Notebookcheck

Xiaomi Mi 9T Smartphone Review: A midranger with record battery life

Manuel Masiero, 👁 Daniel Schmidt (translated by Alex Alderson), 07/24/2019

Mi 9 the third. After the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE comes the Mi 9T, a device that takes the Mi 9 series in a different direction. The 9T has inherited many features from the Mi 9, but it distinguishes itself with its pop-up selfie camera, a 4,000 mAh battery and a 3.5 mm headphone jack. Read on to find out how the 9T stacks up against its Mi 9 siblings.

Only a few months have passed since the release of the Mi 9 and its midrange offshoot the Mi 9 SE, but Xiaomi has another Mi 9 device up its sleeve. Say hello to the Mi 9T, which it sells as the Redmi K20 outside of Europe.

The Mi 9T comes with either 64 GB or 128 GB of UFS 2.0 flash storage, costing 380 Euros (~US$426) and 410 Euros (~US$460), respectively. These prices put the Mi 9T squarely between the Mi 9 SE and Mi 9, although the 64 GB model of the latter costs 69 Euros (~US$77) more than the corresponding Mi 9T model. Hence, the differences in price between the three devices are rather slim. The Mi 9T should also sit between its Mi 9 siblings in synthetic benchmarks and games with its Snapdragon 730 SoC.

Xiaomi has equipped the Mi 9T with a 6.39-inch AMOLED display, which is the same size as the one in the Mi 9 and just under 0.5-inches larger than the display in the Mi 9 SE. The Mi 9T is notchless though, distinguishing it from its Mi 9 siblings somewhat.

We shall compare the Mi 9T against the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE, along with several comparably priced midrange smartphones. Our comparison devices will include the Huawei P30 Lite, Motorola Moto G7 Plus, Samsung Galaxy A50 and Sony Xperia 10.

Xiaomi Mi 9T (Mi Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
6144 MB 
, LPDDR4X
Display
6.39 inch 19.5:9, 2340 x 1080 pixel 403 PPI, 10-point multitouch, AMOLED, Corning Gorilla Glass 5, 103.8% NTSC colour space coverage, glossy: yes, HDR
Storage
64 GB UFS 2.0 Flash, 64 GB 
, 52.7 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm headphone jack, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, e-compass, gyroscope, proximity sensor, Wi-Fi Direct, Wi-Fi Display, aptX, aptX HD, dual-SIM VoLTE, Camera2 API Level 3, DRM Widevine L1
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5), Bluetooth 5.0, GSM: 850, 900, 1,800, 1,900 MHz. UMTS: 850, 900, 1,700, 1,900, 2,100 MHz. LTE/FDD: Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 20, 28. LTE/TDD: Bands 38, 40. SAR values: Body – 1.511 W/kg, Head - 1.341 W/kg., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.8 x 156.7 x 74.3 ( = 0.35 x 6.17 x 2.93 in)
Battery
4000 mAh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 48 MPix Sony IMX582, 1.6 μm, f/1.75. 8 MP telephoto lens, 1.12 μm, f/2.4. 13 MP ultra-wide-angle lens, 1.12 μm, f/2.4, 2x optical zoom, 10x digital zoom. Videos up to 3,840 x 2,160 at 30 FPS.
Secondary Camera: 20 MPix , pop-up camera, 0.8 μm, f/2.2.
Additional features
Speakers: Mono speaker on the underside of the device, Keyboard: virtual, 18 W modular power supply (5 V/3 A, 9 V/2 A, 12 V/1.5 A), USB Type-A to Type-C cable, protective case, SIM tool, quick start guide, MIUI 10, 12 Months Warranty, fanless
Weight
191 g ( = 6.74 oz / 0.42 pounds), Power Supply: 40 g ( = 1.41 oz / 0.09 pounds)
Price
380 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team! Indian citizens welcome!

Currently wanted: 
News and Editorial Editor - Details here

Case

The Mi 9T feels just as premium as its Mi 9 series counterparts, with Xiaomi opting for a metal frame, a flat display and a rounded glass back. The latter has a glossy finish that picks up fingerprints easily though, although this will not be an issue if you plan to keep the device in a case. Xiaomi includes one in the box, which is a nice touch. The case sits flush with the rear-facing cameras too, preventing our review unit from rocking about on a flat surface like a table.

Our review unit is comparatively heavy and thick, but it feels well-built. One of the talking points about the Mi 9T is its notchless display, which Xiaomi has achieved by incorporating a motorised pop-up front-facing camera. The Mi 9T has an in-screen fingerprint scanner too.

Xiaomi currently sells the Mi 9T in three colours. Our review unit is the Carbon Black version, which has a carbon finish as the name suggests. We have included photos of the Glacier Blue and Flame Red versions in the photo gallery below. All models have red power buttons, while the blue and red versions have the same flame finish.

Size Comparison

158.5 mm / 6.24 inch 74.7 mm / 2.94 inch 7.7 mm / 0.3031 inch 166 g0.366 lbs156.7 mm / 6.17 inch 74.3 mm / 2.93 inch 8.8 mm / 0.3465 inch 191 g0.4211 lbs157 mm / 6.18 inch 75.3 mm / 2.96 inch 8.3 mm / 0.3268 inch 176 g0.388 lbs156 mm / 6.14 inch 68 mm / 2.68 inch 8.4 mm / 0.3307 inch 162 g0.3571 lbs152.9 mm / 6.02 inch 72.7 mm / 2.86 inch 7.4 mm / 0.2913 inch 159 g0.3505 lbs147.5 mm / 5.81 inch 70.5 mm / 2.78 inch 7.45 mm / 0.2933 inch 155 g0.3417 lbs

Connectivity

Xiaomi equips the Mi 9T with 6 GB of LPDDR4X RAM and either 64 GB or 128 GB of UFS 2.0 flash storage. Our review unit is the 64 GB model, of which about 52 GB is free. Sadly, the Mi 9T does not support expandable storage, putting it in good company with the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE.

However, the Mi 9T is DRM Widevine Level 1-certified, unlike the Mi 9 SE, meaning that it can stream DRM-protected content in HD from streaming services like Amazon Prime Video and Netflix. The device has a 3.5 mm headphone jack too and facial authentication thanks to its front-facing camera, the former of which the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE lack.

It is not all good news though, with Xiaomi cost-cutting in some places. The Mi 9T has no infrared (IR) transmitter, while its Type-C port operates at the slower USB 2.0 standard. The device still supports USB On-The-Go (OTG) though, meaning that you can connect external peripherals like keyboards and mice with the appropriate adapter.

Top side: microphone, 3.5 mm jack, pop-up selfie camera
Top side: microphone, 3.5 mm jack, pop-up selfie camera
Underside: SIM card slot, USB 2.0 Type-C, microphone, speaker
Underside: SIM card slot, USB 2.0 Type-C, microphone, speaker
Left-hand side: No connections
Left-hand side: No connections
Right-hand side: power button, volume rocker
Right-hand side: power button, volume rocker

Software

The Mi 9T ships with MIUI 10, a heavily customised version of Android 9.0 Pie. MIUI looks and feels more like stock Android than previous versions, but it still may take some getting used to, with the default launcher lacking an app drawer. Xiaomi includes different gesture controls and a redesigned Recents pane, the latter of which we have included in the screenshots below.

Our review unit comes with MIUI 10 Global, a multilingual ROM that comes with Google services and the Google Play Store. These are missing from the Chinese version, but there are guides online about how to install these should you wish to save some money and buy the Chinese version instead.

Default home screen
Default home screen
Default home screen
Default home screen
Preinstalled Google apps
Preinstalled Google apps
Preinstalled Huawei apps
Preinstalled Huawei apps
MIUI 10 Recents pane
MIUI 10 Recents pane
Device information
Device information

Communication & GPS

The Global version supports all important LTE bands, including the increasingly more frequently used bands 20 and 28. Xiaomi does not provide any information on LTE speeds that the Mi 9T should achieve, but Qualcomm claims that the Snapdragon 730 can reach up to 800 Mb/s download and 150 Mb/s upload speeds.

The Mi 9T also supports other modern communications standards including Bluetooth 5.0 and NFC, along with high definition audio codecs like aptX, aptX HD and LDAC. Moreover, the device utilises up to IEEE 802.11ac, allowing it to connect to 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wi-Fi networks.

Xiaomi claims that the Mi 9T supports MU-MIMO, with our review unit averaging a respectable 333 Mb/s in iperf3 Client (receive) and 293 Mb/s (transmit). These results put the Mi 9T in line with our comparison devices when tested with our Linksys EA8500 reference router, but it falls well short of the Mi 9, which averaged over 500 Mb/s in both iperf3 tests.

While Wi-Fi transfer speeds fluctuated by up to 180 Mb/s in the iperf3 Client (transmit) test, our review unit maintained between 297 Mb/s and 343 Mb/s in the receive test. Overall, you will only notice these fluctuations if you have an ultra-fast Wi-Fi connection.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Sony Xperia 10
Adreno 508, 630, 64 GB eMMC Flash
334 (min: 326, max: 341) MBit/s ∼100% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Adreno 618, 730, 64 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
333 (min: 297, max: 343) MBit/s ∼100%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Adreno 509, 636, 64 GB eMMC Flash
332 (min: 314, max: 341) MBit/s ∼99% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Adreno 616, 712, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
311 (min: 214, max: 346) MBit/s ∼93% -7%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Mali-G72 MP3, Exynos 9610, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
294 (min: 278, max: 302) MBit/s ∼88% -12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=424)
223 MBit/s ∼67% -33%
Huawei P30 Lite
Mali-G51 MP4, Kirin 710, 128 GB eMMC Flash
188 (min: 45, max: 237) MBit/s ∼56% -44%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Adreno 618, 730, 64 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
293 (min: 161, max: 346) MBit/s ∼100%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Adreno 509, 636, 64 GB eMMC Flash
288 (min: 138, max: 294) MBit/s ∼98% -2%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Adreno 616, 712, 128 GB UFS 2.0 Flash
279 (min: 229, max: 303) MBit/s ∼95% -5%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Mali-G72 MP3, Exynos 9610, 128 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
272 (min: 250, max: 285) MBit/s ∼93% -7%
Sony Xperia 10
Adreno 508, 630, 64 GB eMMC Flash
253 (min: 128, max: 283) MBit/s ∼86% -14%
Huawei P30 Lite
Mali-G51 MP4, Kirin 710, 128 GB eMMC Flash
218 (min: 95, max: 239) MBit/s ∼74% -26%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=424)
213 MBit/s ∼73% -27%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290300310320330340350Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø333 (297-343)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø293 (161-346)
GPS Test: Inside
GPS Test: Inside
GPS Test: Outdoors
GPS Test: Outdoors

The Mi 9T uses BeiDou, Galileo, GLONASS and GPS for locations services. Our review unit achieves a satellite fix with up to four metres accuracy wherever we tested it, a feat that not all midrange smartphones can achieve.

We also took the Mi 9T on a short bike ride to test its location accuracy against our reference bike computer, the Garmin Edge 500. The Mi 9T performed well, deviating only by 20 m from the route that the Garmin plotted. The latter proved more precise in trickier sections, like when we cycled around a lake, but overall the Mi 9T would make a good navigation companion when cycling, swimming, running or walking.

GPS test: Xiaomi Mi 9T - Overview
GPS test: Xiaomi Mi 9T - Overview
GPS test: Xiaomi Mi 9T – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Xiaomi Mi 9T – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Xiaomi Mi 9T: Loop
GPS test: Xiaomi Mi 9T: Loop
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 – Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500: Loop
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500: Loop

Telephone Features & Call Quality

The Mi 9T supports dual VoLTE and VoWiFi.
The Mi 9T supports dual VoLTE and VoWiFi.

The Mi 9T is a dual-SIM device with two nano-SIM card slots. The handset can connect to two 4G networks simultaneously and supports dual voice over LTE (VoLTE) and Wi-Fi calling (VoWiFi). However, the Mi 9T must be provisioned by your carrier before the latter two technologies will work; the device cannot utilise VoLTE and VoWiFi on any network even if that network supports those technologies.

Our review unit has decent call quality, with the earpiece reproducing our call partner’s voice clearly. We experienced no dropouts or disturbances during our call tests, while the microphones picked out our voice well too.

Cameras

The Mi 9T has three rear-facing cameras, the main one of which is a 48 MP Sony IMX582 sensor. The IMX582 uses 4-in-1 pixel binning and has an f/1.75 aperture along with a 1.6 μm pixel size. By contrast, Xiaomi equips the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE with the Sony IMX586 sensor.

The Mi 9T also has an 8 MP telephoto lens with a 1.12 μm pixel size, an f/2.4 aperture and a 13 MP ultra-wide-angle lens with the same pixel size and aperture. Xiaomi has included a 20 MP front-facing sensor too, which has a 0.8 μm pixel size and an f/2.2 aperture. Please see our Mi 9Mi 9 SE and Mi Mix 3 camera comparison article for a detailed look at the cameras that Xiaomi has been using in its Mi series.

In principle, the Mi 9T exhibits the same strengths and weaknesses as its Mi 9 series counterparts. Our review unit takes excellent and detailed photos in daylight, as demonstrated in scenes 1 and 2. Our test shots in this lighting also have high dynamic range and vivid colours. Night shots are its Achilles heel, with our test shot looking a little noisier and more blurred than the ones taken with the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE.

The 20 MP front-facing camera does a good job too, producing sharp-looking selfies. The camera app supports bokeh effects and can apply beautification effects along with various other filters. The 20 MP sensor can also record videos in up to 1080p at 30 FPS, while the Sony IMX582 can shoot in up to 4K at 30 FPS.

Taking a selfie with the Mi 9T
Taking a selfie with the Mi 9T
Photographed with the main rear-facing camera
Photographed with the main rear-facing camera
Photographed with the main rear-facing camera
Photographed with the main rear-facing camera

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images

We also subjected our review unit to further camera tests under controlled lighting conditions. The Mi 9T captures colours vividly, albeit not necessarily precisely, as demonstrated by the ColorChecker Passport montage below. Our review unit does a good job at capturing our test chart too, although contrast levels drop off noticeably in the lower corners of the photo.

ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail
Our test chart in detail

Accessories & Warranty

Xiaomi includes an 18 W (5 V/3 A, 9 V/2 A, 12 V/1.5 A) charger in the box, a USB Type-C cable, a protective cover and a SIM tool, along with a quick-start guide and a warranty information leaflet. Xiaomi does not sell any Mi 9T specific accessories currently.

The Mi 9T comes with a 12-month limited manufacturer’s warranty, which Xiaomi reduces to just six months for the charger. Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies & Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

The Mi 9T uses onscreen navigation buttons as most modern Android smartphones do, but you can mirror their placement or switch to gesture control if you prefer. There is also a one-handed mode, a shortcut for activating the camera app, and you can activate Google Assistant by long pressing the power button.

The device has a 10-point multitouch touchscreen, which reproduces our inputs precisely and quickly. The same applies to the in-screen fingerprint sensor, and the 2D facial unlocking system. The latter uses the front-facing camera for authenticating a face, which takes a moment to pop-up. In short, using a fingerprint, password, pattern or PIN is faster than using face unlock.

Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The Mi 9T has the same 6.39-inch AMOLED panel as the Mi 9, albeit without a notch. The display operates natively at 2340x1080 in a 19.5:9 aspect ratio, resulting in a pixel density of 403 PPI. Xiaomi distinguishes the two devices by protecting the Mi 9T with Gorilla Glass 5 as it does with the Mi 9 SE, while it affords the Mi 9 the more scratch-resistant Gorilla Glass 6.

Our review unit gets just as bright as the Mi 9 though, with it reaching an average maximum brightness of 588.9 cd/m² according to X-Rite i1Pro 2. The display is also 96% evenly lit, meaning that you should not notice any bright spots when looking at images with large areas of homogenous colours. Incidentally, only the Galaxy A50 gets brighter than the Mi 9T of our comparison devices in X-Rite i1Pro 2.

The Mi 9T achieved up to 803 cd/m² in the more practical APL50, although this drops to 422 cd/m² with the brightness sensor deactivated. The display also gets as dim as 2.68 cd/m², which should be low enough to not cause eye strain or headaches when looking at the display at night. Unfortunately, the display flickers at between 122 and 245.1 Hz, which could cause health issues for those who are PWM sensitive.

579
cd/m²
581
cd/m²
591
cd/m²
586
cd/m²
589
cd/m²
594
cd/m²
591
cd/m²
588
cd/m²
601
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 601 cd/m² Average: 588.9 cd/m² Minimum: 2.68 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 96 %
Center on Battery: 589 cd/m²
Contrast: ∞:1 (Black: 0 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 2.5 | 0.6-29.43 Ø6
ΔE Greyscale 1.6 | 0.64-98 Ø6.3
95.1% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.24
Xiaomi Mi 9T
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.39
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 5.97
Xiaomi Mi 9
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.39
Huawei P30 Lite
IPS LCD, 2312x1080, 6.15
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
IPS, 2270x1080, 6.2
Samsung Galaxy A50
AMOLED, 2340x1080, 6.4
Sony Xperia 10
IPS-LCD, 2520x1080, 6
Screen
-3%
21%
-10%
-105%
-23%
-66%
Brightness middle
589
583
-1%
593
1%
451
-23%
537
-9%
644
9%
547
-7%
Brightness
589
577
-2%
587
0%
430
-27%
525
-11%
628
7%
525
-11%
Brightness Distribution
96
97
1%
94
-2%
90
-6%
85
-11%
91
-5%
93
-3%
Black Level *
0.55
0.58
0.36
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
2.5
1.6
36%
0.9
64%
1.4
44%
6.41
-156%
2.64
-6%
4.6
-84%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
4.9
3.9
20%
2
59%
4.4
10%
10.86
-122%
9.23
-88%
12.1
-147%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
1.6
2.7
-69%
1.5
6%
2.5
-56%
6.7
-319%
2.5
-56%
3.9
-144%
Gamma
2.24 98%
2.27 97%
2.27 97%
2.22 99%
2.099 105%
2.024 109%
2.17 101%
CCT
6544 99%
6267 104%
6548 99%
6422 101%
8310 78%
6649 98%
7158 91%
Contrast
820
926
1519

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 245.1 Hz ≤ 99 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 245.1 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 99 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 245.1 Hz is relatively low, so sensitive users will likely notice flickering and experience eyestrain at the stated brightness setting and below.

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9394 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

AMOLED panels typically produce pure blacks because they can switch off pixels individually, as the display in the Mi 9T can. Blacks look rich and help the display achieve a theoretically infinite contrast ratio, which makes colours look sharper than they do on devices with IPS panels like the P30 Lite or Moto G7 Plus. Xiaomi has included three colour contrast options, which it calls Automatic, Enhanced and Standard. The Mi 9T is set to automatic contrast by default, which allows you to also adjust the display colour temperature. MIUI 10 has a freely selectable colour wheel, along with presets labelled Standard, Warm and Cold.

The display is most colour accurate when set to automatic contrast and the warm colour temperature preset, the combination of which yields practically ideal DeltaE colour deviations. Additionally, the display has a colour temperature of 6,544 K at these settings, which is just 44 K higher than ideal. The other presets are not as colour accurate, but we doubt that most people would notice the difference in daily use.

CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - automatic contrast, standard colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - automatic contrast, standard colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - automatic contrast, standard colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - automatic contrast, standard colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale - automatic contrast, standard colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale - automatic contrast, standard colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - automatic contrast, standard colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - automatic contrast, standard colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - automatic contrast, warm colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - automatic contrast, warm colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - automatic contrast, warm colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - automatic contrast, warm colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale - automatic contrast, warm colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale - automatic contrast, warm colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - automatic contrast, warm colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - automatic contrast, warm colours, DCI P3 target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - standard contrast, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy - standard contrast, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - standard contrast, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space - standard contrast, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale - standard contrast, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale - standard contrast, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - standard contrast, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - standard contrast, sRGB target colour space

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
3.2 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 2 ms rise
↘ 1.2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
4 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 2 ms rise
↘ 2 ms fall
The screen shows very fast response rates in our tests and should be very well suited for fast-paced gaming.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 1 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (39.8 ms).

The Mi 9T remains usable even under direct sunlight thanks to its bright AMOLED panel. The display has a highly reflective finish that catches the summer sun, but we had no issues with using our review unit outside during our tests.

The AMOLED panel has stable viewing angles too, as demonstrated by the montage below. We noticed no brightness, colour or image distortions even at acute viewing angles, meaning that the Mi 9T should remain readable from practically any angle.

Using the Mi 9T outdoors in the sun
Using the Mi 9T outdoors in the sun
Using the Mi 9T outdoors in partial shade
Using the Mi 9T outdoors in partial shade
Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance

Xiaomi has equipped the Mi 9T with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 730 SoC, an ARMv8-based midrange chipset that integrates two ARM Cortex-A76 cores and six ARM Cortex-A55 cores that can clock up to 2.2 GHz and 1.8 GHz, respectively. The SoC also has a Qualcomm Adreno 618 GPU onboard, which theoretically offers a minor performance boost over the Adreno 616 in the Snapdragon 712, an SoC that Xiaomi uses in the Mi 9 SE.

The Snapdragon 730 performs comparatively well in synthetic benchmarks, beating out all our comparison devices bar the Mi 9. Overall, the Mi 9T sits atop of its class on performance.

However, the Mi 9T is still much closer to the Mi 9 SE in synthetic benchmarks than it is to the Mi 9. The latter flattens our review unit in some benchmarks like AnTuTu v7, where it enjoys a 78% advantage over the Mi 9T. There's no surprise that a Snapdragon 855-powered device trumps one with a Snapdragon 730, but there is less than 100 Euros (~US$112) between the Mi 9T and Mi 9. Depending on how you look at it, this either makes the former comparatively expensive or the latter excellent value for money.

Geekbench 4.4
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
7795 Points ∼99%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
7282 Points ∼93% -7%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
3551 Points ∼45% -54%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
4287 Points ∼55% -45%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
4913 Points ∼63% -37%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3763 Points ∼48% -52%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7482 Points ∼95% -4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (7795 - 7881, n=2)
7838 Points ∼100% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (663 - 21070, n=322)
4603 Points ∼59% -41%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
6871 Points ∼62%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
5975 Points ∼54% -13%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
5429 Points ∼49% -21%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
4992 Points ∼45% -27%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
5605 Points ∼51% -18%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3986 Points ∼36% -42%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10999 Points ∼100% +60%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (6826 - 6871, n=2)
6849 Points ∼62% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3240 - 11598, n=381)
4621 Points ∼42% -33%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2527 Points ∼72%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1875 Points ∼53% -26%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1544 Points ∼44% -39%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
1337 Points ∼38% -47%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1721 Points ∼49% -32%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
837 Points ∼24% -67%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3523 Points ∼100% +39%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (2436 - 2527, n=2)
2482 Points ∼70% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (903 - 4824, n=383)
1387 Points ∼39% -45%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
7533 Points ∼83%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
6832 Points ∼76% -9%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
6483 Points ∼72% -14%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
6277 Points ∼69% -17%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
5827 Points ∼64% -23%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
5987 Points ∼66% -21%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9035 Points ∼100% +20%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (7177 - 7533, n=2)
7355 Points ∼81% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3227 - 11440, n=378)
5073 Points ∼56% -33%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
9049 Points ∼82%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
8346 Points ∼76% -8%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
8125 Points ∼74% -10%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
7618 Points ∼69% -16%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
7029 Points ∼64% -22%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4948 Points ∼45% -45%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10985 Points ∼100% +21%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (8626 - 9049, n=2)
8838 Points ∼80% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4096 - 14439, n=546)
5569 Points ∼51% -38%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2786 Points ∼85%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2338 Points ∼71% -16%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
2167 Points ∼66% -22%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3288 Points ∼100% +18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (2708 - 2786, n=2)
2747 Points ∼84% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2051 - 15735, n=61)
2372 Points ∼72% -15%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
1917 Points ∼33%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1907 Points ∼33% -1%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
693 Points ∼12% -64%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5723 Points ∼100% +199%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (1917 - 2160, n=2)
2039 Points ∼36% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (341 - 14536, n=61)
2389 Points ∼42% +25%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2060 Points ∼42%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1988 Points ∼40% -3%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
Points ∼0% -100%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
861 Points ∼18% -58%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4914 Points ∼100% +139%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (2060 - 2262, n=2)
2161 Points ∼44% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (419 - 14786, n=64)
2076 Points ∼42% +1%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3241 Points ∼86%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2506 Points ∼67% -23%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2550 Points ∼68% -21%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2266 Points ∼60% -30%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1664 Points ∼44% -49%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3754 Points ∼100% +16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3160 - 3241, n=2)
3201 Points ∼85% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 4535, n=392)
1844 Points ∼49% -43%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2176 Points ∼31%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2146 Points ∼30% -1%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
843 Points ∼12% -61%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1188 Points ∼17% -45%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
792 Points ∼11% -64%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7076 Points ∼100% +225%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (2176 - 2438, n=2)
2307 Points ∼33% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (76 - 8206, n=392)
1619 Points ∼23% -26%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2347 Points ∼40%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2217 Points ∼37% -6%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
981 Points ∼17% -58%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1328 Points ∼22% -43%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
896 Points ∼15% -62%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5913 Points ∼100% +152%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (2347 - 2568, n=2)
2458 Points ∼42% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (94 - 6312, n=395)
1504 Points ∼25% -36%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3296 Points ∼87%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2506 Points ∼66% -24%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2578 Points ∼68% -22%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2241 Points ∼59% -32%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1732 Points ∼46% -47%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3788 Points ∼100% +15%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3025 - 3296, n=2)
3161 Points ∼83% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 4703, n=407)
1821 Points ∼48% -45%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3316 Points ∼32%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2146 Points ∼21% -35%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1336 Points ∼13% -60%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1553 Points ∼15% -53%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1299 Points ∼13% -61%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
10291 Points ∼100% +210%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3316 - 3635, n=2)
3476 Points ∼34% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (131 - 14951, n=407)
2194 Points ∼21% -34%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3312 Points ∼44%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2217 Points ∼30% -33%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1494 Points ∼20% -55%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1667 Points ∼22% -50%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1375 Points ∼18% -58%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7449 Points ∼100% +125%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3312 - 3479, n=2)
3396 Points ∼46% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (159 - 8141, n=408)
1872 Points ∼25% -43%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3227 Points ∼86%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2480 Points ∼66% -23%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2489 Points ∼66% -23%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2351 Points ∼63% -27%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1645 Points ∼44% -49%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3758 Points ∼100% +16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3215 - 3227, n=2)
3221 Points ∼86% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (486 - 4320, n=468)
1781 Points ∼47% -45%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2008 Points ∼32%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1980 Points ∼31% -1%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
819 Points ∼13% -59%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1149 Points ∼18% -43%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
704 Points ∼11% -65%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
6355 Points ∼100% +216%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (2008 - 2244, n=2)
2126 Points ∼33% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (65 - 6362, n=470)
1350 Points ∼21% -33%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2192 Points ∼40%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2073 Points ∼38% -5%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
963 Points ∼17% -56%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
Points ∼0% -100%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1296 Points ∼24% -41%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
809 Points ∼15% -63%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
5509 Points ∼100% +151%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (2192 - 2405, n=2)
2299 Points ∼42% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (80 - 5734, n=478)
1286 Points ∼23% -41%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3239 Points ∼90%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2480 Points ∼69% -23%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2490 Points ∼69% -23%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2432 Points ∼67% -25%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1687 Points ∼47% -48%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
3614 Points ∼100% +12%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3211 - 3239, n=2)
3225 Points ∼89% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (512 - 4454, n=501)
1691 Points ∼47% -48%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3184 Points ∼32%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1980 Points ∼20% -38%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1256 Points ∼13% -61%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1279 Points ∼13% -60%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1235 Points ∼12% -61%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9963 Points ∼100% +213%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3184 - 3478, n=2)
3331 Points ∼33% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 10008, n=501)
1815 Points ∼18% -43%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3196 Points ∼45%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2073 Points ∼29% -35%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1414 Points ∼20% -56%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1430 Points ∼20% -55%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1315 Points ∼18% -59%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
7166 Points ∼100% +124%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3196 - 3415, n=2)
3306 Points ∼46% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 7820, n=509)
1562 Points ∼22% -51%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
19433 Points ∼77%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
13686 Points ∼54% -30%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
12023 Points ∼47% -38%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
15766 Points ∼62% -19%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
14353 Points ∼57% -26%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
12437 Points ∼49% -36%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
25339 Points ∼100% +30%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (19389 - 19433, n=2)
19411 Points ∼77% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4811 - 45072, n=659)
13790 Points ∼54% -29%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
46605 Points ∼44%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
43514 Points ∼41% -7%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
21643 Points ∼20% -54%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
20953 Points ∼20% -55%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
16593 Points ∼16% -64%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
17878 Points ∼17% -62%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
106534 Points ∼100% +129%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (46605 - 51091, n=2)
48848 Points ∼46% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7567 - 162695, n=659)
20320 Points ∼19% -56%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
35557 Points ∼57%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
29316 Points ∼47% -18%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
18377 Points ∼30% -48%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
19525 Points ∼31% -45%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
16037 Points ∼26% -55%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
16290 Points ∼26% -54%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
62225 Points ∼100% +75%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (35557 - 37475, n=2)
36516 Points ∼59% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (8316 - 83518, n=660)
16844 Points ∼27% -53%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
77 fps ∼46%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
74 fps ∼44% -4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
33 fps ∼20% -57%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
36 fps ∼22% -53%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
39 fps ∼23% -49%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
29 fps ∼17% -62%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
167 fps ∼100% +117%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (77 - 84, n=2)
80.5 fps ∼48% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (6 - 251, n=689)
35.3 fps ∼21% -54%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
58 fps ∼97%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
58 fps ∼97% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
31 fps ∼52% -47%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
35 fps ∼58% -40%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
36 fps ∼60% -38%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
25 fps ∼42% -57%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
60 fps ∼100% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (58 - 59, n=2)
58.5 fps ∼98% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.8 - 120, n=692)
27.3 fps ∼46% -53%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
38 fps ∼38%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
36 fps ∼36% -5%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
17 fps ∼17% -55%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
16 fps ∼16% -58%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
23 fps ∼23% -39%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
13 fps ∼13% -66%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
100 fps ∼100% +163%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (38 - 42, n=2)
40 fps ∼40% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.7 - 132, n=608)
19.6 fps ∼20% -48%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
34 fps ∼57%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
33 fps ∼55% -3%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
16 fps ∼27% -53%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
15 fps ∼25% -56%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
21 fps ∼35% -38%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
11 fps ∼18% -68%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
60 fps ∼100% +76%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (34 - 36, n=2)
35 fps ∼58% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.4 - 115, n=613)
18.1 fps ∼30% -47%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
27 fps ∼39%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
26 fps ∼38% -4%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
12 fps ∼17% -56%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
10 fps ∼14% -63%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
14 fps ∼20% -48%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
9.5 fps ∼14% -65%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
69 fps ∼100% +156%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (27 - 30, n=2)
28.5 fps ∼41% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.6 - 88, n=469)
16.1 fps ∼23% -40%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
24 fps ∼41%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
24 fps ∼41% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
11 fps ∼19% -54%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
9.8 fps ∼17% -59%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
13 fps ∼22% -46%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
7.8 fps ∼13% -67%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
58 fps ∼100% +142%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (24 - 26, n=2)
25 fps ∼43% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.4 - 110, n=472)
15.4 fps ∼27% -36%
GFXBench
Aztec Ruins High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
9.3 fps ∼39%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
9.1 fps ∼38% -2%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
4.2 fps ∼18% -55%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
2 fps ∼8% -78%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
4.9 fps ∼20% -47%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
2.7 fps ∼11% -71%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
24 fps ∼100% +158%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (9.3 - 10, n=2)
9.65 fps ∼40% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.86 - 59, n=172)
8.99 fps ∼37% -3%
2560x1440 Aztec Ruins High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
6.1 fps ∼38%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
5.8 fps ∼36% -5%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2.6 fps ∼16% -57%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
2.3 fps ∼14% -62%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
3.1 fps ∼19% -49%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1.7 fps ∼11% -72%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
16 fps ∼100% +162%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (6.1 - 6.8, n=2)
6.45 fps ∼40% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.26 - 31, n=172)
6.24 fps ∼39% +2%
Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
15 fps ∼41%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
14 fps ∼38% -7%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
6.4 fps ∼17% -57%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
5.6 fps ∼15% -63%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
8.2 fps ∼22% -45%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.4 fps ∼12% -71%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
37 fps ∼100% +147%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (15 - 16, n=2)
15.5 fps ∼42% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.8 - 59, n=173)
13.6 fps ∼37% -9%
1920x1080 Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
16 fps ∼39%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
16 fps ∼39% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
7 fps ∼17% -56%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
5.4 fps ∼13% -66%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
9 fps ∼22% -44%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.9 fps ∼12% -69%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
41 fps ∼100% +156%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (16 - 18, n=2)
17 fps ∼41% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.94 - 63, n=173)
14.9 fps ∼36% -7%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
16 fps ∼38%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
15 fps ∼36% -6%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
6.9 fps ∼16% -57%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
6.3 fps ∼15% -61%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
8.9 fps ∼21% -44%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
5.3 fps ∼13% -67%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
42 fps ∼100% +163%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (16 - 17, n=2)
16.5 fps ∼39% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.89 - 54, n=398)
10.7 fps ∼25% -33%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
13 fps ∼34%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
13 fps ∼34% 0%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
6.5 fps ∼17% -50%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
6 fps ∼16% -54%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
8.1 fps ∼21% -38%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
4.3 fps ∼11% -67%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
38 fps ∼100% +192%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (13 - 15, n=2)
14 fps ∼37% +8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.6 - 58, n=402)
9.74 fps ∼26% -25%
Basemark GPU
1920x1080 OpenGL Medium Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
16.91 fps ∼45%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
14.23 (min: 8.05, max: 26.52) fps ∼38% -16%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
14.51 fps ∼39% -14%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
37.41 fps ∼100% +121%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
 
16.9 fps ∼45% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.53 - 37.4, n=64)
15.6 fps ∼42% -8%
Vulkan Medium Native (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
13.56 fps ∼42%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
12.76 (min: 7.68, max: 27.7) fps ∼40% -6%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
11.59 fps ∼36% -15%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
32.2 fps ∼100% +137%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
 
13.6 fps ∼42% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.91 - 37.3, n=59)
12.7 fps ∼39% -6%
1920x1080 Vulkan Medium Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
15.51 fps ∼44%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
14.18 (min: 8.4, max: 36.6) fps ∼40% -9%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
13.03 fps ∼37% -16%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
35.63 fps ∼100% +130%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
 
15.5 fps ∼44% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.2 - 39.7, n=58)
15.1 fps ∼42% -3%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
210836 Points ∼56%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
179353 Points ∼48% -15%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
132834 Points ∼35% -37%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 636, Adreno 509, 4096
117557 Points ∼31% -44%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
144194 Points ∼38% -32%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
88287 Points ∼24% -58%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
374820 Points ∼100% +78%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (202586 - 210836, n=2)
206711 Points ∼55% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (52607 - 398720, n=291)
133058 Points ∼35% -37%
VRMark - Amber Room (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
2000 Score ∼40%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1966 Score ∼40% -2%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1656 Score ∼33% -17%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4964 Score ∼100% +148%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
 
2000 Score ∼40% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (552 - 5025, n=61)
1999 Score ∼40% 0%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
1099 Points ∼80%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
1172 Points ∼85% +7%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1024 Points ∼74% -7%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
927 Points ∼67% -16%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
815 Points ∼59% -26%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
1378 Points ∼100% +25%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (1099 - 1117, n=2)
1108 Points ∼80% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 1731, n=621)
751 Points ∼54% -32%
Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3559 Points ∼38%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
3453 Points ∼37% -3%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
1478 Points ∼16% -58%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
1957 Points ∼21% -45%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1409 Points ∼15% -60%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
9270 Points ∼100% +160%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3559 - 3855, n=2)
3707 Points ∼40% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 15969, n=621)
1986 Points ∼21% -44%
Memory (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
4646 Points ∼100%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2969 Points ∼64% -36%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
3036 Points ∼65% -35%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2492 Points ∼54% -46%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
983 Points ∼21% -79%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4031 Points ∼87% -13%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3435 - 4646, n=2)
4041 Points ∼87% -13%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 7500, n=621)
1487 Points ∼32% -68%
System (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
6760 Points ∼80%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
5932 Points ∼70% -12%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
5146 Points ∼61% -24%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
5112 Points ∼61% -24%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
3159 Points ∼37% -53%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
8441 Points ∼100% +25%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (6484 - 6760, n=2)
6622 Points ∼78% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 12202, n=621)
2910 Points ∼34% -57%
Overall (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
3329 Points ∼72%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
2906 Points ∼63% -13%
Huawei P30 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 710, Mali-G51 MP4, 4096
2201 Points ∼48% -34%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
2193 Points ∼48% -34%
Sony Xperia 10
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 3072
1374 Points ∼30% -59%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
4595 Points ∼100% +38%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
  (3129 - 3329, n=2)
3229 Points ∼70% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (150 - 6097, n=625)
1450 Points ∼32% -56%
Basemark ES 3.1 / Metal - offscreen Overall Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi 9T
Qualcomm Snapdragon 730, Adreno 618, 6144
603 Points ∼43%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
Qualcomm Snapdragon 712, Adreno 616, 6144
517 Points ∼37% -14%
Samsung Galaxy A50
Samsung Exynos 9610, Mali-G72 MP3, 4096
504 Points ∼36% -16%
Xiaomi Mi 9
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855, Adreno 640, 6144
1415 Points ∼100% +135%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
 
603 Points ∼43% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (35 - 2754, n=104)
716 Points ∼51% +19%

The Mi 9T finishes second to the Mi 9 in all the browser benchmarks we ran, with our other comparison devices often being a way behind our review unit. We experienced no issues when browsing the web with the preinstalled Chrome 75 browser too.

Jetstream 2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73)
57.207 Points ∼100% +21%
Xiaomi Mi 9T (Chrome 75.0.3770.101)
47.131 Points ∼82%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730 (40 - 47.1, n=2)
43.6 Points ∼76% -7%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE (Chrome 73)
37.214 Points ∼65% -21%
Huawei P30 Lite (Chrome 74)
31.781 Points ∼56% -33%
Average of class Smartphone (12.9 - 108, n=97)
30.9 Points ∼54% -34%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
16.254 Points ∼28% -66%
Speedometer 2.0 - Result
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
65.7 runs/min ∼100% +41%
Xiaomi Mi 9T (Chrome 75.0.3770.101)
46.46 runs/min ∼71%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730 (38.9 - 46.5, n=2)
42.7 runs/min ∼65% -8%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE (Chrome 73)
37.5 runs/min ∼57% -19%
Average of class Smartphone (59.7 - 123, n=85)
34.4 runs/min ∼52% -26%
Samsung Galaxy A50 (Chome 73)
33.07 runs/min ∼50% -29%
Huawei P30 Lite (Chrome 74)
31.7 runs/min ∼48% -32%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
108 Points ∼100% +26%
Xiaomi Mi 9T (Chrome 75.0.3770.101)
86 Points ∼80%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730 (77 - 86, n=2)
81.5 Points ∼75% -5%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE (Chrome 73)
72 Points ∼67% -16%
Huawei P30 Lite (Chrome 74)
66 Points ∼61% -23%
Average of class Smartphone (19 - 161, n=152)
63.4 Points ∼59% -26%
Samsung Galaxy A50 (Chrome 73)
62 Points ∼57% -28%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
54 Points ∼50% -37%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
39 Points ∼36% -55%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
24534 Points ∼100% +40%
Xiaomi Mi 9T (Chrome 75.0.3770.101)
17501 Points ∼71%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730 (16358 - 17501, n=2)
16930 Points ∼69% -3%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE (Chrome 73)
13562 Points ∼55% -23%
Samsung Galaxy A50 (Chrome 73)
10322 Points ∼42% -41%
Huawei P30 Lite (Chrome 74)
9779 Points ∼40% -44%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
8368 Points ∼34% -52%
Average of class Smartphone (1994 - 43280, n=682)
6403 Points ∼26% -63%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
4865 Points ∼20% -72%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=702)
10678 ms * ∼100% -316%
Sony Xperia 10 (Chrome Version 73)
10256.9 ms * ∼96% -300%
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
4776 ms * ∼45% -86%
Huawei P30 Lite (Chrome 74)
4137.8 ms * ∼39% -61%
Samsung Galaxy A50 (Chrome 73)
3897 ms * ∼36% -52%
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE (Chrome 73)
2911.8 ms * ∼27% -14%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730 (2564 - 3027, n=2)
2795 ms * ∼26% -9%
Xiaomi Mi 9T (Chrome 75.0.3770.101)
2563.9 ms * ∼24%
Xiaomi Mi 9 (Chrome 73.0.3683.75)
1873.2 ms * ∼18% +27%

* ... smaller is better

Xiaomi equips the Mi 9T with UFS 2.0 flash storage, which remains a rarity for midrange smartphones. Most come with slower eMMC 5.1 storage, which our comparison table below demonstrates with the Mi 9T outperforming all but the Mi 9 in AndroBench. Overall, the Mi 9T has high-speed storage by current midrange standards.

Xiaomi Mi 9TXiaomi Mi 9 SEHuawei P30 LiteMotorola Moto G7 PlusSamsung Galaxy A50Sony Xperia 10Xiaomi Mi 9Average 64 GB UFS 2.0 FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-21%
-29%
-25%
-24%
-40%
55%
-23%
-59%
Random Write 4KB
107.82
21.86
-80%
87.29
-19%
73.1
-32%
18.2
-83%
14.39
-87%
165.32
53%
47.2 (13.6 - 108, n=7)
-56%
21.3 (0.14 - 250, n=730)
-80%
Random Read 4KB
128.65
115.83
-10%
71.57
-44%
76.6
-40%
98.9
-23%
53.12
-59%
149.36
16%
102 (60.6 - 138, n=7)
-21%
46.1 (1.59 - 196, n=730)
-64%
Sequential Write 256KB
179.19
190.1
6%
158.63
-11%
208.7
16%
192.1
7%
232.87
30%
388.27
117%
167 (135 - 194, n=7)
-7%
94.6 (2.99 - 590, n=730)
-47%
Sequential Read 256KB
492.74
492.48
0%
293.23
-40%
283.6
-42%
507.3
3%
273.8
-44%
666.06
35%
463 (272 - 687, n=7)
-6%
266 (12.1 - 1504, n=730)
-46%

Games

The Adreno 618 is a competent GPU that can handle modern triple-A mobile games at even high graphics settings. The GPU cannot maintain as consistent frame rates as something like the Adreno 640 can, but you should hardly notice this in daily use.

Graphically intensive games like Asphalt 9: Legends average around 28 FPS, while less taxing titles like Arena of Valor and Shadow Fight 3 sit just below 60 FPS. However, frame rates dropped as low as 23 FPS while playing Arena of Valor and our review unit repeatedly refused to install PUBG Mobile for some reason.

Shadow Fight 3
Shadow Fight 3
Asphalt 9: Legends
Asphalt 9: Legends
010203040506070Tooltip
; Asphalt 9: Legends; 1.6.3a: Ø28.8 (27-31)
; Arena of Valor; 1.30.2.4: Ø59.8 (23-61)
; Shadow Fight 3; 1.18.5: Ø58.5 (1-61)

Emissions

Temperature

GFXBench battery test: Manhattan
GFXBench battery test: Manhattan
GFXBench battery test: T-Rex
GFXBench battery test: T-Rex

The Mi 9T manages its surface temperatures well, with our review unit peaking at 35.4 °C under sustained load. The back of the device remains slightly cooler though at 34.7 °C, meaning that it should never feel hot in your hands even during prolonged gaming sessions. Conversely, the Mi 9T should feel cool to the touch at idle.

We also subjected our review unit to several GFXBench stress tests to see how it manages its performance under sustained load. The Mi 9T had no issues in either the T-Rex or Manhattan benchmarks, the latter of which generally trips up most modern smartphones. Frame rates remained at a consistent level in both tests even after 30 run-throughs, demonstrating that you should not experience any thermal throttling, even if you push the Mi 9T to its limits.

Max. Load
 35.4 °C
96 F
34.8 °C
95 F
31.3 °C
88 F
 
 34.9 °C
95 F
34.3 °C
94 F
31.4 °C
89 F
 
 33.7 °C
93 F
33.6 °C
92 F
31.3 °C
88 F
 
Maximum: 35.4 °C = 96 F
Average: 33.4 °C = 92 F
30 °C
86 F
32.1 °C
90 F
34.7 °C
94 F
29.6 °C
85 F
30.8 °C
87 F
34.4 °C
94 F
29.1 °C
84 F
31.4 °C
89 F
32.2 °C
90 F
Maximum: 34.7 °C = 94 F
Average: 31.6 °C = 89 F
Power Supply (max.)  25.1 °C = 77 F | Room Temperature 20.9 °C = 70 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 33.4 °C / 92 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 35.4 °C / 96 F, compared to the average of 35.5 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 34.7 °C / 94 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 23.8 °C / 75 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Heat map of the back of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load

Speakers

Speaker characteristics
Speaker characteristics

The Mi 9T has a mono speaker on the underside of its frame next to its Type-C port. The speaker in our review unit reaches a maximum of 89 dB(A), which is noticeably louder than the one in the Mi 9 SE. The speaker in the Mi 9T cannot reproduce bass frequencies, but it does so linearly with mid and high-pitched ones, making it good enough for occasionally listening to music or watching videos.

However, we would recommend using external audio equipment like headphones and speakers where possible, as these will deliver a better listening experience than the mono speaker will. You can connect either via the 3.5 mm jack or Bluetooth, with the latter supporting audio codecs including AAC, aptX, aptX HD and LDAC.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2042.237.12531.226.13127.226.34023.729.5503136.16322.726.58022.821.810024.425.512520.93116020.350.920019.154.325016.453.33151657.240017.661.950015.265.463014.670.180015.470.2100014.874.3125015.274.8160015.675.5200014.876.9250014.678.9315014.380.6400014.678.5500014.774.3630015.375.1800015.379.31000014.980.91250015.367.71600015.651.7SPL27.389N0.977.1median 15.3median 70.2Delta1.210.932.53931.931.522.324.821.721.929.228.426.724.920.324.420.526.52325.315.64517.849.116.359.115.461.515.963.515.864.213.367.914.165.914.171.41469.713.567.813.46913.972.314.271.713.967.114.672.914.267.714.766.31568.214.955.415.33826.481.50.852.7median 14.7median 66.30.98.2hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseXiaomi Mi 9TXiaomi Mi 9 SE
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Xiaomi Mi 9T audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (89 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 24.8% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (11.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.2% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 8% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (4.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (20.6% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 17% of all tested devices in this class were better, 11% similar, 73% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 45% of all tested devices were better, 9% similar, 46% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Xiaomi Mi 9 SE audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (81.5 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 21.9% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 2.5% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.2% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (6.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (17.9% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 5% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 91% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 29% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 64% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Power Management

Power Consumption

The Mi 9T is a comparatively power-efficient smartphone even by Snapdragon 730 standards. Our review unit averaged 19% lower power consumption than the average of Snapdragon 730-powered devices that we have already reviewed, with the Mi 9T averaging 43% less under load. Our review unit averages just 0.95 W at idle too, putting it well ahead of all our comparison devices. Overall, only the Mi 9 SE comes close to matching the power efficiency of the Mi 9T.

Xiaomi includes an 18 W charger in the box, which supports Qualcomm Quick Charge 4.0. The charger recharges our review unit fully in 1:40 hours.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.02 / 0.19 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.54 / 0.95 / 1.08 Watt
Load midlight 2.7 / 5.4 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Xiaomi Mi 9T
4000 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
3070 mAh
Huawei P30 Lite
3340 mAh
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
3000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A50
4000 mAh
Sony Xperia 10
2870 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9
3300 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 730
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
-7%
-91%
-82%
-67%
-57%
-37%
-19%
-58%
Idle Minimum *
0.54
0.53
2%
0.91
-69%
1.1
-104%
0.8
-48%
0.72
-33%
0.67
-24%
0.57 (0.54 - 0.6, n=2)
-6%
0.878 (0.2 - 3.4, n=757)
-63%
Idle Average *
0.95
1.18
-24%
2.41
-154%
1.7
-79%
1.5
-58%
2.16
-127%
1.26
-33%
1.075 (0.95 - 1.2, n=2)
-13%
1.733 (0.6 - 6.2, n=756)
-82%
Idle Maximum *
1.08
1.2
-11%
2.43
-125%
2.1
-94%
1.7
-57%
2.17
-101%
1.29
-19%
1.24 (1.08 - 1.4, n=2)
-15%
2.02 (0.74 - 6.6, n=757)
-87%
Load Average *
2.7
3.04
-13%
4.57
-69%
5.1
-89%
5.9
-119%
3.32
-23%
3.71
-37%
3.85 (2.7 - 5, n=2)
-43%
4.07 (0.8 - 10.8, n=751)
-51%
Load Maximum *
5.4
4.83
11%
7.57
-40%
7.9
-46%
8.3
-54%
5.34
1%
9.3
-72%
6.25 (5.4 - 7.1, n=2)
-16%
5.9 (1.2 - 14.2, n=751)
-9%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The Mi 9T has a 4,000 mAh battery, which is substantially larger than the 3,070 mAh and 3,300 mAh capacities of the Mi 9 SE and Mi 9. Moreover, only the Galaxy A50 matches the Mi 9T in this regard, with the battery capacities of our other comparison devices ranging from 2,870 mAh to 3,340 mAh.

Low power consumption and a large battery equates to exceptional battery life. Our review unit lasted an incredible 16:31 hours in our practical Wi-Fi test, and 20:04 hours with an H.264 encoded video running on a loop. The Mi 9T only finishes second in our comparison table in one test, with the Galaxy A50 lasting a mere 17 minutes longer under sustained load. In short, the Mi 9T should last at least two days between charges.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
35h 38min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
16h 31min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
20h 08min
Load (maximum brightness)
4h 18min
Xiaomi Mi 9T
4000 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9 SE
3070 mAh
Huawei P30 Lite
3340 mAh
Motorola Moto G7 Plus
3000 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A50
4000 mAh
Sony Xperia 10
2870 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 9
3300 mAh
Battery Runtime
-33%
-39%
-28%
-19%
-39%
-28%
Reader / Idle
2138
1374
-36%
1248
-42%
1587
-26%
1006
-53%
1650
-23%
H.264
1208
853
-29%
685
-43%
809
-33%
869
-28%
620
-49%
1008
-17%
WiFi v1.3
991
510
-49%
515
-48%
715
-28%
701
-29%
541
-45%
546
-45%
Load
258
218
-16%
198
-23%
196
-24%
275
7%
233
-10%
194
-25%

Pros

+ premium-looking design
+ notchless display
+ 3.5 mm headphone jack
+ good Wi-Fi performance
+ precise GPS
+ dual-SIM
+ Widevine DRM L1
+ impressive pictures in good lighting
+ fast fingerprint sensor
+ fast facial recognition
+ vibrant AMOLED display
+ fast midrange SoC
+ long battery life
+ quick-charging battery

Cons

- no water or dust-resistance certification
- no microSD card slot
- Type-C port operates on the slower 2.0 standard
- high SAR values
- underwhelming low-light shots
- PWM
- no wireless charging
- comparatively expensive

Verdict

The Xiaomi Mi 9T smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Xiaomi Austria and TradingShenzhen.
The Xiaomi Mi 9T smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Xiaomi Austria and TradingShenzhen.

Xiaomi sure brings new smartphones to market quickly. The Mi 9T follows the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE, the naming scheme of which may make the three devices challenging to distinguish. However, the Mi 9T is more than just a rehashed Mi 9.

The Xiaomi Mi 9T has great battery life, a pop-up selfie camera, a great display and solid performance. Overall, the 9T offers more than most midrange smartphones, while also being hardly any cheaper than the Mi 9.

Firstly, the Mi 9T has a notchless display, with Xiaomi incorporating a motorised pop-up front-facing camera to overcome the notches that the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE have. The Mi 9T also has a substantially larger battery than its siblings, which gives the device excellent battery life, and a headphone jack, something that both the Mi 9 and Mi 9 SE lack.

The 9T offers more performance than the Mi 9 SE thanks to its Snapdragon 730 SoC, but it cannot match the power of the Snapdragon 855 in the Mi 9. The 9T has the same size display as the Mi 9 though, which is 0.46-inches larger than the one in the Mi 9 SE. All three devices come with 6 GB of RAM though.

One sticking point of the Mi 9T is its price. The 64 GB model is 69 Euros (~US$77) cheaper than the Mi 9, which has better cameras and a more powerful SoC. Then there is the Mi 9T Pro, also sold as the Redmi K20 Pro, which also comes with a Snapdragon 855. In short, the Mi 9T is simultaneously an excellent midrange smartphone and a tough sell for Xiaomi mainly because of the rest of the Mi 9 series.

Xiaomi Mi 9T - 07/22/2019 v6(old)
Manuel Masiero

Chassis
85%
Keyboard
67 / 75 → 89%
Pointing Device
92%
Connectivity
43 / 60 → 71%
Weight
89%
Battery
100%
Display
89%
Games Performance
59 / 63 → 94%
Application Performance
73 / 70 → 100%
Temperature
94%
Noise
100%
Audio
69 / 91 → 76%
Camera
77%
Average
80%
88%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 6 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Xiaomi Mi 9T Smartphone Review: A midranger with record battery life
Manuel Masiero, 2019-07-24 (Update: 2019-07-25)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor - @aldersonaj
Prior to writing and translating for Notebookcheck, I worked for various companies including and Apple Neowin. I have a BA in International History and Politics from the University of Leeds, which I have since converted to a Law Degree. Happy to chat on Twitter or Notebookchat.