Notebookcheck

Sony Xperia 10 Smartphone Review

Marcus Herbrich, 👁 Daniel Schmidt (translated by Alex Alderson), 04/17/2019

Pocket cinema. Sony is trying to break new ground in the smartphone market with new Xperia devices. The Xperia 10 is the company’s latest attempt to crack the midrange sector, which it has equipped with a Snapdragon 630 SoC and a 6-inch display with a 21:9 aspect ratio. The latter allows the device to keep its footprint to a minimum and still have a large display. Read on in this detailed review to see how the Xperia 10 performs in our tests and how it shapes up against its midrange competitors.

Sony Xperia 10

Sony introduced its new Xperia midrange devices at this year’s Mobile World Congress (MWC), one of which was the Xperia 10. The main thing that separates the Xperia 10 from its contemporaries is its elongated 21:9 display, which Sony promises should be better for watching movies and multitasking than 16:9 or 2:1 displays. The Japanese manufacturer is not the first to release a device with a 21:9 display, although it has been a while since we have seen one. The LG BL40 Chocolate comes to mind, but this was released way back in 2009.

The Xperia 10 has a 6-inch Full HD+ display that operates natively at 2,520 x 1,080. The device has plenty of midrange specs like its 64 GB of eMMC flash storage. You can add up to one 512 GB microSD card though, which is always nice to see. The Xperia 10 has dual rear-facing cameras too with a 13 MP main sensor that is supported by a secondary 5 MP one to help create bokeh effect shots.

The device weighs 162 g, which is on the light side for a device this size and is powered by the almost two-year-old Qualcomm Snapdragon 630 SoC. The Xperia 10 retails for €350 (~ US$395) and comes with 3 GB of RAM along with a 2,870 mAh battery. Neither is particularly impressive, so we hope that Sony has optimised the device well to keep RAM usage and power consumption down.

We have chosen to compare the Xperia 10 against a range of devices including the Motorola Moto G7, Nokia 8.1, Samsung Galaxy A7 and the Xiaomi Redmi Note 7. We shall also consider our review unit against flagship contenders like the Pocophone F1 and the Xiaomi Mi 8, as they are typically available online for around €350 (~ US$395) or less too.

Sony Xperia 10 (Xperia Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
3072 MB 
, 3 GB
Display
6 inch 21:9, 2520 x 1080 pixel 457 PPI, Capacitive multi-touch touchscreen, IPS LCD, Corning Gorilla Glass 5, glossy: yes
Storage
64 GB eMMC Flash, 64 GB 
, 46.8 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm jack, Card Reader: up to 512 GB microSD cards, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, compass, hall sensor, proximity sensor, USB Type-C, OTG, Miracast, notification LED, FM radio
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 5.0, 2G: 850, 900, 1,800, 1,900. 3G: B1, B2, B5, B8. 4G: B1, B2, B3, B5, B7, B8, B20, B28, B32, B38., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.4 x 156 x 68 ( = 0.33 x 6.14 x 2.68 in)
Battery
2870 mAh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 13 MPix , f/2.0, 27 mm, 1/3", 1.12 μm. 5MP wide-angle sensor, f/2.4, 22 mm, 1/4", 1.4 μm. Camera2 API Level: Limited
Secondary Camera: 8 MPix , f/2.0, 24 mm, 1/4", 1.12 μm
Additional features
Speakers: Mono, Keyboard: Virtual, modular power supply, USB cable, headphones, Sony UI, 24 Months Warranty, SAR values: 1.31 W/kg – Body, 0.9 W/kg – Head. LTE Cat.12: 600 Mbps/100 Mbps. DRM Widevine: L1, fanless
Weight
162 g ( = 5.71 oz / 0.36 pounds), Power Supply: 44 g ( = 1.55 oz / 0.1 pounds)
Price
350 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

Sony Xperia 10
Sony Xperia 10
The Xperia 10 currently comes in a choice of four colours
The Xperia 10 currently comes in a choice of four colours

The Xperia 10 has a plastic case that currently comes in black, blue, pink and silver. Sony has built our review unit solidly, and the device feels good in our hands, although its matte plastic back makes it look and feel cheap. The Xperia 10 is 8.4 mm thick, which is ever so slightly bulkier than many of our comparison devices. However, the device looks significantly heftier because of its flat back, compared to the curved backs of many of our comparison devices.

Nevertheless, the Xperia 10 has a smaller footprint than most of its competitors thanks to its narrow design. Unfortunately, our review unit is very top-heavy, and as such, it feels like it could slip out of our hands at any moment.

Sony has decked the front of the Xperia 10 in scratch-resistant 2.5 D Corning Gorilla Glass 5, which subtly tapers into its plastic frame. The IPS panel has thin bezels that help it look modern, on three of its four edges at least. Sony has eschewed contemporary trends and included a thick black top bezel, which houses the front-facing camera, earpiece and several sensors. This asymmetry results in a screen-to-body ratio of just under 80%, which is lower than most modern smartphones. Moreover, the thick bezel at the top ruins the Xperia 10’s otherwise sleek look, although this is a matter of taste.

The dual rear-facing cameras protrude slightly from the back case in a housing that has a silver finish. Our test device hardly wobbles when we place it on a table or a flat surface though. Additionally, the plastic back resisted our attempts to twist or bend it and prevented the display from deforming.

The Xperia 10 has two physical buttons, both of which are on the right-hand side of its frame. The two buttons sandwich a fingerprint sensor, the placement of which makes it easy to distinguish the two buttons in daily use. The buttons on our review unit are impeccably well-made, but they sit too deep in the frame for our liking and require plenty of force to activate.

Size Comparison

161.4 mm / 6.35 inch 76.9 mm / 3.03 inch 7.9 mm / 0.311 inch 178 g0.3924 lbs159.21 mm / 6.27 inch 75.21 mm / 2.96 inch 8.1 mm / 0.3189 inch 186 g0.4101 lbs157 mm / 6.18 inch 75.3 mm / 2.96 inch 8 mm / 0.315 inch 172 g0.3792 lbs156 mm / 6.14 inch 68 mm / 2.68 inch 8.4 mm / 0.3307 inch 162 g0.3571 lbs155.5 mm / 6.12 inch 75.2 mm / 2.96 inch 8.8 mm / 0.3465 inch 182 g0.4012 lbs154.8 mm / 6.09 inch 75.8 mm / 2.98 inch 8 mm / 0.315 inch 180 g0.3968 lbs154.9 mm / 6.1 inch 74.8 mm / 2.94 inch 7.6 mm / 0.2992 inch 175 g0.3858 lbs

Connectivity

The Xperia 10 has a notification LED, a pedometer and FM radio, along with a 3.5mm headphone jack, which is becoming something of a rarity these days. The device also supports Miracast for wirelessly projecting to a corresponding external monitor.

Sony has included a USB 2.0 Type-C port too, which supports USB On-The-Go (OTG) for connecting wired peripherals like a keyboard or mouse. It would have been nice to see a USB 3.1 port here, but this is only a minor gripe.

Our review unit had around 46.8 GB of its 64 GB of internal storage free upon delivery, with the remainder being taken up by the OS and pre-installed apps. The Xperia 10 comes in single and dual-SIM variants, both of which support microSD card expansion as we mentioned earlier. However, the dual-SIM model only has a hybrid second SIM slot, so you must choose between dual-SIM functionality and microSD card expansion, which is a shame.

The microSD card reader supports SDHC and SDXC cards, while it can read exFAT too. Unfortunately, we could only format our reference microSD card as external storage, so apps and data can only be stored on the 64 GB of internal storage.

Topside: Microphone, headphone jack
Topside: Microphone, headphone jack
Right-hand side: Volume rocker, fingerprint sensor, power button
Right-hand side: Volume rocker, fingerprint sensor, power button
Left-hand side: Card slot
Left-hand side: Card slot
Underside: Speaker grille, USB Type-C port, speaker grille
Underside: Speaker grille, USB Type-C port, speaker grille

Software

Sony pre-installs Android 9.0 Pie on the Xperia 10 and had delivered the February 2019 security patch to our review unit at the time of testing. The Japanese manufacturer does not include stock Android like Google does with the Android One program or its Pixel devices, but it has only made minor adjustments.

The UI looks mostly like stock Android except for a few changes like tweaked icons and a different launcher. Moreover, Sony has included additional functionality like being able to enable one-handed mode with a double tap gesture. You can also access your favourite apps by triggering something that Sony calls “Side sense”. Double tapping on the side of the device brings up Side sense, which the Japanese manufacturer claims uses “AI in Xperia” to predict your favourite apps.

Our review unit also comes with hardly any bloatware just like stock Android. However, Sony has decided to include Facebook and Netflix, which can only be disabled and not uninstalled.

A look at some of the pre-installed apps
A look at some of the pre-installed apps
Android 9.0 Pie Recents pane
Android 9.0 Pie Recents pane
Quick Settings
Quick Settings
Default home screen and screenshot notification
Default home screen and screenshot notification

Communication & GPS

The Xperia 10 supports LTE Cat.12 for up to 600 MBit/s download speeds and 100 MBit/s upload speeds. Sony sells the I4113 variant in Germany, which only supports 10 LTE bands along with quadband GSM and UMTS. Our review unit covers all necessary LTE bands for Germany and most of Europe, although it cannot use LTE Band 28, which is becoming increasingly popular among carriers. Moreover, you may struggle to connect to LTE networks in countries like the USA. However, other regional variants will support different LTE bands.

Sony has also included an NFC chip for use with services like Google Pay. The Xperia 10 supports Bluetooth 5.0 too.

The device also supports all modern Wi-Fi standards up to IEEE 802.11 ac and can connect to 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz networks. Our review unit maintained stable Wi-Fi connectivity throughout our tests and manages an attenuation of -50 dBm when connected and placed next to our Telekom Speedport W921V router.

Moreover, the Xperia 10 performed well in our iperf3 Client Wi-Fi tests with our Linksys EA8500 reference router. Our review unit averaged 334 MBit/s in the download test and 253 MBit/s in the upload test, which are both in the midfield of our comparison tables.

The device also supports LTE across both its SIM card slots. Both slots support the same volume of LTE bands too.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
675 (min: 630, max: 704) MBit/s ∼100% +102%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
491 (min: 444, max: 499) MBit/s ∼73% +47%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Adreno 512, 660, 64 GB eMMC Flash
350 (min: 327, max: 361) MBit/s ∼52% +5%
Sony Xperia 10
Adreno 508, 630, 64 GB eMMC Flash
334 (min: 326, max: 341) MBit/s ∼49%
Nokia 8.1
Adreno 616, 710, 64 GB eMMC Flash
312 (min: 273, max: 341) MBit/s ∼46% -7%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Mali-G71 MP2, 7885, 64 GB eMMC Flash
279 (min: 265, max: 284) MBit/s ∼41% -16%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=367)
219 MBit/s ∼32% -34%
Motorola Moto G7
Adreno 506, 632, 64 GB eMMC Flash
112 (min: 94, max: 118) MBit/s ∼17% -66%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Adreno 308, 425, 32 GB eMMC Flash
52.6 (min: 42, max: 58) MBit/s ∼8% -84%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Adreno 630, 845, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
647 (min: 598, max: 665) MBit/s ∼100% +156%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Adreno 630, 845, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
429 (min: 256, max: 448) MBit/s ∼66% +70%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Mali-G71 MP2, 7885, 64 GB eMMC Flash
320 (min: 164, max: 362) MBit/s ∼49% +26%
Nokia 8.1
Adreno 616, 710, 64 GB eMMC Flash
300 (min: 169, max: 367) MBit/s ∼46% +19%
Sony Xperia 10
Adreno 508, 630, 64 GB eMMC Flash
253 (min: 128, max: 283) MBit/s ∼39%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Adreno 512, 660, 64 GB eMMC Flash
238 (min: 189, max: 285) MBit/s ∼37% -6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=367)
210 MBit/s ∼32% -17%
Motorola Moto G7
Adreno 506, 632, 64 GB eMMC Flash
112 (min: 107, max: 117) MBit/s ∼17% -56%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Adreno 308, 425, 32 GB eMMC Flash
43.1 (min: 18, max: 66) MBit/s ∼7% -83%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø333 (326-341)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø248 (128-283)
GPS test: Inside
GPS test: Inside
GPS test: Outdoors
GPS test: Outdoors

The Xperia 10 uses BeiDou, Galileo, GLONASS, GPS and SBAS for location services. Our review unit can achieve a satellite fix with up to 3 metres accuracy outside and 4 metres inside. The device finds a satellite within a few seconds too, which is impressive and not always the case for midrange smartphones.

We also took the Xperia 10 on a bike ride to compare its location accuracy against the Garmin Edge 500, our reference professional navigation device. Our review unit deviated only by around 20 metres over the 8.74 km route that the Garmin recorded us having cycled, which represents over 99% accuracy.

In short, the Xperia 10 did a good job at tracking us as demonstrated in the screenshots below. Overall, the device is accurate enough for all general tasks like turn-by-turn navigation while cycling, driving or walking.

GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Taking a tight corner
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Taking a tight corner
GPS test: Sony Xperia 10 – Overview
GPS test: Sony Xperia 10 – Overview
GPS test: Sony Xperia 10 – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Sony Xperia 10 – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Sony Xperia 10 – Taking a tight corner
GPS test: Sony Xperia 10 – Taking a tight corner

Telephone Features & Call Quality

Contacts search panel
Contacts search panel
Dialler
Dialler

The Xperia 10 has decent call quality; we experienced no disturbing dropouts or reception problems during our test calls. Our review unit reproduced our call partner’s voice clearly, while the microphones did the same for our voice too. The Xperia 10 is good on video calls too, but its microphones struggle to filter out background noise for some reason, and our voice came across more quietly than it did in a regular call.

The device also supports voice over LTE (VoLTE), which allows you to make and receive calls over 4G. Sony includes WiFi calling (VoWiFi) too, which can be found in the settings menu. The option for VoLTE is hidden on our review unit for some reason though. Both functionalities will only work if your carrier provisions the Xperia 10 on their network.

Cameras

Photo taken with the front-facing camera
Photo taken with the front-facing camera

The Xperia 10 has two rear-facing cameras as we mentioned earlier in this review. The main camera is a 13 MP sensor with an f/2.0 aperture that supports hybrid autofocus. Sony does not specify the image sensor that it has used, but we also know that it has a pixel size of 1.12 μm. The second camera sensor has a narrower f/2.4 aperture and can only capture images in up to 5 MP. The Xperia 10 can use both lenses simultaneously to create effective bokeh effect shots too.

Unfortunately, the photo quality is rather mediocre for a €350 (~ US$395) smartphone. Our review unit often overexposes scenes in bright ambient light and fails to pick up as many details as many of its competitors manage. Photos have underwhelming dynamic range too, although enabling HDR in manual mode improves the results somewhat. The Xperia 10 reproduces colours naturally though as is typical of Sony smartphones.

The rear-facing cameras can also use a dual tone LED flash in low-light, but the results are disappointing, nonetheless. Our test shots in low-light are dominated by image noise and look blurry, as demonstrated in scene 2. This poor low-light performance is because of its main sensor’s small pixels and comparatively narrow aperture.

Incidentally, both rear-facing sensors only support electronic image stabilisation (EIS). Neither is optically stabilised (OIS).

The Xperia 10 also has an 8 MP front-facing camera that has an f/2.0 aperture. Qualitatively, the photos are satisfactory for a smartphone that costs €350 (~ US$395), but the Xperia 10 is no selfie specialist. Photos tend to look overly soft, while the sensor often overexposes bright areas too.

The front-facing camera can also shoot videos in up to 1080p at 30 FPS, which is fairly standard for a midrange smartphone. By contrast, the 13 MP sensor can record in 1080p at 60 FPS or in UHD at 30 FPS. You can also choose between recording in a 16:9 or 21:9 aspect ratio. Our review unit does a reasonable job at capturing videos, and the EIS does its job well, but it is no better than other midrange smartphones can achieve.

Worse still, the EIS, or SteadyShot as Sony markets it, does not support UHD so videos recorded at this resolution will look blurry unless you have a steady hand or are using something like a gimbal to eliminate camera shake.

Standard photo
Standard photo
Bokeh mode
Bokeh mode
HDR
HDR
Default camera app: Photo modes
Default camera app: Photo modes
Default camera app: Viewfinder
Default camera app: Viewfinder
Default camera app: Photo options
Default camera app: Photo options
Default camera app: Manual mode
Default camera app: Manual mode
Default camera app: Video mode
Default camera app: Video mode
Default camera app: Video settings
Default camera app: Video settings

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

We also subjected our review unit to further camera tests under controlled lighting conditions and compared its colour reproduction against ColorChecker Passport reference colours. We also took a photo of our test chart as we do with almost all the smartphones that we test.

The Xperia 10 oversaturates black and white tones and typically reproduces colours more darkly than it should. Our review unit did a good job at reproducing our test chart though, particularly at the centre of the image. Colour gradients look clean, while fonts on dark backgrounds are hardly frayed. Contrast levels drop off towards the bottom of the chart, but that is a common flaw with many smartphones.

A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail

Accessories & Warranty

A look at the optional Style Cover Stand SCSI10
A look at the optional Style Cover Stand SCSI10

Sony includes a short manual, a 7.5 W modular charger (5 V/1.5 A), a USB cable and a pair of headphones in the box. The company also sells an 18 W quick charger and a case that incorporates a stand, which it calls the Style Cover Stand SCSI10. Sony claims that the case is MIL-STD-810G certified, which means that it has successfully passed 14 environmental and climatic tests. These include falls from up to 1.2 metres along with being subjected to -33 °C for four hours and to -21 °C for 24 hours. There are also salt spray, high humidity, high temperature, high pressure, sunlight and vibration tests. Please keep in mind that no independent organisation or agency certifies MIL-STD-810 compliance, so take the certification with a pinch of salt.

The Xperia 10 comes with 24 months manufacturer’s warranty. Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies & Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

The Xperia 10 has a ten-point multitouch capacitive touchscreen that reacts promptly and accurately even into the corners of the display. We had no issues with any delays or missed inputs during our tests.

One benefit of having an elongated display is that virtual keyboards take up hardly any room if left at their default sizes. The keys may be too small for some people out of the box, but you could alter the size of the keyboard subsequently if needed. Sony pre-installs SwiftKey as the default keyboard on the Xperia 10, which worked just as well on our review unit as on other devices that we have tested running it. You can switch the keyboard for another like those downloadable from the Google Play Store should you wish to do so.

The Xperia 10 also has a fingerprint sensor as we mentioned in the Connectivity section of this review, which worked reliably during our tests. The detection rate of the sensor is good, even if it is a touch too slow to unlock for our liking. The device does not have face unlock, but you can still use a password, pattern or PIN instead of a fingerprint. You must also set one of those three if you enable fingerprint unlocking too as a failsafe if the sensor fails to detect your finger.

Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The star of the show with the Xperia 10 is its 21:9, 6-inch IPS display, which operates natively at 2,520 x 1,080. The panel has a 457 PPI pixel density, which is sharp enough for everyday use in our opinion. The same applies to its maximum brightness too.

Our review unit reaches a maximum of 548 cd/m² when tested with a pure white background and with the ambient light sensor deactivated. The more realistic APL50 measurement, which uniformly distributes light and dark areas across the display, measures a slightly higher maximum luminosity at 552 cd/m².

The display uses pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate brightness, which looks as if the display is flickering to the human eye. This flickering can cause eye strain and headaches for some people at low frequencies. The Xperia 10 flickers at 2,330 Hz when set to 17% brightness and below, which should be high enough to not cause any issues even for those who are PWM sensitive. Subjectively, we did not notice any annoying flickering during our tests.

516
cd/m²
548
cd/m²
520
cd/m²
524
cd/m²
547
cd/m²
511
cd/m²
523
cd/m²
522
cd/m²
517
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 548 cd/m² Average: 525.3 cd/m² Minimum: 5.57 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 93 %
Center on Battery: 547 cd/m²
Contrast: 1519:1 (Black: 0.36 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 4.6 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.1
ΔE Greyscale 3.9 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
97.3% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.17
Sony Xperia 10
IPS-LCD, 2520x1080, 6
Motorola Moto G7
IPS, 2270x1080, 6.2
Nokia 8.1
IPS, 2246x1080, 6.18
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
TFT, 1480x720, 6
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
IPS, 2340x1080, 6.3
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
IPS, 2246x1080, 6.18
Xiaomi Mi 8
AMOLED, 2248x1080, 6.21
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Super AMOLED, 2220x1080, 6
Screen
-15%
-10%
-11%
18%
4%
0%
36%
Brightness middle
547
471
-14%
567
4%
512
-6%
541
-1%
489
-11%
430
-21%
570
4%
Brightness
525
453
-14%
547
4%
508
-3%
540
3%
486
-7%
434
-17%
565
8%
Brightness Distribution
93
94
1%
92
-1%
95
2%
91
-2%
93
0%
94
1%
93
0%
Black Level *
0.36
0.5
-39%
0.61
-69%
0.28
22%
0.33
8%
0.34
6%
Contrast
1519
942
-38%
930
-39%
1829
20%
1639
8%
1438
-5%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
4.6
5.5
-20%
4.39
5%
5.6
-22%
2.7
41%
3.8
17%
5.09
-11%
1.5
67%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
12.1
7.95
34%
7.28
40%
11.8
2%
4.6
62%
7.1
41%
8.05
33%
3.6
70%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
3.9
5
-28%
4.9
-26%
8
-105%
3.1
21%
4.4
-13%
3.3
15%
1.2
69%
Gamma
2.17 101%
2.326 95%
2.248 98%
2.14 103%
2.26 97%
2.22 99%
2.257 97%
2.07 106%
CCT
7158 91%
7654 85%
7642 85%
7831 83%
6853 95%
7213 90%
7026 93%
6504 100%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 2336 Hz ≤ 17 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 2336 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 17 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 2336 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9705 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Optimal manual white balance for our review unit
Optimal manual white balance for our review unit

IPS panels cannot switch off their pixels individually as OLED panels can, which means that they cannot as true blacks or as vivid colours either. The Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018) and Xiaomi Mi 8 have AMOLED panels, which means that they are also more colour accurate than the Xperia 10. Our review unit does a good job, nonetheless, and achieved a 0.36 cd/m² black value according to our tests. Moreover, its 1,500:1 contrast ratio is higher than or on par with our comparison devices.

Our tests with a spectrophotometer and CalMAN analysis software also underlined our initial impressions. Sony includes several options for tweaking the white balance in the settings menu, which is helpful. We have included a screenshot of our optimised settings to the right should you wish to use them. These settings allowed our device to achieve decent colour accuracy with a 4.6 DeltaE deviation for colours and 3.9 for grey tones. The ideal value is 3, so the Xperia 10 is close to perfect here and does a better job than many of its contemporaries. The colour temperature is a touch too high at 7,158 K though, which gives the display a blue tint. Ideally, the Xperia 10 would have a display with a colour temperature closer to 6,500 K, which would provide more balanced colour reproduction.

CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – sRGB target colour space, custom white balance
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – sRGB target colour space, custom white balance
CalMAN: Colour Space – sRGB target colour space, custom white balance
CalMAN: Colour Space – sRGB target colour space, custom white balance
CalMAN: Greyscale – sRGB target colour space, custom white balance
CalMAN: Greyscale – sRGB target colour space, custom white balance
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – sRGB target colour space, custom white balance
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – sRGB target colour space, custom white balance
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – sRGB target colour space, standard white balance
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – sRGB target colour space, standard white balance
CalMAN: Colour Space – sRGB target colour space, standard white balance
CalMAN: Colour Space – sRGB target colour space, standard white balance
CalMAN: Greyscale – sRGB target colour space, standard white balance
CalMAN: Greyscale – sRGB target colour space, standard white balance
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – sRGB target colour space, standard white balance
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – sRGB target colour space, standard white balance
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – sRGB target colour space, vivid white balance
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – sRGB target colour space, vivid white balance
CalMAN: Colour Space – sRGB target colour space, vivid white balance
CalMAN: Colour Space – sRGB target colour space, vivid white balance
CalMAN: Greyscale – sRGB target colour space, vivid white balance
CalMAN: Greyscale – sRGB target colour space, vivid white balance
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – sRGB target colour space, vivid white balance
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – sRGB target colour space, vivid white balance

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
24 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 6.8 ms rise
↘ 17.2 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 32 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (25.5 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
64.8 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 28.4 ms rise
↘ 36.4 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 97 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (40.7 ms).

Thankfully, the Xperia 10 is easy to use outdoors because of its bright display. Content remains visible even in direct sunlight because of our review unit’s high contrast ratio, which prevents images from looking washed out.

Using the Xperia 10 outdoors
Using the Xperia 10 outdoors
Using the Xperia 10 outdoors
Using the Xperia 10 outdoors
Using the Xperia 10 outdoors
Using the Xperia 10 outdoors

The display also has excellent viewing angles because of the IPS technology used. We noticed no colour changes even at acute viewing angles brightness, although the brightness does drop off slightly.

Viewing Angles
Viewing Angles

Performance

Sony has equipped the Xperia 10 with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 630 SoC, which is now almost two years old. The SoC integrates 8 Cortex-A53 cores and is manufactured on a 14nm FinFET process, the latter of which makes it comparably energy efficient. There is also a Qualcomm Adreno 508 GPU onboard that supports all modern APIs like Direct3D 12, OpenGL ES 3.1 and Vulkan.

Our review unit performed solidly in daily use with its Snapdragon 630 SoC and 3 GB of LPDDR4 RAM, although we occasionally noticed some stutter animations during heavy multitasking. The system also deletes apps from its cache relatively quickly, but this could be because over an overzealous task manager rather than because of the device having inadequate RAM. 3 GB RAM is on the low side for a 2019 midrange smartphone, but it should be enough to handle all day to day tasks.

The Snapdragon 630 is one of the weaker SoCs of those in our comparison tables below, so it is unsurprising to see the Xperia 10 finish behind most of our comparison devices in synthetic benchmarks. The Snapdragon 630 is slightly slower than the Snapdragon 632 that powers the Moto G7 in CPU benchmarks, but its superior GPU allows it to pull clear in GPU heavy benchmarks. The Snapdragon 630 is also much more powerful than the Snapdragon 425 in the Galaxy J6+ (2018), but it is no match for the Snapdragon 710 or the Snapdragon 845 that power some of our other comparison devices.

Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3763 Points ∼26%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4006 Points ∼28% +6%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
6813 Points ∼47% +81%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
1411 Points ∼10% -63%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
5576 Points ∼39% +48%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
14369 Points ∼100% +282%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
13371 Points ∼93% +255%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
4026 Points ∼28% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (2910 - 3956, n=12)
3718 Points ∼26% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (870 - 21070, n=252)
4659 Points ∼32% +24%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3986 Points ∼43%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4765 Points ∼52% +20%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
5856 Points ∼64% +47%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
1801 Points ∼20% -55%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
5913 Points ∼64% +48%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
9182 Points ∼100% +130%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8907 Points ∼97% +123%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
4429 Points ∼48% +11%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (2246 - 4234, n=13)
4009 Points ∼44% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1174 - 11598, n=305)
4464 Points ∼49% +12%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
837 Points ∼34%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1256 Points ∼51% +50%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
1799 Points ∼73% +115%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
644 Points ∼26% -23%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
1639 Points ∼66% +96%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2468 Points ∼100% +195%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2430 Points ∼98% +190%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
1525 Points ∼62% +82%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (710 - 885, n=13)
853 Points ∼35% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (437 - 4824, n=306)
1313 Points ∼53% +57%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
5987 Points ∼74%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6038 Points ∼75% +1%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
6887 Points ∼85% +15%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
3243 Points ∼40% -46%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
6187 Points ∼76% +3%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8101 Points ∼100% +35%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
7983 Points ∼99% +33%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
5387 Points ∼66% -10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (4636 - 5987, n=12)
4968 Points ∼61% -17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2828 - 9868, n=315)
4816 Points ∼59% -20%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4948 Points ∼51%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
7187 Points ∼74% +45%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
8309 Points ∼86% +68%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
4088 Points ∼42% -17%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
6870 Points ∼71% +39%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
9664 Points ∼100% +95%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
9689 Points ∼100% +96%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
5625 Points ∼58% +14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (4948 - 6264, n=13)
5632 Points ∼58% +14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2695 - 13531, n=484)
5243 Points ∼54% +6%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
2167 Points ∼96%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
 
2167 Points ∼96% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2028 - 3288, n=9)
2265 Points ∼100% +5%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
693 Points ∼26%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
 
693 Points ∼26% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (693 - 5723, n=9)
2643 Points ∼100% +281%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
861 Points ∼37%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
 
861 Points ∼37% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (861 - 4914, n=9)
2351 Points ∼100% +173%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1664 Points ∼60%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2206 Points ∼80% +33%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2534 Points ∼92% +52%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2768 Points ∼100% +66%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2257 Points ∼82% +36%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2215 Points ∼80% +33%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
1845 Points ∼67% +11%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1664 - 1778, n=13)
1710 Points ∼62% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 4439, n=330)
1784 Points ∼64% +7%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
792 Points ∼18%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
467 Points ∼10% -41%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
1845 Points ∼41% +133%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
1262 Points ∼28% +59%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4468 Points ∼100% +464%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4471 Points ∼100% +465%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
629 Points ∼14% -21%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (767 - 809, n=13)
797 Points ∼18% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (76 - 8206, n=330)
1531 Points ∼34% +93%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
896 Points ∼24%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
566 Points ∼15% -37%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
1964 Points ∼54% +119%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
1436 Points ∼39% +60%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3669 Points ∼100% +309%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3646 Points ∼99% +307%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
737 Points ∼20% -18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (872 - 919, n=13)
904 Points ∼25% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (94 - 5913, n=333)
1426 Points ∼39% +59%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1732 Points ∼61%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2201 Points ∼78% +27%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2516 Points ∼89% +45%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
896 Points ∼32% -48%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2772 Points ∼98% +60%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2832 Points ∼100% +64%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2181 Points ∼77% +26%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
1871 Points ∼66% +8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1657 - 1819, n=13)
1731 Points ∼61% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 4493, n=345)
1760 Points ∼62% +2%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1299 Points ∼19%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
809 Points ∼12% -38%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2855 Points ∼41% +120%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
250 Points ∼4% -81%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2006 Points ∼29% +54%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
6898 Points ∼100% +431%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5328 Points ∼77% +310%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
954 Points ∼14% -27%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1204 - 1332, n=13)
1302 Points ∼19% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (131 - 14951, n=345)
2111 Points ∼31% +63%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1375 Points ∼26%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
941 Points ∼18% -32%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2772 Points ∼53% +102%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
298 Points ∼6% -78%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2073 Points ∼40% +51%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5230 Points ∼100% +280%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4034 Points ∼77% +193%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
1071 Points ∼20% -22%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1299 - 1415, n=13)
1379 Points ∼26% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (159 - 7856, n=346)
1791 Points ∼34% +30%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1645 Points ∼61%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2251 Points ∼83% +37%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2514 Points ∼93% +53%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2708 Points ∼100% +65%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2528 Points ∼93% +54%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2137 Points ∼79% +30%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
1821 Points ∼67% +11%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1631 - 1822, n=13)
1734 Points ∼64% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (486 - 4216, n=406)
1715 Points ∼63% +4%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
704 Points ∼15%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
419 Points ∼9% -40%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
1702 Points ∼36% +142%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
1189 Points ∼25% +69%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4746 Points ∼100% +574%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4010 Points ∼84% +470%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
634 Points ∼13% -10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (704 - 729, n=13)
718 Points ∼15% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (65 - 6355, n=408)
1257 Points ∼26% +79%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
809 Points ∼20%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
512 Points ∼13% -37%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
1834 Points ∼46% +127%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
1358 Points ∼34% +68%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3972 Points ∼100% +391%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3356 Points ∼84% +315%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
741 Points ∼19% -8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (809 - 839, n=13)
825 Points ∼21% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (80 - 5509, n=416)
1202 Points ∼30% +49%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1687 Points ∼60%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2273 Points ∼80% +35%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2467 Points ∼87% +46%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
899 Points ∼32% -47%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2834 Points ∼100% +68%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2720 Points ∼96% +61%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
2124 Points ∼75% +26%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
1829 Points ∼65% +8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1687 - 1816, n=13)
1746 Points ∼62% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (512 - 4215, n=439)
1618 Points ∼57% -4%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1235 Points ∼15%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
780 Points ∼9% -37%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2763 Points ∼33% +124%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
54 Points ∼1% -96%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
1925 Points ∼23% +56%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
8261 Points ∼100% +569%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
6243 Points ∼76% +406%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
845 Points ∼10% -32%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1234 - 1289, n=13)
1258 Points ∼15% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 9963, n=439)
1710 Points ∼21% +38%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1315 Points ∼23%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
913 Points ∼16% -31%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2691 Points ∼47% +105%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
68 Points ∼1% -95%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2073 Points ∼36% +58%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
5687 Points ∼100% +332%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
4363 Points ∼77% +232%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
960 Points ∼17% -27%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1315 - 1374, n=13)
1341 Points ∼24% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 7166, n=447)
1465 Points ∼26% +11%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
12437 Points ∼36%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
16647 Points ∼48% +34%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
14820 Points ∼42% +19%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
10416 Points ∼30% -16%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
19087 Points ∼55% +53%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
34928 Points ∼100% +181%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
27858 Points ∼80% +124%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
13914 Points ∼40% +12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (12437 - 13217, n=13)
12963 Points ∼37% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 37475, n=600)
13331 Points ∼38% +7%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
17878 Points ∼22%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
14475 Points ∼18% -19%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
39655 Points ∼48% +122%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
5447 Points ∼7% -70%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
29496 Points ∼36% +65%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
82125 Points ∼100% +359%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
77203 Points ∼94% +332%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
15567 Points ∼19% -13%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (16508 - 18635, n=13)
18279 Points ∼22% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 162695, n=600)
19126 Points ∼23% +7%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
16290 Points ∼26%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
14907 Points ∼24% -8%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
28895 Points ∼46% +77%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
6093 Points ∼10% -63%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
26308 Points ∼42% +61%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
63159 Points ∼100% +288%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
55397 Points ∼88% +240%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
15167 Points ∼24% -7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (15466 - 17032, n=13)
16750 Points ∼27% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0 - 77599, n=601)
16023 Points ∼25% -2%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
29 fps ∼19%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
24 fps ∼16% -17%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
65 fps ∼43% +124%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
7.6 fps ∼5% -74%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
51 fps ∼34% +76%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
150 fps ∼100% +417%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
120 fps ∼80% +314%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (29 - 30, n=13)
29.7 fps ∼20% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4.4 - 251, n=623)
33.3 fps ∼22% +15%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
25 fps ∼42%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
23 fps ∼38% -8%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
57 fps ∼95% +128%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
13 fps ∼22% -48%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
44 fps ∼73% +76%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
60 fps ∼100% +140%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
60 fps ∼100% +140%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (25 - 31, n=13)
29.2 fps ∼49% +17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (11 - 120, n=626)
26.1 fps ∼44% +4%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
13 fps ∼18%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
10 fps ∼14% -23%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
32 fps ∼45% +146%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
2.8 fps ∼4% -78%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
23 fps ∼32% +77%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
71 fps ∼100% +446%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
67 fps ∼94% +415%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (13 - 14, n=13)
13.8 fps ∼19% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 132, n=542)
18.1 fps ∼25% +39%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
11 fps ∼19%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
9.9 fps ∼17% -10%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
31 fps ∼53% +182%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
5.5 fps ∼9% -50%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
20 fps ∼34% +82%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
58 fps ∼100% +427%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
56 fps ∼97% +409%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (11 - 15, n=13)
13.8 fps ∼24% +25%
Average of class Smartphone
  (6.2 - 115, n=547)
17 fps ∼29% +55%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
9.5 fps ∼20%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6.9 fps ∼15% -27%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
23 fps ∼49% +142%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
15 fps ∼32% +58%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
35 fps ∼74% +268%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
47 fps ∼100% +395%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (5.2 - 10, n=13)
9.38 fps ∼20% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.3 - 88, n=404)
15.2 fps ∼32% +60%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
7.8 fps ∼14%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6.5 fps ∼12% -17%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
22 fps ∼41% +182%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
13 fps ∼24% +67%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
54 fps ∼100% +592%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
45 fps ∼83% +477%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (5.3 - 11, n=13)
9.36 fps ∼17% +20%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.8 - 110, n=407)
14.6 fps ∼27% +87%
GFXBench
High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
2.7 fps ∼12%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2 fps ∼9% -26%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
8.2 fps ∼37% +204%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
4.8 fps ∼22% +78%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
22 fps ∼100% +715%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
22 fps ∼100% +715%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (2.7 - 3.2, n=4)
3.03 fps ∼14% +12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.7 - 59, n=108)
9.38 fps ∼43% +247%
2560x1440 High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1.7 fps ∼12%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1.2 fps ∼9% -29%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
5 fps ∼36% +194%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
3.2 fps ∼23% +88%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
14 fps ∼100% +724%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
14 fps ∼100% +724%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1.7 - 1.9, n=4)
1.825 fps ∼13% +7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.5 - 31, n=108)
6.5 fps ∼46% +282%
Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.4 fps ∼13%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.6 fps ∼10% -18%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
13 fps ∼37% +195%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
7.6 fps ∼22% +73%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
31 fps ∼89% +605%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
35 fps ∼100% +695%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (4.4 - 5.4, n=4)
5.05 fps ∼14% +15%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.5 - 59, n=109)
13.8 fps ∼39% +214%
1920x1080 Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.9 fps ∼14%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.9 fps ∼11% -20%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
14 fps ∼41% +186%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
8.7 fps ∼26% +78%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
32 fps ∼94% +553%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
34 fps ∼100% +594%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (4.9 - 5.6, n=4)
5.28 fps ∼16% +8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.75 - 63, n=108)
15.4 fps ∼45% +214%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
5.3 fps ∼15%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.9 fps ∼11% -26%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
13 fps ∼37% +145%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
9.1 fps ∼26% +72%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
35 fps ∼100% +560%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
26 fps ∼74% +391%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (5.3 - 5.6, n=13)
5.48 fps ∼16% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.6 - 54, n=333)
10.4 fps ∼30% +96%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.3 fps ∼13%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.6 fps ∼11% -16%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
12 fps ∼36% +179%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
7.8 fps ∼24% +81%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
33 fps ∼100% +667%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
28 fps ∼85% +551%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (4.3 - 6, n=13)
5.48 fps ∼17% +27%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.8 - 58, n=337)
9.33 fps ∼28% +117%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
88287 Points ∼34%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
108408 Points ∼41% +23%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
169262 Points ∼64% +92%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
41483 Points ∼16% -53%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
143352 Points ∼54% +62%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
263165 Points ∼100% +198%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
122826 Points ∼47% +39%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (87300 - 90674, n=11)
89396 Points ∼34% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (41483 - 374820, n=227)
125682 Points ∼48% +42%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
815 Points ∼63%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1008 Points ∼78% +24%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
1077 Points ∼83% +32%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
685 Points ∼53% -16%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
1086 Points ∼84% +33%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
1296 Points ∼100% +59%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
1292 Points ∼100% +59%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
1090 Points ∼84% +34%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (666 - 936, n=13)
859 Points ∼66% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 1731, n=557)
722 Points ∼56% -11%
Graphics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1409 Points ∼18%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1075 Points ∼14% -24%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
3086 Points ∼39% +119%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
446 Points ∼6% -68%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2308 Points ∼29% +64%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
7945 Points ∼100% +464%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
7895 Points ∼99% +460%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
1356 Points ∼17% -4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1409 - 1523, n=13)
1494 Points ∼19% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 15969, n=557)
1851 Points ∼23% +31%
Memory (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
983 Points ∼30%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1963 Points ∼60% +100%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2947 Points ∼90% +200%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
643 Points ∼20% -35%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2332 Points ∼72% +137%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3239 Points ∼99% +230%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3261 Points ∼100% +232%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
2445 Points ∼75% +149%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (838 - 1405, n=13)
1199 Points ∼37% +22%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 6283, n=557)
1357 Points ∼42% +38%
System (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3159 Points ∼48%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4378 Points ∼66% +39%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
5681 Points ∼86% +80%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
1239 Points ∼19% -61%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
5141 Points ∼78% +63%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
6506 Points ∼98% +106%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
6620 Points ∼100% +110%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
4506 Points ∼68% +43%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1763 - 3319, n=13)
3147 Points ∼48% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 12202, n=557)
2718 Points ∼41% -14%
Overall (sort by value)
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1374 Points ∼36%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1747 Points ∼45% +27%
Nokia 8.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 710, Adreno 616, 4096
2731 Points ∼71% +99%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
702 Points ∼18% -49%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 4096
2342 Points ∼61% +70%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3838 Points ∼100% +179%
Xiaomi Mi 8
Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, Adreno 630, 6144
3852 Points ∼100% +180%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
Samsung Exynos 7885, Mali-G71 MP2, 4096
2009 Points ∼52% +46%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
  (1152 - 1570, n=13)
1479 Points ∼38% +8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (150 - 6097, n=561)
1349 Points ∼35% -2%

Again, while we have no complaints about browsing the web on our review unit, the Xperia 10 typically finishes towards the bottom of our browser benchmark comparison tables. Web page content loads quickly though and scrolling on the pre-installed web browser remained smooth throughout our tests.

Jetstream 2 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (16.3 - 96.7, n=10)
33.2 Points ∼100% +104%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
16.3 Points ∼49% 0%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
16.254 Points ∼49%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Xiaomi Mi 8 (Chrome 72)
83 Points ∼100% +113%
Nokia 8.1 (Chrome 71)
72 Points ∼87% +85%
Average of class Smartphone (24 - 161, n=93)
64.4 Points ∼78% +65%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 (Chrome 72)
61 Points ∼73% +56%
Motorola Moto G7 (Chrome 71)
58 Points ∼70% +49%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018 (Chrome 70)
57 Points ∼69% +46%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
39 Points ∼47%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630 (35 - 39, n=5)
37.6 Points ∼45% -4%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018 (Chrome 72)
25 Points ∼30% -36%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 8 (Chrome 72)
15086 Points ∼100% +210%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1 (Chrome 68)
14514 Points ∼96% +198%
Nokia 8.1 (Chrome 71)
12717 Points ∼84% +161%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 (Chrome 72)
10679 Points ∼71% +120%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018 (Chrome 70)
9165 Points ∼61% +88%
Motorola Moto G7 (Chrome 71)
8351 Points ∼55% +72%
Average of class Smartphone (4865 - 43280, n=617)
5935 Points ∼39% +22%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630 (4398 - 5202, n=13)
4963 Points ∼33% +2%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
4865 Points ∼32%
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018 (Chrome 72)
3374 Points ∼22% -31%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018 (Chrome 72)
13548.5 ms * ∼100% -32%
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=637)
11078 ms * ∼82% -8%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
10256.9 ms * ∼76%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630 (8396 - 10257, n=13)
9702 ms * ∼72% +5%
Motorola Moto G7 (Chrome 71)
4900 ms * ∼36% +52%
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018 (Chrome 70)
4122.8 ms * ∼30% +60%
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 (Chrome 72)
3948 ms * ∼29% +62%
Nokia 8.1 (Chrome 71)
3034.9 ms * ∼22% +70%
Xiaomi Mi 8 (Chrome 72)
2818 ms * ∼21% +73%
Xiaomi Pocophone F1 (Chrome 68)
2713.6 ms * ∼20% +74%

* ... smaller is better

Some €350 (~ US$395) devices are not starting to be equipped with UFS flash storage, which is much faster than the eMMC storage that the Xperia 10 has. The Pocophone F1 is an example of this and wiped the floor with our review unit in AndroBench benchmarks. Overall though, the 64 GB of storage in the Xperia 10 is on par with what we have come to expect from eMMC flash storage.

Our review unit performed comparatively better in microSD card benchmarks and matched our fastest comparison devices. The device cannot reach our Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 reference cards maximum theoretical speeds, but files should transfer quickly, nonetheless.

Sony Xperia 10Motorola Moto G7Nokia 8.1Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018Xiaomi Redmi Note 7Xiaomi Pocophone F1Xiaomi Mi 8Samsung Galaxy A7 2018 Average 64 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
78%
-6%
-9%
9%
41%
86%
2%
2%
-19%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
63.81 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
66.8 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
5%
58.27 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-9%
61.45 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-4%
59.51 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-7%
65.58 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
3%
64.39 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
1%
55.7 (58.4 - 74.7, n=92)
-13%
47.4 (9.5 - 87.1, n=370)
-26%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
83.23 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
86.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
4%
84.65 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
2%
76.63 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-8%
83.18 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
0%
85.3 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
2%
78.15 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-6%
73.9 (81.2 - 87.2, n=92)
-11%
65.5 (8.1 - 96.5, n=370)
-21%
Random Write 4KB
14.39
75.6
425%
7.3
-49%
12.71
-12%
16.06
12%
17.81
24%
21
46%
15.45
7%
23.1 (3.4 - 88.2, n=101)
61%
18.5 (0.14 - 250, n=667)
29%
Random Read 4KB
53.12
69.3
30%
69.9
32%
64.64
22%
82.94
56%
101.01
90%
136.3
157%
83.98
58%
53 (11.4 - 149, n=101)
0%
42.1 (1.59 - 174, n=667)
-21%
Sequential Write 256KB
232.87
216
-7%
203.8
-12%
95.57
-59%
204.72
-12%
155.57
-33%
207.8
-11%
104.87
-55%
172 (40 - 246, n=101)
-26%
87.6 (2.99 - 388, n=667)
-62%
Sequential Read 256KB
273.8
297
8%
279.3
2%
292.87
7%
283.36
3%
705.38
158%
693.2
153%
295.76
8%
272 (115 - 704, n=101)
-1%
246 (12.1 - 912, n=667)
-10%

Games

The Adreno 508 remains a competent GPU, although it struggles in some more demanding games. Games like Asphalt 9: Legends and PUBG Mobile are playable at high graphics, but framerates can dip below 20 FPS as demonstrated by our GameBench framerate graphs below. In short, you should have no problem playing most games smoothly, although you may need to drop the graphics to standard or low if you are running a complex 3D game like PUBG Mobile.

The touchscreen and corresponding sensors all worked perfectly during our gaming tests too. However, most games do not currently support the Xperia 10's 21:9 display, so games are often flanked by thick black bars. It remains to be seen whether this will be addressed as a 21:9 is rather a niche aspect ratio.

PUBG Mobile
PUBG Mobile
Asphalt 9 Legends
Asphalt 9 Legends
PUBG Mobile
0102030Tooltip
: Ø24.7 (17-26)
Asphalt Legends
010203040Tooltip
; High Quality: Ø24.5 (19-30)
; Standard / low: Ø28.8 (24-31)

Emissions

Temperature

The Xperia X10 is a rather hot device. The entire top third of our review unit exceeds 30 °C when idling, while the top third of the display averages a toasty 34.2 °C. The same area reaches a maximum of 38.6 °C under sustained load, which is considerably warmer than most modern midrange smartphones. Fortunately, the rest of the device remains cooler, so the Xperia 10 should remain comfortable to hold even if you are pushing it hard. However, the area around the rear-facing cameras and the top third of the display will feel hot the touch when you are gaming, for example.

We also subjected the Xperia 10 to a series of GFXBench benchmarks to determine whether our review unit thermal throttles. Specifically, we ran the ES3.1 battery test on a loop for thirty minutes and recorded any changes in battery percentage, framerates and internal temperatures. We have included our results below.

In short, the Xperia 10 does not thermal throttle, which is why it gets so hot. The framerate graph may initially make for dramatic viewing, but its Y axis increases in small increments. Correspondingly, the Xperia 10 only dropped a few frames over our 30-minute test, which does not constitute thermal throttling. Overall, you should encounter no problems if you push the Xperia 10 hard.

Sony Xperia 10
Sony Xperia 10
Sony Xperia 10
Sony Xperia 10
Max. Load
 37.7 °C
100 F
36.1 °C
97 F
30.1 °C
86 F
 
 38.6 °C
101 F
33.2 °C
92 F
28.9 °C
84 F
 
 35 °C
95 F
32.5 °C
91 F
29.3 °C
85 F
 
Maximum: 38.6 °C = 101 F
Average: 33.5 °C = 92 F
27.9 °C
82 F
30.8 °C
87 F
36.4 °C
98 F
27.6 °C
82 F
29.4 °C
85 F
36.6 °C
98 F
28.1 °C
83 F
29.8 °C
86 F
34.6 °C
94 F
Maximum: 36.6 °C = 98 F
Average: 31.2 °C = 88 F
Power Supply (max.)  36.3 °C = 97 F | Room Temperature 21.5 °C = 71 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 33.5 °C / 92 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 38.6 °C / 101 F, compared to the average of 35.6 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 36.6 °C / 98 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 30.6 °C / 87 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the top of the device under load
Heatmap of the top of the device under load

Speakers

Pink Noise speaker test
Pink Noise speaker test

The Xperia 10 features Sony's proprietary Digital Sound Enhancement Engine (DSEE HX) technology, which the Japanese manufacturer claims should optimise compressed audio files by upscaling them to sound as if they were high-resolution files instead. We can confirm this, with our review unit delivering clean and beautiful sounding audio via its 3.5 mm headphone jack.

The device also supports LDAC, which allows it to stream high-res audio content over Bluetooth with a transmission rate of up to 990 kbps. Conventional codecs like SBC can only stream in up to 328 kbps, so LDAC can transmit up to 3 times the data that codecs like SBC can.

Moreover, the Xperia 10’s mono speaker sounds surprisingly good for a midrange device. The one in our review unit reached a maximum of 86 dB(A) during our tests and produced pleasant sounding audio throughout our tests. Midrange and high-pitched frequencies dominate any audio that the speaker reproduces, but without sounding shrill. Our pink noise test, which you can see below, demonstrates that the speaker produces hardly any bass tones, but this is only a minor gripe. Even large laptops struggle to reproduce bass tones effectively.

In short, you will be spoilt for choice with audio outputs on the Xperia 10. Few smartphones at this price can output Hi-Res audio, especially over Bluetooth. The speaker is good enough for occasionally listening to music or watching YouTube videos too.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2032.234.62527.832.33124.125.24024.922.25033.336.26323.8278026.228.210026.229.712517.422.716017.231.520017.336.725016.44831516.255.840015.759.350014.664.763016.369.780013.472.4100013.872125014.371.7160013.874.1200014.372.8250014.673.6315013.776.8400014.578500014.476630014.374.8800014.671.81000014.669.61250014.561.81600014.846.6SPL26.786N0.864.6median 14.6median 69.7Delta1.412.638.735.637.138.733.733.337.433.436.336.828.329.923.726.423.224.12230.520.442.218.445.417.75017.354.817.759.218.161.62066.216.367.115.57514.17714.174.614.571.714.366.51565.214.765.816.965.815.369.21573.614.573.214.758.214.555.96727.983.419.4154.5median 15.5median 65.82.38.2hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseSony Xperia 10Motorola Moto G7
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Sony Xperia 10 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 32.3% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.7% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 4.7% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (3.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (22.7% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 33% of all tested devices in this class were better, 10% similar, 57% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 59% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 34% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Motorola Moto G7 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (83.4 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 24.6% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 6% higher than median
(+) | mids are linear (6.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 2.9% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (20.1% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 12% of all tested devices in this class were better, 9% similar, 79% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 42% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 50% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The Xperia 10 consumes less power on average than all but the Nokia 8.1 of our comparison devices. Moreover, our review unit is slightly more efficient than what we would have expected from a Snapdragon 630 powered device, especially under load.

Our review unit consumes a minimum of 0.71 W at idle, which puts it in the midfield of our comparison table. It also averages slightly higher consumption than most at idle, but it comes into its own under sustained load. We recorded an average and maximum power consumption under load of 3.32 W and 5.34 W respectively, which just edges out the Nokia 8.1 for first place in our comparison table. Predictably, more powerful smartphones like the Pocophone F1 and Mi 8 consume significantly more than the Xperia 10 under load.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.01 / 0.16 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.72 / 2.16 / 2.17 Watt
Load midlight 3.32 / 5.34 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Sony Xperia 10
2870 mAh
Motorola Moto G7
3000 mAh
Nokia 8.1
3500 mAh
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
3300 mAh
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
4000 mAh
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
4000 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 8
3400 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
3300 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 630
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
-22%
8%
-5%
-15%
-14%
-64%
-7%
-1%
-5%
Idle Minimum *
0.72
1.1
-53%
0.8
-11%
0.64
11%
0.61
15%
0.65
10%
1.5
-108%
0.71
1%
0.732 (0.35 - 1.4, n=13)
-2%
0.884 (0.2 - 3.4, n=700)
-23%
Idle Average *
2.16
1.8
17%
1.5
31%
1.81
16%
1.95
10%
1.97
9%
2.2
-2%
1.36
37%
1.835 (1 - 2.31, n=13)
15%
1.737 (0.6 - 6.2, n=699)
20%
Idle Maximum *
2.17
2.6
-20%
1.8
17%
1.91
12%
2.03
6%
2.01
7%
2.6
-20%
1.47
32%
2.16 (1.4 - 3.8, n=13)
-0%
2.02 (0.74 - 6.6, n=700)
7%
Load Average *
3.32
4.2
-27%
3.2
4%
4.88
-47%
4.56
-37%
4.29
-29%
6.1
-84%
5.13
-55%
3.81 (2.82 - 6.2, n=13)
-15%
4.06 (0.8 - 10.8, n=694)
-22%
Load Maximum *
5.34
6.8
-27%
5.4
-1%
6.38
-19%
9.15
-71%
9.05
-69%
10.9
-104%
7.89
-48%
5.62 (4.56 - 8, n=13)
-5%
5.84 (1.2 - 14.2, n=694)
-9%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

While the Xperia 10 has comparatively low power consumption, it also has comparatively poor battery life. Sony has equipped the device with a 2,870 mAh battery, which is approximately between 5% and 40% smaller than the batteries in our comparison devices.

Our comparison table looks bleak. The Xperia 10 achieved lower runtimes than all our comparison in all but one of our tests, and this was only in the slightly unrealistic test where we subject our devices to full load until they need charging. We doubt that most people will ever do this.

It is not all bad news though as the Xperia 10 still has decent runtimes in our more practical Wi-Fi and looped H.264 video tests where we set the display to approximately 150 cd/m². Our review unit lasted for 9:01 hours in the former and 10:20 hours in the latter, which are both respectable runtimes. The Xperia 10 has comparatively high battery drain at idle though and lasted only 16:46 hours before it needed recharging. By contrast, our comparison devices had between 46% and 108% better runtimes in this test.

Overall, the Xperia 10 should last a full working day of mixed use, but you will need to charge it in the evening if you want to use it the following day. Our review unit takes around 2 hours to recharge fully from flat with the included charger. You could achieve faster charging times with the optional 18 W quick charger, while Sony’s built-in adaptive charging technology allows the device to monitor the condition of its battery to prevent overloading it. The Xperia 10 does not support wireless charging, for reference.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
16h 46min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
9h 01min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
10h 20min
Load (maximum brightness)
3h 53min
Sony Xperia 10
2870 mAh
Motorola Moto G7
3000 mAh
Nokia 8.1
3500 mAh
Samsung Galaxy J6 Plus 2018
3300 mAh
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
4000 mAh
Xiaomi Pocophone F1
4000 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 8
3400 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A7 2018
3300 mAh
Battery Runtime
32%
37%
40%
50%
51%
34%
28%
Reader / Idle
1006
1548
54%
1682
67%
2080
107%
1950
94%
2088
108%
1634
62%
1467
46%
H.264
620
819
32%
857
38%
706
14%
940
52%
936
51%
897
45%
836
35%
WiFi v1.3
541
798
48%
738
36%
651
20%
768
42%
808
49%
736
36%
605
12%
Load
233
219
-6%
246
6%
272
17%
259
11%
220
-6%
215
-8%
273
17%

Pros

+ bright IPS display
+ high contrast ratio
+ well-built
+ NFC
+ Bluetooth 5.0
+ good fingerprint sensor
+ headphone jack

Cons

- quite slow SoC
- eMMC storage
- plastic back
- disappointing cameras
- only 3 GB of RAM

Verdict

The Sony Xperia 10 smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Sony Germany.
The Sony Xperia 10 smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Sony Germany.

The Sony Xperia 10 is an intriguing proposition. It will appeal to those who are fans of compact smartphones because its 21:9 aspect ratio allows it to be noticeably narrower than its competitors.

Its elongated IPS panel does have its disadvantages though. Our review unit very top-heavy and many applications do not currently support 21:9, so you are left viewing content in 16:9 instead. Apps like YouTube can zoom in on most content, but you just end up viewing a heavily cropped image or video. In short, having a 21:9 aspect ratio could be useful, but it is impractical at present.

Sony has taken a step in the right direction with its new Xperia series. The Xperia 10 is a quirky and decent midrange smartphone, but its outdated SoC makes it currently too expensive in our opinion.

The display is a pleasure to use though and gets bright enough for all environments. Likewise, it is colour accurate and contrast-rich, so content looks vibrant. Our review unit is well made too, and we welcome the inclusion of a headphone jack along with the ability to upscale audio to almost Hi-Res quality.

However, its internal storage, RAM and SoC are all more befitting of a €250 (~ US$282) device and not a €350 (~ US$395) one. We are not fans of the plastic case either, although it will be more durable than a metal or glass one. Overall, the Sony Xperia 10 is a decent smartphone, but it would have been even more compelling if it were around €100 cheaper.

Sony Xperia 10 - 04/15/2019 v6
Marcus Herbrich

Chassis
85%
Keyboard
65 / 75 → 86%
Pointing Device
91%
Connectivity
46 / 60 → 76%
Weight
91%
Battery
92%
Display
85%
Games Performance
40 / 63 → 64%
Application Performance
52 / 70 → 74%
Temperature
91%
Noise
100%
Audio
66 / 91 → 72%
Camera
65%
Average
74%
84%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Sony Xperia 10 Smartphone Review
Marcus Herbrich, 2019-04-17 (Update: 2019-04-17)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.