Notebookcheck

Crazy Xperia 1 III camera specs and enormous price tag allegedly leaked as Sony announces upcoming 2021 Xperia Worldwide Launch event

The Sony Xperia 1 III could be revealed at the Xperia Worldwide Launch event on April 14. (Image source: Sony/Voice/Evan Blass - edited)
The Sony Xperia 1 III could be revealed at the Xperia Worldwide Launch event on April 14. (Image source: Sony/Voice/Evan Blass - edited)
Sony has announced a 2021 Xperia Worldwide Launch event that will take place on April 14. It’s possible the Xperia 1 III, Xperia 10 III, and the new Xperia Compact (Ace 2) will make an appearance. New Sony Xperia 1 III rumors have offered up a potential camera configuration, battery details, and an eye-watering price tag.

Sony will be holding an Xperia Worldwide Launch event on April 14, which will kick-off at 15:30 Beijing time (03:30 New York, 08:30 London, 09:30 Berlin, 16:30 Tokyo). Unsurprisingly, this has sparked considerable speculation, with some believing that Sony might launch the long-awaited Xperia 1 III at the event, with it being made available for purchase in May or June. In addition, the Sony Xperia 10 III and Xperia Compact (Ace 2) are also expected to be guests at the upcoming event.

Most eyes, however, are set upon what Sony will deliver with the new flagship Xperia 1 III smartphone. We have already reported on some incredible rumors, and now we have a few more courtesy of Chinese social media. Once again there is a mention of the Snapdragon 888 for the Sony Xperia 1 III, with a 12 GB + 256 GB configuration presumably for the international market while buyers in China will supposedly get the option of purchasing a mighty 16 GB + 512 GB model. A 5,000-mAh battery is allegedly onboard with support for 65 W charging while a 4K OLED 120 Hz-capable display adds to the list of temptations.

As for the camera equipment, fans will expect a lot from Sony for the Xperia 1 III and a leaker has offered up a curious collection of sensors for it: 64 MP (wide angle) + 12 MP (ultra wide) + 12 MP (periscope/Cyber-shot) with 60x zoom. As has been pointed out, a slim device as the Xperia 1 III is expected to be would struggle containing such a telephoto lens, although it also seems unlikely that the source is pulling a prank here even considering the date of the post (April 1). The price tag is certainly no joke, at a rumored 8,999 yuan (US$1,369/£994/€1,166) – and that’s just the price for China without all those pesky international taxes, transit costs, etc. that will be added to the bill for Xperia fans in other countries.

Buy the Sony Xperia 1 II smartphone on Amazon

2021 Xperia Worldwide Launch. (Image source: Sony)
2021 Xperia Worldwide Launch. (Image source: Sony)

Source(s)

Sony Xperia (Weibo - in Chinese)

Zackbuks (Weibo - in Chinese) via AndroidNext (in Japanese) & Esato forum

Read all 5 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > News > News Archive > Newsarchive 2021 04 > Crazy Xperia 1 III camera specs and enormous price tag allegedly leaked as Sony announces upcoming 2021 Xperia Worldwide Launch event
Daniel R Deakin, 2021-04- 1 (Update: 2021-04- 1)
Daniel R Deakin
Daniel R Deakin - Managing News Editor - 2197 articles published on Notebookcheck since 2012
My interest in technology began after I was presented with an Atari 800XL home computer in the mid-1980s. I especially enjoy writing about technological advances, compelling rumors, and intriguing tech-related leaks. I have a degree in International Relations and Strategic Studies and count my family, reading, writing, and travel as the main passions of my life. I have been with Notebookcheck since 2012.