Notebookcheck

OUKITEL U23 Smartphone Review

Marcus Herbrich, 👁 Daniel Schmidt (translated by Alex Alderson), 01/16/2019

An affordable midrange smartphone with wireless charging. OUKITEL has brought wireless charging to the sub-US$200 smartphone market with the U23. Read on to find out what other features the Chinese manufacturer has packed into this budget midrange device.

OUKITEL U23

OUKITEL’s U-series stands for design and aesthetics. Accordingly, the U23 also has a distinctive design and is one that reflects modern smartphone trends. The back has a striking gradient finish that looks like Huawei's Twilight colour that was used with the Mate 20 Pro. Likewise, the U23 has a notched display and narrow display bezels, which has been a popular design decision with smartphone manufacturers since the introduction of the Apple iPhone X in 2017. Moreover, the vertical dual rear-facing camera array looks remarkably like the one that Apple and Huawei have used over the last few years.

The U23 has a 6.18-inch IPS display that operates natively at 2246x1080. The device is powered by a MediaTek Helio P23 SoC that integrates an ARM Mali-G71 MP2 GPU, 6 GB RAM, 64 GB of eMMC flash storage and a 3,500 mAh battery. The device can also be charged via USB Type-C or with a Qi wireless charger, which are both still rare for a sub-US$200 smartphone. The inclusion of face unlock and a fingerprint sensor are welcome too.

We have chosen to compare the U23 against other comparably priced midrange smartphones. Our comparison devices include the BQ Aquaris X2, Honor 8X, Nokia 5.1, Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus (2018), and the Xiaomi Mi 6X.

Oukitel U23 (U Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
6144 MB 
Display
6.18 inch 18.7:9, 2246 x 1080 pixel 403 PPI, Capacitive multi-touch touch screen, IPS, glossy: yes
Storage
64 GB eMMC Flash, 64 GB 
, 52 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: USB Type-C, Card Reader: up to 128 GB microSD cards, 1 Fingerprint Reader, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, Compass, Gyroscope, Proximity sensor, Miracast, USB On-The-Go (OTG), 10 W Qi wireless charging
Networking
802.11a/b/g/n (a/b/g/n), Bluetooth 4.2, 2G/GSM: 850, 900, 1,800, 1,900 MHz; B2, B3, B5, B8. 3G/WCDMA: 900, 2,100 MHz; B1, B8. 4G/FDD-LTE: 800, 900, 1,800, 2,100, 2,600 MHz; B1, B3, B7, B8, B20., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 9.3 x 153.7 x 75.8 ( = 0.37 x 6.05 x 2.98 in)
Battery
3500 mAh Lithium-Polymer
Operating System
Android 8.1 Oreo
Camera
Primary Camera: 16 MPix 16 + 2 MP dual rear-facing camera
Secondary Camera: 8 MPix
Additional features
Speakers: Single speaker, Keyboard: Virtual keyboard, USB Type-C to 3.5 mm jack adapter, USB Cable, modular charger, silicone case, SIM Tool, Quick Start Guide, Oukitel UI, 12 Months Warranty, fanless
Weight
201 g ( = 7.09 oz / 0.44 pounds), Power Supply: 51 g ( = 1.8 oz / 0.11 pounds)
Price
190 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The U23 is mainly made from plastic and glass. Our test device measures 154 x 76 mm and has an approximately 82% screen-to-body ratio. These values may sound good on paper, but the U23 is thicker than all our comparison devices at 9.3 mm. The U23 is more compact than the Honor 8X, Galaxy J4 Plus (2018) and the Mi 6X and sits comfortably in our hands.

OUKITEL has built and chosen materials for the U23 well, although the plastic back feels hollow and is easy to depress. The physical buttons sit firmly within the frame though and are easy to reach. Both buttons have clear pressure points too.

The U23 currently only comes in “Gradient Blue”, which changes from blue to purple depending on how light hits the back plastic. The colour gradient makes the U23 look more premium than most smartphones at this price, although the plastic back will not catch as much light as the glass-backed Mate 20 Pro does.

Size Comparison

161.4 mm / 6.35 inch 76.9 mm / 3.03 inch 7.9 mm / 0.311 inch 178 g0.3924 lbs160.4 mm / 6.31 inch 76.6 mm / 3.02 inch 7.8 mm / 0.3071 inch 175 g0.3858 lbs158.6 mm / 6.24 inch 75.4 mm / 2.97 inch 7.3 mm / 0.2874 inch 168 g0.3704 lbs153.7 mm / 6.05 inch 75.8 mm / 2.98 inch 9.3 mm / 0.3661 inch 201 g0.4431 lbs151.1 mm / 5.95 inch 70.7 mm / 2.78 inch 8.2 mm / 0.3228 inch 151 g0.3329 lbs150.7 mm / 5.93 inch 72.3 mm / 2.85 inch 8.3 mm / 0.3268 inch 163 g0.3594 lbs

Connectivity

The OUKITEL U23 supports Qi wireless charging
The OUKITEL U23 supports Qi wireless charging

The U23 is comparatively well-equipped for a sub-US$200 smartphone. The device not only has a USB 2.0 Type-C port but also supports Qi wireless charging. Our test device charges wirelessly at around 10 W, for reference. The U23 supports USB On-The-Go (OTG) too, which allows you to connect USB flash drives or other USB peripherals.

OUKITEL has equipped the U23 with 64 GB of eMMC flash storage, of which 52 GB was available on our test device when we first booted it. The U23 also supports up to 128-GB microSD cards should you need more space. Our test device can format microSD cards as internal storage, which means that it can store apps or data on expandable memory. The U23 does not support exFAT though, which limits file sizes to 4 GB.

The U23 also has an FM radio, a fingerprint sensor and it supports Wi-Fi Direct. Moreover, wireless transmitting display content to external monitors via Miracast worked flawlessly during our tests with a Sony Android TV. Unfortunately, OUKITEL chose to omit the headphone jack, so you can only connect traditional headphones via USB Type-C. The company included an appropriate adapter with our test device though, but the lack of a headphone jack feels unnecessary given how thick the U23 is.

Software

The U23 ships with Android 8.1 Oreo, which OUKITEL has customised with its own UI. Our test device arrived with October 2018 Android security patches installed, which were a few months old at the time of testing. OUKITEL has not confirmed whether it plans to update the U23 to Android 9 Pie.

OUKITEL has slightly tweaked the UI compared to stock Android, but the differences are minor and should not need any time to adjust to if you have used an Android smartphone before. The company does not install any third-party applications on the U23 either, which is pleasing.

Settings menu
Settings menu
Quick Settings
Quick Settings
Default home screen
Default home screen
Default app drawer and preinstalled apps
Default app drawer and preinstalled apps
Default launcher
Default launcher

Communication & GPS

The U23 is a dual-SIM device but its second SIM slot is a hybrid one, which means that the device can be equipped with either two nano SIMs or a single SIM and a microSD card. The U23 supports LTE Cat. 6, which theoretically allows it to achieve 300 Mb/s download and 50 Mb/s upload speeds. The device only supports five LTE bands, so we suggest checking whether the U23 supports the LTE bands used in your country before purchasing it. The device supports all major GSM and 3G frequencies too. There is also Bluetooth 4.2 for near-field communications.

The U23 supports modern Wi-Fi standards up to IEEE 802.11n and can connect to either 2.4 or 5.0 GHz Wi-Fi networks. The Wi-Fi range of our test device is disappointing though. Moreover, we recorded a -46 dBm attenuation when we tested the U23 next to our Telekom Speedport W921V router, which is rather high. Our test device also performed underwhelmingly in iperf3 Client Wi-Fi tests with our Linksys EA8500 reference router and averaged less than 80 Mb/s in both tests. Only the Galaxy J4 Plus (2018) performed worse than the U23 out of our comparison devices in these tests.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
615 (min: 532, max: 642) MBit/s ∼100% +777%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
491 (min: 100, max: 534) MBit/s ∼80% +600%
BQ Aquaris X2
Adreno 509, 636, 32 GB eMMC Flash
275 MBit/s ∼45% +292%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
Adreno 512, 660, 64 GB eMMC Flash
246 MBit/s ∼40% +251%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=367)
219 MBit/s ∼36% +212%
Honor 8X
Mali-G51 MP4, Kirin 710, 128 GB eMMC Flash
207 (min: 162, max: 243) MBit/s ∼34% +195%
Nokia 5.1
Mali-T860 MP2, Helio P10 MT6755, 16 GB eMMC Flash
111 (min: 98, max: 119) MBit/s ∼18% +58%
Oukitel U23
Mali-G71 MP2, Helio P23 MT6763V, 64 GB eMMC Flash
70.1 (min: 23, max: 83) MBit/s ∼11%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
Adreno 308, 425, 32 GB eMMC Flash
48.1 (min: 23, max: 55) MBit/s ∼8% -31%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
696 (min: 647, max: 714) MBit/s ∼100% +784%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Mali-G76 MP10, Kirin 980, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
663 (min: 289, max: 805) MBit/s ∼95% +742%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
Adreno 512, 660, 64 GB eMMC Flash
333 MBit/s ∼48% +323%
BQ Aquaris X2
Adreno 509, 636, 32 GB eMMC Flash
322 (min: 275) MBit/s ∼46% +309%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=367)
210 MBit/s ∼30% +167%
Honor 8X
Mali-G51 MP4, Kirin 710, 128 GB eMMC Flash
182 (min: 136, max: 231) MBit/s ∼26% +131%
Nokia 5.1
Mali-T860 MP2, Helio P10 MT6755, 16 GB eMMC Flash
111 (min: 87, max: 129) MBit/s ∼16% +41%
Oukitel U23
Mali-G71 MP2, Helio P23 MT6763V, 64 GB eMMC Flash
78.7 (min: 21, max: 90) MBit/s ∼11%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
Adreno 308, 425, 32 GB eMMC Flash
38 (min: 19, max: 52) MBit/s ∼5% -52%
0102030405060708090Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø70 (23-83)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø78.6 (21-90)
GPS Test: Indoors
GPS Test: Indoors
GPS Test: Outdoors
GPS Test: Outdoors

The U23 uses the GPS, GLONASS and SBAS for location services. Our test device finds a satellite fix with up to four metres accuracy whether we are indoors or outdoors, which is impressive.

We also took the U23 on a bike ride to compare its location accuracy against our reference navigation system, the Garmin Edge 500. Our test device performed well and only deviated by 60 metres over the 9.33 km that our Garmin recorded us having cycled. The U23 occasionally could not match the precision of the Garmin’s GPS as the screenshots below demonstrate, but overall the U23 is accurate enough for general navigation tasks.

GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500 - Lake
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500 - Lake
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500 – Loop
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500 – Loop
GPS Test: OUKITEL U23 - Overview
GPS Test: OUKITEL U23 - Overview
GPS Test: OUKITEL U23 - Lake
GPS Test: OUKITEL U23 - Lake
GPS Test: OUKITEL U23 - Loop
GPS Test: OUKITEL U23 - Loop

Telephone Features & Call Quality

Dialler
Dialler
Number pad
Number pad

The U23 does not support VoLTE or VoWiFi. The call quality on our test device is decent, and we encountered no reception dropouts during our tests. Moreover, both sides of the call sounded clear and intelligible.

OUKITEL preinstalls the Google suite of telephony apps to handle calls, contacts and messages. The apps function just like they do on other devices as demonstrated by the screenshots to the right.

Cameras

Photo taken with the front-facing camera
Photo taken with the front-facing camera

The U23 has a single front-facing camera and dual rear-facing sensors. The main rear-facing camera is a 16 MP Samsung CMOS sensor that has an f/2.8 aperture and supports phase detection autofocus. Both the 16 MP rear-facing camera and the 8 MP front-facing sensor can record videos in up to 1080p at 30 FPS.

The secondary rear-facing camera is also a Samsung sensor. The 2 MP camera theoretically provides depth of field data to help improve bokeh-effect photos. However, bokeh-effect photos are generally a blurry mess as our photos below demonstrate. Obscuring the secondary lens does not affect the depth of field effect created either, which suggests that bokeh effects are generated by software and not by combining the data from the two sensors. We also experienced the same behaviour with the OUKITEL WP1 that we recently reviewed.

The 16 MP camera takes decent photos in favourable ambient light, but the camera quality is visibly worse than the camera in the Mi 6X, for example. The camera occasionally struggles to autofocus correctly, which resulted in several of our test photos looking heavily blurred. Low-light photos are dominated by image noise too, which is predictable given the 16 MP camera’s narrow aperture.

By contrast, the 8 MP front-facing camera has an f/2.2 aperture. The quality of photos that it takes is respectable considering how much the U23 costs and should be good enough for taking occasional snapshots and uploading them to social media.

Photo taken with the rear-facing camera
Photo taken with the rear-facing camera
Photo taken with portrait mode
Photo taken with portrait mode
Photo taken with the rear-facing camera
Photo taken with the rear-facing camera
Photo taken with portrait mode
Photo taken with portrait mode
Photo taken at night
Photo taken at night
Default camera app – Colour mode
Default camera app – Colour mode
Default camera app – Camera settings
Default camera app – Camera settings
Default camera app – View finder
Default camera app – View finder
Default camera app – Camera settings
Default camera app – Camera settings

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

Accessories & Warranty

OUKITEL includes a 10 W charger in the box along with a USB Type-C cable, a USB Type-C to 3.5 mm jack adapter, a silicone case and a quick-start guide.

The U23 comes with 12 months manufacturer’s warranty. OUKITEL’s warranty page on its website does not reveal in what countries its manufacturer’s warranty applies, but we suspect that this is only China. We would recommend researching about buying from Chinese import companies if you are considering the U23 as you could be left with a lengthy returns process if you do not have a third-party warranty. Please see our Guarantees, Return policies and Warranties article for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

The U23 has a five-point multitouch touchscreen that reacted precisely and quickly throughout testing. The glass display has an anti-fingerprint coating that aids the performance of multi-finger gestures. The U23 does not support any gesture controls that we have seen on other smartphones like OnePlus devices, but its onscreen buttons function as they do on other Android smartphones.

OUKITEL has equipped the U23 with a fingerprint scanner, but it is just as slow and inaccurate as the one that we reviewed in the OUKITEL U18. The screen takes several seconds to wake up once our test device recognises our fingerprint. Moreover, the U23 only recognises our fingerprint around 60% of the time, which meant that we had to reposition our finger before the device would wake repeatedly.

By contrast, the face unlock system works better than the fingerprint sensor. However, it is also less secure as it just uses a picture of a face for authentication rather than a 3D depth profile that a system like Face ID creates. Worse still, the equivalent systems on the Xiaomi Redmi 6 Pro and the Mi A2 Lite are more accurate and are quicker at recognising our face. In short, the U23 has disappointing biometric authentication methods.

Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The U23 has a 6.18-inch IPS display that operates natively at 2246x1080, which yields a pixel density of 400 PPI. Text looks sharp and individual pixels are hardly recognisable from typical viewing distances. Our test device achieved an average maximum brightness of 472 cd/m² according to X-Rite i1Pro 2, but this drops to 351 cd/m² with the more practical APL50 test. Both values are satisfactory for lower midrange devices.

453
cd/m²
468
cd/m²
446
cd/m²
470
cd/m²
472
cd/m²
447
cd/m²
471
cd/m²
467
cd/m²
434
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 472 cd/m² Average: 458.7 cd/m² Minimum: 17.16 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 92 %
Center on Battery: 472 cd/m²
Contrast: 3631:1 (Black: 0.13 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 5.5 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.1
ΔE Greyscale 6.1 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
99.7% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.31
Oukitel U23
IPS, 2246x1080, 6.18
Xiaomi Mi 6X
LCD IPS, 2160x1080, 5.99
BQ Aquaris X2
IPS LCD, 2160x1080, 5.65
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
IPS, 1480x720, 6
Nokia 5.1
IPS, 2160x1080, 5.5
Honor 8X
LCD IPS, 2340x1080, 6.5
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
OLED, 3120x1440, 6.3
Screen
-48%
-44%
-63%
0%
-59%
43%
Brightness middle
472
459
-3%
631
34%
558
18%
447
-5%
484
3%
576
22%
Brightness
459
441
-4%
622
36%
549
20%
451
-2%
469
2%
582
27%
Brightness Distribution
92
91
-1%
96
4%
89
-3%
88
-4%
93
1%
90
-2%
Black Level *
0.13
0.47
-262%
0.61
-369%
0.57
-338%
0.16
-23%
0.55
-323%
Contrast
3631
977
-73%
1034
-72%
979
-73%
2794
-23%
880
-76%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
5.5
5.8
-5%
5.5
-0%
7
-27%
4.5
18%
7.3
-33%
1.3
76%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
9.1
10.7
-18%
8.5
7%
13.3
-46%
7.9
13%
11.1
-22%
3.5
62%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
6.1
7.3
-20%
5.6
8%
9.4
-54%
4.5
26%
7.4
-21%
1.6
74%
Gamma
2.31 95%
2.28 96%
2.38 92%
2.15 102%
2.31 95%
2.16 102%
2.18 101%
CCT
8152 80%
7984 81%
7531 86%
9626 68%
7517 86%
8534 76%
6561 99%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9705 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Our test device achieves a comparatively low black value of 0.13 cd/m², which helps it yield an excellent 3,631:1 contrast ratio. It is worth keeping in mind that APL50 claims our test device achieves a 0.22 cd/m² black value and a 1,595:1 contrast ratio. The latter are still outstanding values for a device at this price.

Unfortunately, the display has an 8,152 K colour temperature, which is much higher than the ideal value of 6,500 K. This means that colours look cooler than they otherwise should. CalMAN identifies that the greyscale has a blue tint to it, but we did not find this distracting in daily use. The U23 has respectable Delta E deviations too. The gamma value is only marginally above the ideal value too.

CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space – sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space – sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale – sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale – sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour saturation – sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour saturation – sRGB target colour space

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
32.8 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 15.6 ms rise
↘ 17.2 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 84 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (25.5 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
47.6 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 22.4 ms rise
↘ 25.2 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 77 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (40.7 ms).

The U23 has strong viewing angles thanks to its IPS display. We notice no brightness, colour or image distortions even at acute viewing angles, so you should be able to read the U23 from almost any angle.

The device is usable outdoors too and gets bright enough to overcome reflections caused by direct sunlight. The high contrast ratio helps with readability too.

Viewing angles
Viewing angles
Viewing angles
Viewing angles
Using the OUKITEL U23 outside
Using the OUKITEL U23 outside
Using the OUKITEL U23 outside
Using the OUKITEL U23 outside

Performance

The MediaTek Helio P23 MT6763V SoC powers the U23. The chip combines eight ARM Cortex-A53 cores in two clusters and is manufactured on 16 nm FinFET process. The MT6763V has a slightly lower clock speed than its sibling, the MT6763T, and it integrates an ARM Mali-G71 MP2 GPU, which is a relatively weak GPU.

Correspondingly, system performance is not always smooth because of the device’s native 1080p resolution. Moreover, we experienced stutters and delays in daily use. Benchmark results also reveal that the Helio P23 is not particularly competitive even when paired with 6 GB of RAM. The U23 scored slightly higher than the average of MT6763V-powered devices that we have currently tested though. Additionally, the Mali-G71 MP2 GPU cannot compete with the ARM Mali-G51 MP4 and the Qualcomm Adreno 512 that power the Honor 8X and the Xiaomi Mi 6X, respectively.

Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
3293 Points ∼37%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
5486 Points ∼61% +67%
BQ Aquaris X2
4309 Points ∼48% +31%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
1413 Points ∼16% -57%
Nokia 5.1
2396 Points ∼27% -27%
Honor 8X
4083 Points ∼46% +24%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
8938 Points ∼100% +171%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (2782 - 3293, n=5)
2977 Points ∼33% -10%
Average of class Smartphone (870 - 21070, n=254)
4647 Points ∼52% +41%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
4206 Points ∼42%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
5843 Points ∼58% +39%
BQ Aquaris X2
4974 Points ∼50% +18%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
1816 Points ∼18% -57%
Nokia 5.1
3225 Points ∼32% -23%
Honor 8X
5557 Points ∼55% +32%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
10024 Points ∼100% +138%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (3594 - 4206, n=5)
3780 Points ∼38% -10%
Average of class Smartphone (1174 - 11598, n=307)
4457 Points ∼44% +6%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
912 Points ∼27%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
1620 Points ∼48% +78%
BQ Aquaris X2
1323 Points ∼39% +45%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
652 Points ∼19% -29%
Nokia 5.1
825 Points ∼24% -10%
Honor 8X
1614 Points ∼48% +77%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
3378 Points ∼100% +270%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (788 - 912, n=5)
824 Points ∼24% -10%
Average of class Smartphone (437 - 4824, n=308)
1311 Points ∼39% +44%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
4914 Points ∼53%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
5995 Points ∼65% +22%
BQ Aquaris X2
5706 Points ∼62% +16%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
3214 Points ∼35% -35%
Nokia 5.1
3350 Points ∼36% -32%
Honor 8X
7141 Points ∼77% +45%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
9225 Points ∼100% +88%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (4693 - 4914, n=4)
4791 Points ∼52% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (2828 - 9868, n=317)
4826 Points ∼52% -2%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
6478 Points ∼52%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
6723 Points ∼54% +4%
BQ Aquaris X2
6437 Points ∼51% -1%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
4009 Points ∼32% -38%
Nokia 5.1
4234 Points ∼34% -35%
Honor 8X
8939 Points ∼71% +38%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
12535 Points ∼100% +94%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (5840 - 6478, n=5)
6092 Points ∼49% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (2695 - 13531, n=486)
5249 Points ∼42% -19%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
1877 Points ∼43%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2764 Points ∼63% +47%
BQ Aquaris X2
2396 Points ∼55% +28%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
Points ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
1278 Points ∼29% -32%
Honor 8X
2702 Points ∼62% +44%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4364 Points ∼100% +132%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (1455 - 1877, n=5)
1679 Points ∼38% -11%
Average of class Smartphone (573 - 4439, n=332)
1783 Points ∼41% -5%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
419 Points ∼10%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
1244 Points ∼29% +197%
BQ Aquaris X2
872 Points ∼21% +108%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
Points ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
406 Points ∼10% -3%
Honor 8X
801 Points ∼19% +91%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4250 Points ∼100% +914%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (380 - 419, n=5)
390 Points ∼9% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (76 - 8206, n=332)
1525 Points ∼36% +264%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
504 Points ∼12%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
1417 Points ∼33% +181%
BQ Aquaris X2
1016 Points ∼24% +102%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
Points ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
479 Points ∼11% -5%
Honor 8X
950 Points ∼22% +88%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4275 Points ∼100% +748%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (457 - 504, n=5)
469 Points ∼11% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (94 - 5913, n=335)
1421 Points ∼33% +182%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
1888 Points ∼43%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2815 Points ∼64% +49%
BQ Aquaris X2
2359 Points ∼54% +25%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
887 Points ∼20% -53%
Nokia 5.1
1248 Points ∼28% -34%
Honor 8X
2697 Points ∼61% +43%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4407 Points ∼100% +133%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (1473 - 1888, n=5)
1644 Points ∼37% -13%
Average of class Smartphone (375 - 4493, n=347)
1760 Points ∼40% -7%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
654 Points ∼11%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
1981 Points ∼34% +203%
BQ Aquaris X2
1402 Points ∼24% +114%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
246 Points ∼4% -62%
Nokia 5.1
572 Points ∼10% -13%
Honor 8X
1316 Points ∼22% +101%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5854 Points ∼100% +795%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (598 - 654, n=5)
612 Points ∼10% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (131 - 14951, n=347)
2103 Points ∼36% +222%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
765 Points ∼14%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2121 Points ∼39% +177%
BQ Aquaris X2
1540 Points ∼28% +101%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
293 Points ∼5% -62%
Nokia 5.1
650 Points ∼12% -15%
Honor 8X
1485 Points ∼27% +94%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5456 Points ∼100% +613%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (690 - 765, n=5)
711 Points ∼13% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (159 - 7856, n=348)
1786 Points ∼33% +133%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
1778 Points ∼43%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2757 Points ∼66% +55%
BQ Aquaris X2
2353 Points ∼56% +32%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
Points ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
1379 Points ∼33% -22%
Honor 8X
2663 Points ∼64% +50%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4183 Points ∼100% +135%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (1374 - 1778, n=5)
1587 Points ∼38% -11%
Average of class Smartphone (486 - 4216, n=408)
1714 Points ∼41% -4%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
402 Points ∼10%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
1164 Points ∼28% +190%
BQ Aquaris X2
816 Points ∼19% +103%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
Points ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
225 Points ∼5% -44%
Honor 8X
798 Points ∼19% +99%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4206 Points ∼100% +946%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (364 - 402, n=5)
378 Points ∼9% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (65 - 6355, n=410)
1254 Points ∼30% +212%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
486 Points ∼12%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
1335 Points ∼32% +175%
BQ Aquaris X2
955 Points ∼23% +97%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
Points ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
276 Points ∼7% -43%
Honor 8X
945 Points ∼22% +94%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4201 Points ∼100% +764%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (439 - 486, n=5)
451 Points ∼11% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (80 - 5509, n=418)
1200 Points ∼29% +147%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
1774 Points ∼43%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2680 Points ∼65% +51%
BQ Aquaris X2
2338 Points ∼56% +32%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
890 Points ∼21% -50%
Nokia 5.1
1348 Points ∼32% -24%
Honor 8X
2645 Points ∼64% +49%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4150 Points ∼100% +134%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (1365 - 1774, n=5)
1570 Points ∼38% -11%
Average of class Smartphone (512 - 4215, n=441)
1618 Points ∼39% -9%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
623 Points ∼12%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
1891 Points ∼36% +204%
BQ Aquaris X2
1337 Points ∼25% +115%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
55 Points ∼1% -91%
Nokia 5.1
131 Points ∼2% -79%
Honor 8X
1280 Points ∼24% +105%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
5305 Points ∼100% +752%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (575 - 623, n=5)
589 Points ∼11% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (43 - 9963, n=441)
1706 Points ∼32% +174%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
728 Points ∼15%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2023 Points ∼40% +178%
BQ Aquaris X2
1478 Points ∼30% +103%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
69 Points ∼1% -91%
Nokia 5.1
164 Points ∼3% -77%
Honor 8X
1445 Points ∼29% +98%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4996 Points ∼100% +586%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (654 - 728, n=5)
680 Points ∼14% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (55 - 7166, n=449)
1462 Points ∼29% +101%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
12577 Points ∼34%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
21016 Points ∼57% +67%
BQ Aquaris X2
16747 Points ∼46% +33%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
10151 Points ∼28% -19%
Nokia 5.1
12452 Points ∼34% -1%
Honor 8X
17450 Points ∼47% +39%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
36755 Points ∼100% +192%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (10234 - 12577, n=5)
10817 Points ∼29% -14%
Average of class Smartphone (10981 - 37475, n=602)
13339 Points ∼36% +6%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
12065 Points ∼18%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
28984 Points ∼43% +140%
BQ Aquaris X2
20806 Points ∼31% +72%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
5340 Points ∼8% -56%
Nokia 5.1
11324 Points ∼17% -6%
Honor 8X
21533 Points ∼32% +78%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
67730 Points ∼100% +461%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (1152 - 12065, n=5)
9184 Points ∼14% -24%
Average of class Smartphone (3700 - 162695, n=602)
19097 Points ∼28% +58%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
12134 Points ∼21%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
26731 Points ∼47% +120%
BQ Aquaris X2
19743 Points ∼35% +63%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
5969 Points ∼10% -51%
Nokia 5.1
11557 Points ∼20% -5%
Honor 8X
20468 Points ∼36% +69%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
57047 Points ∼100% +370%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (10772 - 12134, n=5)
11091 Points ∼19% -9%
Average of class Smartphone (4339 - 77599, n=603)
16007 Points ∼28% +32%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
24 fps ∼20%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
50 fps ∼42% +108%
BQ Aquaris X2
36 fps ∼30% +50%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
7.6 fps ∼6% -68%
Nokia 5.1
19 fps ∼16% -21%
Honor 8X
39 fps ∼33% +63%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
120 fps ∼100% +400%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (21 - 24, n=5)
22 fps ∼18% -8%
Average of class Smartphone (4.4 - 251, n=626)
33.2 fps ∼28% +38%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
23 fps ∼38%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
48 fps ∼79% +109%
BQ Aquaris X2
34 fps ∼56% +48%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
13 fps ∼21% -43%
Nokia 5.1
17 fps ∼28% -26%
Honor 8X
36 fps ∼59% +57%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
61 fps ∼100% +165%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (21 - 35, n=5)
27 fps ∼44% +17%
Average of class Smartphone (11 - 120, n=629)
26.1 fps ∼43% +13%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
11 fps ∼15%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
23 fps ∼32% +109%
BQ Aquaris X2
16 fps ∼22% +45%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
2.8 fps ∼4% -75%
Nokia 5.1
8.22 fps ∼11% -25%
Honor 8X
21 fps ∼29% +91%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
73 fps ∼100% +564%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (10 - 11, n=5)
10.4 fps ∼14% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (2.7 - 132, n=544)
18.1 fps ∼25% +65%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
11 fps ∼26%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
21 fps ∼50% +91%
BQ Aquaris X2
15 fps ∼36% +36%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
5.5 fps ∼13% -50%
Nokia 5.1
7.7 fps ∼18% -30%
Honor 8X
19 fps ∼45% +73%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
42 fps ∼100% +282%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (9.7 - 20, n=5)
14.1 fps ∼34% +28%
Average of class Smartphone (6.2 - 115, n=549)
17 fps ∼40% +55%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
7.2 fps ∼25%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
15 fps ∼52% +108%
BQ Aquaris X2
10 fps ∼34% +39%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
fps ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
2.8 fps ∼10% -61%
Honor 8X
14 fps ∼48% +94%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
29 fps ∼100% +303%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (6.6 - 7.2, n=5)
6.72 fps ∼23% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (1.3 - 88, n=406)
15.2 fps ∼52% +111%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
6.9 fps ∼27%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
14 fps ∼54% +103%
BQ Aquaris X2
9.8 fps ∼38% +42%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
fps ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
5.2 fps ∼20% -25%
Honor 8X
13 fps ∼50% +88%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
26 fps ∼100% +277%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (6.1 - 14, n=5)
9.46 fps ∼36% +37%
Average of class Smartphone (3.8 - 110, n=409)
14.6 fps ∼56% +112%
GFXBench
High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
1.5 fps ∼8%
Nokia 5.1
fps ∼0% -100%
Honor 8X
4.1 fps ∼22% +173%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
19 fps ∼100% +1167%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (1.4 - 3.7, n=5)
2.48 fps ∼13% +65%
Average of class Smartphone (2 - 59, n=110)
9.27 fps ∼49% +518%
2560x1440 High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
2.4 fps ∼18%
Nokia 5.1
fps ∼0% -100%
Honor 8X
2.6 fps ∼20% +8%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
13 fps ∼100% +442%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (1.4 - 2.4, n=5)
1.76 fps ∼14% -27%
Average of class Smartphone (0.4 - 31, n=110)
6.42 fps ∼49% +168%
Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
4 fps ∼22%
Nokia 5.1
2.3 fps ∼13% -42%
Honor 8X
5.2 fps ∼29% +30%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
18 fps ∼100% +350%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (3.5 - 6.4, n=5)
4.6 fps ∼26% +15%
Average of class Smartphone (2.5 - 59, n=111)
13.6 fps ∼76% +240%
1920x1080 Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
4.2 fps ∼13%
Nokia 5.1
2.7 fps ∼8% -36%
Honor 8X
4.6 fps ∼14% +10%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
33 fps ∼100% +686%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (3.8 - 4.2, n=5)
3.88 fps ∼12% -8%
Average of class Smartphone (0.6 - 63, n=110)
15.3 fps ∼46% +264%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
4.2 fps ∼14%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
9 fps ∼29% +114%
BQ Aquaris X2
6.3 fps ∼20% +50%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
fps ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
2.7 fps ∼9% -36%
Honor 8X
7.6 fps ∼25% +81%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
31 fps ∼100% +638%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (3.8 - 4.2, n=5)
3.9 fps ∼13% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (2.6 - 54, n=335)
10.3 fps ∼33% +145%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
4.1 fps ∼26%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
8.6 fps ∼54% +110%
BQ Aquaris X2
6 fps ∼38% +46%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
fps ∼0% -100%
Nokia 5.1
2.8 fps ∼18% -32%
Honor 8X
6.4 fps ∼40% +56%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
16 fps ∼100% +290%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (3.6 - 7.8, n=5)
5.36 fps ∼34% +31%
Average of class Smartphone (0.6 - 58, n=339)
9.3 fps ∼58% +127%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
94789 Points ∼32%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
140714 Points ∼47% +48%
BQ Aquaris X2
116748 Points ∼39% +23%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
42138 Points ∼14% -56%
Honor 8X
140188 Points ∼47% +48%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
300617 Points ∼100% +217%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (83745 - 94789, n=5)
86177 Points ∼29% -9%
Average of class Smartphone (41483 - 374820, n=229)
125377 Points ∼42% +32%
AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
73075 Points ∼29%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
110680 Points ∼44% +51%
BQ Aquaris X2
96430 Points ∼38% +32%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
37022 Points ∼15% -49%
Nokia 5.1
56750 Points ∼23% -22%
Honor 8X
112870 Points ∼45% +54%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
250848 Points ∼100% +243%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (62732 - 73075, n=4)
65703 Points ∼26% -10%
Average of class Smartphone (23275 - 274007, n=437)
81300 Points ∼32% +11%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
10 Points ∼1%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
1108 Points ∼78% +10980%
BQ Aquaris X2
1059 Points ∼74% +10490%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
636 Points ∼45% +6260%
Nokia 5.1
10 Points ∼1% 0%
Honor 8X
1207 Points ∼85% +11970%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
1424 Points ∼100% +14140%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (10 - 762, n=5)
455 Points ∼32% +4450%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1731, n=559)
722 Points ∼51% +7120%
Graphics (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
949 Points ∼15%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2295 Points ∼37% +142%
BQ Aquaris X2
1597 Points ∼25% +68%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
430 Points ∼7% -55%
Nokia 5.1
762 Points ∼12% -20%
Honor 8X
1456 Points ∼23% +53%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
6273 Points ∼100% +561%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (859 - 949, n=5)
883 Points ∼14% -7%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 15969, n=559)
1848 Points ∼29% +95%
Memory (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
1403 Points ∼22%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2470 Points ∼39% +76%
BQ Aquaris X2
2016 Points ∼32% +44%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
647 Points ∼10% -54%
Nokia 5.1
144 Points ∼2% -90%
Honor 8X
4360 Points ∼69% +211%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
6283 Points ∼100% +348%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (1136 - 1403, n=5)
1266 Points ∼20% -10%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 6283, n=559)
1358 Points ∼22% -3%
System (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
3290 Points ∼38%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
4797 Points ∼56% +46%
BQ Aquaris X2
4434 Points ∼52% +35%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
1220 Points ∼14% -63%
Nokia 5.1
2589 Points ∼30% -21%
Honor 8X
5529 Points ∼64% +68%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
8604 Points ∼100% +162%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (2363 - 3290, n=5)
2651 Points ∼31% -19%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 12202, n=559)
2719 Points ∼32% -17%
Overall (sort by value)
Oukitel U23
455 Points ∼10%
Xiaomi Mi 6X
2343 Points ∼50% +415%
BQ Aquaris X2
1972 Points ∼42% +333%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
682 Points ∼15% +50%
Nokia 5.1
230 Points ∼5% -49%
Honor 8X
2410 Points ∼51% +430%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4687 Points ∼100% +930%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (384 - 1214, n=5)
887 Points ∼19% +95%
Average of class Smartphone (150 - 6097, n=563)
1349 Points ∼29% +196%

Legend

 
Oukitel U23 Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V, ARM Mali-G71 MP2, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Xiaomi Mi 6X Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Qualcomm Adreno 512, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
BQ Aquaris X2 Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Qualcomm Adreno 509, 32 GB eMMC Flash
 
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018 Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Qualcomm Adreno 308, 32 GB eMMC Flash
 
Nokia 5.1 Mediatek Helio P10 MT6755, ARM Mali-T860 MP2, 16 GB eMMC Flash
 
Honor 8X HiSilicon Kirin 710, ARM Mali-G51 MP4, 128 GB eMMC Flash
 
Huawei Mate 20 Pro HiSilicon Kirin 980, ARM Mali-G76 MP10, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash

The U23 did not impress in browser benchmarks either. Complex websites loaded quickly and error-free in daily use. Even the scrolling is mostly fluid, but the U23 finished near the bottom of our browser benchmark comparison tables. Only the Nokia 5.1 and the Galaxy J4 Plus (2018) performed worse in our three benchmarks that we conducted on all our devices.

JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
109.18 Points ∼100% +322%
Xiaomi Mi 6X (Chrome 67)
52.139 Points ∼48% +101%
Honor 8X (Chrome 70)
47.012 Points ∼43% +82%
BQ Aquaris X2 (Chrome 67)
44.245 Points ∼41% +71%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 273, n=470)
37.8 Points ∼35% +46%
Oukitel U23 (Chrome 71)
25.897 Points ∼24%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (22 - 25.9, n=5)
23.1 Points ∼21% -11%
Nokia 5.1 (Chrome 70)
22.522 Points ∼21% -13%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018 (Chrome 71.0.3578.98)
18.055 Points ∼17% -30%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
23285 Points ∼100% +379%
Xiaomi Mi 6X (Chrome 67)
9995 Points ∼43% +106%
Honor 8X (Chrome 70)
9095 Points ∼39% +87%
BQ Aquaris X2 (Chrome 67)
9004 Points ∼39% +85%
Average of class Smartphone (3126 - 43280, n=619)
5931 Points ∼25% +22%
Oukitel U23 (Chrome 71)
4862 Points ∼21%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (3998 - 4862, n=5)
4321 Points ∼19% -11%
Nokia 5.1 (Chrome 70)
4042 Points ∼17% -17%
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018 (Chrome 71.0.3578.98)
3114 Points ∼13% -36%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018 (Chrome 71.0.3578.98)
12935.3 ms * ∼100% -14%
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V (11309 - 13077, n=5)
12230 ms * ∼95% -8%
Oukitel U23 (Chrome 71)
11308.8 ms * ∼87%
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=638)
11085 ms * ∼86% +2%
Nokia 5.1 (Chrome 70)
11043 ms * ∼85% +2%
Xiaomi Mi 6X (Chrome 67)
4768.9 ms * ∼37% +58%
BQ Aquaris X2
4733 ms * ∼37% +58%
Honor 8X
4247.7 ms * ∼33% +62%
Huawei Mate 20 Pro (Chrome 69)
1951.9 ms * ∼15% +83%

* ... smaller is better

The speed of the eMMC flash storage is average for a midrange smartphone too. Our test device fared well in the AndroBench 5 test; the U23 can compete with our comparison devices that are also equipped with eMMC memory, but the transfer rates are well below the UFS-equipped competition like the Mate 20 Pro.

By contrast, the U23 has a fast microSD card slot, which achieved above average transfer speeds. Our test device achieved 81 MB/s read and 74 MB/s write speeds with our Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 microSD card, which are well below the card’s theoretical average speeds.

Oukitel U23Xiaomi Mi 6XBQ Aquaris X2Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018Nokia 5.1Honor 8XHuawei Mate 20 ProAverage 64 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-7%
-10%
-17%
-36%
34%
200%
-3%
-23%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
74.22 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
62.28 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-16%
62.35 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-16%
55.53 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M401)
-25%
68.12 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-8%
72.38 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
-2%
55.7 (58.4 - 74.7, n=92)
-25%
47.4 (9.5 - 87.1, n=371)
-36%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
80.54 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
82.91 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
3%
76.65 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-5%
72.58 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M401)
-10%
75.24 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-7%
83.18 (Huawei NanoSD 128 GB)
3%
73.9 (81.2 - 87.2, n=92)
-8%
65.5 (8.1 - 96.5, n=371)
-19%
Random Write 4KB
17.46
6.89
-61%
14.4
-18%
13.33
-24%
4.93
-72%
59.87
243%
157.84
804%
23.1 (3.4 - 88.2, n=101)
32%
18.5 (0.14 - 250, n=669)
6%
Random Read 4KB
53.23
72.98
37%
43.9
-18%
48.42
-9%
44.24
-17%
49.54
-7%
157.42
196%
53 (11.4 - 149, n=101)
0%
42.1 (1.59 - 174, n=669)
-21%
Sequential Write 256KB
207.89
203.7
-2%
188.7
-9%
99.58
-52%
25.96
-88%
169.98
-18%
196.39
-6%
172 (40 - 246, n=101)
-17%
87.6 (2.99 - 388, n=669)
-58%
Sequential Read 256KB
278.56
271.98
-2%
270.5
-3%
292.15
5%
264.47
-5%
283.87
2%
853.28
206%
272 (115 - 704, n=101)
-2%
246 (12.1 - 912, n=669)
-12%

Games

The ARM Mali-G71 MP2 is an entry-level GPU that only uses two of its 32 possible graphics cores. The GPU supports modern APIs like OpenGL ES 3.2, Vulkan 1.0 and OpenCL 2.0 though.

The U23 handles modern games like Asphalt Xtreme and PUBG Mobile well if played at medium to low graphics settings. Our test device averaged approximately 29 FPS at medium graphics settings, which is a playable but not great gaming experience.

Both the touchscreen and the corresponding sensors worked reliably throughout our gaming tests.

Asphalt Xtreme
Asphalt Xtreme
PUBG Mobile
PUBG Mobile

Emissions

Temperature

The U23 manages its surface temperatures well. Our test device reaches a maximum of 33.6 °C at idle and 33.8 °C under sustained load. It is worth keeping in mind that the area around the bottom of the display gets hotter than the rest of the screen.

Max. Load
 32.5 °C
91 F
31.8 °C
89 F
33.7 °C
93 F
 
 31.8 °C
89 F
30.1 °C
86 F
33.3 °C
92 F
 
 30.6 °C
87 F
28.7 °C
84 F
28.1 °C
83 F
 
Maximum: 33.7 °C = 93 F
Average: 31.2 °C = 88 F
28.6 °C
83 F
28.3 °C
83 F
33.5 °C
92 F
27.8 °C
82 F
27 °C
81 F
33.8 °C
93 F
27.5 °C
82 F
29.1 °C
84 F
32.1 °C
90 F
Maximum: 33.8 °C = 93 F
Average: 29.7 °C = 85 F
Power Supply (max.)  27.8 °C = 82 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(+) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 31.2 °C / 88 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 33.7 °C / 93 F, compared to the average of 35.6 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 33.8 °C / 93 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 29.1 °C / 84 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load

Speakers

Pink Noise speaker test
Pink Noise speaker test

The U23 has a single speaker on the underside of the device that reached a maximum volume of 86 dB(A) during our tests. Audio distorts at maximum volume, while the frequency spectrum is dominated by mid and high tones. The pink noise diagram also shows that lower frequencies are almost inaudible. Overall, the distribution of mid and high tones is too linear for our liking.

We would recommend connecting external speakers or headphones for a better listening experience. OUKITEL does not include headphones with the U23, but there is a USB Type-C to 3.5 mm jack adapter for connecting traditional wired headphones. You could also connect Bluetooth headphones or speakers too if you prefer a wireless listening experience.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2031.1322529.225.5312620.14023.225.35031.933.66327.428.8802924.510024.220.112518.418.81601818.620017.418.325014.421.131515.835.540016.347.450015.456.963014.763.480016.271.5100014.773.4125013.872.116001468.2200014.466.2250014.168.1315014.672.4400014.675.1500014.480.8630014.479.3800014.870.91000015.261.31250014.757.41600014.848.2SPL26.986.1N0.960median 14.7median 63.4Delta1.417.135.240.932.939.937.234.931.740.339.639.128.334.127.332.326.928.726.731.5243920.946.220.948.319.555.718.562.917.565.817.569.615.769.215.87016.675.215.873.715.474.215.573.51671.615.873.11671.616.367.116.367.716.271.816.475.516.459.928.684.11.158.5median 16.4median 69.22.18.8hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseOukitel U23Xiaomi Mi 6X
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Oukitel U23 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 41.4% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (8% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 7.1% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (11.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 9.7% higher than median
(±) | linearity of highs is average (10% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(-) | overall sound is not linear (35.2% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 95% of all tested devices in this class were better, 2% similar, 3% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 96% of all tested devices were better, 1% similar, 3% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Xiaomi Mi 6X audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (84.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 27.6% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (9.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.3% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 2.7% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (18.7% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 7% of all tested devices in this class were better, 5% similar, 88% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 34% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 60% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The U23 has acceptable power consumption. Our test device consumes more at idle than our comparison devices, but it operates comparatively economically under sustained load. Its low consumption under load does not prevent the U23 from consuming more than the average of Helio P23-powered smartphones that we have currently reviewed though.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.02 / 0.39 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 1.01 / 2.59 / 2.62 Watt
Load midlight 3.26 / 4.81 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Oukitel U23
3500 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 6X
3010 mAh
BQ Aquaris X2
3100 mAh
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
3300 mAh
Nokia 5.1
2970 mAh
Honor 8X
3750 mAh
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4200 mAh
Average Mediatek Helio P23 MT6763V
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
4%
1%
6%
-15%
-6%
-6%
11%
4%
Idle Minimum *
1.01
0.65
36%
0.65
36%
0.68
33%
1.38
-37%
0.92
9%
0.95
6%
0.838 (0.7 - 1.01, n=5)
17%
0.884 (0.2 - 3.4, n=700)
12%
Idle Average *
2.59
1.94
25%
2.24
14%
1.78
31%
2.14
17%
2.3
11%
2.17
16%
1.982 (1.2 - 2.59, n=5)
23%
1.737 (0.6 - 6.2, n=699)
33%
Idle Maximum *
2.62
1.97
25%
2.26
14%
1.82
31%
2.2
16%
2.32
11%
2.25
14%
2.31 (1.99 - 2.62, n=5)
12%
2.02 (0.74 - 6.6, n=700)
23%
Load Average *
3.26
4.65
-43%
3.87
-19%
4.44
-36%
4.21
-29%
4.37
-34%
4.47
-37%
3.39 (3.02 - 3.89, n=5)
-4%
4.06 (0.8 - 10.8, n=694)
-25%
Load Maximum *
4.81
5.93
-23%
6.8
-41%
6.13
-27%
6.81
-42%
6.13
-27%
6.15
-28%
4.58 (4.01 - 5, n=5)
5%
5.84 (1.2 - 14.2, n=694)
-21%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The U23 has a 3,500 mAh battery that lasted 9:24 hours in our Wi-Fi battery life test. This runtime puts our test device in the midfield of our comparison table but well behind the Galaxy J4 Plus (2018) and the Mate 20 Pro.

The included charger recharges our test device fully in around 90 minutes.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
9h 24min
Oukitel U23
3500 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 6X
3010 mAh
BQ Aquaris X2
3100 mAh
Samsung Galaxy J4 Plus 2018
3300 mAh
Nokia 5.1
2970 mAh
Honor 8X
3750 mAh
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
4200 mAh
Battery Runtime
WiFi v1.3
564
495
-12%
617
9%
707
25%
523
-7%
852
51%
767
36%

Pros

+ bright 1080p IPS panel
+ comparatively low black level
+ 6 GB RAM
+ beautifully designed

Cons

- case lacks rigidity
- poor speaker quality
- underwhelming cameras
- functionless second rear-facing camera
- weak SoC

Verdict

The OUKITEL U23 smartphone review. Test device courtesy of OUKITEL.
The OUKITEL U23 smartphone review. Test device courtesy of OUKITEL.

The OUKITEL U23 is not a bad smartphone, but it does not do much to set itself out from its competitors nor does it perform as well as them either.

The U23 has its positives though. The inclusion of wireless charging is something usually reserved for more expensive smartphones, while its plastic back is striking. The design is modern too and reflects wider smartphone trends. The large display is contrast rich and bright enough too.

The OUKITEL U23 is a stylish budget smartphone that is let down by its many shortcomings.

However, the device has poor Wi-Fi performance and underwhelming cameras. The secondary rear-facing sensor provides no tangible benefit, so we question its inclusion other than merely for OUKITEL to be able to market the U23 as having dual rear-facing cameras. Moreover, system performance is disappointing, while the exclusion of a headphone jack feels unnecessary given how thick the U23 is.

Ultimately, the OUKITEL U23 is a good smartphone, but there are many other comparably priced devices that are more worthy of your attention.

Oukitel U23 - 01/14/2019 v6
Marcus Herbrich

Chassis
78%
Keyboard
67 / 75 → 89%
Pointing Device
84%
Connectivity
40 / 60 → 66%
Weight
88%
Battery
92%
Display
84%
Games Performance
29 / 63 → 46%
Application Performance
47 / 70 → 67%
Temperature
93%
Noise
100%
Audio
57 / 91 → 63%
Camera
58%
Average
71%
79%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > OUKITEL U23 Smartphone Review
Marcus Herbrich, 2019-01-16 (Update: 2019-02-23)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.