Notebookcheck

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 Smartphone Review

Florian Schaar, Felicitas Krohn (translated by Katherine Bodner), 03/27/2018

Neck and neck. One year after the launch of the predecessor, the Xiaomi Mi Mix, the Chinese manufacturer has now released a new model. Not much has changed on the outside, apart from the device shrinking slightly. While other Asian manufacturers are fighting for customers with very competitive prices, Xiaomi displays confidence in its pricing, thereby placing its focus on quality and design.

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team!

Currently wanted: 
German-English-Translator - Details here

The Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 is made to impress. The moment you open its box, you are met with the sight on an enormous screen, an elegantly designed case and a beautiful user interface named MIUI. The device is equipped with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 processor and an Adreno 540 GPU, 6 GB of RAM and storage options ranging from 64 to 256 GB. The whole package is completed by numerous sensors and Sony cameras. The aim of this review, however, is not to be blinded by the device's impressive technical specifications and gorgeous looks, but to put the smartphone through its paces and see how it compares to its competitors.

While Xiaomi is achieving good sales figures with its products in its home market, China, the only country in which the phones are officially distributed outside of China is Spain. However, you can still purchase the devices from importers. Our test unit is currently available for $500 on Amazon.

As this is a high-end device, we have chosen other flagship models such as the predecessor, Xiaomi Mi Mix, the Samsung Galaxy S8 and the OnePlus 5T as comparison devices. People who are still wavering on their preferred OS might also be interested in a comparison with the Apple iPhone X.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 (Mi Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
6144 MB 
, 6GB or 8GB
Display
6 inch 2:1, 2160 x 1080 pixel 402 PPI, 10-point touchscreen, IPS, Corning Gorilla Glass 4, glossy: yes
Storage
64 GB eMMC Flash, 64 GB 
, 64GB or 128GB or 256GB, 55 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5-mm combined audio jack, 1 Fingerprint Reader, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: accelerometer, magnetometer, gyroscope, barometer, USB Type-C
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 5.0, GSM, CDMA, HSPA, EVDO, LTE, Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 7.7 x 151.8 x 75.5 ( = 0.3 x 5.98 x 2.97 in)
Battery
3771 mAh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Android 7.1 Nougat
Camera
Primary Camera: 12 MPix 1/2.9" sensor size, 1.25 µm pixel size, dual-LED flash, 2[email protected], [email protected], [email protected]
Secondary Camera: 5 MPix
Additional features
Speakers: 1, Keyboard: on-screen, Keyboard Light: yes, Bumper, SIM slot key, USB-C-to-audio converter, power supply, USB-C cable, 24 Months Warranty, fanless
Weight
185 g ( = 6.53 oz / 0.41 pounds), Power Supply: 73 g ( = 2.58 oz / 0.16 pounds)
Price
500 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case - stable and elegant

Compared to its predecessor, the Mix 2 has shrunk from 6.4 inches to 6 inches. The screen resolution has increased slightly; however, and the aspect ratio has changed to 18:9 or 2:1. The frame and back of the device are still made of gray-black ceramic. The reflective material on the back feels like glass thanks to its smooth surface, but is a lot more protective against cuts and scratches than the touchscreen is.

Due to the nicely flowing transitions, the flush camera and the smooth material, the Mi Mix 2 looks as if it was made from one piece. One disadvantage of the smooth surface is that it shows up fingerprints very quickly, and tends to be slippery on slanted surfaces or when held in damp hands. The device comes with an additional protective cover, which is very helpful here. It also prevents damage to the device to a certain extent, but we would still recommend being particularly careful due to the bezel-free construction and ceramic frame.

As well as reducing the size from 158.8 x 81.9 x 7.9 mm (~ 6.2 x 3.2 x 0.31 in) to 151.8 x 75.5 x 7.7 mm (~ 5.9 x 2.9 x 0.3 in), the weight has also dropped to 185 grams (~ 6.5 oz). Apart from its predecessor, the Mi Mix 2 is still the heaviest device of our comparison field. This becomes more relative when you look at the weight and dimensions of the iPhone X. Only the Samsung Galaxy S8 has impressive dimensions, but it also has a slightly lighter glass back. Subjectively, the relatively high weight gives a good impression and underlines its high quality. Another proof of quality is the high warp resistance of the case.

Size Comparison

Connectivity - a USB-C and Dual-SIM smartphone

Inside, the Xiaomi comes with a high-end processor from Qualcomm, the Snapdragon 835, and an Adreno 540 GPU. Together with 6 GB of RAM and storage options ranging from sufficient to lavish (64 to 256 GB available), the smartphone looks promising on paper. Following the current fashion of high-end smartphones, the battery cannot be exchanged. The device is a dual-SIM model and therefore has two Nano-SIM trays.  

The device overhaul has meant that the classic 3.5-inch headset jack had to be removed. However, the device is delivered with an adapter for the remaining USB Type-C port. Unfortunately, the latter still only supports USB 2.0 speeds, which means that data can be transmitted at a maximum rate of 35 MB/s. We were pleased with the fact that USB-OTG is supported in order to connect peripheral devices. Although the storage of the Mi Mix 2 cannot be expanded via a microSD card, it should have sufficient space available, with configurations ranging from 64 to 256 GB. Apart from the two Nano-SIM slots, the device is also equipped with ac Wi-Fi including Wi-Fi Direct, Bluetooth 5 and NFC for wireless data transfers. The Wi-Fi module now seems to support MIMO technology, which we will talk about later on. There is a fingerprint reader on the back of the device that easily activates and unlocks the device. The placement has its advantages, but we have also seen very effective solutions for front sensors, for example on the Motorola Moto G5s Plus.

Independent journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible but we intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers and support us!

Software - Android smartphone with MIUI

The Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 is equipped with the Android 7.1.1 operating system with MIUI Global 9.1. Unlike its predecessor, the device is available in a "global" version, which includes all relevant Google apps. Chinese applications, which are of no use to non-Chinese-speaking users, are not installed in this version. Both the looks and functionality of the user interface differ from Stock Android. For example, the device does not have an app drawer and installed apps are accessible directly from the home screen, which we personally welcome as it improves usability. Similar to the Mi Mix, the system is highly customizable: Some useful additional features are "child mode", which only allows access to certain, previously defined apps, as well as the "dual apps" function, which allows you to install apps twice and use them independently. The Quick Ball is still included, but it has to be activated in the settings. The device also offers an optional one hand mode to make using the phone with only one hand easier.

Home screen
Home screen
further apps
further apps
further apps
further apps
Google apps
Google apps
compass app
compass app
included themes
included themes
included backgrounds
included backgrounds
technical data
technical data

Communication and GPS - fast Wi-Fi, weak GPS

The updated Mi Mix 2 has become even more communicative. The device now supports the LTE band 20 and offers Bluetooth 5.0, as well as improved Wi-Fi connections. Compared to its predecessor, the mobile network speeds have doubled thanks to MIMO 2x2 technology. Our test unit reached 656 Mbit/s when receiving data with our reference router Linksys EA8500 compared to 289 Mbit/s with the Mi Mix, and managed transmit speeds of up to 585 Mbit/s. This means that the Xiaomi smartphone has caught up with the frontrunners and only the iPhone X can beat it at receiving data. When transmitting, the iPhone falls behind a little and the Mix 2 takes third place after the Samsung Galaxy S8 and the OnePlus 5T.

GPS indoors
GPS indoors
GPS: satellite signals
GPS: satellite signals
GPS indoors test 2
GPS indoors test 2
satellites
satellites
Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Apple iPhone X
A11 Bionic GPU, A11 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
939 MBit/s ∼100% +43%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
Adreno 540, 835, 64 GB eMMC Flash
656 MBit/s ∼70%
OnePlus 5T
Adreno 540, 835, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
386 MBit/s ∼41% -41%
Samsung Galaxy S8
Mali-G71 MP20, 8895 Octa, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
329 MBit/s ∼35% -50%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
Adreno 530, 821 MSM8996 Pro, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
289 MBit/s ∼31% -56%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=342)
215 MBit/s ∼23% -67%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Samsung Galaxy S8
Mali-G71 MP20, 8895 Octa, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
651 MBit/s ∼100% +11%
OnePlus 5T
Adreno 540, 835, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
650 MBit/s ∼100% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
Adreno 540, 835, 64 GB eMMC Flash
585 MBit/s ∼90%
Apple iPhone X
A11 Bionic GPU, A11 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
456 MBit/s ∼70% -22%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
Adreno 530, 821 MSM8996 Pro, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
234 MBit/s ∼36% -60%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=342)
208 MBit/s ∼32% -64%

The GPS results were a little quirky, particularly when using the app "GPS test". Indoors, the device positioned us relatively quickly, but the result was within 100 meters (~109 yd), which is quite inaccurate. The second test was more realistic. This is a little surprising as the device performed well during our bicycle ride. The deviation compared to our reference navigator Garmin Edge 500 was not too high. Over a total route of 6.5 km (~4 mi), the difference was about 50 meters (~55 yd). These are great results. The difference can be explained by the smaller frequency of connections, which we encounter in almost all smartphones. You can see this from the more "angular" route images below. 

The Mi Mix 2 uses GPS satellites, as well as the Russian GLONASS and Chinese BeiDou networks for positioning.

GPS Mi Mix 2
GPS Mi Mix 2
GPS Mi Mix 2
GPS Mi Mix 2
GPS Mi Mix 2
GPS Mi Mix 2
GPS Garmin Edge 500
GPS Garmin Edge 500
GPS Garmin Edge 500
GPS Garmin Edge 500
GPS Garmin Edge 500
GPS Garmin Edge 500

Call and Voice Quality - Clear and noise-free

Xiaomi's telephone app has a number block, a call log and a search option on its start screen. A second tab within the app shows all stored contacts. We were not able to find a possibility to include contacts stored on the SIM card. It seems as if this option has been removed. As the Mi Mix 2 is almost bezel-less at the top, it cannot be equipped with a standard earpiece. Instead, it uses a piezoceramic element which is placed behind the display. The loud, noise-free, but slightly muffled sound can easily keep up with most traditional smartphones, with only a few cutbacks for natural sound. Background noises are suppressed efficiently. Our call partner always heard us clearly and there were no glitches. The microphones also work well on speakerphone, and the strong speaker ensured that we always heard our call partner clearly.

Cameras - not much left to be desired

The front camera of the Mi Mix has a resolution of 5 megapixels. It is not positioned at the top of the display, but in the bottom right corner. Xiaomi recommends turning the phablet by 180 degrees when taking a selfie, so as not to cover the lens by mistake, which happened during our test and is particularly likely for right-handed users. It takes quite nice, detailed photos in daylight, but the image sharpness drops noticeably indoors, particularly when the subject is very close. Videos can be made in Full HD resolution and offer decent quality.  

The main camera has a 12-MP sensor from Sony - the IMX 386 Exmor. (No, it was not taken out of an old IBM-compatible PC.) The image quality outdoors looks great. The photos show high details, but are not too sharp. We occasionally missed an optical image stabilizer indoors, as photos tend to blur otherwise. The short shutter lag is good. The Mi Mix 2 can record videos at UHD resolution with autofocus or manual focus (by tapping the screen). You can also record slow-motion videos with a resolution of 1280x720 pixels and 120 images per second. Their quality is only good enough for small screens, however.

The camera app offers various modes such as "beautify", "panorama" or "tilt shift", but also a manual mode in which you can adjust the white balance, exposure, focus point and ISO sensitivity. In general, the photo app is quite intuitive and easy to use, but can still be configured in detail in the settings. Hardware keys can be used as shutter release or to set brightness, and the lag for time lapse videos can be adjusted as well.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images
ColorChecker
ColorChecker
test chart
test chart
detail of test chart
detail of test chart

In order to test the color accuracy of the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2's main camera, we have compared photos taken under controlled lighting conditions to the X-Rite ColorChecker passport, which shows the real reference colors. We did not process the image, for example by manually adjusting the white balance. You can see that most colors look stronger than they are in reality. While the intensity is not accurate, the actual color tones look quite good. We test the image performance of the lens and sensor resolution by taking a picture of our test chart in controlled artificial light. This shows slightly reduced resolution at the edges, but nothing to be worried about. Single color surfaces appear irregular close-up and you can see yellowish color fringes along hard contrasts. However, these are hardly noticeable in reality. Subjectively, the images gave us a good impression.

Accessories and Warranty - an imported phone

Apart from the power supply and USB-C cable, the test unit is only equipped with a slightly metallic plastic cover that protects the back and frame from damage. We know from experience that plastic tends to break sooner or later. The scope of delivery does not include headphones, but instead it offers a USB-C-to-audio adapter to replace the missing audio jack. However, it is not very comfortable having to carry that around. Another alternative would be to use Bluetooth headphones. The device is now available on Amazon and also has CE labelling, which its predecessor did not. Therefore, it does not really make sense to import the device directly from China, particularly as there is no big difference in price. When purchasing the unlocked phone from a retailer, you will benefit from legal warranty and an uncomplicated return policy if you are not happy with the device. This should justify the slightly higher price. 

Input Devices & Handling - fast sensors and responsive touchscreen

The touchscreen of the test unit is very responsive even at the edges - despite its unusual almost bezel-free build. Fingers glide over the glass surface nicely. We measured the response time of the 10-point touchscreen by playing Chopsticks on Gismart's "Real Piano" app. Subjectively, all keys reacted quickly and without noticeable lag. The installed keyboard, GBoard, is useful for inputs in several languages. 

The fingerprint reader on the back of the Mi Mix 2 is positioned well, as long as the phablet is held in one hand. It responds reliably and quickly. If you want to activate the display without picking up the phone, you can also double-tap the screen. The volume rocker and power button have a clear, but not too strong pressure point and sit snugly in their slots. As we would have expected based on the excellent technical specifications, the operating system runs very smoothly and there are no lags when responding to user inputs.

keyboard
keyboard
number pad
number pad

Display - bright, sharp, color-accurate

Subpixel
Subpixel

Compared to last year, the screen of the Mix 2 has improved slightly. The number of pixels has increased to 2160x1080, and as the device itself has shrunk, pixel density has increased from 361 to 402 PPI. But these values hardly impact day-to-day use, as the difference is barely noticeable to the naked eye. The fact that the screen brightness has decreased by about 100 cd/ to 472 cd/ is more interesting. This is still a good value, but not quite as bright as the Xiaomi Mi Mix. The rounded edges of the panel are unusual, but this makes them fit even more seamlessly into the case design. The predecessor and the Maze Alpha X already had similar features, although the latter's implementation of it was a lot sloppier.

417
cd/m²
447
cd/m²
425
cd/m²
419
cd/m²
472
cd/m²
425
cd/m²
410
cd/m²
446
cd/m²
412
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 472 cd/m² Average: 430.3 cd/m² Minimum: 7.1 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 87 %
Center on Battery: 472 cd/m²
Contrast: 1748:1 (Black: 0.27 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 3.5 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.2
ΔE Greyscale 4 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
100% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.29
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
IPS, 2160x1080, 6
Xiaomi Mi Mix
IPS, 2040x1080, 6.4
Samsung Galaxy S8
Super AMOLED, 2960x1440, 5.8
OnePlus 5T
AMOLED, 2160x1080, 6.01
Apple iPhone X
Super AMOLED, 2436x1125, 5.8
Screen
-2%
19%
19%
42%
Brightness middle
472
577
22%
566
20%
425
-10%
600
27%
Brightness
430
576
34%
564
31%
423
-2%
606
41%
Brightness Distribution
87
89
2%
94
8%
92
6%
94
8%
Black Level *
0.27
0.42
-56%
Contrast
1748
1374
-21%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
3.5
2.7
23%
2.7
23%
2.1
40%
1.2
66%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
5.9
6.9
-17%
5.4
8%
3.4
42%
3
49%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
4
4.2
-5%
3.1
22%
2.5
37%
1.6
60%
Gamma
2.29 96%
2.23 99%
2.15 102%
2.32 95%
2.23 99%
CCT
7048 92%
7287 89%
6335 103%
6455 101%
6707 97%
Color Space (Percent of AdobeRGB 1998)
81.57
Color Space (Percent of sRGB)
99.87

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9236 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

The black value and contrast are good in this panel. The Xiaomi Mix 2 can beat its competition and actually has the highest contrast ratio. Color accuracy is a little below the level of its predecessor and our test unit made last place in our comparison field with a DeltaE value of 3.5. But this is still a very good value. And do not forget that the iPhone, for example, costs about twice as much.

ColorChecker
ColorChecker
color space
color space
grayscales
grayscales
saturation
saturation

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
36 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 21 ms rise
↘ 15 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 91 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (25.6 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
50 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 25 ms rise
↘ 25 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 82 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (41 ms).

Despite its lower brightness, the Mi Mix 2 is still easy to read in the shade. You can even see some display content in direct sunlight, but the reflections are quite disturbing.

direct sunlight
direct sunlight
shade
shade

As usual for high-quality IPS panels, the color display does not change even at very wide viewing angles. The loss in brightness and lighting-up of dark areas is also not too bad.

viewing angles
viewing angles

Performance without end

The Mi Mix 2 is equipped with Qualcomm's current top processor, the Snapdragon 835. It has eight cores of the Kryo series, four of which clock at up to 1.9 GHz, while the others reach up to 2.46 GHz. The graphics are taken care of by an Adreno 540 GPU, which also has large power reserves that, despite the high display resolution, are pushed to the limit only by a few current games. As the chosen comparison devices all belong to the high-end segment, it is a neck-and-neck race in most areas - particularly if you leave out the iPhone X, which often claims pole position.

AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix
138072 Points ∼70%
Samsung Galaxy S8
171884 Points ∼87%
OnePlus 5T
172124 Points ∼87%
Apple iPhone X
197851 Points ∼100%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (150208 - 185487, n=17)
173235 Points ∼88%
Average of class Smartphone (23275 - 254229, n=422)
78766 Points ∼40%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
7046 Points ∼100%
Samsung Galaxy S8
5370 Points ∼76% -24%
OnePlus 5T
6595 Points ∼94% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (5603 - 7223, n=19)
6702 Points ∼95% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (2828 - 9868, n=288)
4694 Points ∼67% -33%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
8169 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
5179 Points ∼63% -37%
Samsung Galaxy S8
6035 Points ∼74% -26%
OnePlus 5T
7739 Points ∼95% -5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (6854 - 8553, n=19)
7820 Points ∼96% -4%
Average of class Smartphone (3977 - 13531, n=456)
5123 Points ∼63% -37%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
1264 Points ∼75%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
1026 Points ∼61% -19%
Samsung Galaxy S8
1156 Points ∼69% -9%
OnePlus 5T
1329 Points ∼79% +5%
Apple iPhone X
1682 Points ∼100% +33%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (1009 - 1329, n=17)
1222 Points ∼73% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1731, n=530)
707 Points ∼42% -44%
Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
5936 Points ∼64%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
3415 Points ∼37% -42%
Samsung Galaxy S8
6096 Points ∼66% +3%
OnePlus 5T
6100 Points ∼66% +3%
Apple iPhone X
9248 Points ∼100% +56%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (5791 - 6273, n=17)
6052 Points ∼65% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 15969, n=530)
1767 Points ∼19% -70%
Memory (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3544 Points ∼92%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
1747 Points ∼45% -51%
Samsung Galaxy S8
3039 Points ∼79% -14%
OnePlus 5T
3845 Points ∼100% +8%
Apple iPhone X
1219 Points ∼32% -66%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (1501 - 4423, n=17)
3137 Points ∼82% -11%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 6283, n=530)
1303 Points ∼34% -63%
System (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
5822 Points ∼57%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
3399 Points ∼33% -42%
Samsung Galaxy S8
5386 Points ∼52% -7%
OnePlus 5T
5872 Points ∼57% +1%
Apple iPhone X
10281 Points ∼100% +77%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (4238 - 5926, n=17)
5690 Points ∼55% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 12202, n=530)
2612 Points ∼25% -55%
Overall (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3527 Points ∼94%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
2136 Points ∼57% -39%
Samsung Galaxy S8
3277 Points ∼88% -7%
OnePlus 5T
3678 Points ∼98% +4%
Apple iPhone X
3737 Points ∼100% +6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (2702 - 3790, n=17)
3367 Points ∼90% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (150 - 6097, n=534)
1294 Points ∼35% -63%
Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
7750 Points ∼91%
Samsung Galaxy S8
8490 Points ∼100% +10%
OnePlus 5T
8000 Points ∼94% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (7462 - 8281, n=13)
7893 Points ∼93% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (1131 - 21070, n=227)
4537 Points ∼53% -41%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
6649 Points ∼65%
Samsung Galaxy S8
6711 Points ∼65% +1%
OnePlus 5T
6670 Points ∼65% 0%
Apple iPhone X
10255 Points ∼100% +54%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (6006 - 6799, n=18)
6515 Points ∼64% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (1635 - 11598, n=278)
4370 Points ∼43% -34%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
1943 Points ∼46%
Samsung Galaxy S8
1997 Points ∼47% +3%
OnePlus 5T
1962 Points ∼46% +1%
Apple iPhone X
4265 Points ∼100% +120%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (1809 - 1973, n=18)
1917 Points ∼45% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (590 - 4824, n=279)
1267 Points ∼30% -35%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
2956 Points ∼96%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
1953 Points ∼64% -34%
Samsung Galaxy S8
2494 Points ∼81% -16%
OnePlus 5T
3068 Points ∼100% +4%
Apple iPhone X
2361 Points ∼77% -20%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (1628 - 3157, n=18)
2891 Points ∼94% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (503 - 4216, n=381)
1683 Points ∼55% -43%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
4034 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
2291 Points ∼57% -43%
Samsung Galaxy S8
3472 Points ∼86% -14%
OnePlus 5T
4016 Points ∼100% 0%
Apple iPhone X
3463 Points ∼86% -14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (3560 - 4072, n=18)
3901 Points ∼97% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (82 - 5246, n=382)
1198 Points ∼30% -70%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3732 Points ∼99%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
2207 Points ∼59% -41%
Samsung Galaxy S8
3194 Points ∼85% -14%
OnePlus 5T
3758 Points ∼100% +1%
Apple iPhone X
3138 Points ∼84% -16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (2895 - 3810, n=18)
3609 Points ∼96% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (440 - 4734, n=391)
1148 Points ∼31% -69%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
2547 Points ∼84%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
1990 Points ∼66% -22%
Samsung Galaxy S8
2440 Points ∼81% -4%
OnePlus 5T
3031 Points ∼100% +19%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (1574 - 3092, n=17)
2795 Points ∼92% +10%
Average of class Smartphone (512 - 4215, n=415)
1581 Points ∼52% -38%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
5599 Points ∼97%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
3874 Points ∼67% -31%
Samsung Galaxy S8
4923 Points ∼85% -12%
OnePlus 5T
5791 Points ∼100% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (3682 - 6231, n=17)
5615 Points ∼97% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (46 - 8312, n=415)
1641 Points ∼28% -71%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
4422 Points ∼92%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
3200 Points ∼66% -28%
Samsung Galaxy S8
4015 Points ∼83% -9%
OnePlus 5T
4816 Points ∼100% +9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (3407 - 5030, n=17)
4558 Points ∼95% +3%
Average of class Smartphone (58 - 6454, n=423)
1407 Points ∼29% -68%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
21337 Points ∼83%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
22860 Points ∼89% +7%
Samsung Galaxy S8
21543 Points ∼84% +1%
OnePlus 5T
21348 Points ∼83% 0%
Apple iPhone X
25633 Points ∼100% +20%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (6729 - 23046, n=20)
19196 Points ∼75% -10%
Average of class Smartphone (3958 - 37475, n=572)
13100 Points ∼51% -39%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
57134 Points ∼51%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
36559 Points ∼33% -36%
Samsung Galaxy S8
36347 Points ∼32% -36%
OnePlus 5T
58097 Points ∼52% +2%
Apple iPhone X
112489 Points ∼100% +97%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (16794 - 58360, n=20)
53776 Points ∼48% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (1152 - 162695, n=572)
18381 Points ∼16% -68%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
41618 Points ∼65%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
32263 Points ∼50% -22%
Samsung Galaxy S8
31532 Points ∼49% -24%
OnePlus 5T
42022 Points ∼65% +1%
Apple iPhone X
64169 Points ∼100% +54%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (12604 - 42278, n=20)
37906 Points ∼59% -9%
Average of class Smartphone (2915 - 77599, n=573)
15482 Points ∼24% -63%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
102 fps ∼57%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
85 fps ∼48% -17%
Samsung Galaxy S8
121 fps ∼68% +19%
OnePlus 5T
113 fps ∼64% +11%
Apple iPhone X
177.4 fps ∼100% +74%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (69 - 119, n=18)
107 fps ∼60% +5%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 251, n=597)
32.1 fps ∼18% -69%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
60 fps ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
60 fps ∼100% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S8
60 fps ∼100% 0%
OnePlus 5T
60 fps ∼100% 0%
Apple iPhone X
59.4 fps ∼99% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (54 - 79, n=19)
60.3 fps ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (6.9 - 120, n=600)
25.5 fps ∼42% -57%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
49 fps ∼56%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
47 fps ∼53% -4%
Samsung Galaxy S8
62 fps ∼70% +27%
OnePlus 5T
60 fps ∼68% +22%
Apple iPhone X
88.2 fps ∼100% +80%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (43 - 64, n=19)
55.2 fps ∼63% +13%
Average of class Smartphone (2.2 - 132, n=519)
17.2 fps ∼20% -65%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
45 fps ∼77%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
47 fps ∼80% +4%
Samsung Galaxy S8
41 fps ∼70% -9%
OnePlus 5T
53 fps ∼91% +18%
Apple iPhone X
58.5 fps ∼100% +30%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (29 - 58, n=19)
42.3 fps ∼72% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 115, n=522)
16.4 fps ∼28% -64%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
34 fps ∼70%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
30 fps ∼61% -12%
Samsung Galaxy S8
24 fps ∼49% -29%
OnePlus 5T
41 fps ∼84% +21%
Apple iPhone X
48.9 fps ∼100% +44%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (21 - 43, n=19)
37.9 fps ∼78% +11%
Average of class Smartphone (4.7 - 88, n=380)
14.6 fps ∼30% -57%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
34 fps ∼77%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
31 fps ∼70% -9%
Samsung Galaxy S8
23 fps ∼52% -32%
OnePlus 5T
37 fps ∼84% +9%
Apple iPhone X
44.1 fps ∼100% +30%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (15 - 59, n=19)
29.1 fps ∼66% -14%
Average of class Smartphone (5 - 110, n=383)
14.2 fps ∼32% -58%
GFXBench
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
24 fps ∼75%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
19 fps ∼60% -21%
Samsung Galaxy S8
25 fps ∼79% +4%
OnePlus 5T
25 fps ∼79% +4%
Apple iPhone X
31.8 fps ∼100% +33%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (22 - 26, n=19)
24.5 fps ∼77% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (2.5 - 54, n=311)
9.9 fps ∼31% -59%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
23 fps ∼83%
Xiaomi Mi Mix
20 fps ∼72% -13%
Samsung Galaxy S8
13 fps ∼47% -43%
OnePlus 5T
23 fps ∼83% 0%
Apple iPhone X
27.7 fps ∼100% +20%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (11 - 50, n=19)
19.5 fps ∼70% -15%
Average of class Smartphone (2.8 - 58, n=314)
8.99 fps ∼32% -61%
Lightmark - 1920x1080 1080p (sort by value)
Samsung Galaxy S8
30.64 fps ∼83%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (32.1 - 38.7, n=5)
36.7 fps ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone (1.06 - 38.7, n=72)
12.1 fps ∼33%
Basemark X 1.1
High Quality (sort by value)
Samsung Galaxy S8
42183 Points ∼100%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (38752 - 38773, n=2)
38763 Points ∼92%
Average of class Smartphone (983 - 42335, n=101)
11606 Points ∼28%
Medium Quality (sort by value)
Samsung Galaxy S8
43852 Points ∼98%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998)
44696 Points ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone (3159 - 44696, n=116)
16447 Points ∼37%
Basemark ES 3.1 / Metal - offscreen Overall Score (sort by value)
Samsung Galaxy S8
1276 Points ∼75%
Apple iPhone X
1702 Points ∼100%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (733 - 889, n=6)
832 Points ∼49%
Average of class Smartphone (36.3 - 2754, n=79)
683 Points ∼40%
Epic Citadel - Ultra High Quality (sort by value)
Samsung Galaxy S8
59.8 fps ∼100%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (60 - 60.1, n=2)
60.1 fps ∼100%
Average of class Smartphone (23.8 - 61.6, n=121)
42.6 fps ∼71%

Legend

 
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998), Qualcomm Adreno 540, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Xiaomi Mi Mix Qualcomm Snapdragon 821 MSM8996 Pro, Qualcomm Adreno 530, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
 
Samsung Galaxy S8 Samsung Exynos 8895 Octa, ARM Mali-G71 MP20, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
OnePlus 5T Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998), Qualcomm Adreno 540, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Apple iPhone X Apple A11 Bionic, Apple A11 Bionic GPU, 64 GB eMMC Flash

We had some difficulties evaluating the browser performance: Apart from Kraken and WebXPRT, none of the benchmarks were completed successfully. The Xiaomi phone achieved expected results in the Mozilla benchmark, but the WebXPRT showed surprisingly low values. We tried running Octane twice with significant differences in the results (between 10000 and 8000) and a note saying that not all tests could be carried out properly. JetStream gave us no results at all with the same explanation. The reason for these failed tests could be the Chrome browser, which is not quite up-to-date anymore at version 53. Subjectively, we noticed no difficulties and all tested sites loaded quickly and were displayed correctly.

JetStream benchmark could not be completed
JetStream benchmark could not be completed
Octane 1st try
Octane 1st try
Octane 2nd try
Octane 2nd try
JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
Apple iPhone X (IOS 11.1.1)
224 Points ∼100%
OnePlus 5T (Chrome 63)
66.477 Points ∼30%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (52.9 - 80.4, n=19)
66.1 Points ∼30%
Samsung Galaxy S8 (Samsung Browser 5.2)
65.846 Points ∼29%
Xiaomi Mi Mix (Chrome 55)
58.4 Points ∼26%
Average of class Smartphone (10.8 - 273, n=455)
37.3 Points ∼17%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Apple iPhone X (IOS 11.1.2)
35255 Points ∼100% +248%
Samsung Galaxy S8 (Samsung Browser 5.2)
12941 Points ∼37% +28%
OnePlus 5T (Chrome 63)
12509 Points ∼35% +24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (3086 - 14300, n=20)
11209 Points ∼32% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 (Chrome 53)
10122 Points ∼29%
Xiaomi Mi Mix (Chrome 55)
9608 Points ∼27% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (1506 - 43280, n=591)
5743 Points ∼16% -43%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=611)
11260 ms * ∼100% -315%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (2425 - 4813, n=19)
3219 ms * ∼29% -19%
OnePlus 5T (Chrome 63)
3096 ms * ∼27% -14%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 (Chrome 53)
2712.9 ms * ∼24%
Xiaomi Mi Mix (Chrome 55)
2403.9 ms * ∼21% +11%
Samsung Galaxy S8 (Samsung Browser 5.2)
1886.6 ms * ∼17% +30%
Apple iPhone X (IOS 11.1.2)
718 ms * ∼6% +74%
WebXPRT 2015 - Overall Score
Apple iPhone X (Safari Mobile 11.0)
354 Points ∼100% +521%
Samsung Galaxy S8 (Samsung Browser 5.2)
194 Points ∼55% +240%
OnePlus 5T (Chrome 63)
181 Points ∼51% +218%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998) (57 - 204, n=17)
164 Points ∼46% +188%
Average of class Smartphone (77 - 362, n=300)
115 Points ∼32% +102%
Xiaomi Mi Mix (Chrome 55)
107 Points ∼30% +88%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 (Chrome 53)
57 Points ∼16%

* ... smaller is better

The Mi Mix 2 also managed great storage speeds and has improved by 23% compared to its predecessor.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2Xiaomi Mi MixSamsung Galaxy S8OnePlus 5TApple iPhone XAverage 64 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-23%
-3%
4%
-26%
-47%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
53.5 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M401)
54.8 (59.5 - 74.7, n=84)
46.9 (59.5 - 87.1, n=351)
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
63.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M401)
73 (83.2 - 87.2, n=84)
65.2 (76.6 - 96.5, n=351)
Random Write 4KB
15.75
15.15
-4%
15.25
-3%
20
27%
22.4 (3.4 - 88.2, n=92)
42%
17.6 (0.14 - 250, n=639)
12%
Random Read 4KB
148.54
116.6
-22%
127.17
-14%
138.1
-7%
51.7 (11.4 - 149, n=92)
-65%
40.4 (1.59 - 173, n=639)
-73%
Sequential Write 256KB
208.62
161.25
-23%
193.23
-7%
203.4
-3%
170 (40 - 246, n=92)
-19%
84.4 (2.99 - 253, n=639)
-60%
Sequential Read 256KB
703.99
409.86
-42%
792.86
13%
698.7
-1%
271 (115 - 704, n=92)
-62%
238 (12.1 - 912, n=639)
-66%

Games - the Xiaomi is not a cheap phone and offers decent performance

Thanks to the fast Adreno 540 GPU, the Mi Mix 2 can even display graphically demanding games smoothly. You will have no issues playing "Beach Buggy Racing" at the highest quality settings on this device. The response of the gyroscope is easy to test in racing games. Again, the smartphone reacts precisely and without noticeable lags. 

Beach Buggy Racing
Beach Buggy Racing
War Robots
War Robots

Emissions

Temperature - not suitable as a hand warmer

heat development - back
heat development - back
heat development - front
heat development - front

While idling, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 hardly heats up at the back, with average temperatures of about 30 °C (~86 °F). Only the front heats up a bit more to 33 °C (~91 °F) in the bottom area. Under constant load, our measurements reach a maximum of 37 °C (~99 °F). The device becomes lukewarm at most in some areas, but mostly remains below body temperature. If you are looking for a phone to warm your hands on cold days, this is not the one.

Max. Load
 34 °C
93 F
32.3 °C
90 F
32.2 °C
90 F
 
 33.7 °C
93 F
32.3 °C
90 F
33 °C
91 F
 
 33.4 °C
92 F
32.2 °C
90 F
32.7 °C
91 F
 
Maximum: 34 °C = 93 F
Average: 32.9 °C = 91 F
31.6 °C
89 F
34.4 °C
94 F
37.1 °C
99 F
32.9 °C
91 F
34.7 °C
94 F
36.2 °C
97 F
32.9 °C
91 F
34.3 °C
94 F
34.5 °C
94 F
Maximum: 37.1 °C = 99 F
Average: 34.3 °C = 94 F
Power Supply (max.)  28.8 °C = 84 F | Room Temperature 21.2 °C = 70 F | Voltcraft IR-350
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 32.9 °C / 91 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 34 °C / 93 F, compared to the average of 35.6 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 37.1 °C / 99 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 30.4 °C / 87 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.

Speakers - good average

Pink Noise
Pink Noise

At 86.6 dB(A), the single speaker, positioned on the side of the Xiaomi Mi Mix, reaches sufficient volume. The sound quality is decent for a smartphone, although the test unit cannot reach top positions in our comparison. As usual, bass frequencies are not very present, but depending on what is being played, the sound can even appear spatial and is free of strong distortions. If you connect headphones via the USB-C-to-3.5-mm connector, you will be rewarded with seemingly impeccable sound quality: No noise or other bothersome sounds can be heard.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2027.727.427.72527.726.427.73125.430.125.44030.529.930.55030.924.330.96323.825.723.8802223.42210022.923.522.912527.727.427.716027.221.327.22004020.44025048.42248.431554.220.554.240056.620.256.65006220.76263065.616.765.680066.817.966.810007018.470125072.117.572.1160073.717.173.7200074.91574.9250077.115.377.1315078.114.578.1400079.514.179.5500075.513.975.5630070.713.870.7800068.613.968.61000066.213.966.21250061.613.861.61600046.713.746.7SPL86.628.686.6N61.71.161.7median 66.2median 17.1median 66.2Delta12.13.312.139.638.233.633.131.232.130.832.130.734.3343530.939.428.736.426.247.92651.925.354.82557.223.359.622.362.521.164.820.167.719.568.120.166.219.669.318.8731874.817.877.317.67617.675.517.773.517.873.81871.417.765.417.853.517.848.531.285.31.661.7median 19.5median 66.23.29.2hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseXiaomi Mi Mix 2Apple iPhone X
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.6 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 29.5% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (11.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.1% higher than median
(+) | mids are linear (5.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 7.4% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (5.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (26% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 59% of all tested devices in this class were better, 10% similar, 31% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 75% of all tested devices were better, 5% similar, 20% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Apple iPhone X audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (85.3 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(±) | reduced bass - on average 14.9% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (9.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.4% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 7.3% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (4.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (18.4% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 6% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 90% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 32% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 61% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Frequency diagram in comparison (check boxes can be turned on/off!)

Battery Runtimes - on the same level as the competition

Power Consumption

The predecessor was not efficient, but the Mi Mix 2 now offers significant improvements: According to our calculations, power consumption has improved by 53% on average. The results are particularly good under load, where the rates have dropped considerably from 9.21 to 3.18, and are now on the same level as the comparison devices.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.1 / 0.24 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.69 / 2.03 / 2.1 Watt
Load midlight 3.18 / 8.73 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3771 mAh
Xiaomi Mi Mix
4400 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S8
3000 mAh
OnePlus 5T
3300 mAh
Apple iPhone X
2716 mAh
Power Consumption
-53%
18%
15%
-12%
Idle Minimum *
0.69
0.87
-26%
0.78
-13%
0.58
16%
1.03
-49%
Idle Average *
2.03
2.16
-6%
1.1
46%
1.44
29%
2.4
-18%
Idle Maximum *
2.1
2.28
-9%
1.16
45%
1.53
27%
2.6
-24%
Load Average *
3.18
9.21
-190%
4.15
-31%
3.17
-0%
2.96
7%
Load Maximum *
8.73
11.76
-35%
5.12
41%
8.54
2%
6.6
24%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Runtime

The good consumption rates are reflected in the battery runtimes, which are a little below those of last year's model. However, the predecessor's battery was 30% larger. The iPhone X has the shortest runtimes of all competitors, but then it is also equipped with the smallest battery at 2716 mAh. The most energy-efficient device is probably the Samsung Galaxy S8, which wins almost all ratings while having the second-smallest battery. 

We cannot complain about the charging time - a full recharge takes little over an hour with the included power supply.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
10h 00min
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3771 mAh
Xiaomi Mi Mix
4400 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S8
3000 mAh
OnePlus 5T
3300 mAh
Apple iPhone X
2716 mAh
Battery Runtime
7%
20%
20%
-6%
Reader / Idle
1797
1667
1754
1292
WiFi v1.3
600
644
7%
719
20%
718
20%
564
-6%
Load
292
264
257
180
H.264
964
771
799
634

Pros

+ brilliant screen
+ stable, high-quality case
+ Dual-SIM
+ USB-C
+ MIUI 9.1 interface with many configuration options
+ fast fingerprint reader
+ rapid speed
+ attractive design
+ case included in scope of delivery
+ good battery runtimes
+ CE label
+ Google services preinstalled
+ low heat development
+ fast Wi-Fi
+ lavish selection of sensors
+ speedy storage device

Cons

- case prone to fingerprints
- camera without image stabilizer
- speakers could be better
- battery not exchangeable
- no microSD cards
- connector only offers USB 2.0 speeds

Verdict - an alternative to established brands

Review: Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, test unit provided by notebooksbilliger.de
Review: Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, test unit provided by notebooksbilliger.de

Our verdict of the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 is easy to make: It offers high quality, an attractive design and a robust case. The display leaves nothing to be desired and handling is easy and enjoyable. The camera is not the best, but can still be placed towards the top of the scale.

In short: The Mi Mix 2 does not have any big deficiencies. In addition, the smartphone can now be purchased through retailers, which takes away some of the uncertainty around buying an imported phone.

After our short test, we can answer the question "Should I buy the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2?" with a resounding "Yes". But our verdict does not end here. The difficult question is: Why should you buy the Xiaomi and not a Samsung Galaxy S8, a OnePlus 5T, or even an iPhone X?

A Chinese smartphone with an excellent design and great interface that has no weaknesses. The device is comparable with established brands such as Samsung - but so is its price.

While the iPhone comparison can be settled quite quickly by looking at its price (double) and your OS preferences, the other candidates are not so easily  put to the side. Not only do they offer the same operating system, but there is also hardly any difference in price. A Galaxy S8 can be purchased for $600 on Amazon; the OnePlus 5T is available for $560. The Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 costs $500, which, granted, is $100 cheaper, but still within striking distance. China does not just produce cheap mobile phones anymore.

The decision will have to be made based on the small details. The Galaxy S8, for example, is water-resistant, while the OnePlus 5T and the Mi Mix 2 both offer dual-SIM slots.

In the end, it is a matter of taste. But whatever you decide, you will receive a good, up-to-date smartphone.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 - 03/23/2018 v6
Florian Schaar

Chassis
89%
Keyboard
69 / 75 → 92%
Pointing Device
96%
Connectivity
47 / 60 → 78%
Weight
89%
Battery
93%
Display
88%
Games Performance
64 / 63 → 100%
Application Performance
67 / 70 → 96%
Temperature
92%
Noise
100%
Audio
76 / 91 → 83%
Camera
79%
Average
81%
89%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 1 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 Smartphone Review
Florian Schaar, 2018-03-27 (Update: 2018-03-28)