Notebookcheck

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S Smartphone Review

Manuel Masiero, 👁 Daniel Schmidt, Sven Kloevekorn (translated by Mark Riege), 05/28/2018

First League. A Snapdragon 845 SoC, up to 8 GB of RAM, a dual camera system, and a 6-inch display - with its first-rate equipment, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S enters the direct competition against the top dogs such as the Apple iPhone X. Our test shows whether the current Xiaomi flagship can really stir up the smartphone high-end.

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team!

Currently wanted: 
German-English-Translator - Details here

With the Mi Mix 2S, the Chinese manufacturer Xiaomi sends its new 5.99-inch high-end smartphone into the race. It aims to convince with very good equipment and an elegant, almost bezel-less design. The performance is ensured by Qualcomm's top SoC, the Snapdragon 845, and the Adreno 630 graphics unit. Both of them are hardware components that can also be found in the extremely fast Sony Xperia XZ2 high-end smartphone. With this, the Xiaomi also plays in the same league in terms of performance as the Apple iPhone X, the Huawei P20 Pro, and the Samsung Galaxy S9+, which we therefore included as comparison devices in our test.

We also evaluate how the Mi Mix 2S fares compared to its sibling model, the Mi Mix 2 (without the "S"). The main difference lies in the camera module. Instead of a single 12-MP sensor, the test candidate uses a 12-MP dual camera setup, which makes it the first Xiaomi smartphone to have this feature. Another argument for the Mi Mix 2S is its relatively low price. While it is not unusual that you have to pay 800 Euros (~$938) or more for many high-end models, the Xiaomi (which was officially priced at 799 Euros) is already available in online shops for less than 600 Euros (~$704; starting from $630 in the US).

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S (Mi Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
6144 MB 
, LPDDR4
Display
5.99 inch 18:9, 2160 x 1080 pixel 403 PPI, IPS, 81.9% screen-to-body ratio, Corning Gorilla Glass 4, glossy: yes
Storage
128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash, 128 GB 
, 116.6 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 audio via USB-C adapter, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: acceleration sensor, gyroscope, proximity sensor, compass, fingerprint sensor, USB OTG, WiFi Direct, Qualcomm Quick Charge 3, Qi Wireless Charging
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 5.0, GSM (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz), UMTS (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz), LTE Cat. 18 (Band 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 17, 20), downloads up to 1.2 GBit/s, 2x Nano-SIM, head SAR 0.542 W/kg, body SAR 1.593 W/kg, Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.1 x 150.9 x 74.9 ( = 0.32 x 5.94 x 2.95 in)
Battery
3400 mAh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Android 8.0 Oreo
Camera
Primary Camera: 12 MPix dual camera 12 MP (f/1.8, 1/2.55", 1.4 µm) + 12 MP (f/2.4, 1/2.9", 1.0 µm), 4-axis stabilization, dual-pixel auto-focus, multiframe noise reduction, slow motion 240 FPS
Secondary Camera: 5 MPix f/2.0; 1.4 µm
Additional features
Speakers: single speaker at the bottom, Keyboard: virtual, modular charger, USB cable (Type A to Type C), 3.5-mm audio via USB-C adapter, SIM tool, protective cover, quick-start manual, MIUI 9.5, 24 Months Warranty, fanless
Weight
189 g ( = 6.67 oz / 0.42 pounds), Power Supply: 45 g ( = 1.59 oz / 0.1 pounds)
Price
799 EUR
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case - High-quality, robust, and with bezel-less design

The Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S weighs 189 grams (~6.7 oz) and measures 150.9 x 74.9 x 8.1 millimeters (5.94 x 2.95 x 0.32 in). It shares its elegant case design with its Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 sibling model, which it therefore resembles. The only visible differences are on the fancy back cover made from shiny ceramics: While the fingerprint sensor is also placed in the center in the Mi Mix 2S, the more powerful dual camera system has been moved to the left top corner. If you don't put the included protective cover around the phone, due to the camera lens slightly protruding from its case, it lies slightly uneven on the table. 

The 5.99-inch IPS display, which is protected by Gorilla Glass 4, has a very narrow bezel measuring only a few millimeters around three sides and merging transitionless into the aluminum frame, making the whole smartphone look like it was made from one cast and very high-quality. Correspondingly, the Mi Mix 2S practically cannot be twisted even with more use of force and leaves a very robust impression. However, due to the lack of an IP certification, it hardly offers any resistance against the elements.

Size Comparison

Equipment - USB-C, dual-SIM, but no microSD slot

Xiaomi uses the Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 high-end SoC with the Qualcomm Adreno 630 as the GPU in the Mi Mix 2S. Depending on the version, this is combined with 6 or 8 GB of RAM and 64, 128, or 256 GB of storage. There is no microSD slot, so buyers should figure out in advance which storage configuration will best fulfill their needs. On the other hand, the preinstalled ROM in our test unit used up relatively little space: Of nominally 128 GB, almost 117 GB was still available.

The Mi Mix 2S also lacks a 3.5-mm audio port. However, you can connect the corresponding headphones or speakers using the included USB-C adapter. The USB-C port only supports USB-2.0 speed, but it supports USB-OTG, allowing you to run peripheral devices with the Xiaomi. The fingerprint sensor on the back unlocks the smartphone reliably. You can insert two nano-SIM cards into a tray on the left side of the smartphone.

Left: dual nano-SIM slot
Left: dual nano-SIM slot
Right: power button, volume rocker
Right: power button, volume rocker
Top: microphone
Top: microphone
Bottom: microphone, USB-C port, speaker
Bottom: microphone, USB-C port, speaker

Independent journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible but we intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers and support us!

Software - Android 8.0 and MIUI 9.5 on the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S

With Android 8.0, Xiaomi has installed a very current version of the Google operating system on the Mi Mix 2S. But with its in-house MIUI user interface in the version 9.5, it is very different from a stock Android. For example, there is no app drawer, so that all the installed apps land directly on the Home screen. However, after a little time getting used to it, you can navigate MIUI just as smoothly, if not even more intuitively, than standard Android. Various practical features such as the gesture navigation we already know from the Apple iPhone X or the OnePlus 5T contribute to this. There are also some helper functions such as "Dual Apps," which allows you to install an app twice, and then use the two apps separately from each other. The Android security patches are on the level of April 1, 2018, and thus they are very current.

At the time of this test, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S was not available with a UI version that was customized for the German market. For this reason, we could not change the language to German, nor was the Google Play Store preinstalled. However, the navigation did not pose any problems, since almost the whole user interface is in (flawless) English and you can also install the Play Store later without any trouble. We only had to get used to the settings for the preinstalled Chinese apps in Chinese. But you can remove them almost completely from the smartphone. In our test, we only failed doing this with one app. Its icon shows a smiley face, but we have no idea what it is supposed to do, since we don't know the language.

Communication and GPS - fast WLAN, precise GPS

Like the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S is also well-equipped for communication: In addition to Bluetooth 5.0 and NFC, it also supports the LTE band 20 which is important in Germany, as well as the LTE bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, and 17. Due to LTE Cat. 18, the smartphone can download at speeds up to 1.2 Gbit/s.

Things also move fast in the WLAN. Supporting 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac and MIMO-2x2 technology, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S delivers a performance worthy of the high-end, when communicating with our Linksys EA8500 reference router. With 668 Mbit/s while sending data, the Chinese smartphone moves to the top of the test field, and with 654 Mbit/s when receiving, it also belongs to the fastest devices. However, all of the devices have to line up behind the Apple iPhone X here. The Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S only wins its duel with the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 due to its slightly higher send performance.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Apple iPhone X
A11 Bionic GPU, A11 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
939 MBit/s ∼100% +44%
Sony Xperia XZ2
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
669 MBit/s ∼71% +2%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
Adreno 540, 835, 64 GB eMMC Flash
656 MBit/s ∼70% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
654 MBit/s ∼70%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
Mali-G72 MP18, 9810, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
652 MBit/s ∼69% 0%
Huawei P20 Pro
Mali-G72 MP12, Kirin 970, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
635 MBit/s ∼68% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=339)
214 MBit/s ∼23% -67%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
668 MBit/s ∼100%
Sony Xperia XZ2
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
633 MBit/s ∼95% -5%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
Adreno 540, 835, 64 GB eMMC Flash
585 MBit/s ∼88% -12%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
Mali-G72 MP18, 9810, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
519 MBit/s ∼78% -22%
Apple iPhone X
A11 Bionic GPU, A11 Bionic, 64 GB eMMC Flash
456 MBit/s ∼68% -32%
Huawei P20 Pro
Mali-G72 MP12, Kirin 970, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
437 MBit/s ∼65% -35%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=339)
208 MBit/s ∼31% -69%
GPS reception outdoors
GPS reception outdoors
GPS reception indoors
GPS reception indoors

While we had to attest a few small navigation weaknesses to the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S did very well on our bike test route. In the comparison with the Garmin Edge 500 professional navigation device, the smartphone even managed to locate us even more accurately in some sections (as you can see for example in screenshot 3, which shows the point where the route turns around).

The devices were only 20 meters apart overall, while we cannot say for sure which of the two devices gave the more accurate result. However this is still not a draw, and the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S wins the comparison, since it is able to determine the current position just as accurately as a professional navigation device that should really have been even more accurate. This also fits with the values we determined indoors and outdoors, where the Xiaomi offered an accuracy of up to three meters.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S: overall route
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S: overall route
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S: lake
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S: lake
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S: turning point
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S: turning point
Garmin Edge 500: overall route
Garmin Edge 500: overall route
Garmin Edge 500: lake
Garmin Edge 500: lake
Garmin Edge 500: turning point
Garmin Edge 500: turning point

Telephone Functions and Voice Quality

In our test, both sides of the phone calls with the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S were clearly understandable, free of noise, and without any drops. It was able to filter out almost all the background noises and also produced a decent voice quality in speaker mode. Those who know the standard Telephone app from Android will also immediately find their way around the Xiaomi derivative: The start screen shows the number pad while the Contacts are on a second tab.

Cameras - A dual camera system with almost perfect image quality in good light conditions

Photo taken by main camera
Photo taken by main camera

As its main camera, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S uses a dual camera setup with a 12-MP resolution. Its main sensor is the Sony IMX363 with 12 MP (the Mi Mix 2 uses the Sony IMX386), which is equipped with a wide-angle lens, an aperture of f/1.8, and an optical image stabilizer. This is combined with another sensor that also has a 12 MP resolution and enables taking pictures with a telephoto lens and an aperture of f/2.4.

The Xiaomi smartphone can record videos at a maximum resolution of 4K (3840x2178 pixels) at 30 images per second. There is no 60-FPS video mode, but there is a slow-motion function at 1080p and 240 images per second. The webcam has a 5-MP resolution and is located at the bottom right corner, like in the Mi Mix 2. To take selfies, it is therefore best to turn the camera by 180 degrees. 

Webcam photo
Webcam photo

Its dual cameras make the Mi Mix 2S into one of the currently best camera smartphones. During daylight (scenes 1 and 2 in the image comparison), the 12-MP camera succeeds in taking excellent pictures that convince with natural colors and a high sharpness in the details. On the other hand, the video quality cannot quite keep up with the very good photos – it is "only" a good average. There really is only one flaw: As scene 3 in the image comparison shows, the Sony sensor hits its limits quite quickly in weak surrounding light conditions. Then some details on the images appear blurry, and some graininess sneaks into the pictures.

The camera app scores with numerous settings and filters, such as a Beauty mode, group selfies, tilt-shift recordings, and a manual mode in which you can adjust all the important recording parameters yourself.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images

Under controlled light conditions in our test lab, the image of the test chart shows some slight blurriness. Overall, the light conditions here are comparable with the recordings taken in weak surrounding light: while the image continues to be good overall, we can see some small imperfections in the detail view. The Mi Mix 2S records the colors on the ColorChecker test chart slightly too bright in general.

Photo of ColorChecker: The target color is displayed in the bottom half of each field.
Photo of ColorChecker: The target color is displayed in the bottom half of each field.
Test chart detail
Test chart detail
Photo of test chart
Photo of test chart

Accessories and Warranty

Xiaomi includes a modular charger (5V/3A, 5V/2A, 12V/1.5A), a USB cable (Type-C to Type-A), a USB-to-3.5-mm-audio adapter, a SIM tool, a protective cover, and a quick-start guide with the Mi Mix 2S. The lender of our test unit, TradingShenzen, also added an EU adapter and a USB OTG adapter.

The official Xiaomi shop offers the Mi Mix 2S with a two-year warranty. However, at the time of our testing, the device was listed as not available yet. Alternatively, you can purchase it from importers such as TradingShenzen, receiving a one-year warranty on the smartphone in this case.

Input Devices and Operation - Responsive display and reliable fingerprint reader

The touchscreen of the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S, which measures almost 6-inches, reacts to inputs very accurately, no matter whether they happen in the center of the screen or the outermost edges. Supported by the fast Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 SoC, the smartphone implements all the commands immediately and there were no delays or other blunders at all. The fingerprint reader in the back also reacts fast to the touch and unlocks the Mi Mix 2S reliably. The physical keys, the power button and the volume rocker, also contribute to the high-quality overall impression. Both offer a precise pressure point and are set into the case without any sideways play worth mention. 

Our test unit of the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S, which has not been localized, uses a Chinese keyboard, which can be switched to an English-language layout though. For better operations, you can install an alternative keyboard such as the Google Gboard and activate it in the system settings at any time. 

Keyboard in landscape format
Keyboard in landscape format
Keyboard in portrait format
Keyboard in portrait format

Display - Bright and sharp but slightly poor in contrast

Subpixel grid
Subpixel grid

The Mi Mix 2S has a 5.99-inch IPS display with a resolution of 2160x1080 pixels. This results in an 18:9 format, a screen-to-body ratio of 81.9%, and a pixel density of 403 PPI. The display, which is protected by Gorilla Glass 4, has an average brightness of 462.7 cd/m² and a maximum of 492 cd/m². While this corresponds to a good brightness, the display is not very evenly lit. However, during operation you do not notice these minimal variations in the brightness, and neither can you see individual pixels on the display.

On the other hand, the black value of 0.59 cd/m² is not quite worthy of the high-end. In a realistic, more evenly distributed brightness of the display (APL50), this even rises to 0.74 cd/m². This results in a contrast ratio of 834:1 in the best case, which is not bad for an IPS display, but it is too little in the direct comparison. The Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 sibling model does significantly better with a contrast ratio of 1748:1 and most of the high-end competitors already use AMOLED displays, which theoretically achieve an indefinite contrast ratio. However, looking at it subjectively, we found nothing to complain about the display quality of the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S; the contents are displayed with bright colors and appear anything but bland.

Some PWM flickering occurs in the IPS display, but only if the brightness is reduced to 36% or lower. At 1168 Hz, the PWM frequency is very high, so that even a sensitive person should not feel any impact from this.

463
cd/m²
481
cd/m²
463
cd/m²
447
cd/m²
492
cd/m²
461
cd/m²
447
cd/m²
466
cd/m²
444
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 492 cd/m² Average: 462.7 cd/m² Minimum: 1.35 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 90 %
Center on Battery: 492 cd/m²
Contrast: 834:1 (Black: 0.59 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 2.4 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.2
ΔE Greyscale 4.5 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
Gamma: 2.25
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
IPS, 2160x1080, 5.99
Apple iPhone X
Super AMOLED, 2436x1125, 5.8
Huawei P20 Pro
OLED, 2240x1080, 6.1
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
Super AMOLED, 2960x1440, 6.2
Sony Xperia XZ2
IPS, 2160x1080, 5.7
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
IPS, 2160x1080, 6
Screen
37%
37%
22%
36%
15%
Brightness middle
492
600
22%
569
16%
565
15%
630
28%
472
-4%
Brightness
463
606
31%
578
25%
571
23%
632
37%
430
-7%
Brightness Distribution
90
94
4%
95
6%
96
7%
96
7%
87
-3%
Black Level *
0.59
0.44
25%
0.27
54%
Contrast
834
1432
72%
1748
110%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
2.4
1.2
50%
1.3
46%
2.3
4%
1.5
37%
3.5
-46%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
6.2
3
52%
2.1
66%
4.8
23%
4.3
31%
5.9
5%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
4.5
1.6
64%
1.6
64%
1.9
58%
2.1
53%
4
11%
Gamma
2.25 98%
2.23 99%
2.31 95%
2.16 102%
2.17 101%
2.29 96%
CCT
6395 102%
6707 97%
6401 102%
6332 103%
6513 100%
7048 92%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 1168 Hz ≤ 36 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 1168 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 36 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 1168 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9254 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
25.4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 7.6 ms rise
↘ 16.8 ms fall
The screen shows relatively slow response rates in our tests and may be too slow for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 43 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (25.6 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
56 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 27.6 ms rise
↘ 28.4 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 91 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (40.9 ms).

You can activate various settings for the color reproduction in the display options, which we evaluate with the CalMAN software and the spectral photometer. For the colors, you can select from the "Default," "Warm," and "Cool" modes and for the contrast from "Automatic Contrast," "Increased Contrast," and "Standard." You get the best color reproduction with the combination "Default" and "Standard." According to CalMAN, the color deviations are lowest then, and at a Delta-E value of 2.4, they are even within the ideal range (Delta-E < 3).

Color Accuracy (Colors Default, Automatic Contrast, Target Color Space P3)
Color Accuracy (Colors Default, Automatic Contrast, Target Color Space P3)
Color Accuracy (Colors Default, Standard, Target Color Space P3)
Color Accuracy (Colors Default, Standard, Target Color Space P3)
Color Space (Colors Default, Automatic Contrast, Target Color Space P3)
Color Space (Colors Default, Automatic Contrast, Target Color Space P3)
Color Space (Colors Default, Standard, Target Color Space sRGB)
Color Space (Colors Default, Standard, Target Color Space sRGB)
Grayscales (Colors Default, Automatic Contrast, Target Color Space P3)
Grayscales (Colors Default, Automatic Contrast, Target Color Space P3)
Grayscales (Colors Default, Standard, Target Color Space sRGB)
Grayscales (Colors Default, Standard, Target Color Space sRGB)
Saturation (Colors Default, Automatic Contrast, Target Color Space P3)
Saturation (Colors Default, Automatic Contrast, Target Color Space P3)
Saturation (Colors Default, Standard, Target Color Space sRGB)
Saturation (Colors Default, Standard, Target Color Space sRGB)

Due to its high brightness reserves, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S even fares well outdoors and is able to flexibly adjust to varying light conditions using its quick-reacting brightness sensor. As is typical for an IPS display, the viewing-angle stability is good from all viewing angles, and there are no changes in the colors or brightness worth mention, even when looking from very steep viewing angles.

Outdoor use
Outdoor use
Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance - The Xiaomi handset goes head to head with the fastest smartphones

With the Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S uses a current high-end SoC, combining it with the Qualcomm Adreno 630 GPU that plays in the same performance league. Supported by at least 6 GB of RAM (alternatively, the smartphone is also available with 8 GB), the Xiaomi smartphone develops a considerable amount of power, leaving the slightly weaker equipped, but by no means slow, Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 clearly behind. Overall, it is head to head with the rest of the comparison devices and even beats the Apple iPhone X in some of the synthetic benchmarks.

Similar to a car that cannot quite bring its full performance onto the road when its wheels are spinning, the performance of the Xiaomi smartphone is not always fully used, due to the throttling that starts early on (see the corresponding test section). A good example for this is the computing-intensive 3DMark tests which run for quite a long time. Because the Xiaomi smartphone repeatedly ran into the throttling limitation there, it almost always achieved slightly lower results than the Sony Xperia XZ2 that is equipped with the same SoC. But this is of course nitpicking at a high level: The slight difference in the benchmark results will definitely have no noticeable effect in everyday usage, and despite some throttling interventions, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S is and will always be an extremely fast smartphone.

AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
162183 Points ∼72%
Apple iPhone X
197851 Points ∼88% +22%
Huawei P20 Pro
179709 Points ∼80% +11%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
222290 Points ∼99% +37%
Sony Xperia XZ2
225663 Points ∼100% +39%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (162183 - 242953, n=21)
224738 Points ∼100% +39%
Average of class Smartphone (23275 - 254229, n=419)
78635 Points ∼35% -52%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
266601 Points ∼96%
Apple iPhone X
256297 Points ∼93% -4%
Huawei P20 Pro
207959 Points ∼75% -22%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
250577 Points ∼90% -6%
Sony Xperia XZ2
266981 Points ∼96% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
204457 Points ∼74% -23%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (246366 - 299878, n=25)
276911 Points ∼100% +4%
Average of class Smartphone (54871 - 348178, n=200)
120266 Points ∼43% -55%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
8078 Points ∼100%
Huawei P20 Pro
6982 Points ∼86% -14%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
5319 Points ∼66% -34%
Sony Xperia XZ2
8069 Points ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
7046 Points ∼87% -13%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (8099 - 9868, n=25)
8053 Points ∼100% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2828 - 9868, n=285)
4681 Points ∼58% -42%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
9179 Points ∼90%
Huawei P20 Pro
8115 Points ∼80% -12%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
5822 Points ∼57% -37%
Sony Xperia XZ2
9319 Points ∼92% +2%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
8169 Points ∼80% -11%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (7998 - 13211, n=23)
10157 Points ∼100% +11%
Average of class Smartphone (3977 - 13531, n=453)
5108 Points ∼50% -44%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
1234 Points ∼73%
Apple iPhone X
1682 Points ∼100% +36%
Huawei P20 Pro
1273 Points ∼76% +3%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
1109 Points ∼66% -10%
Sony Xperia XZ2
1346 Points ∼80% +9%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
1264 Points ∼75% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (1009 - 1613, n=23)
1345 Points ∼80% +9%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1731, n=528)
706 Points ∼42% -43%
Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
7918 Points ∼86%
Apple iPhone X
9248 Points ∼100% +17%
Huawei P20 Pro
3725 Points ∼40% -53%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
6370 Points ∼69% -20%
Sony Xperia XZ2
7868 Points ∼85% -1%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
5936 Points ∼64% -25%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (5846 - 8001, n=23)
7779 Points ∼84% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 15969, n=528)
1766 Points ∼19% -78%
Memory (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
3012 Points ∼74%
Apple iPhone X
1219 Points ∼30% -60%
Huawei P20 Pro
4050 Points ∼100% +34%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
2625 Points ∼65% -13%
Sony Xperia XZ2
2193 Points ∼54% -27%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3544 Points ∼88% +18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (2193 - 5296, n=23)
3617 Points ∼89% +20%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 6283, n=528)
1299 Points ∼32% -57%
System (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
5792 Points ∼56%
Apple iPhone X
10281 Points ∼100% +78%
Huawei P20 Pro
5965 Points ∼58% +3%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
6413 Points ∼62% +11%
Sony Xperia XZ2
8402 Points ∼82% +45%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
5822 Points ∼57% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (4417 - 8613, n=23)
7661 Points ∼75% +32%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 12202, n=528)
2606 Points ∼25% -55%
Overall (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
3614 Points ∼88%
Apple iPhone X
3737 Points ∼91% +3%
Huawei P20 Pro
3271 Points ∼80% -9%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3302 Points ∼81% -9%
Sony Xperia XZ2
3738 Points ∼91% +3%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3527 Points ∼86% -2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (3291 - 4693, n=23)
4101 Points ∼100% +13%
Average of class Smartphone (150 - 6097, n=532)
1291 Points ∼31% -64%
Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Huawei P20 Pro
8025 Points ∼56%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
6202 Points ∼43%
Sony Xperia XZ2
14362 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
7750 Points ∼54%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (10876 - 14489, n=22)
13607 Points ∼95%
Average of class Smartphone (1131 - 21070, n=224)
4536 Points ∼32%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
8937 Points ∼87%
Apple iPhone X
10255 Points ∼100% +15%
Huawei P20 Pro
6756 Points ∼66% -24%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
8963 Points ∼87% 0%
Sony Xperia XZ2
8510 Points ∼83% -5%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
6649 Points ∼65% -26%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (7754 - 9231, n=24)
8681 Points ∼85% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (1635 - 11598, n=275)
4366 Points ∼43% -51%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
2456 Points ∼58%
Apple iPhone X
4265 Points ∼100% +74%
Huawei P20 Pro
1922 Points ∼45% -22%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3776 Points ∼89% +54%
Sony Xperia XZ2
2464 Points ∼58% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
1943 Points ∼46% -21%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (2272 - 2500, n=24)
2416 Points ∼57% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (590 - 4824, n=276)
1267 Points ∼30% -48%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
2606 Points ∼72%
Apple iPhone X
2361 Points ∼65% -9%
Huawei P20 Pro
2926 Points ∼81% +12%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
2469 Points ∼68% -5%
Sony Xperia XZ2
3630 Points ∼100% +39%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
2956 Points ∼81% +13%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (2118 - 3703, n=24)
3271 Points ∼90% +26%
Average of class Smartphone (503 - 4216, n=379)
1682 Points ∼46% -35%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
5181 Points ∼100%
Apple iPhone X
3463 Points ∼67% -33%
Huawei P20 Pro
3017 Points ∼58% -42%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3582 Points ∼69% -31%
Sony Xperia XZ2
5122 Points ∼99% -1%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
4034 Points ∼78% -22%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (3488 - 5246, n=24)
4939 Points ∼95% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (82 - 5246, n=380)
1199 Points ∼23% -77%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
4248 Points ∼91%
Apple iPhone X
3138 Points ∼67% -26%
Huawei P20 Pro
2996 Points ∼64% -29%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3256 Points ∼69% -23%
Sony Xperia XZ2
4693 Points ∼100% +10%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3732 Points ∼80% -12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (3197 - 4734, n=24)
4423 Points ∼94% +4%
Average of class Smartphone (103 - 4734, n=388)
1151 Points ∼25% -73%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
2159 Points ∼59%
Huawei P20 Pro
2885 Points ∼79% +34%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
2496 Points ∼69% +16%
Sony Xperia XZ2
3642 Points ∼100% +69%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
2547 Points ∼70% +18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (2159 - 3668, n=24)
3147 Points ∼86% +46%
Average of class Smartphone (512 - 4215, n=413)
1580 Points ∼43% -27%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
6630 Points ∼82%
Huawei P20 Pro
3335 Points ∼41% -50%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
4637 Points ∼57% -30%
Sony Xperia XZ2
8122 Points ∼100% +23%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
5599 Points ∼69% -16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (5637 - 8312, n=24)
7795 Points ∼96% +18%
Average of class Smartphone (46 - 8312, n=413)
1641 Points ∼20% -75%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
4540 Points ∼71%
Huawei P20 Pro
3223 Points ∼51% -29%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3895 Points ∼61% -14%
Sony Xperia XZ2
6378 Points ∼100% +40%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
4422 Points ∼69% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (4529 - 6454, n=24)
5849 Points ∼92% +29%
Average of class Smartphone (58 - 6454, n=421)
1406 Points ∼22% -69%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
30245 Points ∼84%
Apple iPhone X
25633 Points ∼71% -15%
Huawei P20 Pro
22441 Points ∼63% -26%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
26226 Points ∼73% -13%
Sony Xperia XZ2
35856 Points ∼100% +19%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
21337 Points ∼60% -29%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (15614 - 37475, n=24)
33436 Points ∼93% +11%
Average of class Smartphone (3958 - 37475, n=569)
13098 Points ∼37% -57%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
76078 Points ∼68%
Apple iPhone X
112489 Points ∼100% +48%
Huawei P20 Pro
33472 Points ∼30% -56%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
46610 Points ∼41% -39%
Sony Xperia XZ2
80233 Points ∼71% +5%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
57134 Points ∼51% -25%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (53794 - 84998, n=24)
80344 Points ∼71% +6%
Average of class Smartphone (1152 - 162695, n=569)
18353 Points ∼16% -76%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
56913 Points ∼89%
Apple iPhone X
64169 Points ∼100% +13%
Huawei P20 Pro
30176 Points ∼47% -47%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
39745 Points ∼62% -30%
Sony Xperia XZ2
62926 Points ∼98% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
41618 Points ∼65% -27%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (34855 - 65330, n=24)
61132 Points ∼95% +7%
Average of class Smartphone (2915 - 77599, n=570)
15461 Points ∼24% -73%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
150 fps ∼85%
Apple iPhone X
177.4 fps ∼100% +18%
Huawei P20 Pro
121 fps ∼68% -19%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
147 fps ∼83% -2%
Sony Xperia XZ2
150 fps ∼85% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
102 fps ∼57% -32%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (98 - 152, n=25)
143 fps ∼81% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 251, n=594)
32 fps ∼18% -79%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
60 fps ∼96%
Apple iPhone X
59.4 fps ∼95% -1%
Huawei P20 Pro
60 fps ∼96% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
60 fps ∼96% 0%
Sony Xperia XZ2
60 fps ∼96% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
60 fps ∼96% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (58 - 89, n=24)
62.3 fps ∼100% +4%
Average of class Smartphone (6.9 - 120, n=597)
25.5 fps ∼41% -57%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
74 fps ∼84%
Apple iPhone X
88.2 fps ∼100% +19%
Huawei P20 Pro
61 fps ∼69% -18%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
74 fps ∼84% 0%
Sony Xperia XZ2
82 fps ∼93% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
49 fps ∼56% -34%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (54 - 83, n=24)
73.1 fps ∼83% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (2.2 - 132, n=516)
17.2 fps ∼20% -77%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
59 fps ∼100%
Apple iPhone X
58.5 fps ∼99% -1%
Huawei P20 Pro
54 fps ∼92% -8%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
45 fps ∼76% -24%
Sony Xperia XZ2
59 fps ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
45 fps ∼76% -24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (33 - 75, n=24)
54.4 fps ∼92% -8%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 115, n=519)
16.4 fps ∼28% -72%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
60 fps ∼100%
Apple iPhone X
48.9 fps ∼82% -18%
Huawei P20 Pro
39 fps ∼65% -35%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
47 fps ∼78% -22%
Sony Xperia XZ2
60 fps ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
34 fps ∼57% -43%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (32 - 61, n=25)
54.1 fps ∼90% -10%
Average of class Smartphone (4.7 - 88, n=377)
14.6 fps ∼24% -76%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
55 fps ∼100%
Apple iPhone X
44.1 fps ∼80% -20%
Huawei P20 Pro
36 fps ∼65% -35%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
24 fps ∼44% -56%
Sony Xperia XZ2
55 fps ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
34 fps ∼62% -38%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (21 - 59, n=24)
46 fps ∼84% -16%
Average of class Smartphone (5 - 110, n=380)
14.2 fps ∼26% -74%
GFXBench
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
35 fps ∼100%
Apple iPhone X
31.8 fps ∼91% -9%
Huawei P20 Pro
23 fps ∼66% -34%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
28 fps ∼80% -20%
Sony Xperia XZ2
35 fps ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
24 fps ∼69% -31%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (25 - 35, n=24)
33.7 fps ∼96% -4%
Average of class Smartphone (2.5 - 54, n=308)
9.92 fps ∼28% -72%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
34 fps ∼100%
Apple iPhone X
27.7 fps ∼81% -19%
Huawei P20 Pro
22 fps ∼65% -35%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
14 fps ∼41% -59%
Sony Xperia XZ2
33 fps ∼97% -3%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
23 fps ∼68% -32%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (13 - 37, n=24)
28 fps ∼82% -18%
Average of class Smartphone (2.8 - 58, n=311)
8.99 fps ∼26% -74%

Legend

 
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Qualcomm Adreno 630, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Apple iPhone X Apple A11 Bionic, Apple A11 Bionic GPU, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Huawei P20 Pro HiSilicon Kirin 970, ARM Mali-G72 MP12, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus Samsung Exynos 9810, ARM Mali-G72 MP18, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Sony Xperia XZ2 Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Qualcomm Adreno 630, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
 
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 (8998), Qualcomm Adreno 540, 64 GB eMMC Flash

While the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S is not quite able to achieve the performance of the Sony Xperia XZ2 and much less the Apple iPhone X in the browser benchmarks, the overall result is more than respectable despite that. Demanding websites are rendered smoothly, and fast surfing is guaranteed. 

JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
Apple iPhone X (IOS 11.1.1)
224 Points ∼100% +221%
Sony Xperia XZ2 (Chrome 65)
89.54 Points ∼40% +28%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (22.5 - 90.9, n=25)
77.3 Points ∼35% +11%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S (Chrome 66.0.3359.158)
69.765 Points ∼31%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (Samsung Browser 7.0)
69.59 Points ∼31% 0%
Huawei P20 Pro (Chrome 65)
58.255 Points ∼26% -16%
Average of class Smartphone (10.8 - 273, n=452)
37.3 Points ∼17% -47%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Apple iPhone X (IOS 11.1.2)
35255 Points ∼100% +143%
Sony Xperia XZ2 (Chrome 65)
16774 Points ∼48% +16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (3991 - 18275, n=25)
15525 Points ∼44% +7%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (Samsung Browser 7.0)
14760 Points ∼42% +2%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S (Chrome 66.0.3359.158)
14491 Points ∼41%
Huawei P20 Pro (Chrome 65)
11584 Points ∼33% -20%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 (Chrome 53)
10122 Points ∼29% -30%
Average of class Smartphone (1506 - 43280, n=588)
5730 Points ∼16% -60%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=608)
11282 ms * ∼100% -293%
Huawei P20 Pro (Chrome 65)
3852.2 ms * ∼34% -34%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S (Chrome 66.0.3359.158)
2868 ms * ∼25%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (2154 - 11204, n=25)
2812 ms * ∼25% +2%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 (Chrome 53)
2712.9 ms * ∼24% +5%
Sony Xperia XZ2 (Chrome 65)
2394.3 ms * ∼21% +17%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (Samsung Browser 7.0)
2059.7 ms * ∼18% +28%
Apple iPhone X (IOS 11.1.2)
718 ms * ∼6% +75%
WebXPRT 2015 - Overall Score
Apple iPhone X (Safari Mobile 11.0)
354 Points ∼100% +55%
Sony Xperia XZ2 (Chrome 65)
262 Points ∼74% +15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 (260 - 291, n=22)
235 Points ∼66% +3%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S (Chrome 66.0.3359.158)
228 Points ∼64%
Huawei P20 Pro (Chrome 65)
182 Points ∼51% -20%
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (Samsung Browser 7.0)
164 Points ∼46% -28%
Average of class Smartphone (77 - 362, n=298)
115 Points ∼32% -50%
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 (Chrome 53)
57 Points ∼16% -75%

* ... smaller is better

As it should be for a high-end smartphone, inside the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S is a fast UFS-2.1 storage module, which is attested top values by Androbench. Only the Huawei P20 Pro is even a tick faster. While the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 is almost always head to head with our test unit, due to its below-average 4-KB random reads, it does not have a chance.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2SHuawei P20 ProSamsung Galaxy S9 PlusSony Xperia XZ2Xiaomi Mi Mix 2Average 128 GB UFS 2.1 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
9%
-20%
-23%
-21%
-6%
-71%
Random Write 4KB
128.36
160.49
25%
22.74
-82%
17
-87%
15.75
-88%
96.3 (19.5 - 250, n=22)
-25%
17.5 (0.14 - 250, n=636)
-86%
Random Read 4KB
135.14
144.33
7%
129.68
-4%
149.4
11%
148.54
10%
140 (117 - 158, n=22)
4%
40.2 (1.59 - 173, n=636)
-70%
Sequential Write 256KB
208.1
196.69
-5%
204.94
-2%
198.7
-5%
208.62
0%
200 (183 - 212, n=22)
-4%
83.9 (2.99 - 253, n=636)
-60%
Sequential Read 256KB
756.07
831.82
10%
818.69
8%
679.2
-10%
703.99
-7%
759 (427 - 912, n=22)
0%
238 (12.1 - 912, n=636)
-69%

Games - Ample performance for gamers

The Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S accelerates games with its Adreno 630 high-end GPU, managing to bring even graphically very demanding games such as Arena of Valor or PUBG Mobile smoothly to its IPS display. Subjectively, all the tested games ran butter-smooth. Unfortunately at this point, we are unable to confirm this with hard facts, i.e., frame rates, since the smartphone could not be convinced to establish a connection to the Gamebench test app. Regardless of this, due to its powerful SoC, the Mi Mix 2S is definitely a future-proof investment for gamers.

Arena of Valor
Arena of Valor
PUBG Mobile
PUBG Mobile

Emissions - Cool operation but throttling under load

Temperature

GFXBench battery test (T-Rex scenario)
GFXBench battery test (T-Rex scenario)
GFXBench battery test (Manhattan scenario)
GFXBench battery test (Manhattan scenario)

During operation, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S hardly heats up. Taking the measurements on the front and back together results in a comfortable, hand-warm average temperature of 34.7 °C (94 °F) during idle. It does not get much warmer during load. Even after an hour-long stress test, the temperatures do not rise above 40.6 °C (105 °F).

However, underneath the hood, not everything remains as calm. If you challenge the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S sufficiently, it quickly reacts with throttling. While the high-end smartphone still remains unfazed by the T-Rex test scenario of GFXBench, since this demands relatively little computing power, things look different in the significantly more hardware-intensive Manhattan test scenario. Already after a fifth of a total of 30 runs with the same game scene rendered each time, the performance drops considerably and then remains on a lower level until the end.

Max. Load
 39.2 °C
103 F
39.5 °C
103 F
40.3 °C
105 F
 
 38.7 °C
102 F
39.2 °C
103 F
40.3 °C
105 F
 
 38.5 °C
101 F
38.2 °C
101 F
40.6 °C
105 F
 
Maximum: 40.6 °C = 105 F
Average: 39.4 °C = 103 F
33.7 °C
93 F
34.7 °C
94 F
36.3 °C
97 F
34 °C
93 F
35.3 °C
96 F
36.9 °C
98 F
34.6 °C
94 F
35.1 °C
95 F
36.6 °C
98 F
Maximum: 36.9 °C = 98 F
Average: 35.2 °C = 95 F
Power Supply (max.)  34.1 °C = 93 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 39.4 °C / 103 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(±) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 40.6 °C / 105 F, compared to the average of 35.6 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 36.9 °C / 98 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(±) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 36 °C / 97 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.

Speaker

Speaker characteristics
Speaker characteristics

With its mono speaker positioned at the bottom edge, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S produces a solid sound for a smartphone. While the small sound membrane can produce a volume up to 83.1 dB(A), some bass is lacking. As expected, it sounds a lot better when you connect headphones to the included USB adapter. Not only will you then be rewarded with a stereo sound, but also with a much fuller sound spectrum.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2035.240.72532.9433137.238.14031.736.55039.632.16328.333.58027.332.410026.929.612526.731.8160243820020.945.925020.952.931519.555.440018.559.650017.562.763017.568.680015.769.9100015.870.8125016.673.9160015.871.7200015.472.2250015.571.431501671.4400015.873.450001672.3630016.369.2800016.368.21000016.263.81250016.453.51600016.453.5SPL28.683.1N1.155.1median 16.4median 68.2Delta2.19.827.727.427.727.726.427.725.430.125.430.529.930.530.924.330.923.825.723.82223.42222.923.522.927.727.427.727.221.327.24020.44048.42248.454.220.554.256.620.256.66220.76265.616.765.666.817.966.87018.47072.117.572.173.717.173.774.91574.977.115.377.178.114.578.179.514.179.575.513.975.570.713.870.768.613.968.666.213.966.261.613.861.646.713.746.786.628.686.661.71.161.7median 66.2median 17.1median 66.212.13.312.135.240.532.942.437.233.831.73039.635.128.33127.327.326.930.626.738.62446.820.951.720.955.319.554.218.556.917.561.817.565.315.769.315.872.516.675.215.869.415.471.915.573.91675.315.876.81674.516.370.616.371.316.267.216.459.716.44928.684.91.160.3median 16.4median 67.22.19.9hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseXiaomi Mi Mix 2SXiaomi Mi Mix 2Huawei P20 Pro
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (83.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 26% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (9.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (3.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (20% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 12% of all tested devices in this class were better, 8% similar, 80% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 41% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 51% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.6 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 29.5% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (11.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.1% higher than median
(+) | mids are linear (5.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 7.4% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (5.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (26% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 59% of all tested devices in this class were better, 10% similar, 32% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 75% of all tested devices were better, 5% similar, 19% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Huawei P20 Pro audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (84.9 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 21% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (9.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 5.6% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (4.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (19.7% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 11% of all tested devices in this class were better, 6% similar, 83% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 40% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 53% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery life - Enduring and quickly recharged

Power Consumption

With a power consumption of 2.25 watts on average during idle and 4.89 watts under load, the Mi Mix 2S almost exactly hits the average of all the smartphones we tested that had the Snapdragon-845 SoC, so it delivers a solid performance that lets us hope for a solid battery life. However, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 sibling model sets the bar quite high here, since it runs slightly more energy efficient overall and also brings the larger battery.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0 / 0.18 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.75 / 2.25 / 2.26 Watt
Load midlight 4.89 / 9.6 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
3400 mAh
Apple iPhone X
2716 mAh
Huawei P20 Pro
4000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3500 mAh
Sony Xperia XZ2
3180 mAh
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3771 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 845
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
2%
35%
34%
3%
14%
6%
15%
Idle Minimum *
0.75
1.03
-37%
0.84
-12%
0.68
9%
0.72
4%
0.69
8%
0.806 (0.42 - 1.8, n=23)
-7%
0.882 (0.2 - 3.4, n=671)
-18%
Idle Average *
2.25
2.4
-7%
1.54
32%
0.95
58%
2.21
2%
2.03
10%
1.697 (0.67 - 2.9, n=23)
25%
1.729 (0.6 - 6.2, n=670)
23%
Idle Maximum *
2.26
2.6
-15%
1.57
31%
1.09
52%
2.22
2%
2.1
7%
2.06 (0.87 - 3.5, n=23)
9%
2.01 (0.74 - 6.6, n=671)
11%
Load Average *
4.89
2.96
39%
2.47
49%
4.58
6%
4.6
6%
3.18
35%
4.86 (3.64 - 7.41, n=23)
1%
4.04 (0.8 - 10.8, n=665)
17%
Load Maximum *
9.6
6.6
31%
2.49
74%
5.16
46%
9.34
3%
8.73
9%
9.35 (6.2 - 12.3, n=23)
3%
5.8 (1.2 - 14.2, n=665)
40%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The good results in the power consumption are reflected in a battery life that is just as good. In the two benchmarks that come closest to everyday operation, which are surfing on the web and playing an H.264 video at a display brightness adjusted to 150 cd/m², the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S lasts for about 12 hours each time. This is enough to beat almost all of the competitors. Only the Huawei P20 Pro achieves an even better battery life overall.

In addition to the inductive Qi, the Mi Mix 2S also supports Qualcomm Quick Charge 3.0. With the latter, the smartphone is fully recharged after about 1.5 hours, if you use the included charger (5V/3A, 5V/2A, 12V/1.5A).

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
27h 58min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
11h 56min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
11h 58min
Load (maximum brightness)
3h 59min
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S
3400 mAh
Apple iPhone X
2716 mAh
Huawei P20 Pro
4000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
3500 mAh
Sony Xperia XZ2
3180 mAh
Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
3771 mAh
Battery Runtime
-20%
15%
-14%
-13%
-16%
Reader / Idle
1678
1292
-23%
1727
3%
1343
-20%
1402
-16%
H.264
718
634
-12%
784
9%
674
-6%
722
1%
WiFi v1.3
716
564
-21%
744
4%
521
-27%
679
-5%
600
-16%
Load
239
180
-25%
345
44%
237
-1%
159
-33%

Pros

+ very fast SoC
+ high-quality case
+ dual-SIM
+ USB-C
+ Android 8.0 with intuitive MIUI 9.5 user interface
+ bright display
+ very good dual cameras
+ not much heat development
+ good battery life
+ protective cover included

Cons

- USB-C only at 2.0 speeds
- no IP certification
- no microSD slot
- 3.5-mm headset connection only via USB-C adapter

Verdict - A very good price-performance ratio

In review: Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S. Test unit provided by Trading Shenzen Shop.
In review: Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S. Test unit provided by Trading Shenzen Shop.

Just like the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S has no weaknesses worth mentioning. The workmanship of the 5.99-inch Android smartphone is first-class, the display shows a razor-sharp image of the contents, the dual camera setup belongs to the currently best smartphone cameras, and the communication modules hardly leave anything to be desired either. Furthermore, with the Snapdragon 845 there is a lightning-fast SoC, making the operation of the Mi Mix 2S amazingly smooth. While Android 8.0, which has been jazzed up via MIUI 9.5, is slightly different in its layout from a stock Android, it can be navigated at least just as intuitively and in addition offers a couple of practical extras.

There are only a few negative points with the current Xiaomi flagship: The USB-C port can only handle USB-2.0 speeds, and there is no microSD slot. You can replace the lacking 3.5-mm headset port by using the included USB adapter. In contrast to many of the high-end rivals, the Mi Mix 2S does not have IP certification, so it is neither protected from dust nor water. Those who receive the Xiaomi as an import from China, like we did, have to install Google Play, which is not really a disadvantage since it can be done quickly. 

A successful feat: With its powerful overall performance, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S recommends itself as a good alternative to high-end smartphones such as the Apple iPhone X, Huawei P20 Pro, or Samsung Galaxy S9+.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S - 05/22/2018 v6
Manuel Masiero

Chassis
86%
Keyboard
69 / 75 → 92%
Pointing Device
92%
Connectivity
47 / 60 → 78%
Weight
89%
Battery
94%
Display
86%
Games Performance
68 / 63 → 100%
Application Performance
73 / 70 → 100%
Temperature
86%
Noise
100%
Audio
77 / 91 → 85%
Camera
84%
Average
81%
88%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S Smartphone Review
Manuel Masiero, 2018-05-28 (Update: 2018-05-29)