Notebookcheck

Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone Review - A battery giant with a 90Hz display

Budget 5G Smartphone. The Moto G 5G Plus is the latest mid-range cell phone from Motorola. The Moto-G smartphone combines a huge 5,000 mAh battery with a Snapdragon 765 at an RRP of just under 350 Euros (~$413. You can find out whether this Motorola smartphone is worth buying in this review of the Moto G 5G Plus.
Marcus Herbrich (translated by Daniel Koenig),
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone

With the newest protégé of the Moto G series, Motorola wants to make futuristic technologies available to its customers at an affordable price. As a result, the smartphone company has installed a Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 alongside the modern 5G support on its mid-range smartphone. There is also a quad camera system on the back, which is supported by a 48 megapixel main camera. There is also a dual selfie camera on the front with two separate display holes for optical features.

The Moto G 5G Plus has been available in blue and purple since July, although so far only the blue version can be purchased in Germany. The Motorola smartphone starts at 349 Euros (~$413 RRP) for the model with 4GB of RAM and 64GB of UFS storage, and the top of the line model with 6GB of RAM 128 GB of UFS storage costs 399 Euros (~$470).


Update: The Moto G 5G uses the "normal" Snapdragon 765, not the 765G as was reported in a previous version of this article. 

Motorola Moto G 5G Plus (Moto G Series)
Processor
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 8 x 1.8 - 2.3 GHz, Kryo 475 Gold / Silver
Graphics adapter
Memory
4096 MB 
Display
6.70 inch 21:9, 2520 x 1080 pixel 409 PPI, Capacitive Touchscreen , LTPS, HDR, 90 Hz
Storage
64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash, 64 GB 
, 44 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5mm-Klinke, Card Reader: microSD up to 1TB, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, Gyroscope, Proximity Sensor, E-compass, OTG, Miracast
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5), Bluetooth 5.1, 5G: 1/3/7/8/28/38/41/77/78, 4G: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/17/20/26/28/32/38/39/40/41/42/43/66, 3G: 1/2/4/5/8, 2G: 0/1 /2/3/5/8, Dual SIM, LTE, 5G, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 9 x 168 x 74 ( = 0.35 x 6.61 x 2.91 in)
Charging
fast charging / Quickcharge
Operating System
Android 10
Camera
Primary Camera: 48 MPix (ƒ/1,7, 1,6 µm) + 5 MP (ƒ/2,2, 1,12 µm) + 8 MP (ƒ/2,2, 1,12 µm) + 2 MP (ƒ/2,2, 1,75 µm)
Secondary Camera: 16 MPix (ƒ/2,0, 1,0 µm, Ultra-Wide-Angle) + 8 MP (ƒ/2,2, 1,12 µm)
Additional features
Speakers: Stereo, Keyboard: Onscreen, Protective Cover, TurboPower Charger, USB-C Cable, Quick Start Guide, SIM Toolkit, Moto UI, 24 Months Warranty, Widevine L1, SAR: Head - 0.99 W/kg, Body - 1.50 W/kg, fanless
Weight
207 g ( = 7.3 oz / 0.46 pounds), Power Supply: 39 g ( = 1.38 oz / 0.09 pounds)
Price
350 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Comparison Devices

Rating
Date
Model
Weight
Drive
Size
Resolution
Best Price
80 %
08/2020
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
SD 765, Adreno 620
207 g64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash6.70"2520x1080
84 %
08/2020
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
SD 765G, Adreno 620
192 g128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash6.57"2340x1080
83 %
08/2020
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
SD 730G, Adreno 618
204 g64 GB UFS 2.0 Flash6.47"2340x1080
83 %
07/2020
OnePlus Nord
SD 765G, Adreno 620
184 g256 GB UFS 2.1 Flash6.44"2440x1080
82 %
02/2020
Samsung Galaxy A71
SD 730, Adreno 618
179 g128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash6.70"2400x1080
77 %
08/2020
Oppo A72
SD 665, Adreno 610
192 g128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash6.50"2400x1080

Case - Motorola cell phone with a love of plastic

The front of the Moto phone is shaped by the dual punch hole design of the front cameras. Design is certainly a matter of taste, but the wide, individually arranged display holes are a little unappealing in our opinion. The edges around the IPS panel of the Moto G 5G Plus are kept relatively thin, which keeps the bezel to screen ratio at just over 84%, but this is indicative of the phone's cheapness - for comparison, current high-end smartphones typically have a ratio of around 90%.

The construction of the Motorola cell phone is satisfactory, and the rigidity of the case is very good. However, the plastic material on the back is clearly noticeable and isn't really comparable to a real glass cover.  The plastic frame (or at least plastic coating) doesn't exactly contribute in any way either, especially since the Moto G 5G Plus, by today's standards, looks a bit "thick" at 9 millimeters (~0.35 in).

The Motorola phone does not offer protection against water or dust by means of IP certification. However, the manufacturer refers to a "water-repellent design", which, like other Moto G models, is a water-repellent nano-coating similar to the Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite. The G 5G Plus is thus protected against moderate contact with water, such as splashes of water, sweat, or light rain. Unfortunately, this means that bathing in the lake should be avoided with the Moto smartphone.   

Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone

Size comparison

168 mm / 6.61 inch 74 mm / 2.91 inch 9 mm / 0.3543 inch 207 g0.4564 lbs163.7 mm / 6.44 inch 74.8 mm / 2.94 inch 7.9 mm / 0.311 inch 192 g0.4233 lbs163.6 mm / 6.44 inch 76 mm / 2.99 inch 7.7 mm / 0.3031 inch 179 g0.3946 lbs162 mm / 6.38 inch 75.5 mm / 2.97 inch 8.9 mm / 0.3504 inch 192 g0.4233 lbs157.8 mm / 6.21 inch 74.2 mm / 2.92 inch 9.67 mm / 0.3807 inch 204 g0.4497 lbs158.3 mm / 6.23 inch 73.3 mm / 2.89 inch 8.2 mm / 0.3228 inch 184 g0.4057 lbs

Features - Moto G 5G Plus with a 3.5mm jack

The features of the mid-range smartphone include a dual SIM system, a "classic" 3.5mm jack, and Miracast. After the initial setup, the 64GB of internal UFS 2.1 storage in our test sample still offers 44GB of free space. If you need more storage space, you can get the 128GB model or expand the built-in data storage device by up to 1TB via SD cards.

The USB port has the Type-C design, and it's supported by a USB 2.0 connection that charges the smartphone. In addition, USB OTG is offered so that external storage media can be recognized.

Right Side of Case
Right Side of Case
Left Side of Case
Left Side of Case
Top Side of Case
Top Side of Case
Bottom Side of Case
Bottom Side of Case

Software - Motorola smartphone with Android 10

Motorola uses Android version 10 as the operating system, which is supplemented by a minimalist user interface. The MyUX software suite includes the well-known Moto Experiences, which, among other things, allows users to activate the flashlight with a shaking motion or start the camera with a quick turn of the wrist.

Video content on streaming services can be viewed in HD quality with the smartphone as Level 1 Widevine is supported. The security patches are still current as of our June 2020 test.

Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone

Communication and GPS - Moto G 5G Plus with 5G

Motorola uses Bluetooth version 5.1 on the Moto G 5G Plus, and users can also use near-field communication for systems such as Google Pay. The integrated WLAN module supports a/b/g/n/ac standards defined by IEEE 802.11 and transmits on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz frequency range. In conjunction with our reference router, the Netgear Nighthawk AX12, the mid-range smartphone is able to achieve very good transfer rates of over 600 Mbit/s, which is great for this price range.

The Moto smartphone connects to the mobile internet via the LTE standard. The number of frequency bands that the G 5G Plus supports is very high. The Motorola mobile phone can fall back on a total of 20 LTE bands; all relevant frequency bands are covered for Germany. The built-in Qualcomm Snapdragon X52 modem covers a large range of the modern 5G cellular standard's frequency bands, so users can use 5G so long as a 5G network is available.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Adreno 620, SD 765, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
666 (646min - 677max) MBit/s ∼100%
OnePlus Nord
Adreno 620, SD 765G, 256 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
650 (563min - 668max) MBit/s ∼98% -2%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Adreno 620, SD 765G, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
628 (545min - 662max) MBit/s ∼94% -6%
Oppo A72
Adreno 610, SD 665, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
347 (330min - 356max) MBit/s ∼52% -48%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Adreno 618, SD 730G, 64 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
341 (334min - 349max) MBit/s ∼51% -49%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Adreno 618, SD 730, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
338 (295min - 356max) MBit/s ∼51% -49%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 1414, n=621)
287 MBit/s ∼43% -57%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Adreno 620, SD 765G, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
668 (618min - 677max) MBit/s ∼100% +3%
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Adreno 620, SD 765, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
646 (590min - 656max) MBit/s ∼97%
OnePlus Nord
Adreno 620, SD 765G, 256 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
563 (275min - 666max) MBit/s ∼84% -13%
Oppo A72
Adreno 610, SD 665, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
330 (284min - 346max) MBit/s ∼49% -49%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Adreno 618, SD 730G, 64 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
324 (310min - 330max) MBit/s ∼49% -50%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Adreno 618, SD 730, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
317 (151min - 367max) MBit/s ∼47% -51%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 1599, n=621)
274 MBit/s ∼41% -58%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510520530540550560570580590600610620630640650660670680Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø666 (646-677)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø646 (590-656)
GPS Test Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
GPS Test Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
GPS Test Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
GPS Test Motorola Moto G 5G Plus

In order to assess the location accuracy of the Moto mobile phone, we recorded a route with the Garmin Edge 520 GPS bike computer, then took the same route with the Moto and compared the two. A satellite signal is found quickly, but at the end of the 4-kilometer (~2.5 miles) test route, the Moto GPS system's deviations added up to over 400 meters (~437 yards), which is a fairly significant amount. The detailed course clearly shows that the paths and signals used by the Moto smartphone do not work together very often. However, nothing should stand in the way of car navigation with the Moto G 5G Plus.

Positioning with the Moto smartphone is carried out using the GPS, Galileo, and GLONASS satellite systems. Positioning also works inside of building with almost no delay and an accuracy of about 5 meters (~16 feet).

GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
GPS Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
GPS Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
GPS Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
GPS Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
GPS Motorola Moto G 5G Plus

Telephone functions and voice quality - Moto Smartphone with VoLTE

Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone

The Voice over LTE system, which allows voice communication over the 4G network, and Wi-Fi calling are supported by the Moto smartphone. We find the quality of the built-in microphones to be satisfactory, and voices are reproduced in an understandable and clear manner.

Cameras - Moto G 5G Plus with a quad camera

Pictures with the Front Wide-Angle Lens
Pictures with the Front Wide-Angle Lens
Pictures with the Front Ultra-Wide-Angle Lens
Pictures with the Front Ultra-Wide-Angle Lens

The quality of the dual selfie camera system with an ultra-wide-angle and a wide-angle lens is not ideal. With the 8 MP ultra-wide-angle camera in particular, the sharpness and details in the images are lacking. Selfies with the 16 MP wide-angle lens are a bit more detailed and also a bit sharper - albeit often over-sharpened - but the exposure and desired sharpness are usually not right here.  

The main camera of the “Quadcam” in the Moto mobile phone consists of a 48 MP wide-angle module, likely with the Samsung ISOCELL Bright GW1 as an image sensor, and an open aperture of f / 1.7. The 48 MP optics sometimes deliver good results in daylight, but the focus is often not right, so images are quite blurred. The main camera has visible weaknesses in poor lighting conditions too. In terms of cameras, other mid-range models such as the OnePlus Nord or the Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite are better.   

The main camera is complimented by an 8 MP ultra-wide-angle and 5 MP lens for macro shots. The fourth sensor in the camera system is responsible for registering depth of field. The wide-angle-lenses are visibly worse than the main camera. Even in daylight, hardly any details are registered, and the sharpness is suboptimal, especially in the edge area. Colors also appear a bit matte.     

Videos can be recorded with the 48 MP camera at a maximum of 4K and 30 FPS, but recording with the ultra wide-angle lens is not currently possible. The video quality is decent, but there are still focus issues.

Ultra-wide-angle
Ultra-wide-angle
Main Camera
Main Camera
5x-Zoom
5x-Zoom
8x-Zoom (max)
8x-Zoom (max)
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

HauptkameraHauptkameraLow LightUltraweitwinkel

We examined the color rendering of the Moto smartphone under controlled lighting conditions. Compared to the actual reference tones, the colors of the mid-range cell phone are usually lighter. The images of the X-Rite ColorChecker Passport show solid color accuracy, but the Moto G 5G Plus has weaknesses, especially with dark colors. White tones also appear too warm.

In order to judge the sharpness of the photos, we photographed our test chart under defined artificial light. The image sharpness in the photos is okay in the middle of the photo, but some artifacts are also visible. However, blurring dominates the edge areas.

ColorChecker
26.8 ∆E
40.5 ∆E
32 ∆E
32.9 ∆E
37.2 ∆E
51.3 ∆E
38.8 ∆E
26.8 ∆E
27.3 ∆E
22.4 ∆E
49.1 ∆E
51.5 ∆E
22.5 ∆E
37.2 ∆E
23.7 ∆E
47.9 ∆E
31.8 ∆E
39.1 ∆E
48.1 ∆E
51.5 ∆E
43.6 ∆E
34.1 ∆E
23.2 ∆E
14.2 ∆E
ColorChecker Motorola Moto G 5G Plus: 35.57 ∆E min: 14.19 - max: 51.55 ∆E
ColorChecker
17.8 ∆E
11.7 ∆E
16.7 ∆E
19.6 ∆E
15 ∆E
8.7 ∆E
14.3 ∆E
18.5 ∆E
15 ∆E
10.2 ∆E
9.9 ∆E
10.4 ∆E
13.9 ∆E
13 ∆E
14.7 ∆E
5.2 ∆E
15.3 ∆E
15.2 ∆E
6.6 ∆E
4.4 ∆E
8.6 ∆E
12.9 ∆E
12.3 ∆E
3.6 ∆E
ColorChecker Motorola Moto G 5G Plus: 12.22 ∆E min: 3.58 - max: 19.57 ∆E

Accessories and Warranty - Motorola Mobile Phone with a Protective Case

Motorola Moto G 5G Plus's Power Supply
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus's Power Supply

The Motorola Moto G 5G Plus comes with a modular 20-watt charger, a USB cable, and a silicone protective cover.

The warranty is good for 24 months from the date of purchase.

Input devices & operation - Moto G 5G Plus with a side fingerprint sensor

The 90-Hz refresh rate of the Moto cell phone of ensures that animations are fluid and that scrolling is pleasantly "soft." Inputs on the 6.7-inch IPS display are also perceived quickly and accurately.

A fingerprint sensor is housed in the on/off button on the side. There is nothing wrong with the mid-range phone's sensor in terms of response speed or recognition rate. Biometric authentication via face recognition using the front camera also reliably unlocks the Moto phone, but it is quite insecure since the process is 2D-based.

A special feature of the Moto G 5G Plus is the dedicated Google Assistant button that allows voice commands to be started directly. This makes the Moto G model the first Motorola smartphone to have this feature.

Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone
Review Motorola Moto G 5G Plus Smartphone

Display - Motorola cell phone with an IPS panel

Subpixel Grid Layout
Subpixel Grid Layout
Halos
Halos

The Moto phone's 6.7-inch CinemaVision display is 1080p in 21:9 format and has a refresh rate of 90Hz. In addition, the IPS panel is certified for HDR10 content, but the luminance achieved is too low for optimal display.

The maximum brightness of 484 cd/m² measured by us is a bit low, and the brightness registered in the realistic APL50 test (Average Picture Level) with evenly distributed light and dark areas is only 521 cd/m², which is visibly lower than what other mid-range phones achieve. For comparison: a Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite achieves values ​​of around 715 cd/m².

The brightness distribution is quite homogeneous at 93%, but the brightness in the area around the front camera is not optimal because shadows are clearly visible in that area. Slight halos are also noticeable when in poor ambient light and when viewing dark content, but these are not huge issues during everyday use.

450
cd/m²
459
cd/m²
448
cd/m²
459
cd/m²
461
cd/m²
455
cd/m²
484
cd/m²
460
cd/m²
450
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 484 cd/m² Average: 458.4 cd/m² Minimum: 3.47 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 93 %
Center on Battery: 461 cd/m²
Contrast: 887:1 (Black: 0.52 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 1.01 | 0.6-29.43 Ø5.7
ΔE Greyscale 1.5 | 0.64-98 Ø5.9
99.6% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.25
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
LTPS, 2520x1080, 6.70
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.57
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.47
OnePlus Nord
AMOLED, 2440x1080, 6.44
Samsung Galaxy A71
AMOLED, 2400x1080, 6.70
Oppo A72
IPS LCD, 2400x1080, 6.50
Screen
-2%
18%
-41%
-62%
-156%
Brightness middle
461
584
27%
605
31%
529
15%
629
36%
505
10%
Brightness
458
583
27%
608
33%
531
16%
646
41%
482
5%
Brightness Distribution
93
97
4%
95
2%
94
1%
95
2%
93
0%
Black Level *
0.52
0.55
-6%
Contrast
887
918
3%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
1.01
1.17
-16%
0.84
17%
2.53
-150%
2.7
-167%
6.3
-524%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
2.1
2.95
-40%
1.8
14%
4.52
-115%
6
-186%
10.1
-381%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
1.5
1.7
-13%
1.3
13%
1.7
-13%
3
-100%
6.8
-353%
Gamma
2.25 98%
2.231 99%
2.211 100%
2.249 98%
2.1 105%
2.29 96%
CCT
6701 97%
6341 103%
6310 103%
6462 101%
6340 103%
8161 80%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9661 (minimum: 5 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Compared to the OLED competition, the LC display of the Moto G 5G Plus has a clear disadvantage in contrast, especially since the ratio of the relatively high black value to the maximum brightness of the Moto mobile phone is not exactly high at 1:887. The APL 50 contrast (1:1156) is a little better with a black value of 0.45 cd/m².

When using the "natural" color profile, the analysis using our photo spectrometer and the CalMAN software shows very low average Delta-E deviations of 1.01 (colors) and 1.5 (grayscale) in the sRGB color space. The color temperature is just as good; at 6,701K, it is only slightly warmer than the ideal value of 6,500K.

Color Accuracy (Target Color Space: sRGB)
Color Accuracy (Target Color Space: sRGB)
Color Accuracy (Profile: Natural, Target Color Space: sRGB)
Color Accuracy (Profile: Natural, Target Color Space: sRGB)
Color Space (Target Color Space: sRGB)
Color Space (Target Color Space: sRGB)
Color Space (Target Color Space: AdrobeRGB)
Color Space (Target Color Space: AdrobeRGB)
Color Space (Target Color Space: P3)
Color Space (Target Color Space: P3)
Grayscale (Target Color Space: sRGB)
Grayscale (Target Color Space: sRGB)
Grayscale (Profile: Natural, Target Color Space: sRGB)
Grayscale (Profile: Natural, Target Color Space: sRGB)
Color Saturation (Target Color Space: sRGB)
Color Saturation (Target Color Space: sRGB)

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
26 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 15 ms rise
↘ 11 ms fall
The screen shows relatively slow response rates in our tests and may be too slow for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 48 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (24.3 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
34 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 17 ms rise
↘ 17 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 28 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (38.6 ms).

The liquid crystal display does a good job outdoors, but only when the sky is cloudy. Contents can hardly be read properly when the IPS panel is in direct sunlight.

Display while Outdoors
Display while Outdoors
Display while Outdoors
Display while Outdoors

The viewing angles are decent, but due to the display technology, the OLED competition has the lead here as well. Nevertheless, display content is still presented satisfactorily even at very flat viewing angles.

Moto G 5G Plus Viewing Angle Stability
Moto G 5G Plus Viewing Angle Stability

Performance - Moto G 5G Plus relies on the Snapdragon 765

The Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 integrates a fast prime core with a peak clock of 2.4 GHz. Both the Prime and the Gold core are Cortex-A76 cores clocked at 2.2GHz, while the remaining six Cortex-A55 cores are clocked at 1.8GHz. The Snapdragon 765's uses the Adreno 620 as its GPU. The G version of the Qualcomm SoC also contains some Snapdragon gaming features, such as the Game Smoother and Game Fast Loader.

The system speed is satisfactory for everyday use, but in combination with only 4GB of RAM, the Snapdragon 765 of the Moto G 5G Plus has unusually frequent performance dropouts. The operation is for the most part fluid during everyday tasks, but the performance often drops, so you can see stuttering in apps. We are not currently sure if the performance is better with the 6GB model.       

The Moto smartphone delivers decent performance in our benchmarks. The results of the G 5G Plus are often behind a Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite and OnePlus Nord, especially in graphics-heavy tests. The Motorola phone's GPU performance is 25% under the top cell phone in our comparison.

The speed of the UFS storage is average for the product class; the write rates in particular should have been a bit better. The performance of the integrated microSD card slot, which we checked with our Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 reference memory card (max.read: 270MB/s, write 150MB/s), is great. The SD card reader in the Moto phone is faster than average.

Geekbench 5.1 - 5.3
OpenCL Score 5.3 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
1095 Points ∼56%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
1293 Points ∼66% +18%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
1242 Points ∼64% +13%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
387 Points ∼20% -65%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
 
1095 Points ∼56% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (259 - 5532, n=51)
1955 Points ∼100% +79%
Vulkan Score 5.3 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
1022 Points ∼61%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
1183 Points ∼70% +16%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
1169 Points ∼70% +14%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
453 Points ∼27% -56%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
 
1022 Points ∼61% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (72 - 4789, n=56)
1682 Points ∼100% +65%
Vulkan Score 5.1 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
903 Points ∼55%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
 
977 Points ∼59%
Average of class Smartphone
  (70 - 4043, n=67)
1648 Points ∼100%
OpenCL Score 5.1 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
1090 Points ∼61%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
861 Points ∼48%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
 
1054 Points ∼59%
Average of class Smartphone
  (272 - 4739, n=62)
1778 Points ∼100%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
1954 Points ∼99%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
1908 Points ∼97% -2%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
1690 Points ∼86% -14%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
1966 Points ∼100% +1%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
1647 Points ∼84% -16%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1256 Points ∼64% -36%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (1869 - 1954, n=2)
1912 Points ∼97% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (421 - 4160, n=149)
1968 Points ∼100% +1%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
596 Points ∼89%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
673 Points ∼100% +13%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
547 Points ∼81% -8%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
611 Points ∼91% +3%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
542 Points ∼81% -9%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
309 Points ∼46% -48%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (589 - 596, n=2)
593 Points ∼88% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (124 - 1604, n=149)
571 Points ∼85% -4%
Geekbench 4.1 - 4.4
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
8215 Points ∼92%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
8968 Points ∼100% +9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
 
8215 Points ∼92% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (663 - 21070, n=362)
4914 Points ∼55% -40%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
7832 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
7765 Points ∼99% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
 
7832 Points ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (883 - 13589, n=426)
5024 Points ∼64% -36%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
2785 Points ∼97%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
2863 Points ∼100% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
 
2785 Points ∼97% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (390 - 4965, n=426)
1536 Points ∼54% -45%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
8756 Points ∼77%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
7786 Points ∼68% -11%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
7628 Points ∼67% -13%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
9427 Points ∼82% +8%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
7773 Points ∼68% -11%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
11432 Points ∼100% +31%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
Points ∼0% -100%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (8336 - 8756, n=2)
8546 Points ∼75% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2630 - 15299, n=549)
6067 Points ∼53% -31%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
9914 Points ∼91%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
8730 Points ∼80% -12%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
8941 Points ∼82% -10%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
10876 Points ∼100% +10%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
8885 Points ∼82% -10%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
7651 Points ∼70% -23%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (9914 - 10045, n=2)
9980 Points ∼92% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1077 - 19989, n=703)
6654 Points ∼61% -33%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
2802 Points ∼97%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
2893 Points ∼100% +3%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
2686 Points ∼93% -4%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
2867 Points ∼99% +2%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2445 Points ∼85% -13%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2287 Points ∼79% -18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (2802 - 2810, n=2)
2806 Points ∼97% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1740 - 4061, n=201)
2661 Points ∼92% -5%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
2844 Points ∼89%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3198 Points ∼100% +12%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
2143 Points ∼67% -25%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3185 Points ∼100% +12%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
1731 Points ∼54% -39%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
981 Points ∼31% -66%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (2786 - 2844, n=2)
2815 Points ∼88% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (203 - 11259, n=201)
3089 Points ∼97% +9%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
2814 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3130 Points ∼100% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
2244 Points ∼72% -20%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3108 Points ∼99% +10%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
1851 Points ∼59% -34%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1123 Points ∼36% -60%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (2791 - 2814, n=2)
2803 Points ∼90% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (253 - 6977, n=201)
2727 Points ∼87% -3%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
3457 Points ∼98%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3495 Points ∼99% +1%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3058 Points ∼86% -12%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3544 Points ∼100% +3%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2827 Points ∼80% -18%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2154 Points ∼61% -38%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (3442 - 3457, n=2)
3450 Points ∼97% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 5780, n=556)
2277 Points ∼64% -34%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
3165 Points ∼88%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3589 Points ∼100% +13%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
2466 Points ∼69% -22%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3556 Points ∼99% +12%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2085 Points ∼58% -34%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
987 Points ∼28% -69%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (3165 - 3165, n=2)
3165 Points ∼88% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (75 - 12146, n=556)
2276 Points ∼63% -28%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
3236 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3605 Points ∼100% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
2577 Points ∼71% -20%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3553 Points ∼99% +10%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2214 Points ∼61% -32%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1097 Points ∼30% -66%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (3223 - 3236, n=2)
3230 Points ∼90% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (93 - 9643, n=557)
2103 Points ∼58% -35%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
3512 Points ∼99%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3492 Points ∼98% -1%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3134 Points ∼88% -11%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3555 Points ∼100% +1%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2702 Points ∼76% -23%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2199 Points ∼62% -37%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (3449 - 3512, n=2)
3481 Points ∼98% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 5765, n=588)
2192 Points ∼62% -38%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
4865 Points ∼91%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
5335 Points ∼100% +10%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3751 Points ∼70% -23%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
5357 Points ∼100% +10%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3101 Points ∼58% -36%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1653 Points ∼31% -66%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (4829 - 4865, n=2)
4847 Points ∼90% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (70 - 22052, n=588)
3102 Points ∼58% -36%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
4484 Points ∼92%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
4893 Points ∼100% +9%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3594 Points ∼73% -20%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
4815 Points ∼98% +7%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3002 Points ∼61% -33%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1765 Points ∼36% -61%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (4435 - 4484, n=2)
4460 Points ∼91% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (88 - 11895, n=588)
2553 Points ∼52% -43%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
3445 Points ∼98%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3425 Points ∼98% -1%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3257 Points ∼93% -5%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3503 Points ∼100% +2%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3210 Points ∼92% -7%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2246 Points ∼64% -35%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (3435 - 3445, n=2)
3440 Points ∼98% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (435 - 5318, n=636)
2149 Points ∼61% -38%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
2963 Points ∼89%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3321 Points ∼100% +12%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
2298 Points ∼69% -22%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3284 Points ∼99% +11%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2296 Points ∼69% -23%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
980 Points ∼30% -67%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (2897 - 2963, n=2)
2930 Points ∼88% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (53 - 11573, n=636)
1897 Points ∼57% -36%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
3015 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3346 Points ∼100% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
2459 Points ∼73% -18%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3330 Points ∼100% +10%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2451 Points ∼73% -19%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1134 Points ∼34% -62%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (3001 - 3015, n=2)
3008 Points ∼90% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (68 - 9138, n=637)
1798 Points ∼54% -40%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
3498 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
3452 Points ∼99% -1%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3294 Points ∼94% -6%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
3476 Points ∼99% -1%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2792 Points ∼80% -20%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2282 Points ∼65% -35%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (3435 - 3498, n=2)
3467 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (293 - 5301, n=678)
2020 Points ∼58% -42%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
4654 Points ∼80%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
5832 Points ∼100% +25%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3610 Points ∼62% -22%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
5171 Points ∼89% +11%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2999 Points ∼51% -36%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1564 Points ∼27% -66%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (4654 - 4671, n=2)
4663 Points ∼80% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 16670, n=677)
2517 Points ∼43% -46%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
4401 Points ∼94%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
4693 Points ∼100% +7%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3594 Points ∼77% -18%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
4665 Points ∼99% +6%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2950 Points ∼63% -33%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1675 Points ∼36% -62%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (4325 - 4401, n=2)
4363 Points ∼93% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 11256, n=680)
2149 Points ∼46% -51%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
20156 Points ∼92%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
20429 Points ∼93% +1%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
20767 Points ∼95% +3%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
21016 Points ∼96% +4%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
21898 Points ∼100% +9%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
17865 Points ∼82% -11%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (20156 - 20185, n=2)
20171 Points ∼92% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (735 - 59268, n=822)
15848 Points ∼72% -21%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
62756 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
69506 Points ∼100% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
53194 Points ∼77% -15%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
69285 Points ∼100% +10%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
52600 Points ∼76% -16%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
24321 Points ∼35% -61%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (62756 - 62819, n=2)
62788 Points ∼90% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (536 - 224130, n=820)
28686 Points ∼41% -54%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
42735 Points ∼93%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
45304 Points ∼99% +6%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
39491 Points ∼86% -8%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
45872 Points ∼100% +7%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
40105 Points ∼87% -6%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
22445 Points ∼49% -47%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (42735 - 42752, n=2)
42744 Points ∼93% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (662 - 117606, n=820)
21995 Points ∼48% -49%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
86 fps ∼89%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
95 fps ∼98% +10%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
83 fps ∼86% -3%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
97 fps ∼100% +13%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
84 fps ∼87% -2%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
35 fps ∼36% -59%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (86 - 87, n=2)
86.5 fps ∼89% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.5 - 322, n=820)
48 fps ∼49% -44%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
75 fps ∼98%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
60 fps ∼78% -20%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
60 fps ∼78% -20%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
60 fps ∼78% -20%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
59 fps ∼77% -21%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
32 fps ∼42% -57%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (75 - 78, n=2)
76.5 fps ∼100% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1 - 142, n=829)
32.2 fps ∼42% -57%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
50 fps ∼91%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
49 fps ∼89% -2%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
41 fps ∼75% -18%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
55 fps ∼100% +10%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
41 fps ∼75% -18%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
19 fps ∼35% -62%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (50 - 50, n=2)
50 fps ∼91% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.8 - 180, n=725)
28.5 fps ∼52% -43%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
44 fps ∼80%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
55 fps ∼100% +25%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
39 fps ∼71% -11%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
50 fps ∼91% +14%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
37 fps ∼67% -16%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
17 fps ∼31% -61%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (44 - 48, n=2)
46 fps ∼84% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.2 - 117, n=733)
23.4 fps ∼43% -47%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
33 fps ∼87%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
38 fps ∼100% +15%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
30 fps ∼79% -9%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
38 fps ∼100% +15%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
30 fps ∼79% -9%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
13 fps ∼34% -61%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (33 - 33, n=2)
33 fps ∼87% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.87 - 117, n=588)
22.8 fps ∼60% -31%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
29 fps ∼85%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
33 fps ∼97% +14%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
29 fps ∼85% 0%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
34 fps ∼100% +17%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
27 fps ∼79% -7%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
11 fps ∼32% -62%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (29 - 32, n=2)
30.5 fps ∼90% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.2 - 110, n=590)
20.3 fps ∼60% -30%
GFXBench
Aztec Ruins High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
11 fps ∼85%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
13 fps ∼100% +18%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
11 fps ∼85% 0%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
13 fps ∼100% +18%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
10 fps ∼77% -9%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
4 fps ∼31% -64%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (11 - 12, n=2)
11.5 fps ∼88% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.61 - 60, n=348)
11.8 fps ∼91% +7%
2560x1440 Aztec Ruins High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
7.5 fps ∼88%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
8.5 fps ∼100% +13%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
6.7 fps ∼79% -11%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
8.5 fps ∼100% +13%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
6.7 fps ∼79% -11%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2.7 fps ∼32% -64%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (7.5 - 7.5, n=2)
7.5 fps ∼88% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.21 - 101, n=346)
8.28 fps ∼97% +10%
Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
18 fps ∼86%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
21 fps ∼100% +17%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
17 fps ∼81% -6%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
21 fps ∼100% +17%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
16 fps ∼76% -11%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
6.2 fps ∼30% -66%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (18 - 20, n=2)
19 fps ∼90% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.4 - 60, n=352)
17.5 fps ∼83% -3%
1920x1080 Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
21 fps ∼88%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
24 fps ∼100% +14%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
18 fps ∼75% -14%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
24 fps ∼100% +14%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
18 fps ∼75% -14%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
7.8 fps ∼33% -63%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (21 - 21, n=2)
21 fps ∼88% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.6 - 257, n=351)
20.2 fps ∼84% -4%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
19 fps ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
21 fps ∼100% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
17 fps ∼81% -11%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
21 fps ∼100% +11%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
17 fps ∼81% -11%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
6.9 fps ∼33% -64%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (19 - 19, n=2)
19 fps ∼90% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.6 - 75, n=513)
15.2 fps ∼72% -20%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
16 fps ∼84%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
18 fps ∼95% +13%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
17 fps ∼89% +6%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
19 fps ∼100% +19%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
15 fps ∼79% -6%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
6 fps ∼32% -62%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (16 - 18, n=2)
17 fps ∼89% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.1 - 60, n=517)
13.4 fps ∼71% -16%
AnTuTu v8 - Total Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
279244 Points ∼84%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
318669 Points ∼96% +14%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
273255 Points ∼82% -2%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
332074 Points ∼100% +19%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
247507 Points ∼75% -11%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
177251 Points ∼53% -37%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (279244 - 304120, n=2)
291682 Points ∼88% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (53335 - 622888, n=139)
326530 Points ∼98% +17%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
1456 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
1462 Points ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
1365 Points ∼93% -6%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
1441 Points ∼99% -1%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
1103 Points ∼75% -24%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1231 Points ∼84% -15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (1399 - 1456, n=2)
1428 Points ∼98% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 1745, n=753)
835 Points ∼57% -43%
Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
4697 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
5201 Points ∼100% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3864 Points ∼74% -18%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
5203 Points ∼100% +11%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3175 Points ∼61% -32%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1897 Points ∼36% -60%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (4681 - 4697, n=2)
4689 Points ∼90% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 16996, n=753)
2592 Points ∼50% -45%
Memory (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
4775 Points ∼84%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
5683 Points ∼100% +19%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3752 Points ∼66% -21%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
5296 Points ∼93% +11%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3466 Points ∼61% -27%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2451 Points ∼43% -49%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (4528 - 4775, n=2)
4652 Points ∼82% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 8874, n=753)
1947 Points ∼34% -59%
System (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
6745 Points ∼99%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
6069 Points ∼89% -10%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
6305 Points ∼93% -7%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
6801 Points ∼100% +1%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
6426 Points ∼94% -5%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
4787 Points ∼70% -29%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (6612 - 6745, n=2)
6679 Points ∼98% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 14189, n=753)
3552 Points ∼52% -47%
Overall (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765, Adreno 620, 4096
3845 Points ∼94%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 6144
4094 Points ∼100% +6%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G, Adreno 618, 6144
3342 Points ∼82% -13%
OnePlus Nord
Qualcomm Snapdragon 765G, Adreno 620, 12288
4054 Points ∼99% +5%
Samsung Galaxy A71
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2972 Points ∼73% -23%
Oppo A72
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2232 Points ∼55% -42%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
  (3742 - 3845, n=2)
3794 Points ∼93% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1 - 6273, n=753)
1823 Points ∼45% -53%
Jetstream 2 - Total Score
OnePlus Nord (Chrome 84)
58.665 Points ∼100% +21%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G (Chrome83)
50.232 Points ∼86% +3%
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus (Chrome 83)
48.568 Points ∼83%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 (48.3 - 48.6, n=2)
48.5 Points ∼83% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite (Chrome 83.0.4103.106)
46.148 Points ∼79% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (9.13 - 161, n=213)
42.5 Points ∼72% -12%
Samsung Galaxy A71 (Chrome 79.0.3945.136)
36.578 Points ∼62% -25%
Oppo A72 (Chrome 83)
22.887 Points ∼39% -53%
JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
OnePlus Nord (Chrome 84)
94.481 Points ∼100% +7%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
93.643 Points ∼99% +6%
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus (Chrome 83)
88.457 Points ∼94%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 (87.8 - 88.5, n=2)
88.1 Points ∼93% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite (Chrome 83.0.4103.106)
82.347 Points ∼87% -7%
Samsung Galaxy A71 (Chrome 79.0.3945.136)
65.293 Points ∼69% -26%
Average of class Smartphone (10 - 375, n=647)
49.6 Points ∼52% -44%
Speedometer 2.0 - Result
OnePlus Nord (Chome 84)
53.6 runs/min ∼100% +19%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G (Chrome83)
50.7 runs/min ∼95% +12%
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus (Chrome 83)
45.2 runs/min ∼84%
Average of class Smartphone (6.42 - 196, n=194)
44.9 runs/min ∼84% -1%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite (Chrome 83.0.4103.106)
40.4 runs/min ∼75% -11%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 (26.8 - 45.2, n=2)
36 runs/min ∼67% -20%
Samsung Galaxy A71 (Chrome 79.0.3945.136)
32.8 runs/min ∼61% -27%
Oppo A72 (Chrome 83)
28.2 runs/min ∼53% -38%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
OnePlus Nord (Chrome 84)
101 Points ∼100% +29%
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus (Chrome 83)
78 Points ∼77%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G (Chrome83)
76 Points ∼75% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 (72 - 78, n=2)
75 Points ∼74% -4%
Average of class Smartphone (19 - 194, n=284)
71 Points ∼70% -9%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite (Chrome 83.0.4103.106)
70 Points ∼69% -10%
Samsung Galaxy A71 (Chrome 79.0.3945.136)
60 Points ∼59% -23%
Oppo A72 (Chrome 83)
50 Points ∼50% -36%
Octane V2 - Total Score
OnePlus Nord (Chrome 84)
19143 Points ∼100% +17%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G (Chrome83)
18556 Points ∼97% +14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 (16302 - 17700, n=2)
17001 Points ∼89% +4%
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus (Chrome 83)
16302 Points ∼85%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite (Chrome 83.0.4103.106)
16197 Points ∼85% -1%
Samsung Galaxy A71 (Chrome 79.0.3945.136)
12771 Points ∼67% -22%
Oppo A72 (Chrome 83)
9345 Points ∼49% -43%
Average of class Smartphone (894 - 58632, n=816)
8273 Points ∼43% -49%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (460 - 59466, n=842)
9571 ms * ∼100% -246%
Oppo A72 (Chrome 83)
4487.2 ms * ∼47% -62%
Samsung Galaxy A71 (Chrome 79.0.3945.136)
3435.5 ms * ∼36% -24%
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite (Chrome 83.0.4103.106)
2940.5 ms * ∼31% -6%
OnePlus Nord (Chrome 84)
2834.8 ms * ∼30% -3%
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus (Chrome 83)
2764.2 ms * ∼29%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 (2754 - 2764, n=2)
2759 ms * ∼29% -0%
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G (Chrome83)
2602.2 ms * ∼27% +6%

* ... smaller is better

Motorola Moto G 5G PlusXiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5GXiaomi Mi Note 10 LiteOnePlus NordSamsung Galaxy A71Oppo A72Average 64 GB UFS 2.1 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
51%
-6%
38%
-16%
-16%
-17%
-42%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
65.7 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
57.18 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-13%
31.2 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-53%
51.4 (17.1 - 71.9, n=31)
-22%
51.4 (1.7 - 87.1, n=550)
-22%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
87.1 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
73.39 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-16%
37.76 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-57%
67.5 (18 - 87.1, n=31)
-23%
69.3 (8.1 - 96.5, n=550)
-20%
Random Write 4KB
119.3
138.47
16%
125.75
5%
104.5
-12%
109.57
-8%
152.9
28%
67.6 (8.77 - 165, n=42)
-43%
39 (0.14 - 319, n=916)
-67%
Random Read 4KB
138.14
156.45
13%
134.57
-3%
126.7
-8%
112.25
-19%
135.91
-2%
134 (78.2 - 173, n=42)
-3%
62.1 (1.59 - 325, n=916)
-55%
Sequential Write 256KB
180.21
476.87
165%
213.22
18%
473.1
163%
192.38
7%
234.61
30%
199 (133 - 388, n=42)
10%
136 (2.99 - 1321, n=916)
-25%
Sequential Read 256KB
885.34
979.54
11%
501.29
-43%
955.5
8%
493.04
-44%
504.32
-43%
708 (476 - 895, n=42)
-20%
358 (12.1 - 2037, n=916)
-60%

Games - Moto phone with an Adreno 620

The rather mixed performance of the Moto G 5G Plus in everyday life continued in our game test. In other Snapdragon 765 smartphones, the Adreno 620 offers enough graphics performance to play demanding games relatively smoothly even on high grahpic settings - but that does not hold true with the Moto G G5 Plus.  

The CPU-intensive racing game "Asphalt 9 Legends" currently does not exceed 30 FPS. But here, despite the low graphical settings, our measurements show visible drops, which other Snapdragon 765 devices do not have. The racing game is not enjoyable to play when using high graphic settings on the Moto G phone. The shooter "PUBG Mobile" works relatively smoothly even when using the highest graphical settings, but the full 90Hz refresh rate of the IPS panel is not available. We used the GameBench app to determine our frame rates.

The integrated position sensors work without problems in games, and the touchscreen works precisely. 

PUBG Mobile
PUBG Mobile
Asphalt 9 Legends
Asphalt 9 Legends
PUBG mobile
01020304050Tooltip
; Smooth: Ø39.8 (33-41)
; Balanced: Ø40 (39-41)
; HD: Ø29.9 (25-31)
Asphalt 9 Legends
010203040Tooltip
; High Quality: Ø21.3 (5-31)
; Standard / low: Ø28.8 (18-31)

Emissions - Motorola smartphones generate a lot of heat

Temperature

The case of the Motorola cell phone heats up significantly under continuous load - we measured temperatures of over 44 °C (~111 °F). However, this does not lead to a heat-related throttling. The Moto G 5G Plus shows constant performance in the battery test of the GFXBench app. In the demanding Manhattan test (OpenGL ES 3.1), the Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 barely throttles even under continuous load. Thus, performance drops during everyday use such as playing games due to excessively high temperatures are very unlikely.

Temperature Test Results
Temperature Test Results
Temperature Test Results
Temperature Test Results
Temperature Test Results
Temperature Test Results
Max. Load
 43.9 °C
111 F
42.7 °C
109 F
41.8 °C
107 F
 
 44.1 °C
111 F
41.4 °C
107 F
41.8 °C
107 F
 
 42.9 °C
109 F
41.4 °C
107 F
42.2 °C
108 F
 
Maximum: 44.1 °C = 111 F
Average: 42.5 °C = 109 F
36.2 °C
97 F
40.5 °C
105 F
39.1 °C
102 F
37 °C
99 F
40.7 °C
105 F
42.9 °C
109 F
38.6 °C
101 F
41 °C
106 F
42.1 °C
108 F
Maximum: 42.9 °C = 109 F
Average: 39.8 °C = 104 F
Power Supply (max.)  40.5 °C = 105 F | Room Temperature 21.8 °C = 71 F | Fluke t3000FC (calibrated), Voltcraft IR-260
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 42.5 °C / 109 F, compared to the average of 32.9 °C / 91 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(±) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 44.1 °C / 111 F, compared to the average of 35.3 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(±) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 42.9 °C / 109 F, compared to the average of 33.9 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 29.1 °C / 84 F, compared to the device average of 32.9 °C / 91 F.
Front Heatmap
Front Heatmap
Back Heatmap
Back Heatmap

Speaker

Speaker Test: Pink Noise
Speaker Test: Pink Noise

The mid-range smartphone from Motorola has a loudspeaker on the underside and a very quiet output via the auricle. The sound quality is satisfactory. The music reproduction does not sound tinny, and the maximum volume is sufficiently high at 86.2 dB(A). As expected, there is hardly any bass in the sound, which tends to be caused by mids and highs that are not reproduced linearly.

Users of the Moto G 5G Plus do not have to do without a 3.5 mm audio jack. The output from the 3.55mm jack is appealingly loud while keeping the phone's sound isolated. Those who prefer a wireless solution can listen to music via Bluetooth 5.1.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2047.246.6253941.53134.336.74039.337.45042.143.36331.733.58026.325.710026.425.912525.633.316022.144.320019.348.525018.952.931516.558.74001662.950014.366.763015.769.380015.274.5100013.777.4125011.776.216001274.6200012.466.6250011.165.6315011.266.3400011.870.2500012.968.7630013.775.6800014.178.8100001481.4125001371.21600011.461SPL71.76863.425.986.2N27.222.415.80.866.1median 14median 66.7Delta2.610.536.845.839.944.331.935.538.936.643.740.929.830.325.926.526.333.324.938.521.642.21942.718.94618.15416.66116.265.814.969.71568.715.671.914.972.614.970.115.673.414.671.314.268.114.16514.46114.665.614.968.615.268.415.457.115.756.666.36470.627.581.519.715.825.3150.4median 15.4median 65.62.18.7hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseMotorola Moto G 5G PlusXiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.2 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 22.8% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.3% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 6.1% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (5.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (19.1% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 11% of all tested devices in this class were better, 7% similar, 81% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 24%, worst was 65%
Compared to all devices tested
» 38% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 54% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 65%

Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (81.5 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 22.8% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (9.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.7% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (6.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 2.7% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (5.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (18.3% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 8% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 87% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 24%, worst was 65%
Compared to all devices tested
» 33% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 60% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 65%

Battery life - Moto G 5G Plus has a huge battery

Energy consumption

The Moto G 5G Plus supports fast charging up to 20 Watts. The included charger completely fills the 5,000 mAh battery in around 2 hours. However, wireless charging is not supported.

The energy consumption is very high at over 9 Watts, especially when the device is under load.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.1 / 0.2 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 1.5 / 2.1 / 2.9 Watt
Load midlight 6.7 / 9.2 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
5000 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
4160 mAh
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
5260 mAh
OnePlus Nord
4115 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A71
4500 mAh
Oppo A72
5000 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 765
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
10%
42%
19%
38%
33%
15%
32%
Idle Minimum *
1.5
1.5
-0%
0.8
47%
1.8
-20%
0.63
58%
0.7
53%
1.25 (1 - 1.5, n=2)
17%
0.892 (0.2 - 3.4, n=911)
41%
Idle Average *
2.1
2.2
-5%
1.1
48%
2.1
-0%
1.49
29%
1.97
6%
1.75 (1.4 - 2.1, n=2)
17%
1.758 (0.6 - 6.2, n=910)
16%
Idle Maximum *
2.9
2.9
-0%
1.8
38%
2.3
21%
1.51
48%
1.98
32%
2.45 (2 - 2.9, n=2)
16%
2.04 (0.74 - 6.6, n=911)
30%
Load Average *
6.7
4.4
34%
3.7
45%
3.4
49%
4.62
31%
3.83
43%
5.75 (4.8 - 6.7, n=2)
14%
4.12 (0.8 - 10.8, n=905)
39%
Load Maximum *
9.2
7.2
22%
6.1
34%
5.2
43%
7.11
23%
6.2
33%
8.25 (7.3 - 9.2, n=2)
10%
6.12 (1.2 - 14.2, n=905)
33%

* ... smaller is better

Battery life

The Moto G phone does well in our WLAN test with a display brightness set at 150 cd/m². Despite the 90Hz panel, the 6.7-inch smartphone lasted for over 15 hours. However, a OnePlus Nord with a significantly lower battery capacity also manages this. Here the G 5G Plus loses some potential battery life due to its high power consumption.  

The battery life of the Moto phone is also good under load, but we see room for improvement through optimizations in the energy management. The same applies to the playback of video material when the WLAN module is deactivated. In our video test, the Moto cell phone died after just 10 hours.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
25h 49min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
15h 14min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
9h 41min
Load (maximum brightness)
4h 12min
Motorola Moto G 5G Plus
5000 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G
4160 mAh
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
5260 mAh
OnePlus Nord
4115 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A71
4500 mAh
Oppo A72
5000 mAh
Battery Runtime
56%
59%
28%
31%
11%
Reader / Idle
1549
1683
9%
2249
45%
2003
29%
2164
40%
H.264
581
1403
141%
1370
136%
1064