Notebookcheck
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

The Xiaomi Mi A3 receives a new update amid continued complaints of unaddressed bugs

The Xiaomi Mi A3 has received its third OS update in two weeks. (Image source: Xiaomi)
The Xiaomi Mi A3 has received its third OS update in two weeks. (Image source: Xiaomi)
Xiaomi has released a new update to the Mi A3, its third OS update in under two weeks. While the new build supposedly improves system stability and reduces lag, some people are unhappy with how Xiaomi's apparent inability to address outstanding bugs.
Alex Alderson,
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 

The Xiaomi Mi A3 is receiving its third OS update in under two weeks. Earlier this month, Xiaomi updated global devices to V11.0.3.0.QFQMXTC, an update that was not intended for that edition of the Mi A3. Seemingly built for a Mexican carrier model, the update disabled dual-SIM functionality on global models and installed a suite of Telcel apps.

Unsurprisingly, Xiaomi quickly pulled this update and issued V11.0.17.0.QFQMIXM. This update contained the June security patch, re-enabled dual-SIM functionality and removed any Telcel apps or services. Now, Xiaomi has released V11.0.19.0.QFQMIXM for devices that are still on V11.0.16.0.QFQMIXM. The new update brings the July set of security patches, along with the generic changes of increased system stability and reduced system lag.

However, Piunikaweb seems to believe that devices running V11.0.17.0.QFQMIXM may not be eligible for V11.0.19.0.QFQMIXM. If you would download the new update, then you can do so from Xiaomi's servers. The full update is a 1.2 GB download for reference, whereas the OTA is under 300 MB.

However, fans and owners of the Mi A3 are still complaining of Xiaomi's failure to address multiple bugs that continue to plague some devices. According to one detailed post, six major bugs remain in V11.0.19.0.QFQMIXM even after factory resets. We cannot verify how many of these bugs affect multiple devices, but it seems Xiaomi's policy of pushing endless builds to the Mi A3 is not doing the company any favours among fans.

Source(s)

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
, , , , , ,
search relation.
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
 
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - Senior Tech Writer - 3640 articles published on Notebookcheck since 2018
Prior to writing and translating for Notebookcheck, I worked for various companies including Apple and Neowin. I have a BA in International History and Politics from the University of Leeds, which I have since converted to a Law Degree. Happy to chat on Twitter or Notebookchat.
contact me via: @aldersonaj
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > News > News Archive > Newsarchive 2020 07 > The Xiaomi Mi A3 receives a new update amid continued complaints of unaddressed bugs
Alex Alderson, 2020-07-22 (Update: 2020-07-22)