Notebookcheck

ZTE Axon 10 Pro Smartphone Review: The flagship killer from China

Mike Wobker, 👁 Daniel Schmidt (translated by Alex Alderson), 07/03/2019

Also available with 5G. ZTE pitches the Axon 10 Pro against modern flagships like the P30 Pro, especially in regard to design. The Chinese manufacturer has included an in-screen fingerprint scanner and 48 MP dual rear-facing cameras, but it has scrimped on many of the other flashy features adorning high-end handsets. Read on in this detailed review to find out how this 600-Euro (~US$678) supposed flagship killer performs in our tests.

ZTE Axon 10 Pro

ZTE celebrated its re-entry into the smartphone market last year with the Axon 9 Pro, a device that scored 89% overall in our review. The device impressed us with its bright AMOLED panel, fast Wi-Fi, good system performance and IP68 certification. Now the company is back with the Axon 10 Pro, which takes a few steps forward while also seemingly taking a few back. Inexplicably, IP54 certification has replaced IP68, while ZTE has opted for a noticeably dimmer display.

The Axon 10 Pro comes with the more powerful Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 SoC though and a larger display. The device retains the 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of UFS flash storage of its predecessor, along with its 4,000 mAh battery. ZTE has developed a 5G version of the Axon 10 Pro too, although this has not been released worldwide at the time of writing.

The Axon 10 Pro currently retails for around 600 Euros (~US$677), which puts it in contention with the likes of the Nokia 9 PureView, OnePlus 7, Samsung Galaxy S10e and Xiaomi Mi 9. We shall use these four as comparison devices for this review, but you can add other devices to our comparison tables should you wish.

ZTE Axon 10 Pro (Axon Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
6144 MB 
Display
6.47 inch 19.5:9, 2340 x 1080 pixel 398 PPI, capacitive, AMOLED, glossy: yes
Storage
128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash, 128 GB 
, 113 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: USB Type-C, Card Reader: Up to 2 TB microSD cards. FAT, FAT32 and exFAT file systems supported, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, e-compass, gyroscope, proximity sensor
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 5.0, 2G/GSM: B2, B3, B5, B8. 3G/UMTS: B1, B2, B4, B5, B8. 4G/LTE/FDD/TDD/TDS: B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B12, B17, B18, B19, B20, B26B, B28, B34, B38, B39, B40, B41, B34, B39., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 7.9 x 159.2 x 73.4 ( = 0.31 x 6.27 x 2.89 in)
Battery
4000 mAh Lithium-Polymer
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 48 MPix , f/1.7. 20 MP, 125°, f/2.2 secondary sensor. 8 MP, f/2.4 telephoto lens
Secondary Camera: 20 MPix , f/2.0
Additional features
Speakers: Stereo speakers, Keyboard: onscreen, Keyboard Light: yes, USB charger, USB Type-C cable, case, headphones, 3.5 mm jack adapter, SIM tool, 24 Months Warranty, SAR value: Head - 0.882 W/kg, fanless
Weight
178 g ( = 6.28 oz / 0.39 pounds), Power Supply: 72 g ( = 2.54 oz / 0.16 pounds)
Price
600 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The Axon 10 Pro is a metal and glass sandwich like most modern flagships. Its display has curved edges too, another trope of contemporary flagship design. This makes the metal frame thinner at the corners than near the hardware buttons or at the top and bottom of the device. The glass back has a mirrored finish, with most light distorting its blue colour. It is a fingerprint magnet too, although you will not find yourself groping the back glass in vain for a fingerprint scanner as ZTE has equipped the device with an in-screen solution instead. The glass is broken up by the vertically arranged triple rear-facing cameras and LED flash, along with some regulatory information and branding. ZTE has placed the two hardware buttons on the right-hand side of the frame, while the bottom hosts the speaker, USB Type-C port and card slot.

Our review unit is well made, with there being no uneven gaps or structural weaknesses. The Axon 10 Pro is IP54-certified too, meaning that it is protected from dust and can withstand water splashes. This is much weaker protection against the ingress of dust and liquids than IP68 is though.

The Axon 10 Pro is comparatively long on account of its 6.47-inch display, but it is just as thin as our comparison devices at 7.9 mm. The device is rather narrow too but is heavier than all but the OnePlus 7 and its predecessor in our comparison table.

ZTE Axon 10 Pro
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
ZTE Axon 10 Pro

Size Comparison

159.2 mm / 6.27 inch 73.4 mm / 2.89 inch 7.9 mm / 0.311 inch 178 g0.3924 lbs157.7 mm / 6.21 inch 74.8 mm / 2.94 inch 8.2 mm / 0.3228 inch 182 g0.4012 lbs157.5 mm / 6.2 inch 74.67 mm / 2.94 inch 7.61 mm / 0.2996 inch 173 g0.3814 lbs156.5 mm / 6.16 inch 74.5 mm / 2.93 inch 7.9 mm / 0.311 inch 179 g0.3946 lbs155 mm / 6.1 inch 75 mm / 2.95 inch 8 mm / 0.315 inch 172 g0.3792 lbs142.2 mm / 5.6 inch 69.9 mm / 2.75 inch 7.9 mm / 0.311 inch 150 g0.3307 lbs

Connectivity

As we shall cover in the Performance section of this review, ZTE equips the Axon 10 Pro with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 SoC that integrates a Qualcomm Adreno 640 GPU, 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of UFS 2.1 flash storage. The latter can be complemented with up to 2-TB microSD cards should you need more storage, with the Axon 10 Pro able to read all modern file systems including exFAT. The device is dual-SIM too, although it only has two card slots, with the second doubling as a microSD card slot too. This hybrid slot forces people to choose between dual-SIM functionality and microSD card expansion, of which we are not fans. Both card slots support voice over LTE (VoLTE) and voice over Wi-Fi (VoWiFi), although your network carrier must provision the Axon 10 Pro before either functionality will work.

The Axon 10 Pro also has a USB 2.0 Type-C port, which can be used for audio, charging and data. The device has no headphone jack, but ZTE includes a corresponding Type-C adapter should you wish to use traditional headphones. Better still, the Axon 10 Pro is Widevine L1-certified, meaning that it can stream DRM-protected content from services like Amazon Prime and Netflix. The device supports Camera2 API Level3 too.

Bottom: speaker, USB Type-C, card slot
Bottom: speaker, USB Type-C, card slot
Right-hand side: volume rocker, power button
Right-hand side: volume rocker, power button
Top: microphone
Top: microphone
Left-hand side: no connections
Left-hand side: no connections

Software

The Axon 10 Pro currently ships with Android 9.0 Pie, while ZTE had rolled out the April 1, 2019 set of security patches to our review unit by June. The OS comes with no third-party apps preinstalled, while ZTE allows you to uninstall in-house apps like BestWeather and Superb Cleaner. Unfortunately, some apps like ZTE Cares and Phone Switch can only be deactivated, which removes them from the app drawer.

You can save apps and data to microSD cards, although these must first be formatted as internal storage. The OS supports multiple user accounts too.

Default home screen
Default home screen
Default home screen
Default home screen
Quick Settings
Quick Settings
Quick Settings customisation
Quick Settings customisation
Preinstalled apps
Preinstalled apps
Preinstalled apps
Preinstalled apps
Storage information
Storage information
Device information
Device information

Communication & GPS

ZTE has developed 4G and 5G versions of the Axon 10 Pro, of which our review unit is the former. The device can also connect to GSM and 3G networks, while it utilises LTE Cat 20 for up to 2,000 Mb/s download speeds and 300 Mb/s upload speeds. The Axon 10 Pro also supports Bluetooth 5.0, NFC and all modern Wi-Fi standards up to IEEE 802.11ac, meaning that it can connect to 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz networks.

Our review unit performed well in our Wi-Fi tests too, which we conducted with our Linksys EA8500 reference router. The device averaged over 500 Mb/s in both iperf3 Client tests that we ran, putting it slightly behind the Axon 9 Pro and Mi 9 in our comparison tables overall.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi 9
Adreno 640, 855, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
678 (min: 549, max: 725) MBit/s ∼100% +11%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
674 (min: 646, max: 691) MBit/s ∼99% +10%
Nokia 9 PureView
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
638 (min: 561, max: 664) MBit/s ∼94% +4%
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Adreno 640, 855, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
613 (min: 284, max: 694) MBit/s ∼90%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Mali-G76 MP12, 9820, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
520 (min: 445, max: 571) MBit/s ∼77% -15%
OnePlus 7
Adreno 640, 855, 256 GB UFS 3.0 Flash
388 (min: 361, max: 421) MBit/s ∼57% -37%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=409)
222 MBit/s ∼33% -64%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
661 (min: 613, max: 699) MBit/s ∼100% +25%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Adreno 640, 855, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
534 (min: 430, max: 578) MBit/s ∼81% +1%
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Adreno 640, 855, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
527 (min: 481, max: 556) MBit/s ∼80%
Nokia 9 PureView
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
523 (min: 421, max: 559) MBit/s ∼79% -1%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Mali-G76 MP12, 9820, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
468 (min: 351, max: 489) MBit/s ∼71% -11%
OnePlus 7
Adreno 640, 855, 256 GB UFS 3.0 Flash
330 (min: 232, max: 365) MBit/s ∼50% -37%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=409)
212 MBit/s ∼32% -60%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350360370380390400410420430440450460470480490500510520530540550560570580590600610620630640650660670680690700Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø612 (284-694)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø527 (481-556)
GPS Test: Indoors
GPS Test: Indoors
GPS Test: Outdoors
GPS Test: Outdoors

The Axon 10 Pro utilises BeiDou, Galileo, GLONASS and GPS for location services, with our review unit achieving a satellite fix with up to four metres accuracy outdoors. Surprisingly, it cannot find us indoors, which is uncommon for a flagship device and akin to a lower mid-range smartphone.

The precise outdoors location accuracy followed into our bike ride where we compared our review unit’s location data against a Garmin Edge 500, our reference bike computer. The Axon 10 Pro performed well overall, especially when cornering. The device struggled to plot us on the correct side of the road during straight sections though. In short, you should have no problems with using the Axon 10 Pro for general navigation tasks like cycling, driving or walking.

GPS test: ZTE Axon 10 Pro - Overview
GPS test: ZTE Axon 10 Pro - Overview
GPS test: ZTE Axon 10 Pro – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: ZTE Axon 10 Pro – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: ZTE Axon 10 Pro - Loop
GPS test: ZTE Axon 10 Pro - Loop
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Loop
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Loop

Telephone Features & Call Quality

Dialler
Dialler

ZTE preinstalls an in-house set of telephony apps on the Axon 10 Pro. The Phone app looks and functions like the Google equivalent, with it providing direct access to a keypad and putting contacts, along with call history, in dedicated tabs. You can create contact groups too, which have a separate tab at the top of the Phone app.

Our review unit has good quality too, with the earpiece reproducing our call partner clearly. The built-in microphones do not do a great job of filtering out background noise though, so someone may struggle to hear you if you are calling from a noisy environment. The included headphones are better in this regard, with the microphone cutting out noise well.

Cameras

Photographed with the front-facing camera
Photographed with the front-facing camera

ZTE equips the Axon 10 Pro with triple rear-facing cameras, the main of which is a 48 MP sensor with an f/1.8 aperture. This is supported by a 20 MP wide-angle sensor with a 120° field of view (FOV) and an f/2.2 aperture. There is also an 8 MP telephoto lens that has an f/2.4 aperture. ZTE has included a 20 MP front-facing sensor too that has an f/2.0 aperture. The latter takes decent-looking selfies, although fine structures and details are slightly blurred upon looking closely. The sensor overexposes focussed objects too while making colours look more washed-out than they should be.

The default camera app contains a brightness slider and various beautification modes should you wish to tinker with your selfies. The latter allows you to soften skin by varying degrees. There are also several colour filters and an HDR mode. Additionally, ZTE has included a portrait mode that creates a bokeh effect, much like Apple’s Portrait mode.

The 48 MP sensor also takes good photos, with focussed objects reproduced sharply. Colours are vibrant too, but our test photos suffer from harsh image noise upon looking closely. Moreover, the sensor struggles to demarcate between bright and dark areas, with the latter looking woefully underexposed.

By contrast, macro photos are surprisingly detailed, while colours and the edges of objects are separated well. Again, objects outside of the focussed area are distorted by image noise when we look closely. Our review unit does a good job in low-light conditions though, as demonstrated by scene 3. Only the corners of the image are underexposed. Colours look darker than they should though, but at least objects are demarcated from the background well.

The default camera app has additional settings for the rear-facing cameras, with ZTE including a manual mode. Switching to this mode allows you to change ISO values, exposure levels and white balance among others. You can set a timer too. Additionally, the app has a “Super-Night” mode, while the portrait mode includes several special lighting modes.

The Axon 10 Pro can record videos in up to 4K with the H.264 codec. Incidentally, it can also record in MMS. The image quality of videos is just as good as photos, but the camera struggles to record moving objects smoothly and can only do so in good light. ZTE has included an image stabiliser though, which compensates well against minor shakes. The default camera app includes colour filters and beautification modes, but you cannot use the manual mode when recording videos. Likewise, you cannot record at high frame rates to create slow-motion effects either.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

We also subjected our review unit to further camera tests under controlled lighting conditions. The 48 MP sensor reproduces colours noticeably darker than ColorChecker Passport reference colours, but it does a good job at capturing our test chart. Fine details and structures are recognisable, while colours pop from the mostly grey and black chart. Contrast levels drop off slightly in the lower corners of the image, but less so than on comparable smartphones.

The camera can also capture the chart well in low-light too, which is impressive. Fine details are still there, although they are dominated by image noise when looking closely. Colours look a little dark too, but not terribly so.

A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail
A photo of our test chart shot in low-light

Accessories & Warranty

A look at the accessories that ZTE includes with the Axon 10 Pro
A look at the accessories that ZTE includes with the Axon 10 Pro

ZTE includes several accessories with the Axon 10 Pro. Our review unit arrived with a USB charger, a matching Type-A to Type-C cable, a silicone case, headphones and a 3.5 mm jack to Type-C adapter. The OEM includes a SIM tool, but it does not sell any other Axon 10 Pro-specific accessories.

The Axon 10 Pro comes with a 24-month limited manufacturer’s warranty. Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies & Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

ZTE preinstalls Google Gboard as the default keyboard. The app works just as well as it has on previous devices that we have tested. The touchscreen also responds quickly and accurately reproduces our touches onscreen. However, the display has a highly resistive finish that makes multi-finger gestures like drag-and-drop movements difficult. The accelerometer worked fine during testing though.

The Axon 10 Pro has an in-screen fingerprint scanner, another feature popular among modern flagships. The one in our review unit is rather unreliable at recognising our registered fingerprints, to the extent that we preferred using a pattern or PIN instead. You could use your face to unlock the device instead, although the Axon 10 Pro only uses its front-facing camera to capture an image of your face, which is easy to spoof and not as secure as something like FaceID. Correspondingly, you cannot use face unlock on the Axon 10 Pro to authenticate things like banking apps and password managers.

Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The Axon 10 Pro has a 6.47-inch AMOLED panel that operates natively at 2340x1080. The resolution is comparatively low by modern flagships standards, but the Axon 10 Pro is in good company here, with only the Nokia 9 PureView having better than a 1080p display of our comparison devices.

Our review unit achieved an average maximum luminosity of 399 cd/m² according to X-Rite i1Pro 2, which is between 7% and 61% dimmer than our comparison devices. Even the Axon 9 Pro has a brighter display than its successor. The more practical APL50 test registers a slightly better average maximum luminosity of 405 cd/m², but this is still a way off what the Nokia 9 PureView and OnePlus 7 reach. The display in our review unit can also get as dim as 2.72 cd/m², making it suitable for reading at night without straining your eyes while doing so.

AMOLED panels do not have backlights like their IPS counterparts so often use pulse-width modulation (PWM) in lieu to manipulate luminosity. While this works well, it looks like flickering to human eyes and can cause health issues like eyestrain and headaches. The panel in our review unit flickers at 277.8 Hz when set to 99% brightness and below, which is low enough to cause problems for those who are PWM sensitive.

380
cd/m²
402
cd/m²
410
cd/m²
384
cd/m²
402
cd/m²
414
cd/m²
383
cd/m²
404
cd/m²
412
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 414 cd/m² Average: 399 cd/m² Minimum: 2.72 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 92 %
Center on Battery: 402 cd/m²
Contrast: ∞:1 (Black: 0 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 4.1 | 0.6-29.43 Ø6.1
ΔE Greyscale 3.7 | 0.64-98 Ø6.3
99.6% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.23
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.47
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
AMOLED, 2248x1080, 6.21
OnePlus 7
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.41
Nokia 9 PureView
P-OLED, 2880x1440, 5.99
Xiaomi Mi 9
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.39
Samsung Galaxy S10e
AMOLED, 2280x1080, 5.8
Screen
23%
21%
38%
51%
28%
Brightness middle
402
521
30%
603
50%
648
61%
593
48%
426
6%
Brightness
399
517
30%
605
52%
641
61%
587
47%
427
7%
Brightness Distribution
92
96
4%
94
2%
92
0%
94
2%
96
4%
Black Level *
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
4.1
2.9
29%
3.5
15%
2.3
44%
0.9
78%
2.14
48%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
6.5
5.5
15%
7.7
-18%
5.2
20%
2
69%
3.29
49%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
3.7
2.7
27%
2.7
27%
2.2
41%
1.5
59%
1.8
51%
Gamma
2.23 99%
2.01 109%
2.266 97%
2.3 96%
2.27 97%
2.111 104%
CCT
7841 83%
6288 103%
6775 96%
6592 99%
6548 99%
6329 103%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 277.8 Hz ≤ 99 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 277.8 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 99 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 277.8 Hz is relatively high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering. However, there are reports that some users are still sensitive to PWM at 500 Hz and above, so be aware.

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9447 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

One advantage that AMOLED panels have over IPS ones is their ability to individually switch off pixels. This allows the Axon 10 Pro to theoretically achieve infinite contrast and black levels, making colours look more vibrant than they would on a comparable IPS panel.

CalMAN analysis shows that the display has a slight blue tint though, reducing colour accuracy. Fortunately, ZTE has included a freely adjustable colour mode within Settings should you wish to alter how the display reproduces colours. You can also choose from cold, warm and normal presets should you not fancy tweaking colour settings.

CalMAN: Colour Accuracy
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy
CalMAN: Colour Space
CalMAN: Colour Space
CalMAN: Grayscale
CalMAN: Grayscale
CalMAN: Colour Saturation
CalMAN: Colour Saturation

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
2.8 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 1.2 ms rise
↘ 1.6 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 0 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25.1 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
3.6 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 2 ms rise
↘ 1.6 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 0 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (40.1 ms).

The rich contrast ratio and deep blacks help when using the Axon 10 Pro outdoors, as they help prevent the display from looking washed-out. However, its low maximum luminosity and highly reflective display mean that you will struggle to read the device in bright sunlight. Even bright artificial lights can overpower the display.

Using the ZTE Axon 10 Pro outdoors
Using the ZTE Axon 10 Pro outdoors
Using the ZTE Axon 10 Pro outdoors
Using the ZTE Axon 10 Pro outdoors

The Axon 10 Pro has stable viewing angles thanks to its AMOLED panel. We noticed no brightness distortions even at acute angles, although we noticed a slight green tint. In short, you should have no issues with reading the display from practically any angle, except when you are impeded by reflections.

Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance

ZTE has equipped the Axon 10 Pro with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 SoC and 6 GB of RAM, the former of which integrates a Qualcomm Adreno 640 GPU among other components. The device also has 128 GB of UFS 2.1 flash storage, which is now the current standard for modern flagships. Overall, the Axon 10 Pro should always run smoothly thanks to its powerful hardware and is on par with the likes of the Mi 9 and OnePlus 7.

Our benchmark results reinforce this, with the Axon 10 Pro generally vying for first place in our comparison tables with its Snapdragon 855-equipped competitors. Overall, the Axon 10 Pro offers about a 15-20% performance improvement in synthetic benchmarks over its predecessor, the Axon 9 Pro.

Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7553 Points ∼56%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
13505 Points ∼100% +79%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
7372 Points ∼55% -2%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
13272 Points ∼98% +76%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7482 Points ∼55% -1%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
10170 Points ∼75% +35%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (7372 - 8024, n=10)
7597 Points ∼56% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (663 - 21070, n=309)
4566 Points ∼34% -40%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10765 Points ∼95%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8988 Points ∼79% -17%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
11388 Points ∼100% +6%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8909 Points ∼78% -17%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10999 Points ∼97% +2%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
10553 Points ∼93% -2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (10187 - 11388, n=11)
10932 Points ∼96% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1174 - 11598, n=364)
4554 Points ∼40% -58%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3476 Points ∼77%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2418 Points ∼54% -30%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
3510 Points ∼78% +1%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2421 Points ∼54% -30%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3523 Points ∼78% +1%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4506 Points ∼100% +30%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3406 - 3537, n=11)
3487 Points ∼77% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (691 - 4824, n=366)
1356 Points ∼30% -61%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9664 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8099 Points ∼84% -16%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
9205 Points ∼95% -5%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8415 Points ∼87% -13%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9035 Points ∼93% -7%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
7966 Points ∼82% -18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (8342 - 11440, n=10)
9581 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3227 - 11440, n=359)
5004 Points ∼52% -48%
Work performance score (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
11857 Points ∼98%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
9795 Points ∼81% -17%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
12095 Points ∼100% +2%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
9917 Points ∼82% -16%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10985 Points ∼91% -7%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
10008 Points ∼83% -16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (10330 - 14439, n=10)
12092 Points ∼100% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4096 - 14439, n=527)
5476 Points ∼45% -54%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3134 Points ∼94%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
3324 Points ∼100% +6%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2857 Points ∼86% -9%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3288 Points ∼99% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (2104 - 3365, n=10)
3011 Points ∼91% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 15735, n=46)
2388 Points ∼72% -24%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5779 Points ∼99%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
5862 Points ∼100% +1%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4978 Points ∼85% -14%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5723 Points ∼98% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (4236 - 5862, n=10)
5533 Points ∼94% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 14536, n=46)
2410 Points ∼41% -58%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4866 Points ∼97%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
5012 Points ∼100% +3%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4273 Points ∼85% -12%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4914 Points ∼98% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3800 - 5012, n=10)
4649 Points ∼93% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 14786, n=49)
2084 Points ∼42% -57%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4235 Points ∼96%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3639 Points ∼82% -14%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
4416 Points ∼100% +4%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3456 Points ∼78% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3754 Points ∼85% -11%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
3106 Points ∼70% -27%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (1934 - 4535, n=10)
3778 Points ∼86% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 4535, n=374)
1832 Points ∼41% -57%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7083 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5741 Points ∼81% -19%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
7089 Points ∼100% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5828 Points ∼82% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7076 Points ∼100% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
5368 Points ∼76% -24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5184 - 7115, n=10)
6745 Points ∼95% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (76 - 8206, n=374)
1597 Points ∼23% -77%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
6162 Points ∼99%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5088 Points ∼81% -17%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
6249 Points ∼100% +1%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5057 Points ∼81% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5913 Points ∼95% -4%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4620 Points ∼74% -25%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3969 - 6312, n=10)
5698 Points ∼91% -8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (94 - 6312, n=377)
1484 Points ∼24% -76%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4120 Points ∼94%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3649 Points ∼83% -11%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
4405 Points ∼100% +7%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3368 Points ∼76% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3788 Points ∼86% -8%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
3077 Points ∼70% -25%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (2345 - 4703, n=9)
3943 Points ∼90% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 4703, n=388)
1807 Points ∼41% -56%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10279 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8341 Points ∼81% -19%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
10302 Points ∼100% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8435 Points ∼82% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10291 Points ∼100% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4886 Points ∼47% -52%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (6358 - 10420, n=9)
9714 Points ∼94% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (131 - 14951, n=388)
2194 Points ∼21% -79%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7716 Points ∼97%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
6487 Points ∼82% -16%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
7940 Points ∼100% +3%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
6322 Points ∼80% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7449 Points ∼94% -3%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4321 Points ∼54% -44%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5268 - 8141, n=9)
7281 Points ∼92% -6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (159 - 8141, n=389)
1861 Points ∼23% -76%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4093 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3623 Points ∼89% -11%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
4093 Points ∼100% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3418 Points ∼84% -16%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3758 Points ∼92% -8%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
3005 Points ∼73% -27%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (2705 - 4320, n=10)
3759 Points ∼92% -8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (486 - 4320, n=450)
1762 Points ∼43% -57%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
6356 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5181 Points ∼82% -18%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
6336 Points ∼100% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5123 Points ∼81% -19%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
6355 Points ∼100% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
5206 Points ∼82% -18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5663 - 6362, n=10)
6227 Points ∼98% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (65 - 6362, n=452)
1324 Points ∼21% -79%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5661 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4729 Points ∼84% -16%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
5648 Points ∼100% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4612 Points ∼81% -19%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5509 Points ∼97% -3%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4477 Points ∼79% -21%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (4556 - 5734, n=10)
5412 Points ∼96% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (80 - 5734, n=460)
1262 Points ∼22% -78%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3919 Points ∼96%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3543 Points ∼87% -10%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
4068 Points ∼100% +4%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3179 Points ∼78% -19%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3614 Points ∼89% -8%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
2906 Points ∼71% -26%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3505 - 4454, n=9)
3930 Points ∼97% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (512 - 4454, n=482)
1669 Points ∼41% -57%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9932 Points ∼99%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8219 Points ∼82% -17%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
10008 Points ∼100% +1%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8053 Points ∼80% -19%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9963 Points ∼100% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4507 Points ∼45% -55%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (6122 - 10008, n=9)
9436 Points ∼94% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 10008, n=482)
1802 Points ∼18% -82%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7407 Points ∼98%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
6355 Points ∼84% -14%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
7556 Points ∼100% +2%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
6007 Points ∼79% -19%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7166 Points ∼95% -3%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4015 Points ∼53% -46%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5251 - 7820, n=9)
7198 Points ∼95% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 7820, n=490)
1543 Points ∼20% -79%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
23877 Points ∼66%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
35430 Points ∼98% +48%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
36069 Points ∼100% +51%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
25339 Points ∼70% +6%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
32155 Points ∼89% +35%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (23877 - 45072, n=9)
31887 Points ∼88% +34%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4811 - 45072, n=642)
13649 Points ∼38% -43%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
106799 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
81640 Points ∼76% -24%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
83854 Points ∼79% -21%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
106534 Points ∼100% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
72022 Points ∼67% -33%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (106770 - 110432, n=9)
94164 Points ∼88% -12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (11358 - 162695, n=642)
20023 Points ∼19% -81%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
60279 Points ∼93%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
63295 Points ∼98% +5%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
64782 Points ∼100% +7%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
62225 Points ∼96% +3%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
56465 Points ∼87% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (69203 - 83518, n=9)
61193 Points ∼94% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (11565 - 83518, n=643)
16599 Points ∼26% -72%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
166 fps ∼99%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
150 fps ∼90% -10%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
167 fps ∼100% +1%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
151 fps ∼90% -9%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
167 fps ∼100% +1%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
141 fps ∼84% -15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (85 - 167, n=11)
159 fps ∼95% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (6 - 251, n=670)
35 fps ∼21% -79%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
59 fps ∼94%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
60 fps ∼96% +2%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
60 fps ∼96% +2%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
60 fps ∼96% +2%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
60 fps ∼96% +2%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
60 fps ∼96% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (59 - 91, n=11)
62.8 fps ∼100% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.8 - 120, n=673)
26.9 fps ∼43% -54%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
100 fps ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
82 fps ∼82% -18%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
100 fps ∼100% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
83 fps ∼83% -17%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
100 fps ∼100% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
85 fps ∼85% -15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (50 - 102, n=11)
95.5 fps ∼96% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.7 - 132, n=589)
19.3 fps ∼19% -81%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
59 fps ∼97%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
59 fps ∼97% 0%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
60 fps ∼99% +2%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
50 fps ∼83% -15%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
60 fps ∼99% +2%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
59 fps ∼97% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (51 - 85, n=11)
60.6 fps ∼100% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.4 - 115, n=594)
17.8 fps ∼29% -70%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
70 fps ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
60 fps ∼86% -14%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
67 fps ∼96% -4%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
60 fps ∼86% -14%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
69 fps ∼99% -1%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
53 fps ∼76% -24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (35 - 71, n=11)
62.5 fps ∼89% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.6 - 88, n=450)
15.9 fps ∼23% -77%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
57 fps ∼98%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
55 fps ∼95% -4%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
57 fps ∼98% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
32 fps ∼55% -44%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
58 fps ∼100% +2%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
53 fps ∼91% -7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (36 - 58, n=11)
49 fps ∼84% -14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.4 - 110, n=453)
15.1 fps ∼26% -74%
GFXBench
High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
25 fps ∼89%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
14 fps ∼50% -44%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
26 fps ∼93% +4%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
13 fps ∼46% -48%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
24 fps ∼86% -4%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
28 fps ∼100% +12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (14 - 26, n=10)
21.9 fps ∼78% -12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.86 - 59, n=153)
8.93 fps ∼32% -64%
2560x1440 High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
17 fps ∼77%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
22 fps ∼100% +29%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
17 fps ∼77% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
14 fps ∼64% -18%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
16 fps ∼73% -6%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
16 fps ∼73% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (8.5 - 22, n=11)
16.2 fps ∼74% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.26 - 31, n=153)
6.17 fps ∼28% -64%
Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
38 fps ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
35 fps ∼92% -8%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
38 fps ∼100% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
21 fps ∼55% -45%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
37 fps ∼97% -3%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
16 fps ∼42% -58%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (22 - 38, n=10)
34 fps ∼89% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.8 - 59, n=155)
13.4 fps ∼35% -65%
1920x1080 Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
42 fps ∼98%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
37 fps ∼86% -12%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
43 fps ∼100% +2%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
37 fps ∼86% -12%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
41 fps ∼95% -2%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
41 fps ∼95% -2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (22 - 43, n=11)
40.2 fps ∼93% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.94 - 63, n=154)
14.8 fps ∼34% -65%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
42 fps ∼98%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
35 fps ∼81% -17%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
42 fps ∼98% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
35 fps ∼81% -17%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
42 fps ∼98% 0%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
43 fps ∼100% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (22 - 42, n=11)
40.1 fps ∼93% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.89 - 54, n=379)
10.7 fps ∼25% -75%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
37 fps ∼93%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
33 fps ∼83% -11%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
37 fps ∼93% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
19 fps ∼48% -49%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
38 fps ∼95% +3%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
40 fps ∼100% +8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (21 - 38, n=11)
32.2 fps ∼81% -13%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.6 - 58, n=383)
9.64 fps ∼24% -74%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
371848 Points ∼99%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
287049 Points ∼77% -23%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
370908 Points ∼99% 0%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
287123 Points ∼77% -23%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
374820 Points ∼100% +1%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
329444 Points ∼88% -11%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (217967 - 398720, n=11)
351877 Points ∼94% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (52607 - 398720, n=272)
130479 Points ∼35% -65%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
1431 Points ∼99%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
1345 Points ∼93% -6%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
1407 Points ∼98% -2%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
1317 Points ∼92% -8%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
1378 Points ∼96% -4%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
1439 Points ∼100% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (1171 - 1431, n=10)
1346 Points ∼94% -6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 1731, n=602)
742 Points ∼52% -48%
Graphics (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9361 Points ∼99%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
7930 Points ∼84% -15%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
9477 Points ∼100% +1%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
7918 Points ∼84% -15%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9270 Points ∼98% -1%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
8484 Points ∼90% -9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (8125 - 9477, n=10)
9150 Points ∼97% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 15969, n=602)
1943 Points ∼21% -79%
Memory (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
6253 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4492 Points ∼72% -28%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
5610 Points ∼90% -10%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4072 Points ∼65% -35%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4031 Points ∼64% -36%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4474 Points ∼72% -28%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (2661 - 7500, n=10)
5081 Points ∼81% -19%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 7500, n=602)
1449 Points ∼23% -77%
System (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
8652 Points ∼96%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8212 Points ∼91% -5%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
8986 Points ∼100% +4%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
7940 Points ∼88% -8%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
8441 Points ∼94% -2%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
7831 Points ∼87% -9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (5993 - 9143, n=10)
8586 Points ∼96% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 12202, n=602)
2857 Points ∼32% -67%
Overall (sort by value)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5188 Points ∼100%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4454 Points ∼86% -14%
OnePlus 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 8192
5089 Points ∼98% -2%
Nokia 9 PureView
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4285 Points ∼83% -17%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4595 Points ∼89% -11%
Samsung Galaxy S10e
Samsung Exynos 9820, Mali-G76 MP12, 6144
4548 Points ∼88% -12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
  (3847 - 5397, n=10)
4783 Points ∼92% -8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (150 - 6097, n=606)
1420 Points ∼27% -73%

Again, our review unit performed well in browser benchmarks, with it achieving results comparable to the Mi 9 and OnePlus 7. The Axon 10 Pro finished top in two of our five browser benchmarks too.

The performance in browser benchmarks reflects our impression of using the Axon 10 Pro in daily life. The preinstalled Google Chrome browser runs smoothly, with websites and media content loading quickly.

Jetstream 2 - Total Score
OnePlus 7 (Chrome 74)
63.057 Points ∼100% +20%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73)
57.207 Points ∼91% +9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (45.5 - 63.1, n=9)
57 Points ∼90% +8%
ZTE Axon 10 Pro (Chrome 74)
52.718 Points ∼84%
Nokia 9 PureView (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
44.6 Points ∼71% -15%
Average of class Smartphone (14.5 - 108, n=81)
30.6 Points ∼49% -42%
Speedometer 2.0 - Result
OnePlus 7 (Chome 74)
67.9 runs/min ∼100% +2%
ZTE Axon 10 Pro (Chrome 74)
66.3 runs/min ∼98%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
65.7 runs/min ∼97% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (46.7 - 67.9, n=8)
62.9 runs/min ∼93% -5%
Nokia 9 PureView (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
50.47 runs/min ∼74% -24%
Average of class Smartphone (6.42 - 123, n=73)
34.4 runs/min ∼51% -48%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
OnePlus 7 (Chrome 74)
110 Points ∼100% +12%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
108 Points ∼98% +10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (94 - 114, n=11)
106 Points ∼96% +8%
ZTE Axon 10 Pro (Chrome 74)
98 Points ∼89%
Nokia 9 PureView (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
89 Points ∼81% -9%
Average of class Smartphone (19 - 161, n=134)
63.4 Points ∼58% -35%
Octane V2 - Total Score
ZTE Axon 10 Pro (Chrome 74)
25640 Points ∼100%
OnePlus 7 (Chrome 74)
25051 Points ∼98% -2%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
24534 Points ∼96% -4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (17011 - 25640, n=11)
23123 Points ∼90% -10%
Samsung Galaxy S10e (Chrome 73)
18697 Points ∼73% -27%
Nokia 9 PureView (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
16484 Points ∼64% -36%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro (Chrome 71)
15819 Points ∼62% -38%
Average of class Smartphone (1994 - 43280, n=663)
6281 Points ∼24% -76%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=683)
10792 ms * ∼100% -483%
Nokia 9 PureView (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
2375 ms * ∼22% -28%
ZTE Axon 9 Pro (Chrome 71)
2357.6 ms * ∼22% -27%
Samsung Galaxy S10e (Chrome 73)
2239.5 ms * ∼21% -21%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 (1852 - 2611, n=10)
2122 ms * ∼20% -15%
OnePlus 7 (Chrome 74)
1958 ms * ∼18% -6%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
1873.2 ms * ∼17% -1%
ZTE Axon 10 Pro (Chrome 74)
1851.7 ms * ∼17%

* ... smaller is better

As mentioned earlier, ZTE has equipped the Axon 10 Pro with 128 GB of UFS 2.1 storage, of which approximately 113 GB is free upon first booting the device. Our review unit has excellent transfer speeds and finished top of our AndroBench comparison table alongside the OnePlus 7.

One major advantage that the Axon 10 Pro has over its contemporaries is microSD card expansion. Only the Axon 9 Pro and Galaxy S10e also have microSD card readers of our comparison devices. Many other modern flagships lack expandable storage too, like the Google Pixel 3 XL and the iPhone XS Max. Our review unit achieved decent transfer speeds with our Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 reference cards. Overall, the Axon 10 Pro performed marginally better than its predecessor and the Galaxy S10e.

ZTE Axon 10 ProZTE Axon 9 ProOnePlus 7Nokia 9 PureViewXiaomi Mi 9Samsung Galaxy S10eAverage 128 GB UFS 2.1 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-29%
0%
-42%
-13%
-30%
-25%
-60%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
66.83 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
61.64 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-8%
60.65 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-9%
61.5 (27.8 - 72.4, n=17)
-8%
48.6 (9.5 - 87.1, n=403)
-27%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
88.2 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
85.4 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-3%
73.15 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-17%
77 (31.3 - 88.2, n=17)
-13%
66.6 (8.1 - 96.5, n=403)
-24%
Random Write 4KB
189.53
22.52
-88%
28.7
-85%
20.18
-89%
165.32
-13%
24.1
-87%
81.6 (18.2 - 250, n=38)
-57%
20.1 (0.14 - 250, n=712)
-89%
Random Read 4KB
150.36
141.34
-6%
175.3
17%
131.98
-12%
149.36
-1%
136.9
-9%
137 (98.9 - 158, n=38)
-9%
44.8 (1.59 - 175, n=712)
-70%
Sequential Write 256KB
503.04
196.43
-61%
392
-22%
200.3
-60%
388.27
-23%
194.1
-61%
205 (182 - 503, n=38)
-59%
92.2 (2.99 - 503, n=712)
-82%
Sequential Read 256KB
768.93
719.1
-6%
1463
90%
727.97
-5%
666.06
-13%
792.2
3%
741 (427 - 912, n=38)
-4%
259 (12.1 - 1468, n=712)
-66%

Games

The Adreno 640 succeeds the Adreno 630 and offers about 20% better performance than its predecessor. In short, the Axon 10 Pro should cope with any mobile game that you throw at it. Our review unit averaged just over 59 FPS in Arena of Valor and Shadow Fight 3 regardless of the graphics settings at which we played, underlining that the Axon 10 Pro has more performance in reserve.

The touchscreen and associated sensors worked perfectly during our gaming tests too. The display has a highly resistive finish though, which may make long gaming sessions feel like a chore.

Arena of Valor
Arena of Valor
Shadow Fight 3
Shadow Fight 3
Arena of Valor
0102030405060Tooltip
; min: Ø59.4 (59-60)
; high HD: Ø59.4 (58-60)
Shadow Fight 3
0102030405060Tooltip
; high: Ø59.2 (56-60)
; minimal: Ø59.2 (54-60)

Emissions

Temperature

GFXBench - Manhattan ES 3.1
GFXBench - Manhattan ES 3.1
GFXBench – T-Rex ES 2.0
GFXBench – T-Rex ES 2.0

The Axon 10 Pro manages its surface temperatures well when idling, but it gets too hot for our liking under sustained load. Our review unit averaged just over 27 °C at idle, with two areas reaching but not exceeding 28 °C. Oddly, the hottest areas at idle are the coolest under load. About 50% of the device reaches just over 40 °C under sustained load, with one area peaking at a toasty 41.4 °C. In short, the Axon 10 Pro may feel uncomfortable to hold if you are gaming for a prolonged period.

We also subjected our review unit to a series of GFXBench benchmarks to see how it managed its performance under sustained load. The device had no problems in the T-Rex benchmark, with it maintaining consistent frame rates throughout our loop of 30 benchmark run-throughs. However, we measured an 8% performance drop in the more complex Manhattan test, but this is not a terrible result. Overall, you should experience no thermal throttling in daily use.

Max. Load
 40.7 °C
105 F
40.8 °C
105 F
37.9 °C
100 F
 
 41.4 °C
107 F
40.4 °C
105 F
37.3 °C
99 F
 
 39.2 °C
103 F
39.8 °C
104 F
37.1 °C
99 F
 
Maximum: 41.4 °C = 107 F
Average: 39.4 °C = 103 F
36.9 °C
98 F
36.1 °C
97 F
40.6 °C
105 F
33.9 °C
93 F
37.2 °C
99 F
40.6 °C
105 F
35.7 °C
96 F
37.6 °C
100 F
40.9 °C
106 F
Maximum: 40.9 °C = 106 F
Average: 37.7 °C = 100 F
Power Supply (max.)  26.6 °C = 80 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(-) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 39.4 °C / 103 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(±) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 41.4 °C / 107 F, compared to the average of 35.6 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(±) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 40.9 °C / 106 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 27.5 °C / 82 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load

Speakers

Speaker characteristics
Speaker characteristics

ZTE has equipped the Axon 10 Pro with stereo speakers, which get comparatively loud and deliver a wide sound spectrum. The ones in our review unit reached a maximum of 83.6 dB(A) during our tests, and while music sounds full-bodied, bass and high frequencies are underrepresented. We would always recommend using external audio equipment like headphones and speakers instead of smartphone speakers, but the ones in the Axon 10 Pro are good enough for watching the occasional YouTube video or playing the odd song.

ZTE has gone the way of many OEMs and failed to include a 3.5 mm headphone jack in the Axon 10 Pro, but it has at least included a corresponding Type-C adapter in the box. Carrying around a dongle may prove impractical in daily use, but the one included with our review unit does not compromise audio quality, with headphones sounding just as good as if they were plugged directly into a headphone jack. Alternatively, you could use Bluetooth, with the Axon 10 Pro supporting the 5.0 standard.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2032.834.52525.533.23127.525.84022.3265028.5316318.926.58020.222.910021.624.812518.733.216020.248.820017.150.725014.654.931515.961.840015.461.350016.566.263014.268.680014.571.7100013.375.1125013.472.8160013.675.2200014.271.7250014.665.3315013.671.4400014.468.1500014.571.7630014.271.5800014.672.21000014.872.21250014.963.81600015.249.8SPL26.583.6N0.859.4median 14.6median 68.1Delta0.88.739.432.928.325.418.726.526.725.933.229.422.622.721.822.224.43123.839.218.550.417.149.117.853.815.556.114.162.51467.913.869.114.773.515.47715.276.614.376.514.574.913.971.714.675.914.178.114.374.314.574.614.875.714.87514.864.41558.226.887.10.871.4median 14.8median 71.71.510hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseZTE Axon 10 ProXiaomi Mi 9
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
ZTE Axon 10 Pro audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (83.6 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 22.4% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.4% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.1% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (5.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (17.4% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 3% of all tested devices in this class were better, 5% similar, 92% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 26% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 67% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Xiaomi Mi 9 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (87.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 25.1% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.4% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.4% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (17.6% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 4% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 92% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 28% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 66% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Power Management

Power Consumption

Our tests certify that the Axon 10 Pro is a comparatively energy-efficient smartphone. Our review unit consumes a minimum of 0.76 W at idle, which is unremarkable. However, it consumes a maximum of just 1.18 W when idling and averaged 3.95 W under load, making it economic by Snapdragon 855 standards. Its maximum consumption under load is also less than all but the Nokia 9 PureView of our comparison devices.

ZTE includes an 18 W quick charger in the box. Hence, the charger is powerful enough to keep the Axon 10 Pro charging even when it is being pushed to its limits.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.01 / 0.22 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.76 / 1.15 / 1.18 Watt
Load midlight 3.95 / 7.49 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
4000 mAh
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
4000 mAh
OnePlus 7
3700 mAh
Nokia 9 PureView
3320 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9
3300 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S10e
3100 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
-17%
-10%
-68%
-5%
-16%
-30%
-24%
Idle Minimum *
0.76
0.86
-13%
0.6
21%
1.65
-117%
0.67
12%
0.6
21%
0.917 (0.6 - 1.3, n=10)
-21%
0.88 (0.2 - 3.4, n=743)
-16%
Idle Average *
1.15
1.1
4%
1.1
4%
2.34
-103%
1.26
-10%
1.2
-4%
1.555 (1.01 - 2.35, n=10)
-35%
1.733 (0.6 - 6.2, n=742)
-51%
Idle Maximum *
1.18
1.21
-3%
2
-69%
2.43
-106%
1.29
-9%
1.5
-27%
1.933 (1.13 - 2.9, n=10)
-64%
2.02 (0.74 - 6.6, n=743)
-71%
Load Average *
3.95
5.02
-27%
4
-1%
5.02
-27%
3.71
6%
5.2
-32%
4.55 (3.64 - 5.8, n=10)
-15%
4.06 (0.8 - 10.8, n=737)
-3%
Load Maximum *
7.49
10.82
-44%
8
-7%
6.51
13%
9.3
-24%
10.2
-36%
8.76 (7.49 - 10.2, n=10)
-17%
5.88 (1.2 - 14.2, n=737)
21%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The Axon 10 Pro has a 4,000 mAh battery, a capacity on par with its predecessor and one that is larger than all the batteries in our comparison devices.

With that said, the Axon 10 Pro finished second to the OnePlus 7 in our Wi-Fi battery life test with a runtime of 11:20 hours. The Axon 10 Pro needed recharging 3:41 hours sooner than the OnePlus 7, although the latter is an outlier here. This is only 19 minutes longer than the Axon 9 Pro too, but it is well ahead of our other comparison devices.

The bundled charger supports QuickCharge 4.0 and fully recharges the Axon 10 Pro in just over two hours. You can also re-charge the device with any Qi-standard wireless charger.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
32h 07min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
11h 20min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
17h 48min
Load (maximum brightness)
3h 37min
ZTE Axon 10 Pro
4000 mAh
ZTE Axon 9 Pro
4000 mAh
OnePlus 7
3700 mAh
Nokia 9 PureView
3320 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9
3300 mAh
Samsung Galaxy S10e
3100 mAh
Battery Runtime
-3%
13%
-26%
-13%
-32%
Reader / Idle
1927
1989
3%
1250
-35%
1650
-14%
1185
-39%
H.264
1068
933
-13%
732
-31%
1008
-6%
795
-26%
WiFi v1.3
680
661
-3%
901
33%
486
-29%
546
-20%
416
-39%
Load
217
278
28%
202
-7%
194
-11%
164
-24%

Pros

+ IP54 certification
+ good macro photos
+ NFC
+ QI wireless charging
+ 3.5 mm jack adapter included
+ AMOLED panel
+ good system performance

Cons

- copycat design
- dim display
- warm under load

Verdict

The ZTE Axon 10 Pro smartphone review. Test device courtesy of ZTE Germany.
The ZTE Axon 10 Pro smartphone review. Test device courtesy of ZTE Germany.

The ZTE Axon 10 Pro can compete with more-expensive flagships on many levels. It has excellent system performance thanks to its Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 SoC and 6 GB of RAM. Many OEMs omit microSD card expansion at this price too, which gives the Axon 10 Pro an edge as it can read up to 2-TB cards. The device has good quality cameras too, especially for taking macro photos. However, ZTE does not do the Axon 10 Pro any favours by designing it look almost indistinguishable from the Huawei P30 Pro.

The ZTE Axon 10 Pro is a powerful alternative to other more-expensive flagships. However, it does not do enough to differentiate itself from the competition in our opinion. Worse still, it looks like a copycat.

The device suffers from some irritating shortfalls too. While we like its AMOLED panel for its good contrast ratio and black value, it is comparatively dark by flagship smartphone standards. Moreover, our review unit gets too warm for our liking under sustained load and may feel uncomfortable to some people when gaming.

Overall, the Axon 10 Pro is a well-equipped and potent foil to more-established flagship series. ZTE has included NFC, wireless charging and fast Wi-Fi, all of which are welcome. The company has even developed a 5G variant, although the 4G model remains the better value considering the limited roll-out of 5G at the time of writing.

ZTE Axon 10 Pro - 07/02/2019 v6
Mike Wobker

Chassis
90%
Keyboard
67 / 75 → 89%
Pointing Device
88%
Connectivity
44 / 60 → 73%
Weight
90%
Battery
96%
Display
86%
Games Performance
72 / 63 → 100%
Application Performance
85 / 70 → 100%
Temperature
89%
Noise
100%
Audio
78 / 91 → 86%
Camera
74%
Average
82%
88%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > ZTE Axon 10 Pro Smartphone Review: The flagship killer from China
Mike Wobker, 2019-07- 3 (Update: 2019-07- 4)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.