Notebookcheck

Wiko View 2 Go Smartphone Review

Florian Schmitt, 👁 Florian Schmitt, Andrea Grüblinger (translated by Alex Alderson), 01/18/2019

Sparse. Who needs a fingerprint scanner? The Wiko View 2 Go relies on facial recognition and traditional security methods instead. Read on to find out what other compromises Wiko has made to cut costs and how the View 2 Go stands up to other budget smartphones.

Wiko View 2 Go

The Wiko View 2 Go follows in the wake of the View 2 Plus, which we reviewed earlier this week. The View 2 Go is another affordable smartphone by the French manufacturer that should offer enough for those who do not require much from their smartphones. Wiko currently sells the View 2 Go for 159 Euros (~$181) and has equipped the device with a large screen that has an equally large notch, an old Qualcomm SoC, 3 GB RAM and 32 GB of eMMC flash storage. The View 2 Plus also comes in a choice of stylish colours, with a single rear-facing camera and a 4,000 mAh battery.

A fingerprint sensor is the only notable absence, but Wiko markets the View 2 Go as having “Face Unlock” instead, although we doubt that this is as secure as Apple’s FaceID. We have chosen to compare the View 2 Go against the Huawei Y7 2018, the Honor 7A, the Moto G6 Play, and the test unit's sibling, the Wiko View 2 Plus.

Wiko View 2 Go (View Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
3072 MB 
Display
5.93 inch 19:9, 1512 x 720 pixel 282 PPI, capacitive touchscreen, IPS, glossy: yes
Storage
32 GB eMMC Flash, 32 GB 
, 32 GB eMMC, 25 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm headphone jack, Card Reader: up to 128 GB microSD cards, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, Compass, Gyroscope, Proximity sensor
Networking
802.11 b/g/n (b/g/n), Bluetooth 4.1, 2G: 850, 900, 1,800, 1,900. 3G: B1, B2, B5, B8. 4G: B1, B3, B7, B8, B20., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.5 x 153.6 x 73.1 ( = 0.33 x 6.05 x 2.88 in)
Operating System
Android 8.1 Oreo
Camera
Primary Camera: 12 MPix , f/2.0, dual-pixel phase detection autofocus (PDAF), LED Flash, Videos at up to 1080p/30 FPS
Secondary Camera: 5 MPix , f/2.0
Additional features
Speakers: Single speaker on the back of the device, Keyboard: virtual keyboard, Charger, USB cable, Headphones, SIM tool, 25, 24 Months Warranty, FM radio, notification LED, SAR values: Head - 0.287 W/kg, Body - 1.499 W/kg. LTE Cat 6 – 300 Mbps download & 50 Mbps upload speeds, fanless
Weight
160 g ( = 5.64 oz / 0.35 pounds), Power Supply: 52 g ( = 1.83 oz / 0.11 pounds)
Price
159 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

Supernova
Supernova
Cherry red
Cherry red
Deep Bleen
Deep Bleen
Anthracite
Anthracite

Wiko sells the View 2 Go in four colours, which the company markets as “Anthracite”, “Cherry red”, “Deep Bleen” and “Supernova”. Our test device is the “Deep Bleen” version, which is a mixture of blue, green and grey to our eyes. Before you go searching for other examples of “Bleen”, it is just a contraction of "blue" and "green". The “Supernova” variant is the most visually exciting colour in our opinion, but it does not shimmer in the light like the Supernova version of the View 2 Plus.

Our test device is well-built, but we did notice a slight indent next to the rear-facing camera, which is indicative of the device’s weak back case. Moreover, we can get the screen to deform by applying pressure to the case. Additionally, while our test device looks lovely, the back case is prone to picking up fingerprints because of its glossy finish, which is unfortunate.

Size Comparison

158.3 mm / 6.23 inch 76.7 mm / 3.02 inch 7.8 mm / 0.3071 inch 155 g0.3417 lbs154.4 mm / 6.08 inch 72.2 mm / 2.84 inch 9 mm / 0.3543 inch 175 g0.3858 lbs153.6 mm / 6.05 inch 73.1 mm / 2.88 inch 8.5 mm / 0.3346 inch 160 g0.3527 lbs153.4 mm / 6.04 inch 73.2 mm / 2.88 inch 8.6 mm / 0.3386 inch 166 g0.366 lbs152.4 mm / 6 inch 73 mm / 2.87 inch 7.8 mm / 0.3071 inch 150 g0.3307 lbs

Connectivity

Wiko sells the View 2 Go with either 16 GB or 32 GB of eMMC flash storage, of which our test device is equipped with the latter. The device supports microSD-card expansion, for which it has a dedicated card slot, and it has two nano SIMs just like the View 2 Plus. In short, the View 2 Go is well-equipped for a device at this price.

There is also an FM radio, should you like to listen to the radio on your smartphone. Wiko has included a notification LED too.

Software

The View 2 Go ships with Android 8.1 Oreo. The French manufacturer had only released August 2018 Android security patches for our test device at the time of testing though, which were by then over four months old. We had the same experience with the View 2 Plus too, so we would be surprised if Wiko updates either device to Android 9 Pie or beyond.

Wiko has left Android 8.1 Oreo untouched, which is pleasing to see and not always the case with budget devices. Our test device has no preinstalled third-party apps either, which keeps the device’s usable storage to a maximum.

Communication & GPS

The View 2 Go supports all major GSM and 3G frequencies, but it has limited LTE coverage with support for only five LTE bands. You should have no problem with connecting to an LTE network in Central Europe, but you will have to do without an LTE connection if you live or regularly travel elsewhere.

The device supports LTE Cat. 6 for up to 300 Mb/s download and 50 Mb/s upload speeds, the former of which is faster than what the View 2 Plus can theoretically achieve. We experienced no reception issues during our tests in a built-up area too.

The View 2 Go supports most modern Wi-Fi standards up to IEEE 802.11n and can connect to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi networks. Wiko appears to have equipped the View 2 Go and the View 2 Plus with the same Wi-Fi module as both devices performed equally well in our iperf3 Client Wi-Fi tests with our Linksys EA8500 reference router. The Honor 7A and the Moto G6 Play achieved slightly slower transfer speeds than our test device, but all devices in our comparison table are slower than the class average.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=372)
220 MBit/s ∼100% +302%
Huawei Y7 2018
Adreno 505, 430, 16 GB eMMC Flash
55 MBit/s ∼25% +1%
Wiko View 2 Go
Adreno 505, 430, 32 GB eMMC Flash
54.7 (min: 53, max: 57) MBit/s ∼25%
Wiko View 2 Plus
Adreno 506, 450, 64 GB eMMC Flash
52 (min: 26, max: 54) MBit/s ∼24% -5%
Honor 7A
Adreno 505, 430, 16 GB eMMC Flash
45 MBit/s ∼20% -18%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
Adreno 505, 430, 32 GB eMMC Flash
44.7 MBit/s ∼20% -18%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=372)
211 MBit/s ∼100% +298%
Huawei Y7 2018
Adreno 505, 430, 16 GB eMMC Flash
56.9 MBit/s ∼27% +7%
Wiko View 2 Plus
Adreno 506, 450, 64 GB eMMC Flash
53.3 (min: 42, max: 60) MBit/s ∼25% +1%
Wiko View 2 Go
Adreno 505, 430, 32 GB eMMC Flash
53 (min: 36, max: 58) MBit/s ∼25%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
Adreno 505, 430, 32 GB eMMC Flash
46.8 MBit/s ∼22% -12%
Honor 7A
Adreno 505, 430, 16 GB eMMC Flash
46.7 MBit/s ∼22% -12%
0102030405060Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø54.6 (53-57)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø53.2 (36-58)
GPS Test: Indoors
GPS Test: Indoors
GPS Test: Outdoors
GPS Test: Outdoors

The View 2 Go uses GPS and A-GPS for location services. Our test device cannot locate us indoors, but it found a satellite fix with up to six metres accuracy when we tested it outside.

We also took the device on a bike ride to compare its location accuracy against our reference navigation system, the Garmin Edge 520. Our test device performed well but deviated by 210 metres over the 5.44 km that our Garmin recorded us having cycled. The View 2 Go is accurate enough for a device in its price range, but it regularly took shortcuts to keep up with us as demonstrated by the screenshots below. Overall, the View 2 Go is accurate enough for general navigation tasks, but we would recommend using a device with a better GPS module if you require precise location data.

GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 – Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 – Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 – Cycling through woods
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 – Cycling through woods
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 – Bridge
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 – Bridge
GPS Test: Wiko View 2 Go – Overview
GPS Test: Wiko View 2 Go – Overview
GPS Test: Wiko View 2 Go – Cycling through woods
GPS Test: Wiko View 2 Go – Cycling through woods
GPS Test: Wiko View 2 Go – Bridge
GPS Test: Wiko View 2 Go – Bridge

Telephone Functions & Call Quality

The phone app looks and functions just like the Google app. There is also a dark mode, which is a welcome addition.

The View 2 Go has decent call quality, with our call partner sounding clear and intelligible throughout our tests. The microphone did a good job at suppressing background noise too, but it distorted our voice when we spoke loudly. Moreover, our call partner’s voice sounded rather thin over the loudspeaker, and the microphone struggled to capture our voice. The microphone handles quieter voices better, but our voice then sounded overly quiet to our call partner.

Cameras

Photo taken with the front-facing camera
Photo taken with the front-facing camera

The View 2 Go has no second rear-facing camera like the View 2 Plus does, but the bokeh-effect pictures that it helped create were so poor that we do not miss its absence. The device has a 12 MP rear-facing camera like its sibling too, which produces decent-looking pictures, although these contain hardly any detail. Moreover, the camera struggles to capture areas of homogenous colour accurately, which makes the skies in photos look artificial. The camera performs reasonably well in low-light conditions too, but it cannot compete with expensive smartphones as demonstrated by our comparison photos below.

The View 2 Go can record videos in up to 1080p at 30 FPS. Videos generally look sharp, while the image quality is passable. The rear-facing sensor adjusts exposure levels quickly in changing lighting conditions too, and the microphone records audio cleanly. 

Wiko has equipped the View 2 Go with a 5 MP front-facing camera, which generally takes washed-out looking photos with passable colour reproduction. In short, the front-facing camera is good enough for occasional selfies but do not set your expectations too high.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images

We also subjected the View 2 Go to further camera tests under controlled lighting conditions. Our test device generally reproduced colours too darkly compared to the ColorChecker Passport reference colour, especially white, grey and black tones. Our test chart is captured sharply at the centre of the image and colours look vivid. However, contrast levels noticeably drop off in three of the four corners of the chart.

A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail
Our test chart in detail
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

Accessories & Warranty

The View 2 Go comes with a charger, a USB cable, a SIM tool, and a pair of headphones. The headphones that came with our test unit emit a rather high-pitched sound when connected to the device though, which is disappointing. Wiko states on its website that it sells a Smart Folio cover and a hardcover for the View 2 Go like it does with the View 2 Plus, but they were not available to purchase at the time of writing either from Wiko or from third-party sellers.

The View 2 Go comes with a 24-month manufacturer’s warranty. Please see our Guarantees, Return policies and Warranties article for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

The touchscreen on our test device worked well throughout testing, although smaller UI scaling would have helped the display feel more precise.

Wiko has not included a fingerprint sensor on the View 2 Go and markets its “Face Unlock” as being an alternative to inputting pin codes or passwords. Our test unit uses its front-facing camera for facial authentication, which has been an option on most Android smartphones for a few years now. The technology lacks the security of Apple’s FaceID or Huawei’s 3D facial authentication system and can be easily spoofed with a picture. In practical terms, you will need to use PIN codes or passwords for banking apps and password managers as the View 2 Go’s “Face Unlock” is not a method of biometric authentication.

The View 2 Go uses the standard three onscreen menu buttons for navigating around the OS. The device has two hardware buttons too, which are both located on the right-hand side of its frame. The power button and volume rocker both have clear pressure points and feel comparatively premium given how cheap the device is.

Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The View 2 Go has a 5.93-inch IPS display that operates natively at 1512x720. The display is dominated by a significant notch and appears to be the same panel that Wiko used in the View 2 Plus. Our test device achieved a slightly lower average maximum brightness than its sibling, but this is within manufacturer tolerances. Other values are broadly the same too, with the View 2 Go also replicating the lacklustre brightness uniformity of the View 2 Plus.

507
cd/m²
457
cd/m²
425
cd/m²
489
cd/m²
465
cd/m²
428
cd/m²
488
cd/m²
468
cd/m²
434
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 507 cd/m² Average: 462.3 cd/m² Minimum: 4.15 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 84 %
Center on Battery: 465 cd/m²
Contrast: 1453:1 (Black: 0.32 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 4.76 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.1
ΔE Greyscale 4.6 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
92.1% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.674
Wiko View 2 Go
IPS, 1512x720, 5.93
Wiko View 2 Plus
IPS, 1512x720, 5.93
Huawei Y7 2018
IPS, 1440x720, 5.99
Honor 7A
IPS, 1440x720, 5.7
Motorola Moto G6 Play
IPS, 1440x720, 5.7
Screen
-3%
-7%
-2%
7%
Brightness middle
465
503
8%
393
-15%
417
-10%
614
32%
Brightness
462
493
7%
365
-21%
395
-15%
593
28%
Brightness Distribution
84
84
0%
85
1%
88
5%
90
7%
Black Level *
0.32
0.3
6%
0.29
9%
0.18
44%
0.29
9%
Contrast
1453
1677
15%
1355
-7%
2317
59%
2117
46%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
4.76
5.71
-20%
5.28
-11%
6.46
-36%
5.9
-24%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
7.71
9.04
-17%
9
-17%
10.72
-39%
9.6
-25%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
4.6
5.8
-26%
4.2
9%
5.8
-26%
5.5
-20%
Gamma
2.674 82%
2.775 79%
2.6 85%
2.423 91%
2.32 95%
CCT
6806 96%
7279 89%
7086 92%
7839 83%
7822 83%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 9259 Hz ≤ 10 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 9259 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 10 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 9259 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9689 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Our test unit has a 0.32 cd/m² black value, which is marginally higher than the black value that the View 2 Plus achieved in the same tests. The lower maximum brightness and high black value results in a 15% lower contrast ratio, which puts the View 2 Go second bottom of our comparison table in this regard.

We also subjected our test device to further tests with CalMAN analysis software, which revealed a slight tint in grey tones. However, this is much milder than in other comparable smartphones and is close to the ideal DeltaE value of 3. In short, the screen in our test unit has acceptable colour accuracy for its price.

CalMAN: Colour Accuracy
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy
CalMAN: Colour Space
CalMAN: Colour Space
CalMAN: Grayscale
CalMAN: Grayscale
CalMAN: Colour saturation
CalMAN: Colour saturation

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
36 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 19 ms rise
↘ 17 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 91 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (25.4 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
68 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 33 ms rise
↘ 35 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 97 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (40.6 ms).

The View 2 Go is usable outdoors thanks to its bright display. The screen will catch reflections in direct sunlight, but this should not reduce readability.

Our test unit has good viewing angles too, although there are noticeable minor brightness shifts at acute viewing angles. We did not notice any colour or image distortions though, so the View 2 Go should be readable from almost any angle in daily use.

Using the Wiko View 2 Go outdoors
Using the Wiko View 2 Go outdoors
Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance

The View 2 Go is powered by a Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 SoC, which is now almost three years old. Our test unit performs on par with most of our comparison devices in benchmarks, but that is because they are equipped with the same SoC. However, the Snapdragon 450 SoC, which powers the View 2 Plus, is considerably faster as demonstrated in our benchmark results below.

Our test unit ran smoothly during testing with no noticeable lagging or stutters. The SoC will struggle with more sophisticated apps though.

Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
2461 Points ∼53%
Wiko View 2 Plus
3374 Points ∼73% +37%
Huawei Y7 2018
2133 Points ∼46% -13%
Honor 7A
2127 Points ∼46% -14%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
2224 Points ∼48% -10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (1731 - 2461, n=12)
2090 Points ∼45% -15%
Average of class Smartphone (870 - 21070, n=255)
4638 Points ∼100% +88%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
2542 Points ∼57%
Wiko View 2 Plus
4010 Points ∼90% +58%
Huawei Y7 2018
2889 Points ∼65% +14%
Honor 7A
2820 Points ∼63% +11%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
2322 Points ∼52% -9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (2222 - 2889, n=15)
2549 Points ∼57% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (1174 - 11598, n=308)
4450 Points ∼100% +75%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
674 Points ∼51%
Wiko View 2 Plus
787 Points ∼60% +17%
Huawei Y7 2018
676 Points ∼52% 0%
Honor 7A
675 Points ∼52% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
643 Points ∼49% -5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (619 - 681, n=15)
656 Points ∼50% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (437 - 4824, n=309)
1309 Points ∼100% +94%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
3596 Points ∼75%
Wiko View 2 Plus
4611 Points ∼96% +28%
Huawei Y7 2018
3874 Points ∼80% +8%
Honor 7A
3892 Points ∼81% +8%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
3624 Points ∼75% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (3408 - 3892, n=15)
3673 Points ∼76% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (2828 - 9868, n=318)
4821 Points ∼100% +34%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
4323 Points ∼82%
Wiko View 2 Plus
5252 Points ∼100% +21%
Huawei Y7 2018
4918 Points ∼94% +14%
Honor 7A
5109 Points ∼97% +18%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
4590 Points ∼87% +6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (3347 - 5290, n=17)
4593 Points ∼87% +6%
Average of class Smartphone (2695 - 13531, n=487)
5247 Points ∼100% +21%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
1167 Points ∼64%
Wiko View 2 Plus
1813 Points ∼100% +55%
Huawei Y7 2018
1331 Points ∼73% +14%
Honor 7A
1301 Points ∼72% +11%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
1231 Points ∼68% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (1064 - 1338, n=17)
1199 Points ∼66% +3%
Average of class Smartphone (573 - 4439, n=333)
1781 Points ∼98% +53%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
305 Points ∼20%
Wiko View 2 Plus
415 Points ∼27% +36%
Huawei Y7 2018
306 Points ∼20% 0%
Honor 7A
304 Points ∼20% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
305 Points ∼20% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (277 - 306, n=17)
294 Points ∼19% -4%
Average of class Smartphone (76 - 8206, n=333)
1522 Points ∼100% +399%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
365 Points ∼26%
Wiko View 2 Plus
501 Points ∼35% +37%
Huawei Y7 2018
369 Points ∼26% +1%
Honor 7A
366 Points ∼26% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
366 Points ∼26% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (333 - 369, n=17)
353 Points ∼25% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (94 - 5913, n=336)
1418 Points ∼100% +288%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
1184 Points ∼66%
Wiko View 2 Plus
1794 Points ∼100% +52%
Huawei Y7 2018
1306 Points ∼73% +10%
Honor 7A
1285 Points ∼72% +9%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
1213 Points ∼68% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (1072 - 1333, n=17)
1198 Points ∼67% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (375 - 4493, n=348)
1758 Points ∼98% +48%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
529 Points ∼25%
Wiko View 2 Plus
718 Points ∼34% +36%
Huawei Y7 2018
531 Points ∼25% 0%
Honor 7A
530 Points ∼25% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
528 Points ∼25% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (423 - 532, n=17)
505 Points ∼24% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (131 - 14951, n=348)
2099 Points ∼100% +297%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
603 Points ∼34%
Wiko View 2 Plus
828 Points ∼46% +37%
Huawei Y7 2018
612 Points ∼34% +1%
Honor 7A
610 Points ∼34% +1%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
604 Points ∼34% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (542 - 612, n=17)
582 Points ∼33% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (159 - 7856, n=349)
1783 Points ∼100% +196%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
1103 Points ∼61%
Wiko View 2 Plus
1813 Points ∼100% +64%
Huawei Y7 2018
1258 Points ∼69% +14%
Honor 7A
1232 Points ∼68% +12%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
1259 Points ∼69% +14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (1034 - 1360, n=17)
1181 Points ∼65% +7%
Average of class Smartphone (486 - 4216, n=409)
1712 Points ∼94% +55%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
257 Points ∼21%
Wiko View 2 Plus
367 Points ∼29% +43%
Huawei Y7 2018
255 Points ∼20% -1%
Honor 7A
254 Points ∼20% -1%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
254 Points ∼20% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (234 - 271, n=17)
250 Points ∼20% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (65 - 6355, n=411)
1251 Points ∼100% +387%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
310 Points ∼26%
Wiko View 2 Plus
446 Points ∼37% +44%
Huawei Y7 2018
310 Points ∼26% 0%
Honor 7A
308 Points ∼26% -1%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
309 Points ∼26% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (284 - 330, n=17)
303 Points ∼25% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (80 - 5509, n=419)
1198 Points ∼100% +286%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
1136 Points ∼63%
Wiko View 2 Plus
1803 Points ∼100% +59%
Huawei Y7 2018
1280 Points ∼71% +13%
Honor 7A
1259 Points ∼70% +11%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
1254 Points ∼70% +10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (1002 - 1339, n=17)
1185 Points ∼66% +4%
Average of class Smartphone (512 - 4215, n=442)
1617 Points ∼90% +42%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
523 Points ∼31%
Wiko View 2 Plus
706 Points ∼41% +35%
Huawei Y7 2018
524 Points ∼31% 0%
Honor 7A
535 Points ∼31% +2%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
522 Points ∼31% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (483 - 535, n=17)
509 Points ∼30% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (43 - 9963, n=442)
1703 Points ∼100% +226%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
594 Points ∼41%
Wiko View 2 Plus
816 Points ∼56% +37%
Huawei Y7 2018
603 Points ∼41% +2%
Honor 7A
613 Points ∼42% +3%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
600 Points ∼41% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (554 - 613, n=17)
582 Points ∼40% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (55 - 7166, n=450)
1461 Points ∼100% +146%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
8971 Points ∼65%
Wiko View 2 Plus
13850 Points ∼100% +54%
Huawei Y7 2018
9153 Points ∼66% +2%
Honor 7A
9249 Points ∼67% +3%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
9162 Points ∼66% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (8253 - 10364, n=16)
9096 Points ∼66% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (8253 - 37475, n=603)
13331 Points ∼96% +49%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
9686 Points ∼51%
Wiko View 2 Plus
12497 Points ∼65% +29%
Huawei Y7 2018
9713 Points ∼51% 0%
Honor 7A
9684 Points ∼51% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
9713 Points ∼51% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (9342 - 10271, n=16)
9707 Points ∼51% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (3700 - 162695, n=603)
19081 Points ∼100% +97%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
9517 Points ∼59%
Wiko View 2 Plus
12774 Points ∼80% +34%
Huawei Y7 2018
9583 Points ∼60% +1%
Honor 7A
9584 Points ∼60% +1%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
9585 Points ∼60% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (9213 - 9977, n=17)
9560 Points ∼60% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (4339 - 77599, n=604)
15996 Points ∼100% +68%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
16 fps ∼48%
Wiko View 2 Plus
22 fps ∼66% +38%
Huawei Y7 2018
16 fps ∼48% 0%
Honor 7A
16 fps ∼48% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
16 fps ∼48% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (15 - 18, n=17)
16.3 fps ∼49% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (4.4 - 251, n=627)
33.2 fps ∼100% +108%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
25 fps ∼76%
Wiko View 2 Plus
33 fps ∼100% +32%
Huawei Y7 2018
27 fps ∼82% +8%
Honor 7A
27 fps ∼82% +8%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
26 fps ∼79% +4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (14 - 27, n=17)
20.6 fps ∼62% -18%
Average of class Smartphone (11 - 120, n=630)
26.1 fps ∼79% +4%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
7.1 fps ∼39%
Wiko View 2 Plus
9.4 fps ∼52% +32%
Huawei Y7 2018
7.1 fps ∼39% 0%
Honor 7A
7.1 fps ∼39% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
7.1 fps ∼39% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (6.7 - 7.7, n=17)
7.14 fps ∼39% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (2.7 - 132, n=545)
18.1 fps ∼100% +155%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
13 fps ∼76%
Wiko View 2 Plus
17 fps ∼100% +31%
Huawei Y7 2018
14 fps ∼82% +8%
Honor 7A
14 fps ∼82% +8%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
14 fps ∼82% +8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (6.6 - 15, n=17)
10.8 fps ∼64% -17%
Average of class Smartphone (6.2 - 115, n=550)
16.9 fps ∼99% +30%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
2.5 fps ∼16%
Wiko View 2 Plus
6.1 fps ∼40% +144%
Huawei Y7 2018
4.6 fps ∼30% +84%
Honor 7A
4.6 fps ∼30% +84%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
4.6 fps ∼30% +84%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (2.2 - 4.9, n=17)
4.19 fps ∼28% +68%
Average of class Smartphone (1.3 - 88, n=407)
15.2 fps ∼100% +508%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
9.7 fps ∼67%
Wiko View 2 Plus
12 fps ∼83% +24%
Huawei Y7 2018
10 fps ∼69% +3%
Honor 7A
10 fps ∼69% +3%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
10 fps ∼69% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (4.3 - 11, n=17)
7.58 fps ∼52% -22%
Average of class Smartphone (3.8 - 110, n=410)
14.5 fps ∼100% +49%
GFXBench
High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
2.8 fps ∼30%
Wiko View 2 Plus
3.6 fps ∼39% +29%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (1.4 - 2.8, n=2)
2.1 fps ∼23% -25%
Average of class Smartphone (1.4 - 59, n=111)
9.2 fps ∼100% +229%
2560x1440 High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
0.88 fps ∼14%
Wiko View 2 Plus
1.2 fps ∼19% +36%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (0.88 - 0.88, n=2)
0.88 fps ∼14% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (0.4 - 31, n=111)
6.37 fps ∼100% +624%
Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
4.7 fps ∼35%
Wiko View 2 Plus
6 fps ∼44% +28%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (2.5 - 4.7, n=2)
3.6 fps ∼27% -23%
Average of class Smartphone (2.5 - 59, n=112)
13.5 fps ∼100% +187%
1920x1080 Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
2.6 fps ∼17%
Wiko View 2 Plus
3.4 fps ∼23% +31%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (2.6 - 2.6, n=2)
2.6 fps ∼17% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (0.6 - 63, n=111)
15.1 fps ∼100% +481%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
2.6 fps ∼25%
Wiko View 2 Plus
3.5 fps ∼34% +35%
Huawei Y7 2018
2.6 fps ∼25% 0%
Honor 7A
2.6 fps ∼25% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
2.6 fps ∼25% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (2.4 - 2.7, n=17)
2.55 fps ∼25% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (2.6 - 54, n=336)
10.3 fps ∼100% +296%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
5 fps ∼54%
Wiko View 2 Plus
6.6 fps ∼71% +32%
Huawei Y7 2018
5.4 fps ∼58% +8%
Honor 7A
5.4 fps ∼58% +8%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
5.3 fps ∼57% +6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (2.4 - 5.9, n=17)
4.05 fps ∼44% -19%
Average of class Smartphone (0.6 - 58, n=340)
9.28 fps ∼100% +86%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
56793 Points ∼45%
Wiko View 2 Plus
71638 Points ∼57% +26%
Huawei Y7 2018
59421 Points ∼48% +5%
Honor 7A
59990 Points ∼48% +6%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
58511 Points ∼47% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (44992 - 59990, n=10)
56525 Points ∼45% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (41483 - 374820, n=230)
125088 Points ∼100% +120%
AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
46543 Points ∼57%
Wiko View 2 Plus
59354 Points ∼72% +28%
Huawei Y7 2018
45687 Points ∼56% -2%
Honor 7A
46126 Points ∼56% -1%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
46267 Points ∼56% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (42798 - 47066, n=16)
45027 Points ∼55% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (23275 - 274007, n=442)
82117 Points ∼100% +76%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
673 Points ∼78%
Wiko View 2 Plus
738 Points ∼85% +10%
Huawei Y7 2018
673 Points ∼78% 0%
Honor 7A
705 Points ∼81% +5%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
866 Points ∼100% +29%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (10 - 866, n=16)
488 Points ∼56% -27%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1731, n=560)
722 Points ∼83% +7%
Graphics (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
741 Points ∼40%
Wiko View 2 Plus
974 Points ∼53% +31%
Huawei Y7 2018
739 Points ∼40% 0%
Honor 7A
739 Points ∼40% 0%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
737 Points ∼40% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (715 - 788, n=16)
738 Points ∼40% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 15969, n=560)
1846 Points ∼100% +149%
Memory (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
884 Points ∼65%
Wiko View 2 Plus
1084 Points ∼80% +23%
Huawei Y7 2018
1144 Points ∼84% +29%
Honor 7A
1209 Points ∼89% +37%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
741 Points ∼55% -16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (530 - 1209, n=16)
773 Points ∼57% -13%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 6283, n=560)
1357 Points ∼100% +54%
System (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
1808 Points ∼63%
Wiko View 2 Plus
2850 Points ∼100% +58%
Huawei Y7 2018
1906 Points ∼67% +5%
Honor 7A
1962 Points ∼69% +9%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
1531 Points ∼54% -15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (1281 - 2154, n=16)
1725 Points ∼61% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 12202, n=560)
2717 Points ∼95% +50%
Overall (sort by value)
Wiko View 2 Go
945 Points ∼70%
Wiko View 2 Plus
1221 Points ∼91% +29%
Huawei Y7 2018
1020 Points ∼76% +8%
Honor 7A
1055 Points ∼78% +12%
Motorola Moto G6 Play
923 Points ∼68% -2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (878 - 1055, n=17)
685 Points ∼51% -28%
Average of class Smartphone (150 - 6097, n=564)
1348 Points ∼100% +43%

Legend

 
Wiko View 2 Go Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Qualcomm Adreno 505, 32 GB eMMC Flash
 
Wiko View 2 Plus Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Qualcomm Adreno 506, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Huawei Y7 2018 Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Qualcomm Adreno 505, 16 GB eMMC Flash
 
Honor 7A Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Qualcomm Adreno 505, 16 GB eMMC Flash
 
Motorola Moto G6 Play Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Qualcomm Adreno 505, 32 GB eMMC Flash

By contrast, the View 2 Go performed comparatively poorly in browser benchmarks. Our test unit finished bottom or second bottom of all the browser benchmarks that we conducted and finished up to 10% behind our Snapdragon 430 SoC-powered comparison devices.

In daily use, we found that websites would load quickly, but media content would take a while to appear even when connected to fast Wi-Fi.

JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 273, n=470)
37.8 Points ∼100% +113%
Wiko View 2 Plus (Chrome 71)
22.665 Points ∼60% +28%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (17.6 - 21.5, n=15)
19.2 Points ∼51% +8%
Honor 7A (Chrome 67)
18.394 Points ∼49% +4%
Motorola Moto G6 Play (Chrome 66)
18.142 Points ∼48% +2%
Huawei Y7 2018 (Chrome 66)
17.86 Points ∼47% +1%
Wiko View 2 Go (Chrome 71)
17.759 Points ∼47%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (3126 - 43280, n=620)
5926 Points ∼100% +92%
Wiko View 2 Plus (Chrome 71)
4016 Points ∼68% +30%
Honor 7A (Chrome 67)
3389 Points ∼57% +10%
Huawei Y7 2018 (Chrome 66)
3363 Points ∼57% +9%
Motorola Moto G6 Play (Chrome 66)
3296 Points ∼56% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (2604 - 3438, n=17)
3182 Points ∼54% +3%
Wiko View 2 Go (Chrome 71)
3089 Points ∼52%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Honor 7A (Chrome 67)
14709 ms * ∼100% -10%
Motorola Moto G6 Play (Chrome 66)
13730 ms * ∼93% -3%
Huawei Y7 2018 (Chrome 66)
13541 ms * ∼92% -1%
Wiko View 2 Go (Chrome 71)
13373 ms * ∼91%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937) (10396 - 14709, n=17)
12623 ms * ∼86% +6%
Wiko View 2 Plus (Chrome 71)
11359.5 ms * ∼77% +15%
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=639)
11089 ms * ∼75% +17%

* ... smaller is better

For some reason, our test unit would not display the pop-up dialog box in AndroBench 5 that contains the button to start a benchmark. We tried changing the scaling of the display without success, so unfortunately we cannot provide you with data about the speed of the microSD card reader or the internal storage. Subjectively, both storage media seem on par with our comparison devices though.

Games

The Snapdragon 430 SoC integrates an Adreno 505 GPU, which supports most modern APIs. Our test device handled Arena of Valor and Asphalt 9: Legends well, although we did experience some stuttering in menus. The accelerometer and the touchscreen worked reliably throughout testing too.

Arena of Valor
Arena of Valor
Asphalt 9: Legends
Asphalt 9: Legends

Emissions

Temperature

The View 2 Go manages its surface temperatures well. Our test device hardly heats up even when we push it hard. The device reaches a maximum of 30 °C at idle and 34.7 °C under sustained load, so you should not experience thermal throttling in daily use.

Max. Load
 34.7 °C
94 F
31.4 °C
89 F
30.4 °C
87 F
 
 33.8 °C
93 F
30.9 °C
88 F
31.4 °C
89 F
 
 33.2 °C
92 F
31.4 °C
89 F
30.6 °C
87 F
 
Maximum: 34.7 °C = 94 F
Average: 32 °C = 90 F
29.4 °C
85 F
30.4 °C
87 F
31.9 °C
89 F
30 °C
86 F
30.9 °C
88 F
32.8 °C
91 F
30.7 °C
87 F
31.4 °C
89 F
32.4 °C
90 F
Maximum: 32.8 °C = 91 F
Average: 31.1 °C = 88 F
Power Supply (max.)  35.5 °C = 96 F | Room Temperature 21.5 °C = 71 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 32 °C / 90 F, compared to the average of 33 °C / 91 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 34.7 °C / 94 F, compared to the average of 35.5 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 32.8 °C / 91 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 26.4 °C / 80 F, compared to the device average of 33 °C / 91 F.
Heat map of the back of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load

Speakers

Pink Noise speaker test
Pink Noise speaker test

The View 2 Go has a single speaker on its back case just like the View 2 Plus. The speaker quality is almost identical too, as we determined with a special microphone and ARTA software. Our test unit gets slightly louder than its sibling, but the frequency spectrums are indistinguishable.

Overall, the View 2 Go has a decent speaker, but it frequently sounded too high-pitched during our tests for our liking. The speaker placement is also less than ideal as it could be obscured when the device is held in landscape mode. The 3.5 mm jack and Bluetooth reproduce audio cleanly too.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2041.430.92541.733.43139.134.74035.334.65033.837.96332.926.58027.825.310028.325.612522.126.316021.931.120019.636.625020.239.731519.444.540017.752.450016.854.663016.1608001667.810001569.9125016.369.316001569.6200014.466.625001466.531501467.6400013.867.5500013.967.7630013.769800013.972.51000013.967.71250013.958.91600013.956.3SPL74.380.177.560.270.827.380.1N32.245.939.113.424.90.945.9median 15median 66.5Delta3.110.841.430.941.733.439.134.735.334.633.837.932.926.527.825.328.325.622.126.321.931.119.636.620.239.719.444.517.752.416.854.616.1601667.81569.916.369.31569.614.466.61466.51467.613.867.513.967.713.76913.972.513.967.713.958.913.956.374.380.177.560.270.827.380.132.245.939.113.424.90.945.9median 0median 03.110.841.436.141.731.339.133.235.330.233.830.932.925.427.824.928.327.422.121.721.925.219.631.420.236.319.440.317.747.516.851.816.157.81663.21566.316.364.91564.414.4621461.61462.813.862.913.962.313.762.313.963.613.960.413.954.813.950.280.177.560.270.827.374.745.939.113.424.90.933.2median 15median 60.43.110.9hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseWiko View 2 GoWiko View 2 Plus
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Wiko View 2 Go audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (80.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 32.5% lower than median
(+) | bass is linear (6.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | reduced mids - on average 5.4% lower than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 1.8% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (3.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (22.7% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 34% of all tested devices in this class were better, 10% similar, 56% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 59% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 34% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Wiko View 2 Go audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (80.1 dB)
Analysis not possible as minimum curve is missing or too high

Wiko View 2 Plus audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (80.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 30.1% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (9.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | reduced mids - on average 5.3% lower than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (8.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 1.8% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (2.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (24.1% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 44% of all tested devices in this class were better, 13% similar, 43% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 66% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 26% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The View 2 Go consumes slightly less than the average of Snapdragon 430-powered smartphones that we have currently tested. Oddly, the View 2 Plus is 12% more efficient overall, despite having a more powerful SoC.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.1 / 0.2 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.8 / 2 / 2.3 Watt
Load midlight 3.6 / 5.4 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Wiko View 2 Go
4000 mAh
Wiko View 2 Plus
4000 mAh
Huawei Y7 2018
3000 mAh
Honor 7A
3000 mAh
Motorola Moto G6 Play
4000 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937)
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
12%
-9%
-18%
9%
-9%
-1%
Idle Minimum *
0.8
0.8
-0%
0.9
-13%
1.3
-63%
0.68
15%
0.901 (0.52 - 1.88, n=17)
-13%
0.882 (0.2 - 3.4, n=705)
-10%
Idle Average *
2
1.5
25%
1.9
5%
1.6
20%
1.8
10%
2.03 (1.4 - 4.17, n=17)
-2%
1.736 (0.6 - 6.2, n=704)
13%
Idle Maximum *
2.3
2
13%
2.3
-0%
2.9
-26%
1.83
20%
2.26 (1.52 - 4.2, n=17)
2%
2.02 (0.74 - 6.6, n=705)
12%
Load Average *
3.6
3.2
11%
4.7
-31%
3.7
-3%
3.38
6%
3.98 (2.85 - 7.5, n=17)
-11%
4.06 (0.8 - 10.8, n=699)
-13%
Load Maximum *
5.4
4.7
13%
5.7
-6%
6.4
-19%
5.67
-5%
6.49 (4.88 - 13.7, n=17)
-20%
5.85 (1.2 - 14.2, n=699)
-8%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The View 2 Go has a 4,000 mAh battery just like its sibling. However, our test device achieved a 24% shorter runtime than the View 2 Plus in our Wi-Fi battery life test. The Moto G6 Play has better battery life than the View 2 Go too. Overall, our test unit’s runtime of 12:14 hours is respectable and means that it should last at least a full workday’s use.

The included 10 W charger takes around two hours to recharge our test device.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
12h 14min
Wiko View 2 Go
4000 mAh
Wiko View 2 Plus
4000 mAh
Huawei Y7 2018
3000 mAh
Honor 7A
3000 mAh
Motorola Moto G6 Play
4000 mAh
Battery Runtime
24%
-15%
-10%
21%
Reader / Idle
1305
WiFi v1.3
734
913
24%
624
-15%
657
-10%
887
21%
Load
245
H.264
687

Pros

+ bright display
+ NFC
+ dedicated microSD slot
+ low surface temperatures
+ decent battery life

Cons

- outdated security patches
- back plastic is a fingerprint magnet
- underpowered SoC

Verdict

The Wiko View 2 Go smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Wiko Germany.
The Wiko View 2 Go smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Wiko Germany.

The Wiko View 2 Go is a cheap smartphone with entry-level performance, a large battery and a big screen. The device compares well against other smartphones within its class and is better value for money than those that are made by larger OEMs.

The View 2 Go impressed us with its bright and contrast-rich display, while its fast Wi-Fi will come in handy in daily use. Its glossy back picks up fingerprint residue easily though, and its outdated security updates are a concern. Moreover, it does not get the most from its 4,000 mAh battery and its face unlock is a poor alternative to a fingerprint sensor.

The Wiko View 2 Go is a cheap, large smartphone with decent connectivity and features.

If you are undecided about the View 2 Plus or the View 2 Go, we would first recommend considering the difference in price. The former has a faster SoC, a fingerprint sensor and more storage for an additional 100 Euros (~$114). Furthermore, the View 2 Plus has lower power consumption that results in better battery life. In short, we would recommend choosing the View 2 Plus if your budget can stretch that far, but the View 2 Go is still a solid smartphone regardless.

Wiko View 2 Go - 01/17/2019 v6
Florian Schmitt

Chassis
79%
Keyboard
65 / 75 → 87%
Pointing Device
86%
Connectivity
37 / 60 → 61%
Weight
91%
Battery
95%
Display
84%
Games Performance
19 / 63 → 29%
Application Performance
39 / 70 → 56%
Temperature
93%
Noise
100%
Audio
54 / 91 → 59%
Camera
59%
Average
69%
80%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Wiko View 2 Go Smartphone Review
Florian Schmitt, 2019-01-18 (Update: 2019-02-23)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.