Notebookcheck

Huawei Mate 20 Pro Smartphone Review

Allen Ngo, Daniel Schmidt, 👁 Daniel Schmidt (translated by Alex Alderson), 10/17/2018

Strong piece - The Huawei Mate 20 Pro’s spec sheet is littered with flagship-level hardware, including the new Kirin 980 SoC, the currently fastest LTE modem in a consumer smartphone, reverse wireless charging and a fingerprint sensor underneath its display. This review will be putting all this new hardware and more through its paces to determine whether the Mate 20 Pro’s technical prowess translates into real-world performance.
Update: Review completed.

The Mate series has always been Huawei’s showcase smartphones. Previous Mate devices have been the first to receive the company’s latest innovations except for camera-related hardware, which Huawei has reserved for the P-series.

The lack of cutting-edge hardware let the Mate 10 Pro down, but no criticism could be levelled at its successor. The Mate 20 Pro has a 6.3-inch display with Huawei finally opting for a 1440p panel rather than the 1080p panel that was used in the Mate 10 Pro. Likewise, the Mate 20 Pro sports the brand-new HiSilicon Kirin 980 SoC, which Huawei manufacturers on a 7 nm FinFET process and promises will outperform Apple’s latest A12 Bionic SoC. The fingerprint sensor is also now underneath the display as we have seen with the Vivo NEX Ultimate or the Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition. Previously, Huawei had reserved this technology for its Porsche Edition devices.

The Leica-branded triple rear-facing camera looks like the one in the P20 Pro at first glance, but Huawei has added a wide-angle lens in favour of the monochrome sensor. The camera should also have great macro-performance thanks to its 5x optical zoom. The focus of the Mate 20 Pro’s cameras is undoubtedly the 40 MP rear-facing sensor, which should share all the great qualities of the P20 Pro’s main rear-facing camera. The Mate 20 Pro also flexes its muscles with its currently world-beating Cat. 21 LTE modem, Bluetooth 5.0 support, its NFC chip and its fast MIMO Wi-Fi. Huawei has also included a 4,200-mAh battery, which supports wired or wireless charging and is 200 mAh larger than its predecessor’s.

We have chosen to compare the Huawei Mate 20 Pro against other large flagship smartphones, including the Apple iPhone XS, HTC U12+, LG G7 ThinQ, OnePlus 6, Nokia 8 Sirocco, Samsung Galaxy Note 9 and the Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium.

This is a live review, which we will expand upon in due course.

  • 10.16.2018: First impressions and photos.
  • 10.18.2018: Display values, further benchmarks and photos added.
  • 10.20.2018: Sections for Case, Connectivity and Communication added.
  • 10.21.2018: Accessories, Warranty and Input Devices sections added; Performance section completed.
  • 10.22.2018: Telephony and Temperature sections added; Display section expanded. First battery tests included.
  • 10.25.2018: Sections added for Display and Software. GPS and Game sections finished.
  • 10.26.2018: Review completed.
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Mate 20 Series)
Processor
HiSilicon Kirin 980, Dual-Core NPU
Graphics adapter
ARM Mali-G76 MP10, GPU Turbo 2.0
Memory
6144 MB 
, LPDDR4x
Display
6.3 inch 13:6, 3120 x 1440 pixel 545 PPI, Capacitive touchscreen; 10-point multitouch, OLED, HDR, glossy: yes
Storage
128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash, 128 GB 
, 112.8 GB free
Connections
1 USB 3.0 / 3.1 Gen1, 1 HDMI, 1 DisplayPort, Audio Connections: USB Type-C, Card Reader: Nano memory card (up to 256 GB), 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Proximity, digital compass, gyroscope, acceleration, reverb, infrared, laser, colour temperature, OTG
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 5.0, GSM/GPRS/Edge, UMTS/HSPA+, LTE Cat. 21, Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.6 x 156.9 x 72.4 ( = 0.34 x 6.18 x 2.85 in)
Battery
4200 mAh Lithium-Polymer, Huawei Super Charge - 40 W, Qi wireless charging, Talk time 2G (according to manufacturer): 41 h, Talk time 3G (according to manufacturer): 30 h, Standby 2G (according to manufacturer): 502 h, Standby 3G (according to manufacturer): 555 h
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 40 MPix Main Camera: 40 MP, f/1.8. Ultra-wide-angle sensor: 20 MP, f/2.2. Telephoto sensor: 8 MP, f/2.4, OIS. Dual-tone LED flash, AI support.
Secondary Camera: 24 MPix
Additional features
Speakers: Stereo speakers, Keyboard: Virtual keyboard, SuperCharge power adapter, USB cable, headset, SIM tool, quick start guide, EMUI 9.0, 24 Months Warranty, SAR: 0.4 W / kg, IP68 certification, fanless
Weight
189 g ( = 6.67 oz / 0.42 pounds), Power Supply: 125 g ( = 4.41 oz / 0.28 pounds)
Price
999 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The case is constructed from a slim metal frame that is sandwiched between two sheets of Corning Gorilla Glass 5. Currently, the Mate 20 Pro is available in Black (Black), Blue (Midnight Blue), Green (Emerald Green) and Twilight. We have included Huawei’s colour names in brackets, for reference. Huawei has incorporated subtle black horizontal strips within the blue and green versions, which makes them grippier than the other colours. There is also a Pink Gold version, but Huawei does not currently sell this version worldwide.

The Mate 20 Pro is around 2.7 mm taller than the Mate 10 Pro and is 0.5 mm thicker at 8.6 mm thick. The device looks thinner though as both sides curve inwards, akin to the Samsung Galaxy S9. The rear-facing camera array protrudes from the back of the device, but Huawei has incorporated a metal frame within the housing to protect the camera-array glass from scratching.

Huawei has put the card slot on the underside of the device, but it supports nano memory cards instead of the traditional microSD card format. The Mate 20 Pro is also a dual SIM device, but you can only use two SIMs or a single SIM and a nano memory card. The card slot is plastic but feels sturdy and is practically the same colour as the rest of the case. We only noticed a slight colour difference when looking at the device closely under bright ambient light, so it is not noticeable in daily use. The case is also IP68-rated against dust and is submersible in up to two metres of water. Huawei sells an optional underwater case that protects the device for in up to five metres of water. The battery is fixed in place and is not user removable.

Our test device is well-constructed with even, yet tight gaps between materials. The distance between glass and metal is greater at the corners of the device because of its rounded edges, but this is by design and not a manufacturing issue. Our test device creaked slightly when we applied pressure to the case, but overall the Mate 20 Pro is a robust smartphone.

From left to right: Huawei Mate 9, Mate 20 Pro and Mate 10 Pro
From left to right: Huawei Mate 9, Mate 20 Pro and Mate 10 Pro
The Mate 20 Pro’s hybrid slot
The Mate 20 Pro’s 40 W charger

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro

Independent journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible but we intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers and support us!

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro and Mate 20 side by side.

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro and Mate 20 side by side.

Size Comparison

Connectivity

Our Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 reference microSD next to a new Huawei nano memory card.
Our Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 reference microSD next to a new Huawei nano memory card.

Huawei did not include microSD-card support with the Mate 10 Pro, which was the first in the Mate series to lack expandable memory. Companies do not tend to reintroduce expandable storage once they have removed it from a smartphone series, except for Samsung with the Galaxy S7. Huawei has reversed its decision too, but the Mate 20 Pro supports nano memory cards rather than microSD cards, as we mentioned above. Nano memory cards should be around 40% smaller than their microSD counterparts, but they will only be available in 64, 128 and 512 GB formats at launch. Moreover, Germany will only see the 128 GB version initially, and it will cost approximately 50 Euros (~$56). We cannot give a precise figure as prices had not been confirmed at the time of writing.

Nano memory cards should achieve up to 90 MB/s read speeds, but potential write speeds are still unconfirmed at the time of writing. The concept of a new smaller memory card has yet to convince us though. While having a smaller card is good for freeing up space within a device, nano memory cards currently cost more per GB than their microSD counterparts and are limited to being formatted as external storage. The Mate 20 Pro cannot format a nano memory card as internal storage, meaning that apps and data can only be stored on its flash memory.

Huawei has equipped its latest flagship well in other areas though. The Mate 20 Pro supports Bluetooth 5.0 with aptX HD, LTE Cat. 21, NFC, and MIMO Wi-Fi. Likewise, Huawei has included an infrared transmitter for controlling devices like stereos and TVs and has equipped the Mate 20 Pro with a USB 3.1 Type-C port that supports USB On-The-Go (OTG) and image output over HDMI or DisplayPort.

There is also not only Qi 15 W wireless charging but also reverse wireless charging, which allows the Mate 20 Pro to act as a portable wireless charger should you need to charge your other devices or with friend’s devices. Huawei has utilised an in-display fingerprint sensor and infrared facial recognition for biometric authentication. Our test device has a 40 W fast charger in the box too.

If we were to criticise Huawei, at best we would have liked to see a heart-rate sensor and an FM radio transmitter. These are not as important as what Huawei has chosen to include. In short, the Mate 20 Pro is currently the best-equipped smartphone on the market.

Huawei has moved the notification LED to within the notch, but this can only be turned on or off and not configured. The device has an always-on display too that shows battery status, the date, the time and the weekday. Unfortunately, other information is scant. The AoD lists the volume of SMS messages received but does not currently support third-party notifications.

Top side: IR transmitter, microphone
Top side: IR transmitter, microphone
Left-hand side
Left-hand side
Right-hand side: volume rocker, power button
Right-hand side: volume rocker, power button
Bottom edge: microphone, card slot, USB 3.1 Type-C, microphone
Bottom edge: microphone, card slot, USB 3.1 Type-C, microphone

Software

Huawei has equipped the Mate 20 Pro with EMUI 9.0, its customized version of Android 9.0 Pie. EMUI 9.0 brings minor visual adjustments compared to stock Android, but Huawei promises that its latest OS will be up to 47% faster than EMUI 8.2 and 51% at loading applications. Huawei has also tightened up the menu options, reducing them to 843 from 940 in EMUI 8.2. Additionally, Huawei has renewed its “Stay Fast” promise, with the company claiming that the Mate 20 Pro will retain 95% of its initial performance after 18 months of use.

Our test device has the latest Android security patches and version of EMUI at the time of writing. We expect that Huawei will roll-out two major OS updates to the Mate 20 Pro and keep the device updated with new Android security patch releases. Huawei has also incorporated Google User Account Control and Digital Balance, the latter of which helps manage screen-time usage.

The standard Huawei on-screen button array is shown by default, but these can be hidden for more screen space should you wish. Huawei has included gesture control features too, which are like the ones that the iPhone XS uses. 

Default home screen
Default home screen
Quick Settings
Quick Settings
Device Information
Device Information
Navigation options
Navigation options

Communication & GPS

The Mate 20 Pro supports a wide range of 2G, 3G and LTE frequencies, making the device suitable for worldwide use. Huawei has included the first Cat. 21 LTE modem too, which supports up to 1.4 Gb/s download speeds. The company has also touted up to 120% better antenna performance compared to the Mate 10 Pro, which Huawei reports should result in lower signal attenuation. Our tests do not confirm this though. The Mate 20 Pro has slightly better 2G reception on O2 Germany than its predecessor, but that is a far cry from Huawei’s claims. With that said, our test device has great everyday mobile connectivity and experienced no issues during our tests.

The device has a MIMO Wi-Fi antenna too, which is another upgrade over its predecessor. The Mate 20 Pro supports all modern Wi-Fi connections including 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac standards and either 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz networks. Huawei went as far to say at its press conference that the Mate 20 Pro has the fastest Wi-Fi connectivity of any current smartphone and could reach up to 1,733 Mbps. Again, our tests confirm otherwise with our test device achieving half of Huawei’s quoted speeds at best.

Our test device scores highly when tested with our Linksys EA8500 reference router, but not without weaknesses. The Mate 20 Pro finished behind all our comparison devices when we tested how quickly it could receive data over Wi-Fi. Connection speeds varied greatly too. This is not too much of an issue when using the device close to a router, but it could prove problematic when you are sat some distance from it. We hope that Huawei issues an update that rectifies this as our Mate 20 Pro takes the crown in our Wi-Fi transmission speed tests. Our test device has good Wi-Fi range in daily use too.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
677 MBit/s ∼100% +10%
LG G7 ThinQ
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
656 MBit/s ∼97% +7%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
Mali-G72 MP18, 9810, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
652 MBit/s ∼96% +6%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
A12 Bionic GPU, A12 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
624 MBit/s ∼92% +1%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
615 MBit/s ∼91% 0%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
615 (min: 532, max: 642) MBit/s ∼91%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
491 (min: 100, max: 534) MBit/s ∼73% -20%
OnePlus 6
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
609 MBit/s ∼90% -1%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
Mali-G72 MP12, Kirin 970, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
355 (min: 105, max: 550) MBit/s ∼52% -42%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
Mali-G72 MP12, Kirin 970, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
338 MBit/s ∼50% -45%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=311)
212 MBit/s ∼31% -66%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
696 (min: 647, max: 714) MBit/s ∼100%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
663 (min: 289, max: 805) MBit/s ∼95% -5%
LG G7 ThinQ
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
651 MBit/s ∼94% -6%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
647 MBit/s ∼93% -7%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
Mali-G72 MP12, Kirin 970, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
627 (min: 490, max: 666) MBit/s ∼90% -10%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
Mali-G72 MP12, Kirin 970, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
225 MBit/s ∼32% -68%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
615 MBit/s ∼88% -12%
OnePlus 6
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
612 MBit/s ∼88% -12%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
A12 Bionic GPU, A12 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
602 MBit/s ∼86% -14%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
Mali-G72 MP18, 9810, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
519 MBit/s ∼75% -25%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=311)
206 MBit/s ∼30% -70%
050100150200250300350400450500550600650700750800Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; Finale Firmware iperf 3.1.3: Ø615 (532-642)
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø490 (100-534)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø696 (647-714)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; Finale Firmware iperf 3.1.3: Ø663 (289-805)
GPS test: GNSS
GPS test: GNSS
GPS test: Outdoors
GPS test: Outdoors
GPS test: On a train
GPS test: On a train

The Mate 20 Pro uses BeiDou, Galileo, GLONASS, GNSS and GPS for location services. The device also supports two satellite frequencies for greater positioning accuracy. The Mate 20 Pro uses not only the standard L1 satellite frequency but also the L5 frequency, which is more accurate and efficient for determining positioning.

The combination of these technologies helps make our test device impressively accurate at finding our location even when we are on the move. The device needs a moment to find a satellite fix when we tested it on a train and around 15 seconds to settle on an accuracy of up to five metres.

We also took the Mate 20 Pro on a car ride to compare its location accuracy against a Garmin Edge 500, a professional navigation device. Our test device recorded us having driven around 40 metres more over a 77 km car journey than our Garmin, which makes the Mate 20 Pro an incredibly accurate device. Moreover, our test device even plotted our route slightly more accurately than the Garmin; not many other devices have managed such a feat.

GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Bridge
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Bridge
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Corners
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Corners
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 Pro – Overview
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 Pro – Overview
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 Pro – Bridge
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 Pro – Bridge
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 Pro – Corners
GPS test: Huawei Mate 20 Pro – Corners

Telephone Functions & Call Quality

The EMUI 9.0 Phone app
The EMUI 9.0 Phone app

The Mate 20 Pro has three microphones like its predecessors, which provide outstanding call quality. Both sides of calls sounded clear during testing, while the microphones adequately filtered out background noise. Calls over speakerphone are equally impressive. The speaker is loud enough, and the microphones being sufficiently sensitive for us to lie our test device on a table without affecting call quality. We noticed a weak echo when making calls over speakerphone compared to over the earpiece, but this did not distract either end of the call during testing.

The Mate 20 Pro supports dual voice over LTE (VoLTE) and voice over Wi-Fi (VoWiFi).

Cameras

Taking a selfie with the Mate 20 Pro
Taking a selfie with the Mate 20 Pro

The Mate 20 Pro has Leica-branded triple rear-facing cameras just like the P20 Pro but uses a comparatively large 1/1.7-inch image sensor. Huawei has ditched the P20 Pro’s monochrome sensor in favour of a wide-angle lens as the latter is no longer needed for taking high-quality photos. The 40 MP main camera, with its f/1.8 aperture, is technically the brightest of the trio. The 8 MP telephoto sensor makes another welcome appearance too with 80 mm wide lens, OIS and an f/2.4 aperture. The big camera change from the P20 Pro is the 20 MP ultra-wide-angle sensor that has an f/2.2 aperture and a 16 mm focal length. This is enhanced by a 5x hybrid zoom (135 mm) and up to 10x digital zoom (270 mm). Huawei includes its AI optimization that we saw on the P20 Pro too.

Moreover, photos taken with the Mate 20 Pro have brighter colours, higher dynamics and are captured in much greater detail than on the Mate 10 Pro. The rear-facing cameras are particularly impressive when taking panoramic shots at night, a scenario in which the Mate 20 Pro is now the standard for other smartphones to beat. The differences are not as great when taking photos of objects though. The Mate 20 Pro is on par with the P20 Pro in this respect, partially because the device compensates for the lack of a monochrome sensor with better-optimised software algorithms, which Huawei calls “Super HDR”.

“Super HDR” combines multiple shots into one large image that should result in better dynamics and more accurate lighting. These processes are akin to what Apple and Google use in their latest flagship devices. The Mate 20 Pro has a larger main camera sensor than its competitors, so we took some example photos in the device’s 10 MP mode with Master AI also activated for a truer comparison with the iPhone XS. Our test device takes well-lit photos in low-light, but the same shot is captured in greater detail by the iPhone XS. The 10 MP mode does take richly detailed photos though and especially impresses in daytime shots.

The Mate 20 Pro has the same video-recording capabilities as the P20 Pro and can record videos in up to Ultra HD at 30 FPS. However, shooting videos in 60 FPS is only possible in up to Full HD. Moreover, 60-FPS videos lack Huawei’s AI image stabilization, which only works at up to 30 FPS. The stabilization works well when used though. The microphones work well too and recorded clean stereo audio throughout testing.

The front-facing camera is seemingly identical to that which Huawei used in the P20 Pro, but it produced lower quality results in our tests. The dynamic range and sharpness are impressive, but the bokeh effect is sloppy and frequently produces artefacts within images. Likewise, while Huawei has expanded the portrait mode, the pre-release software running on our device does not meet expectations. Photos taken in portrait mode have more image noise than those in other modes, and our test device particularly struggles to correctly expose people who are stood in front of a busy background. In short, the iPhone XS produces better portrait photos than the Mate 20 Pro. 

Mate 10 Pro
Mate 10 Pro
Mate 20 Pro
Mate 20 Pro

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Wide-Angle
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Hybrid Zoom
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Hybrid Zoom
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Hybrid Zoom
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: 10x Digital zoom
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Wide-Angle
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera - Night mode
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Wide-Angle
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Main Camera
Huawei Mate 20 Pro: Wide-Angle

Photos taken with the Huawei Mate 20 Pro

ColorChecker: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour – Main camera
ColorChecker: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour – Main camera
ColorChecker: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour – Wide-angle sensor
ColorChecker: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour – Wide-angle sensor

We also took a closer look at the Mate 20 Pro's triple camera under controlled lighting conditions. Our test device reproduces colours strongly and while skin tones are slightly brightened, the white balance is somewhat warmer than we would have liked. The wide-angle lens performs similarly to the main camera but reproduces colours more darkly.

The Mate 20 Pro captures our test chart well. The chart looks sharp at the centre of the image, albeit fine details are not as sharp as they could be. By contrast, our test device accurately reproduces coloured surfaces and even dark text that is set against dark backgrounds. Our test chart has a slight curvature to it when captured by the wide-angle sensor, but this is more subtle than other devices like the LG G7 ThinQ.

A photo of our test chart taken with the 40 MP camera
A photo of our test chart taken with the 40 MP camera
A photo of our test chart taken with the 10 MP camera
A detailed look at our test chart taken with the 10 MP camera
A photo of our test chart taken with the telephoto sensor
A photo of our test chart taken with the wide-angle sensor

Accessories & Warranty

Huawei includes a 40 W SuperCharge charger (5V/2A, 9V/2A, 10V/4A) in the box along with a USB Type-A to Type-C cable, a quick-start guide, a SIM tool and a set of headphones. The company sells additional accessories on its website too, including simple silicone cases or hinged versions with integrated stands. Moreover, Huawei has also designed an underwater case that protects the Mate 20 Pro against water damage when submerged in water up to five metres deep. There is a Qi wireless charger too, but the Mate 20 Pro can wirelessly charge with non-Huawei Qi wireless chargers, including those from Apple, IKEA, Nokia or Samsung.

The Mate 20 Pro comes with 24 months non-extendible manufacturer’s warranty.

Input Devices & Operation

The device has a 10-point multitouch touchscreen that is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass 5, the surface of which is slick and offers little resistance to fingers. Our test device recognises inputs accurately and quickly across its entire display. We had no problems with the rounded corners either.

Since the Mate 20 Pro is IP68-rated, you technically could take your device for a spot of underwater photography. Using a touchscreen underwater can be tricky though as water interferes with inputs and even creates phantom touches. However, Huawei has developed a special underwater camera mode to combat this, which deactivates the touchscreen except to allow users to disable the mode and remaps all camera controls to the power and volume buttons. The camera UI changes too so that only the viewfinder is shown.

Swype is the default keyboard on our test device, but this is replaceable with any keyboard app from the Google Play Store. There are also knuckle gestures, which we have seen on other Huawei devices. Our test device’s vibration motor is quiet and discreet too.

The Mate 20 Pro also has an in-screen fingerprint sensor, the technology for which we have seen in the Porsche Design Huawei Mate RS and the VIVO Nex Ultimate. The in-screen fingerprint sensor is practically invisible and takes up less space than other fingerprint sensors that are traditionally below the display or on the back case. The sensor unlocks our test device quickly in daily use and takes us directly to the home screen. Huawei has included an animation to help users find the fingerprint sensor in the dark, but it is too bright for our liking. The in-screen fingerprint sensor is easily reachable when using the device with one hand and there is a one-handed mode should you occasionally need an effectively smaller display. However, the Mate 20 Pro has such a large display that we found it rather tricky to hold the device in one hand and focus our touches on one corner of the display.

Huawei has doubled-down on biometric security and has included an infrared-based 3D face unlock. The company has stated that the infrared scanner may authenticate similar-looking people, so it is not as secure as the Mate 20 Pro’s fingerprint sensor. Our test device recognised us quickly and reliably in daily use. The feature even worked well in the dark, although the 3D face unlock only opens the device to the lock screen rather than directly to the home screen as the fingerprint sensor does.

Using the keyboard in portrait mode
Using the keyboard in portrait mode
Using the keyboard in landscape mode
Using the keyboard in landscape mode

Display

The Mate 20 Pro has a 6.39-inch OLED display with rounded corners that are akin to the Galaxy S9. Huawei has increased the resolution to 3120x1440 from the 2160x1080 panel in last year’s Mate 10 Pro, which results in a pixel density bump to 545 PPI from 402 PPI. However, a look at the sub-pixel array highlights that Huawei has equipped the Mate 20 Pro with a PenTile matrix panel, which is not as sharp as their RGB counterparts. Samsung has also been using PenTile matrix panels in its cheaper smartphones because its displays have high pixel densities. However, our comparison devices like the Xperia XZ2 Premium not only have UHD displays but also double the number of sub-pixels that the Mate 20 Pro has. Please keep in mind that you must manually switch the Xperia XZ2 Premium to enjoy its maximum resolution permanently as the device automatically alters its resolution according to what is onscreen.

Our test device has a slightly darker display than its predecessor, but it is brighter than most of our other comparison devices. According to X-Rite i1Pro 2, the Mate 20 Pro reaches an average maximum brightness of 582 cd/m² with the brightness sensor activated. However, the more realistic APL50 test, which distributes dark and light areas evenly over the display to measure luminosity, records our test device as reaching over 800 cd/m² maximum brightness.

The Mate 20 Pro uses pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate display brightness, but then most OLED-equipped devices do. The amplitude curve is so flat though that most people should have no issues despite the comparatively low PWM frequency, which we measure at 245.1 Hz. At 100% brightness, the PWM frequency then drops to a more economical 60 Hz, but we could not adjust this manually as the maximum brightness is limited to around 460 cd/m², which is below the luminosity when the 60 Hz frequency kicks in.

Huawei has incorporated a night mode and the natural tone display technology that we first saw in the P20 Pro. The former reduces the number of blue light waves that the display emits, which creates a warmer and more eye-friendly colour temperature, while the latter automatically adjusts the white balance and colour reproduction for the most natural-looking colours in changing lighting conditions.

The Mate 20 Pro also supports HDR10 and DolbyVision, which should please those who like watching videos on their smartphone.

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array
Display flickering at 100% brightness
Display flickering at 100% brightness
560
cd/m²
573
cd/m²
605
cd/m²
559
cd/m²
576
cd/m²
603
cd/m²
559
cd/m²
581
cd/m²
620
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 620 cd/m² Average: 581.8 cd/m² Minimum: 1.84 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 90 %
Center on Battery: 576 cd/m²
Contrast: ∞:1 (Black: 0 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 1.3 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.2
ΔE Greyscale 1.6 | 0.64-98 Ø6.5
99.1% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.18
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
OLED, 3120x1440, 6.3
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
OLED, 2160x1080, 6
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
Super AMOLED, 2960x1440, 6.2
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
LCD-IPS, 3840x2160, 5.8
Apple iPhone Xs Max
OLED, 2688x1242, 6.5
LG G7 ThinQ
IPS, 3120x1440, 6.1
OnePlus 6
Optic AMOLED, 2280x1080, 6.28
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
Super AMOLED, 2248x1080, 6.2
Screen
-10%
-22%
-40%
1%
-110%
-35%
-62%
Brightness middle
576
629
9%
565
-2%
477
-17%
656
14%
974
69%
430
-25%
429
-26%
Brightness
582
636
9%
571
-2%
453
-22%
659
13%
975
68%
437
-25%
432
-26%
Brightness Distribution
90
94
4%
96
7%
86
-4%
88
-2%
96
7%
87
-3%
88
-2%
Black Level *
0.33
0.49
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
1.3
1.7
-31%
2.3
-77%
2.1
-62%
1.7
-31%
5.4
-315%
2.3
-77%
3.39
-161%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
3.5
3.6
-3%
4.8
-37%
8.2
-134%
2.8
20%
13.1
-274%
4.6
-31%
5.25
-50%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
1.6
2.4
-50%
1.9
-19%
1.6
-0%
1.7
-6%
5
-213%
2.4
-50%
3.3
-106%
Gamma
2.18 101%
2.15 102%
2.16 102%
2.28 96%
1.998 110%
2.31 95%
2.28 96%
2.238 98%
CCT
6561 99%
6337 103%
6332 103%
6425 101%
6487 100%
7480 87%
6160 106%
7135 91%
Contrast
1445
1988

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 245.1 Hz ≤ 99 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 245.1 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 99 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 245.1 Hz is relatively low, so sensitive users will likely notice flickering and experience eyestrain at the stated brightness setting and below.

In comparison: 53 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 8929 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Our test device can theoretically reproduce absolute blacks as its OLED can switch off pixels individually. This applies to the contrast ratio too.

We also used CalMAN analysis software to determine how accurately our test device reproduces colours. Huawei promises that the Mate 20 Pro has a large colour gamut based on DCI-P3 colour space, but our test device fails to live up to expectations. CalMAN highlights that our test device covers almost all the DCI-P3 colour space in its default colour profile, but colour accuracy is average at best. There is a slight blue tint to the display by default and colours are oversaturated, but setting the colour profile to “Normal” and the white balance to standard rectifies these issues somewhat.

Our test device has practically ideal colour temperatures though, hence why grey tones are almost perfectly reproduced with only a hint of yellow on bright surfaces. The “Normal” colour profile accurately reproduces colours overall, although it is based on the smaller sRGB colour space; this is barely noticeable in daily use though.

CalMAN: Greyscale - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Standard, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Standard, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Mixed Colours - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Standard, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Mixed Colours - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Standard, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Standard, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Standard, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Standard, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Standard, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Warm, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Warm, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Mixed Colours - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Warm, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Mixed Colours - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Warm, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Warm, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Warm, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Saturation - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Warm, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Saturation - Profile: Vivid, White Balance: Warm, DCI-P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Standard, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Standard, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Mixed Colours - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Standard, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Mixed Colours - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Standard, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Standard, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Standard, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Standard, sRGB target colour
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Standard, sRGB target colour
CalMAN: Greyscale - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Warm, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Greyscale - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Warm, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Mixed Colours - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Warm, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Mixed Colours - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Warm, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Warm, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Warm, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Warm, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - Profile: Normal, White Balance: Warm, sRGB target colour space

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 2 ms rise
↘ 2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25.6 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 2 ms rise
↘ 2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 0 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (41 ms).

The Mate 20 Pro remains usable outdoors, despite its display’s comparatively low maximum brightness. Our test device is easy to read even in direct sunlight, with the ambient light sensor changing display luminosity quickly and accurately.

Using the Huawei Mate 20 Pro in the morning sun.
Using the Huawei Mate 20 Pro in the morning sun.
Using the Huawei Mate 20 Pro in the morning sun.
Using the Huawei Mate 20 Pro in the morning sun.

Our test device has impressive viewing angles thanks to its OLED panel. While we noticed no colour distortions or ghosting even at acute angles, there is some minor brightness distortion and a golden shimmer to the display.

Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance

The Mate 20 Pro is the first smartphone that is powered by a HiSilicon Kirin 980 SoC, which Huawei manufactures on a 7 nm FinFET process. Apple is the only other manufacturer to release a 7 nm chip with its A12 Bionic. By contrast, Qualcomm and Samsung will probably take until next year to release an equivalent SoC. The Kirin 980 has two ARM Cortex-A76 power cores that clock up to 2.6 GHz and two Cortex-A55 power-saving cores that reach up to 1.9 GHz. There is also an ARM Mali-G76 MP10 GPU and an improved dual-core neural processing unit (NPU).

The Mate 20 Pro has 6 GB of 2,133 MHz LPDDR4x RAM, which along with the other Mate 20 devices, is the first smartphone to have such fast RAM. Huawei also promises that the Kirin 980 should have up to a 75% faster CPU and up to 46% better GPU performance than its predecessor.

Geekbench 4.1/4.2 somewhat confirms this CPU performance boost as the Mate 20 Pro is 78% faster than its predecessor in the single-core benchmark but scores only 48% higher in the multi-core benchmark. The Kirin 980 finished second only to the Apple A12 Bionic in the former, while in the latter our test device finished behind both the A12 Bionic and the Samsung Exynos 9810. The Kirin 980 comfortably beat all Qualcomm Snapdragon 845-powered devices in both Geekbench benchmarks though.

Our test device finished top of our comparison table in all the physics portions of 3DMark too. The Mate 20 Pro does not cheat in benchmarks either, as we caught some other Huawei smartphones doing

The picture is less rosy for GPU performance. Our test device scored lower than its predecessor in the off-screen portion of the GFXBench 3.1 Manhattan benchmark, which is probably because the Mate 20 Pro’s higher resolution display always applies in on-screen tests. It is a different story in Basemark ES 3.1 though, where our test device finishes with twice the performance of its predecessor. The Mate 20 Pro largely meets Huawei’s claims in the GPU portions of 3DMark, but the ARM Mali-G76 MP10 is consistently beaten by the Adreno 630 that Qualcomm has integrated within its Snapdragon 845 SoC. Overall, the Mali-G76 MP10 is a powerful GPU but Huawei would have to include a few more cores for it to be the best GPU on the market.

By contrast, the Mate 20 Pro shines in system performance benchmarks like AnTuTu, Basemark OS II, and PCMark. Our test device feels snappy, but we noticed a few small stutters during testing.

Geekbench 4.1/4.2
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
8938 Points ∼62%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
8572 Points ∼59% -4%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
6202 Points ∼43% -31%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
14417 Points ∼100% +61%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
14299 Points ∼99% +60%
LG G7 ThinQ
13497 Points ∼94% +51%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (8938 - 9870, n=2)
9404 Points ∼65% +5%
Average of class Smartphone (836 - 21070, n=198)
4508 Points ∼31% -50%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
10024 Points ∼89%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
6792 Points ∼60% -32%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
8963 Points ∼80% -11%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
8522 Points ∼76% -15%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
11244 Points ∼100% +12%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
8548 Points ∼76% -15%
LG G7 ThinQ
9029 Points ∼80% -10%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (9965 - 10024, n=2)
9995 Points ∼89% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (883 - 11598, n=248)
4298 Points ∼38% -57%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
3378 Points ∼71%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
1898 Points ∼40% -44%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3776 Points ∼79% +12%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
2457 Points ∼51% -27%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
4774 Points ∼100% +41%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
2441 Points ∼51% -28%
LG G7 ThinQ
2448 Points ∼51% -28%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (3360 - 3378, n=2)
3369 Points ∼71% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (394 - 4824, n=249)
1267 Points ∼27% -62%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
9225 Points ∼99%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
6932 Points ∼75% -25%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
5319 Points ∼57% -42%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
8178 Points ∼88% -11%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
7360 Points ∼79% -20%
OnePlus 6
8282 Points ∼89% -10%
LG G7 ThinQ
7717 Points ∼83% -16%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (9225 - 9326, n=2)
9276 Points ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (3146 - 9868, n=256)
4551 Points ∼49% -51%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
12535 Points ∼96%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
8439 Points ∼65% -33%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
5822 Points ∼45% -54%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
9858 Points ∼76% -21%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
8967 Points ∼69% -28%
OnePlus 6
9630 Points ∼74% -23%
LG G7 ThinQ
9503 Points ∼73% -24%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (12535 - 13531, n=2)
13033 Points ∼100% +4%
Average of class Smartphone (4058 - 13531, n=424)
4956 Points ∼38% -60%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4364 Points ∼99%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3002 Points ∼68% -31%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
2546 Points ∼58% -42%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
2713 Points ∼62% -38%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
2723 Points ∼62% -38%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
2227 Points ∼51% -49%
OnePlus 6
3566 Points ∼81% -18%
LG G7 ThinQ
3416 Points ∼78% -22%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4364 - 4439, n=2)
4402 Points ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (2293 - 4439, n=277)
1709 Points ∼39% -61%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4250 Points ∼75%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3034 Points ∼54% -29%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3792 Points ∼67% -11%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
5651 Points ∼100% +33%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
4828 Points ∼85% +14%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
4209 Points ∼74% -1%
OnePlus 6
5547 Points ∼98% +31%
LG G7 ThinQ
5322 Points ∼94% +25%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4250 - 4319, n=2)
4285 Points ∼76% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (869 - 8206, n=277)
1465 Points ∼26% -66%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4275 Points ∼87%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3027 Points ∼61% -29%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3420 Points ∼69% -20%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
4555 Points ∼92% +7%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
4121 Points ∼83% -4%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
3512 Points ∼71% -18%
OnePlus 6
4937 Points ∼100% +15%
LG G7 ThinQ
4735 Points ∼96% +11%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4275 - 4315, n=2)
4295 Points ∼87% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (1010 - 5189, n=280)
1360 Points ∼28% -68%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4407 Points ∼99%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
2983 Points ∼67% -32%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
2561 Points ∼58% -42%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
2721 Points ∼61% -38%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
2961 Points ∼67% -33%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
2145 Points ∼48% -51%
OnePlus 6
3555 Points ∼80% -19%
LG G7 ThinQ
3109 Points ∼70% -29%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4407 - 4493, n=2)
4450 Points ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (375 - 4493, n=293)
1686 Points ∼38% -62%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5854 Points ∼56%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3306 Points ∼32% -44%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
4797 Points ∼46% -18%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
7609 Points ∼73% +30%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
10374 Points ∼100% +77%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
5922 Points ∼57% +1%
OnePlus 6
8014 Points ∼77% +37%
LG G7 ThinQ
7882 Points ∼76% +35%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (5854 - 5893, n=2)
5874 Points ∼57% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (131 - 14951, n=293)
2062 Points ∼20% -65%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5456 Points ∼82%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3228 Points ∼48% -41%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
4018 Points ∼60% -26%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
5438 Points ∼82% 0%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
6667 Points ∼100% +22%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
4232 Points ∼63% -22%
OnePlus 6
6267 Points ∼94% +15%
LG G7 ThinQ
5877 Points ∼88% +8%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (5456 - 5511, n=2)
5484 Points ∼82% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (159 - 7856, n=294)
1729 Points ∼26% -68%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4183 Points ∼100%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
2871 Points ∼68% -31%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
2469 Points ∼59% -41%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
3620 Points ∼86% -13%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3027 Points ∼72% -28%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
2118 Points ∼50% -49%
OnePlus 6
3432 Points ∼82% -18%
LG G7 ThinQ
3255 Points ∼78% -22%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4183 - 4216, n=2)
4200 Points ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2281 - 4216, n=352)
1642 Points ∼39% -61%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4206 Points ∼81%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
2844 Points ∼55% -32%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3582 Points ∼69% -15%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
5190 Points ∼100% +23%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3726 Points ∼71% -11%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
3742 Points ∼72% -11%
OnePlus 6
5212 Points ∼100% +24%
LG G7 ThinQ
5006 Points ∼96% +19%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4206 - 4232, n=2)
4219 Points ∼81% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (815 - 5241, n=352)
1186 Points ∼23% -72%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4201 Points ∼89%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
2850 Points ∼60% -32%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3256 Points ∼69% -22%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
4734 Points ∼100% +13%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
3544 Points ∼75% -16%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
3197 Points ∼68% -24%
OnePlus 6
4673 Points ∼99% +11%
LG G7 ThinQ
4471 Points ∼94% +6%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4201 - 4228, n=2)
4215 Points ∼89% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (951 - 4734, n=360)
1134 Points ∼24% -73%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4150 Points ∼99%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
2896 Points ∼69% -30%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
2496 Points ∼60% -40%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
2541 Points ∼61% -39%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
2713 Points ∼65% -35%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
2176 Points ∼52% -48%
OnePlus 6
3452 Points ∼83% -17%
LG G7 ThinQ
3150 Points ∼75% -24%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4150 - 4215, n=2)
4183 Points ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (532 - 4215, n=385)
1538 Points ∼37% -63%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5305 Points ∼64%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3353 Points ∼41% -37%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
4637 Points ∼56% -13%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
8219 Points ∼100% +55%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
7055 Points ∼85% +33%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
6554 Points ∼79% +24%
OnePlus 6
8252 Points ∼100% +56%
LG G7 ThinQ
7633 Points ∼92% +44%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (5245 - 5305, n=2)
5275 Points ∼64% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (46 - 8312, n=385)
1627 Points ∼20% -69%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4996 Points ∼79%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3239 Points ∼51% -35%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3895 Points ∼62% -22%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
5492 Points ∼87% +10%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
5205 Points ∼83% +4%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
4529 Points ∼72% -9%
OnePlus 6
6304 Points ∼100% +26%
LG G7 ThinQ
5799 Points ∼92% +16%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4975 - 4996, n=2)
4986 Points ∼79% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (58 - 6454, n=393)
1384 Points ∼22% -72%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
36755 Points ∼100%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
22629 Points ∼62% -38%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
26226 Points ∼71% -29%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
36762 Points ∼100% 0%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
27717 Points ∼75% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
30765 Points ∼84% -16%
OnePlus 6
34191 Points ∼93% -7%
LG G7 ThinQ
27817 Points ∼76% -24%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (35932 - 36755, n=2)
36344 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (3958 - 37475, n=540)
12875 Points ∼35% -65%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
67730 Points ∼42%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
34008 Points ∼21% -50%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
46610 Points ∼29% -31%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
81502 Points ∼51% +20%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
159735 Points ∼100% +136%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
77003 Points ∼48% +14%
OnePlus 6
81269 Points ∼51% +20%
LG G7 ThinQ
80534 Points ∼50% +19%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (67730 - 67956, n=2)
67843 Points ∼42% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2465 - 162695, n=540)
17971 Points ∼11% -73%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
57047 Points ∼74%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
30590 Points ∼39% -46%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
39745 Points ∼51% -30%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
64152 Points ∼83% +12%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
77599 Points ∼100% +36%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
57711 Points ∼74% +1%
OnePlus 6
62241 Points ∼80% +9%
LG G7 ThinQ
56669 Points ∼73% -1%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (56722 - 57047, n=2)
56885 Points ∼73% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2915 - 77599, n=541)
15098 Points ∼19% -74%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
120 fps ∼53%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
112 fps ∼50% -7%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
147 fps ∼65% +23%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
150 fps ∼66% +25%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
226 fps ∼100% +88%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
102 fps ∼45% -15%
OnePlus 6
150 fps ∼66% +25%
LG G7 ThinQ
144 fps ∼64% +20%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (120 - 134, n=2)
127 fps ∼56% +6%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 251, n=565)
31.3 fps ∼14% -74%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
61 fps ∼99%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
60 fps ∼98% -2%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
60 fps ∼98% -2%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
60 fps ∼98% -2%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
60 fps ∼98% -2%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
58 fps ∼94% -5%
OnePlus 6
60 fps ∼98% -2%
LG G7 ThinQ
60 fps ∼98% -2%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (61 - 62, n=2)
61.5 fps ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (6.9 - 120, n=568)
24.9 fps ∼40% -59%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
73 fps ∼68%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
54 fps ∼50% -26%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
74 fps ∼69% +1%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
71 fps ∼66% -3%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
107 fps ∼100% +47%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
54 fps ∼50% -26%
OnePlus 6
66 fps ∼62% -10%
LG G7 ThinQ
63 fps ∼59% -14%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (73 - 87, n=2)
80 fps ∼75% +10%
Average of class Smartphone (2.2 - 132, n=487)
16.8 fps ∼16% -77%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
42 fps ∼71%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
56 fps ∼95% +33%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
45 fps ∼76% +7%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
58 fps ∼98% +38%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
59 fps ∼100% +40%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
51 fps ∼86% +21%
OnePlus 6
58 fps ∼98% +38%
LG G7 ThinQ
41 fps ∼69% -2%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (42 - 60, n=2)
51 fps ∼86% +21%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 115, n=490)
16 fps ∼27% -62%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
29 fps ∼42%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
37 fps ∼53% +28%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
47 fps ∼68% +62%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
58 fps ∼84% +100%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
69.3 fps ∼100% +139%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
32 fps ∼46% +10%
OnePlus 6
56 fps ∼81% +93%
LG G7 ThinQ
51 fps ∼74% +76%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (29 - 55, n=2)
42 fps ∼61% +45%
Average of class Smartphone (10 - 88, n=349)
14.3 fps ∼21% -51%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
26 fps ∼44%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
38 fps ∼65% +46%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
24 fps ∼41% -8%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
56 fps ∼95% +115%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
58.9 fps ∼100% +127%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
29 fps ∼49% +12%
OnePlus 6
54 fps ∼92% +108%
LG G7 ThinQ
26 fps ∼44% 0%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (26 - 51, n=2)
38.5 fps ∼65% +48%
Average of class Smartphone (9.8 - 110, n=352)
13.9 fps ∼24% -47%
GFXBench
High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
19 fps ∼59%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
14 fps ∼44% -26%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
25 fps ∼78% +32%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
32.1 fps ∼100% +69%
OnePlus 6
23 fps ∼72% +21%
LG G7 ThinQ
13 fps ∼40% -32%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (19 - 21, n=2)
20 fps ∼62% +5%
Average of class Smartphone (3.6 - 59, n=62)
10.2 fps ∼32% -46%
2560x1440 High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
13 fps ∼80%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
8.5 fps ∼52% -35%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
14 fps ∼86% +8%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
16.3 fps ∼100% +25%
OnePlus 6
14 fps ∼86% +8%
LG G7 ThinQ
14 fps ∼86% +8%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (13 - 13, n=2)
13 fps ∼80% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2.2 - 31, n=62)
6.49 fps ∼40% -50%
Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
18 fps ∼38%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
23 fps ∼49% +28%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
40 fps ∼85% +122%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
47 fps ∼100% +161%
OnePlus 6
35 fps ∼74% +94%
LG G7 ThinQ
20 fps ∼43% +11%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (18 - 32, n=2)
25 fps ∼53% +39%
Average of class Smartphone (5.7 - 59, n=62)
14.4 fps ∼31% -20%
1920x1080 Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
33 fps ∼87%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
24 fps ∼63% -27%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
38 fps ∼100% +15%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
36.8 fps ∼97% +12%
OnePlus 6
38 fps ∼100% +15%
LG G7 ThinQ
37 fps ∼97% +12%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (33 - 34, n=2)
33.5 fps ∼88% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (6 - 63, n=61)
15.7 fps ∼41% -52%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
31 fps ∼78%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
21 fps ∼53% -32%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
28 fps ∼70% -10%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
35 fps ∼88% +13%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
40 fps ∼100% +29%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
25 fps ∼63% -19%
OnePlus 6
35 fps ∼88% +13%
LG G7 ThinQ
33 fps ∼83% +6%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (31 - 32, n=2)
31.5 fps ∼79% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (6.3 - 54, n=280)
9.86 fps ∼25% -68%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
16 fps ∼43%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
22 fps ∼59% +38%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
14 fps ∼38% -12%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
37 fps ∼100% +131%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
31 fps ∼84% +94%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
24 fps ∼65% +50%
OnePlus 6
32 fps ∼86% +100%
LG G7 ThinQ
17 fps ∼46% +6%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (16 - 30, n=2)
23 fps ∼62% +44%
Average of class Smartphone (6 - 58, n=283)
8.89 fps ∼24% -44%
Basemark GPU
1920x1080 OpenGL Medium Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
29.12 (min: 9.74, max: 74.17) fps ∼83%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
16.82 (min: 5.26, max: 61.1) fps ∼48% -42%
OnePlus 6
35.26 (min: 20.31, max: 62.64) fps ∼100% +21%
LG G7 ThinQ
30.49 (min: 9.86, max: 49.99) fps ∼86% +5%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980
29.1 fps ∼83% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 651, n=36)
32.4 fps ∼92% +11%
Vulkan Medium Native (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
16.92 (min: 6.06, max: 28.78) fps ∼59%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
6.67 (min: 2.29, max: 86.53) fps ∼23% -61%
OnePlus 6
26.15 (min: 15.32, max: 59.39) fps ∼91% +55%
LG G7 ThinQ
17.42 (min: 10.81, max: 36.84) fps ∼60% +3%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980
16.9 fps ∼59% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 606, n=34)
28.8 fps ∼100% +70%
1920x1080 Vulkan Medium Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
25.57 (min: 7.38, max: 46.96) fps ∼71%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
8.37 (min: 3.32, max: 81.15) fps ∼23% -67%
OnePlus 6
28.35 (min: 16.41, max: 60.76) fps ∼79% +11%
LG G7 ThinQ
28.33 (min: 16.3, max: 60.18) fps ∼78% +11%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980
25.6 fps ∼71% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 739, n=32)
36.1 fps ∼100% +41%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
300617 Points ∼99%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
212278 Points ∼70% -29%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
250577 Points ∼83% -17%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
246366 Points ∼81% -18%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
302955 Points ∼100% +1%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
288062 Points ∼95% -4%
OnePlus 6
266686 Points ∼88% -11%
LG G7 ThinQ
256276 Points ∼85% -15%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (300617 - 302465, n=2)
301541 Points ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (17073 - 348178, n=171)
117893 Points ∼39% -61%
AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
250848 Points ∼99%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
177341 Points ∼70% -29%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
222290 Points ∼88% -11%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
226124 Points ∼89% -10%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
232931 Points ∼92% -7%
OnePlus 6
230421 Points ∼91% -8%
LG G7 ThinQ
223464 Points ∼88% -11%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (250848 - 254229, n=3)
252841 Points ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (23275 - 254229, n=394)
76519 Points ∼30% -69%
VRMark - Amber Room (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5025 Score ∼100%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
1704 Score ∼34% -66%
OnePlus 6
4710 Score ∼94% -6%
LG G7 ThinQ
4598 Score ∼92% -8%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980
5025 Score ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 5025, n=39)
1773 Score ∼35% -65%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
1424 Points ∼82%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
1234 Points ∼71% -13%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
1109 Points ∼64% -22%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
1400 Points ∼81% -2%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
1731 Points ∼100% +22%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
1288 Points ∼74% -10%
OnePlus 6
1386 Points ∼80% -3%
LG G7 ThinQ
1374 Points ∼79% -4%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (1424 - 1430, n=2)
1427 Points ∼82% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1731, n=500)
697 Points ∼40% -51%
Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
6273 Points ∼40%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3657 Points ∼23% -42%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
6370 Points ∼41% +2%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
7743 Points ∼49% +23%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
15659 Points ∼100% +150%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
7965 Points ∼51% +27%
OnePlus 6
7949 Points ∼51% +27%
LG G7 ThinQ
7906 Points ∼50% +26%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (5455 - 6273, n=2)
5864 Points ∼37% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 15969, n=500)
1735 Points ∼11% -72%
Memory (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
6283 Points ∼100%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
4142 Points ∼66% -34%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
2625 Points ∼42% -58%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
3704 Points ∼59% -41%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
1815 Points ∼29% -71%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
3521 Points ∼56% -44%
OnePlus 6
3799 Points ∼60% -40%
LG G7 ThinQ
3744 Points ∼60% -40%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (5929 - 6283, n=2)
6106 Points ∼97% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 6283, n=500)
1243 Points ∼20% -80%
System (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
8604 Points ∼74%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
5244 Points ∼45% -39%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
6413 Points ∼55% -25%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
8418 Points ∼72% -2%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
11675 Points ∼100% +36%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
6556 Points ∼56% -24%
OnePlus 6
8228 Points ∼70% -4%
LG G7 ThinQ
8070 Points ∼69% -6%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (8602 - 8604, n=2)
8603 Points ∼74% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 12202, n=500)
2509 Points ∼21% -71%
Overall (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4687 Points ∼96%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
3147 Points ∼64% -33%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3302 Points ∼67% -30%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
4288 Points ∼88% -9%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
4895 Points ∼100% +4%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
3923 Points ∼80% -16%
OnePlus 6
4308 Points ∼88% -8%
LG G7 ThinQ
4257 Points ∼87% -9%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (4466 - 4687, n=2)
4577 Points ∼94% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (150 - 6097, n=504)
1253 Points ∼26% -73%
Basemark ES 3.1 / Metal - offscreen Overall Score (sort by value)
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
1571 Points ∼65%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
788 Points ∼33% -50%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
1481 Points ∼62% -6%
Apple iPhone Xs Max
2407 Points ∼100% +53%
OnePlus 6
1169 Points ∼49% -26%
LG G7 ThinQ
1176 Points ∼49% -25%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980
1571 Points ∼65% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (36.3 - 2754, n=76)
693 Points ∼29% -56%

Legend

 
Huawei Mate 20 Pro HiSilicon Kirin 980, ARM Mali-G76 MP10, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Huawei Mate 10 Pro HiSilicon Kirin 970, ARM Mali-G72 MP12, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus Samsung Exynos 9810, ARM Mali-G72 MP18, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Qualcomm Adreno 630, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Apple iPhone Xs Max Apple A12 Bionic, Apple A12 Bionic GPU, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Qualcomm Adreno 630, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
OnePlus 6 Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Qualcomm Adreno 630, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
LG G7 ThinQ Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Qualcomm Adreno 630, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash

Our test device also has excellent browser performance. Websites load quickly and without issue in daily use, while the Mate 20 Pro finishes second only to the XS Max in browser benchmarks.

JetStream 1.1 - 1.1 Total Score
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
273.01 Points ∼100% +150%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
109.18 Points ∼40%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (107 - 109, n=2)
108 Points ∼40% -1%
LG G7 ThinQ (Chrome 66)
88.081 Points ∼32% -19%
OnePlus 6 (Chrome 66)
87.695 Points ∼32% -20%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition (Chrome 69)
80.876 Points ∼30% -26%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium (Chrome 68)
71.172 Points ∼26% -35%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (Samsung Browser 7.0)
69.59 Points ∼25% -36%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro (Chrome 61)
56.63 Points ∼21% -48%
Average of class Smartphone (10.8 - 273, n=423)
36.7 Points ∼13% -66%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
43114 Points ∼100% +85%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
23285 Points ∼54%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (21849 - 23285, n=2)
22567 Points ∼52% -3%
OnePlus 6 (Chrome 66)
17026 Points ∼39% -27%
LG G7 ThinQ (Chrome 66)
16720 Points ∼39% -28%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (Samsung Browser 7.0)
14760 Points ∼34% -37%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition (Chrome 69)
14617 Points ∼34% -37%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium (Chrome 68)
13360 Points ∼31% -43%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro (Chrome 61)
10406 Points ∼24% -55%
Average of class Smartphone (1506 - 43280, n=559)
5558 Points ∼13% -76%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=579)
11477 ms * ∼100% -488%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro (Chrome 61)
3590.6 ms * ∼31% -84%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium (Chrome 68)
3179 ms * ∼28% -63%
LG G7 ThinQ (Chrome 66)
2484.1 ms * ∼22% -27%
OnePlus 6 (Chrome 66)
2445 ms * ∼21% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition (Chrome 69)
2316.8 ms * ∼20% -19%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (Samsung Browser 7.0)
2059.7 ms * ∼18% -6%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
1951.9 ms * ∼17%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (1948 - 1952, n=2)
1950 ms * ∼17% -0%
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
603.1 ms * ∼5% +69%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
155 Points ∼100% +25%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
124 Points ∼80%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (124 - 124, n=2)
124 Points ∼80% 0%
OnePlus 6 (Chrome 66)
98 Points ∼63% -21%
LG G7 ThinQ (Chrome 66)
97 Points ∼63% -22%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium (Chrome 68)
75 Points ∼48% -40%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
64 Points ∼41% -48%
Average of class Smartphone (25 - 161, n=63)
63.6 Points ∼41% -49%
WebXPRT 2015 - Overall Score
Apple iPhone Xs Max (Safari 12)
347 Points ∼100% +4%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
334 Points ∼96%
Average HiSilicon Kirin 980 (328 - 334, n=2)
331 Points ∼95% -1%
OnePlus 6 (Chrome 66)
252 Points ∼73% -25%
LG G7 ThinQ (Chrome 66)
252 Points ∼73% -25%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition (Chrome 69)
251 Points ∼72% -25%
Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium (Chrome 68)
211 Points ∼61% -37%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (Samsung Browser 7.0)
164 Points ∼47% -51%
Huawei Mate 10 Pro (Chrome 61)
158 Points ∼46% -53%
Average of class Smartphone (91 - 362, n=284)
111 Points ∼32% -67%

* ... smaller is better

Huawei has equipped the Mate 20 Pro with 128 GB of UFS 2.1 memory of which 113 GB is usable. Our test device scores highly in AndroBench 3-5. While the device is beaten by some of our comparison devices in certain tests, the Mate 20 Pro has higher internal storage speeds overall than all our comparison devices.

The new nano memory card reader has fast transfer speeds too, which are faster than the microSD card readers in our comparison devices. The nano memory card reader is considerably slower than the internal memory though, which explains why Huawei did not add formatting the card as additional internal storage.

The Mate 20 Pro is only available in Europe with 128 GB of storage, which is frustrating as Huawei sells a 256 GB version with 8 GB RAM in China. We would have liked to see this option sold elsewhere too as there is no way to expand the Mate 20 Pro’s storage without sacrificing a SIM slot.

Huawei Mate 20 ProHuawei Mate 10 ProSamsung Galaxy S9 PlusSony Xperia XZ2 PremiumOnePlus 6Average 128 GB UFS 2.1 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-5%
-19%
-40%
-28%
-12%
-60%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
72.38 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
67.18 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-7%
30.23 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-58%
65.5 (51.3 - 72.4, n=5)
-10%
45.8 (3.4 - 87.1, n=323)
-37%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
83.18 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
79.22 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-5%
34.18 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-59%
80 (75.4 - 83.2, n=5)
-4%
64 (8.2 - 96.5, n=323)
-23%
Random Write 4KB
157.84
164.45
4%
22.74
-86%
21.75
-86%
21.8
-86%
92.1 (19.5 - 164, n=17)
-42%
16.1 (0.14 - 164, n=608)
-90%
Random Read 4KB
157.42
132.27
-16%
129.68
-18%
135.99
-14%
137
-13%
141 (132 - 158, n=17)
-10%
38.3 (1.59 - 173, n=608)
-76%
Sequential Write 256KB
196.39
208.72
6%
204.94
4%
170.98
-13%
201.4
3%
202 (192 - 212, n=17)
3%
79.8 (2.99 - 246, n=608)
-59%
Sequential Read 256KB
853.28
732.46
-14%
818.69
-4%
748.59
-12%
725.6
-15%
767 (675 - 853, n=17)
-10%
230 (12.1 - 895, n=608)
-73%

Games

Technically, the Mate 20 Pro has powerful hardware that is suited for gaming and which should be helped by GPU Turbo 2.0. Our test device performs well in most games like Asphalt 9: Legends and Arena of Valor, which both run without issue at maximum graphics. However, the same is not the case for PUBG Mobile, which currently can only be played at a maximum of medium graphics. Moreover, frame rates only vary between 18 and 26 FPS and the game recommends that we set graphics to minimum. The Mate 20 Pro should play PUBG Mobile stably at 60 FPS with its powerful SoC, but we expect that our test device’s pre-release software is at fault here, which also lacks Huawei’s Game Center. We will update this section when Huawei updates our test device with retail software.

The sensors and touchscreen worked well throughout testing. Likewise, the speakers sounded good when playing games. They are difficult to cover too thanks to their good positioning.

PUBG Mobile
PUBG Mobile
Arena of Valor
Arena of Valor
Asphalt 9: Legends
Asphalt 9: Legends
PUBG Mobile
0102030Tooltip
; 0.8.0: Ø24.9 (18-26)
Arena of Valor (Ultra High)
010203040506070Tooltip
; 1.25.1.2: Ø61.1 (26-62)
Asphalt 9: Legends (High)
010203040Tooltip
; 1.1.4a: Ø30.6 (28-32)

Emissions

Temperature

GFXBench Battery Test - T-Rex: OpenGL ES 2.0
GFXBench Battery Test - T-Rex: OpenGL ES 2.0
GFXBench Battery Test - Manhattan: OpenGL ES 3.1
GFXBench Battery Test - Manhattan: OpenGL ES 3.1

The Mate 20 Pro is a comparatively hot device. Surface temperatures average over 31.7 °C when our test device is idling, which then rose to an average of 40.3 ° C when we subjected the device to sustained load. Moreover, the area to the left of the rear-facing cameras reached a toasty 44.5 ° C. While our test device gets hotter than its competitors, surface temperatures are below 50 °C, which we would consider dangerous.

We also checked how well the Mate 20 Pro performs under sustained load with GFXBench battery tests. We run each GFXBench test 30 times on a loop, measuring the battery level and frame rates for each run through to determine whether our test device experienced any throttling.

The Mate 20 Pro coped well in the older T-Rex benchmark and managed to maintain consistent performance throughout. Our test device fared worse in the more complex Manhattan test, which uses the OpenGL ES 3.1 API. The Mate 20 Pro scored around 10% fewer FPS after 30 benchmark run-throughs, but the device’s throttled performance is equal to the best that the Galaxy S9+ achieves.

Max. Load
 43.2 °C
110 F
43.3 °C
110 F
38.3 °C
101 F
 
 41.8 °C
107 F
42.2 °C
108 F
39.4 °C
103 F
 
 40.8 °C
105 F
39.9 °C
104 F
37.7 °C
100 F
 
Maximum: 43.3 °C = 110 F
Average: 40.7 °C = 105 F
36.5 °C
98 F
39.9 °C
104 F
44.5 °C
112 F
36.4 °C
98 F
38.9 °C
102 F
44.1 °C
111 F
36.1 °C
97 F
39.5 °C
103 F
42.6 °C
109 F
Maximum: 44.5 °C = 112 F
Average: 39.8 °C = 104 F
Power Supply (max.)  30.3 °C = 87 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 40.7 °C / 105 F, compared to the average of 33.2 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(±) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 43.3 °C / 110 F, compared to the average of 35.7 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(±) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 44.5 °C / 112 F, compared to the average of 34.2 °C / 94 F
(±) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 32.8 °C / 91 F, compared to the device average of 33.2 °C / 92 F.
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load