Notebookcheck
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

Xiaomi Mi 11i smartphone review: One of the most affordable high-end smartphones with the Snapdragon 888

Almost a Mi 11. The Redmi K40 Pro+ comes to Europe under the name Mi 11i, and it plays in the big leagues in terms of performance. Just like the flagships of the Mi 11 series, the Mi 11i also features the high-end Snapdragon 888 SoC. Only the price takes a different direction. The Mi 11i starts at a price of 100 Euros (~$117) less than the very similarly equipped Xiaomi Mi 11, and the trend is sharply downwards.
Manuel Masiero, 👁 Daniel Schmidt, Brian Burriston (translated by Stephanie Chamberlain), 🇩🇪 🇳🇱 ...
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

Xiaomi's current top smartphones can be found in the Mi 11 series. It consists of five devices now: The Mi 11 UltraMi 11, Mi 11i, Mi 11 Lite 5G, and the Mi 11 Lite. In this review, we'll take a closer look at the latest addition, the Xiaomi Mi 11i. This is the name under which Xiaomi offers the Redmi K40 Pro+ on the European market.

While the Mi 11 Ultra and the Mi 11 are the flagship devices of the Mi 11 series, the Mi 11 Lite 5G and Mi 11 Lite models aren't quite as powerful or extensively equipped, but they're the cheapest in return. Our Mi 11i test model ranks above the Mi 11 Lite 5G. In terms of performance, it has nothing in common with the entry-level models since its performance is on par with the Mi 11.

Just like the Mi 11, the Mi 11i is also equipped with the fast Snapdragon 888 and is supported by 8 GB of LPDDR5 RAM. However, at 6.67-inches, the Mi 11i is slightly smaller than the 6.81-inch top models, and its OLED display's resolution of 2400x1080 pixels is not quite as high (Mi 11 and Mi 11 Ultra: 3200x1440 pixels). In return, it also manages 120 Hz like all the non-Lite models. There's also a 108-megapixel sensor from Samsung and a 4,520 mAh battery.

The Mi 11i currently costs 599 Euros (~$704) in the Xiaomi store and consequently 100 Euros (~$117) less than the Mi 11, which is priced at 699 Euros (~$821). So, why spend more money when the Mi 11 only differs from the Mi 11i in minor details? Moreover, it could even be the best Mi 11 smartphone from a price-performance ratio perspective. Our review will clarify whether that is the case.

Xiaomi Mi 11i (Mi 11 Series)
Processor
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G 8 x 1.8 - 2.8 GHz, Cortex-X1 / A78 / A55 (Kryo 680)
Graphics adapter
Memory
8192 MB 
, LPDDR5
Display
6.67 inch 20:9, 2400 x 1080 pixel 395 PPI, capacitive, AMOLED, 120 Hz, FHD , up to 1,300 nits, DCI-P3 100%, HDR10 , Corning Gorilla Glass 5, glossy: yes, HDR, 120 Hz
Storage
256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash, 256 GB 
, 230.6 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, USB-C Power Delivery (PD), Audio Connections: USB-C, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: proximity sensor, 360° ambient light sensor, color temperature sensor, barometer, accelerometer, gyroscope, electronic compass, X-axis linear motor, IR blaster, 2x2 MIMO, Wi-Fi Direct, Miracast, DRM Widevine L1, Camera2 API Level 3
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5/ax = Wi-Fi 6), Bluetooth 5.2, 2G (850/900/1.800/1.900 MHz), 3G (B1/2/4/5/8), 4G (B1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/17/20/28/38/40/41/66), 5G (n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28/n38/n41/n77/n78), head SAR 0.537 W/kg, body SAR 0.768 W/kg, Dual SIM, LTE, 5G, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 7.8 x 163.7 x 76.4 ( = 0.31 x 6.44 x 3.01 in)
Battery
4520 mAh Lithium-Ion
Charging
fast charging / Quickcharge
Operating System
Android 11
Camera
Primary Camera: 108 MPix triple camera: 108 MP (7p lens, 1/1.52" sensor size, f/1.75); 8 MP (f/2.2, FOV 119°); 5 MP (f/2.4), videos up to [email protected], [email protected]
Secondary Camera: 20 MPix f/2.45, videos up [email protected]
Additional features
Speakers: dual speakers with Dolby Atmos, Keyboard: virtual, 33-watt charger, USB-C cable, Type-C to 3.5 mm adapter, SIM tool, protective case, user guide, warranty info, MIUI 12.5, 12 Months Warranty, fanless
Weight
196 g ( = 6.91 oz / 0.43 pounds), Power Supply: 86 g ( = 3.03 oz / 0.19 pounds)
Price
600 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Possible contenders in comparison

Rating
Date
Model
Weight
Drive
Size
Resolution
Best Price
86.4 %
08/2021
Xiaomi Mi 11i
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
196 g256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.67"2400x1080
85.6 %
06/2021
Asus ZenFone 8
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
169 g256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash5.92"2400x1080
87.1 %
04/2021
OnePlus 9
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
192 g256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.55"2400x1080
85.7 %
07/2021
realme GT 5G
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
186 g128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.43"2400x1080
85.9 %
05/2021
Xiaomi Poco F3
SD 870, Adreno 650
196 g128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.67"2400x1080
87.1 %
02/2021
Xiaomi Mi 11
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
196 g128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.81"3200x1440

In terms of design, the Xiaomi Mi 11i only differs from its counterparts in details. The Mi 11i also stands out with its good build quality. The physical buttons only have a slight play in the chassis, they feel just as high-quality as the case, and they have a good pressure point. The Mi 11i is a tiny bit shorter than the Mi 11 (163.7 versus 164.3 mm/~64.5 inches versus ~64.7 in), but it's just as light at 198 grams (~7 oz), and it's also 8 millimeters thin (~0.3 in).

The Mi 11i's display is protected by a layer of Gorilla Glass 5. Starting with the Mi 11, Xiaomi uses Gorilla Glass 7, also known as "Victus". Interestingly, the Mi 11 Lite 5G offers a bit more here as well, since it relies on Gorilla Glass 6. The 108 MP camera module placed on the very fingerprint-prone back cover is an eye-catcher. It's always black regardless of the case color, and it can be touched easily since it protrudes a few millimeters from the chassis. The main camera is surrounded by a silver ring.

Xiaomi offers the Mi 11i in three colors: "Cosmic Black" graces our review sample. Other colors are "Celestial Silver" and "Frosty White". The Mi 11i doesn't have an official IP certification, but neither does the Mi 11.

, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

Size comparison

164.3 mm / 6.47 inch 74.6 mm / 2.94 inch 8.06 mm / 0.3173 inch 196 g0.4321 lbs163.7 mm / 6.44 inch 76.4 mm / 3.01 inch 7.8 mm / 0.3071 inch 196 g0.4321 lbs163.7 mm / 6.44 inch 76.4 mm / 3.01 inch 7.8 mm / 0.3071 inch 196 g0.4321 lbs160 mm / 6.3 inch 74.2 mm / 2.92 inch 8.7 mm / 0.3425 inch 192 g0.4233 lbs158.5 mm / 6.24 inch 73.3 mm / 2.89 inch 8.4 mm / 0.3307 inch 186 g0.4101 lbs148 mm / 5.83 inch 68.5 mm / 2.7 inch 8.9 mm / 0.3504 inch 169 g0.3726 lbs

Connectivity - Up to 256 GB of storage, but no microSD slot

The Mi 11i comes with 8 GB of LPDDR5 RAM and 128 GB of UFS 3.1 storage in its base configuration, and it costs 599 Euros (~$704) in Xiaomi's web store. The second version with 256 GB of storage costs 699 Euros (~$821). Due to the lack of a microSD slot, the storage can't be expanded.

The Mi 11i has an OLED panel with an always-on functionality, but the fingerprint sensor isn't placed in the display like in the Mi 11, instead it's integrated into the power button. The USB-C port only runs at USB 2.0 speeds, but it supports USB OTG for connecting peripherals.

Additional features are dual speakers with Dolby Atmos, as well as Wi-Fi Direct and Miracast to mirror image content wirelessly. The Mi 11i also supports DRM Widevine L1 and can therefore also stream content in HD quality.

Software - Android 11 and MIUI 12 for the Xiaomi phone

The Mi 11i runs the Android 11 operating system, and at the time of testing (mid-August), its Android security patches are at the level of July 2021. As with Xiaomi's current smartphone lineup, MIUI 12.5 serves as the user interface.

Besides the Google apps and the manufacturer's in-house Samsung tool, Xiaomi has also included eight third-party apps in the ROM. Among them are Amazon, Facebook, and TikTok, for example. Users who don't need the additional software can easily delete all of it. Around 230 GB of the 256 GB in our test device are free after a fresh setup.

Communication and GNSS - Fast WLAN and accurate GPS

When it comes to WLAN connectivity, the MI 11i is quite fast thanks to Wi-Fi 6 and 2x2 MIMO technology. Connected to our reference router, the Netgear Nighthawk AX12, the smartphone also delivers a very convincing performance in practice. In contrast to the Mi 11, the Mi 11i achieves extremely stable transfer rates both for sending and receiving data, if you ignore the small drop when transmitting. At the same time, it's more than twice as fast as the Mi 11 with a peak rate of 1,165 Mb/s for sending data, and it's only just beaten by the Asus ZenFone 8. The Mi 11i's data reception of 792 Mb/s isn't that fast, but the distance to the Mi 11 is only marginal.

5G with the X60 modem, dual SIM, Bluetooth 5.2, and NFC - the Mi 11i doesn't differ from the Mi 11 when it comes to the remaining communication features. The only difference is that the Mi 11i isn't quite as comprehensive in terms of radio frequencies, but it covers all the important frequencies in Germany with 15 LTE bands and 11 5G bands.

Networking
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Asus ZenFone 8
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
1261 (1192min - 1327max) MBit/s ∼100% +8%
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
1165 (735min - 1229max) MBit/s ∼92%
realme GT 5G
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
1164 (603min - 1211max) MBit/s ∼92% 0%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Adreno 650, SD 870, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
884 (444min - 914max) MBit/s ∼70% -24%
OnePlus 9
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
685 (654min - 709max) MBit/s ∼54% -41%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
519 (391min - 604max) MBit/s ∼41% -55%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.59 - 1599, n=286, last 2 years)
454 MBit/s ∼36% -61%
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Asus ZenFone 8
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
903 (446min - 918max) MBit/s ∼100% +14%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
842 (329min - 976max) MBit/s ∼93% +6%
realme GT 5G
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
841 (768min - 888max) MBit/s ∼93% +6%
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
792 (676min - 856max) MBit/s ∼88%
OnePlus 9
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
777 (623min - 829max) MBit/s ∼86% -2%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Adreno 650, SD 870, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
654 (311min - 702max) MBit/s ∼72% -17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (15.5 - 1414, n=286, last 2 years)
449 MBit/s ∼50% -43%
0651301952603253904555205856507157808459109751040110511706767137167487527577507817917997938088038228188438067928017988048018187978098568228138308156767137167487527577507817917997938088038228188438067928017988048018187978098568228138308151169121312048437351201120312051193120611941163121212221207118411901191118811881183118812011149117811951157116811871229Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø791 (676-856)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø1165 (735-1229)
GPS reception indoors
GPS reception indoors
GPS reception outdoors
GPS reception outdoors

The Mi 11i makes use of a whole armada of satellite navigation systems to determine its position: GPS (L1, L5), GLONASS (L1), Galileo (E1, E5a), BeiDou (B1, B1C, B2a) as well as the Japanese QZSS (L1, L5), and the Indian NavIC (L5). Both outdoors and indoors, the smartphone is able to determine our location quite quickly and with an accuracy of up to three meters (~10 feet).

The accuracy also remains high when we're on the move. On an approximately ten-kilometer (~16 mi) bike ride, the Mi 11i actually tracks our route a bit more accurately than the Garmin Edge 500 professional navigation device, which is taken along for direct comparison.

GPS Test: Summary
GPS Test: Summary
GPS Test: Lake
GPS Test: Lake
GPS Test: Turning point
GPS Test: Turning point

Telephone and call quality - With VoLTE and VoWiFi

The Mi 11i offers a good call quality that wasn't affected by drops or other connection problems during our test. Users participating in the call can also understand each other well in hands-free mode. In addition, VoLTE and Wi-Fi calls are supported.

Cameras - Weaker triple camera than in the Mi 11

Photo taken with the main camera
Photo taken with the main camera

The Mi 11i's camera setup consists of a 108 MP main camera with an f/1.75 aperture, but unlike the Mi 11 that has the same high resolution, it doesn't offer any optical image stabilization. Instead of the Samsung HM3 sensor found in the Mi 11 and Mi 11 Ultra, the Mi 11i uses the less powerful Samsung HM2. In addition to the 108 MP camera, there's an ultra wide-angle camera with 8 MP, an f/2.2 aperture, and a 119° field of view, as well as a 5 MP telephoto macro camera. Like in the Mi 11, there's a 20 MP front-facing camera in the front that takes good selfies.

In the default setting, the Mi 11i takes 12 MP photos using 9-in-1 pixel-binning, and they look really good in favorable lighting conditions. However, the full 108 MP can also be used for taking pictures in the Pro mode. Compared with the Mi 11, however, photos lack a bit of image details and dynamics. Due to the lack of a zoom lens, objects that are far away aren't captured with much sharpness.

Low-light pictures still look quite good when Night mode is enabled. The ultra wide-angle camera, on the other hand, is just average. Although it offers a passable image quality, it struggles with blurriness in the edges. The main camera can record videos at a maximum resolution of 8K at 30 frames per second, which results in a good image quality. HDR videos are also supported.

Photo taken with the selfie camera
Photo taken with the selfie camera
Photo taken with the main camera
Photo taken with the main camera
Photo taken with the main camera
Photo taken with the main camera
Photo taken with the main camera
Photo taken with the main camera

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Daylight - Scene 1Daylight - Scene 2Ultra wide-angle5x zoomLow-light photo

We take a closer look at the camera again under controlled lighting conditions. This is done under full studio lighting and then with an illumination of 1 lux.

The Mi 11i reproduces colors quite well, and even in low ambient light, the camera software is able to ensure that the deviations from the reference colors aren't too large. However, the smartphone doesn't manage to capture the test chart particularly sharply, even with the studio's full illumination.

ColorChecker
15.5 ∆E
8.2 ∆E
16.9 ∆E
18.3 ∆E
12.8 ∆E
7.1 ∆E
7.8 ∆E
22.8 ∆E
10 ∆E
8.3 ∆E
5.8 ∆E
2.8 ∆E
19.3 ∆E
14.3 ∆E
10.2 ∆E
2.2 ∆E
8 ∆E
13.8 ∆E
4.7 ∆E
2.5 ∆E
7.5 ∆E
9.8 ∆E
3.1 ∆E
4.9 ∆E
ColorChecker Xiaomi Mi 11i: 9.85 ∆E min: 2.17 - max: 22.84 ∆E
ColorChecker
28.6 ∆E
48.6 ∆E
37.5 ∆E
34.3 ∆E
42.6 ∆E
59.2 ∆E
48.4 ∆E
30.7 ∆E
34.2 ∆E
27 ∆E
60.3 ∆E
61.2 ∆E
28.4 ∆E
45.1 ∆E
30.3 ∆E
68.1 ∆E
38.4 ∆E
42 ∆E
67.8 ∆E
65.9 ∆E
49.5 ∆E
35.9 ∆E
23.9 ∆E
13.4 ∆E
ColorChecker Xiaomi Mi 11i: 42.55 ∆E min: 13.38 - max: 68.12 ∆E

Accessories and warranty - 33-watt charger in the box

In addition to the smartphone, the Mi 11i's package also includes a USB cable (Type-C to Type-A), a 33-watt charger, a headphone adapter (Type-C to 3.5 mm), a SIM tool, a transparent protective case, as well as a quick-start guide and a warranty card.

The Mi 11i comes with a 12-month warranty.

Input devices and handling - 360 Hz touch sampling rate in the Mi 11i

You expect a completely smooth operation from a smartphone with the Snapdragon 888 SoC. And that's exactly what you get with the Mi 11i. Thanks to its SoC power, but also to its refresh rate of 120 Hz and touch sampling rate of 360 Hz, the smartphone handles every input instantly and can be used very smoothly in everyday use. It's easy to overlook the fact that the Mi 11's display sampling rate is 480 Hz, because you'll hardly notice a real difference.

The Mi 11i can be unlocked biometrically using a fingerprint or facial recognition. The fingerprint sensor is located in the power button, and it scores points not only due to its very high recognition rate but mostly also due to its speed: Once you put your finger on it, the smartphone is unlocked almost instantly. The face recognition feature using the front-facing camera also works reliably, but it's less secure than fingerprint authentication.

Keyboard in landscape mode
Keyboard in landscape mode
Keyboard in portrait mode
Keyboard in portrait mode

Display - AMOLED panel with 1,200 cd/m²

Subpixel grid
Subpixel grid

The Mi 11i's 6.67-inch AMOLED panel has a resolution of 2400x1080 pixels, which isn't quite as sharp as the 6.81-inch Mi 11 that offers 3200x1440 pixels. However, both panels are on par in terms of brightness. This is also true for the refresh rate, which can be set to 60 or 120 Hz in the display settings.

With a pure white background, we measure an average brightness of almost 880 cd/m² in the Mi 11i. With evenly distributed bright and dark image areas (APL50), the brightness even reaches a respectable 1,201 cd/m². Those are optimal conditions for displaying HDR content - the Mi 11 supports HDR10+. The Mi 11i still manages a maximum of 484 cd/m² when the brightness sensor is turned off. At the lowest brightness level, we measure 2.73 cd/m².

Xiaomi uses pulse width modulation (PWM) for brightness control, ranging from 162.6 to 500 Hz. When the display brightness is 62% or higher, PWM flickering remains constant at 120 Hz.

863
cd/m²
884
cd/m²
891
cd/m²
865
cd/m²
875
cd/m²
893
cd/m²
866
cd/m²
877
cd/m²
895
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 3
Maximum: 895 cd/m² (Nits) Average: 878.8 cd/m² Minimum: 2.73 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 96 %
Center on Battery: 875 cd/m²
Contrast: ∞:1 (Black: 0 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 1.8 | 0.59-29.43 Ø5.5
ΔE Greyscale 3.4 | 0.64-98 Ø5.7
96.6% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.19
Xiaomi Mi 11i
AMOLED, 2400x1080, 6.67
Asus ZenFone 8
AMOLED, 2400x1080, 5.92
OnePlus 9
AMOLED, 2400x1080, 6.55
realme GT 5G
Super AMOLED, 2400x1080, 6.43
Xiaomi Poco F3
AMOLED, 2400x1080, 6.67
Xiaomi Mi 11
LED DotDisplay, 3200x1440, 6.81
Screen
-13%
30%
11%
29%
19%
Brightness middle
875
758
-13%
731
-16%
605
-31%
889
2%
840
-4%
Brightness
879
759
-14%
739
-16%
606
-31%
902
3%
845
-4%
Brightness Distribution
96
98
2%
96
0%
97
1%
95
-1%
98
2%
Black Level *
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
1.8
3.5
-94%
0.59
67%
1.3
28%
0.9
50%
1.2
33%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
4.7
1.3
72%
3.1
34%
1.9
60%
2.7
43%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
3.4
1.6
53%
0.9
74%
1.3
62%
1.3
62%
2
41%
Gamma
2.19 100%
2.23 99%
2.243 98%
2.25 98%
2.26 97%
2.26 97%
CCT
6220 105%
6527 100%
6573 99%
6372 102%
6614 98%
6492 100%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 500 Hz ≤ 64 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 500 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 64 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 500 Hz is relatively high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering. However, there are reports that some users are still sensitive to PWM at 500 Hz and above, so be aware.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 17047 (minimum: 5 - maximum: 2500000) Hz was measured.

The spectrophotometer and the CalMAN software reveal that the Mi 11i isn't only able to score points in terms of display brightness, but that it also manages a very balanced color reproduction. This is most accurate when using the color profile "Original Color". In the sRGB color space, the DeltaE deviations for colors (DeltaE 1.8) and grayscales (DeltaE 3.4) are so low that the naked eye won't be able to spot any differences compared to the reference colors. Both the color temperature and the RGB balance are good as well, since no color tint can be detected on the display.

Color accuracy ("Original color" color scheme, sRGB target color space)
Color accuracy ("Original color" color scheme, sRGB target color space)
Color space ("Original color" color scheme, sRGB target color space)
Color space ("Original color" color scheme, sRGB target color space)
Grayscales ("Original color" color scheme, sRGB target color space)
Grayscales ("Original color" color scheme, sRGB target color space)
Color saturation ("Original color" color scheme, sRGB target color space)
Color saturation ("Original color" color scheme, sRGB target color space)

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
2.4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 1.2 ms rise
↘ 1.2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (23.8 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
2.8 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 1.6 ms rise
↘ 1.2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (37.7 ms).

Thanks to its high brightness rates, the Xiaomi Mi 11i can be used very well outdoors. Even in direct sunlight, the content on the display is still relatively easy to read.

Outdoor use (direct sunlight)
Outdoor use (direct sunlight)
Outdoor use (in the shade)
Outdoor use (in the shade)

The Mi 11i's AMOLED panel provides high viewing-angle stability. Content remains perfectly legible even from very flat viewing angles. As is typical for AMOLED displays, a slight greenish or bluish tint can be seen at times, but this doesn't impair readability.

Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance - Xiaomi smartphone with Snapdragon 888

Like the two Mi 11 top models, the Mi 11 and Mi 11 Ultra, the Mi 11i also comes with Qualcomm's high-end Snapdragon 888 chipset. The octa-core SoC that is supported by the Adreno 660 graphics chip is currently one of the fastest smartphone CPUs, and it also delivers the corresponding benchmark results in the test.

However, as it was already the case with the Mi 11, it's not always easy to access the full potential of the Qualcomm SoC in the Mi 11i, because it quickly starts throttling during prolonged load in order to protect itself from overheating. In everyday use, though, you don't notice anything of what's happening internally with the temperatures, because there's still more than enough power despite the lower clock rates.

If you give the Snapdragon 888 enough time to cool down between the individual benchmarks, you'll be rewarded with top performance. As a result, the Mi 11i is on par with high-end rivals like the Asus ZenFone 8 or the realme GT 5G, which also use the Snapdragon 888, in the synthetic tests. Although the gap to the Xiaomi Poco F3 with its Snapdragon 870 is measurable, it's hardly noticeable in practice. The Mi 11i is even consistently ahead in the browser benchmarks, which is probably due to the newer browser version.

Geekbench 5.3
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1134 Points ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
1124 Points ∼99% -1%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
1124 Points ∼99% -1%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1132 Points ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
998 Points ∼88% -12%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1136 Points ∼100% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (989 - 1156, n=21)
1121 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (58 - 1755, n=250, last 2 years)
601 Points ∼53% -47%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
3687 Points ∼97%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
3385 Points ∼89% -8%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
3653 Points ∼97% -1%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
3379 Points ∼89% -8%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
3368 Points ∼89% -9%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
3784 Points ∼100% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (3379 - 3810, n=21)
3599 Points ∼95% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (248 - 4914, n=250, last 2 years)
2039 Points ∼54% -45%
Vulkan Score 5.3 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4273 Points ∼74%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
5771 Points ∼100% +35%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
3894 Points ∼67% -9%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4620 Points ∼80% +8%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
3587 Points ∼62% -16%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4279 Points ∼74% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (3894 - 6176, n=20)
4777 Points ∼83% +12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (72 - 6524, n=147, last 2 years)
2208 Points ∼38% -48%
OpenCL Score 5.3 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4403 Points ∼94%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
4676 Points ∼100% +6%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
4566 Points ∼98% +4%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4658 Points ∼100% +6%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
3606 Points ∼77% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4674 Points ∼100% +6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (3100 - 4764, n=20)
4582 Points ∼98% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (255 - 7514, n=149, last 2 years)
2292 Points ∼49% -48%
PCMark for Android
Work 3.0 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
15024 Points ∼91%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
16428 Points ∼100% +9%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
14457 Points ∼88% -4%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
13610 Points ∼83% -9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (11705 - 17085, n=15)
14724 Points ∼90% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4436 - 17085, n=68, last 2 years)
9959 Points ∼61% -34%
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
13282 Points ∼100%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
10438 Points ∼79% -21%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
12440 Points ∼94% -6%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
12876 Points ∼97% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (10231 - 15027, n=9)
12332 Points ∼93% -7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (82 - 15299, n=237, last 2 years)
8032 Points ∼60% -40%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
0 Points ∼0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (7991 - 9221, n=3)
8422 Points ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone
  (68 - 11256, n=236, last 2 years)
3483 Points ∼41%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (10111 - 13263, n=3)
11212 Points ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone
  (54 - 16670, n=236, last 2 years)
4066 Points ∼36%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (4462 - 4609, n=3)
4556 Points ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone
  (607 - 5301, n=236, last 2 years)
2816 Points ∼62%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
8783 Points ∼80%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
10379 Points ∼94% +18%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
11018 Points ∼100% +25%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
7970 Points ∼72% -9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (8257 - 11302, n=15)
10026 Points ∼91% +14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (149 - 11895, n=259, last 2 years)
4237 Points ∼38% -52%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
15110 Points ∼90%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
15652 Points ∼93% +4%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
16863 Points ∼100% +12%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
12033 Points ∼71% -20%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (10491 - 16863, n=15)
14739 Points ∼87% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (122 - 31940, n=259, last 2 years)
5444 Points ∼32% -64%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
3562 Points ∼72%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
4763 Points ∼96% +34%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4978 Points ∼100% +40%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
3653 Points ∼73% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (3562 - 5344, n=15)
4792 Points ∼96% +35%
Average of class Smartphone
  (620 - 5784, n=257, last 2 years)
3019 Points ∼61% -15%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
0 Points ∼0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (6140 - 7596, n=2)
6868 Points ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone
  (78 - 9138, n=233, last 2 years)
2678 Points ∼39%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (6816 - 9436, n=2)
8126 Points ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone
  (62 - 11573, n=233, last 2 years)
2836 Points ∼35%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (4514 - 4557, n=2)
4536 Points ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone
  (435 - 5318, n=233, last 2 years)
2835 Points ∼63%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
7270 Points ∼78%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
8779 Points ∼94% +21%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
0 Points ∼0% -100%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
8987 Points ∼96% +24%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
7377 Points ∼79% +1%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
9343 Points ∼100% +29%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (6110 - 9839, n=16)
8738 Points ∼94% +20%
Average of class Smartphone
  (91 - 9839, n=261, last 2 years)
3472 Points ∼37% -52%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
11406 Points ∼90%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
11552 Points ∼91% +1%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
12714 Points ∼100% +11%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
9498 Points ∼75% -17%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
12023 Points ∼95% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (7930 - 12914, n=16)
11691 Points ∼92% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (73 - 16221, n=261, last 2 years)
4039 Points ∼32% -65%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
3204 Points ∼61%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
4771 Points ∼91% +49%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4436 Points ∼85% +38%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
4140 Points ∼79% +29%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5249 Points ∼100% +64%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (2579 - 5366, n=16)
4723 Points ∼90% +47%
Average of class Smartphone
  (620 - 5793, n=261, last 2 years)
3055 Points ∼58% -5%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (426 - 6977, n=198, last 2 years)
2620 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (349 - 11259, n=198, last 2 years)
2940 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
Points ∼0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1786 - 4061, n=198, last 2 years)
2641 Points ∼100%
Wild Life Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5692 Points ∼96%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
5767 Points ∼97% +1%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
5786 Points ∼97% +2%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5942 Points ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
4288 Points ∼72% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5599 Points ∼94% -2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (3958 - 5942, n=20)
5653 Points ∼95% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (153 - 9680, n=114, last 2 years)
3027 Points ∼51% -47%
Wild Life Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5712 Points ∼96%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
5821 Points ∼98% +2%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
5751 Points ∼97% +1%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5925 Points ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
4271 Points ∼72% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5678 Points ∼96% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (3959 - 5925, n=20)
5574 Points ∼94% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (174 - 11700, n=110, last 2 years)
3178 Points ∼54% -44%
Wild Life Extreme (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1503 Points ∼96%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
1528 Points ∼98% +2%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1559 Points ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
1223 Points ∼78% -19%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (1236 - 1559, n=15)
1503 Points ∼96% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (83 - 3080, n=62, last 2 years)
988 Points ∼63% -34%
Wild Life Extreme Unlimited (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1427 Points ∼92%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
1512 Points ∼97% +6%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1555 Points ∼100% +9%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
1222 Points ∼79% -14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (997 - 1555, n=15)
1417 Points ∼91% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (101 - 2864, n=59, last 2 years)
963 Points ∼62% -33%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
121 fps ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
119 fps ∼98% -2%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
61 fps ∼50% -50%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
60 fps ∼50% -50%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
71 fps ∼59% -41%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
120 fps ∼99% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (60 - 143, n=15)
103 fps ∼85% -15%
Average of class Smartphone
  (8.2 - 143, n=204, last 2 years)
61.7 fps ∼51% -49%
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
266 fps ∼97%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
238 fps ∼87% -11%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
275 fps ∼100% +3%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
268 fps ∼97% +1%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
200 fps ∼73% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
268 fps ∼97% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (173 - 290, n=15)
248 fps ∼90% -7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4.3 - 417, n=204, last 2 years)
117 fps ∼43% -56%
GFXBench 3.0
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
120 fps ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
116 fps ∼97% -3%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
60 fps ∼50% -50%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
60 fps ∼50% -50%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
60 fps ∼50% -50%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
91 fps ∼76% -24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (55 - 120, n=15)
92.3 fps ∼77% -23%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4.5 - 120, n=202, last 2 years)
49.3 fps ∼41% -59%
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
151 fps ∼93%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
152 fps ∼94% +1%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
101 fps ∼62% -33%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
162 fps ∼100% +7%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
119 fps ∼73% -21%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
158 fps ∼98% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (101 - 177, n=15)
143 fps ∼88% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1 - 229, n=203, last 2 years)
68.1 fps ∼42% -55%
GFXBench 3.1
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
96 fps ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
93 fps ∼97% -3%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
57 fps ∼59% -41%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
60 fps ∼63% -37%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
59 fps ∼61% -39%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
59 fps ∼61% -39%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (36 - 105, n=15)
70.9 fps ∼74% -26%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.1 - 106, n=201, last 2 years)
38.4 fps ∼40% -60%
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
110 fps ∼92%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
105 fps ∼88% -5%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
96 fps ∼81% -13%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
119 fps ∼100% +8%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
81 fps ∼68% -26%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
111 fps ∼93% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (69 - 121, n=15)
98.9 fps ∼83% -10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.4 - 151, n=201, last 2 years)
46.8 fps ∼39% -57%
GFXBench
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
60 fps ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
53 fps ∼88% -12%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
48 fps ∼80% -20%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
59 fps ∼98% -2%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
44 fps ∼73% -27%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
33 fps ∼55% -45%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (26 - 61, n=15)
45 fps ∼75% -25%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.3 - 61, n=200, last 2 years)
24.1 fps ∼40% -60%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
64 fps ∼89%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
61 fps ∼85% -5%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
42 fps ∼58% -34%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
72 fps ∼100% +13%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
48 fps ∼67% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
67 fps ∼93% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (42 - 72, n=15)
59.5 fps ∼83% -7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.8 - 96.6, n=200, last 2 years)
28.2 fps ∼39% -56%
Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
60 fps ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
57 fps ∼95% -5%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
58 fps ∼97% -3%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
59 fps ∼98% -2%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
49 fps ∼82% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
41 fps ∼68% -32%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (32 - 73, n=20)
55.1 fps ∼92% -8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.5 - 73, n=267, last 2 years)
24.1 fps ∼40% -60%
1920x1080 Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
68 fps ∼86%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
64 fps ∼81% -6%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
57 fps ∼72% -16%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
71 fps ∼90% +4%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
57 fps ∼72% -16%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
79 fps ∼100% +16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (46 - 87, n=21)
71 fps ∼90% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.95 - 257, n=267, last 2 years)
28.4 fps ∼36% -58%
Aztec Ruins High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
42 fps ∼95%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
41 fps ∼93% -2%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
41 fps ∼93% -2%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
44 fps ∼100% +5%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
33 fps ∼75% -21%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
25 fps ∼57% -40%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (25 - 46, n=20)
37.4 fps ∼85% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.2 - 60, n=268, last 2 years)
16.2 fps ∼37% -61%
2560x1440 Aztec Ruins High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
27 fps ∼93%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
26 fps ∼90% -4%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
28 fps ∼97% +4%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
28 fps ∼97% +4%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
22 fps ∼76% -19%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
29 fps ∼100% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (19 - 32, n=20)
27.7 fps ∼96% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.35 - 101, n=268, last 2 years)
11 fps ∼38% -59%
Antutu v9 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
791672 Points ∼98%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
795730 Points ∼98% +1%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
811533 Points ∼100% +3%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
680139 Points ∼84% -14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (636471 - 815441, n=12)
774425 Points ∼95% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (121238 - 815441, n=59, last 2 years)
507660 Points ∼63% -36%
AnTuTu v8 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
687402 Points ∼96%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
713309 Points ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
595585 Points ∼83% -13%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
700592 Points ∼98% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (569595 - 740847, n=11)
683568 Points ∼96% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (53335 - 727247, n=178, last 2 years)
346046 Points ∼49% -50%
AImark - Score v2.x (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
258869 Points ∼98%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
Points ∼0% -100%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
263702 Points ∼100% +2%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
111838 Points ∼42% -57%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
209984 Points ∼80% -19%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (171404 - 264766, n=11)
240122 Points ∼91% -7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4293 - 273221, n=80, last 2 years)
70033 Points ∼27% -73%
BaseMark OS II
Overall (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
6852 Points ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
6043 Points ∼88% -12%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
6537 Points ∼95% -5%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
6031 Points ∼88% -12%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
6356 Points ∼93% -7%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
6361 Points ∼93% -7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (5908 - 6959, n=15)
6507 Points ∼95% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (615 - 8124, n=190, last 2 years)
3829 Points ∼56% -44%
System (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
10610 Points ∼91%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
9973 Points ∼86% -6%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
11627 Points ∼100% +10%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
10443 Points ∼90% -2%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
9997 Points ∼86% -6%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
10377 Points ∼89% -2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (9696 - 11774, n=15)
10888 Points ∼94% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1160 - 19657, n=190, last 2 years)
6951 Points ∼60% -34%
Memory (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
7677 Points ∼87%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
6300 Points ∼72% -18%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
7526 Points ∼86% -2%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5352 Points ∼61% -30%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
7692 Points ∼88% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
8789 Points ∼100% +14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (5352 - 9044, n=15)
7341 Points ∼84% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (522 - 9044, n=190, last 2 years)
4522 Points ∼51% -41%
Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
14427 Points ∼94%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
13167 Points ∼86% -9%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
12938 Points ∼84% -10%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
15346 Points ∼100% +6%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
12801 Points ∼83% -11%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
12732 Points ∼83% -12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (9399 - 15739, n=15)
13581 Points ∼88% -6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (349 - 25642, n=190, last 2 years)
6049 Points ∼39% -58%
Web (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11i
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1876 Points ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
1612 Points ∼86% -14%
OnePlus 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
1627 Points ∼87% -13%
realme GT 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1543 Points ∼82% -18%
Xiaomi Poco F3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 870 5G, Adreno 650, 6144
1658 Points ∼88% -12%
Xiaomi Mi 11
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1434 Points ∼76% -24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (1434 - 1983, n=15)
1699 Points ∼91% -9%
Average of class Smartphone
  (10 - 2392, n=190, last 2 years)
1308 Points ∼70% -30%
Jetstream 2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 11i (Chrome 92.0.4515.115)
115.735 Points ∼100%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (61.3 - 119, n=10)
94.5 Points ∼82% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 11 (Chrome 88)
83.152 Points ∼72% -28%
Xiaomi Poco F3 (Chrome 90)
75.089 Points ∼65% -35%
OnePlus 9 (MS Edge)
61.34 Points ∼53% -47%
Average of class Smartphone (12.4 - 182, n=178, last 2 years)
53.4 Points ∼46% -54%
JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 11i (Chrome 92.0.4515.115)
209.12 Points ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8 (Chrome 90)
184.49 Points ∼88% -12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (119 - 210, n=14)
167 Points ∼80% -20%
Xiaomi Mi 11 (Chrome 88)
137.89 Points ∼66% -34%
OnePlus 9 (MS Edge)
119.23 Points ∼57% -43%
realme GT 5G (Chrome 91)
118.55 Points ∼57% -43%
Xiaomi Poco F3 (Chrome 90)
105.4 Points ∼50% -50%
Average of class Smartphone (10.8 - 414, n=188, last 2 years)
97.2 Points ∼46% -54%
Speedometer 2.0 - Result
Xiaomi Mi 11i (Chrome 92.0.4515.115)
113.1 runs/min ∼100%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (54.7 - 114, n=9)
84 runs/min ∼74% -26%
Xiaomi Poco F3 (Chrome 90)
74.8 runs/min ∼66% -34%
Xiaomi Mi 11 (Chrome 88)
62.8 runs/min ∼56% -44%
OnePlus 9 (MS Edge)
54.65 runs/min ∼48% -52%
Average of class Smartphone (9 - 244, n=164, last 2 years)
53.4 runs/min ∼47% -53%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Xiaomi Mi 11i (Chrome 92.0.4515.115)
166 Points ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8 (Chrome 90)
149 Points ∼90% -10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (103 - 166, n=13)
140 Points ∼84% -16%
Xiaomi Poco F3 (Chrome 90)
125 Points ∼75% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 11 (Chrome 88)
124 Points ∼75% -25%
OnePlus 9 (MS Edge)
119 Points ∼72% -28%
realme GT 5G (Chrome 91)
105 Points ∼63% -37%
Average of class Smartphone (20 - 252, n=194, last 2 years)
81.8 Points ∼49% -51%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 11i (Chrome 92.0.4515.115)
45398 Points ∼100%
Asus ZenFone 8 (Chrome 90)
37926 Points ∼84% -16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (23491 - 46075, n=15)
34811 Points ∼77% -23%
Xiaomi Mi 11 (Chrome 88)
27539 Points ∼61% -39%
Xiaomi Poco F3 (Chrome 90)
26577 Points ∼59% -41%
OnePlus 9 (Chrome89)
23843 Points ∼53% -47%
realme GT 5G (Chrome 91)
23491 Points ∼52% -48%
Average of class Smartphone (1986 - 64222, n=202, last 2 years)
18944 Points ∼42% -58%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (414 - 29635, n=204, last 2 years)
3748 ms * ∼100% -306%
realme GT 5G (Chrome 91)
1841.4 ms * ∼49% -99%
Xiaomi Poco F3 (Chrome 90)
1743.8 ms * ∼47% -89%
Xiaomi Mi 11 (Chrome 88)
1721.5 ms * ∼46% -86%
OnePlus 9 (Chrome89)
1692.34 ms * ∼45% -83%
Asus ZenFone 8 (Chrome 90)
1397.2 ms * ∼37% -51%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (919 - 1841, n=15)
1368 ms * ∼36% -48%
Xiaomi Mi 11i (Chrome 92.0.4515.115)
923.6 ms * ∼25%

* ... smaller is better

Equipped with fast UFS 3.1 storage, the Mi 11i performs decently in the read and write benchmarks, but it still doesn't quite reach its competitors' performance. Although the read performance is very good, the write performance and the 4 KB random reads/writes don't come close to the Mi 11's performance, even after repeated runs of Androbench. That said, the system performance still remains top-notch.

Xiaomi Mi 11iAsus ZenFone 8OnePlus 9realme GT 5GXiaomi Poco F3Xiaomi Mi 11Average 256 GB UFS 3.1 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
36%
21%
3%
2%
33%
31%
-36%
Sequential Read 256KB
1627.84
1781.44
9%
1872.3
15%
1587.31
-2%
1378.12
-15%
1614.92
-1%
1768 ?(1330 - 2037, n=24)
9%
807 ?(41.9 - 2037, n=273, last 2 years)
-50%
Sequential Write 256KB
552.4
767.3
39%
739.39
34%
575.05
4%
684.13
24%
754.41
37%
827 ?(552 - 1559, n=24)
50%
365 ?(11.9 - 1321, n=273, last 2 years)
-34%
Random Read 4KB
181.01
292.27
61%
225.38
25%
198.72
10%
208.02
15%
278.54
54%
252 ?(181 - 325, n=24)
39%
142 ?(13.5 - 325, n=273, last 2 years)
-22%
Random Write 4KB
205.89
272.92
33%
221.45
8%
208.42
1%
170.57
-17%
289.32
41%
258 ?(180 - 370, n=24)
25%
132 ?(5.5 - 330, n=273, last 2 years)
-36%

Games - Adreno 660 provides smooth gaming

Needless to say, games run smoothly on the Mi 11i. However, our small selection from the Play Store also shows that the smartphone isn't always able to make use of its 120 Hz display. Only 30 frames per second are possible in PUBG Mobile (in the HD setting) and Armajet, but the frame rates only drop below this value very rarely. Overall, the Mi 11i seems to limit the frame rates more than the Mi 11, which manages up to 60 fps in PUBG Mobile as well as in other games.

Nevertheless, gamers are still very well served with the Mi 11i, which isn't only due to its high-end Adreno 660 GPU. The touch sampling rate of 360 Hz also contributes to the fun, while the two Dolby Atmos speakers on the sides provide a good sound.

We measure the game frame rates with the Gamebench tool.

Armajet
Armajet
PUBG Mobile
PUBG Mobile
0510152025303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303030313030303130303031303030313030303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303130313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303031303030313030303130303031303030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030303130303031303030313030313031293129312931293129312931293031293129312931243130303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030302931293130303030303030303030303030293129303030303030303030303030312931293030303030303031293030303030303030303030303031293129303030303030303030303030303129312931293129303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030303030Tooltip
; Armajet; 1.60.13: Ø30.2 (30-31)
; PUBG Mobile; 1.5.0: Ø30 (24-31)

Emissions - Xiaomi Mi 11i with throttling

Temperature

The Mi 11i's surface heats up to 40.1 °C (~104 °F) during use, but only when you subject it to a stress test for an hour like we did. However, it doesn't feel uncomfortable to the touch even then. In practice, the surface temperatures should usually be lower, but they can certainly be reached during longer gaming sessions.

We can't provide exact information on the temperature behavior of the Snapdragon 888, because the Mi 11i turned out to be uncooperative here. The 3DMark Wild Life Stress Test ends abruptly with the notification that the smartphone is overheated. The battery tests from GFXBench look better at first. The T-Rex and Manhattan test scenarios run smoothly, but GFXBench crashes without notice immediately before the results are displayed.

Max. Load
 39.2 °C
103 F
39 °C
102 F
36.2 °C
97 F
 
 39.5 °C
103 F
39.1 °C
102 F
36.2 °C
97 F
 
 38.2 °C
101 F
37.9 °C
100 F
35.9 °C
97 F
 
Maximum: 39.5 °C = 103 F
Average: 37.9 °C = 100 F
34.9 °C
95 F
37.1 °C
99 F
40.1 °C
104 F
34.1 °C
93 F
37.1 °C
99 F
39 °C
102 F
32.6 °C
91 F
36.9 °C
98 F
36.4 °C
98 F
Maximum: 40.1 °C = 104 F
Average: 36.5 °C = 98 F
Power Supply (max.)  29.5 °C = 85 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Fluke t3000FC (calibrated) & Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 37.9 °C / 100 F, compared to the average of 32.9 °C / 91 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 39.5 °C / 103 F, compared to the average of 35.2 °C / 95 F, ranging from 22.4 to 52.9 °C for the class Smartphone.
(±) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 40.1 °C / 104 F, compared to the average of 33.8 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 28.9 °C / 84 F, compared to the device average of 32.9 °C / 91 F.

Speakers

Just like in the Mi 11, the stereo speakers of the Mi 11i are located at the top and bottom. In contrast to the sibling model, though, they're not tuned by Harman Kardon, but they support Dolby Atmos and deliver a sound that's similar in quality to that of the Mi 11. Although there's hardly any bass, the mids and highs are very linear in return.

The Mi 11i doesn't have an audio jack. However, headsets and external speakers can be plugged into the smartphone's USB-C port using the included 3.5 mm adapter. Wirelessly, connections are possible via Bluetooth 5.2.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2038.4362527.531.23121.125.54023.923.75033.230.36320.320.38021.621.410025.525.712517.734.916018.25020015.547.525015.353.831517.659.440015.759.750016.665.363014.96980015.272.710001674.8125015.277.5160015.377.8200014.774.7250015.176.6315015.778.4400014.777.8500014.874.4630014.873.3800015.470.21000014.574.21250014.568.21600013.864.8SPL27.487.5N0.971.1median 15.3median 70.2Delta1.19.72634.528.328.623.329.224.328.833.936.422.527.722.525.923.925.617.23719.948.916.548.613.350.917.656.82055.919.66623.268.613.270.712.672.412.674.91473.512.776.512.777.513.278.613.774.613.773.913.974.113.473.31474.614.768.815.763.227.386.80.967.5median 14median 70.72.79.1hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseXiaomi Mi 11iXiaomi Mi 11
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Xiaomi Mi 11i audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (87.5 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 25% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (13.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.4% higher than median
(+) | mids are linear (4.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 4.8% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (18.5% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 11% of all tested devices in this class were better, 8% similar, 81% worse
» The best had a delta of 12%, average was 24%, worst was 65%
Compared to all devices tested
» 38% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 55% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 20%, worst was 65%

Xiaomi Mi 11 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.8 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 26% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (9.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.5% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 4.5% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (2.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (17.9% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 8% of all tested devices in this class were better, 6% similar, 86% worse
» The best had a delta of 12%, average was 24%, worst was 65%
Compared to all devices tested
» 34% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 59% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 20%, worst was 65%

Battery life - Fully recharged in less than an hour

Energy consumption

The Mi 11i isn't very power hungry and runs a bit more energy-efficiently than the Mi 11, which might be due to the latter's higher-resolution AMOLED display.

The included 33-watt power adapter charges the smartphone quickly. It only takes 36 minutes for the battery level to go from 0% to 80% in the test, and a full charge takes 52 minutes. Unlike the Mi 11, our current Xiaomi phone doesn't support wireless charging.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.02 / 0.37 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.98 / 1.4 / 1.46 Watt
Load midlight 6.21 / 9.62 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Currently we use the Metrahit Energy, a professional single phase power quality and energy measurement digital multimeter, for our measurements. Find out more about it here. All of our test methods can be found here.
Xiaomi Mi 11i
4520 mAh
Asus ZenFone 8
4000 mAh
OnePlus 9
4500 mAh
realme GT 5G
4500 mAh
Xiaomi Poco F3
4520 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 11
4600 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
24%
-20%
-5%
13%
-31%
-5%
-3%
Idle Minimum *
0.98
0.82
16%
0.9
8%
1.14
-16%
0.76
22%
1.57
-60%
1.055 ?(0.46 - 1.8, n=18)
-8%
0.949 ?(0.37 - 2.5, n=219, last 2 years)
3%
Idle Average *
1.4
1.1
21%
1.7
-21%
1.84
-31%
1.29
8%
1.92
-37%
1.531 ?(0.74 - 2.6, n=18)
-9%
1.804 ?(0.65 - 3.94, n=219, last 2 years)
-29%
Idle Maximum *
1.46
1.16
21%
2.7
-85%
1.87
-28%
1.45
1%
1.94
-33%
1.706 ?(0.78 - 3.1, n=18)
-17%
2.04 ?(0.69 - 4.2, n=219, last 2 years)
-40%
Load Average *
6.21
4.24
32%
5.4
13%
4.21
32%
4.6
26%
6.32
-2%
5.5 ?(4.21 - 6.44, n=18)
11%
4.47 ?(2.1 - 8.4, n=219, last 2 years)
28%
Load Maximum *
9.62
6.83
29%
11.1
-15%
8.07
16%
8.87
8%
11.65
-21%
9.84 ?(5.89 - 11.7, n=18)
-2%
7.3 ?(3.56 - 12.3, n=219, last 2 years)
24%

* ... smaller is better

Energy consumption: Geekbench (150 cd/m²)

0123456789104.714.824.684.691.311.1964.361.214.414.824.84.771.3261.2014.721.3194.991.213.241.3584.031.1994.241.2035.795.865.811.2343.921.2627.067.275.114.381.2855.281.461.291.2735.495.073.441.5271.3045.565.655.455.425.511.2195.65.71.2424.341.6561.3269.118.919.779.369.039.499.269.849.239.319.69.231.2719.359.579.381.3485.619.219.138.969.199.081.2478.971.2268.982.034.928.598.511.2691.338.558.588.441.2498.296.661.3168.221.2678.014.738.417.211.268.321.4467.188.218.593.291.5088.538.51.3398.578.058.048.058.052.666.091.5987.128.036.798.038.018.038.047.198.026.858.038.011.2834.974.925.27.638.048.058.047.657.991.3687.794.664.794.624.514.514.521.4414.652.784.144.285.084.651.6422.674.091.5182.452.591.884.911.4385.021.7815.715.835.871.8263.151.7035.117.357.214.881.7261.8165.425.422.421.8915.195.365.452.992.074.665.65.865.775.331.6655.255.741.7072.743.493.58.678.529.138.838.678.948.749.518.878.759.148.968.944.489.319.446.961.5615.929.148.498.969.152.674.788.117.339.512.028.59.743.649.481.8289.689.588.061.6869.725.034.349.441.7179.299.241.7459.877.292.679.781.6719.689.559.462.175.339.523.139.869.319.819.169.67.862.143.574.389.889.589.849.8710.8