Notebookcheck

Xiaomi teaser suggests imminent Mi Mix 4 announcement with 2021 release date increasingly likely

The Xiaomi Mi Mix 4 could be officially announced on February 7. (Image source: Xiaomi)
The Xiaomi Mi Mix 4 could be officially announced on February 7. (Image source: Xiaomi)
A post made by the Xiaomi Company on Weibo has increased the likelihood of the Mi Mix 4 being released this year. Although no specs or images of the successor to the innovative Mi Mix line are presented, it does seem likely that the company CEO himself is almost ready to announce the Xiaomi Mi Mix 4.

The Xiaomi Mi Mix 4 may be one of the most-anticipated phones ever from the Chinese OEM. Ever since the Mi Mix 3 was released in late 2018, fans have thirsted for a successor. Sadly, apart from the 5G variant of the Mi Mix 3 appearing in early 2019 and then the commercially doomed Mi Mix Alpha turning up, there has been no Mi Mix 4 yet, despite numerous alleged sightings and rumors.

But that seems likely to change very soon, with the Xiaomi CEO Lei Jun preparing to answer the question “Is there a Mix this year?”. A teaser image posted on Weibo poses that simple question as well as showing the shadowy outline of a smartphone. There are no obvious clues in regard to possible Mi Mix 4 innovation in the picture though: no pop-up camera on show, no visible folding mechanism, no teasing of a quad-curved waterfall display, and no hint of an under-screen selfie camera.

However, rumors in regard to the possible 2021 release of a Xiaomi Mi Mix 4 have started appearing more frequently, so it could be wise for the firm’s boss to take advantage of the remaining hype before a spy-shot leak or specs leak steals the momentum. There is no logical reason for Xiaomi to tease a Mi Mix successor if there is nothing in the pipeline, so there should be something exciting on the cards.

Lei Jun will be answering the Mi Mix question and more at a Xiaomi event in China that starts at 19:00 CST tomorrow evening (February 7 at 06:00 EST, 11:00 GMT, 12:00 CET, 16:30 IST).

Buy the Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 on Amazon

"Is there a Mix this year?". (Image source: Xiaomi)
"Is there a Mix this year?". (Image source: Xiaomi)

Source(s)

Xiaomi Company (Weibo - in Chinese) & XiaomiAdictos (in Spanish)

Read all 1 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > News > News Archive > Newsarchive 2021 02 > Xiaomi teaser suggests imminent Mi Mix 4 announcement with 2021 release date increasingly likely
Daniel R Deakin, 2021-02- 6 (Update: 2021-02- 6)
Daniel R Deakin
Daniel R Deakin - Managing Editor News - 2188 articles published on Notebookcheck since 2012
My interest in technology began after I was presented with an Atari 800XL home computer in the mid-1980s. I especially enjoy writing about technological advances, compelling rumors, and intriguing tech-related leaks. I have a degree in International Relations and Strategic Studies and count my family, reading, writing, and travel as the main passions of my life. I have been with Notebookcheck since 2012.