Notebookcheck

HP 250 G7 (Core i5-8265U, 8 GB RAM, FHD, 512 GB SSD) Laptop Review

Christian Hintze, Stefanie Voigt (translated by Alex Alderson), 04/15/2019

Screen sin An affordable office laptop that packs the latest Intel Whiskey Lake CPU, 8 GB of RAM along with a large NVMe SSD? That would sound like a bargain if it were not for a big caveat that might be a deal breaker for many potential buyers.

The 250 series is HP's affordable line of office and business laptops. The devices in this series are solid work computers with none of the frills of their ProBook and EliteBook counterparts. At the beginning of last year, we reviewed the HP 250 G6, which we gave a 78%, and now we have its successor in for testing. The 250 G7 comes in several configurations, but our model has an Intel Core i5-8265U processor, 8GB of RAM and a 512 GB NVMe SSD. Our review unit also comes with a DVD drive, which has now become something of an anachronism. Disappointingly, HP has equipped the device with a TN panel rather than an IPS panel. The latter tend to have better viewing angles, lower black values and better contrast ratios, which results in a better overall user experience.

The new model brings with it an upgrade to Intel Whiskey Lake processors and a redesigned case, although the latter comes with some trade-offs, such as the switch to a non-removable battery. Our tests will reveal whether HP has addressed the concerns that we had with the 250 G6 and if the 250 G7 can live up to the potential that it has on paper.

We shall also compare the 250 G7 against other comparably priced 15.6-inch office laptops. Our comparison devices will include the Fujitsu LifeBook A357, Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB, Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110, and the Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6. Naturally, we will also consider the 250 G7 against its predecessor. Please keep in mind that all but the 250 G6 and the IdeaPad 330S-15IKB of our comparison devices are more expensive than our review unit.

HP 250 G7 6HM85ES (250 Series)
Graphics adapter
Intel UHD Graphics 620, 24.20.100.6222
Memory
8192 MB 
, 1 SO-DIMM slot
Display
15.6 inch 16:9, 1920 x 1080 pixel 141 PPI, BOE0687, TN, glossy: no
Mainboard
Intel Cannon Lake-U PCH-LP Premium
Storage
WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G, 512 GB 
, 480 GB free
Soundcard
Intel Cannon Lake-LP - cAVS
Connections
1 USB 2.0, 2 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 1 HDMI, 1 Kensington Lock, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm combined headphone and microphone jack, Card Reader: Full-sized SD card reader
Networking
Realtek RTL8168/8111 Gigabit-LAN (10/100/1000/2500/5000MBit/s), RealTek Semiconductor, Device ID: C821 (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5), Bluetooth Bluetooth 4.2
Optical drive
HP DVDRW GUE1N
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 22.5 x 376 x 246 ( = 0.89 x 14.8 x 9.69 in)
Battery
41 Wh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
Camera
Webcam: 720p camera
Primary Camera: 1 MPix
Additional features
Keyboard Light: no, 12 Months Warranty
Weight
1.898 kg ( = 66.95 oz / 4.18 pounds), Power Supply: 289 g ( = 10.19 oz / 0.64 pounds)
Price
655 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team! Indian citizens welcome!

Currently wanted: 
News and Editorial Editor - Details here

Case

The 250 G7 looks much like the 255 G6, although there are some minor changes. HP has redistributed the ports and has moved the fan vents from the side as they are on the 255 G6. Likewise, the battery is no longer removable and now sits under the bottom case. We shall cover the ramifications of this in greater detail in the Maintenance section of this review.

The case also has a textured finish that makes it look sturdy and helps it stand out somewhat from other 15.6-inch business laptops. The keyboard deck also only bows slightly while typing, which is impressive considering that the 250 G7 is mostly made from plastic. Our review unit hardly creaks when we try to bend and deform it too, although the display lid is flimsier and does groan when we apply pressure with our hands. Likewise, we can make wave patterns on the display by pressing hard against the back of the lid.

Our review unit rattles around when it is being carried
Our review unit rattles around when it is being carried

The hinge is rigid too, and is the only part of the 250 G7 to have a smooth finish. Unfortunately, the hinge is only stable to a point. While we had no issues with the screen bouncing around as we were typing, our review unit does rattle if we are carrying it and holding it by its hinge. Perhaps HP could have equipped the 250 G7 with stronger magnets to help keep the display and the base unit together on the move or tightened the hinge. At present, the behaviour undermines our initial impression of the 250 G7 as being a sturdy device. The gaps between materials are tighter and more even than they were on the 250 G6, but there are some inconsistencies, which are not present on more expensive laptops.

The 250 G7 is also remarkably compact for its price. Typically, we associate higher prices with smaller and lighter designs, so it is ironic that our cheapest comparison device, the IdeaPad 330S-15IKB, is also the smallest. By contrast, Fujitsu LifeBook A357 has the largest footprint of our comparison devices and is around 300 g (~10.6 oz) heavier than the 250 G7 at 2.2 kg (~4.8 lb). Only the IdeaPad 330S-15IKB is as light as the 250 G7 too, with the other devices tipping the scales at between 2 kg and 2.2 kg (~4.4 - 4.8 lb).

Incidentally, the 250 G7 is around 100 g (~3.5 oz) lighter and 2.5 mm (~0.1 in) thinner than its predecessor. Our review unit is also 8 mm (~0.3 in) narrower, but 3 mm (~0.12 in) wider.

Size Comparison

384 mm / 15.1 inch 243 mm / 9.57 inch 25 mm / 0.984 inch 2 kg4.41 lbs378 mm / 14.9 inch 256 mm / 10.1 inch 30.9 mm / 1.217 inch 2.2 kg4.85 lbs382 mm / 15 inch 253 mm / 9.96 inch 21 mm / 0.827 inch 2.2 kg4.83 lbs379 mm / 14.9 inch 258 mm / 10.2 inch 23 mm / 0.906 inch 2 kg4.41 lbs376 mm / 14.8 inch 246 mm / 9.69 inch 22.5 mm / 0.886 inch 1.9 kg4.18 lbs358 mm / 14.1 inch 244 mm / 9.61 inch 19 mm / 0.748 inch 1.9 kg4.12 lbs

Connectivity

The 250 G7 inherits almost all its ports from its predecessor. HP has omitted the now largely obsolete VGA port, although it has failed to include anything in its place. An additional USB port would have been nice as there are only three Type-A ports, one of which operates at USB 2.0 speeds. The other two are USB 3.0, for reference. Including a USB Type-C port would have addressed both these gripes as it can be used for data transfer or as a video output with the corresponding cable.

At least the ports are better distributed though, thanks to HP moving the fan vents from the side as they were on the 250 G6 to the back. The ports are still too tightly packed for our liking, especially on the left-hand side where the LAN, HDMI, headphone jack and two USB ports sit. The power connector is sufficiently far away from the LAN port though, so you should have no issues with using both connections simultaneously. However, you may find that thicker HDMI or USB cables obstruct one of the other ports. The right-hand side is less cluttered, although a wired mouse could get in the way of the USB port and the SD card reader if you have anything connected to them.

Right-hand side: SD card reader, USB 2.0 Type-A, DVD drive, Kensington lock slot
Right-hand side: SD card reader, USB 2.0 Type-A, DVD drive, Kensington lock slot
Left-hand side: Power connector, Ethernet port, HDMI, 2x USB 3.0 Type-A, 3.5 mm jack
Left-hand side: Power connector, Ethernet port, HDMI, 2x USB 3.0 Type-A, 3.5 mm jack
Front: No connections
Front: No connections
Rear: No connections
Rear: No connections

SD Card Reader

One of the criticisms we had with the 250 G6 was its slow SD card reader. While it was on par with many of its competitors, it was considerably slower than laptops with card readers that operate at USB 3.0. Our current review unit has a marginally faster SD card reader than its predecessor, but it is nowhere near the speeds that the LifeBook A357 achieved in the same tests.

SDCardreader Transfer Speed
average JPG Copy Test (av. of 3 runs)
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
145 MB/s ∼100% +362%
Average of class Office
  (10.2 - 191, n=273)
62.4 MB/s ∼43% +99%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
31.4 MB/s ∼22%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
29.7 MB/s ∼20% -5%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
25.7 MB/s ∼18% -18%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
24.2 MB/s ∼17% -23%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
23.9 MB/s ∼16% -24%
maximum AS SSD Seq Read Test (1GB)
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
165.7 MB/s ∼100% +386%
Average of class Office
  (9.5 - 255, n=248)
79 MB/s ∼48% +132%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
34.1 MB/s ∼21%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
29.9 MB/s ∼18% -12%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
27.1 MB/s ∼16% -21%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
  (Toshiba Exceria Pro SDXC 64 GB UHS-II)
26.6 MB/s ∼16% -22%

Communication

The 250 G6 also had mediocre Wi-Fi transfer speeds because of its outdated Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165 chip. Disappointingly, HP has equipped the 250 G7 with an even slower Wi-Fi module. Again, the LifeBook A357 leads the way in our download test with its Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265. Likewise, the Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110 is way out in front in the upload test thanks to its Intel 8265 Tri-Band chip.

Overall, the 250 G7 should have fast enough Wi-Fi performance for most internet connections, but it is a shame to see HP make no inter-generational improvements. At least the 250 G7 retains an Ethernet port should you need a wired connection.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Average of class Office
  (5 - 688, n=220)
467 MBit/s ∼100% +66%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
429 MBit/s ∼92% +53%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165
305 MBit/s ∼65% +9%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168
299 MBit/s ∼64% +6%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
Intel 8265 Tri-Band WiFi (Oak Peak) Network Adapter
295 (min: 186, max: 388) MBit/s ∼63% +5%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
RealTek Semiconductor, Device ID: C821
281 (min: 257, max: 287) MBit/s ∼60%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
Realtek 8821CE Wireless LAN 802.11ac PCI-E NIC
279 (min: 140, max: 285) MBit/s ∼60% -1%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
Intel 8265 Tri-Band WiFi (Oak Peak) Network Adapter
568 (min: 553, max: 591) MBit/s ∼100% +111%
Average of class Office
  (34 - 688, n=220)
443 MBit/s ∼78% +65%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168
350 MBit/s ∼62% +30%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
Realtek 8821CE Wireless LAN 802.11ac PCI-E NIC
331 (min: 290, max: 376) MBit/s ∼58% +23%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165
315 MBit/s ∼55% +17%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
RealTek Semiconductor, Device ID: C821
269 (min: 182, max: 363) MBit/s ∼47%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265
163 MBit/s ∼29% -39%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø281 (257-287)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø269 (182-363)

Security

The 250 G7 does not have any noteworthy security features, but that is common with business laptops at this price. The device has a Trusted Platform Module (TPM) 2.0 on board, which Microsoft requires all OEMs use if they want to ship their devices running Windows 10. There is also a Kensington lock slot should you need one, but you must forgo any Windows Hello biometric security such as a fingerprint sensor or an infrared camera.

Accessories

The 250 G7 comes with a 45-W power supply and the usual literature that OEMs include with laptops such as a quick start guide and warranty information. HP does not sell any 250 G7 specific accessories on its website, but it does sell general accessories such as laptop bags, screen protectors and power banks to name but a few.

Maintenance

The 250 G7 does not have a maintenance cover, so you must disassemble the bottom case to access components such as the battery and the SSD. Unfortunately, HP puts unnecessary stumbling blocks in the way that prevent end users or IT technicians from repairing or maintaining the device.

Firstly, the company has hidden several screws under two long rubber feet that are easy to stretch and break. Worse still, it is hard to find replacements. Once all the screws are removed, you must then carefully pry the bottom cover from the keyboard deck, which we were unable to do despite our best efforts. Hence, we would recommend taking your time to pry the bottom cover as you may break the fragile plastic clips that secure the cover in place.

HP hides several screws under rubber feet
HP hides several screws under rubber feet
Open and yet inaccessible
Open and yet inaccessible

Warranty

The 250 G7 comes with a one-year limited manufacturer’s warranty, which applies to the battery too. You can extend both with HP Care Packs, but it is rather stingy, nonetheless. By contrast, most modern laptops come with at least 2 years warranty.

Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies & Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices

A look at the keyboard and trackpad
A look at the keyboard and trackpad

Keyboard

To add insult to injury, the 250 G7 does not have a backlit keyboard. It has a tidy layout though, and HP has even found space for a full-sized number pad, which is handy. The keys are a touch too small for our tastes, especially the row of function keys. Likewise, it is a shame to see half-sized vertical arrow keys on such a large keyboard area. The lettering is legible and large too, although the lettering of the Ä, Ö and Ü keys on our German review unit are curiously smaller. This should not be the case with the corresponding keys on the English QWERTY layout though, and appears to be a quirk of other language layouts.

The 250 G7 has half-sized vertical arrow keys
The 250 G7 has half-sized vertical arrow keys
HP has gone with a small power button too
HP has gone with a small power button too

The keys on our test device are pleasant to type on and have a decent pressure point despite their small size. The keys are quiet enough for most environments, but they may be too loud for noise-sensitive environments. This is particularly true of the space bar, which is noisier than the other keys.

Trackpad


A look at the narrow trackpad
A look at the narrow trackpad

HP has equipped the 250 G7 with a classic trackpad that has two dedicated mouse buttons. The trackpad is wide enough to perform multi-finger gestures, but it is too short for our liking. The trackpad would have been easier to use had HP opted for one that integrated the mouse buttons to give it a larger surface area. This is a matter of taste though, as some people will prefer dedicated mouse buttons rather than integrated ones. Annoyingly, our review unit occasionally starts zooming in on something when we are scrolling with two fingers, so that is something worth watching out for.

The dedicated mouse buttons have a noticeably short stroke and crisp pressure points. However, the latter generates unpleasantly loud acoustic feedback and makes the buttons feel cheap.

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array
Our review unit does not suffer from backlight bleeding
Our review unit does not suffer from backlight bleeding

Our biggest gripe with the 250 G6 was HP’s use of a TN panel, which should be consigned to the history books with their poor viewing angles and low contrast ratios. Unfortunately, the same is true of the 250 G7, with HP equipping our review unit with the same BOE0687 panel that it used in the 250 G6.

The panel at least operates at Full HD, but colours will look washed out to those who are used to IPS panels, while its viewing angles are atrocious. The display is only really readable when you are looking at it square on as our photo montage below demonstrates. The content will remain just about readable when viewed from side on, but the screen is useless at acute or oblique viewing angles. Worse still, the display even looks blurry at optimal viewing angles as the photo of the sub-pixel array to the right shows.

The panel in our review unit is comparatively dark too. While it is around 13% brighter than the one in the 250 G6, it is between 18% and 30% darker than the displays in our other comparison devices. The 250 G7 achieves an average maximum brightness of 205 cd/m² according to X-Rite i1Pro 2, which will be too dim even in a bright room. Its one saving grace is that it is 88% evenly lit, which is more even than all our comparison devices. Moreover, our review unit suffers from hardly any screen bleeding, so the display has no bright spots.

Disappointingly, the 250 G7 uses pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate its display brightness, which can cause eye strain and headaches for some people. Our review unit flickers at 25,000 Hz with the display set to 90% brightness and below, for reference. The PWM frequency should be imperceptible to most people, but it could still cause issues for those who are PWM sensitive.

211
cd/m²
195
cd/m²
190
cd/m²
205
cd/m²
205
cd/m²
196
cd/m²
209
cd/m²
216
cd/m²
217
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
BOE0687
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 217 cd/m² Average: 204.9 cd/m² Minimum: 13.2 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 88 %
Center on Battery: 198 cd/m²
Contrast: 394:1 (Black: 0.52 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 11.15 | 0.6-29.43 Ø6, calibrated: 2.98
ΔE Greyscale 12.62 | 0.64-98 Ø6.3
59% sRGB (Argyll 3D) 38% AdobeRGB 1998 (Argyll 3D)
Gamma: 2.38
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
BOE0687, , 1920x1080, 15.6
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
BOE BOE0687, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
TOS508F, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
BOE0700, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
LG Philips LP156WFB-SPB1, , 1920x1080, 15.6
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
BOE07C5 (NV156FHM-N42), , 1920x1080, 15.6
Response Times
-33%
-59%
26%
-59%
-98%
Response Time Grey 50% / Grey 80% *
41 (22, 19)
42 (23, 19)
-2%
44 (23, 21)
-7%
44 (21, 23)
-7%
38 (21, 17)
7%
46 (22.4, 23.6)
-12%
Response Time Black / White *
12 (7, 5)
13 (8, 5)
-8%
30 (19, 11)
-150%
31 (17, 14)
-158%
27 (16, 11)
-125%
34 (15.2, 18.8)
-183%
PWM Frequency
25000 (90)
2500 (90)
-90%
20000 (90)
-20%
86000 (90)
244%
60 (100)
-100%
Screen
1%
44%
19%
23%
50%
Brightness middle
205
184
-10%
290
41%
283
38%
260
27%
280
37%
Brightness
205
178
-13%
249
21%
252
23%
241
18%
267
30%
Brightness Distribution
88
80
-9%
78
-11%
75
-15%
87
-1%
85
-3%
Black Level *
0.52
0.38
27%
0.38
27%
0.63
-21%
0.39
25%
0.2
62%
Contrast
394
484
23%
763
94%
449
14%
667
69%
1400
255%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
11.15
11.29
-1%
4.35
61%
4.02
64%
5.23
53%
5
55%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
19.08
19.48
-2%
11.06
42%
8.77
54%
7.73
59%
7.9
59%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 calibrated *
2.98
4.03
-35%
4.2
-41%
3.6
-21%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
12.62
12.43
2%
3.01
76%
0.8
94%
4.22
67%
3.7
71%
Gamma
2.38 92%
2.34 94%
2.44 90%
2.35 94%
2.62 84%
2.08 106%
CCT
14189 46%
13823 47%
7198 90%
6552 99%
6104 106%
7309 89%
Color Space (Percent of AdobeRGB 1998)
38
37
-3%
56
47%
38
0%
34
-11%
38.09
0%
Color Space (Percent of sRGB)
59
59
0%
86
46%
58
-2%
53
-10%
59.26
0%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
-16% / -7%
-8% / 21%
23% / 21%
-18% / 11%
-24% / 18%

* ... smaller is better

Our review unit also has a 0.52 cd/m² black value, which combines with the maximum luminosity to yield an appalling 394:1 contrast ratio. The latter puts the 250 G7 bottom of our comparison table and is 23% lower than its predecessor. The display has high greyscale and colour DeltaE deviations too, so colours will look inaccurate and washed out. We managed to reduce the DeltaE deviations though by calibrating the display, the ICC profile for which we have included in the box above our comparison table.

Unsurprisingly, the 250 G7 has inadequate colour space coverage. The fact that it is on par with many of our comparison devices is no achievement. Only the Tecra A50-E-110 is colour accurate enough for image editing.

59% sRGB accuracy
59% sRGB accuracy
38% AdobeRGB accuracy
38% AdobeRGB accuracy
Using the HP 250 G7 outside under direct sunlight
Using the HP 250 G7 outside under direct sunlight

The panel in our review unit has a matte finish, which helps diffuse some reflections. However, the display is easily overwhelmed by sunshine or in a bright room because of its miserable maximum brightness and contrast ratio. Moreover, the TN panel’s poor viewing angles mean that you cannot even adjust the display for better readability. In short, we recommend refraining from using the 250 G7 outside, where possible, unless you are happy to strain your eyes.

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
12 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 7 ms rise
↘ 5 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 12 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
41 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 22 ms rise
↘ 19 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 51 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (39.7 ms).

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 25000 Hz ≤ 90 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 25000 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 90 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 25000 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9409 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

As we have already mentioned, the 250 G7 has dreadful viewing angles. The photo montage below says it all, our review unit is practically unreadable if you tilt the display.

In short, the display is the biggest disappointment of the 250 G7. It ruins what is otherwise a decent entry-level business laptop.

Viewing Angles
Viewing Angles

Performance

Our review unit has low latency speeds
Our review unit has low latency speeds

HP has designed the 250 G7 as a budget office laptop. Nonetheless, it is a well-equipped device that can handle most tasks thanks to its quad-core Intel Core i5-8265U processor, its 8 GB of RAM and its NVMe SSD. The three combine to deliver a smooth system performance and allow the device to boot quickly. Programs open without hesitation too. The 250 G7 will struggle in GPU heavy tasks such as video editing because it lacks a dedicated GPU, but this is only a minor gripe.

Unfortunately, HP equips the device with only one SO-DIMM slot, which limits the 250 G7 to operating in single channel mode. While you could theoretically equip the device with up to 32 GB of RAM, it cannot make full use of its integrated GPU, which would require enabling dual-channel mode. Our review unit has low latency speeds though according to LatencyMon, which is good.

 

Processor

The Core i5-8265U is based on Intel’s Whiskey Lake architecture, which refines the manufacturing process of the company’s Kaby Lake architecture to deliver higher clock speeds and reduced power consumption. The Core i5-8265U has a 1.6 GHz base clock speed, but it can use Intel Turbo Boost technology to reach 3.9 GHz on a single core or 3.7 GHz on each of its 4 cores.

Incidentally, HP also sells the 250 G7 with an Intel Core i3-7020U processor. Please note that the Core i3-7020U has only 2 cores instead of the 4 cores that the Core i5-8265U has, which will result in significantly worse performance in multi-threaded applications.

The Core i5-8265U integrates an Intel UHD Graphics 620 as many modern U series processors do. The 250 G7 cannot make the best use of its integrated GPU because it operates in single-channel mode, as mentioned earlier in this review. Unfortunately, there is no way to add a second RAM module, which would enable dual-channel mode.
We subjected our review unit to a looped Cinebench R15 Multi 64Bit benchmark to determine how it managed its performance under sustained load. We let the benchmark run for 30 minutes and recorded any changes in benchmark scores. Our review unit initially scored 507 points, but dropped to 482 points by the third benchmark run through. Benchmark scores stabilised after that for the remainder of the loop, which represents a 4% loss of performance.

Incidentally, our review unit scored around 16% less in CB R15 when running on battery power than when we tested it connected to the mains.

Theoretically, our review unit should outperform our comparison devices as these are all equipped with older CPUs. However, the 250 G7 only finished top of our comparison tables in CB R15 Single 64Bit, while it scored 27% less than the Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 and its Core i5-8250U processor in CB R15 Multi 64Bit.

Likewise, the Tecra A50-E-110 scored around 5% more than our review unit in the latter benchmark. We should also point out that the 250 G7 finished 20% short of what we expect from a Core i5-8265U powered laptop. A look at the clock speed behaviour of the CPU during CB R15 Multi 64Bit explains the unexpected performance. The CPU hovers at around 3 GHz for the first few seconds of the benchmark before throttling back to between 2.2 GHz and 2.3 GHz, a level at which it stabilises. Hence, the 250 G7 cannot make full use of its processor for some reason, which is disappointing.

Cinebench R10
Cinebench R10
CInebench R11.5
CInebench R11.5
Cinebench R15
Cinebench R15
Cinebench R15 on battery
Cinebench R15 on battery
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510Tooltip
: Ø486 (482.38-503.85)
Cinebench R15
CPU Single 64Bit
Average Intel Core i5-8265U (111 - 164, n=26)
154 Points ∼100% +1%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
153 Points ∼99%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
142 Points ∼92% -7%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
140 Points ∼91% -8%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
139 Points ∼90% -9%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
128 Points ∼83% -16%
Average of class Office (20 - 199, n=530)
112 Points ∼73% -27%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
83 Points ∼54% -46%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
665 Points ∼100% +38%
Average Intel Core i5-8265U (457 - 750, n=28)
598 Points ∼90% +24%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
508 Points ∼76% +5%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
483 Points ∼73%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
480 Points ∼72% -1%
Average of class Office (36 - 1050, n=538)
343 Points ∼52% -29%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
326 Points ∼49% -33%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
213 Points ∼32% -56%
Cinebench R11.5
CPU Single 64Bit
Average Intel Core i5-8265U (1.73 - 1.88, n=6)
1.793 Points ∼100% +4%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
1.73 Points ∼96%
Average of class Office (0.23 - 2.07, n=427)
1.134 Points ∼63% -34%
CPU Multi 64Bit
Average Intel Core i5-8265U (5.22 - 7.22, n=6)
5.98 Points ∼100% +15%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
5.22 Points ∼87%
Average of class Office (0.26 - 11.6, n=599)
2.78 Points ∼46% -47%
Cinebench R10
Rendering Single CPUs 64Bit
Average Intel Core i5-8265U (7705 - 7975, n=4)
7880 Points ∼100% +2%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
7705 Points ∼98%
Average of class Office (0.4 - 9160, n=436)
4279 Points ∼54% -44%
Rendering Multiple CPUs 64Bit
Average Intel Core i5-8265U (18924 - 25361, n=4)
21959 Points ∼100% +16%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
18924 Points ∼86%
Average of class Office (1.51 - 29780, n=433)
9825 Points ∼45% -48%

Legend

 
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
 
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES Intel Core i3-6006U, Intel HD Graphics 520, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
 
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110 Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620, Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ
 
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620,
 
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE Intel Core i5-7200U, Intel HD Graphics 620, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
 
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D) Intel Core i5-8250U, NVIDIA GeForce MX110, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
Cinebench R10 Shading 64Bit
8276 Points
Cinebench R10 Rendering Multiple CPUs 64Bit
18924 Points
Cinebench R10 Rendering Single CPUs 64Bit
7705 Points
Cinebench R11.5 CPU Multi 64Bit
5.22 Points
Cinebench R11.5 OpenGL 64Bit
35.07 fps
Cinebench R11.5 CPU Single 64Bit
1.73 Points
Cinebench R15 CPU Single 64Bit
153 Points
Cinebench R15 Ref. Match 64Bit
97.8 %
Cinebench R15 OpenGL 64Bit
42.44 fps
Cinebench R15 CPU Multi 64Bit
483 Points
Help

System Performance

The 250 G7 fares better in system performance benchmarks such as PCMark 10 though, which also takes SSD and RAM performance into account. Our review unit scored about 5% lower than average overall, but it finished well ahead of its predecessor in all components of PCMark 10. Subjectively, the OS and programs launch quickly too. We experienced no crashes and did not notice any stutters during our tests.

PCMark 8: Home score
PCMark 8: Home score
PCMark 8: Work score
PCMark 8: Work score
PCMark 10
PCMark 10
PCMark 10
Digital Content Creation
Average Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (2620 - 3210, n=21)
2977 Points ∼100% +14%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
GeForce MX110, 8250U, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
2790 Points ∼94% +6%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ
2778 Points ∼93% +6%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U
2723 Points ∼91% +4%
Average of class Office
  (320 - 3884, n=146)
2644 Points ∼89% +1%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
UHD Graphics 620, 8265U, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
2620 Points ∼88%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
HD Graphics 620, 7200U, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
2311 Points ∼78% -12%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
HD Graphics 520, 6006U, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
1660 Points ∼56% -37%
Productivity
Average Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (5636 - 6556, n=21)
6180 Points ∼100% 0%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
UHD Graphics 620, 8265U, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
6171 Points ∼100%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U
5777 Points ∼93% -6%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ
5505 Points ∼89% -11%
Average of class Office
  (1266 - 7964, n=146)
5474 Points ∼89% -11%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
HD Graphics 620, 7200U, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
5386 Points ∼87% -13%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
GeForce MX110, 8250U, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
4581 Points ∼74% -26%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
HD Graphics 520, 6006U, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
3783 Points ∼61% -39%
Essentials
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U
8110 Points ∼100% +6%
Average Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (7278 - 8689, n=21)
7902 Points ∼97% +3%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
UHD Graphics 620, 8265U, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
7660 Points ∼94%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ
7021 Points ∼87% -8%
Average of class Office
  (2683 - 9790, n=146)
6953 Points ∼86% -9%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
GeForce MX110, 8250U, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
6926 Points ∼85% -10%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
HD Graphics 520, 6006U, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
6593 Points ∼81% -14%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
HD Graphics 620, 7200U, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
6539 Points ∼81% -15%
Score
Average Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (3573 - 3985, n=21)
3767 Points ∼100% +5%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U
3609 Points ∼96% +1%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
UHD Graphics 620, 8265U, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
3573 Points ∼95%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ
3407 Points ∼90% -5%
Average of class Office
  (803 - 4597, n=147)
3260 Points ∼87% -9%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
GeForce MX110, 8250U, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
3194 Points ∼85% -11%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
HD Graphics 620, 7200U, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
3106 Points ∼82% -13%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
HD Graphics 520, 6006U, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
2480 Points ∼66% -31%
PCMark 8
Work Score Accelerated v2
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U
4783 Points ∼100% +5%
Average Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (4302 - 4927, n=18)
4744 Points ∼99% +4%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
HD Graphics 620, 7200U, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
4565 Points ∼95% +1%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
GeForce MX110, 8250U, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
4544 Points ∼95% 0%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
UHD Graphics 620, 8265U, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
4542 Points ∼95%
Average of class Office
  (1226 - 5428, n=344)
4019 Points ∼84% -12%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
HD Graphics 520, 6006U, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
3617 Points ∼76% -20%
Apple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz
HD Graphics 515, 6Y30, Apple SSD AP0256
3550 Points ∼74% -22%
Home Score Accelerated v2
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U
3621 Points ∼100% +11%
Average Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (3150 - 4244, n=19)
3503 Points ∼97% +8%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
HD Graphics 620, 7200U, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
3433 Points ∼95% +6%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
UHD Graphics 620, 8265U, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
3254 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
GeForce MX110, 8250U, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
3153 Points ∼87% -3%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ
3113 Points ∼86% -4%
Average of class Office
  (1169 - 4770, n=403)
3056 Points ∼84% -6%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
HD Graphics 520, 6006U, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
2845 Points ∼79% -13%
Apple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz
HD Graphics 515, 6Y30, Apple SSD AP0256
2550 Points ∼70% -22%
PCMark 8 Home Score Accelerated v2
3254 points
PCMark 8 Work Score Accelerated v2
4542 points
Help

Storage Devices

HP has equipped our review unit with a 512 GB NVMe SSD from Western Digital. The drive sits in 29th place in our HDD/SSD benchmark page at the time of writing and delivers excellent transfer speeds. Overall, the SSD in our test device achieved better benchmark results than those in our comparison devices.

In short, you should not notice any lags or stutters when using the 250 G7. Please keep in mind that the base model comes with a 256 GB NVMe SSD, which may have different transfer speeds than the one in our review unit.

AS SSD
AS SSD
AS SSD copy benchmark
AS SSD copy benchmark
CrystalDiskMark 3
CrystalDiskMark 3
CrystalDiskMark 5
CrystalDiskMark 5
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
 
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
Apple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz
Apple SSD AP0256
Average WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
 
CrystalDiskMark 5.2 / 6
-59%
-56%
-59%
-63%
-60%
-8%
Write 4K
179.3
81
-55%
80.14
-55%
72.11
-60%
77.25
-57%
134 (98.2 - 191, n=17)
-25%
Read 4K
47.7
31.48
-34%
32.05
-33%
25
-48%
29.77
-38%
43 (27.6 - 53.1, n=17)
-10%
Write Seq
1265
452.1
-64%
505.4
-60%
158.1
-88%
413.2
-67%
442.5
-65%
1249 (750 - 1768, n=17)
-1%
Read Seq
1184
486.5
-59%
527.9
-55%
892.2
-25%
488.9
-59%
442.7
-63%
1218 (423 - 1710, n=17)
3%
Write 4K Q32T1
450.6
184.6
-59%
204.9
-55%
162.2
-64%
161.5
-64%
173.8
-61%
403 (258 - 749, n=17)
-11%
Read 4K Q32T1
555.7
203.9
-63%
226.6
-59%
320.4
-42%
184.8
-67%
233.6
-58%
404 (229 - 654, n=17)
-27%
Write Seq Q32T1
1455
483.2
-67%
532.7
-63%
160.2
-89%
432.3
-70%
510.3
-65%
1511 (1319 - 2544, n=17)
4%
Read Seq Q32T1
1717
537
-69%
550.7
-68%
932.6
-46%
531.2
-69%
529.6
-69%
1751 (473 - 3433, n=17)
2%
AS SSD
-68%
-76%
-492%
-76%
-69%
-86%
3%
Copy Game MB/s
528.39
222.42
-58%
229.57
-57%
154.35
-71%
778 (528 - 1059, n=9)
47%
Copy Program MB/s
239.94
129.63
-46%
149.63
-38%
108.77
-55%
376 (236 - 457, n=9)
57%
Copy ISO MB/s
764.56
322.66
-58%
311.67
-59%
253.04
-67%
545
-29%
1133 (765 - 1404, n=9)
48%
Score Total
3181
1106
-65%
971
-69%
262
-92%
827
-74%
830
-74%
3235 (2279 - 4334, n=17)
2%
Score Write
1468
422
-71%
284
-81%
179
-88%
358
-76%
290
-80%
1434 (1075 - 1879, n=17)
-2%
Score Read
1131
447
-60%
448
-60%
55
-95%
309
-73%
351
-69%
1191 (721 - 1638, n=17)
5%
Access Time Write *
0.024
0.055
-129%
0.046
-92%
0.045
-88%
0.057
-138%
0.044
-83%
0.0299 (0.021 - 0.047, n=17)
-25%
Access Time Read *
0.046
0.097
-111%
0.129
-180%
2.127
-4524%
0.115
-150%
0.092
-100%
0.186
-304%
0.0758 (0.046 - 0.129, n=15)
-65%
4K-64 Write
1190.32
309.02
-74%
156.1
-87%
116.58
-90%
258.31
-78%
162.98
-86%
283
-76%
1179 (871 - 1459, n=17)
-1%
4K-64 Read
936.89
366.74
-61%
366.77
-61%
43.28
-95%
236.07
-75%
271.83
-71%
509
-46%
1009 (647 - 1296, n=17)
8%
4K Write
143.9
66.62
-54%
78.8
-45%
54.93
-62%
65.9
-54%
81.58
-43%
22.1
-85%
131 (82.1 - 180, n=17)
-9%
4K Read
46.26
31.19
-33%
30.36
-34%
2.25
-95%
23.9
-48%
30.24
-35%
16.4
-65%
43 (34.5 - 48.3, n=17)
-7%
Seq Write
1339.37
460.48
-66%
493.27
-63%
78.87
-94%
341.49
-75%
458
-66%
651
-51%
1236 (412 - 2407, n=17)
-8%
Seq Read
1476.64
491.6
-67%
512.88
-65%
95.9
-94%
494.32
-67%
489
-67%
1056
-28%
1393 (399 - 2934, n=17)
-6%
Total Average (Program / Settings)
-64% / -65%
-66% / -68%
-276% / -339%
-70% / -71%
-65% / -66%
-86% / -86%
-3% / -1%

* ... smaller is better

WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
Sequential Read: 1147 MB/s
Sequential Write: 1291 MB/s
512K Read: 701.3 MB/s
512K Write: 848.6 MB/s
4K Read: 38.03 MB/s
4K Write: 116.6 MB/s
4K QD32 Read: 326.4 MB/s
4K QD32 Write: 244.7 MB/s

Graphics Card

The UHD Graphics 620 handles graphics and is a capable chip for simple tasks but lacks the power of dedicated solutions such as the NVIDIA GeForce MX110 in the Mi Notebook 15.6, which is needed for more complex work such as video editing and light gaming.

The 250 G7 achieved better 3DMark results than the average of office laptops that we have tested. Conversely, our review unit finished a few percent shy of what we have come to expect from laptops that rely on UHD Graphics 620. Likewise, it cannot compete with the Mi Notebook 15.6 and its GeForce MX110 GPU. The 250 G7 finishes behind the IdeaPad 330S-15IKB in some 3DMark benchmarks too but always outscores the LifeBook A357 and its predecessor.

Interestingly, our test device performs just as well in 3DMark 11 on battery as it does when running from mains power.

3DMark Fire Strike
3DMark Fire Strike
3DMark Cloud Gate
3DMark Cloud Gate
3DMark 11
3DMark 11
3DMark 11 on battery
3DMark 11 on battery
3DMark 11 - 1280x720 Performance GPU
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
NVIDIA GeForce MX110, Intel Core i5-8250U
2140 Points ∼100% +29%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1805 Points ∼84% +9%
Average Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (1235 - 2006, n=165)
1716 Points ∼80% +3%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
1672 Points ∼78% +1%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8265U
1658 Points ∼77%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Intel HD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-7200U
1527 Points ∼71% -8%
Average of class Office
  (185 - 5332, n=652)
1308 Points ∼61% -21%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Intel HD Graphics 520, Intel Core i3-6006U
1220 Points ∼57% -26%
3DMark
1920x1080 Fire Strike Graphics
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
NVIDIA GeForce MX110, Intel Core i5-8250U
1722 Points ∼100% +65%
Average Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (557 - 1401, n=134)
1127 Points ∼65% +8%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8265U
1043 Points ∼61%
Average of class Office
  (138 - 4109, n=471)
1007 Points ∼58% -3%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Intel HD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-7200U
970 Points ∼56% -7%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Intel HD Graphics 520, Intel Core i3-6006U
755 Points ∼44% -28%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
557 Points ∼32% -47%
1280x720 Cloud Gate Standard Graphics
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
NVIDIA GeForce MX110, Intel Core i5-8250U
11314 Points ∼100% +38%
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8250U
10069 Points ∼89% +23%
Average Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (6910 - 11436, n=152)
9153 Points ∼81% +12%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
Intel UHD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-8265U
8169 Points ∼72%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Intel HD Graphics 620, Intel Core i5-7200U
7584 Points ∼67% -7%
Average of class Office
  (1208 - 27117, n=517)
6975 Points ∼62% -15%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Intel HD Graphics 520, Intel Core i3-6006U
6286 Points ∼56% -23%
3DMark 11 Performance
1803 points
3DMark Cloud Gate Standard Score
7229 points
3DMark Fire Strike Score
956 points
Help

Gaming Performance

The 250 G7 and its UHD Graphics 620 can play some older and simple games, but complex modern titles such as "The Witcher 3" are out of the question. Our review unit can play games such as "BioShock Infinite" and "Rocket League" smoothly at minimum graphics in 720p. This will not be a treat for your eyes though.

Our review unit outperformed all but the IdeaPad 330S-15IKB and the Mi Notebook 15.6 of our comparison devices in our gaming tests. We have not included the latter in our comparison tables, but it achieves high framerates in all the games that we tested because of its dedicated GPU. The IdeaPad 330S-15IKB also achieves high framerates despite having the same GPU because it operates in dual-channel mode.

BioShock Infinite
1366x768 High Preset
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
29.9 fps ∼100% +27%
Average of class Office
  (4.43 - 128, n=342)
27.3 fps ∼91% +16%
Average Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (8.1 - 35.9, n=150)
27.1 fps ∼91% +15%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
23.6 fps ∼79%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Intel Core i5-7200U, Intel HD Graphics 620
21.6 fps ∼72% -8%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Intel Core i3-6006U, Intel HD Graphics 520
19.7 fps ∼66% -17%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
8.1 fps ∼27% -66%
1366x768 Medium Preset
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
34.2 fps ∼100% +20%
Average Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (11.5 - 45.5, n=151)
32.4 fps ∼95% +14%
Average of class Office
  (5.6 - 145, n=363)
31.5 fps ∼92% +11%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
28.4 fps ∼83%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Intel Core i5-7200U, Intel HD Graphics 620
26.2 fps ∼77% -8%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Intel Core i3-6006U, Intel HD Graphics 520
23.7 fps ∼69% -17%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
11.5 fps ∼34% -60%
1280x720 Very Low Preset
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
66.4 fps ∼100% +28%
Average Intel UHD Graphics 620
  (18.3 - 90.2, n=151)
60.4 fps ∼91% +16%
Average of class Office
  (12.2 - 208, n=367)
55.9 fps ∼84% +8%
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
Intel Core i5-8265U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
52 fps ∼78%
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
Intel Core i5-7200U, Intel HD Graphics 620
44.4 fps ∼67% -15%
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
Intel Core i3-6006U, Intel HD Graphics 520
42 fps ∼63% -19%
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
Intel Core i5-8250U, Intel UHD Graphics 620
18.3 fps ∼28% -65%
low med. high ultra
BioShock Infinite (2013) 5228.423.67.3fps
Rise of the Tomb Raider (2016) 19.512.1fps
Rocket League (2017) 45.722.615.2fps

Emissions

Fan Noise

The 250 G7 never gets that noisy but it hardly ever operates silently. Our review unit reached a maximum of 34 dB(A) under load, which is slightly quieter than most of our comparison devices and especially the Mi Notebook 15.6.

However, the 250 G7 never operates silently even at idle, which seems unnecessary. Likewise, the fans occasionally ramp up for no apparent reason. Hence, the fan will always be running during a working day.

Oddly, we also noticed that our review emits a quiet rattling sound when we pick it up or put it down when it is running. The culprit could be the DVD drive and its small motor, but it is curious, nonetheless. We cannot hear the sound when the laptop is lying flat on a desk or on our lap, for reference.

HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
UHD Graphics 620, 8265U, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
HD Graphics 520, 6006U, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U, Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
UHD Graphics 620, 8250U
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
HD Graphics 620, 7200U, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
GeForce MX110, 8250U, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ
Noise
1%
2%
-1%
-1%
-8%
off / environment *
30.7
30.4
1%
30.6
-0%
30.5
1%
30.3
1%
29.9
3%
Idle Minimum *
30.9
31.6
-2%
31.4
-2%
30.9
-0%
30.3
2%
29.9
3%
Idle Average *
31.6
31.6
-0%
31.4
1%
30.9
2%
30.3
4%
30.6
3%
Idle Maximum *
31.6
31.7
-0%
31.5
-0%
31.3
1%
30.3
4%
35
-11%
Load Average *
34.3
33.1
3%
31.9
7%
34.1
1%
37
-8%
38.8
-13%
Load Maximum *
33.8
33
2%
31.4
7%
36.5
-8%
36.9
-9%
45.3
-34%

* ... smaller is better

Noise Level

Idle
30.9 / 31.6 / 31.6 dB(A)
DVD
36 / dB(A)
Load
34.3 / 33.8 dB(A)
  red to green bar
 
 
30 dB
silent
40 dB(A)
audible
50 dB(A)
loud
 
min: dark, med: mid, max: light   Audix TM1, Arta (15 cm distance)   environment noise: 30.7 dB(A)
dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2033.132.531.932.232.333.12530.528.431.332.330.530.53132.231.73432.734.732.24030.830.22930.230.130.85030.12928.128.529.730.16328.329.227.927.527.728.38025.927.226.727.226.125.910025.326.125.725.525.425.31252624.124.224.2252616024.52424.124.623.124.520023.822.922.922.823.123.825022.522.722.421.421.622.531522.923.121.920.821.122.940021.221.221.220.120.321.250020.921.320.319.319.620.963020.825.220.819.119.220.880021.824.621.719.719.121.8100023.827.523.820.118.423.812502426.623.819.418.224160024.828.424.418.217.924.8200025.631.624.517.918.125.6250023.330.822.31817.923.3315020.12319.4181820.1400019.120.618.718.118.319.1500018.519.418.518.318.518.5630018.619.118.518.418.518.6800018.718.818.618.518.618.71000018.618.718.718.618.718.61250018.718.818.718.618.818.7160001919.11918.919.119SPL34.338.533.830.930.734.3N1.82.41.71.31.31.8median 21.8median 23median 21.7median 19.1median 18.8median 21.8Delta2.53.12.31.51.62.534.932.232.935.734.931.830.331.235.831.834.531.632.737.534.529.930.831.331.529.929.530.729.436.629.528.129.629.827.628.130.330.329.727.230.329.430.330.625.129.426.526.525.325.826.526.124.224.624.326.124.323.423.723.124.324.224.321.922.724.223.825.421.921.723.822.32421.220.722.321.523.520.32021.520.622.119.519.820.621.423.219.418.621.423.726.418.918.223.723.325.818.117.923.322.625.618.217.822.622.22517.917.522.224.627.918.217.624.623.825.918.117.923.819.422.218.21819.419.321.418.218.119.31920.518.318.11918.619.51918.218.61918.918.318.11919.819.719.31819.818.618.419.318.118.634.136.530.930.634.11.92.31.41.31.9median 22.3median 24median 19.3median 18.2median 22.32.21.91.822.2hearing rangehide median Fan NoiseHP 250 G7 6HM85ESLenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE

Temperature

The 250 G7 manages its surface temperatures well when idling, with our review unit reaching a maximum of 25.8 °C (~78 °F) during our tests. The device mostly keeps its surface temperatures in check under load too, although one area reaches a maximum of 42.4 °C (~108 °F), which will feel hot to the touch. It does not get dangerously hot though, so you should have no issues with having the laptop placed on your lap even if you are pushing it hard.

We should also point out that the centre of the display gets rather warm to the touch under load because its fans exhaust out from next to the display hinge. This should not be a problem in daily use though because your hands will typically not get close to that part of the device.

Heatmap of the top of the device at idle
Heatmap of the top of the device at idle
Heatmap of the bottom of the device at idle
Heatmap of the bottom of the device at idle
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the bottom of the device under load
Heatmap of the bottom of the device under load


System information during a combined FurMark and Prime95 stress test
System information during a combined FurMark and Prime95 stress test

We also subjected our review unit to a combined FurMark and Prime95 stress test to see how the device manages its performance under sustained load. We ran the stress test for at least an hour and recorded any changes in internal temperatures along with clock speeds and benchmark scores.

The 250 G7 keeps its CPU core clock speeds at around 65 °C (~149 °F) after over an hour of our stress test, which is well within safe limits. However, the system throttles the CPU to between 1.2 GHz and 1.3 GHz to keep temperatures down, which is below its 1.6 GHz base clock speed.

We suspect that this clock speed behaviour is because our stress test also engages the integrated GPU, which shares its thermal design power (TDP) with the CPU. Hence, if the GPU is being pushed hard, then it is using some of the CPU’s potential power. Regardless, HP has opted to create a cool and quiet device rather than one that can maximise the performance of its components.

Moreover, the 250 G7 takes a while to recover from being pushed to its limits, as demonstrated by the 3DMark 11 results that we ran directly after our stress test. Our review unit scored 34% lower in this scenario than when we ran it from cold, which is disappointing.

3DMark 11 results pre stress test
3DMark 11 results pre stress test
3DMark 11 results after running a stress test
3DMark 11 results after running a stress test
Max. Load
 32 °C
90 F
35.1 °C
95 F
25.6 °C
78 F
 
 33.1 °C
92 F
33.1 °C
92 F
25.5 °C
78 F
 
 27.4 °C
81 F
26.9 °C
80 F
25.5 °C
78 F
 
Maximum: 35.1 °C = 95 F
Average: 29.4 °C = 85 F
23.7 °C
75 F
34.6 °C
94 F
31.3 °C
88 F
24 °C
75 F
34 °C
93 F
33.4 °C
92 F
42.4 °C
108 F
27 °C
81 F
27.5 °C
82 F
Maximum: 42.4 °C = 108 F
Average: 30.9 °C = 88 F
Power Supply (max.)  54.9 °C = 131 F | Room Temperature 22.3 °C = 72 F | FIRT 550-Pocket
(+) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 29.4 °C / 85 F, compared to the average of 29.4 °C / 85 F for the devices in the class Office.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 35.1 °C / 95 F, compared to the average of 33.9 °C / 93 F, ranging from 21.2 to 62.5 °C for the class Office.
(±) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 42.4 °C / 108 F, compared to the average of 36.4 °C / 98 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 24.5 °C / 76 F, compared to the device average of 29.4 °C / 85 F.
(+) The palmrests and touchpad are cooler than skin temperature with a maximum of 27.4 °C / 81.3 F and are therefore cool to the touch.
(±) The average temperature of the palmrest area of similar devices was 28.1 °C / 82.6 F (+0.7 °C / 1.3 F).

Speakers

The 250 G7 has stereo speakers that sit below the grille above the keyboard. While this positioning often delivers better audio reproduction than downward firing speakers, the ones in our review unit sound tinny and thin. High-pitched frequencies dominate any audio that the speakers reproduce, while bass tones are all but absent, which is a common gripe of most laptops that we test.

Hence, we would recommend using headphones or external speakers, where possible, for a better listening experience. We experienced no issues with Bluetooth audio or that outputted via our review unit’s 3.5 mm jack throughout our tests. It would have been nice to see dedicated headphone and microphone jacks though, especially as the 250 G7 is a business laptop.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2031.332.331.3253030.5303129.934.729.94028.330.128.3502929.7296327.627.727.68026.626.126.610025.225.425.212524.52524.516033.223.133.220042.723.142.725040.421.640.43154921.1494005820.3585005819.65863058.419.258.480057.819.157.8100069.818.469.812507118.271160067.217.967.2200067.118.167.1250069.617.969.6315068.31868.3400065.318.365.350006318.563630063.518.563.5800063.718.663.7100006418.7641250059.118.859.11600052.319.152.3SPL78.730.778.7N38.71.338.7median 59.1median 18.8median 59.1Delta9.31.69.335.335.132.931.831.83236.535.132.428.93328.936.328.848.32761.52752.924.860.92462.822.763.32269.521.267.82174.82075.919.472.718.97117.770.117.86917.671.817.668.117.671.417.673.717.670.417.571.617.671.617.669.617.459.717.583.630.662.51.5median 69.6median 17.84.62.4hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseHP 250 G7 6HM85ESApple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES audio analysis

(-) | not very loud speakers (70.98 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 23.3% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.4% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (8.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 6.2% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (3.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (25.1% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 80% of all tested devices in this class were better, 5% similar, 16% worse
» The best had a delta of 8%, average was 21%, worst was 51%
Compared to all devices tested
» 73% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 21% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Apple MacBook 12 (Early 2016) 1.1 GHz audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (83.6 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 11.3% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (14.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 2.4% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 2% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (9.3% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 1% of all tested devices in this class were better, 1% similar, 97% worse
» The best had a delta of 8%, average was 20%, worst was 50%
Compared to all devices tested
» 1% of all tested devices were better, 0% similar, 98% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Power Management

Power Consumption

A look at the 45 W power supply included with our review unit
A look at the 45 W power supply included with our review unit

The 250 G7 is a comparatively power efficient laptop. Our review unit consumes more under load than its predecessor, but we expected as much considering that it is equipped with a considerably more powerful CPU.

Our test unit has lower power consumption when idling than all our other comparison devices, which underlines the improved efficiencies that Intel has made with Whiskey Lake CPUs compared to their predecessors. Conversely, the 250 G7 consumes more under load than all but the Mi Notebook 15.6 of our comparison devices, but that is mostly because of its more powerful CPU. Overall, the 250 G7 is an impressively power efficient laptop.

HP included a 45-W charger with our review unit, which is large enough to keep the 250 G7 charged even when it is being pushed hard.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.18 / 0.5 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 3.2 / 5.7 / 6.1 Watt
Load midlight 36.5 / 37.5 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
8265U, UHD Graphics 620, WDC PC SN520 SDAPNUW-512G, TN, 1920x1080, 15.6
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
6006U, HD Graphics 520, Samsung SSD PM871a MZNLN256HMHQ, TN LED, 1920x1080, 15.6
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, Samsung SSD PM871b MZNLN256HAJQ, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, , IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
7200U, HD Graphics 620, Micron SSD 1100 SED 256GB MTFDDAK256TBN, IPS, 1920x1080, 15.6
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
8250U, GeForce MX110, Samsung PM871b MZNLN128HAHQ, LED, 1920x1080, 15.6
Average Intel UHD Graphics 620
 
Average of class Office
 
Power Consumption
12%
-17%
-18%
-3%
-48%
Idle Minimum *
3.2
3.4
-6%
3.8
-19%
5
-56%
3.65
-14%
5.6
-75%
Idle Average *
5.7
5.9
-4%
7.7
-35%
7.6
-33%
6.8
-19%
8.6
-51%
Idle Maximum *
6.1
6.3
-3%
9.3
-52%
8.6
-41%
6.9
-13%
8.7
-43%
Load Average *
36.5
23
37%
31
15%
25.6
30%
29.1
20%
39.9
-9%
Load Maximum *
37.5
24.3
35%
34.6
8%
34
9%
34
9%
59.9
-60%
Witcher 3 ultra *
33.2

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

HP equips the 250 G7 with a 41 Wh battery, which is rather small for a 15.6-inch laptop. All but the  Mi Notebook 15.6 of our comparison devices have larger batteries than our review unit. Correspondingly, they mostly achieved better runtimes in our tests too.

The system can stretch its battery to almost 14 hours when idling with the display at minimum brightness and running in airplane mode, but it performed comparatively poorly in our other battery life tests.

The 250 G7 finished second bottom of our comparison table in our more practical Wi-Fi test with a runtime of 5.5 hours, which is surprisingly short. During this test we run a script that simulates the load required to render websites and set the display to 150 cd/m², for reference. Likewise, even the  Mi Notebook 15.6 with its nominally smaller battery and higher power consumption lasted longer than the 250 G7 when we left an H.264 encoded video running on a loop.

In short, the 250 G7 has comparatively poor battery life. Moreover, we would recommend taking a charger with you if you are working away from the office for the day.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
13h 53min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
5h 39min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
7h 06min
Load (maximum brightness)
1h 31min
HP 250 G7 6HM85ES
8265U, UHD Graphics 620, 41 Wh
HP 250 G6 2UB93ES
6006U, HD Graphics 520, 41.6 Wh
Toshiba Tecra A50-E-110
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, 45 Wh
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500N5GE
8250U, UHD Graphics 620, 52 Wh
Fujitsu Lifebook A357-A3570MPH06DE
7200U, HD Graphics 620, 49 Wh
Xiaomi Mi Notebook 15.6 (E58514D1D)
8250U, GeForce MX110, 40 Wh
Average of class Office
 
Battery Runtime
21%
-14%
6%
39%
-6%
22%
Reader / Idle
833
754
-9%
613
-26%
H.264
426
465
9%
WiFi v1.3
339
409
21%
291
-14%
350
3%
471
39%
340
0%
415 (105 - 964, n=349)
22%
Load
91
113
24%

Pros

+ cheap
+ more compact than its predecessor
+ decent keyboard
+ blazing fast SSD
+ solid performance

Cons

- TN panel
- the case rattles when moved about
- outdated ports
- complicated disassembly
- small trackpad
- aggressive fan

Verdict

The HP 250 G7 laptop review. Test device courtesy of notebooksbilliger.de.
The HP 250 G7 laptop review. Test device courtesy of notebooksbilliger.de.

The HP 250 G7 is not easy to rate. On the one hand, it is a reasonably priced office notebook that is amazingly well-equipped in some areas for the price, but HP’s decision to include a TN display is unforgivable.

Sure, the ports could be more diverse and modern, as could the trackpad. Likewise, it could be easier to maintain, but we expect some compromises from an entry-level laptop.

The HP 250 G7 has a lot going for it considering its price. However, its TN panel is inexcusable, even for an entry-level business laptop.

However, we have not seen such a weak screen in a laptop for a long time, or at least since we reviewed its predecessor. Everything about it is lacklustre and sub-par, which is why we cannot recommend that you buy the 250 G7. HP should at least offer the option of an IPS panel, which would make the 250 G7 a more compelling proposition. As it is, if you can look past the terrible display or will most have it connected to an external monitor, then you will not find many better office laptops for €599 (~$677) than the HP 250 G7. However, we would recommend looking elsewhere if you use your laptop a lot on the go, as the TN display is awful.

HP 250 G7 6HM85ES - 04/10/2019 v6(old)
Christian Hintze

Chassis
63 / 98 → 64%
Keyboard
74%
Pointing Device
75%
Connectivity
45 / 80 → 57%
Weight
64 / 20-67 → 94%
Battery
87%
Display
74%
Games Performance
55 / 68 → 80%
Application Performance
87 / 92 → 94%
Temperature
94%
Noise
90%
Audio
56%
Camera
33 / 85 → 39%
Average
69%
78%
Office - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 1 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > HP 250 G7 (Core i5-8265U, 8 GB RAM, FHD, 512 GB SSD) Laptop Review
Christian Hintze, 2019-04-15 (Update: 2019-04-16)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor - @aldersonaj
Prior to writing and translating for Notebookcheck, I worked for various companies including Apple and Neowin. I have a BA in International History and Politics from the University of Leeds, which I have since converted to a Law Degree. Happy to chat on Twitter or Notebookchat.