.180.2250021.181.4315020.980.7400020.680.6500020.878.9630020.770.6800020.967.7100002168.11250020.969.7160002163.8SPL75.633.790.9N34.92.183.1median 21.8median 69.4Delta29.94028.833.542.139.542.135.133.331.630.824.625.527.128.1262619.828.118.542.618.853.817.355.716.258.815.260.915.260.414.460.315.263.614.466.613.968.713.77213.672.313.573.113.472.313.471.113.469.913.36813.467.113.466.813.556.513.539.462.626.281.915.60.850.5median 13.9median 63.61.58hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseOnePlus 7 ProOnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
OnePlus 7 Pro audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (90.9 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 16.9% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 6.9% higher than median
(+) | mids are linear (6.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 6.9% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (4.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (19.2% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 10% of all tested devices in this class were better, 5% similar, 85% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 37% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 56% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (81.9 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 19.5% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (11.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.3% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (3.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 6.1% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (2% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (19.7% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 12% of all tested devices in this class were better, 6% similar, 81% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 40% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 53% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The 7 Pro has comparatively high power consumption. Our review unit consumes between 0.9 W and 2.9 W at idle, although it averages 1.8 W. Power consumption rises to a maximum of 8.2 W under load, which is 1.1 W lower than what the Mi 9 achieved in our tests. However, the 7 Pro averages 1.79 W more than the Xiaomi under load. In short, there are more frugal flagships than the 7 Pro.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0 / 0.1 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.9 / 1.8 / 2.9 Watt
Load midlight 5.5 / 8.2 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
OnePlus 7 Pro
4000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
4100 mAh
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3174 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9
3300 mAh
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
3700 mAh
Huawei P30 Pro
4200 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
8%
17%
26%
20%
7%
19%
18%
Idle Minimum *
0.9
0.73
19%
1
-11%
0.67
26%
0.6
33%
0.68
24%
0.767 (0.67 - 0.9, n=3)
15%
0.883 (0.2 - 3.4, n=714)
2%
Idle Average *
1.8
1.53
15%
1.4
22%
1.26
30%
1.3
28%
2.6
-44%
1.357 (1.01 - 1.8, n=3)
25%
1.735 (0.6 - 6.2, n=713)
4%
Idle Maximum *
2.9
2.07
29%
1.7
41%
1.29
56%
2.1
28%
2.77
4%
1.773 (1.13 - 2.9, n=3)
39%
2.02 (0.74 - 6.6, n=714)
30%
Load Average *
5.5
6.03
-10%
4.6
16%
3.71
33%
4.5
18%
3.74
32%
4.28 (3.64 - 5.5, n=3)
22%
4.06 (0.8 - 10.8, n=708)
26%
Load Maximum *
8.2
9.18
-12%
6.7
18%
9.3
-13%
8.6
-5%
6.82
17%
8.79 (8.2 - 9.3, n=3)
-7%
5.85 (1.2 - 14.2, n=708)
29%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The 7 Pro has a 4,000 mAh battery, which is 300 mAh larger than the one in the 6T McLaren Edition. However, its higher refresh rate and resolution display take its toll on battery life. Our review unit still lasted a respectable 12:48 hours in our practical Wi-Fi battery life test, but that is almost 3 hours short of the runtime that the 6T McLaren Edition achieved.

The P30 Pro is the current king of battery, but that is mainly because of its excellent runtimes under sustained load and when playing a looped H.264 video. The P30 Pro probably has about an hour longer battery life than the 7 Pro in daily use, but the latter should still last a full day of heavy use between charges. We reckon that most people could get two days use before needing to recharge too, and perhaps even longer if you set the display to 60 Hz rather than 90 Hz.

When you eventually need to recharge the 7 Pro, its bundled charger will not keep you waiting long. The 30 W Warp Charge recharges our review unit fully in just over an hour, but you can get a few hours battery life if you charge the device for only about 10 minutes.

Warp Charge, unlike Qualcomm Quick Charge, does not heat the device up. The technology still produces waste heat, but most of it is emitted from the charger instead. The 7 Pro does not support wireless charging though, which may disappoint some people.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
29h 05min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
12h 48min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
13h 22min
Load (maximum brightness)
3h 56min
OnePlus 7 Pro
4000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S10 Plus
4100 mAh
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3174 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9
3300 mAh
OnePlus 6T McLaren Edition
3700 mAh
Huawei P30 Pro
4200 mAh
Battery Runtime
-14%
-9%
-7%
18%
29%
Reader / Idle
1745
1560
-11%
1305
-25%
1650
-5%
1966
13%
H.264
802
921
15%
801
0%
1008
26%
1193
49%
WiFi v1.3
768
483
-37%
742
-3%
546
-29%
905
18%
838
9%
Load
236
187
-21%
223
-6%
194
-18%
344
46%

Pros

+ notchless display
+ premium design
+ abundant LTE coverage
+ 3x optical zoom
+ fast internal storage
+ good battery life
+ ultra-fast charging

Cons

- curved display is easy to accidentally touch
- no headphone jack
- heavy
- no IP certification
- no wireless charging
- comparatively slow Wi-Fi

Verdict

The OnePlus 7 Pro smartphone review. Test device courtesy of OnePlus Germany.
The OnePlus 7 Pro smartphone review. Test device courtesy of OnePlus Germany.

The OnePlus 7 Pro is an impressive first attempt by the Chinese manufacturer at creating a true flagship smartphone. The device has fast storage, decent battery life, ridiculously quick charging, a premium design, an improved fingerprint scanner, and a notchless display. Oh, and it has a 90 Hz display too. That is forgetting the motorised pop-up front-facing camera, which is sure to turn heads. The stereo speakers impressed us too, with their full-bodied and warm sound.

The 7 Pro may be the priciest OnePlus device to date, but it still significantly undercuts the flagship competition regardless of which version you buy. It even outperforms other flagships in some areas with its short charging times, its high screen-to-body ratio and its 90 Hz display.

We do have some criticisms. The curved display is more style over substance, while it is a hefty and comparatively long smartphone. Moreover, the 7 Pro also runs comparatively hot, to the point where it could be difficult for some people to hold the device during prolonged gaming sessions. We wish that OnePlus would IP certify its devices too and add wireless charging, as these are easy things upon which to criticise the 7 Pro when compared to other flagships. Other devices also offer faster Wi-Fi, and OnePlus’ justification of removing the headphone jack still seems flimsy at best.

The OnePlus 7 Pro is an impressive flagship with several features that make it stand out from its contemporaries.

The inclusion of a heat pipe helps prevent the SoC from throttling, but it does not allow the Snapdragon 855 to perform any better than it does in the Xiaomi Mi 9. The triple rear-facing cameras generally take excellent photos too, although less said about the default camera app’s night mode the better. The automatic mode still takes good photos in low-light conditions anyway, so it is not all bad news.

In short, the 7 Pro suffers from a few weaknesses, but none should be deal breakers for people. Previous OnePlus smartphones have not dropped in price a few months after being released like Huawei and Samsung devices have. Hence, the 7 Pro could end up being worse value for money by the end of the year compared to the likes of the Galaxy S10+ or P30 Pro than it is currently. This is just something worth keeping in mind though and should not dissuade you against buying the 7 Pro, which is an excellent flagship smartphone.

Pricecompare

Read all 4 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > OnePlus 7 Pro Smartphone Review
Florian Schmitt, 2019-05-16 (Update: 2019-05-21)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.