Notebookcheck

Huawei Mate 20 X Smartphone Review

Mike Wobker, 👁 Daniel Schmidt, Andrea Grüblinger (translated by Alex Alderson), 01/10/2019

And it gets bigger. After much confusion, Huawei announced that it would be releasing the Mate 20 X in Austria and Germany. The giant 7.2-inch phone has now arrived at our offices and is ready to put through its paces. Read on to find out whether this €900 (~$1037) beast is worth the money.

Huawei Mate 20 X

Huawei sets new standards for smartphones with the release of its Mate 20 series. The Mate 20 Pro impressed us with its powerful SoC, great cameras and excellent display. The Mate 20 also scored top marks despite having less memory, a cheaper display and inferior cameras, while the Mate 20 Lite is a highly competitive budget alternative to its more expensive siblings.

The Mate 20 X sits at the top of the Mate 20 series line-up in size, but is technically inferior to the Mate 20 Pro. The Mate 20 X has a 7.2-inch AMOLED display and the Leica triple rear-facing camera array that we first saw with the Mate 20 Pro. The HiSilicon Kirin 980 SoC that integrates an ARM Mali-G76 MP10 GPU makes another appearance too and is complemented by 6 GB of RAM. There is also 128 GB of UFS 2.1 flash storage.

There are few phablets that are the size of the Mate 20 X, which somewhat limits our choice of comparison devices. We have chosen to compare our test device against the Apple iPhone XS Max, the Google Pixel 3 XL, the Samsung Galaxy Note 9 and the Xiaomi Mi Max 3. We will also be pitting the Mate 20 X against its sibling, the Mate 20 Pro and even some small tablets such as the Amazon Fire 7 (2017). We appreciate that some of our comparison devices are considerably smaller than the Mate 20 X, but they represent the largest flagship devices that are currently on the market.

Device SoC GPU RAM Storage Screen size Rear-facing cameras
Huawei Mate 20 X HiSilicon Kirin 980 ARM Mali-G76 MP10 6 GB 128GB UFS 2.1 7.2-inches 40 + 20 + 8 MP
Huawei Mate 20 Pro HiSilicon Kirin 980 ARM Mali-G76 MP10 6 GB 128GB UFS 2.1 6.3-inch 40 + 20 + 8 MP
Huawei Mate 20 HiSilicon Kirin 980 ARM Mali-G76 MP10 4 GB 128GB UFS 2.1 6.53-inches 12 + 16 + 8 MP
Huawei Mate 20 Lite HiSilicon Kirin 710 ARM Mali-G51 MP4 4 GB 64GB eMMC 6.3-inches 20 + 2 MP

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team! Indian citizens welcome!

Currently wanted: 
News and Editorial Editor - Details here

Huawei Mate 20 X (Mate 20 Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
6144 MB 
Display
7.2 inch 18.7:9, 2244 x 1080 pixel 346 PPI, Capacitive, OLED, glossy: yes
Storage
128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash, 128 GB 
, 110 GB free
Connections
1 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 1 Infrared, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm headphone jack, Card Reader: up to 256 GB nano memory cards, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, Barometer, Compass, Colour temperature sensor, Gravity sensor, Gyroscope, Magnetometer, Proximity sensor
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5), Bluetooth 5.0, GSM: B2, B3, B5, B8; 850, 900, 1,800, 1,900 MHz. 3G/UMTS/TD-SCDMA: B34, B39. WCDMA: B1, B2, B4, B5, B6, B8, B19. LTE/FDD/TDD: B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6, B7, B8, B9, B12, B17, B18, B19, B20, B26, B34, B38, B39, B40., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.2 x 174.6 x 85.4 ( = 0.32 x 6.87 x 3.36 in)
Battery
5000 mAh Lithium-Polymer
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 40 MPix Leica Triple rear-facing camera: 40 MP wide angle lens, f1.8 aperture; 20 MP ultra-wide-angle lens, f/2.2 aperture; 8 MP telephoto lens, f/2.4 aperture, Laser focus, Phase focus, Contrast focus, Huawei AI Image stabilisation
Secondary Camera: 24 MPix f/2.0
Additional features
Speakers: Stereo speakers, Keyboard: Virtual keyboard, Keyboard Light: yes, USB charger, USB Type-C cable, protective cover, headphones, SIM tool, EMUI 9.0, 24 Months Warranty, SAR values: Head - 0.42 W/kg, Body - 0.95 W/kg, fanless
Weight
232 g ( = 8.18 oz / 0.51 pounds), Power Supply: 97 g ( = 3.42 oz / 0.21 pounds)
Price
900 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The Mate 20 X looks like the Mate 20. Hence, the case is rounded and has no curved display edges that the Mate 20 Pro does. The notch is also smaller and looks more like the waterdrop notch in the OnePlus 6T. Huawei has constructed the Mate 20 X from two pieces of glass that sandwich a metal frame. The company currently sells the device in blue and silver, which Huawei markets as Midnight Blue and Phantom Silver respectively.

The only physical buttons are found on the right-hand side of the device. The power button and volume rocker sit firmly in their mounts and are flanked by a card slot on the opposite side, which sits flush with the frame. The Mate 20 X sits comfortably in our hands despite its large footprint, although the rear glass has a smooth finish that led to it occasionally slipping off slightly angled surfaces.

The Mate 20 X is much larger than most of our smartphone comparison devices. However, the device has a much larger display than the Note 9 or Pixel 3 XL and has a visibly higher screen-to-body ratio than the Xiaomi Mi Max 3. The Mate 20 X is also considerably more compact than the Amazon Fire 7 (2017) or the Google Nexus 7.

Huawei Mate 20 X
Huawei Mate 20 X
Huawei Mate 20 X
Huawei Mate 20 X
Huawei Mate 20 X
Huawei Mate 20 X
Huawei Mate 20 X
Huawei Mate 20 X
Huawei Mate 20 X

Size Comparison

200 mm / 7.87 inch 114 mm / 4.49 inch 8.65 mm / 0.3406 inch 290 g0.639 lbs192 mm / 7.56 inch 115 mm / 4.53 inch 9.6 mm / 0.378 inch 295 g0.65 lbs176 mm / 6.93 inch 87.4 mm / 3.44 inch 8 mm / 0.315 inch 221 g0.4872 lbs174.6 mm / 6.87 inch 85.4 mm / 3.36 inch 8.2 mm / 0.3228 inch 232 g0.511 lbs162 mm / 6.38 inch 76.4 mm / 3.01 inch 8.8 mm / 0.3465 inch 201 g0.4431 lbs158 mm / 6.22 inch 76.7 mm / 3.02 inch 7.9 mm / 0.311 inch 184 g0.4057 lbs156.9 mm / 6.18 inch 72.4 mm / 2.85 inch 8.6 mm / 0.3386 inch 189 g0.4167 lbs157.5 mm / 6.2 inch 77.4 mm / 3.05 inch 7.7 mm / 0.3031 inch 208 g0.4586 lbs

Connectivity

Huawei has equipped the Mate 20 X with its high-end Kirin 980 SoC and an ARM Mali-G76 MP10 GPU. These are complemented by 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of UFS 2.1 flash storage, the latter of which can be expanded with up to 256 GB nano memory (NM) cards. The Mate 20 X is a dual-SIM device too, although it only has a hybrid SIM slot, which means that you can use two nano SIM cards or a single SIM card and an NM card. The device also supports VoLTE and Wi-Fi calling on either SIM card.

In addition to NFC, the Mate 20 X can also wirelessly connect to other devices via Bluetooth 5.0. Huawei has included AAC, aptX, aptX HD, BLE, HWA, LDAC and SBS codecs for support with almost any Bluetooth peripheral. There is also a USB 3.1 Gen1 Type-C port on the bottom of the device for wired connections. The port supports USB On The Go (OTG), but frustratingly Huawei only includes a USB 2.0 cable in the box. The Mate 20 X can connect to an external with an HDMI to USB Type-C adapter, which provides a desktop experience like Samsung DeX. The Mate 20 X has a headphone jack too, which is now a rarity for flagship smartphones.

Underside: Microphone, USB Type-C, Microphone, Speaker
Underside: Microphone, USB Type-C, Microphone, Speaker
Left-hand side: Card slot
Left-hand side: Card slot
Topside: Speaker, IR port, Microphone, 3.5 mm headphone jack
Topside: Speaker, IR port, Microphone, 3.5 mm headphone jack
Right-hand side: Volume rocker, Power button
Right-hand side: Volume rocker, Power button

Software

The Mate 20 X ships with Android 9.0 Pie, on top of which Huawei adds its EMUI 9.0 interface. Our test device arrived with Android security patches from November 1, 2018, which is relatively up to date. Huawei also released an update containing newer security patches during our tests, so we expect the company to continue keeping the Mate 20 X updated with the latest security and system updates.

EMUI 9.0 functions like stock Android and should be easy to get used to for Android newcomers. Essentially, Huawei has restructured the settings menu and has pre-installed some of its apps instead of Google ones, so it should take little acclimatisation for Android veterans too.

One of the pre-installed apps is the Huawei App Gallery, which supplements the Google Play Store. The inclusion of the former is designed to improve the user experience and includes not only games, but also various tools such as a radio app and a QR code scanner. Third-party apps such as Booking.com and Facebook are also pre-installed, but these can be uninstalled.

While the Mate 20 X supports NM cards, our test device can only format them as external storage, which limits apps and data to only being stored on the internal memory.

Default home screen
Default home screen
Default home screen
Default home screen
Pre-installed Huawei tools
Pre-installed Huawei tools
Pre-installed Huawei tools
Pre-installed Huawei tools
Huawei App Gallery
Huawei App Gallery
Quick Settings
Quick Settings
Storage information
Storage information
Device information
Device information

Communication & GPS

The Huawei Mate 20 X can be used worldwide on GSM, 3G and LTE networks. The latter utilises the Cat. 21 standard, which means that the device can achieve up to 1,400 Mbps download and 300 Mbps upload speeds. The Mate 20 X also supports all modern Wi-Fi standards up to IEEE 802.11 ac and can connect to either 2.4 or 5 GHz Wi-Fi networks.

Our test device performed well in our Wi-Fi tests and finished in the midfield of our comparison table. The Mate 20 X finished below the Mate 20 Pro in both iperf3 Client Wi-Fi tests.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Google Pixel 3 XL
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
635 (min: 315, max: 645) MBit/s ∼100% +12%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
A12 Bionic GPU, A12 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
624 MBit/s ∼98% +10%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
615 (min: 532, max: 642) MBit/s ∼97% +9%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
491 (min: 100, max: 534) MBit/s ∼77% -13%
Huawei Mate 20 X
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
566 (min: 514, max: 586) MBit/s ∼89%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
Mali-G72 MP18, 9810, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
485 MBit/s ∼76% -14%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Adreno 509, 636, 64 GB eMMC Flash
344 (min: 326, max: 350) MBit/s ∼54% -39%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=423)
224 MBit/s ∼35% -60%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
696 (min: 647, max: 714) MBit/s ∼100% +10%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
663 (min: 289, max: 805) MBit/s ∼95% +5%
Huawei Mate 20 X
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
633 (min: 564, max: 663) MBit/s ∼91%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
A12 Bionic GPU, A12 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
602 MBit/s ∼86% -5%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
Mali-G72 MP18, 9810, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
485 MBit/s ∼70% -23%
Google Pixel 3 XL
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
456 (min: 429, max: 468) MBit/s ∼66% -28%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Adreno 509, 636, 64 GB eMMC Flash
265 (min: 253, max: 270) MBit/s ∼38% -58%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=423)
214 MBit/s ∼31% -66%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510520530540550560570580590600610620630640650660670Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø565 (514-586)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø633 (564-663)
GPS test: Inside
GPS test: Inside
GPS test: Outside
GPS test: Outside

The Mate 20 X uses BeiDou, Galileo, GLONASS, GPS and QZSS for location services. Our test device achieves a satellite fix with up to four metres (~13 ft) accuracy, according to the GPS Test app. The location accuracy dropped to 22 metres (~72 ft) when we tested it indoors.

We also took the Mate 20 X on a bike ride to determine its location accuracy against a professional navigation device, the Garmin Edge 500. Our test device recorded a 60 metre (~197 ft) shorter route than the Garmin, but this represents a 99% location accuracy. The Garmin did a better job at plotting us through corners too, but in general, the Mate 20 X is accurate enough for most everyday navigation tasks.

GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 X - Overview
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 X - Overview
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 X - Lake
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 X - Lake
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 X - Loop
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 X - Loop
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Loop
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Loop

Telephone Functions & Call Quality

Dialler
Dialler

Huawei pre-installs its own telephony app suite for handling calls and messages. The phone app offers direct access to a number pad and has shortcuts for call history, contacts and favourites.

Our test device has a decent call quality and cancels background noise well. The earpiece gets sufficiently loud too, and both sides of the call are intelligible.

Alternatively, the included headphones also work well. They even isolate ambient noise better than the microphones do, which is impressive.

Cameras

Photo taken with the front-facing camera
Photo taken with the front-facing camera

Huawei has equipped the Mate 20 X with the same cameras as the Mate 20 Pro. Hence, there is a Leica triple rear-facing camera array that combines a 40 MP wide-angle lens with a 20 MP ultra-wide-angle lens and an 8 MP telephoto lens. The sensors have f/1.8, f/2.2 and f/2.4 apertures respectively. There is also a 24 MP front-facing camera that has an f/2.0 aperture, which takes good quality photos. Details and fine structures remain visible even when looking closely, and colours are also well reproduced. The default camera app has several customisation options, which range from lighting effects to HDR and AI beautification.

The main 40 MP camera takes bright and detailed photos, although they look somewhat blurry upon closer inspection. Additionally, the colours are lacking, which is better represented in our reference picture. The Mate 20 X also takes decent macro photos that are detailed with vibrant colours. Fine textures also remain visible even at higher zoom. The triple rear-facing cameras show their strengths in low-light conditions. However, colours are reproduced too darkly for our liking, as demonstrated below in scene 3. The edges of objects do not look demarcated either, but fine details remain visible at the centre of the image. The default camera app has numerous settings, including colour options and a professional mode. The latter has options for manually setting the ISO, shutter speeds, brightness levels and white balance. 

Videos look just as good as photos and have plenty of customisation options including beautification and colour filters that can be applied while recording. Colours can also be altered between standard, strong or soft. Moreover, there are slow-motion and time-lapse modes. Videos can be recorded in up to 4K. Additionally, the video format can be changed from H.264 to H.265 to save space. Videos can also be recorded at 60 FPS in 1080p.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

We also subjected the Mate 20 X to further camera tests under controlled lighting conditions, the results of which are mixed. Most colours are reproduced too brightly compared to the reference colour, although yellow and dark shades of grey are too dark.

Our test device did a good job at capturing our test chart. Details and fine textures are captured clearly even at higher zoom levels, while colours are reproduced well. The contrast drops visibly in the lower corners of the test chart, which happens with many smartphones.

A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail

Accessories & Warranty

The Mate 20 X comes with a USB charger, a matching USB Type-C cable, a set of headphones, a silicone case and a card slot tool. Huawei also sells Mate 20 X specific covers and other general smartphone accessories on its website. These include wireless chargers, headphones, power banks among others.

The Mate 20 X comes with 24 months manufacturer’s warranty. Please see our Guarantees, Return policies and Warranties article for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

Huawei pre-installed our test device with SwiftKey as the default keyboard app. The app works just as well as it does on other devices. Moreover, the touchscreen responded quickly and accurately throughout testing, while the display’s smooth finish makes it easy to perform multi-finger gestures.

Huawei has placed the fingerprint sensor on the back of the device. The sensor is easy to reach despite the Mate 20 X’s large footprint and worked well throughout our tests.

Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The Mate 20 X has a 7.2-inch OLED display that operates natively at 2,240x1,080. Our test device achieved an average maximum brightness of 418 cd/m², according to X-Rite i1Pro 2. This puts the Mate 20 X below all our comparison devices, except for the Pixel 3 XL, and is considerably darker than the maximum brightness that the Mate 20 Pro achieves. However, the APL50 test reports that the 20 X achieves an average maximum brightness of 425 cd/m² with the ambient light sensor switched on. Turning on the sensor increases the maximum average brightness to a more respectable 550 cd/m². Additionally, the display is 96% evenly lit, which is on par with our best comparison devices.

Unfortunately, the Mate 20 X uses pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate display brightness, which can cause eye strain and headaches for some people. The screen flickers at 243 Hz at 99% and below brightness. This value is relatively low too, which could make some people who are PWM sensitive feel exhausted.

416
cd/m²
424
cd/m²
422
cd/m²
409
cd/m²
421
cd/m²
415
cd/m²
414
cd/m²
422
cd/m²
416
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 424 cd/m² Average: 417.7 cd/m² Minimum: 1.78 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 96 %
Center on Battery: 421 cd/m²
Contrast: ∞:1 (Black: 0 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 1.1 | 0.6-29.43 Ø6
ΔE Greyscale 1.4 | 0.64-98 Ø6.3
97.4% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.23
Huawei Mate 20 X
OLED, 2244x1080, 7.2
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
IPS, 2160x1080, 6.9
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
OLED, 3120x1440, 6.3
Google Pixel 3 XL
AMOLED, 2960x1440, 6.3
Apple iPhone Xs Max
OLED, 2688x1242, 6.5
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
Super AMOLED, 2960x1440, 6.4
Screen
-54%
-4%
-60%
1%
-122%
Brightness middle
421
508
21%
576
37%
410
-3%
656
56%
499
19%
Brightness
418
505
21%
582
39%
413
-1%
659
58%
506
21%
Brightness Distribution
96
91
-5%
90
-6%
97
1%
88
-8%
96
0%
Black Level *
0.28
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
1.1
2.85
-159%
1.3
-18%
3.16
-187%
1.7
-55%
4.62
-320%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
2.2
6.21
-182%
3.5
-59%
5.5
-150%
2.8
-27%
10.91
-396%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
1.4
1.7
-21%
1.6
-14%
1.7
-21%
1.7
-21%
2.2
-57%
Gamma
2.23 99%
2.226 99%
2.18 101%
2.219 99%
1.998 110%
2.103 105%
CCT
6723 97%
6860 95%
6561 99%
6653 98%
6487 100%
6115 106%
Contrast
1814

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 242.7 Hz ≤ 99 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 242.7 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 99 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 242.7 Hz is relatively low, so sensitive users will likely notice flickering and experience eyestrain at the stated brightness setting and below.

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9409 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

The Mate 20 X theoretically has an infinitely high contrast ratio and a 0 black value thanks to its OLED display technology. Huawei has included multiple colour profiles in the settings menu. There are Normal and Vivid  colour modes, which are further delineated between Standard, Warm and Cold profiles. CalMAN analysis demonstrates that the Normal/Standard profile provides balanced colour reproduction. Conversely, the Standard/Vivid mode significantly increases blue tones, which results in a punchier and clearer image. The target colour space also changes from sRGB to P3 when the colour mode is switched to Vivid. Moreover, the Warm mode in the Vivid profile compensates for the increased amount of blue tones but retains the changed target colour space. Huawei has included a manual colour mode too should you wish to tinker with the colour reproduction of your Mate 20 X.

There is also an eye-safe mode that reduces the volume of blue light that the display emits. This can help reduce eye strain at night.

CalMAN: Colour accuracy - Normal Standard colour profile, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour accuracy - Normal Standard colour profile, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Normal Standard colour profile, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Normal Standard colour profile, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Normal Standard colour profile, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Normal Standard colour profile, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Normal Standard colour profile, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Normal Standard colour profile, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour accuracy - Vivid Standard colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour accuracy - Vivid Standard colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space- Vivid Standard colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space- Vivid Standard colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Vivid Standard colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Vivid Standard colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Vivid Standard colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Vivid Standard colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour accuracy – Vivid Warm colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour accuracy – Vivid Warm colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space – Vivid Warm colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space – Vivid Warm colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale – Vivid Warm colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale – Vivid Warm colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – Vivid Warm colour profile, P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – Vivid Warm colour profile, P3 target colour space

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
3.2 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 1.2 ms rise
↘ 2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
3.6 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 2 ms rise
↘ 1.6 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (39.7 ms).

The Mate 20 X is easy to use outdoors. However, we would recommend avoiding direct sunlight where possible as the display does not get bright enough to overcome reflections. You should have no problems reading the screen in the shade or on a cloudy day.

Using the Huawei Mate 20 X outside
Using the Huawei Mate 20 X outside
Using the Huawei Mate 20 X outside
Using the Huawei Mate 20 X outside

The Mate 20 X has stable viewing angles thanks to its OLED display. The screen can be read from almost any angle without any brightness, colour or image distortions. We noticed a slight green tint at acute viewing angles, but we doubt that this would be an issue for most people in daily use.

Viewing Angles
Viewing Angles

Performance

Huawei has equipped the Mate 20 X with its high-end Kirin 980 SoC. The Kirin 980 integrates an ARM Mali-G76 MP10 GPU, which combine to create a powerful package that can handle all complex applications and games. Huawei complements the SoC with 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of UFS 2.1 of flash storage, which should ensure smooth system performance and plenty of storage space for years to come.

Our test device generally finished in the midfield of benchmark comparison tables, but the Mate 20 X still scores well above average. Additionally, the Mate 20 Pro achieves better scores ​​with the same hardware, despite having a higher resolution screen.

We disabled the performance mode for the purposes of our tests, but we will briefly outline the difference in benchmark scores below. Strikingly, the Geekbench 4.1/4.2 RenderScript score rises significantly to 10,006 points with performance mode activated compared to the 5,759 points that our test device scored initially, while the AnTuTu v7 score rose by over 30,000 points to 307,202. It is worth keeping in mind that the performance mode considerably worsens the battery life though, so we would advise against keeping this permanently switched on.

Geekbench 4.4
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
5759 Points ∼53%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
4508 Points ∼41% -22%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
8938 Points ∼82% +55%
Google Pixel 3 XL
10876 Points ∼100% +89%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
9059 Points ∼83% +57%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (5677 - 9870, n=9)
7355 Points ∼68% +28%
Average of class Smartphone (663 - 21070, n=317)
4676 Points ∼43% -19%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
9852 Points ∼88%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
4939 Points ∼44% -50%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
10024 Points ∼89% +2%
Google Pixel 3 XL
8292 Points ∼74% -16%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
11244 Points ∼100% +14%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
8874 Points ∼79% -10%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (9547 - 10024, n=9)
9838 Points ∼87% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (883 - 11598, n=376)
4682 Points ∼42% -52%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
3234 Points ∼68%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1335 Points ∼28% -59%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
3378 Points ∼71% +4%
Google Pixel 3 XL
2325 Points ∼49% -28%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
4774 Points ∼100% +48%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
1698 Points ∼36% -47%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (3207 - 3378, n=9)
3303 Points ∼69% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (390 - 4824, n=376)
1413 Points ∼30% -56%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
7772 Points ∼84%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Points ∼0% -100%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
9225 Points ∼100% +19%
Google Pixel 3 XL
9029 Points ∼98% +16%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
5184 Points ∼56% -33%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (7567 - 9326, n=9)
8450 Points ∼92% +9%
Average of class Smartphone (2630 - 11440, n=367)
5225 Points ∼57% -33%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
9867 Points ∼79%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
6040 Points ∼48% -39%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
12535 Points ∼100% +27%
Google Pixel 3 XL
11180 Points ∼89% +13%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
5960 Points ∼48% -40%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (9728 - 13531, n=9)
11270 Points ∼90% +14%
Average of class Smartphone (1077 - 14439, n=538)
5652 Points ∼45% -43%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
2517 Points ∼58%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2333 Points ∼53% -7%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4364 Points ∼100% +73%
Google Pixel 3 XL
3676 Points ∼84% +46%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
2723 Points ∼62% +8%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
2613 Points ∼60% +4%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2227 - 4439, n=9)
3299 Points ∼76% +31%
Average of class Smartphone (573 - 4535, n=373)
1938 Points ∼44% -23%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
4103 Points ∼71%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
867 Points ∼15% -79%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4250 Points ∼73% +4%
Google Pixel 3 XL
5789 Points ∼100% +41%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
4828 Points ∼83% +18%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
3797 Points ∼66% -7%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2747 - 4361, n=9)
3868 Points ∼67% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (75 - 8206, n=373)
1701 Points ∼29% -59%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
3599 Points ∼70%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1008 Points ∼20% -72%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4275 Points ∼83% +19%
Google Pixel 3 XL
5133 Points ∼100% +43%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
4121 Points ∼80% +15%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
3450 Points ∼67% -4%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2611 - 4317, n=9)
3680 Points ∼72% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (93 - 6312, n=374)
1589 Points ∼31% -56%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
2488 Points ∼56%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2372 Points ∼54% -5%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4407 Points ∼100% +77%
Google Pixel 3 XL
3280 Points ∼74% +32%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
2961 Points ∼67% +19%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
2649 Points ∼60% +6%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2421 - 4493, n=9)
3422 Points ∼78% +38%
Average of class Smartphone (375 - 4703, n=403)
1857 Points ∼42% -25%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
2536 Points ∼24%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1402 Points ∼14% -45%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5854 Points ∼56% +131%
Google Pixel 3 XL
8380 Points ∼81% +230%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
10374 Points ∼100% +309%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
4904 Points ∼47% +93%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2536 - 5893, n=9)
4289 Points ∼41% +69%
Average of class Smartphone (70 - 20154, n=403)
2310 Points ∼22% -9%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
2525 Points ∼38%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1542 Points ∼23% -39%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5456 Points ∼82% +116%
Google Pixel 3 XL
6228 Points ∼93% +147%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
6667 Points ∼100% +164%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
4124 Points ∼62% +63%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2525 - 5511, n=9)
4053 Points ∼61% +61%
Average of class Smartphone (88 - 10427, n=403)
1944 Points ∼29% -23%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
3751 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2355 Points ∼56% -37%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4183 Points ∼100% +12%
Google Pixel 3 XL
3605 Points ∼86% -4%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3027 Points ∼72% -19%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
2569 Points ∼61% -32%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (3380 - 4216, n=9)
3820 Points ∼91% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (486 - 4320, n=453)
1847 Points ∼44% -51%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
3528 Points ∼69%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
815 Points ∼16% -77%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4206 Points ∼83% +19%
Google Pixel 3 XL
5089 Points ∼100% +44%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3726 Points ∼73% +6%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
3673 Points ∼72% +4%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2082 - 4400, n=9)
3851 Points ∼76% +9%
Average of class Smartphone (53 - 6362, n=453)
1413 Points ∼28% -60%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
3575 Points ∼77%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
954 Points ∼20% -73%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4201 Points ∼90% +18%
Google Pixel 3 XL
4662 Points ∼100% +30%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3544 Points ∼76% -1%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
3353 Points ∼72% -6%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2276 - 4264, n=9)
3828 Points ∼82% +7%
Average of class Smartphone (68 - 5734, n=454)
1365 Points ∼29% -62%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
3816 Points ∼92%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1349 Points ∼33% -65%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4150 Points ∼100% +9%
Google Pixel 3 XL
3594 Points ∼87% -6%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
2713 Points ∼65% -29%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
2515 Points ∼61% -34%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (3548 - 4215, n=9)
3887 Points ∼94% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (293 - 4454, n=494)
1714 Points ∼41% -55%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
2347 Points ∼30%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1335 Points ∼17% -43%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5305 Points ∼68% +126%
Google Pixel 3 XL
7780 Points ∼100% +231%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
7055 Points ∼91% +201%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
4826 Points ∼62% +106%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2347 - 5431, n=9)
4073 Points ∼52% +74%
Average of class Smartphone (43 - 10008, n=493)
1844 Points ∼24% -21%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
2567 Points ∼42%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1477 Points ∼24% -42%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4996 Points ∼81% +95%
Google Pixel 3 XL
6180 Points ∼100% +141%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
5205 Points ∼84% +103%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
4008 Points ∼65% +56%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (2567 - 4996, n=9)
3987 Points ∼65% +55%
Average of class Smartphone (55 - 7820, n=496)
1603 Points ∼26% -38%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
19993 Points ∼54%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
17073 Points ∼46% -15%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
36755 Points ∼100% +84%
Google Pixel 3 XL
15614 Points ∼42% -22%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
27717 Points ∼75% +39%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
18756 Points ∼51% -6%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (19993 - 37164, n=9)
27400 Points ∼75% +37%
Average of class Smartphone (735 - 45072, n=655)
13978 Points ∼38% -30%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
42579 Points ∼27%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
20836 Points ∼13% -51%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
67730 Points ∼42% +59%
Google Pixel 3 XL
53794 Points ∼34% +26%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
159735 Points ∼100% +275%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
36190 Points ∼23% -15%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (42128 - 67956, n=9)
53493 Points ∼33% +26%
Average of class Smartphone (536 - 209204, n=653)
21146 Points ∼13% -50%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
34035 Points ∼44%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
19863 Points ∼26% -42%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
57047 Points ∼74% +68%
Google Pixel 3 XL
34855 Points ∼45% +2%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
77599 Points ∼100% +128%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
29994 Points ∼39% -12%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (34035 - 57073, n=9)
44122 Points ∼57% +30%
Average of class Smartphone (662 - 97276, n=653)
17322 Points ∼22% -49%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
119 fps ∼53%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
36 fps ∼16% -70%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
120 fps ∼53% +1%
Google Pixel 3 XL
140 fps ∼62% +18%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
226 fps ∼100% +90%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
146 fps ∼65% +23%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (68 - 138, n=9)
106 fps ∼47% -11%
Average of class Smartphone (0.5 - 322, n=677)
36.9 fps ∼16% -69%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
58 fps ∼95%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
34 fps ∼56% -41%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
61 fps ∼100% +5%
Google Pixel 3 XL
60 fps ∼98% +3%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
60 fps ∼98% +3%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
60 fps ∼98% +3%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (55 - 62, n=9)
58.6 fps ∼96% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (1 - 120, n=686)
27.7 fps ∼45% -52%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
78 fps ∼73%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
16 fps ∼15% -79%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
73 fps ∼68% -6%
Google Pixel 3 XL
56 fps ∼52% -28%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
107 fps ∼100% +37%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
76 fps ∼71% -3%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (40 - 91, n=9)
68 fps ∼64% -13%
Average of class Smartphone (0.8 - 175, n=583)
21.1 fps ∼20% -73%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
58 fps ∼98%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
15 (min: 16) fps ∼25% -74%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
42 fps ∼71% -28%
Google Pixel 3 XL
37 fps ∼63% -36%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
59 fps ∼100% +2%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
47 fps ∼80% -19%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (37 - 60, n=9)
54.3 fps ∼92% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (1.2 - 115, n=592)
19 fps ∼32% -67%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
53 fps ∼76%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
10 fps ∼14% -81%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
29 fps ∼42% -45%
Google Pixel 3 XL
45 fps ∼65% -15%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
69.3 fps ∼100% +31%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
45 fps ∼65% -15%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (25 - 56, n=9)
44 fps ∼63% -17%
Average of class Smartphone (0.87 - 117, n=449)
17.3 fps ∼25% -67%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
50 fps ∼85%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
9.8 fps ∼17% -80%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
26 fps ∼44% -48%
Google Pixel 3 XL
25 fps ∼42% -50%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
58.9 fps ∼100% +18%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
25 fps ∼42% -50%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (24 - 54, n=9)
42.9 fps ∼73% -14%
Average of class Smartphone (1.2 - 110, n=451)
16.4 fps ∼28% -67%
GFXBench
Aztec Ruins High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
20 fps ∼62%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
3.6 fps ∼11% -82%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
19 fps ∼59% -5%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
32.1 fps ∼100% +61%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (19 - 21, n=8)
20.3 fps ∼63% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (0.61 - 60, n=167)
9.89 fps ∼31% -51%
2560x1440 Aztec Ruins High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
13 fps ∼80%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2.2 fps ∼13% -83%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
13 fps ∼80% 0%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
16.3 fps ∼100% +25%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (13 - 14, n=8)
13.6 fps ∼83% +5%
Average of class Smartphone (0.21 - 33, n=166)
6.84 fps ∼42% -47%
Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
29 fps ∼62%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
5.6 fps ∼12% -81%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
18 fps ∼38% -38%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
47 fps ∼100% +62%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (18 - 32, n=8)
29.4 fps ∼63% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (1.4 - 60, n=171)
14.4 fps ∼31% -50%
1920x1080 Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
30 fps ∼82%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
5.9 fps ∼16% -80%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
33 fps ∼90% +10%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
36.8 fps ∼100% +23%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (30 - 36, n=8)
32.8 fps ∼89% +9%
Average of class Smartphone (0.6 - 87, n=171)
16 fps ∼43% -47%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
28 fps ∼70%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
6.3 fps ∼16% -77%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
31 fps ∼78% +11%
Google Pixel 3 XL
33 fps ∼83% +18%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
40 fps ∼100% +43%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
28 fps ∼70% 0%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (17 - 33, n=9)
28.4 fps ∼71% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (0.6 - 73, n=374)
11.8 fps ∼30% -58%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
28 fps ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
6 fps ∼19% -79%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
16 fps ∼52% -43%
Google Pixel 3 XL
18 fps ∼58% -36%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
31 fps ∼100% +11%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
15 fps ∼48% -46%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (15 - 30, n=9)
23.6 fps ∼76% -16%
Average of class Smartphone (1.1 - 60, n=378)
10.6 fps ∼34% -62%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
273409 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
118959 Points ∼39% -56%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
300617 Points ∼99% +10%
Google Pixel 3 XL
285269 Points ∼94% +4%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
302955 Points ∼100% +11%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
236552 Points ∼78% -13%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (268359 - 316199, n=9)
292583 Points ∼97% +7%
Average of class Smartphone (17073 - 459850, n=285)
139075 Points ∼46% -49%
AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
253082 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
98170 Points ∼39% -61%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
250848 Points ∼99% -1%
Google Pixel 3 XL
215632 Points ∼85% -15%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
214090 Points ∼85% -15%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (245662 - 254229, n=9)
250407 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (5600 - 293444, n=489)
87523 Points ∼35% -65%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
1239 Points ∼72%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1037 Points ∼60% -16%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
1424 Points ∼82% +15%
Google Pixel 3 XL
1176 Points ∼68% -5%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
1731 Points ∼100% +40%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
1132 Points ∼65% -9%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (1239 - 1430, n=9)
1329 Points ∼77% +7%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1731, n=621)
751 Points ∼43% -39%
Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
5070 Points ∼32%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1608 Points ∼10% -68%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
6273 Points ∼40% +24%
Google Pixel 3 XL
7989 Points ∼51% +58%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
15659 Points ∼100% +209%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
6506 Points ∼42% +28%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4963 - 7758, n=9)
6356 Points ∼41% +25%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 15969, n=621)
1986 Points ∼13% -61%
Memory (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
5700 Points ∼91%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2492 Points ∼40% -56%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
6283 Points ∼100% +10%
Google Pixel 3 XL
2825 Points ∼45% -50%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
1815 Points ∼29% -68%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
2068 Points ∼33% -64%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (5210 - 6283, n=9)
5631 Points ∼90% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 7500, n=621)
1487 Points ∼24% -74%
System (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
7923 Points ∼68%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
4320 Points ∼37% -45%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
8604 Points ∼74% +9%
Google Pixel 3 XL
4417 Points ∼38% -44%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
11675 Points ∼100% +47%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
6137 Points ∼53% -23%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (7597 - 8604, n=9)
8112 Points ∼69% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 12202, n=621)
2910 Points ∼25% -63%
Overall (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 X
4104 Points ∼84%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2058 Points ∼42% -50%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4687 Points ∼96% +14%
Google Pixel 3 XL
3291 Points ∼67% -20%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
4895 Points ∼100% +19%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
3110 Points ∼64% -24%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4014 - 4746, n=9)
4419 Points ∼90% +8%
Average of class Smartphone (1 - 6097, n=621)
1460 Points ∼30% -64%

Legend

 
Huawei Mate 20 X HiSilicon Kirin 980, ARM Mali-G76 MP10, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Qualcomm Adreno 509, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Huawei Mate 20 Pro HiSilicon Kirin 980, ARM Mali-G76 MP10, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Google Pixel 3 XL Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Qualcomm Adreno 630, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Apple iPhone Xs Max Apple A12 Bionic, Apple A12 Bionic GPU, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Samsung Galaxy Note 9 Samsung Exynos 9810, ARM Mali-G72 MP18, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash

Browser benchmark results provide a similar picture to CPU and GPU benchmarks. Again, the Mate 20 X typically finished in the middle of our comparison table, but web browsing feels smooth in daily use. Even media content loads quickly, which is not always the case on other devices.

JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
273.01 Points ∼100% +193%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
109.18 Points ∼40% +17%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (93.2 - 109, n=8)
101 Points ∼37% +8%
Huawei Mate 20 X (hrome 71)
93.241 Points ∼34%
Google Pixel 3 XL (Chrome 70)
75.8 Points ∼28% -19%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9 (Chrome 68)
63.012 Points ∼23% -32%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Chrome 69)
44.568 Points ∼16% -52%
Average of class Smartphone (10 - 273, n=518)
39.6 Points ∼15% -58%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
43114 Points ∼100% +103%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
23285 Points ∼54% +10%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (20618 - 23285, n=9)
21662 Points ∼50% +2%
Huawei Mate 20 X (hrome 71)
21208 Points ∼49%
Google Pixel 3 XL (Chrome 70)
16228 Points ∼38% -23%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9 (Chrome 68)
14663 Points ∼34% -31%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Chrome 69)
8273 Points ∼19% -61%
Average of class Smartphone (894 - 43280, n=677)
6450 Points ∼15% -70%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=702)
10678 ms * ∼100% -398%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Chrome 69)
4578.1 ms * ∼43% -113%
Google Pixel 3 XL (Chrome 70)
2785 ms * ∼26% -30%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9 (Chrome 68)
2710 ms * ∼25% -26%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (1948 - 3098, n=9)
2189 ms * ∼21% -2%
Huawei Mate 20 X (hrome 71)
2145.4 ms * ∼20%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
1951.9 ms * ∼18% +9%
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
603.1 ms * ∼6% +72%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
155 Points ∼100% +80%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
124 Points ∼80% +44%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (86 - 124, n=9)
103 Points ∼66% +20%
Google Pixel 3 XL (Chrome 70)
100 Points ∼65% +16%
Huawei Mate 20 X (hrome 71)
86 Points ∼55%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9 (Chrome 68)
72 Points ∼46% -16%
Average of class Smartphone (19 - 161, n=150)
64.2 Points ∼41% -25%
WebXPRT 2015 - Overall Score
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
347 Points ∼100% +50%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
334 Points ∼96% +44%
Google Pixel 3 XL (Chrome 70)
287 Points ∼83% +24%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (228 - 334, n=5)
277 Points ∼80% +19%
Huawei Mate 20 X (hrome 71)
232 Points ∼67%
Samsung Galaxy Note 9 (Chrome 68)
202 Points ∼58% -13%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Chrome 69)
148 Points ∼43% -36%
Average of class Smartphone (27 - 362, n=328)
122 Points ∼35% -47%

* ... smaller is better

The Mate 20 X performed well in AndroBench 3-5 and outscored many of our comparison devices. The UFS 2.1 memory is faster than average and even beat the UFS 2.1 storage in the Mate 20 Pro in some tests. Please note that our test device had around 110 GB of its advertised 128 GB storage available upon delivery.

Huawei has also equipped the Mate 20 X with a fast memory card reader, which we tested with our reference 128 GB Huawei NM card. The card reader achieved better transfer rates than many of our microSD equipped comparison devices, but the speed difference is negligible at best. In short, NM cards are not currently worth the additional outlay compared to buying a microSD card.

Huawei Mate 20 XXiaomi Mi Max 3Huawei Mate 20 ProGoogle Pixel 3 XLSamsung Galaxy Note 9Average 128 GB UFS 2.1 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-33%
-4%
-17%
-20%
-16%
-55%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
72 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
60.28 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-16%
72.38 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
1%
66.7 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-7%
61.5 (27.8 - 72.4, n=17)
-15%
49 (3.4 - 87.1, n=410)
-32%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
83.14 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
83.79 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
1%
83.18 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
0%
77 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-7%
77 (31.3 - 88.2, n=17)
-7%
67.2 (8.1 - 96.5, n=410)
-19%
Random Write 4KB
237.63
87.08
-63%
157.84
-34%
132.7
-44%
21
-91%
86.8 (18.2 - 250, n=39)
-63%
21.3 (0.14 - 250, n=730)
-91%
Random Read 4KB
144.44
72.87
-50%
157.42
9%
120.8
-16%
134
-7%
139 (98.9 - 158, n=39)
-4%
46.1 (1.59 - 196, n=730)
-68%
Sequential Write 256KB
182.7
185.4
1%
196.39
7%
228.6
25%
196
7%
205 (182 - 503, n=39)
12%
94.6 (2.99 - 590, n=730)
-48%
Sequential Read 256KB
911.88
274.63
-70%
853.28
-6%
632.6
-31%
805
-12%
751 (427 - 912, n=39)
-18%
266 (12.1 - 1504, n=730)
-71%

Games

The Mate 20 X is well suited for playing games with its large display and its powerful SoC. Moreover, the touchscreen and accelerometer react quickly and do not cause any issues when playing fast-paced games.

"Arena of Valor" and "Asphalt 9: Legends" both ran smoothly on our test device at high graphics. The latter averaged 29.9 FPS at both medium/low and High/HD presets, which indicates that the system has limited framerates for some reason. We did not notice any drop in framerates even over extended gaming sessions.

Arena of Valor
Arena of Valor
Asphalt 9: Legends
Asphalt 9: Legends

Arena of Valor

010203040506070Tooltip
; min: Ø60.2 (60-61)
; high HD: Ø60.2 (58-61)

Asphalt 9: Legends

010203040Tooltip
; High Quality: Ø29.9 (28-31)
; Standard / low: Ø29.9 (29-31)

Emissions

Temperature

GFXBench Battery test - Manhattan 3.1
GFXBench Battery test - Manhattan 3.1
GFXBench Battery test - ES 2.0
GFXBench Battery test - ES 2.0

The Mate 20 X manages its surface temperatures well. Our test device reached a maximum of 28 °C (~82 °F) at idle, which then rose to a maximum of 35 °C (~95 °F) when we pushed the device hard. Hence, the Mate 20 X runs cool enough to hold in your hand comfortably during long gaming sessions.

We also subjected the Mate 20 X to a looped GFXBench battery test to determine how well it manages its performance under sustained load. Our test device performed well overall, although there were some dips in framerates at certain points of the benchmark loop. The framerates returned to initial levels by the end of the benchmark loop though, so the Mate 20 X should not thermal throttle in daily use.

Max. Load
 33.4 °C
92 F
33.6 °C
92 F
30.3 °C
87 F
 
 32.4 °C
90 F
32.4 °C
90 F
30 °C
86 F
 
 30.8 °C
87 F
31.2 °C
88 F
29.9 °C
86 F
 
Maximum: 33.6 °C = 92 F
Average: 31.6 °C = 89 F
27.7 °C
82 F
28.5 °C
83 F
34.7 °C
94 F
27.5 °C
82 F
28.9 °C
84 F
32.4 °C
90 F
27.9 °C
82 F
28.9 °C
84 F
30.3 °C
87 F
Maximum: 34.7 °C = 94 F
Average: 29.6 °C = 85 F
Power Supply (max.)  32 °C = 90 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(+) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 31.6 °C / 89 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 33.6 °C / 92 F, compared to the average of 35.5 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 34.7 °C / 94 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 27.4 °C / 81 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the bottom of the device under load
Heatmap of the bottom of the device under load

Speakers

Speaker characteristics
Speaker characteristics

The Mate 20 X has stereo speakers that are on the top and underside of the device. The speakers get relatively loud and reproduce mid tones well. Music and media content generally sounds decent, so you will not need to rush for some headphones if you want to watch or listen to something.

The Mate 20 X also has a headphone jack, which is increasingly becoming a rarity among flagship smartphones. The device also supports Bluetooth 5.0 and can output using BLE, SBC, AAC, aptX, aptX HD, LDAC or HWA audio codecs.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2031.137.32529.230.4312622.34023.221.55031.931.36327.421.7802921.610024.224.812518.4341601851.820017.450.725014.456.131515.859.740016.360.850015.461.163014.763.580016.265.5100014.773125013.871.616001474.3200014.473.9250014.176.4315014.674.1400014.672.7500014.470.5630014.469.2800014.863.71000015.259.21250014.758.61600014.849.7SPL26.984.1N0.955.6median 14.7median 63.5Delta1.49.632.341.525.63125.733.227.429.23738.323.323.621.424.121.725.119.933.217.439.9174716.450.114.551.314.256.714.156.912.655.512.558.51259.911.860.911.662.411.463.911.358.811.456.111.159.711.25811.356.711.259.411.358.411.355.711.350.954.565.56767.167.365.824.171.69.618.919.520.221.617.80.629median 11.8median 56.71.74.5hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseHuawei Mate 20 XSamsung Galaxy Note 9
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Huawei Mate 20 X audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (84.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 17.3% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (13.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.7% higher than median
(+) | mids are linear (4.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 7.1% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (5.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (19.5% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 11% of all tested devices in this class were better, 6% similar, 82% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 39% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 54% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Samsung Galaxy Note 9 audio analysis

(-) | not very loud speakers (71.6 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 15.6% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 2.9% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 1.6% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (5.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(+) | overall sound is linear (13.1% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 0% of all tested devices in this class were better, 0% similar, 100% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 9% of all tested devices were better, 2% similar, 89% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The Huawei Mate 20 X charger
The Huawei Mate 20 X charger

The Mate 20 X is an energy efficient device that consumed a minimum of 0.79 W at idle during our tests. Power consumption rose to a maximum of 9.85 W, which is considerably higher than what the Mate 20 Pro consumed during the same test. Overall, the Mate 20 X consumed slightly more than our comparison devices on average, but is not a power-hungry device.

The included quick charger is rated at up to 22.5 W, so it should always be able to charge the Mate 20 X even when it is operating under sustained load. We had no charging issues with our test device regardless of how hard we pushed it.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.01 / 0.25 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.79 / 1.72 / 1.83 Watt
Load midlight 5.53 / 9.85 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Huawei Mate 20 X
5000 mAh
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
5500 mAh
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4200 mAh
Google Pixel 3 XL
3430 mAh
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3174 mAh
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
4000 mAh
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
14%
-2%
8%
10%
-20%
Idle Minimum *
0.79
0.7
11%
0.95
-20%
0.7
11%
1
-27%
0.9
-14%
Idle Average *
1.72
1.5
13%
2.17
-26%
1.4
19%
1.4
19%
1.9
-10%
Idle Maximum *
1.83
2.2
-20%
2.25
-23%
2
-9%
1.7
7%
3.7
-102%
Load Average *
5.53
3.8
31%
4.47
19%
4.8
13%
4.6
17%
5.3
4%
Load Maximum *
9.85
6.5
34%
6.15
38%
9.5
4%
6.7
32%
7.6
23%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The Mate 20 X has a 5,000 mAh battery, which is much larger than all but the 5,500 mAh battery in the Mi Max 3 of our comparison devices. Our test device lasted over 13 hours in our practical Wi-Fi test, which is respectable, but rather underwhelming. The Mate 20 X lasted longer than the Mate 20 Pro, the Pixel 3 XL and the iPhone XS Max in the same test, but the Galaxy Note 9 had a slightly better runtime with its 1,000 mAh smaller battery. Moreover, the Mi Max 3 lasted over 8 hours longer in the same test despite having just a 500 mAh larger battery capacity.

The included charger recharges our test device fully in under two hours.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
33h 04min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
13h 06min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
16h 26min
Load (maximum brightness)
5h 00min
Huawei Mate 20 X
5000 mAh
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
5500 mAh
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4200 mAh
Google Pixel 3 XL
3430 mAh
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3174 mAh
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
4000 mAh
Battery Runtime
66%
-8%
-13%
-21%
-1%
Reader / Idle
1984
1747
-12%
1725
-13%
1305
-34%
1687
-15%
H.264
986
854
-13%
724
-27%
801
-19%
896
-9%
WiFi v1.3
786
1305
66%
767
-2%
691
-12%
742
-6%
794
1%
Load
300
282
-6%
299
0%
223
-26%
354
18%

Pros

+ huge screen
+ fast Wi-Fi
+ Bluetooth 5.0
+ good cameras
+ Dual-SIM LTE

Cons

- nano memory card
- PWM display flickering

Verdict

The Huawei Mate 20 X. Test device courtesy of Huawei Germany.
The Huawei Mate 20 X. Test device courtesy of Huawei Germany.

The Huawei Mate 20 X has the same qualities as the other Mate 20 models that we have already come to love. The giant smartphone has excellent system and storage performance, while its cameras are first-class. Moreover, the OLED screen is impressive, as are the LTE and Wi-Fi speeds.


The Mate 20 X lacks the standout features of the Mate 20 Pro such as its 3D face recognition, wireless charging and its 40 W fast charger, which is disappointing. The screen brightness is lower too, which is another drawback.

The Huawei Mate 20 X is an excellent flagship phablet whose performance is unique for a device of its size.

It is also worth keeping in mind that other devices achieved similar results in our tests and took almost as good pictures as the triple rear-facing camera array can. However, you will not find a better alternative to the Mate 20 X if you are in the market for a flagship phablet.

Huawei Mate 20 X - 09/11/2019 v7
Mike Wobker

Chassis
88%
Keyboard
69 / 75 → 92%
Pointing Device
96%
Connectivity
52 / 70 → 75%
Weight
88%
Battery
90%
Display
89%
Games Performance
40 / 64 → 62%
Application Performance
73 / 86 → 85%
Temperature
94%
Noise
100%
Audio
72 / 90 → 80%
Camera
69%
Average
79%
85%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 1 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Huawei Mate 20 X Smartphone Review
Mike Wobker, 2019-01-10 (Update: 2019-02-23)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor - @aldersonaj
Prior to writing and translating for Notebookcheck, I worked for various companies including Apple and Neowin. I have a BA in International History and Politics from the University of Leeds, which I have since converted to a Law Degree. Happy to chat on Twitter or Notebookchat.