Notebookcheck
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra Review - A true heavyweight in the smartphone space

The best smartphone of 2021? With the Mi 11 Ultra, Xiaomi tried to create the best flagship smartphone in the Android space. The Mi 11 Ultra comes with a “massive” camera system. However, in one particular area, the Mi 11 Ultra is no better than an entry-level Android smartphone. Read our review to learn whether the Xiaomi smartphone is worth buying despite this shortcoming.
Marcus Herbrich, 👁 Daniel Schmidt (translated by Stanislav Kokhanyuk), 🇩🇪 🇳🇱 ...
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra

The Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra, which turned out to be a huge hit in China, packs the best hardware that is currently available in the smartphone market. Thanks to the largest camera sensor to ever be featured in a smartphone, the Mi 11 Ultra’s camera gets the highest DXOMARK score at this point in time. 

The rest of the specifications sheet also looks very impressive. This is why the Mi 11 Ultra costs about as much as the Galaxy S21 Ultra—at least in Europe. In Germany, the version with 12 GB of RAM and 256 GB of UFS 3.1 memory has an MSRP of 1200 Euros (~$1453). The Mi 11, which launched in December, costs 400 Euros (~$484) less. Buyers can save a lot of money by importing the Mi 11 Ultra from China. For instance, TradingShenzhen sells the Chinese version of the Mi 11 Ultra for just 830 Euros (~$1005). TradingShenzhen lent us the Chinese version of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra for this review. 

, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra (Mi 11 Series)
Processor
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G 8 x 1.8 - 2.8 GHz, Cortex-X1 / A78 / A55 (Kryo 680)
Graphics adapter
Memory
12288 MB 
Display
6.81 inch 20:9, 3200 x 1440 pixel 515 PPI, capacitive , AMOLED, Corning Gorilla Glass 7, glossy: yes, HDR, 120 Hz
Storage
256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash, 256 GB 
, 225 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, USB-C Power Delivery (PD), Audio Connections: USB-C, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, color spectrum, barometer, hall sensor, OTG, Miracast, IR blaster, reverse WC, secondary screen
Networking
Wi-Fi 6E (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5/ax = Wi-Fi 6), Bluetooth 5.2, 5G: n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28/n38/n40/n41/n77/n78/n79, 4G: FDD-LTE :B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B17/B20/B28/B32/B66, TDD-LTE:B38/B40/B41/B42, 3G: WCDMA:B1/B2/B4/B5/B8/B19, 2G: GSM:850 900 1800 MHz, Dual SIM, LTE, 5G, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.38 x 164.3 x 74.6 ( = 0.33 x 6.47 x 2.94 in)
Battery
5000 mAh Lithium-Ion
Charging
wireless charging, fast charging / Quickcharge
Operating System
Android 11
Camera
Primary Camera: 50 MPix (f/2.0, 24mm, 1/1.12", 1.4µm) + 48 MP (5X optical zoom, f/4.1, 120mm, 1/2.0", 0.8µm) + 48 MP (128˚, f/2.2, 12mm, 1/2.0", 0.8µm)
Secondary Camera: 20 MPix (f/2.2, 27mm, 1/3.4", 0.8µm)
Additional features
Speakers: stereo, Keyboard: virtual, charger, USB cable, case, MiUI 12.5, 12 Months Warranty, Widevine L1, SAR value: 0.547W/​kg Head, 0.991W/​kg Body (Chinese version; these values might be different with the EU version)), fanless, waterproof
Weight
234 g ( = 8.25 oz / 0.52 pounds) ( = 0 oz / 0 pounds)
Price
1200 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Likely Competitors

Rating
Date
Model
Weight
Drive
Size
Resolution
Best Price
89 %
06/2021
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
234 g256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.81"3200x1440
90 %
02/2021
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14
227 g128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.80"3200x1440
88 %
04/2021
OnePlus 9 Pro
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
197 g256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.70"3216x1440
86 %
06/2021
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
188 g128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.68"2400x1080
88 %
04/2021
Asus ROG Phone 5
SD 888 5G, Adreno 660
239 g256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash6.78"2448x1080

Case - Xiaomi smartphone with a hole-punch display

Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra in Ceramic Black
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra in Ceramic Black
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra in Ceramic Wihte
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra in Ceramic Wihte

The Mi 11 Ultra is made of glass and ceramic. It comes in the two following colour schemes: White and Black. However, OnePlus offers colourful variants of its flagship, the 9 Pro. The Mi 11 Ultra has an IP68 certification.

The Mi 11 Ultra feels very premium in the hand, in large part because it weighs 239 g (0.53 lbs). The Xiaomi smartphone is quite heavy and is not particularly easy to handle. The junctures where the front glass and the ceramic back meet the metal frame are very smooth. The smartphone feels like a solid piece.

The 6.81-inch screen is protected by Gorilla Glass Victus. All four corners of the curved OLED panel are rounded. The display has very small bezels. The screen-to-body ratio of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra amounts to 91.4%. The Xiaomi Mi 11 has the same screen-to-body ratio.

The most noticeable design element of the Mi 11 Ultra is the large camera bump with a secondary display. Whether users like this or not will come down to individual preference. The Xiaomi smartphone does not feel top-heavy. What is more, it does not wobble when it lies on a flat surface.

Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

Size Comparison

172.83 mm / 6.8 inch 77.25 mm / 3.04 inch 9.9 mm / 0.3898 inch 239 g0.527 lbs165.1 mm / 6.5 inch 75.6 mm / 2.98 inch 8.9 mm / 0.3504 inch 227 g0.5 lbs164.3 mm / 6.47 inch 74.6 mm / 2.94 inch 8.38 mm / 0.3299 inch 234 g0.516 lbs163.2 mm / 6.43 inch 73.6 mm / 2.9 inch 8.7 mm / 0.3425 inch 197 g0.4343 lbs161.53 mm / 6.36 inch 72.96 mm / 2.87 inch 8 mm / 0.315 inch 188 g0.4145 lbs

Connectivity & Features - Mi 11 Ultra with an IR blaster

The most interesting feature of the Mi 11 Ultra is a secondary display, which is integrated into the camera module. The 1.1-inch OLED panel has a native resolution of 294x126 pixels. It can be used to display notifications or as a viewfinder for the main camera. With MiUI 12.5, Xiaomi brought Always-on-Display functionality to its smartphones.

The Mi 11 Ultra supports 5G dual SIM functionality. Thanks to USB On-The-Go functionality, users can connect external devices to the smartphone. Miracast, which enables seamless display of multimedia content over Wi-Fi, works without any issues. The Mi 11 Ultra features a USB-C port, which, unfortunately, operates at USB 2.0 speeds. There is also an IR blaster, which is why the smartphone can be used to control home entertainment devices.

The Android smartphone has 256 GB of UFS 3.1 memory. Only 225 GB is available to the user. The amount of storage space cannot be increased.

Left side
Left side
Right side (buttons)
Right side (buttons)
Top (speaker grill, microphone hole, IR blaster)
Top (speaker grill, microphone hole, IR blaster)
Bottom (speaker grill, microphone hole, USB-C port, card tray)
Bottom (speaker grill, microphone hole, USB-C port, card tray)

Software - Xiaomi smartphone with MiUI 12.5

The Mi 11 Ultra runs Android 11 (security patch level at the time of our review: April, 2021). The Xiaomi smartphone comes with a custom launcher known as MiUI (current version at the time of our review: 12.5).

Xiaomi’s custom launcher looks very nice and offers a lot of customisation options. In terms of design, Xiaomi’s Android skin bears a lot of resemblance to Apple’s iOS.

The EU version of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra supports Google Play Services and comes with the Google Play Store preinstalled. However, the Chinese version does not support Google Play Services out of the box. Moreover, it does not even have the German language pack. Instead, it relies on Chinese alternatives such as Xiaomi’s own services. In any case, users can easily install Google Play Services after they purchase the device. However, some applications will not work because of the missing certifications.

Fortunately, there are no system advertisements on Xiaomi’s flagship smartphone—at least as far as the Chinese version is concerned. The Mi 11 also did not have any system advertisements. The Mi 11 Ultra supports the Camera2 L3 API. Widevine L1 is also supported, which is why users will be able to stream video in HD quality.

Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra

Communication & GNSS - Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra with 5G

The Xiaomi smartphone features dual SIM functionality, a Bluetooth (5.2) module and an NFC chip for contactless payments. The Mi 11 Ultra supports Wi-Fi 6E and MIMO (VHT160) technology. The Mi 11 Ultra manages to achieve very high upload speeds. However, the download speeds were considerably lower with our reference-grade router Netgear Nighthawk AX12.

The Mi 11 Ultra comes with a 5G modem (Qualcomm X60). Potential buyers should be aware of the fact that the Chinese version of the Mi 11 Ultra does not feature a Play Protect certification, meaning that it does not work with Google Pay.

In addition to a wide array of 5G bands, the Xiaomi smartphone also supports 17 LTE frequency bands (all frequency bands relevant for Germany are supported by the Chinese version of the Mi 11 Ultra).

Networking
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Asus ROG Phone 5
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
1238 (643min - 1325max) MBit/s ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
1190 (1121min - 1230max) MBit/s ∼96%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
1175 (1141min - 1218max) MBit/s ∼95% -1%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Mali-G78 MP14, Exynos 2100 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
803 (437min - 889max) MBit/s ∼65% -33%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Mali-G78 MP14, Exynos 2100 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
633 (523min - 703max) MBit/s ∼51% -47%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
680 (649min - 703max) MBit/s ∼55% -43%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.59 - 1599, n=303, last 2 years)
415 MBit/s ∼34% -65%
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Mali-G78 MP14, Exynos 2100 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
922 (904min - 928max) MBit/s ∼100% +18%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Mali-G78 MP14, Exynos 2100 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
169 (156min - 180max) MBit/s ∼18% -78%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
799 (635min - 854max) MBit/s ∼87% +3%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
788 (735min - 867max) MBit/s ∼85% +1%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
786 (755min - 837max) MBit/s ∼85% +1%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
779 (363min - 824max) MBit/s ∼84%
Average of class Smartphone
  (15.5 - 1414, n=303, last 2 years)
419 MBit/s ∼45% -46%
065130195260325390455520585650715780845910975104011051170363725726728768793777806802824809798800804792788803804795814799795755770735754753734780809363725726728768793777806802824809798800804792788803804795814799795755770735754753734780809118612001133115011921186118912011200121411871150112111541141118811711200121512201159121912301199120112211223121012001230Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø767 (363-824)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø1190 (1121-1230)
Geolocation indoors
Geolocation indoors
Geolocation outdoors
Geolocation outdoors

To determine how accurate our review device is when it comes to navigation, we take it with us on a bike ride. During this ride, we are also accompanied by the professional navigator Garmin Edge 500. There is only a 60-m (~197-ft) difference between the high-end Chinese smartphone and the Garmin Edge 500 at the end of our 10-km ride. The Mi 11 Ultra did not deviate too much from the professional navigator and had no trouble accurately mapping the route we took. This is why it is well-suited for navigation.

For geolocation, our review device relies on the following global navigation satellite systems: GPS (L1+L5), GLONASS, BeiDou (B1I+B1C+B2a) and Galileo (E1+E5a). Both outdoors and indoors, the user’s location is acquired very quickly. The Android smartphone has a margin of error of 3 m (~10 ft) when it comes to determining the user’s geographical location.

Navigation: Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra vs. Garmin Edge 500
Navigation: Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra vs. Garmin Edge 500
Navigation: Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra vs. Garmin Edge 500
Navigation: Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra vs. Garmin Edge 500
Navigation: Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra vs. Garmin Edge 500
Navigation: Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra vs. Garmin Edge 500

Telephony & Call Quality - Xiaomi smartphone with VoLTE

Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra

The call quality of the Mi 11 Ultra is on a very good level. Our call partner describes the quality of the microphone as very good—voices are reproduced very clearly.

The Xiaomi smartphone does not support eSIM functionality (at least in Europe). Only two physical SIM cards can be used. However, both Wi-Fi Calling and VoLTE are supported.

Cameras - Mi 11 Ultra only with a triple-camera system

Selfie taken with the main camera of the Mi 11 Ultra
Selfie taken with the main camera of the Mi 11 Ultra
Selfie taken with the front-facing camera of the Mi 11 Ultra (photo mode)
Selfie taken with the front-facing camera of the Mi 11 Ultra (photo mode)
Selfie taken with the front-facing camera of the Mi 11 Ultra (portrait mode)
Selfie taken with the front-facing camera of the Mi 11 Ultra (portrait mode)

The Mi 10 Ultra did very well in our camera test. With the Mi 11 Ultra, Xiaomi has upped its camera game once again. The Mi 11 Ultra features only a triple-camera system. However, the main sensor, which was made by Samsung, has a huge size (1/1.12 inches) for a smartphone. The pixel size is 1.4-μm, and the “super” pixel size is 2.8 μm (which is achieved through quad pixel binning).

Photographs taken with Samsung’s ISOCELL GN2 sensor look incredibly detailed and very colour-accurate. However, the dynamic range is not always optimal. Despite Samsung’s Dual Pixel Pro technology, the sharpness is not on a very high level—especially in the corners. The 50-MP image sensor reveals its true strength in low-light environments. The sensor captures a lot of detail even in the dark, and the shots are always properly exposed.

The Mi 11 Ultra offers 5X optical zoom and 120X digital zoom, thanks to its 48-MP Periscope lens. Thanks to optical image stabilisation, the Xiaomi smartphone produces usable images even when using 10X zoom. Images taken when using 5X zoom look surprisingly good as well.

The 12-mm ultra wide-angle camera has an impressive field of view of 128° and a 48-MP image sensor. This camera produces detailed and colour-accurate images, which are slightly blurry. However, photos shot with the ultra wide-angle lens appear realistic because of the minimal amount of sharpening that the Xiaomi smartphone applies, unlike most other competing smartphones. Howbeit, the corners of the ultra wide-angle photographs look quite blurry.

The main, ultra wide-angle and Percipoe cameras can record 8K video at 24 FPS. Those who want a higher frame rate can switch to 4K (up to 60 FPS) or 1080p (up to 1920 FPS). The smartphone also offers a night video mode, in which users can shoot 1080p video at 30 FPS. Switching between cameras when recording video is not possible.

The front-facing camera of the Mi 11 Ultra takes very good selfies. Thanks to a secondary display on the back, which can serve as a viewfinder, buyers can use the main camera to take extremely high-quality selfies—only in photo mode, at this point in time. The 20-MP selfie shooter should get an update in the future, which will allow users to record UHD video. The portrait mode will also be unlocked in a future update.

Ultra-wide angle
Ultra-wide angle
Wide angle
Wide angle
120X zoom (max)
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Wide angleWide angleLow-light photographyUltra-wide angle5X zoom

We use X-Rite’s ColorChecker Passport to further examine the colour accuracy of the 50-MP main camera. We take two photographs of the ColorChecker Passport, one under full studio lighting, and the other at 1 Lux.

Under controlled lighting conditions, most colours are well-reproduced. There are only some minor issues with the reproduction of the reds and some blue tones. The colours are also slightly overbrightened, which is a very common issue for smartphone cameras.

The photographs of our testing chart appear somewhat blurry in the corners.

ColorChecker
16.5 ∆E
7.8 ∆E
11.1 ∆E
15.8 ∆E
7.5 ∆E
6.2 ∆E
7.7 ∆E
7.4 ∆E
11 ∆E
5.7 ∆E
6.8 ∆E
6.6 ∆E
5.9 ∆E
11.6 ∆E
11.4 ∆E
7 ∆E
6.3 ∆E
5.1 ∆E
6.4 ∆E
0.7 ∆E
5.5 ∆E
5.7 ∆E
2.5 ∆E
5.5 ∆E
ColorChecker Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra: 7.65 ∆E min: 0.69 - max: 16.49 ∆E
ColorChecker
26 ∆E
43.5 ∆E
33.4 ∆E
32.4 ∆E
35.6 ∆E
48.7 ∆E
39.7 ∆E
27 ∆E
27.7 ∆E
23 ∆E
49.1 ∆E
50.4 ∆E
24.1 ∆E
36.3 ∆E
21.8 ∆E
50.3 ∆E
29.9 ∆E
35.5 ∆E
48.9 ∆E
51.2 ∆E
44.4 ∆E
33.2 ∆E
23.4 ∆E
13.6 ∆E
ColorChecker Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra: 35.36 ∆E min: 13.55 - max: 51.15 ∆E

Accessories & Warranty - Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra with a protective case

In addition to the smartphone itself, the box of the Mi 11 Ultra contains a modular 67-W charger, a USB cable, a transparent protective case, a SIM card removal tool and a USB-C to 3.5-mm headphone jack adapter. However, the Chinese version of the Mi 11 Ultra does not come with a charger this year.

The Xiaomi smartphone comes with a 12-month warranty. TradingShenzhen allows buyers to send the device to a German address if it breaks during the warranty period. This way Xiaomi can ensure faster shipping times to China.

Input Devices & Handling - Xiaomi smartphone with a 480-Hz touch sampling rate

The Mi 11 Ultra comes with a very high-quality vibration motor, which ensures very pleasant haptic feedback. Xiaomi’s flagship smartphone feels very responsive, thanks to the 120-Hz refresh rate and 480-Hz touch sampling rate. The touch layer of the display updates 480 times per second, which is why the screen feels so responsive.

The Mi 11 Ultra has an in-display fingerprint scanner. It unlocks the smartphone quickly. However, the OnePlus 9 Pro’s in-display fingerprint sensor is a little faster. The optical fingerprint reader is positioned very well. However, it is not very reliable—Xiaomi can improve the accuracy through a software update. The Mi 11 Ultra also supports facial recognition. The 2D face unlock works reliably and quickly. However, it is not secure.

Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra

Display - Mi 11 Ultra with a WQHD+ panel

Pixel arrangement
Pixel arrangement
PWM flickering at 1% - 15% brightness
PWM flickering at 1% - 15% brightness
PWM flickering at 68% brightness and above
PWM flickering at 68% brightness and above

The Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra features a 6.81-inch OLED panel from Samsung. The display has a native resolution of 3200x1440 pixels and supports adaptive refresh rate technology. The refresh rate can fluctuate between 30 and 120 Hz, depending on the screen content. Here, the Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra has a clear edge because it can reduce its refresh rate to 10 Hz and therefore save more energy.

The 10-bit panel of the Mi 11 Ultra has a very high brightness of 891 cd/m². The brightness is distributed very evenly across the screen. In our APL50 test, in which the screen displays a pattern that consists of evenly distributed dark and bright areas, the Xiaomi smartphone achieved 1252 cd/m², which is a very impressive result. Xiaomi claims that the Mi 11 Ultra can achieve a brightness of 1700 cd/m². We were unable to confirm this claim in our testing. However, the Mi 11 Ultra will probably be able to achieve a higher brightness in a 10% stimulus window (APL10). In any case, the Mi 11 Ultra offers enough brightness for HDR content.

For brightness control, the Mi 11 Ultra utilises pulse width modulation (PWM). Below 68% brightness, the screen flickers at a relatively high frequency of 455 to 510 Hz. Below 15% brightness, the frequency fluctuates between 138 and 490 Hz. At maximum brightness, the frequency amounts to 120 Hz. However, here the amplitude is very small. What is more, there is a DC dimming mode.

886
cd/m²
884
cd/m²
893
cd/m²
887
cd/m²
891
cd/m²
892
cd/m²
887
cd/m²
882
cd/m²
888
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 3
Maximum: 893 cd/m² Average: 887.8 cd/m² Minimum: 2.67 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 99 %
Center on Battery: 891 cd/m²
Contrast: ∞:1 (Black: 0 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 1.9 | 0.59-29.43 Ø5.6
ΔE Greyscale 1.3 | 0.64-98 Ø5.8
99.8% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.3
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
AMOLED, 3200x1440, 6.81
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Dynamic AMOLED 2X, 3200x1440, 6.80
OnePlus 9 Pro
AMOLED, 3216x1440, 6.70
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
AMOLED, 2400x1080, 6.68
Asus ROG Phone 5
AMOLED, 2448x1080, 6.78
Screen
-9%
5%
-151%
-1%
Brightness middle
891
910
2%
733
-18%
638
-28%
789
-11%
Brightness
888
913
3%
746
-16%
641
-28%
795
-10%
Brightness Distribution
99
98
-1%
97
-2%
93
-6%
98
-1%
Black Level *
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
1.9
2
-5%
0.95
50%
4
-111%
1.4
26%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
3.7
3.1
16%
2.01
46%
14
-278%
3
19%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
1.3
2.2
-69%
1.7
-31%
7.2
-454%
1.7
-31%
Gamma
2.3 96%
2.06 107%
2.21 100%
2.27 97%
2.27 97%
CCT
6527 100%
6512 100%
6591 99%
7190 90%
6596 99%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 510.2 Hz ≤ 68 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 510.2 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 68 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 510.2 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 14804 (minimum: 5 - maximum: 2500000) Hz was measured.

Our CalMAN analysis reveals very good colour and grayscale performance in Enhanced mode. Furthermore, the colour temperature of 6525 K is very close to the ideal value (6500 K). Other colour modes are less accurate. The two colour spaces that we measured (sRGB, P3) are almost completely covered by the OLED panel.

The OLED panel of the Mi 11 Ultra can achieve perfect blacks because each pixel can be completely switched off. This is why the contrast ratio tends to infinity. The Mi 11 Ultra is a great device for watching HDR movies, especially since it features an HDR10+ certification.

Colour accuracy (colour space: P3, mode: Auto)
Colour accuracy (colour space: P3, mode: Auto)
Colour space coverage (colour space: P3, mode: Auto)
Colour space coverage (colour space: P3, mode: Auto)
Grayscale tracking (colour space: P3, mode: Auto)
Grayscale tracking (colour space: P3, mode: Auto)
Saturation (colour space: P3, mode: Auto)
Saturation (colour space: P3, mode: Auto)
Colour accuracy (colour space: P3, mode: Enhanced)
Colour accuracy (colour space: P3, mode: Enhanced)
Colour space coverage (colour space: P3, mode: Enhanced)
Colour space coverage (colour space: P3, mode: Enhanced)
Grayscale tracking (colour space: P3, mode: Enhanced)
Grayscale tracking (colour space: P3, mode: Enhanced)
Saturation (colour space: P3, mode: Enhanced)
Saturation (colour space: P3, mode: Enhanced)

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
2.4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 1.2 ms rise
↘ 1.2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (24 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
3.2 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 1.2 ms rise
↘ 2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (38.1 ms).

The Mi 11 Ultra does exceptionally well outdoors. Thanks to its high brightness and contrast ratio, the screen content is readable even in direct sunlight. However, with the ambient light sensor disabled, the brightness amounts to only 489 cd/m².

The viewing angles of the OLED panel are very good. Howbeit, the brightness drops slightly when the screen is viewed at an acute angle.

Viewing angles of the Mi 11 Ultra
Viewing angles of the Mi 11 Ultra

Performance - Xiaomi smartphone with the Snapdragon 888

Xiaomi’s flagship smartphone is powered by the Qualcomm Snapdragon 888. The SoC features one Prime Core with a maximum frequency of 2.84 GHz, three Cortex-A78 high-performance cores with a maximum frequency of 2.42 GHz, and four Cortex-A55 cores with a maximum clock speed of 1.8 GHz. The Qualcomm Adreno 660 serves as the GPU.

In our suite of benchmarks, the Snapdragon 888 in the Mi 11 Ultra is able to achieve impressive results. Nevertheless, the Mi 11 Ultra is not able to beat the Asus ROG Phone 5. The Xiaomi smartphone does not perform very well in the PCMark benchmark. Under sustained load, the Mi 11 Ultra does much better than the Mi 11—it does not shut down from overheating and is able to complete our benchmarks. However, there are very big fluctuations in performance, because the smartphone has to throttle down from time to time to avoid reaching extreme temperatures.

In normal use, the Mi 11 Ultra cuts a very fine figure, because the thermal performance is not as important here. The system performance is on a very high level, and the applications start very quickly. The Xiaomi smartphone features very fast UFS 3.1 memory. However, the internal memory could have been faster. The Snapdragon 888 is capable of higher data transfer rates.

Geekbench 5.3
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
989 Points ∼86%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
1106 Points ∼96% +12%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
1129 Points ∼98% +14%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1156 Points ∼100% +17%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
1124 Points ∼97% +14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (989 - 1156, n=14)
1119 Points ∼97% +13%
Average of class Smartphone
  (58 - 1604, n=235, last 2 years)
565 Points ∼49% -43%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
3462 Points ∼93%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
3583 Points ∼96% +3%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
3666 Points ∼99% +6%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
3456 Points ∼93% 0%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
3717 Points ∼100% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (3379 - 3810, n=14)
3609 Points ∼97% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (248 - 4455, n=235, last 2 years)
1939 Points ∼52% -44%
Vulkan Score 5.3 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
4287 Points ∼69%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
6252 Points ∼100% +46%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
4544 Points ∼73% +6%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4336 Points ∼69% +1%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
5814 Points ∼93% +36%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (3894 - 6176, n=13)
4698 Points ∼75% +10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (72 - 6524, n=125, last 2 years)
2045 Points ∼33% -52%
OpenCL Score 5.3 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
4599 Points ∼62%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
7400 Points ∼100% +61%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
4604 Points ∼62% 0%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
4764 Points ∼64% +4%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
4716 Points ∼64% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (4566 - 4764, n=13)
4662 Points ∼63% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (255 - 7514, n=129, last 2 years)
2133 Points ∼29% -54%
PCMark for Android
Work 3.0 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
13982 Points ∼84%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
14339 Points ∼87% +3%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
16564 Points ∼100% +18%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
16391 Points ∼99% +17%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (11705 - 16564, n=8)
14710 Points ∼89% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4436 - 16564, n=45, last 2 years)
9536 Points ∼58% -32%
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
14362 Points ∼96%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
10740 Points ∼71%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
15027 Points ∼100%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (10231 - 15027, n=8)
12213 Points ∼81%
Average of class Smartphone
  (82 - 15299, n=267, last 2 years)
7878 Points ∼52%
3DMark
Wild Life Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
5689 Points ∼99%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
5756 Points ∼100% +1%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
5736 Points ∼100% +1%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5598 Points ∼97% -2%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
5722 Points ∼99% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (5598 - 5942, n=13)
5760 Points ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (153 - 7275, n=91, last 2 years)
2735 Points ∼47% -52%
Wild Life Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
5734 Points ∼98%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
5873 Points ∼100% +2%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
5737 Points ∼98% 0%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
5765 Points ∼98% +1%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
5703 Points ∼97% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (5578 - 5925, n=13)
5768 Points ∼98% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (205 - 8672, n=88, last 2 years)
2941 Points ∼50% -49%
Wild Life Extreme (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
1552 Points ∼83%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
1871 Points ∼100% +21%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1556 Points ∼83% 0%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
1511 Points ∼81% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (1497 - 1559, n=8)
1535 Points ∼82% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (83 - 2288, n=39, last 2 years)
856 Points ∼46% -45%
Wild Life Extreme Unlimited (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
1498 Points ∼85%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
1758 Points ∼100% +17%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1478 Points ∼84% -1%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
1501 Points ∼85% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (1423 - 1555, n=8)
1497 Points ∼85% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (117 - 1982, n=37, last 2 years)
873 Points ∼50% -42%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
120 fps ∼84%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
104 fps ∼73% -13%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
60 fps ∼42% -50%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
120 fps ∼84% 0%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
143 fps ∼100% +19%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (60 - 143, n=10)
98.3 fps ∼69% -18%
Average of class Smartphone
  (8.2 - 143, n=216, last 2 years)
57 fps ∼40% -52%
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
281 fps ∼97%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
154 fps ∼53% -45%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
258 fps ∼89% -8%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
290 fps ∼100% +3%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
273 fps ∼94% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (230 - 290, n=10)
266 fps ∼92% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4.3 - 322, n=216, last 2 years)
106 fps ∼37% -62%
GFXBench 3.0
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
98 fps ∼82%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
69 fps ∼58% -30%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
60 fps ∼50% -39%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
118 fps ∼98% +20%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
120 fps ∼100% +22%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (55 - 120, n=10)
89.8 fps ∼75% -8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4.5 - 120, n=214, last 2 years)
44.9 fps ∼37% -54%
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
177 fps ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
117 fps ∼66% -34%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
151 fps ∼85% -15%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
165 fps ∼93% -7%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
138 fps ∼78% -22%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (101 - 177, n=10)
151 fps ∼85% -15%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1 - 180, n=215, last 2 years)
61.9 fps ∼35% -65%
GFXBench 3.1
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
62 fps ∼64%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
51 fps ∼53% -18%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
57 fps ∼59% -8%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
97 fps ∼100% +56%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
96 fps ∼99% +55%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (36 - 105, n=10)
72.2 fps ∼74% +16%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.1 - 106, n=213, last 2 years)
35.4 fps ∼36% -43%
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
121 fps ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
74 fps ∼61% -39%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
69 fps ∼57% -43%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
112 fps ∼93% -7%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
103 fps ∼85% -15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (69 - 121, n=10)
105 fps ∼87% -13%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.4 - 121, n=213, last 2 years)
42.4 fps ∼35% -65%
GFXBench
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
35 fps ∼63%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
30 fps ∼54% -14%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
36 fps ∼64% +3%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
56 fps ∼100% +60%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
55 fps ∼98% +57%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (28 - 61, n=10)
46.4 fps ∼83% +33%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.5 - 61, n=212, last 2 years)
22.1 fps ∼39% -37%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
71 fps ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
58 fps ∼82% -18%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
59 fps ∼83% -17%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
66 fps ∼93% -7%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
66 fps ∼93% -7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (42 - 72, n=10)
63.1 fps ∼89% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.8 - 75, n=212, last 2 years)
25.4 fps ∼36% -64%
Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
44 fps ∼67%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
37 fps ∼56% -16%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
55 fps ∼83% +25%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
63 fps ∼95% +43%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
66 fps ∼100% +50%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (38 - 73, n=13)
56.4 fps ∼85% +28%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.5 - 73, n=281, last 2 years)
22.2 fps ∼34% -50%
1920x1080 Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
85 fps ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
69 fps ∼81% -19%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
63 fps ∼74% -26%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
70 fps ∼82% -18%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
80 fps ∼94% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (57 - 87, n=14)
73.5 fps ∼86% -14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.95 - 257, n=280, last 2 years)
25.5 fps ∼30% -70%
Aztec Ruins High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
26 fps ∼62%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
26 fps ∼62% 0%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
42 fps ∼100% +62%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
41 fps ∼98% +58%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
41 fps ∼98% +58%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (25 - 46, n=13)
37.8 fps ∼90% +45%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.2 - 60, n=281, last 2 years)
14.7 fps ∼35% -43%
2560x1440 Aztec Ruins High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
30 fps ∼94%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
28 fps ∼88% -7%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
28 fps ∼88% -7%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
29 fps ∼91% -3%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
32 fps ∼100% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (26 - 32, n=13)
28.7 fps ∼90% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.35 - 101, n=280, last 2 years)
10.1 fps ∼32% -66%
Antutu v9 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
801983 Points ∼98%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
749520 Points ∼92% -7%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
809906 Points ∼99% +1%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
815441 Points ∼100% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (795730 - 815441, n=7)
807622 Points ∼99% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (121238 - 815441, n=37, last 2 years)
465139 Points ∼57% -42%
AImark - Score v2.x (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
262983 Points ∼99%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
Points ∼0% -100%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
264766 Points ∼100% +1%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
171404 Points ∼65% -35%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (171404 - 264766, n=8)
233278 Points ∼88% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4293 - 264766, n=65, last 2 years)
58160 Points ∼22% -78%
BaseMark OS II
Overall (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
6365 Points ∼91%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
6247 Points ∼90% -2%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
6959 Points ∼100% +9%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
6843 Points ∼98% +8%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
6729 Points ∼97% +6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (6031 - 6959, n=10)
6558 Points ∼94% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (323 - 6959, n=199, last 2 years)
3623 Points ∼52% -43%
System (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
9696 Points ∼82%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
10936 Points ∼93% +13%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
11774 Points ∼100% +21%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
10896 Points ∼93% +12%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
11342 Points ∼96% +17%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (9696 - 11774, n=10)
10849 Points ∼92% +12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1160 - 14189, n=199, last 2 years)
6633 Points ∼56% -32%
Memory (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
7453 Points ∼82%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
6588 Points ∼73% -12%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
9044 Points ∼100% +21%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
7684 Points ∼85% +3%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
7579 Points ∼84% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (5352 - 9044, n=10)
7590 Points ∼84% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (522 - 9044, n=199, last 2 years)
4238 Points ∼47% -43%
Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
12776 Points ∼89%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
14362 Points ∼100% +12%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
13463 Points ∼94% +5%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
13543 Points ∼94% +6%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
12630 Points ∼88% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (12630 - 15628, n=10)
13643 Points ∼95% +7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (349 - 16996, n=199, last 2 years)
5605 Points ∼39% -56%
Web (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
1782 Points ∼90%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Samsung Exynos 2100 5G, Mali-G78 MP14, 12288
1471 Points ∼74% -17%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 12288
1633 Points ∼82% -8%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 8192
1983 Points ∼100% +11%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G, Adreno 660, 16384
1888 Points ∼95% +6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
  (1434 - 1983, n=10)
1685 Points ∼85% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (10 - 2169, n=199, last 2 years)
1272 Points ∼64% -29%
Jetstream 2 - Total Score
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G (chrome 90)
107.656 Points ∼100% +14%
Asus ROG Phone 5 (Chrome 89)
106.112 Points ∼99% +12%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra (Chrome91)
94.324 Points ∼88%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (61.3 - 108, n=7)
89.1 Points ∼83% -6%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra (Chrome 88)
76.623 Points ∼71% -19%
OnePlus 9 Pro (Microsoft Edge 46)
63.192 Points ∼59% -33%
Average of class Smartphone (12.4 - 161, n=185, last 2 years)
50 Points ∼46% -47%
JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G (chrome 90)
192.43 Points ∼100% +20%
Asus ROG Phone 5 (Chrome 89)
186.78 Points ∼97% +16%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra (Chrome91)
160.92 Points ∼84%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (119 - 192, n=9)
152 Points ∼79% -6%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra (Chrome 88)
127.31 Points ∼66% -21%
OnePlus 9 Pro (Microsoft Edge 46)
124.52 Points ∼65% -23%
Average of class Smartphone (10.8 - 375, n=193, last 2 years)
89.7 Points ∼47% -44%
Speedometer 2.0 - Result
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G (chrome 90)
114 runs/min ∼100% +16%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra (Chrome91)
98 runs/min ∼86%
Asus ROG Phone 5 (Chrome 89)
86.1 runs/min ∼76% -12%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra (Chrome 88)
84.1 runs/min ∼74% -14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (54.7 - 114, n=7)
82.9 runs/min ∼73% -15%
OnePlus 9 Pro (Microsoft Edge 46)
56 runs/min ∼49% -43%
Average of class Smartphone (9 - 196, n=166, last 2 years)
50.7 runs/min ∼44% -48%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Asus ROG Phone 5 (Chrome 89)
160 Points ∼100% +13%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G (chrome 90)
158 Points ∼99% +12%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra (Chrome91)
141 Points ∼88%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra (Chrome 88)
132 Points ∼83% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (103 - 160, n=9)
132 Points ∼83% -6%
OnePlus 9 Pro (Microsoft Edge 4689)
103 Points ∼64% -27%
Average of class Smartphone (20 - 194, n=203, last 2 years)
77.9 Points ∼49% -45%
Octane V2 - Total Score
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G (chrome 90)
38401 Points ∼100% +15%
Asus ROG Phone 5 (Chrome 89)
37629 Points ∼98% +13%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra (Chrome91)
33423 Points ∼87%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (23491 - 38401, n=10)
31439 Points ∼82% -6%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra (Chrome 88)
27275 Points ∼71% -18%
OnePlus 9 Pro (Microsoft Edge 46)
26829 Points ∼70% -20%
Average of class Smartphone (1986 - 58632, n=210, last 2 years)
17317 Points ∼45% -48%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (460 - 29635, n=212, last 2 years)
3993 ms * ∼100% -124%
OnePlus 9 Pro (Microsoft Edge 46)
1808 ms * ∼45% -1%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra (Chrome 88)
1785.6 ms * ∼45% -0%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra (Chrome91)
1782.32 ms * ∼45%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G (1297 - 1841, n=10)
1583 ms * ∼40% +11%
Asus ROG Phone 5 (Chrome 89)
1341.5 ms * ∼34% +25%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G (chrome 90)
1296.62 ms * ∼32% +27%

* ... smaller is better

Xiaomi Mi 11 UltraSamsung Galaxy S21 UltraOnePlus 9 ProZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5GAsus ROG Phone 5Average 256 GB UFS 3.1 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
10%
-5%
-18%
-2%
-7%
-58%
Sequential Read 256KB
1928.39
1710.18
-11%
1995
3%
1463.95
-24%
1778.64
-8%
1751 (1330 - 2037, n=18)
-9%
750 (41.9 - 2037, n=287, last 2 years)
-61%
Sequential Write 256KB
756.12
1077.13
42%
769
2%
689.07
-9%
794.64
5%
788 (671 - 1321, n=18)
4%
327 (11.9 - 1321, n=287, last 2 years)
-57%
Random Read 4KB
259.29
316.7
22%
258.7
0%
208.21
-20%
291.38
12%
255 (187 - 325, n=18)
-2%
134 (13.5 - 325, n=287, last 2 years)
-48%
Random Write 4KB
329.72
279.54
-15%
254.3
-23%
265.02
-20%
278.05
-16%
263 (205 - 330, n=18)
-20%
120 (4.97 - 330, n=287, last 2 years)
-64%

Gaming - Mi 11 Ultra with a 120-Hz screen

We use GameBench to record frame rates. The Xiaomi smartphone offers a Game Turbo Mode, which is supposed to improve the gaming experience.

The Mi 11 Ultra is able to achieve 40 FPS on the Ultra HD preset in PUBG Mobile. In PUBG, the frame rate seems to be limited to 60 FPS, despite the fact that Xiaomi’s flagship smartphone has a 120-Hz screen.

In less demanding Armajet, the Mi 11 Ultra is able to maintain 120 FPS most of the time. However, we recommend the Asus ROG Phone 5 to anyone who is interested in gaming on their smartphone. After 30 minutes of gaming, the Mi 11 Ultra gets quite hot. 

0102030405060708090100110120121120119121114120107120119120119119117110120120118121120120119121120113118117117118120121120120118120120118119119119119116117118118120117117119118118118115118118120117119116113112119119119117117116116120118117118118119120119118118121119111113116118116117117116117120115119117119120120121120120120119118121116118120119119121118117120121120119117114120117121118119119120118119118118120117115118120117118119119118119120120119117121120121119120120117114114118118120116114115111116117114111109108114109112114112119121117119119118114116114115112108115119119121116120121120119121114120107120119120119119117110120120118121120120119121120113118117117118120121120120118120120118119119119119116117118118120117117119118118118115118118120117119116113112119119119117117116116120118117118118119120119118118121119111113116118116117117116117120115119117119120120121120120120119118121116118120119119121118117120121120119117114120117121118119119120118119118118120117115118120117118119119118119120120119117121120121119120120117114114118118120116114115111116117114111109108114109112114112119121117119119118114116114115112108115119119121116120596153606059596060606061596060606061605960606059606061606059596160606060606060596160606012112011912111412010712011912011911911711012012011812112012011912112011311811711711812012112012011812012011811911911911911611711811812011711711911811811811511811812011711911611311211911911911711711611612011811711811811912011911811812111911111311611811611711711611712011511911711912012012112012012011911812111611812011911912111811712012112011911711412011712111811911912011811911811812011711511812011711811911911811912012011911712112012111912012011711411411811812011611411511111611711411110910811410911211411211912111711911911811411611411511210811511911912111612059615360605959606060606159606060606160596060605960606160605959616060606060606059616060605960606060606061596059616055596061606060615960596061596060616060606060586060615960606061596059606060595960616059606060596012112011912111412010712011912011911911711012012011812112012011912112011311811711711812012112012011812012011811911911911911611711811812011711711911811811811511811812011711911611311211911911911711711611612011811711811811912011911811812111911111311611811611711711611712011511911711912012012112012012011911812111611812011911912111811712012112011911711412011712111811911912011811911811812011711511812011711811911911811912012011911712112012111912012011711411411811812011611411511111611711411110910811410911211411211912111711911911811411611411511210811511911912111612059615360605959606060606159606060606160596060605960606160605959616060606060606059616060605960606060606061596059616055596061606060615960596061596060616060606060586060615960606061596059606060595960616059606060596060615960605860535960616060576061595960606160596060606060606159606059615960586159605960616060596060605960606160606060605960596159606060556060596061606059606060606061605960616059606061596060606159546060615960606160121120119121114120107120119120119119117110120120118121120120119121120113118117117118120121120120118120120118119119119119116117118118120117117119118118118115118118120117119116113112119119119117117116116120118117118118119120119118118121119111113116118116117117116117120115119117119120120121120120120119118121116118120119119121118117120121120119117114120117121118119119120118119118118120117115118120117118119119118119120120119117121120121119120120117114114118118120116114115111116117114111109108114109112114112119121117119119118114116114115112108115119119121116120596153606059596060606061596060606061605960606059606061606059596160606060606060596160606059606060606060615960596160555960616060606159605960615960606160606060605860606159606060615960596060605959606160596060605960606159606058605359606160605760615959606061605960606060606061596060596159605861596059606160605960606059606061606060606059605961596060605560605960616060596060606060616059606160596060615960606061595460606159606061604040404040404039414040404040404040394140394040413940394140404039404140403941404039404140394040414039403841403941394140394040414039404041394040404139404040413940403842394040404139404039403940394039413940404040403940404040403941393940404140394040414040394041394040404139404040404040404039414040403941403940404139404040404040404040404039413940404040404039414040403941394040403941404040Tooltip
; Armajet: Ø118 (107-121)
; PUBG Mobile; Smooth: Ø59.8 (53-61)
; PUBG Mobile; Balanced: Ø59.8 (55-61)
; PUBG Mobile; HD: Ø59.7 (53-61)
; PUBG Mobile; Ultra HD: Ø39.9 (38-42)

Emissions - Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra with stereo speakers

Temperature

According to Xiaomi, the Mi 11 Ultra is the world’s first smartphone to feature a “tri-phase” cooling system. It relies on phase changes (from solid to liquid to gas) to improve the cooling efficiency. Nevertheless, the Mi 11 Ultra still gets quite hot, just like the Mi 11 did.

We use GFXBench to test system stability under continuous load. Our stability test ran through but spat out an error message upon completion. Our stress test with 3DMark ran better. Here, the level of performance was very stable.

Stress test (Wild Life Extreme)
Stress test (Wild Life Extreme)
Stress test (Wild Life Extreme)
Stress test (Wild Life Extreme)
Stress test (Wild Life Extreme)
Stress test (Wild Life Extreme)
Stability test (Wild Life)
Stability test (Wild Life)
Stability test (Wild Life)
Stability test (Wild Life)
Stability test (Wild Life)
Stability test (Wild Life)
3DMark
Wild Life Stress Test Stability
Asus ROG Phone 5
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
94.2 (5375min - 5708max) % ∼100% +2%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
84.1 (4785min - 5690max) % ∼89% -9%
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
92.8 (5440min - 5882max) % ∼99% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
92.5 (5288min - 5715max) % ∼98%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Mali-G78 MP14, Exynos 2100 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
64.4 (3633min - 5645max) % ∼68% -30%
OnePlus 9 Pro
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
60.3 (3461min - 5740max) % ∼64% -35%
Wild Life Extreme Stress Test
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
96.9 (1429min - 1479max) % ∼100% +4%
Asus ROG Phone 5
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
96.4 (1454min - 1509max) % ∼99% +3%
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
93.5 (1404min - 1501max) % ∼96%
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Mali-G78 MP14, Exynos 2100 5G, 128 GB UFS 3.1 Flash
61.3 (1197min - 1952max) % ∼63% -34%
Max. Load
 38 °C
100 F
38.3 °C
101 F
39.7 °C
103 F
 
 38.3 °C
101 F
38.5 °C
101 F
38.8 °C
102 F
 
 37.5 °C
100 F
37.6 °C
100 F
36.6 °C
98 F
 
Maximum: 39.7 °C = 103 F
Average: 38.1 °C = 101 F
35.1 °C
95 F
35.8 °C
96 F
35.7 °C
96 F
34.4 °C
94 F
36 °C
97 F
35.7 °C
96 F
32.4 °C
90 F
34.5 °C
94 F
35.9 °C
97 F
Maximum: 36 °C = 97 F
Average: 35.1 °C = 95 F
Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Fluke t3000FC (calibrated) & Voltcraft IR-260
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 38.1 °C / 101 F, compared to the average of 32.9 °C / 91 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 39.7 °C / 103 F, compared to the average of 35.2 °C / 95 F, ranging from 22.4 to 52.9 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 36 °C / 97 F, compared to the average of 33.8 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 29.1 °C / 84 F, compared to the device average of 32.9 °C / 91 F.

Speakers

The stereo speakers, which were tuned by Harman Kardon, sound very good for a smartphone. The speakers are very loud (90 dB(A)) and produce a very pleasing sound despite the fact that the bass is almost completely missing.

The Mi 11 Ultra features a Bluetooth 5.2 module and supports a wide array of codecs (SBC, AAC, aptX, aptX HD, aptX Adaptive, aptX TWS+, LDAC, LDHC). Users can also connect wired headphones via the USB-C port.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs203045.12526.731.73125.623.94026.129.45036.437.76329.228.1802526.810017.830.512518.338.616018.648.620017.450.725014.258.831515.96340012.863.55001467.963013.369.980012.274.5100012.374.8125011.976.3160012.876.2200012.780.1250012.180.4315012.981.6400013.279.2500013.475.8630013.673.3800013.472.91000013.976.3125001465.61600014.262.6SPL25.289.5N0.778.4median 13.4median 72.9Delta1.28.830.825.822.62619.223.721.424.132.83618.624.218.123.715.427.710.739.41756.114.954.313.25812.562.311.565.710.566.89.968.311.971.110.676.213.676.81471.212.972.511.773.512.978.913.180.113.377.113.873.21479.513.574.414.272.51763.425880.675median 13.2median 71.21.27.4hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseXiaomi Mi 11 UltraSamsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (89.5 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 24.5% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.3% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (3.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 4.2% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (3.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (16.8% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 4% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 93% worse
» The best had a delta of 12%, average was 24%, worst was 65%
Compared to all devices tested
» 25% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 67% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 65%

Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (88 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 21.5% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.1% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 5.5% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (6.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (15.1% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 2% of all tested devices in this class were better, 1% similar, 97% worse
» The best had a delta of 12%, average was 24%, worst was 65%
Compared to all devices tested
» 17% of all tested devices were better, 4% similar, 78% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 65%

Battery Life - Xiaomi smartphone with fast charging

Energy Consumption

The 5000-mAh battery can be fully charged within 36 minutes with the 67-W charger—at least that is what the Chinese manufacturer claims. We were not able to substantiate this claim because the Chinese version of the Mi 11 Ultra, which we have, does not ship with the 67-W charger. The Xiaomi smartphone also supports 67-W wireless charging and 10-W reverse wireless charging.

When idle, the power draw is quite high. However, under load, the energy consumption is on a normal level.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.01 / 0.18 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 1.13 / 1.67 / 1.69 Watt
Load midlight 5.17 / 9.9 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Currently we use the Metrahit Energy, a professional single phase power quality and energy measurement digital multimeter, for our measurements. Find out more about it here. All of our test methods can be found here.
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
5000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
5000 mAh
OnePlus 9 Pro
4500 mAh
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
4600 mAh
Asus ROG Phone 5
6000 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 5G
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
6%
-27%
-6%
20%
-1%
5%
Idle Minimum *
1.13
1.06
6%
1.6
-42%
1
12%
0.59
48%
1.065 (0.59 - 1.6, n=13)
6%
0.934 (0.37 - 2.5, n=234, last 2 years)
17%
Idle Average *
1.67
1.19
29%
2
-20%
1.99
-19%
1.08
35%
1.597 (1.08 - 2, n=13)
4%
1.843 (0.65 - 3.94, n=234, last 2 years)
-10%
Idle Maximum *
1.69
1.2
29%
2.4
-42%
2.02
-20%
1.14
33%
1.777 (1.14 - 2.7, n=13)
-5%
2.1 (0.69 - 4.2, n=234, last 2 years)
-24%
Load Average *
5.17
6.46
-25%
6.2
-20%
5.15
-0%
5.29
-2%
5.53 (4.21 - 6.44, n=13)
-7%
4.46 (2.1 - 8.4, n=234, last 2 years)
14%
Load Maximum *
9.9
10.76
-9%
11
-11%
10.36
-5%
11.44
-16%
10 (6.83 - 11.7, n=13)
-1%
7.24 (3.16 - 12.3, n=234, last 2 years)
27%

* ... smaller is better

Power Consumption: Geekbench, GFXBench and when idle (150 cd/m²)

012345678910111.5521.4091.5571.2011.2261.4911.2581.511.7151.7151.2381.2011.5511.7011.5691.5161.2841.4141.581.231.2921.2531.281.3851.3631.2431.261.2171.2461.241.2641.2371.2181.2461.2451.2331.2141.2891.5761.531.4671.2791.2391.2221.2321.61.3181.6071.3161.2391.4271.4211.2711.591.7291.3191.3451.3981.3161.5621.5521.4091.5571.2011.2261.4911.2581.511.7151.7151.2381.2011.5511.7011.5691.5161.2841.4141.581.231.2921.2531.281.3851.3631.2431.261.2171.2461.241.2641.2371.2181.2461.2451.2331.2141.2891.5761.531.4671.2791.2391.2221.2321.61.3181.6071.3161.2391.4271.4211.2711.591.7291.3191.3451.3981.3161.5625.925.645.856.1810.510.610.610.510.610.710.710.610.710.510.610.610.810.810.810.710.610.910.810.610.610.710.710.610.610.710.710.710.810.710.710.810.610.710.710.810.710.710.710.710.710.710.710.610.610.610.610.610.610.610.710.610.610.510.610.610.610.510.610.810.710.610.710.65.941.5521.4091.5571.2011.2261.4911.2581.511.7151.7151.2381.2011.5511.7011.5691.5161.2841.4141.581.231.2921.2531.281.3851.3631.2431.261.2171.2461.241.2641.2371.2181.2461.2451.2331.2141.2891.5761.531.4671.2791.2391.2221.2321.61.3181.6071.3161.2391.4271.4211.2711.591.7291.3191.3451.3981.3161.5625.925.645.856.1810.510.610.610.510.610.710.710.610.710.510.610.610.810.810.810.710.610.910.810.610.610.710.710.610.610.710.710.710.810.710.710.810.610.710.710.810.710.710.710.710.710.710.710.610.610.610.610.610.610.610.710.610.610.510.610.610.610.510.610.810.710.610.710.65.941.4652.883.643.53.543.352.61.6273.32.262.033.173.973.84.11.4353.541.6021.6623.73.653.581.5713.711.3913.361.3584.714.484.564.441.4363.281.6345.3755.052.731.4622.314.34.241.4524.221.4983.763.922.351.7962.513.753.713.773.653.954.082.674.784.341.6892.233.691.4797.587.217.87.757.247.897.346.987.477.127.527.61.5717.887.117.441.8553.145.797.987.988.027.8651.4534.673.399.251.3818.929.631.4921.4021.3789.099.910.61.5349.943.444.747.891.9447.647.281.48111.14.381.5488.141.6910.29.558.459.531.4919.29.331.4510.810.9119.0910.72.852.149.955.0310.91110.710.58.93106.3610.47.7910.39.91.593.613.393.458.798.147.899.338.558.5510.11.52210.41.5951.686Tooltip
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash; Idle 1min: Ø1.377 (1.201-1.729)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash; Aztec Ruins Normal Offscreen: Ø10.3 (5.64-10.9)
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra Adreno 660, SD 888 5G, 256 GB UFS 3.1 Flash; Geekbench 5.4: Ø5.28 (1.358-11.1)

Battery Life

In our Wi-Fi test, the Mi 11 Ultra lasted 11 hours. In our video test, in which we set the screen resolution to WQHD+ and the refresh rate to 120 Hz, the battery of the Mi 11 Ultra lasted almost 17 hours. We conduct all of our battery tests with the brightness set to 150 cd/m². Moreover, we conduct our video test with the communications modules disabled.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
18h 28min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
10h 50min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
16h 46min
Load (maximum brightness)
4h 36min
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
5000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
5000 mAh
OnePlus 9 Pro
4500 mAh
ZTE Axon 30 Ultra 5G
4600 mAh
Asus ROG Phone 5
6000 mAh
Battery Runtime
19%
42%
-5%
20%
Reader / Idle
1108
1408
27%
2113
91%
1476
33%
H.264
1006
1310
30%
1076
7%
832
-17%
WiFi v1.3
650
702
8%
1002
54%
615
-5%
754
16%
Load
276
304
10%
316
14%
406
47%

Pros

+ bright 120-Hz OLED panel with 1440p resolution
+ great zoom capabilities
+ good main camera
+ 67-W fast charging
+ great connectivity options
+ a lot of performance

Cons

- gets very hot
- only USB 2.0
- heavy
- no eSIM support

Verdict for the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra

Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra. Device provided courtesy of: TradingShenzhen
Review of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra. Device provided courtesy of: TradingShenzhen

The Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra is a flagship smartphone that can go toe to toe with the Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra and the Oppo Find X3 Pro. The Chinese smartphone feels very premium in the hand (because of its weight) and has a very impressive specifications sheet. The Mi 11 Ultra has a very impressive camera system, which is somewhat hampered by software limitations. The rear OLED panel, which can function as a viewfinder, is not a real game-changer, though.

The Mi 11 Ultra builds a strong foundation for the future smartphones in the Mi series. Now all Xiaomi needs to do is focus on polishing its products.           

There is one area where Xiaomi needs to do significantly better. In this price bracket, almost all smartphones feature USB 3.2 ports. This is not an area where Xiaomi can afford to cut costs. The future Mi 12 smartphones cannot include the slow USB 2.0 ports. What is more, Samsung is ahead of Xiaomi in terms of long-term software support.

Because the Mi 11 Ultra gets quite hot under sustained load, it is not well-suited for gaming. For gamers, a dedicated gaming smartphone such as the Asus ROG Phone 5 would be a much better choice.

Price & Availability

The global version of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra currently costs about 1200 Dollars on eBay. The Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra with the global ROM can also be purchased via TradingShenzhen for about 830 Euros (~$100).

Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra - 06/11/2021 v7
Marcus Herbrich

Chassis
90%
Keyboard
67 / 75 → 90%
Pointing Device
97%
Connectivity
58 / 70 → 83%
Weight
87%
Battery
89%
Display
91%
Games Performance
65 / 64 → 100%
Application Performance
84 / 86 → 98%