Notebookcheck

Xiaomi Mi Max 3 Smartphone Review

Mike Wobker, 👁 Florian Schmitt, Andrea Grüblinger (translated by Mark Riege), 10/22/2018

Maximum display diagonal. The 6.9-inch Xiaomi Mi Max 3 offers even more display area to users than its predecessor, and the hardware has also been slightly updated. We clarify in our review what buyers of this Chinese import version can expect for a price of about 250 Euros (~$288; currently $250 to import to the US).

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team!

Currently wanted: 
News Editor - Details here

Xiaomi Mi Max 3

Xiaomi has improved the successor of the Mi Max 2 in many places and now offers an even larger mid-range phablet to buyers. There is a Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 SoC inside, which is supported in its work by an Adreno 509 graphics unit. While our test unit offers 4 GB of RAM and 64 GB of eMMC flash storage, supposedly there will also be a model variant with 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of data storage.

With its size of 6.9 inches, the Mi Max 3 is a very large Android phablet that can only be compared to smaller devices in our test. Their size is at least 6 inches, and their price and performance are similar. In this test, we include the Sony Xperia XA2 Plus, the Honor Play, the JVC J20, and the Asus ZenFone 5 (2018) as smartphones from competitors.

Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Mi Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
4096 MB 
Display
6.9 inch 18:9, 2160 x 1080 pixel 350 PPI, capacitive, IPS, glossy: yes
Storage
64 GB eMMC Flash, 64 GB 
, 50 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm audio port, Card Reader: microSD, 1 Fingerprint Reader, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: acceleration sensor, gyroscope, proximity sensor, compass
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 5.0, GSM (850/900/1800/1900), 3G WCDMA (850/900/1900/2100), FDD LTE (B1/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B20), Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8 x 176 x 87.4 ( = 0.31 x 6.93 x 3.44 in)
Battery
5500 mAh Lithium-Polymer
Operating System
Android 8.1 Oreo
Camera
Primary Camera: 12 MPix f/1.9
Secondary Camera: 8 MPix f/2.0
Additional features
Speakers: 1 speaker, Keyboard: onscreen, Keyboard Light: yes, USB charger, EU adapter, USB Type-C cable, MIUI 9.6, 24 Months Warranty, SAR value (head): 1.584 W/kg, SAR value (body): 1.417 W/kg, fanless
Weight
221 g ( = 7.8 oz / 0.49 pounds), Power Supply: 65 g ( = 2.29 oz / 0.14 pounds)
Price
250 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case - Sturdy smartphone with a metal case

The case of the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 is made of metal and offers a good grip due to its very rounded edges. Since the display sticks out above the body by about 1 mm (~0.04 in), it looks as if it was placed on top of the base, but it still fits well into the overall appearance. The transitions between the materials fit tightly and show very good workmanship. Buyers of the Xiaomi phablet have the choice between black, blue, and gold case colors.

On the right side of the case are the power button and volume rocker; they have a slight play in their frames. The nano-SIM/microSD card tray sits tightly in its slot. The dual camera system on the back sticks out slightly from the case, and the fingerprint sensor is located in the center of the upper third of the case. 

In the size and weight comparisons, the Xiaomi smartphone sticks out significantly in our comparison chart but is also slightly slimmer, and it is not as fat as the Sony Xperia XA2 Plus, for example.

Size Comparison

Equipment - The Xiaomi smartphone with USB Type-C

Buyers of the Mi Max 3 receive a mid-range phablet that is run by a Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 SoC with an Adreno 509 graphics unit, 4 GB of RAM, and 64 GB of eMMC flash storage. The internal storage can be expanded via microSD card, but then users will have to make do without the dual-SIM function. There is a 3.5 mm audio port to connect external devices, and you can charge the Android smartphone via a USB Type-C port. While this is only connected via the USB-2.0 standard, it still supports OTG functions such as charging external devices.

The Xiaomi Mi Max 3 also has an infrared sensor that can be setup to control various multimedia devices via the Mi-Remote app. In this way, the remote control of your TV can be replaced by the Android phablet.

Software - Chinese smartphone with an English menu

The Mi Max 3 has Android Oreo version 8.1 with security updates on the level of July 1, 2018. Xiaomi uses its own in-house MIUI 9.6 user interface, which is mainly characterized by its adjusted sorting of the Settings menu and many apps by the manufacturer. You can easily uninstall apps in the menu that are not relevant for system operation.

Since our test unit is an imported device, there are many Chinese apps preinstalled. Furthermore, the Xiaomi phablet is delivered to Europe with an adjusted ROM, requiring users to install the various Google apps from the Play Store themselves, if they want to use them. While this process works without a hitch, it may deter some inexperienced users. In addition, there is the constant "online hunger" that often shows during the operation of the Android phablet. For example, you have to be online if you want to allow the file manager to install programs. Interested buyers should also consider that the menus of the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 are in English. In contrast, the version for the local market that is also already available of course supports all the local languages.

Software Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Software Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Software Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Software Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Software Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Software Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Software Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Software Xiaomi Mi Max 3

Independent journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible but we intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers and support us!

Communication and GPS - Xiaomi Mi Max 3 with ac WLAN

The Xiaomi Mi Max 3 is able to create mobile connections with the GSM, 3G, and LTE networks. The latter is possible with LTE Category 12, which allows download speeds of up to 600 Mb/s and upload speeds of up to 100 Mb/s. The Android phablet can be used globally and also offers the LTE Band 20 that is still important in Germany.

For close-up wireless data transfer, Bluetooth version 5.0 and WLAN with the fast ac standard are available to the users of the Xiaomi phablet. In our WLAN test, the Mi Max 3 is able to leave the competitors behind in terms of data reception, achieving a fast 344 Mb/s. However, when sending data it is only sufficient for a place in the middle of our comparison list, reaching 265 Mb/s.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Adreno 509, 636, 64 GB eMMC Flash
344 (min: 326, max: 350) MBit/s ∼100%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
Adreno 509, 636, 64 GB eMMC Flash
339 MBit/s ∼99% -1%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
Adreno 508, 630, 32 GB eMMC Flash
309 MBit/s ∼90% -10%
JVC J20
Adreno 508, 630, 64 GB eMMC Flash
221 MBit/s ∼64% -36%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=306)
211 MBit/s ∼61% -39%
Honor Play
Mali-G72 MP12, Kirin 970, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
188 MBit/s ∼55% -45%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
Adreno 508, 630, 32 GB eMMC Flash
347 MBit/s ∼100% +31%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
Adreno 509, 636, 64 GB eMMC Flash
308 MBit/s ∼89% +16%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
Adreno 509, 636, 64 GB eMMC Flash
265 (min: 253, max: 270) MBit/s ∼76%
JVC J20
Adreno 508, 630, 64 GB eMMC Flash
226 MBit/s ∼65% -15%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=306)
206 MBit/s ∼59% -22%
Honor Play
Mali-G72 MP12, Kirin 970, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
190 MBit/s ∼55% -28%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø342 (326-350)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø265 (253-270)
GPS Test outdoors
GPS Test outdoors
GPS Test indoors
GPS Test indoors

We test how accurately the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 can determine our location using the GPS Test app. Outdoors, it can locate us with an accuracy of up to 3 m (~10 ft). Indoors, the Android phablet is also able to create a satellite connection and locates our position with an accuracy of up to 14 m (~46 ft).

On our mandatory bike tour, we compare the Mi Max 3 with our Garmin Edge 520 reference device. During long straight runs, the recorded route of the Xiaomi phablet lies only slightly apart from the actual route. In tight turns and longer curves however, the recordings become increasingly inaccurate, some turns are just left out in parts, being replaced merely with straight lines across the surrounding objects. The Mi Max 3 is therefore only suited for simple navigation tasks.

GPS Xiaomi Mi Max 3
GPS Xiaomi Mi Max 3
GPS Xiaomi Mi Max 3
GPS Xiaomi Mi Max 3
GPS Xiaomi Mi Max 3
GPS Xiaomi Mi Max 3
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520
GPS Garmin Edge 520

Telephone Functions and Voice Quality - A good connection with the Mi Max 3

There is only a simple app to make phone calls for users of the Mi Max 3. It offers two tabs on the Xiaomi phablet, allowing you to either input numbers directly, or select contacts from the address book. During a phone conversation, the smartphone presents itself as very balanced. The conversation partner is transferred in an easily understandable manner, and background noises are filtered out to some extent. While the volume is okay, it is unable to ensure clear communication on high-traffic roads, for example.

The Mi Max 3 supports VoLTE as long as this option is offered by your provider.

Cameras - Android smartphone with dual camera system

Picture taken with the front camera
Picture taken with the front camera

The Mi Max 3 offers a 12+5 MP dual camera system with an f/1.9 aperture on the back and an 8 MP front camera with an f/2.0 aperture. With the latter, you can take portrait pictures of mediocre quality. While the details are reproduced well in the foreground and background, there is some very coarse graininess even without the zoom. This prevents color transitions from appearing cleanly and blends light and dark areas together, instead of them remaining separated. In Portrait mode, you can influence the image by adjusting the skin tone, eye size, or width of the chin, for example.

The main camera of the Mi Max 3 is well-suited for the occasional panorama picture. Large brightness differences only cause limited problems for the Xiaomi phablet. In dark image areas, details remain recognizable and can be distinguished from other objects. The whole image offers many details, although they become slightly blurry when zooming in. In close-ups, this blurriness even occurs with objects that remain outside the focal range. Even though this effect is only slight, it is still noticeable.

Colors appear saturated, and light and dark areas are well delineated in the image here as well. Details also remain recognizable. However, at the edges of the images there is some slight graininess that can only be seen when zooming in. Under bad light conditions, objects in the image barely remain recognizable, with large areas of the image becoming black. You can adjust the values for white balance, ISO, shutter speed, and focus via a manual photo mode to influence the image quality.

Video-recordings with the Xiaomi smartphone produce a similar result as our example pictures. An image stabilizer compensates for smaller movements. While the camera app of the Mi Max 3 does not offer a professional mode for videos or something similar, there is a Time Shift and a Time Lapse mode.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images
ColorChecker Passport
ColorChecker Passport

Using the ColorChecker passport, we evaluate the color reproduction of the Mi Max 3 camera. It shows here that colors are reproduced too dark through the bank. Gray and black tones are also darker than they should be.

Under controlled light conditions, the camera of the Xiaomi smartphone is able to reproduce our test chart well. Fine structures and details remain recognizable. However, even at a low zoom level, they become slightly blurry. Colors appear moderate, and there is a slight paleness at the left edge of the image.

Xiaomi Mi Max 3 - Test chart
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 - Test chart
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 - Test chart (detail)

Accessories and Warranty - Chinese import with a warranty

The box of the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 includes a SIM tool, a USB charger with a US plug and the corresponding USB Type-C cable. Our import version from TradingShenzen also included the corresponding EU adapter.

Xiaomi offers a warranty of 24 months to buyers of the Mi Max 3. In the case of the vendor who loaned us the device, this can be handled directly by the vendor. 

Input Devices and Operation - Mi Max 3 with a precise touchscreen

For text input, the Mi Max 3 has the Beidu-IME keyboard, which offers the option to input text in Chinese or English. In browser and messenger input fields, the English version is available most of the time. However, during games it happened occasionally that we were presented with the variant optimized for Chinese characters. The touchscreen offers a smooth surface and responds reliably to touch in any part of the screen.

Using the fingerprint sensor on the back, the Xiaomi smartphone can be unlocked quickly. The response time is very brief, and the stored fingerprints are recognized reliably.

Xiaomi Mi Max 3 - Input devices
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 - Input devices

Display - Xiaomi smartphone with a bright display

Subpixel grid
Subpixel grid

The screen of the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 is a 6.9-inch IPS panel that offers a resolution of 2160x1080 pixels. At an average of 505 cd/m², the offered brightness places it in the middle of the field of comparable devices, and the brightness distribution of 91% places it even slightly above. Considering all the characteristics of the panel, the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 offers the best display among the competitors we selected.

522
cd/m²
500
cd/m²
491
cd/m²
512
cd/m²
508
cd/m²
481
cd/m²
530
cd/m²
511
cd/m²
486
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 530 cd/m² Average: 504.6 cd/m² Minimum: 1.06 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 91 %
Center on Battery: 508 cd/m²
Contrast: 1814:1 (Black: 0.28 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 2.85 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.2
ΔE Greyscale 1.7 | 0.64-98 Ø6.5
99.7% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.226
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
IPS, 2160x1080, 6.9
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
IPS, 2160x1080, 6
Honor Play
IPS, 2340x1080, 6.3
JVC J20
IPS, 2160x1080, 5.65
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
IPS, 2246x1080, 6.2
Screen
-6%
-31%
-134%
-41%
Brightness middle
508
597
18%
435
-14%
411
-19%
595
17%
Brightness
505
592
17%
426
-16%
426
-16%
561
11%
Brightness Distribution
91
92
1%
89
-2%
82
-10%
87
-4%
Black Level *
0.28
0.32
-14%
0.39
-39%
0.53
-89%
0.54
-93%
Contrast
1814
1866
3%
1115
-39%
775
-57%
1102
-39%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
2.85
2.4
16%
2.89
-1%
8.84
-210%
4.2
-47%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
6.21
5.3
15%
6.03
3%
15.08
-143%
6
3%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
1.7
3.4
-100%
4.1
-141%
10.7
-529%
4.7
-176%
Gamma
2.226 99%
2.2 100%
2.251 98%
2.433 90%
2.12 104%
CCT
6860 95%
7172 91%
7408 88%
10717 61%
7577 86%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 2358 Hz ≤ 10 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 2358 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 10 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 2358 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 8931 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Our measurements also attest the display of the Mi Max 3 with a very good contrast ratio of 1814:1 and a good black value of 0.28 cd/m². This causes the colors to appear clearly separated from each other, and black tones are only covered by a very slight gray veil.

However, the CalMAN analysis also shows a slightly elevated blue tint. This can be remedied by an adjustment of the color temperature in the Settings menu. To do this, you can either use some preset modes or a color scale for manual adjustments.

CalMAN - Color Accuracy
CalMAN - Color Accuracy
CalMAN - Color Space
CalMAN - Color Space
CalMAN - Grayscales
CalMAN - Grayscales
CalMAN - Saturation
CalMAN - Saturation

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
22 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 9 ms rise
↘ 13 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 23 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25.6 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
45 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 22 ms rise
↘ 23 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 69 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (41 ms).

The Xiaomi Mi Max 3 can be used easily outdoors. The brightness is sufficient to still recognize the image content in brighter surroundings. There are only moderate reflections of the surrounding objects. However, in direct sunlight it becomes increasingly difficult to read the display content.

Outdoor use
Outdoor use
Outdoor use
Outdoor use

The viewing angles of the Mi Max 3 IPS panel are very stable, so you can read the content on the screen from almost any direction. As long as there are no reflections hindering the view of the display, the Xiaomi phablet can also be used from unusual positions.

Viewing-angle stability
Viewing-angle stability
Viewing-angle stability
Viewing-angle stability

Performance - The Xiaomi Mi Max 3 produces a good performance

In the Mi Max 3, Xiaomi uses the Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 SoC and an integrated Adreno 509 graphics unit. Together with 4 GB of RAM and 64 GB of eMMC flash storage, users receive solid mid-range equipment, allowing them to run many everyday applications.

With these hardware components, the Xiaomi phablet places exactly in the middle of the comparison field. The offered performance is at the level of comparable devices with the Snapdragon 636 SoC and is very balanced across all the disciplines of CPU, storage, and graphics.

AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
98170 Points ∼55%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
70346 Points ∼39% -28%
Honor Play
178745 Points ∼100% +82%
JVC J20
67408 Points ∼38% -31%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
125213 Points ∼70% +28%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (92672 - 125213, n=9)
98722 Points ∼55% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (23275 - 254229, n=389)
76442 Points ∼43% -22%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
118959 Points ∼78%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
89006 Points ∼58% -25%
Honor Play
152773 Points ∼100% +28%
JVC J20
89279 Points ∼58% -25%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
138661 Points ∼91% +17%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (115565 - 138661, n=9)
119151 Points ∼78% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (17073 - 348178, n=170)
118332 Points ∼77% -1%
PCMark for Android - Work performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
6040 Points ∼65%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
5659 Points ∼61% -6%
Honor Play
9326 Points ∼100% +54%
JVC J20
5762 Points ∼62% -5%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
6999 Points ∼75% +16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (6040 - 6999, n=8)
6422 Points ∼69% +6%
Average of class Smartphone (6412 - 13531, n=423)
4958 Points ∼53% -18%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1037 Points ∼95%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
936 Points ∼86% -10%
Honor Play
1091 Points ∼100% +5%
JVC J20
862 Points ∼79% -17%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
1088 Points ∼100% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (1018 - 1088, n=8)
1055 Points ∼97% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1731, n=499)
698 Points ∼64% -33%
Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1608 Points ∼72%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
1480 Points ∼66% -8%
Honor Play
2231 Points ∼100% +39%
JVC J20
1470 Points ∼66% -9%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
1605 Points ∼72% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (1590 - 1625, n=8)
1604 Points ∼72% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 15969, n=499)
1737 Points ∼78% +8%
Memory (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2492 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
1334 Points ∼54% -46%
Honor Play
2417 Points ∼97% -3%
JVC J20
1159 Points ∼47% -53%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
2314 Points ∼93% -7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (1461 - 2492, n=8)
2040 Points ∼82% -18%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 6283, n=499)
1244 Points ∼50% -50%
System (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
4320 Points ∼81%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
3284 Points ∼61% -24%
Honor Play
3795 Points ∼71% -12%
JVC J20
3288 Points ∼61% -24%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
5348 Points ∼100% +24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (4320 - 5348, n=8)
4594 Points ∼86% +6%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 12202, n=499)
2512 Points ∼47% -42%
Overall (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2058 Points ∼95%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
1570 Points ∼72% -24%
Honor Play
2174 Points ∼100% +6%
JVC J20
1483 Points ∼68% -28%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
2156 Points ∼99% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (1847 - 2156, n=8)
1991 Points ∼92% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (150 - 6097, n=503)
1255 Points ∼58% -39%
Geekbench 4.1/4.2
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
4508 Points ∼53%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
3621 Points ∼43% -20%
Honor Play
8454 Points ∼100% +88%
JVC J20
3681 Points ∼44% -18%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
5041 Points ∼60% +12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (4309 - 5041, n=9)
4555 Points ∼54% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (836 - 21070, n=197)
4524 Points ∼54% 0%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
4939 Points ∼74%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
4152 Points ∼62% -16%
Honor Play
6673 Points ∼100% +35%
JVC J20
4220 Points ∼63% -15%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
5426 Points ∼81% +10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (4781 - 5426, n=9)
4974 Points ∼75% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (883 - 11598, n=247)
4308 Points ∼65% -13%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1335 Points ∼70%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
858 Points ∼45% -36%
Honor Play
1904 Points ∼100% +43%
JVC J20
879 Points ∼46% -34%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
1506 Points ∼79% +13%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (1323 - 1506, n=9)
1354 Points ∼71% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (394 - 4824, n=248)
1270 Points ∼67% -5%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
2355 Points ∼83%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
1712 Points ∼61% -27%
Honor Play
2827 Points ∼100% +20%
JVC J20
1765 Points ∼62% -25%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
2634 Points ∼93% +12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (2251 - 2634, n=9)
2361 Points ∼84% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2281 - 4216, n=352)
1642 Points ∼58% -30%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
815 Points ∼27%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
718 Points ∼24% -12%
Honor Play
3018 Points ∼100% +270%
JVC J20
721 Points ∼24% -12%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
814 Points ∼27% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (797 - 818, n=9)
813 Points ∼27% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (815 - 5241, n=352)
1186 Points ∼39% +46%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
954 Points ∼32%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
824 Points ∼28% -14%
Honor Play
2973 Points ∼100% +212%
JVC J20
830 Points ∼28% -13%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
962 Points ∼32% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (934 - 962, n=9)
951 Points ∼32% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (951 - 4734, n=360)
1134 Points ∼38% +19%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1349 Points ∼48%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
1757 Points ∼62% +30%
Honor Play
2832 Points ∼100% +110%
JVC J20
1770 Points ∼63% +31%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
2626 Points ∼93% +95%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (1349 - 2626, n=9)
2266 Points ∼80% +68%
Average of class Smartphone (532 - 4215, n=384)
1540 Points ∼54% +14%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1335 Points ∼36%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
1248 Points ∼33% -7%
Honor Play
3734 Points ∼100% +180%
JVC J20
1257 Points ∼34% -6%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
1329 Points ∼36% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (1313 - 1353, n=9)
1333 Points ∼36% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (46 - 8312, n=384)
1632 Points ∼44% +22%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
1477 Points ∼42%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
1334 Points ∼38% -10%
Honor Play
3487 Points ∼100% +136%
JVC J20
1344 Points ∼39% -9%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
1493 Points ∼43% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (1458 - 1493, n=9)
1477 Points ∼42% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (58 - 6454, n=392)
1387 Points ∼40% -6%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
17073 Points ∼85%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
13217 Points ∼66% -23%
Honor Play
20035 Points ∼100% +17%
JVC J20
13153 Points ∼66% -23%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
19365 Points ∼97% +13%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (16719 - 19365, n=9)
17286 Points ∼86% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (3958 - 37475, n=539)
12880 Points ∼64% -25%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
20836 Points ∼60%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
18472 Points ∼53% -11%
Honor Play
34836 Points ∼100% +67%
JVC J20
18471 Points ∼53% -11%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
20722 Points ∼59% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (20610 - 20909, n=9)
20801 Points ∼60% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2465 - 162695, n=539)
17994 Points ∼52% -14%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
19863 Points ∼66%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
16972 Points ∼57% -15%
Honor Play
29924 Points ∼100% +51%
JVC J20
16948 Points ∼57% -15%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
20404 Points ∼68% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (19714 - 20404, n=9)
19905 Points ∼67% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2915 - 77599, n=540)
15114 Points ∼51% -24%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
36 fps ∼31%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
30 fps ∼26% -17%
Honor Play
115 fps ∼100% +219%
JVC J20
29 fps ∼25% -19%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
36 fps ∼31% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (35 - 36, n=9)
35.7 fps ∼31% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 251, n=564)
31.4 fps ∼27% -13%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
34 fps ∼57%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
28 fps ∼47% -18%
Honor Play
60 fps ∼100% +76%
JVC J20
28 fps ∼47% -18%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
34 fps ∼57% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (33 - 40, n=9)
34.9 fps ∼58% +3%
Average of class Smartphone (6.9 - 120, n=567)
25 fps ∼42% -26%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
16 fps ∼26%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
14 fps ∼23% -12%
Honor Play
62 fps ∼100% +288%
JVC J20
14 fps ∼23% -12%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
16 fps ∼26% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (16 - 16, n=9)
16 fps ∼26% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2.2 - 132, n=486)
16.8 fps ∼27% +5%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
15 (min: 16) fps ∼27%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
13 fps ∼24% -13%
Honor Play
55 fps ∼100% +267%
JVC J20
13 fps ∼24% -13%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
15 fps ∼27% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (14 - 18, n=9)
15.2 fps ∼28% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 115, n=489)
16 fps ∼29% +7%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
10 fps ∼26%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
9.8 fps ∼25% -2%
Honor Play
39 fps ∼100% +290%
JVC J20
9.7 fps ∼25% -3%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
10 fps ∼26% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (9.8 - 10, n=9)
9.98 fps ∼26% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (10 - 88, n=349)
14.3 fps ∼37% +43%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
9.8 fps ∼32%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
9.3 fps ∼30% -5%
Honor Play
31 fps ∼100% +216%
JVC J20
9.2 fps ∼30% -6%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
9.8 fps ∼32% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (9.1 - 12, n=9)
9.97 fps ∼32% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (9.8 - 110, n=352)
13.9 fps ∼45% +42%
GFXBench
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
6.3 fps ∼32%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
5.6 fps ∼28% -11%
Honor Play
20 fps ∼100% +217%
JVC J20
5.5 fps ∼28% -13%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
6.3 fps ∼32% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (6.3 - 6.3, n=9)
6.3 fps ∼32% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (6.3 - 54, n=280)
9.86 fps ∼49% +57%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
6 fps ∼32%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
5.3 fps ∼28% -12%
Honor Play
19 fps ∼100% +217%
JVC J20
5.2 fps ∼27% -13%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
6 fps ∼32% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (5.7 - 7.4, n=9)
6.11 fps ∼32% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (6 - 58, n=283)
8.89 fps ∼47% +48%

Legend

 
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Qualcomm Adreno 509, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Qualcomm Adreno 508, 32 GB eMMC Flash
 
Honor Play HiSilicon Kirin 970, ARM Mali-G72 MP12, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
JVC J20 Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Qualcomm Adreno 508, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Qualcomm Adreno 509, 64 GB eMMC Flash

In the browser benchmarks, the Mi Max 3 also offers balanced results. While its performance places it in the middle of our comparison field again, it always remains slightly below the performance achieved by other smartphones with the Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 SoC. In everyday life, the Xiaomi phablet ensures fast page loads and also makes media content available quickly.

JetStream 1.1 - 1.1 Total Score
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL (Chrome 67)
51.534 Points ∼100% +16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (44.2 - 51.5, n=9)
45.4 Points ∼88% +2%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Chrome 69)
44.568 Points ∼86%
Average of class Smartphone (10.8 - 273, n=422)
36.7 Points ∼71% -18%
Honor Play (Chrome 68)
33.094 Points ∼64% -26%
JVC J20 (Chrome 68)
28.25 Points ∼55% -37%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus (Chrome 67)
27.615 Points ∼54% -38%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL (Chrome 67)
9746 Points ∼100% +18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (8273 - 9746, n=9)
8744 Points ∼90% +6%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Chrome 69)
8273 Points ∼85%
Honor Play (Chrome 68)
6692 Points ∼69% -19%
Average of class Smartphone (1506 - 43280, n=558)
5562 Points ∼57% -33%
JVC J20 (Chrome 68)
5117 Points ∼53% -38%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus (Chrome 67)
5017 Points ∼51% -39%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=578)
11474 ms * ∼100% -151%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus (Chrome 67)
10086 ms * ∼88% -120%
JVC J20 (Chrome 68)
9660 ms * ∼84% -111%
Honor Play (Chrome 68)
6220.7 ms * ∼54% -36%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (4105 - 4820, n=9)
4630 ms * ∼40% -1%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Chrome 69)
4578.1 ms * ∼40%
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL (Chrome 67)
4105.3 ms * ∼36% +10%
WebXPRT 2015 - Overall Score
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636 (147 - 184, n=7)
158 Points ∼100% +7%
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 (Chrome 69)
148 Points ∼94%
Honor Play (Chrome 68)
119 Points ∼75% -20%
Average of class Smartphone (91 - 362, n=284)
111 Points ∼70% -25%
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus (Chrome 67)
106 Points ∼67% -28%

* ... smaller is better

The results of the storage benchmarks also place the Mi Max 3 in the middle of the field of comparison devices. The achieved values attest the Xiaomi smartphone with a good storage performance that has access rates that do not cause any noticeable delays. Of the 64 GB eMMC flash storage, users still have about 50 GB available to store their own applications and data. The storage can be expanded via the internal microSD card reader. However, this can only be used for data. Apps cannot be moved onto the microSD card and it cannot be formatted as internal storage either.

Xiaomi Mi Max 3Sony Xperia XA2 PlusHonor PlayJVC J20Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KLAverage 64 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-15%
70%
-17%
3%
-24%
-42%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
60.28 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
67.02 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
11%
71.86 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
19%
63 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
5%
65.19 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
8%
54.3 (14.1 - 74.7, n=68)
-10%
45.5 (3.4 - 87.1, n=318)
-25%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
83.79 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
86.01 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
3%
82.8 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-1%
82.8 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-1%
85.79 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
2%
73.2 (21.1 - 86.9, n=68)
-13%
63.8 (8.2 - 96.5, n=318)
-24%
Random Write 4KB
87.08
10.5
-88%
155.5
79%
6.3
-93%
83.54
-4%
19.8 (3.4 - 87.1, n=77)
-77%
16.1 (0.14 - 164, n=607)
-82%
Random Read 4KB
72.87
77.43
6%
142.4
95%
58.3
-20%
71.16
-2%
50.4 (11.4 - 149, n=77)
-31%
38.3 (1.59 - 173, n=607)
-47%
Sequential Write 256KB
185.4
146.16
-21%
188.3
2%
199.7
8%
201.75
9%
165 (40 - 246, n=77)
-11%
79.9 (2.99 - 246, n=607)
-57%
Sequential Read 256KB
274.63
281.06
2%
894.5
226%
270.6
-1%
286.61
4%
271 (115 - 704, n=77)
-1%
230 (12.1 - 895, n=607)
-16%

Games - Gaming-capable phablet from Xiaomi

The Xiaomi Mi Max 3 is quite suitable for gaming. The internal Adreno 509 graphics unit from Qualcomm is able to display most games smoothly. However, in graphically very-demanding applications, you have to make do with low graphics settings and expect longer load times. The large screen shows games to their best advantage, and the operation does not suffer from the large format.

The touchscreen responds to touch directly and offers only slight resistance to the fingertips, so that there are no problems even after longer gaming sessions. The position sensor transmits movements directly to the smartphone, causing them to be translated into the game without any longer delays. 

Asphalt 9
Asphalt 9
Arena of Valor
Arena of Valor

Emissions - A cool Android smartphone

Temperature

In our test, the temperatures on the surface of the Mi Max 3 reach barely above 27 °C (81 °F) during idle and up to 32 °C (90 °F) under load. With this, the Xiaomi smartphone only warms up moderately and can be held comfortably in the hand at all times.

The demanding Manhattan 3.1 test of GFXBench also shows that the performance does not drop over longer periods of time. Thus we do not expect any limitations due to high temperatures in the operation of the Xiaomi Mi Max 3.

Max. Load
 31.4 °C
89 F
28.7 °C
84 F
29 °C
84 F
 
 32.3 °C
90 F
29 °C
84 F
29.1 °C
84 F
 
 31.1 °C
88 F
29.2 °C
85 F
28.3 °C
83 F
 
Maximum: 32.3 °C = 90 F
Average: 29.8 °C = 86 F
29.2 °C
85 F
29.8 °C
86 F
30.5 °C
87 F
28.7 °C
84 F
29.8 °C
86 F
30.5 °C
87 F
29.1 °C
84 F
29.4 °C
85 F
30.5 °C
87 F
Maximum: 30.5 °C = 87 F
Average: 29.7 °C = 85 F
Power Supply (max.)  35.2 °C = 95 F | Room Temperature 21.9 °C = 71 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(+) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 29.8 °C / 86 F, compared to the average of 33.2 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 32.3 °C / 90 F, compared to the average of 35.7 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 30.5 °C / 87 F, compared to the average of 34.2 °C / 94 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 27.3 °C / 81 F, compared to the device average of 33.2 °C / 92 F.
Heat map - front
Heat map - front
Heat map - back
Heat map - back

Speaker

Speaker characteristics
Speaker characteristics

The speaker of the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 is only suitable for the occasional reproduction of media content. With its pronounced mids, the sound is relatively good, but highs and bass are underrepresented. In addition, the volume is only moderate, so that it can only overcome environment noises to a limited extent.

You can connect a stereo headset or external speakers to the Android phablet via the 3.5 mm port, which accepts the corresponding plugs tightly and does not influence the reproduction negatively.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2039.143.32539.141.63140.333403534.85037.333.96325.221.98024.622.81002524.412520.120.316020.531.120018.243.725018.448.231515.650.240015.757.350015.16163013.265.280014.768.8100013.569.5125014.667.8160012.968.5200011.269.4250010.968.1315010.967.3400010.765.1500010.564.6630010.660.6800010.659.71000010.761.31250010.755.11600010.741.6SPL24.961.878.6N0.614.441.9median 13.2median 61Delta3.311.3303836.136.83233.529.427.931.536.327.924.722.121.52223.821.224.421.529.720.340.118.446.417.354.316.760.91760.616.162.915.865.615.870.415.372.115.874.514.971.91573.114.775.514.774.91572.515.173.11573.615.473.61567.116.347.727.684.7159.3median 15.8median 67.11.913.1hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseXiaomi Mi Max 3Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Xiaomi Mi Max 3 audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (78.6 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 24.7% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.9% higher than median
(+) | mids are linear (5.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.3% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (3.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (22.1% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 26% of all tested devices in this class were better, 10% similar, 64% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 55% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 37% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Sony Xperia XA2 Plus audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (84.7 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 30.7% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.8% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 6.6% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (2.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (24.4% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 46% of all tested devices in this class were better, 10% similar, 44% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 68% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 25% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life - Xiaomi smartphone with a long battery life

Power Consumption

Our measurements of the power consumption attest the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 with the second-lowest average consumption during idle as well as under load compared to our competing devices. However, with its maximum power consumption of 6.5 watts under load, the Android smartphone only places in the middle of the field of competitors.

In any case, the included 18-watt charger is sized sufficiently to provide enough power to the Xiaomi smartphone.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0 / 0.1 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.7 / 1.5 / 2.2 Watt
Load midlight 3.8 / 6.5 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
5500 mAh
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
3580 mAh
Honor Play
3750 mAh
JVC J20
3400 mAh
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
3300 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 636
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
17%
-73%
-15%
-134%
-30%
-5%
Idle Minimum *
0.7
0.35
50%
1.4
-100%
1
-43%
1.75
-150%
0.981 (0.6 - 1.75, n=9)
-40%
0.88 (0.2 - 3.4, n=636)
-26%
Idle Average *
1.5
1.81
-21%
2.6
-73%
1.6
-7%
4.48
-199%
2.28 (1.4 - 4.48, n=9)
-52%
1.719 (0.6 - 6.2, n=635)
-15%
Idle Maximum *
2.2
1.83
17%
4.3
-95%
2.8
-27%
4.5
-105%
2.66 (2 - 4.5, n=9)
-21%
1.998 (0.74 - 6.6, n=636)
9%
Load Average *
3.8
3.31
13%
6.5
-71%
4
-5%
7.92
-108%
4.58 (3.65 - 7.92, n=9)
-21%
4.04 (0.8 - 10.8, n=630)
-6%
Load Maximum *
6.5
4.97
24%
8.2
-26%
5.9
9%
13.62
-110%
7.47 (5.1 - 13.6, n=9)
-15%
5.75 (1.2 - 14.2, n=630)
12%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

Manhattan 3.1
Manhattan 3.1

The Mi Max 3 is able to last for almost 22 hours in our realistic WLAN test before it needs to be reconnected to the charger. With this, the Android phablet has a clearly longer battery life than the competitors. However, the good result is also due to the 5500-mAh battery, which is significantly larger than those in comparable devices.

Thanks to Quick Charge technology, the battery of the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 is completely recharged in slightly more than two hours.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
21h 45min
Xiaomi Mi Max 3
5500 mAh
Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
3580 mAh
Honor Play
3750 mAh
JVC J20
3400 mAh
Asus Zenfone 5 ZE620KL
3300 mAh
Battery Runtime
WiFi v1.3
1305
837
-36%
710
-46%
726
-44%
497
-62%

Pros

+ high-contrast and bright display
+ Bluetooth 5.0
+ long battery life

Cons

- English menu (not ideal for non English-speaking markets)
- some settings can only be modified online
- USB 2.0

Verdict - A mid-range smartphone with a large display

In review: Xiaomi Mi Max 3. Test unit provided by TradingShenzen.
In review: Xiaomi Mi Max 3. Test unit provided by TradingShenzen.

In our test, the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 shows itself superior to the competition primarily in one aspect: its size. In all the other aspects, the Chinese smartphone is a well-performing mid-range device that places solidly in the middle of the field of comparable smartphones. With its usable cameras, Bluetooth 5.0, and fast ac WLAN, the Android phablet represents a good overall package.

With the Xiaomi Mi Max 3, users get a powerful smartphone that mainly convinces with its large display.

In terms of usability, interested buyers not only need to deal with the 6.9-inch display, but as an imported device the Xiaomi Mi Max 3 is equipped with an adjusted operating system where users have to manually install the Google Play Store, for example. While this works without a hitch for the most part, the English menus with the occasional adjustments for the Chinese market do not offer the same comfort level that a model for the German language market can bring.

Xiaomi Mi Max 3 - 10/16/2018 v6
Mike Wobker

Chassis
77%
Keyboard
65 / 75 → 86%
Pointing Device
82%
Connectivity
44 / 60 → 73%
Weight
88%
Battery
100%
Display
91%
Games Performance
45 / 63 → 71%
Application Performance
60 / 70 → 86%
Temperature
94%
Noise
100%
Audio
73 / 91 → 80%
Camera
64%
Average
76%
84%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Xiaomi Mi Max 3 Smartphone Review
Mike Wobker, 2018-10-22 (Update: 2018-10-23)