Notebookcheck

Motorola One Action Review: Motorola smartphone unfit for YouTube fans

Marcus Herbrich, 👁 Daniel Schmidt, Felicitas Krohn (translated by Stanislav Kokhanyuk ), 09/17/2019

Always in action? Motorola expands its One series with an industry first: A smartphone with an action camera. The Android One smartphone leaves a good impression as a whole package. However, it is not the perfect companion for everyone.

Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone

The mid-range smartphone known as the One Action is the latest addition to Motorola’s One series. As the name suggests, the Motorola One Action aims to best the competition with its camera setup. In addition to the eponymous wide-angle action camera, the One Action has two other rear shooters and a 12MP hole-punch front-facing camera, which is located in the upper left corner of the 6.3-inch 21:9 display. The LCD panel has a native resolution of 2520x1080.

Just like the One Vision, the One Action is powered by the Exynos 9609. The One Action comes with 4 GB of RAM and 128 GB of internal storage. Here Motorola relies on Universal Flash Storage (UFS), which is not par for the course in this price range.

The One Action is an Android One-based smartphone.

The Motorola One Action came out in mid August with an MSRP of 259 Euros ($290). The competing devices include: the Samsung Galaxy A50, the Xiaomi Mi 9T, the Sony Xperia 10, the Huawei P30 Lite and the Xiaomi Mi 9 SE.

Motorola One Action (One Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
4096 MB 
Display
6.3 inch 21:9, 2520 x 1080 pixel 435 PPI, capacitive touchscreen, IPS LCD, glossy: yes
Storage
128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash, 128 GB 
, 110.8 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm Klinke, Card Reader: microSD bis zu 512 GB, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: proximity sensor, gyroscope, motion sensor, compass, USB-C, OTG, Face Unlock, FM Radio
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5), Bluetooth 5.0, 2G: GSM-Netz 2/3/5/8, 3G: WCDMA-Netz 1/2/5/8, 4G: LTE-Netz 1/3/5/7/8/20/38/40/41, Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 9.2 x 160.1 x 71.2 ( = 0.36 x 6.3 x 2.8 in)
Battery
3500 mAh Lithium-Polymer
Charging
fast charging / Quickcharge
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 12 MPix Triple: 12MP (f/1.8, 26mm, 1.25µm) + 16MP (f/2.2, 14mm) + 5MP, Camera2 API: enabled
Secondary Camera: 12 MPix f/2.0, 1.25µm, 26mm
Additional features
Speakers: Mono, Keyboard: Virtual, 10W charger, USB-C cable, SIM-card removal tool, user guide, headset, protective cover, Android One, 24 Months Warranty, LTE Cat.12 (600/100 Mbps), DRM Widevine: L1, fanless
Weight
176 g ( = 6.21 oz / 0.39 pounds), Power Supply: 56 g ( = 1.98 oz / 0.12 pounds)
Price
259 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team! Especially English native speakers welcome!

Currently wanted: 
News and Editorial Editor - Details here

Case - Tall Motorola smartphone with a 21:9 screen

The One Action bears a striking resemblance to the sibling model known as the One Vision. The front of the device features a hole-punch camera, which is what makes the bezelless design that the One series is known for possible. The screen-to-body ratio of the One Action amounts to 82%, which is quite good. However, some competitors in this price range such as the Xiaomi Mi 9T offer a screen-to-body ratio of over 86%.

The case comes in two color schemes: Denim Blue and Pearl White. The build quality is on a good level. The look and feel of the device are also all right. However, the plastic material used for the back cover does not feel as good as the glass used by competing devices. Moreover, the plastic back cover can be bent in with a finger in the area near the Motorola logo, which is not something that makes the One Action feel very premium. That being said, the Motorola smartphone is IPX2-certified, which means that it is splash-proof.

The volume rocker and the power button are very well constructed, ergonomically placed and have a very clear actuation point.

Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone

Size Comparison

160.1 mm / 6.3 inch 71.2 mm / 2.8 inch 9.2 mm / 0.3622 inch 176 g0.388 lbs158.5 mm / 6.24 inch 74.7 mm / 2.94 inch 7.7 mm / 0.3031 inch 166 g0.366 lbs156.7 mm / 6.17 inch 74.3 mm / 2.93 inch 8.8 mm / 0.3465 inch 191 g0.4211 lbs156 mm / 6.14 inch 68 mm / 2.68 inch 8.4 mm / 0.3307 inch 162 g0.3571 lbs152.9 mm / 6.02 inch 72.7 mm / 2.86 inch 7.4 mm / 0.2913 inch 159 g0.3505 lbs147.5 mm / 5.81 inch 70.5 mm / 2.78 inch 7.45 mm / 0.2933 inch 155 g0.3417 lbs

Connectivity - Mid-range smartphone with UFS memory

Widevine DRM is supported
Widevine DRM is supported

Our review device has 128 GB of internal UFS memory. Only 110 GB thereof is available to users. The rest is occupied by the operating system. Those who need more storage space can insert an SD card with a capacity of up to 512 GB via the hybrid slot. However, SD cards cannot be used as internal storage. On the bright side, the Motorola smartphone supports the exFAT file system.

The included 3500-mAh battery is supposed to last an entire day and can be charged via the USB-C port. OTG functionality is also supported, which means that peripheral devices such as USB drives or external keyboards can be connected to Motorola’s smartphone. Users can also wirelessly cast the screen content to an external display. The smartphone with the 6.3-inch screen can play back DRM-protected content in HD resolutions, because it supports Widevine L1 DRM.

Moreover, our review device also offers dual-SIM functionality, a fingerprint sensor and an FM radio. The radio only works with the In-Ear headphones, a pair of which you can find in the box.

Software - Android One with Motorola features

Thanks in part to the Motorola One series, the Android One ecosystem is slowly growing. A significant advantage of the Android One program is long-term software support. The One Action’s OS will be updated to Android Q and Android R. It will also receive security updates for three years after the launch in August 2019.

The stock version of Android 9.0 is enhanced with Moto Experiences, including Moto Actions. To launch the camera app, you just need to turn your wrist. To turn on the flashlight, you need to give the smartphone two shakes. Both of these actions work intuitively and reliably.

Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone

Communication and GPS - One Action with NFC

The integrated Wi-Fi module supports the following wireless communications standards: 802.11 a, b, g, n and ac and operates in the 2.4 and 5 GHz spectral bands. With our reference-grade router Linksys EA8500, the One Action achieves transfer speeds of about 300 Mb/s. This is a good result for a smartphone in this price range, but it is not superb. Both the range and the signal stability are all right. However, our review device loses the connection to the Wi-Fi router from time to time.

The Motorola smartphone features support for Bluetooth 5.0. It also comes with an NFC chip, which allows the mid-range smartphone to use such payment services as Google Pay.

Because the One Action is compliant with the latest LTE specifications, the websites load relatively quickly when using 4G. In the mobile networks, the Motorola smartphone operates at LTE Cat. 12 speeds (download speed: 600 Mb/s, upload speed: 150 Mb/s). The built-in LTE modem supports almost all the bands that are relevant for Germany. However, there is no support for LTE band 28, the use of which is going to become much more widespread in the future.

The dual-SIM smartphone can take two Nano-SIM cards. Both SIM cards can be used to surf the Internet at LTE speeds.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Sony Xperia 10
Adreno 508, 630, 64 GB eMMC Flash
334 (min: 326, max: 341) MBit/s ∼100% +8%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Adreno 618, 730, 64 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
333 (min: 297, max: 343) MBit/s ∼100% +7%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Adreno 616, 712, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
311 (min: 214, max: 346) MBit/s ∼93% 0%
Motorola One Action
Mali-G72 MP3, Exynos 9609, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
310 (min: 251, max: 328) MBit/s ∼93%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Mali-G72 MP3, Exynos 9610, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
294 (min: 278, max: 302) MBit/s ∼88% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=451)
229 MBit/s ∼69% -26%
Huawei P30 Lite
Mali-G51 MP4, Kirin 710, 128 GB eMMC Flash
188 (min: 45, max: 237) MBit/s ∼56% -39%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Motorola One Action
Mali-G72 MP3, Exynos 9609, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
295 (min: 275, max: 312) MBit/s ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Adreno 618, 730, 64 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
293 (min: 161, max: 346) MBit/s ∼99% -1%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Adreno 616, 712, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
279 (min: 229, max: 303) MBit/s ∼95% -5%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Mali-G72 MP3, Exynos 9610, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
272 (min: 250, max: 285) MBit/s ∼92% -8%
Sony Xperia 10
Adreno 508, 630, 64 GB eMMC Flash
253 (min: 128, max: 283) MBit/s ∼86% -14%
Huawei P30 Lite
Mali-G51 MP4, Kirin 710, 128 GB eMMC Flash
218 (min: 95, max: 239) MBit/s ∼74% -26%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=451)
217 MBit/s ∼74% -26%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø310 (251-328)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø295 (275-312)
GPS test indoors
GPS test indoors
GPS test outdoors
GPS test outdoors

Outdoors, the GPS module of the Motorola smartphone has no trouble determining the user’s location. Here it has a margin of error of about 5 meters (~16 feet). Indoors, the One Action is also able to acquire the user’s location, but it takes quite a while to do so.

In our practical GPS test, in which we use both the Motorola smartphone and the professional navigator Garmin Edge 500 to map out the same route, the One Action does all right. The difference between our review device and the professional navigator amounts to 60 meters (~197 feet). All in all, the GPS module in the One Action is good enough for day-to-day navigation. 

Route mapping: Garmin Edge 500
Route mapping: Garmin Edge 500
Route mapping: Garmin Edge 500
Route mapping: Garmin Edge 500
Route mapping: Garmin Edge 500
Route mapping: Garmin Edge 500
Route mapping: Motorola One Action
Route mapping: Motorola One Action
Route mapping: Motorola One Action
Route mapping: Motorola One Action
Route mapping: Motorola One Action
Route mapping: Motorola One Action

Telephony and Call Quality - Moto One with Wi-Fi calling and VoLTE

Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone

The smartphone supports VoLTE, which enables users to make phone calls over 4G networks, and Wi-Fi calling, which allows users to make phone calls over Wi-Fi. We find the quality of the microphone to be satisfactory and our call partner describes the voices on the other end as clear and intelligible. Video calling over Skype also works well.

Cameras - One Action with the Action Cam

Selfie
Selfie

The main rear shooter features phase-detection autofocus, 1.25-µm pixel size and an f/1.8 aperture. The 5MP depth sensor in the triple camera array is responsible for creating the bokeh effect, which works rather well in practice.  

The One Action takes decent pictures for a smartphone in this price range under good lighting conditions. However, the dynamic range as well as the sharpness could have been a bit better. The color temperature is not always correct, either. In low-light conditions, the One Action produces noisy and blurry images, which is not uncommon among devices in this price range.

The action camera of the Motorola smartphone, which can record 117-degree video at 1080p60, uses Quad Pixel technology with 2.0-µm pixel size and an f/2.2 aperture to record usable video in dark environments. The camera sensor has been rotated 90 degrees, which is why video shot in portrait mode appears as if it had been shot in landscape mode. Unlike with the 12MP main camera, the video stabilization of the ultra wide-angle action cam works very well– and the brightness level of the video is also okay. Unfortunately, the main camera cannot shoot video in 4K. 1080p is the highest possible resolution.

The pictures taken with the 12 MP front-facing camera are quite good and on the same level as those taken by other mid-range smartphones. The front-facing camera can record video at 1080p30.

Shot with the main camera
Shot with the main camera
Effect with the main camera
Effect with the main camera
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
Test Motorola One Action Smartphone
Test Motorola One Action Smartphone
Test Motorola One Action Smartphone
Test Motorola One Action Smartphone
Test Motorola One Action Smartphone
ColorChecker Photo
28.6 ∆E
53.4 ∆E
38.4 ∆E
34.3 ∆E
44.3 ∆E
60.7 ∆E
52.4 ∆E
35.3 ∆E
42.3 ∆E
27.9 ∆E
63.2 ∆E
62.6 ∆E
31.2 ∆E
46.8 ∆E
36.9 ∆E
74.6 ∆E
43.2 ∆E
41 ∆E
89.7 ∆E
69.8 ∆E
51 ∆E
36.4 ∆E
23.3 ∆E
12.8 ∆E
ColorChecker Motorola One Action: 45.84 ∆E min: 12.77 - max: 89.72 ∆E
ColorChecker Photo
13.9 ∆E
7.2 ∆E
10.6 ∆E
16.6 ∆E
8 ∆E
2.2 ∆E
8.5 ∆E
11.7 ∆E
10.8 ∆E
5.8 ∆E
5.3 ∆E
6.9 ∆E
11.1 ∆E
10.3 ∆E
14.1 ∆E
2.8 ∆E
4.3 ∆E
7.7 ∆E
6.2 ∆E
4 ∆E
7 ∆E
7.7 ∆E
8 ∆E
7.4 ∆E
ColorChecker Motorola One Action: 8.25 ∆E min: 2.21 - max: 16.58 ∆E

Accessories and Warranty - One Action comes with a silicone case

The box contains a 10-watt charger, USB Type-C cable, plastic protective case, SIM card removal tool and a pair of In-Ear headphones. There is also a bicycle mount in the box.

The smartphone comes with a 24-month manufacturer’s warranty.

Input Devices & Handling - Motorola smartphone with FaceUnlock and fingerprint sensor

The capacitive touchscreen can recognize up to 5 fingers at the same time. It has a smooth surface and features an oleophobic coating. The One Action is controlled through gestures, just like Pixel smartphones. However, the animations are not as smooth.

The active fingerprint sensor on the back is not the fastest on the market, but it unlocks the smartphone very reliably. Our review device also comes with the feature known as 2D Face Unlock, which allows users to unlock the smartphone with their face. It works well but is not very fast. 

Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone

Display - IPS panel with a 21:9 aspect ratio

Pixel arrangement
Pixel arrangement

The One Action is another smartphone from Motorola that has a Cinema Vision display with an ultra-widescreen aspect ratio of 21:9. The LCD screen of the Motorola smartphone has a native resolution of 2520x1080. It measures 16 cm diagonally and has a pixel density of 400 ppi. This is why both text and media content look sharp even when the smartphone is very close to the user’s face.

The maximum brightness of the LCD screen, which amounts to about 540 cd/m², is satisfactory and the brightness distribution of 93% is also all right. In our realistic APL50 test, in which the screen displays a pattern that consists of evenly distributed dark and bright areas, the brightness peaks at 544 cd/m². The maximum brightness with the ambient light sensor disabled amounts to 440 cd/m².

527
cd/m²
547
cd/m²
535
cd/m²
532
cd/m²
564
cd/m²
542
cd/m²
538
cd/m²
533
cd/m²
539
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 564 cd/m² Average: 539.7 cd/m² Minimum: 5.29 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 93 %
Center on Battery: 564 cd/m²
Contrast: 1312:1 (Black: 0.43 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 5.5 | 0.6-29.43 Ø6
ΔE Greyscale 7.7 | 0.64-98 Ø6.2
100% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.12
Motorola One Action
IPS LCD, 2520x1080, 6.3
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 5.97
Xiaomi Mi 9T
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.39
Samsung Galaxy A50
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.4
Huawei P30 Lite
IPS LCD, 2312x1080, 6.15
Sony Xperia 10
IPS-LCD, 2520x1080, 6
Screen
35%
34%
27%
12%
9%
Brightness middle
564
583
3%
589
4%
644
14%
451
-20%
547
-3%
Brightness
540
577
7%
589
9%
628
16%
430
-20%
525
-3%
Brightness Distribution
93
97
4%
96
3%
91
-2%
90
-3%
93
0%
Black Level *
0.43
0.55
-28%
0.36
16%
Contrast
1312
820
-37%
1519
16%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
5.5
1.6
71%
2.5
55%
2.64
52%
1.4
75%
4.6
16%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
10.4
3.9
62%
4.9
53%
9.23
11%
4.4
58%
12.1
-16%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
7.7
2.7
65%
1.6
79%
2.5
68%
2.5
68%
3.9
49%
Gamma
2.12 104%
2.27 97%
2.24 98%
2.024 109%
2.22 99%
2.17 101%
CCT
8465 77%
6267 104%
6544 99%
6649 98%
6422 101%
7158 91%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9276 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Because of its backlight, the IPS panel of the One Action is not able to reach perfect blacks of OLED panels, which can be found in such smartphones as the Xiaomi Mi 9T and the Mi 9 SE. Moreover, the contrast ratio of 1312:1 is solid, but not very high. In our APL50 test, the contrast ratio proves to be a bit worse (about 1000:1), because of a decrease in luminance. However, the black value of 0.43 cd/m² does not change.

We use a photospectrometer running SpectraCal's CalMAN software to measure the color accuracy of the display. Both the mixed and primary colors (5.5) and the grayscale (7.7) deviate significantly from the sRGB standard. At 8465 Kelvin, the color temperature of the display is also too high. We can observe a bluish cast in day-to-day use.

CalMan color accuracy (sRGB)
CalMan color accuracy (sRGB)
CalMan color space coverage (sRGB)
CalMan color space coverage (sRGB)
CalMan grayscale (sRGB)
CalMan grayscale (sRGB)
CalMan saturation (sRGB)
CalMan saturation (sRGB)

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
20.4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 8 ms rise
↘ 12.4 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 24 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (24.9 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
45.2 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 20.8 ms rise
↘ 24.4 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 71 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (39.5 ms).

The brightness does not fall significantly when the display is viewed at an angle and the colors do not become distorted when viewed from the side. Outdoors, users will have to make sure that the ambient light sensor is engaged, because otherwise the screen brightness will be too low. Moreover, the poor contrast ratio is not making things any better, either. All in all, the Motorola smartphone is barely usable in direct sunlight.

Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone

Performance - One Action with the Samsung Exynos 9609

The Exynos 9609 in the Motorola smartphone is a mid-range SoC from Samsung. It has eight CPU cores in two clusters: four Cortex A73 cores that are clocked at up to 2.2 GHz and four energy-efficient Cortex A53. The ARM Mali-G72 MP3 serves as the graphics unit. It features support for such APIs such as Vulkan, DirectX 12 and OpenGL ES 3.2.

In the benchmarks, the Exynos SoC that is paired with 4 GB of RAM is unable to compete with comparable smartphones powered by Qualcomm’s SoC’s. That being said, the Exynos 9609 is still a decent SoC for a mid-range device. In everyday use, the Exynos 9609 also feels a bit slower than the Snapdragon 712. However, the system performance of the One Action is still quite satisfactory, because it is an Android One smartphone. Navigating through the menus feels rather smooth, but there are occasional stutters. When multitasking, the Motorola smartphone starts to feel really sluggish.

Geekbench 4.4
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
4860 Points ∼62%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
7282 Points ∼93% +50%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
7795 Points ∼100% +60%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
4913 Points ∼63% +1%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
3551 Points ∼46% -27%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3763 Points ∼48% -23%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (4860 - 4866, n=2)
4863 Points ∼62% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (663 - 21070, n=325)
4691 Points ∼60% -3%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
5375 Points ∼78%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
5975 Points ∼87% +11%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
6871 Points ∼100% +28%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
5605 Points ∼82% +4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
5429 Points ∼79% +1%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3986 Points ∼58% -26%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (5273 - 5375, n=2)
5324 Points ∼77% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (883 - 11598, n=384)
4726 Points ∼69% -12%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1605 Points ∼64%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1875 Points ∼74% +17%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2527 Points ∼100% +57%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1721 Points ∼68% +7%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1544 Points ∼61% -4%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
837 Points ∼33% -48%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1601 - 1605, n=2)
1603 Points ∼63% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (390 - 4824, n=384)
1426 Points ∼56% -11%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
6578 Points ∼87%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
6832 Points ∼91% +4%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
7533 Points ∼100% +15%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
5827 Points ∼77% -11%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
6483 Points ∼86% -1%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
5987 Points ∼79% -9%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (6578 - 6812, n=2)
6695 Points ∼89% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2630 - 11440, n=388)
5333 Points ∼71% -19%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
8188 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
8346 Points ∼92% +2%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
9049 Points ∼100% +11%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
7029 Points ∼78% -14%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
8125 Points ∼90% -1%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4948 Points ∼55% -40%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (8188 - 8902, n=2)
8545 Points ∼94% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1077 - 14946, n=556)
5785 Points ∼64% -29%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2243 Points ∼81%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2338 Points ∼84% +4%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2786 Points ∼100% +24%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
2167 Points ∼78% -3%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (2103 - 2243, n=2)
2173 Points ∼78% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1740 - 15735, n=68)
2676 Points ∼96% +19%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1245 Points ∼46%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1907 Points ∼70% +53%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
1917 Points ∼70% +54%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
693 Points ∼25% -44%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1245 - 1249, n=2)
1247 Points ∼46% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (203 - 14536, n=68)
2721 Points ∼100% +119%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1388 Points ∼56%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1988 Points ∼80% +43%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2060 Points ∼83% +48%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
Points ∼0% -100%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
861 Points ∼35% -38%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1373 - 1388, n=2)
1381 Points ∼56% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (253 - 14786, n=68)
2478 Points ∼100% +79%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2296 Points ∼71%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2506 Points ∼77% +9%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3241 Points ∼100% +41%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2266 Points ∼70% -1%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2550 Points ∼79% +11%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1664 Points ∼51% -28%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (2045 - 2296, n=2)
2171 Points ∼67% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 4683, n=396)
1981 Points ∼61% -14%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1241 Points ∼57%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2146 Points ∼99% +73%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2176 Points ∼100% +75%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1188 Points ∼55% -4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
843 Points ∼39% -32%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
792 Points ∼36% -36%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1210 - 1241, n=2)
1226 Points ∼56% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (75 - 8374, n=396)
1787 Points ∼82% +44%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1357 Points ∼58%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2217 Points ∼94% +63%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2347 Points ∼100% +73%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1328 Points ∼57% -2%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
981 Points ∼42% -28%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
896 Points ∼38% -34%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1331 - 1357, n=2)
1344 Points ∼57% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (93 - 6916, n=397)
1658 Points ∼71% +22%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2145 Points ∼65%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2506 Points ∼76% +17%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3296 Points ∼100% +54%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2241 Points ∼68% +4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2578 Points ∼78% +20%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1732 Points ∼53% -19%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1979 - 2145, n=2)
2062 Points ∼63% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 4703, n=424)
1893 Points ∼57% -12%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1734 Points ∼52%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2146 Points ∼65% +24%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3316 Points ∼100% +91%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1553 Points ∼47% -10%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1336 Points ∼40% -23%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1299 Points ∼39% -25%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1712 - 1734, n=2)
1723 Points ∼52% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (70 - 20154, n=424)
2386 Points ∼72% +38%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1814 Points ∼55%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2217 Points ∼67% +22%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3312 Points ∼100% +83%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1667 Points ∼50% -8%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1494 Points ∼45% -18%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1375 Points ∼42% -24%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1765 - 1814, n=2)
1790 Points ∼54% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (88 - 10427, n=424)
2004 Points ∼61% +10%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2368 Points ∼73%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2480 Points ∼77% +5%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3227 Points ∼100% +36%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2351 Points ∼73% -1%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2489 Points ∼77% +5%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1645 Points ∼51% -31%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (2368 - 2504, n=2)
2436 Points ∼75% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (486 - 4519, n=476)
1888 Points ∼59% -20%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1200 Points ∼60%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1980 Points ∼99% +65%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2008 Points ∼100% +67%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1149 Points ∼57% -4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
819 Points ∼41% -32%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
704 Points ∼35% -41%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1200 - 1200, n=2)
1200 Points ∼60% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (53 - 7150, n=476)
1478 Points ∼74% +23%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1348 Points ∼61%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2073 Points ∼95% +54%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2192 Points ∼100% +63%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1296 Points ∼59% -4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
963 Points ∼44% -29%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
809 Points ∼37% -40%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1348 - 1357, n=2)
1353 Points ∼62% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (68 - 6319, n=477)
1423 Points ∼65% +6%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2421 Points ∼75%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2480 Points ∼77% +2%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3239 Points ∼100% +34%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2432 Points ∼75% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2490 Points ∼77% +3%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1687 Points ∼52% -30%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (2282 - 2421, n=2)
2352 Points ∼73% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (293 - 4540, n=516)
1754 Points ∼54% -28%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1725 Points ∼54%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1980 Points ∼62% +15%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3184 Points ∼100% +85%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1279 Points ∼40% -26%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1256 Points ∼39% -27%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1235 Points ∼39% -28%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1725 - 1730, n=2)
1728 Points ∼54% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 11302, n=515)
1936 Points ∼61% +12%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1830 Points ∼57%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2073 Points ∼65% +13%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3196 Points ∼100% +75%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1430 Points ∼45% -22%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1414 Points ∼44% -23%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1315 Points ∼41% -28%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1828 - 1830, n=2)
1829 Points ∼57% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 8165, n=518)
1674 Points ∼52% -9%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
22995 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
13686 Points ∼60% -40%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
19433 Points ∼85% -15%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
14353 Points ∼62% -38%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
12023 Points ∼52% -48%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
12437 Points ∼54% -46%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (22441 - 22995, n=2)
22718 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (735 - 45072, n=676)
14217 Points ∼62% -38%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
23539 Points ∼51%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
43514 Points ∼93% +85%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
46605 Points ∼100% +98%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
16593 Points ∼36% -30%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
21643 Points ∼46% -8%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
17878 Points ∼38% -24%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (23539 - 24388, n=2)
23964 Points ∼51% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (536 - 209204, n=674)
22183 Points ∼48% -6%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
23415 Points ∼66%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
29316 Points ∼82% +25%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
35557 Points ∼100% +52%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
16037 Points ∼45% -32%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
18377 Points ∼52% -22%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
16290 Points ∼46% -30%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (23415 - 23927, n=2)
23671 Points ∼67% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (662 - 97276, n=674)
17924 Points ∼50% -23%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
40 fps ∼52%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
74 fps ∼96% +85%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
77 fps ∼100% +93%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
39 fps ∼51% -2%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
33 fps ∼43% -17%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
29 fps ∼38% -27%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (40 - 40, n=2)
40 fps ∼52% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.5 - 322, n=694)
38.1 fps ∼49% -5%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
35 fps ∼60%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
58 fps ∼100% +66%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
58 fps ∼100% +66%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
36 fps ∼62% +3%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
31 fps ∼53% -11%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
25 fps ∼43% -29%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (35 - 36, n=2)
35.5 fps ∼61% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1 - 120, n=703)
28.1 fps ∼48% -20%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
24 fps ∼63%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
36 fps ∼95% +50%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
38 fps ∼100% +58%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
23 fps ∼61% -4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
17 fps ∼45% -29%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
13 fps ∼34% -46%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (24 - 24, n=2)
24 fps ∼63% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.8 - 175, n=600)
21.9 fps ∼58% -9%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
21 fps ∼62%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
33 fps ∼97% +57%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
34 fps ∼100% +62%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
21 fps ∼62% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
16 fps ∼47% -24%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
11 fps ∼32% -48%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (21 - 21, n=2)
21 fps ∼62% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.2 - 115, n=609)
19.4 fps ∼57% -8%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
14 fps ∼52%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
26 fps ∼96% +86%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
27 fps ∼100% +93%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
14 fps ∼52% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
12 fps ∼44% -14%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
9.5 fps ∼35% -32%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (14 - 14, n=2)
14 fps ∼52% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.87 - 117, n=466)
17.9 fps ∼66% +28%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
13 fps ∼54%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
24 fps ∼100% +85%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
24 fps ∼100% +85%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
13 fps ∼54% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
11 fps ∼46% -15%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
7.8 fps ∼33% -40%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (13 - 13, n=2)
13 fps ∼54% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.2 - 110, n=468)
16.7 fps ∼70% +28%
GFXBench
Aztec Ruins High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
3.2 fps ∼32%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
9.1 fps ∼91% +184%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
9.3 fps ∼93% +191%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
4.9 fps ∼49% +53%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
4.2 fps ∼42% +31%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
2.7 fps ∼27% -16%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (3.2 - 5, n=2)
4.1 fps ∼41% +28%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.61 - 60, n=189)
9.99 fps ∼100% +212%
2560x1440 Aztec Ruins High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
4.9 (min: 3.2) fps ∼70%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
5.8 fps ∼83% +18%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
6.1 fps ∼87% +24%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
3.1 fps ∼44% -37%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2.6 fps ∼37% -47%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1.7 fps ∼24% -65%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (3.2 - 4.9, n=2)
4.05 fps ∼58% -17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.21 - 33, n=188)
6.98 fps ∼100% +42%
Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
8.1 fps ∼54%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
14 fps ∼93% +73%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
15 fps ∼100% +85%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
8.2 fps ∼55% +1%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
6.4 fps ∼43% -21%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.4 fps ∼29% -46%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (8.1 - 8.1, n=2)
8.1 fps ∼54% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.4 - 60, n=193)
14.7 fps ∼98% +81%
1920x1080 Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
9.3 fps ∼57%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
16 fps ∼98% +72%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
16 fps ∼98% +72%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
9 fps ∼55% -3%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
7 fps ∼43% -25%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.9 fps ∼30% -47%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (9.3 - 9.3, n=2)
9.3 fps ∼57% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.6 - 87, n=193)
16.4 fps ∼100% +76%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
9.3 fps ∼58%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
15 fps ∼94% +61%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
16 fps ∼100% +72%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
8.9 fps ∼56% -4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
6.9 fps ∼43% -26%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
5.3 fps ∼33% -43%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (9.3 - 9.3, n=2)
9.3 fps ∼58% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.6 - 73, n=391)
12.2 fps ∼76% +31%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
7.8 fps ∼60%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
13 fps ∼100% +67%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
13 fps ∼100% +67%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
8.1 fps ∼62% +4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
6.5 fps ∼50% -17%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.3 fps ∼33% -45%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (7.8 - 7.8, n=2)
7.8 fps ∼60% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.1 - 60, n=395)
10.9 fps ∼84% +40%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
149757 Points ∼71%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
179353 Points ∼85% +20%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
210836 Points ∼100% +41%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
144194 Points ∼68% -4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
132834 Points ∼63% -11%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
88287 Points ∼42% -41%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (139138 - 149757, n=2)
144448 Points ∼69% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (17073 - 462516, n=295)
143117 Points ∼68% -4%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1119 Points ∼95%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1172 Points ∼100% +5%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
1099 Points ∼94% -2%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
927 Points ∼79% -17%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1024 Points ∼87% -8%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
815 Points ∼70% -27%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1119 - 1168, n=2)
1144 Points ∼98% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 1745, n=635)
760 Points ∼65% -32%
Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1947 Points ∼55%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
3453 Points ∼97% +77%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3559 Points ∼100% +83%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1957 Points ∼55% +1%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1478 Points ∼42% -24%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1409 Points ∼40% -28%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (1942 - 1947, n=2)
1945 Points ∼55% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 16996, n=635)
2070 Points ∼58% +6%
Memory (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2736 Points ∼59%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2969 Points ∼64% +9%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
4646 Points ∼100% +70%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2492 Points ∼54% -9%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
3036 Points ∼65% +11%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
983 Points ∼21% -64%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (2588 - 2736, n=2)
2662 Points ∼57% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 7500, n=635)
1530 Points ∼33% -44%
System (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
4998 Points ∼74%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
5932 Points ∼88% +19%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
6760 Points ∼100% +35%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
5112 Points ∼76% +2%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
5146 Points ∼76% +3%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3159 Points ∼47% -37%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (4474 - 4998, n=2)
4736 Points ∼70% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 14189, n=635)
2994 Points ∼44% -40%
Overall (sort by value)
Motorola One Action
Samsung Exynos 9609, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2336 Points ∼70%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2906 Points ∼87% +24%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3329 Points ∼100% +43%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2193 Points ∼66% -6%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2201 Points ∼66% -6%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1374 Points ∼41% -41%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
  (2264 - 2336, n=2)
2300 Points ∼69% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1 - 6097, n=635)
1501 Points ∼45% -36%

Web-browsing with Chrome feels all right. Complex websites load without any errors and the scrolling is rather smooth. However, websites take a while to load.

Jetstream 2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 9T (Chrome 75.0.3770.101)
47.131 Points ∼100% +50%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE (Chrome 73)
37.214 Points ∼79% +18%
Average of class Smartphone (9.13 - 133, n=107)
35.7 Points ∼76% +14%
Huawei P30 Lite (Chrome 74)
31.781 Points ∼67% +1%
Motorola One Action (Chrome 76)
31.441 Points ∼67%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609 (30.9 - 31.4, n=2)
31.2 Points ∼66% -1%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
16.254 Points ∼34% -48%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 9T (Chrome 75.0.3770.101)
17501 Points ∼100% +78%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE (Chrome 73)
13562 Points ∼77% +38%
Samsung Galaxy A50 (Chrome 73)
10322 Points ∼59% +5%
Motorola One Action (Chrome 76)
9809 Points ∼56%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609 (9807 - 9809, n=2)
9808 Points ∼56% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite (Chrome 74)
9779 Points ∼56% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (894 - 49388, n=693)
6801 Points ∼39% -31%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
4865 Points ∼28% -50%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (571 - 59466, n=718)
10523 ms * ∼100% -151%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
10256.9 ms * ∼97% -145%
Average Samsung Exynos 9609 (4188 - 4216, n=2)
4202 ms * ∼40% -0%
Motorola One Action (Chrome 76)
4188.4 ms * ∼40%
Huawei P30 Lite (Chrome 74)
4137.8 ms * ∼39% +1%
Samsung Galaxy A50 (Chrome 73)
3897 ms * ∼37% +7%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE (Chrome 73)
2911.8 ms * ∼28% +30%
Xiaomi Mi 9T (Chrome 75.0.3770.101)
2563.9 ms * ∼24% +39%

* ... smaller is better

The One Action does not feature the fastest internal memory on the market. Motorola’s smartphone comes with modern UFS memory, which is why it is able to achieve good read rates in the AndroBench benchmark.

Motorola One ActionXiaomi Mi 9 SEXiaomi Mi 9TSamsung Galaxy A50Huawei P30 LiteSony Xperia 10Average 128 GB UFS 2.0 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-20%
-1%
-19%
-21%
-27%
-14%
-46%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
70.15 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
60.7 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-13%
67.85 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-3%
63.81 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-9%
55.9 (33.6 - 70.2, n=6)
-20%
49.2 (1.7 - 87.1, n=429)
-30%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
78.09 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
73.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-5%
76.83 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-2%
83.23 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
7%
73.2 (54 - 83.4, n=6)
-6%
67.5 (8.1 - 96.5, n=429)
-14%
Random Write 4KB
128.54
21.86
-83%
107.82
-16%
18.2
-86%
87.29
-32%
14.39
-89%
54.6 (13.5 - 150, n=9)
-58%
22.4 (0.14 - 250, n=753)
-83%
Random Read 4KB
108.4
115.83
7%
128.65
19%
98.9
-9%
71.57
-34%
53.12
-51%
116 (88.4 - 173, n=9)
7%
47.8 (1.59 - 196, n=753)
-56%
Sequential Write 256KB
189.34
190.1
0%
179.19
-5%
192.1
1%
158.63
-16%
232.87
23%
181 (143 - 257, n=9)
-4%
98.1 (2.99 - 590, n=753)
-48%
Sequential Read 256KB
500.98
492.48
-2%
492.74
-2%
507.3
1%
293.23
-41%
273.8
-45%
488 (409 - 733, n=9)
-3%
275 (12.1 - 1504, n=753)
-45%

Gaming - Mali-G72 MP3 in Motorola’s smartphone

Demanding 3D games from the Google Play Store such as PUBG Mobile or Asphalt 9 Legends are playable on low settings. On high settings, these titles stutter significantly.

Both the touchscreen and the sensors worked well during our review.

PUBG Mobile
PUBG Mobile
Asphalt 9 Legends
Asphalt 9 Legends

Emissions - One Action does not produce a lot of heat

Temperature

The surface temperatures never become critical. The One Action does not become uncomfortably hot even under load. According to our measurements, the surface temperatures of the mid-range smartphone peak at 37 °C (98.6 °F) under continuous load.

Max. Load
 35.9 °C
97 F
35.4 °C
96 F
36.9 °C
98 F
 
 35.7 °C
96 F
35.4 °C
96 F
36.8 °C
98 F
 
 35.5 °C
96 F
35.3 °C
96 F
37 °C
99 F
 
Maximum: 37 °C = 99 F
Average: 36 °C = 97 F
31.4 °C
89 F
33.8 °C
93 F
35.5 °C
96 F
31.5 °C
89 F
33.2 °C
92 F
35.2 °C
95 F
31.2 °C
88 F
33.4 °C
92 F
34.8 °C
95 F
Maximum: 35.5 °C = 96 F
Average: 33.3 °C = 92 F
Power Supply (max.)  26.7 °C = 80 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 36 °C / 97 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 37 °C / 99 F, compared to the average of 35.5 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 35.5 °C / 96 F, compared to the average of 34 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 31 °C / 88 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone
Review of the Motorola One Action Smartphone

Speakers

Pink Noise
Pink Noise

The One Action is good at reproducing the mids and the highs, which is not something that many other smartphones in this price range can boast of. The maximum volume amounts to 85 dB(A). However, the mono-speaker sounds quite tinny at high volume.

Because Motorola’s smartphone features a 3.5-mm headphone jack, you will not have trouble connecting your favorite wired headphones to the device. Connected headphones do not sound noisy. The headphone jack outputs a loud, noise-free signal.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2033.234.52536.429.3312732.64029.326.65038.241.66328.825.18027.521.71002323.712521.236.616018.748.820019.648.325017.953.731517.756.740015.46050016.664.763015.166.780015.968.6100013.970.7125014.472.6160014.971.9200014.573.4250014.873.2315014.372.8400014.374.6500014.674.2630014.873.8800015.374.91000014.875.3125001574.11600015.158.8SPL27.184.9N0.962.1median 15.1median 70.7Delta1.49.432.53931.931.522.324.821.721.929.228.426.724.920.324.420.526.52325.315.64517.849.116.359.115.461.515.963.515.864.213.367.914.165.914.171.41469.713.567.813.46913.972.314.271.713.967.114.672.914.267.714.766.31568.214.955.415.33826.481.50.852.7median 14.7median 66.30.98.2hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseMotorola One ActionXiaomi Mi 9 SE
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Motorola One Action audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (84.9 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 26.1% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.6% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.4% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (1.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (17.5% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 3% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 92% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 24%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 27% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 66% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Xiaomi Mi 9 SE audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (81.5 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 21.9% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 2.5% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.2% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (6.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (17.9% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 5% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 90% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 24%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 29% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 64% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life - One Action lasts for a long time

Energy Consumption

When compared to the competition with Qualcomm’s SoC’s, the One Action consumes a lot more power. Despite a relatively energy-efficient 10-nm FinFET manufacturing process, the One Action with the Exynos 9609 consumes much more power than the smartphones with a Qualcomm SoC.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.01 / 0.23 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.74 / 2.11 / 2.25 Watt
Load midlight 5.75 / 8.94 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Motorola One Action
3500 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
3070 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9T
4000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A50
4000 mAh
Huawei P30 Lite
3340 mAh
Sony Xperia 10
2870 mAh
Average Samsung Exynos 9609
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
42%
45%
10%
-2%
17%
5%
14%
Idle Minimum *
0.74
0.53
28%
0.54
27%
0.8
-8%
0.91
-23%
0.72
3%
0.745 (0.74 - 0.75, n=2)
-1%
0.883 (0.2 - 3.4, n=784)
-19%
Idle Average *
2.11
1.18
44%
0.95
55%
1.5
29%
2.41
-14%
2.16
-2%
2.13 (2.11 - 2.14, n=2)
-1%
1.74 (0.6 - 6.2, n=783)
18%
Idle Maximum *
2.25
1.2
47%
1.08
52%
1.7
24%
2.43
-8%
2.17
4%
2.26 (2.25 - 2.27, n=2)
-0%
2.03 (0.74 - 6.6, n=784)
10%
Load Average *
5.75
3.04
47%
2.7
53%
5.9
-3%
4.57
21%
3.32
42%
5.06 (4.36 - 5.75, n=2)
12%
4.07 (0.8 - 10.8, n=778)
29%
Load Maximum *
8.94
4.83
46%
5.4
40%
8.3
7%
7.57
15%
5.34
40%
7.71 (6.48 - 8.94, n=2)
14%
5.93 (1.2 - 14.2, n=778)
34%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

According to the specifications sheet, the 3500-mAh battery in the Motorola smartphone is supposed to last for 11 hours when watching video. We were able to indirectly confirm this claim in our practically oriented Wi-Fi test, in which the One Action lasted for 11.5 hours. In our experience, most smartphones last longer in the video test than in the Wi-Fi test. During our Wi-Fi test, the screen brightness is set to 150 cd/m². The Motorola smartphone takes more than 2 hours to fully change.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
11h 37min
Motorola One Action
3500 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
3070 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9T
4000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A50
4000 mAh
Huawei P30 Lite
3340 mAh
Sony Xperia 10
2870 mAh
Battery Runtime
WiFi v1.3
697
510
-27%
991
42%
701
1%
515
-26%
541
-22%

Pros

+ modern design
+ good battery life
+ 3.5-mm headphone jack
+ NFC
+ solid triple-camera set-up with the action cam mode
+ 128 GB of UFS storage

Cons

- IPS panel with a poor contrast ratio
- speakers
- SoC could have been faster
- Build quality and the feel of the device

Verdict - Interesting mid-range smartphone with limitations

In Review: Motorola One Action. Provided courtesy of: Motorola Germany.
In Review: Motorola One Action. Provided courtesy of: Motorola Germany.

At first glance, the Motorola One Action looks quite impressive, what with its good hardware, modern design and its innovative action camera. However, the so-called action cam seems a bit half-baked, because the smartphone is not water-proof. The video stabilization of the action camera works well, which means that anyone who would like to shoot video while biking will find the Motorola smartphone quite compelling. However, buyers will have to make a few concessions when it comes to the build quality, the speaker and the SoC. Moreover, because of its poor contrast ratio and color reproduction, the IPS screen of the One Action does not look very good when compared to OLED displays in the Xiaomi smartphones. In addition, the brightness is not high enough for such a device.

Even without the action camera, the Motorola One Action offers a good overall package. 

Whether you like or loathe the smartphones with the 21:9 aspect ratio is a question of personal taste. However, YouTube fans will have to deal with heavily zoomed-in videos most of the time, because most videos on YouTube have a 16:9 aspect ratio, and videos with an 18:9 aspect ratio are also slightly zoomed in. The unusual aspect ratio means that videos will be either cropped or there will be black sidebars, which mar the video-watching experience.  

Motorola One Action - 09/27/2019 v7
Marcus Herbrich

Chassis
81%
Keyboard
67 / 75 → 90%
Pointing Device
89%
Connectivity
50 / 70 → 71%
Weight
90%
Battery
89%
Display
83%
Games Performance
15 / 64 → 24%
Application Performance
58 / 86 → 68%
Temperature
91%
Noise
100%
Audio
70 / 90 → 78%
Camera
59%
Average
73%
78%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 1 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Motorola One Action Review: Motorola smartphone unfit for YouTube fans
Marcus Herbrich, 2019-09-17 (Update: 2019-09-20)