Notebookcheck

Motorola Moto G7 Power Smartphone Review

Stefan Schomberg, 👁 Florian Schmitt (translated by Alex Alderson), 02/28/2019

It just runs and runs and runs. On paper, the Motorola Moto G7 Power is all about battery life. Motorola promises up to 60 hours of battery life from a single charge, but the device shares many traits with its G7 siblings like its glass back and Snapdragon 632 SoC. Read on to find out how the latest Moto G7 model to enter our offices fares in our tests and whether it lives up to expectations.

Moto G7 Power
Moto G7 Power

Motorola has released four Moto G7 models so far, of which the Moto G7 Power is the last to enter our offices. Each model specialises in different areas. The Moto G7 focussed on design and the Moto G7 Plus looked to impress with its camera capabilities, while the Moto G7 Play offered great value for money. Now we have the G7 Power that, as the name suggests, focuses on delivering exceptional battery life. The three other Moto G7 models performed well in our tests and all scored above 80%, but how well does the G7 Power stack up against its siblings? A glance to your right at our overall score reveals the answer, but can our review unit achieve Motorola’s claims of 60 hours battery life from a single charge? Read on to find out and how well the G7 Power performs in our tests and how it fares against other midrange smartphones with large batteries.

We have chosen to compare the G7 Power against other midrange smartphones. We have narrowed the pool of devices from which to choose from just to those with large batteries to offer the most directly comparable comparison devices possible. Our comparison devices include the OUKITEL WP5000, the Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra and the Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus.

Motorola Moto G7 Power (Moto G7 Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
4096 MB 
Display
6.2 inch 19:9, 1570 x 720 pixel 279 PPI, Capacitive touchscreen, IPS, glossy: yes
Storage
64 GB eMMC Flash, 64 GB 
, 47 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm, Card Reader: up to 512 GB microSD cards, 1 Fingerprint Reader, NFC, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, Gyroscope, Proximity sensor
Networking
802.11 b/g/n (b/g/n), Bluetooth 4.2 LE, 2G: 850, 900, 1,800, 1,900. 3G: B1, B2, B5, B8, B19. 4G: B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B19, B20, B28, B38, B40, B41., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 9.3 x 149.4 x 76 ( = 0.37 x 5.88 x 2.99 in)
Battery
19 Wh, 5000 mAh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 12 MPix , f/2.0, PDAF, 1.25 um pixels, LED flash
Secondary Camera: 8 MPix , ƒ/2.2, 1.12 um pixels, Display flash
Additional features
Speakers: Mono speaker, Keyboard: Virtual, Keyboard Light: yes, 24 Months Warranty, SAR values: Body – 0.854 W/kg, Head - 0.836 W/kg. LTE Cat 7: 300/100 Mbit/s. ExFAT support. DRM Widevine L1 certified, fanless
Weight
193 g ( = 6.81 oz / 0.43 pounds), Power Supply: 67 g ( = 2.36 oz / 0.15 pounds)
Price
209.99 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

Building a smartphone with a large battery is not a new idea, but it typically makes them bulky and often unsightly. This is not the case with the G7 Power though, as it still looks rather slim considering the 5,000 mAh battery contained within its case. Motorola has equipped the device with a larger notch than it used with the Moto G7 or Moto G7 Plus, but it still does not look too intrusive in our opinion.

The wider notch is the main aesthetic difference between the G7 Power and its more-expensive siblings though. The former has a glass back that curves into its frame and the same fingerprint sensor that is adorned with the Motorola Batwing logo, which sits below the rear-facing camera housing. The G7 Power has narrow display bezels too, which gives it a comparatively high screen-to-body ratio for a midrange smartphone with a large battery.

The G7 Power is marginally thicker and larger than its G7 siblings though, and it only has a single rear-facing camera that we will touch more on in our Camera section. Our review unit is considerably lighter than the OUKITEL WP5000 and Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra at 193 g, although the Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus is noticeably lighter still at 180 g.

Our review unit is just as well built as its siblings too. We could not twist or deform the G7 Power, but we could get it to emit creaking noises; we had to apply a lot of pressure on our review unit to do this though. It is worth noting that the power and volume buttons also felt secure and worked perfectly throughout our tests.

Size Comparison

167 mm / 6.57 inch 82 mm / 3.23 inch 14 mm / 0.551 inch 277 g0.611 lbs163 mm / 6.42 inch 80 mm / 3.15 inch 9.5 mm / 0.374 inch 221 g0.4872 lbs158.5 mm / 6.24 inch 75.5 mm / 2.97 inch 8.1 mm / 0.3189 inch 180 g0.3968 lbs157 mm / 6.18 inch 75.3 mm / 2.96 inch 8 mm / 0.315 inch 172 g0.3792 lbs149.4 mm / 5.88 inch 76 mm / 2.99 inch 9.3 mm / 0.3661 inch 193 g0.4255 lbs

Connectivity

The G7 Power has not only a large battery but also has ample internal storage and RAM for a midrange smartphone. Motorola has equipped the device with 4 GB RAM and 64 GB of internal storage, the latter of which can be expanded with up to 512-GB microSD cards. Moreover, the device has dual-SIM functionality and a dedicated microSD card slot, so you do not need to choose between the two as you do with smartphones that have hybrid second SIM card slots. The Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 SoC, which integrates a Qualcomm Adreno 506 GPU, should provide enough power for most tasks too, but it is not as capable as the Snapdragon 636 SoC in the Moto G7 Plus.

Our review unit even has an NFC chip and an FM radio module, which not all midrange smartphones have. It is worth keeping in mind that the latter uses wired headphones as its antenna. Motorola does not include a pair in the box, but any 3.5 mm headphones will work. There is a USB Type-C port too, which is always welcome. It can only be used for data transfer and charging though; our review unit would not work with Type-C headphones.

Software

The G7 Power ships with Android 9 Pie at the time of writing like the other Moto G7 models that we have reviewed. Likewise, Motorola promises to update the G7 Power to Android 10 and to deliver new security patches every two to three months. All our Moto G7 review units including the G7 Power had December 2018 security patches installed at the time of testing, so we expect Motorola to release a security patch update for all four devices next month.

The OS is the same almost stock Android experience we liked during our Moto G7, Moto G7 Play and Moto G7 Plus tests. In short, the G7 Power is free from bloatware. The company continues to include Moto Actions, which integrates additional functions that are not present in stock Android. Moving the G7 Power down swiftly twice in a chopping motion enables the flashlight, while twisting your wrist quickly twice turns on the default camera app. The G7 Power also has an always-on display (AOD) feature that allows you to preview the battery percentage, date, time, and notifications or missed calls. The AOD can be customised within the overhauled Moto app.

Device information
Device information
Default app drawer
Default app drawer
Default home screen
Default home screen

Independent journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible but we intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers and support us!

Communication & GPS

The G7 Power has better LTE and Wi-Fi connectivity than the Moto G7 Play, but it is a long way off its more-expensive siblings. The G7 Power can achieve up to 300 Mb/s download speeds over LTE and supports a good amount of LTE bands for a midrange smartphone, but not as many as the Moto G7 or Moto G7 Plus.

Our review unit can connect to 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wi-Fi networks though, which is better than the Moto G7 Play can manage. Likewise, the G7 Power achieved considerably faster transfer speeds in our iperf3 Client Wi-Fi tests, but our review unit finished bottom of both our comparison tables. In short, it may be worth paying more for the Moto G7 or Moto G7 Plus if you value Wi-Fi performance.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Adreno 508, 630, 32 GB eMMC Flash
334 MBit/s ∼100% +576%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=351)
219 MBit/s ∼66% +343%
Oukitel WP5000
Mali-T880 MP2, Helio P25, 64 GB eMMC Flash
114 MBit/s ∼34% +131%
Motorola Moto G7
Adreno 506, 632, 64 GB eMMC Flash
112 (min: 94, max: 118) MBit/s ∼34% +127%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Adreno 506, 625, 64 GB eMMC Flash
53.9 MBit/s ∼16% +9%
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Adreno 506, 632, 64 GB eMMC Flash
49.4 (min: 35, max: 53) MBit/s ∼15%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Adreno 508, 630, 32 GB eMMC Flash
305 MBit/s ∼100% +478%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=351)
210 MBit/s ∼69% +298%
Motorola Moto G7
Adreno 506, 632, 64 GB eMMC Flash
112 (min: 107, max: 117) MBit/s ∼37% +112%
Oukitel WP5000
Mali-T880 MP2, Helio P25, 64 GB eMMC Flash
109 MBit/s ∼36% +106%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Adreno 506, 625, 64 GB eMMC Flash
55.7 MBit/s ∼18% +5%
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Adreno 506, 632, 64 GB eMMC Flash
52.8 (min: 27, max: 58) MBit/s ∼17%
0102030405060708090100110120Tooltip
Motorola Moto G7 Power Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Qualcomm Adreno 506; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø49.1 (35-53)
Motorola Moto G7 Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Qualcomm Adreno 506; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø112 (94-118)
Motorola Moto G7 Power Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Qualcomm Adreno 506; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø51.9 (27-58)
Motorola Moto G7 Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Qualcomm Adreno 506; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø112 (107-117)
GPS Test: Inside
GPS Test: Inside
GPS Test: Outside
GPS Test: Outside

Like the Moto G7 Play, the G7 Power performed much better in our GPS tests. Our test device found a satellite fix with up to six metres accuracy outdoors, which dropped to 30 metres when we went inside. The device generally took longer than its siblings to find a satellite fix though.

Our review unit also performed well on our bike ride where we compared its location accuracy to a Garmin Edge 520, a professional navigation device. Our review unit deviated 380 metres compared to the route that the Garmin plotted, which is slightly better than our Moto G7 Play review unit managed. Again, the G7 Power took some shortcuts to keep up with us as demonstrated by the screenshot of us cycling down narrow streets, but overall the G7 Power is accurate enough for most general navigation tasks.

GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Loop
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Loop
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Bridge
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Bridge
GPS Test: Motorola Moto G7 Power - Overview
GPS Test: Motorola Moto G7 Power - Overview
GPS Test: Motorola Moto G7 Power - Loop
GPS Test: Motorola Moto G7 Power - Loop
GPS Test: Motorola Moto G7 Power - Bridge
GPS Test: Motorola Moto G7 Power - Bridge

Telephone Features & Call Quality

Motorola preinstalls the Google suite of telephony apps just like it does with the other G7 models that we have tested. The app functions just as well as it does on other devices that we have tested.

The G7 Power has better call quality than the Moto G7 Play and performed well in our tests. The earpiece gets so loud that you could probably use it hands-free without even setting it as such. Our call partner sounds noticeably tinny at high volumes though. The microphone did a good job at picking up our voice even when we spoke quietly, which is better than the microphone in the Moto G7 Play.

Calls sound passable on hands-free too and are free from distortion or dissonant background noise. In short, you should have no issue with making or receiving calls with the G7 Power regardless of whether you are speaking on hands-free or with the device up to your face.

Cameras

Taking a selfie with the Motorola Moto G7 Power
Taking a selfie with the Motorola Moto G7 Power

The G7 Power has a single 12 MP rear-facing camera that has an f/2.0 aperture, a 1.25 μm pixel size and is supported by an LED flash. The sensor is not optically stabilised like the ones that Motorola used in the Moto G7 and Moto G7 Plus. The G7 Power also has an 8 MP front-facing camera that has an f/2.2 aperture and a 1.12 μm pixel size. The device can flash the display to get more light into a scene too instead of using a dedicated LED flash.

Photos look decent in good light, but the rear-facing camera struggles to capture many details even in these seemingly perfect conditions. Picture noise is comparatively weak though, and the degree of dynamic range impressed us, as did the sharpness, which is not overly aggressive. However, low-light conditions highlight the limitations of the G7 Power’s rear-facing camera. Photos are dominated by image noise as demonstrated below by Scene 3, while objects look blurry. Bright areas like the candle-light look completely blown out too to the point where the wick is unrecognisable.

The G7 Power also generally takes decent-looking videos, but the lack of OIS means that panning shots are ruined by motion blur and jerky hand movements. The default camera app has plenty of customisation options though, like slow-motion videos that are shot in 240 FPS or intelligent camera features like automatic composition and numerous filters.

The front-facing camera takes pleasing photos too, but the sensor struggles in the same ways as the rear-facing camera does. In short, do not expect miracles in low-light conditions.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3

We also subjected the G7 Power to further tests under laboratory conditions to determine how accurately its main camera can reproduce colours. Our review unit generally does a good job, but colours are reproduced too darkly compared to ColorChecker Passport reference colours. We doubt that most people would notice this in daily use though.

The G7 Power captures our test chart well too. However, contrast and sharpness levels drop off noticeably in all but one of the corners in our photo. However, this is what we currently expect from a midrange smartphone, so the G7 Power is in good company here.

A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail
Our test chart in detail
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

Accessories & Warranty

The G7 Power comes with an 18 W charger that Motorola promises will give the device nine hours of use from just 15 minutes charge. There is also a USB Type-A to Type-C cable, a silicone case and a SIM too. There are no headphones in the box, but that is the case with all the G7 devices that we have tested.

The device comes with 24 months manufacturer’s warranty. Please see our Guarantees, Return policies and Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

The capacitive touchscreen in our review unit is responsive into the edges of the display and reproduces our inputs accurately. We experienced no issues with the touchscreen throughout testing. Likewise, the accelerometer worked perfectly throughout our tests. The fingerprint sensor worked reliably too and unlocked our review unit with only a minor delay that should not be a problem in daily use.

The power and volume buttons have decent pressure points and sufficiently crisp strokes for a budget smartphone. Motorola also preinstalls Google Gboard as the default keyboard.

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The G7 Power has a 6.2-inch IPS display that has a 19:9 aspect ratio like the Moto G7. However, while Motorola also markets it as being a Max Vision screen, it only operates natively at 1570x720 pixels compared to the 2270x1080 at which the Moto G7 runs. Most people will not notice the difference in everyday use though as it still has a pixel density of over 400 PPI and looks sharp to our eyes.

Our review achieved an average maximum brightness of 585 cd/m², according to X-Rite i1Pro 2, which is 23% brighter than the display in our Moto G7 test device. The G7 Power is 92% evenly lit too, which is on par with our comparison devices. Moreover, our review unit has a lower black value than all our comparison devices that helps it achieve an excellent 1,689:1 contrast ratio. It also has acceptable DeltaE deviations, although it is no better than most of our comparison devices in this regard.

560
cd/m²
596
cd/m²
565
cd/m²
587
cd/m²
608
cd/m²
580
cd/m²
574
cd/m²
598
cd/m²
598
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 608 cd/m² Average: 585.1 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 92 %
Contrast: 1689:1 (Black: 0.36 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 5.08 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.2
ΔE Greyscale 5.9 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
95.7% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.219
Motorola Moto G7 Power
IPS, 1570x720, 6.2
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
IPS, 1920x1080, 6
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
IPS, 2160x1080, 5.99
Oukitel WP5000
IPS, 1440x720, 5.7
Motorola Moto G7
IPS, 2270x1080, 6.2
Screen
7%
-1%
-76%
-14%
Brightness middle
608
659
8%
620
2%
506
-17%
471
-23%
Brightness
585
680
16%
612
5%
503
-14%
453
-23%
Brightness Distribution
92
88
-4%
96
4%
86
-7%
94
2%
Black Level *
0.36
0.56
-56%
0.57
-58%
0.97
-169%
0.5
-39%
Contrast
1689
1177
-30%
1088
-36%
522
-69%
942
-44%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
5.08
2.8
45%
3.46
32%
9.4
-85%
5.5
-8%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
8.74
6.5
26%
7.88
10%
19.9
-128%
7.95
9%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
5.9
3
49%
3.9
34%
13
-120%
5
15%
Gamma
2.219 99%
2.18 101%
2.073 106%
2.59 85%
2.326 95%
CCT
7772 84%
6938 94%
7230 90%
10219 64%
7654 85%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM detected 555.6 Hz ≤ 15 % brightness setting

The display backlight flickers at 555.6 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 15 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 555.6 Hz is quite high, so most users sensitive to PWM should not notice any flickering.

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9802 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Unfortunately, the G7 Power uses pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate its brightness, which can cause eye strain and headaches for some people. Our tests determine that the display flickers at 555.6 Hz at 15% brightness and below, which should be high enough not to cause most people any issues.

We also subjected our review unit to further display tests with CalMAN analysis software. In short, the software highlighted no particular issues except for a slight blue tint. We were unable to compensate for the blue tint though as Motorola does not include any colour modes as some manufacturers do.

CalMAN: Colour Space
CalMAN: Colour Space
CalMAN: Grayscale
CalMAN: Grayscale
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy
CalMAN: Colour Saturation
CalMAN: Colour Saturation

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
22 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 7 ms rise
↘ 15 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 24 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is better than the average of all tested devices (25.5 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
56 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 27 ms rise
↘ 29 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 91 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (40.7 ms).

The G7 Power is easy to use outdoors thanks to its bright display. Our review unit has stable viewing angles too, and we noticed no brightness, colour or image distortions even at acute viewing angles. Hence, the G7 Power should remain readable from practically any angle, unless reflections wash out the display, which can occur in bright sunlight.

Using the Moto G7 Power outdoors
Using the Moto G7 Power outdoors
Using the Moto G7 Power outdoors with reflections onscreen
Using the Moto G7 Power outdoors with reflections onscreen
Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance

Motorola equips the G7 Power with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 SoC just like the Moto G7 and the Moto G7 Play. Our review unit scored comparatively well in synthetic benchmarks and outperformed most of our comparison devices. The Snapdragon 632 is less impressive in GPU benchmarks though as it integrates a Qualcomm Adreno 506, which is also found in the Snapdragon 625. By contrast, the Snapdragon 630 has the newer Adreno 508 and correspondingly performs better in many GPU-heavy benchmarks. Hopefully, Qualcomm will improve this with its next generation of SoCs.

Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4058 Points ∼87%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
3738 Points ∼81% -8%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
3316 Points ∼71% -18%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
2663 Points ∼57% -34%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4006 Points ∼86% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (3628 - 4058, n=4)
3863 Points ∼83% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1077 - 21070, n=241)
4641 Points ∼100% +14%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4515 Points ∼95%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
4234 Points ∼89% -6%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
4292 Points ∼90% -5%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
3943 Points ∼83% -13%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4765 Points ∼100% +6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (4179 - 4765, n=4)
4546 Points ∼95% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1634 - 11598, n=293)
4448 Points ∼93% -1%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1256 Points ∼96%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
865 Points ∼66% -31%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
870 Points ∼67% -31%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
863 Points ∼66% -31%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1256 Points ∼96% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (1194 - 1256, n=4)
1238 Points ∼95% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (590 - 4824, n=294)
1305 Points ∼100% +4%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6076 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
5051 Points ∼83% -17%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
4905 Points ∼81% -19%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
4174 Points ∼69% -31%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6038 Points ∼99% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (5785 - 6076, n=4)
5957 Points ∼98% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2828 - 9868, n=304)
4773 Points ∼79% -21%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
7498 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
5083 Points ∼68% -32%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
5801 Points ∼77% -23%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
4947 Points ∼66% -34%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
7187 Points ∼96% -4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (6566 - 7498, n=4)
7143 Points ∼95% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3977 - 13531, n=472)
5201 Points ∼69% -31%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2260 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
1728 Points ∼76% -24%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
2003 Points ∼89% -11%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
Points ∼0% -100%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2206 Points ∼98% -2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (2132 - 2260, n=3)
2199 Points ∼97% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (939 - 4439, n=319)
1771 Points ∼78% -22%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
423 Points ∼28%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
801 Points ∼53% +89%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
424 Points ∼28% 0%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
Points ∼0% -100%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
467 Points ∼31% +10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (423 - 477, n=3)
456 Points ∼30% +8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (138 - 8206, n=319)
1521 Points ∼100% +260%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
516 Points ∼36%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
909 Points ∼64% +76%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
514 Points ∼36% 0%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
Points ∼0% -100%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
566 Points ∼40% +10%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (516 - 576, n=3)
553 Points ∼39% +7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (170 - 5913, n=322)
1415 Points ∼100% +174%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2260 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
1706 Points ∼75% -25%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
2038 Points ∼90% -10%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
Points ∼0% -100%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2251 Points ∼100% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (2166 - 2260, n=3)
2226 Points ∼98% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (918 - 4216, n=395)
1704 Points ∼75% -25%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
423 Points ∼34%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
727 Points ∼58% +72%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
379 Points ∼30% -10%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
Points ∼0% -100%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
419 Points ∼34% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (0 - 430, n=4)
318 Points ∼26% -25%
Average of class Smartphone
  (150 - 6355, n=397)
1244 Points ∼100% +194%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
516 Points ∼43%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
833 Points ∼70% +61%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
463 Points ∼39% -10%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
Points ∼0% -100%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
512 Points ∼43% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (512 - 523, n=3)
517 Points ∼43% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (184 - 5509, n=405)
1190 Points ∼100% +131%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
24 fps ∼73%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
29 fps ∼88% +21%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
23 fps ∼70% -4%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
24 fps ∼73% 0%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
24 fps ∼73% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (24 - 24, n=4)
24 fps ∼73% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4.1 - 251, n=612)
33 fps ∼100% +38%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
37 fps ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
31 fps ∼84% -16%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
17 fps ∼46% -54%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
31 fps ∼84% -16%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
23 fps ∼62% -38%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (23 - 37, n=4)
33.3 fps ∼90% -10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (6.9 - 120, n=615)
26 fps ∼70% -30%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
10 fps ∼56%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
14 fps ∼79% +40%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
9.9 fps ∼56% -1%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
11 fps ∼62% +10%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
10 fps ∼56% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (10 - 11, n=4)
10.3 fps ∼58% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.2 - 132, n=533)
17.8 fps ∼100% +78%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
19 fps ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
15 fps ∼79% -21%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
9.4 fps ∼49% -51%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
18 fps ∼95% -5%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
9.9 fps ∼52% -48%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (9.9 - 20, n=4)
17 fps ∼89% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4.1 - 115, n=537)
16.8 fps ∼88% -12%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6.9 fps ∼46%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
5.2 fps ∼34% -25%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
6.5 fps ∼43% -6%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
6.8 fps ∼45% -1%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6.9 fps ∼46% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (6.9 - 7, n=4)
6.93 fps ∼46% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.6 - 88, n=394)
15.1 fps ∼100% +119%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
15 fps ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
11 fps ∼73% -27%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
6.2 fps ∼41% -59%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
15 fps ∼100% 0%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6.5 fps ∼43% -57%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (6.5 - 15, n=4)
12.6 fps ∼84% -16%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.5 - 110, n=397)
14.5 fps ∼97% -3%
GFXBench
High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4.2 fps ∼45%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2 fps ∼22% -52%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (2 - 4.3, n=3)
3.5 fps ∼38% -17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.61 - 59, n=98)
9.3 fps ∼100% +121%
2560x1440 High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1.3 fps ∼20%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1.2 fps ∼19% -8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (1.2 - 1.3, n=3)
1.267 fps ∼20% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.21 - 31, n=98)
6.47 fps ∼100% +398%
Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
6.7 fps ∼48%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.6 fps ∼26% -46%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (3.6 - 6.8, n=3)
5.7 fps ∼41% -15%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.4 - 59, n=98)
14 fps ∼100% +109%
1920x1080 Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.9 fps ∼25%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.9 fps ∼25% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (3.8 - 3.9, n=3)
3.87 fps ∼25% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.77 - 63, n=97)
15.4 fps ∼100% +295%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.9 fps ∼38%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
5.5 fps ∼54% +41%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
3.5 fps ∼34% -10%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
4.1 fps ∼40% +5%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.9 fps ∼38% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (3.9 - 3.9, n=4)
3.9 fps ∼38% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9 - 54, n=324)
10.2 fps ∼100% +162%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
7.8 fps ∼84%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
6 fps ∼65% -23%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
3.4 fps ∼37% -56%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
7.3 fps ∼79% -6%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
3.6 fps ∼39% -54%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (3.6 - 7.9, n=4)
6.75 fps ∼73% -13%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 58, n=327)
9.26 fps ∼100% +19%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
106439 Points ∼86%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
89349 Points ∼72% -16%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
76178 Points ∼62% -28%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
78088 Points ∼63% -27%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
108408 Points ∼88% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (97294 - 108408, n=4)
103814 Points ∼84% -2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (41483 - 374820, n=217)
123485 Points ∼100% +16%
AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
85777 Points ∼98%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
70141 Points ∼80% -18%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
60490 Points ∼69% -29%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
57489 Points ∼65% -33%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
87883 Points ∼100% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (76724 - 87883, n=3)
83461 Points ∼95% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (23275 - 273655, n=431)
80811 Points ∼92% -6%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1078 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
912 Points ∼85% -15%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
722 Points ∼67% -33%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
888 Points ∼82% -18%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1008 Points ∼94% -6%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (1008 - 1078, n=4)
1041 Points ∼97% -3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 1731, n=545)
717 Points ∼67% -33%
Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1081 Points ∼59%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
1492 Points ∼81% +38%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
1017 Points ∼56% -6%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
1120 Points ∼61% +4%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1075 Points ∼59% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (1069 - 1081, n=4)
1074 Points ∼59% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 15969, n=545)
1831 Points ∼100% +69%
Memory (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
2049 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
1325 Points ∼65% -35%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
961 Points ∼47% -53%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
1229 Points ∼60% -40%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1963 Points ∼96% -4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (1068 - 2049, n=4)
1712 Points ∼84% -16%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 6283, n=545)
1339 Points ∼65% -35%
System (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4399 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
3287 Points ∼75% -25%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
3236 Points ∼74% -26%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
3225 Points ∼73% -27%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
4378 Points ∼100% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (3865 - 4399, n=4)
4237 Points ∼96% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 12202, n=545)
2684 Points ∼61% -39%
Overall (sort by value)
Motorola Moto G7 Power
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1800 Points ∼100%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Adreno 508, 4096
1560 Points ∼87% -13%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Adreno 506, 4096
1229 Points ∼68% -32%
Oukitel WP5000
Mediatek Helio P25, Mali-T880 MP2, 6144
1409 Points ∼78% -22%
Motorola Moto G7
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 4096
1747 Points ∼97% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
  (1465 - 1800, n=4)
1679 Points ∼93% -7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (150 - 6097, n=549)
1332 Points ∼74% -26%

The G7 Power also performed well in browser benchmarks considering its price. Moreover, browsing the web consistently felt snappy during our tests and scrolling remained smooth throughout.

JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
Motorola Moto G7 (Chrome 71)
45.541 Points ∼100% +1%
Motorola Moto G7 Power
45.099 Points ∼99%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 (42.6 - 45.5, n=4)
44.2 Points ∼97% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 273, n=470)
37.8 Points ∼83% -16%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra (Chrome 65)
28.107 Points ∼62% -38%
Oukitel WP5000 (Chrome 66)
26.91 Points ∼59% -40%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus (Chrome 66)
23.097 Points ∼51% -49%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Motorola Moto G7 Power
8420 Points ∼100%
Motorola Moto G7 (Chrome 71)
8351 Points ∼99% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 (8185 - 8420, n=4)
8296 Points ∼99% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (1506 - 43280, n=606)
5871 Points ∼70% -30%
Oukitel WP5000 (Chrome 66)
5132 Points ∼61% -39%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra (Chrome 65)
5052 Points ∼60% -40%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus (Chrome 66)
4424 Points ∼53% -47%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=625)
11133 ms * ∼100%
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus (Chrome 66)
10895 ms * ∼98%
Oukitel WP5000 (Chrome 66)
10209.2 ms * ∼92%
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra (Chrome 65)
9823.3 ms * ∼88%
Motorola Moto G7 (Chrome 71)
4900 ms * ∼44%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 (4806 - 4900, n=3)
4867 ms * ∼44%

* ... smaller is better

Motorola appears to have equipped the G7 Power with the same internal storage as its more-expensive siblings. Our review unit and the Moto G7 achieved almost identical transfer speeds in AndroBench 3-5, which underlines just how good value for money the G7 Power is. The device is also faster than most of our comparison devices in this regard.

Likewise, the G7 Power and Moto G7 appear to share the same microSD card reader. Both readers are faster than the class average and trade blows with our fastest comparison devices.

Motorola Moto G7 PowerSony Xperia XA2 UltraXiaomi Redmi 5 PlusOukitel WP5000Motorola Moto G7Average 64 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-20%
-17%
-45%
2%
-25%
-41%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
65.45 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
63.31 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-3%
59.46
-9%
20.5 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-69%
66.8 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
2%
55.1 (59.5 - 74.7, n=87)
-16%
47.1 (19.2 - 87.1, n=357)
-28%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
86.73 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
85.92 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-1%
84.38
-3%
21.11 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-76%
86.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
0%
73.4 (83.2 - 87.2, n=87)
-15%
65.3 (29.8 - 96.5, n=357)
-25%
Random Write 4KB
72
10.1
-86%
7.1
-90%
9.89
-86%
75.6
5%
22.7 (3.4 - 88.2, n=96)
-68%
18.3 (0.14 - 250, n=654)
-75%
Random Read 4KB
67.5
76
13%
79.5
18%
66.88
-1%
69.3
3%
52.8 (11.4 - 149, n=96)
-22%
41.5 (1.59 - 173, n=654)
-39%
Sequential Write 256KB
215.21
138.8
-36%
194.5
-10%
162.14
-25%
216
0%
171 (40 - 246, n=96)
-21%
86.5 (2.99 - 388, n=654)
-60%
Sequential Read 256KB
292.44
273.7
-6%
270
-8%
257.52
-12%
297
2%
272 (115 - 704, n=96)
-7%
242 (12.1 - 912, n=654)
-17%

Games

The G7 Power handles most games with ease. Even complex games like Asphalt 9: Legends run smoothly because of the device’s 720p display, which takes some of the pressure off the GPU compared to the 1080p screen in the Moto G7. Moreover, the accelerometer and touchscreen worked perfectly throughout our gaming tests.

Temple Run 2
Temple Run 2
Asphalt 9: Legends
Asphalt 9: Legends

Emissions


Temperature

The G7 Power remains pleasingly cool even under sustained load. Our review unit reached a maximum of 32.4 °C during our tests, which is only lukewarm. Likewise, the device averaged 26 °C at idle, so the G7 Power should never feel hot to the touch regardless of how hard you push it.

Max. Load
 32.4 °C
90 F
30.6 °C
87 F
29.8 °C
86 F
 
 31.7 °C
89 F
30.5 °C
87 F
30.3 °C
87 F
 
 31.4 °C
89 F
30.5 °C
87 F
31.1 °C
88 F
 
Maximum: 32.4 °C = 90 F
Average: 30.9 °C = 88 F
29 °C
84 F
29.7 °C
85 F
31.5 °C
89 F
29 °C
84 F
29.9 °C
86 F
31.1 °C
88 F
29.4 °C
85 F
30.4 °C
87 F
30.6 °C
87 F
Maximum: 31.5 °C = 89 F
Average: 30.1 °C = 86 F
Power Supply (max.)  39.6 °C = 103 F | Room Temperature 21.6 °C = 71 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(+) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 30.9 °C / 88 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 32.4 °C / 90 F, compared to the average of 35.6 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 31.5 °C / 89 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 26 °C / 79 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the bottom of the device under load
Heat map of the bottom of the device under load

Speakers

Pink noise speaker test
Pink noise speaker test

The G7 Power has a single speaker like the Moto G7 Play, which is also its earpiece. However, while the latter sounds tinny at high volumes, the G7 Power’s speaker sounds pleasingly balanced, and it even reproduces some bass tones, which is rare for most smartphones.

Our review unit also reproduced audio cleanly over external headphones and speakers via both Bluetooth and the 3.5 mm jack.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2034.438.12530.431.3312729.54033.132.55034.629.76329.127.2802424.710023.622.312521.226.816021.135.820018.843.425018.752.131517.658.240016.659.950015.861.663015.865.880015.368.8100016.373.6125014.773.416001671.220001570.9250014.773.2315014.772.7400014.369500014.867.2630015.170800015.273.81000014.470.31250014.466.61600014.453.4SPL64.159.66063.75527.583.1N17.612.512.915.59.30.955.9median 15.3median 67.2Delta1.39.334.438.130.431.32729.533.132.534.629.729.127.22424.723.622.321.226.821.135.818.843.418.752.117.658.216.659.915.861.615.865.815.368.816.373.614.773.41671.21570.914.773.214.772.714.36914.867.215.17015.273.814.470.314.466.614.453.464.159.66063.75527.583.117.612.512.915.59.30.955.90000000000000000000000000001100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000median 0median 01.39.333.332.438.23534.145.534.934.343.336.928.627.925.825.524.224.32130.52141.520.150.119.955.818.260.417.964.517.667.916.472.916.572.715.875.315.474.715.174.115.273.815.274.615.177.715.17615.178.215.176.415.27115.267.315.360.715.144.427.986.9170median 15.4median 711.810.6hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseMotorola Moto G7 PowerXiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Motorola Moto G7 Power audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (83.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 27.4% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (12.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.5% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (4.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.7% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (5.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (20.2% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 13% of all tested devices in this class were better, 9% similar, 78% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 43% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 49% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Motorola Moto G7 Power audio analysis

Analysis not possible as minimum curve is missing or too high

Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.9 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 27.3% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (11.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.4% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (3.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 4.5% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (4.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (20.2% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 13% of all tested devices in this class were better, 9% similar, 78% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 43% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 49% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The G7 Power is a relatively power-efficient device, but it does consume more than most of our comparison devices, the class average and the average of devices powered by the Snapdragon 632 SoC that we have already tested. Our review unit consumes a minimum of 1.1 W at idle and a maximum of 6.9 W under sustained load, which are almost identical values to what the Moto G7 achieved in the same tests. However, the G7 Power can afford to have slightly higher power consumption at idle thanks to its 5,000 mAh battery, which leads us nicely onto our next section and the G7 Power’s arguably most important feature.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.05 / 0.2 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 1.1 / 1.9 / 2.8 Watt
Load midlight 4.1 / 6.9 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Motorola Moto G7 Power
5000 mAh
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
3580 mAh
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
4000 mAh
Oukitel WP5000
5200 mAh
Motorola Moto G7
3000 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 632
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
7%
-8%
4%
2%
3%
15%
Idle Minimum *
1.1
0.77
30%
0.7
36%
1.18
-7%
1.1
-0%
1.067 (1 - 1.1, n=3)
3%
0.881 (0.2 - 3.4, n=684)
20%
Idle Average *
1.9
2.12
-12%
2.8
-47%
2.17
-14%
1.8
5%
1.8 (1.7 - 1.9, n=3)
5%
1.73 (0.6 - 6.2, n=683)
9%
Idle Maximum *
2.8
2.17
22%
3.4
-21%
2.26
19%
2.6
7%
2.67 (2.6 - 2.8, n=3)
5%
2.01 (0.74 - 6.6, n=684)
28%
Load Average *
4.1
4.3
-5%
4.2
-2%
3.68
10%
4.2
-2%
4.13 (4.1 - 4.2, n=3)
-1%
4.06 (0.8 - 10.8, n=678)
1%
Load Maximum *
6.9
6.73
2%
7.2
-4%
6.06
12%
6.8
1%
6.73 (6.5 - 6.9, n=3)
2%
5.84 (1.2 - 14.2, n=678)
15%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The G7 Power achieved incredible runtimes in our battery life tests thanks to its 5,000 mAh battery. Our review unit lasted for over 35 hours in our Wi-Fi battery life test, which is almost double the runtime that our best-placed comparison device achieved. Moreover, the G7 Power lasted 8:33 hours under sustained load, which is an amazing feat. In effect, the device should last a full workday even if it is constantly pushed hard. It may even achieve 60 hours on a single charge as Motorola claims, but only if you use it sparingly. The G7 Power only needs charging every few days generally though.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
35h 43min
Load (maximum brightness)
8h 33min
Motorola Moto G7 Power
5000 mAh
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
3580 mAh
Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
4000 mAh
Oukitel WP5000
5200 mAh
Motorola Moto G7
3000 mAh
Battery Runtime
-57%
-77%
-45%
-60%
Reader / Idle
1788
1548
WiFi v1.3
2143
849
-60%
497
-77%
1189
-45%
798
-63%
Load
513
238
-54%
219
-57%
H.264
876
819

Pros

+ fantastic battery life
+ well-equipped
+ great value for money
+ stylish

Cons

- comparatively underwhelming GPU
- heavy

Verdict

The Motorola Moto G7 Power smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Motorola Germany.
The Motorola Moto G7 Power smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Motorola Germany.

The Motorola Moto G7 Power is perhaps the best of the four G7 models that Motorola has released. The device offers almost all the features that its more-expensive siblings have, but it will last days longer between charges. The bigger battery adds weight, which may put off some people, although we think it is worth the compromise considering the runtimes that it achieved in our tests.

The Motorola Moto G7 Power not only provides decent performance at an affordable price, but it will last for days between charges, which few modern smartphones can do.

The G7 Power is cheaper too, but it also shares some of the downsides that affect the Moto G7, namely its underwhelming GPU. While the 720p display may seem outdated in 2019, it helps the G7 Power achieve a smoother gaming experience than the Moto G7, which underlines just how good value for money the G7 Play is. We would suggest considering the G7 Plus if you want a smartphone with a decent camera, but the G7 Power’s cameras are good enough in most scenarios. Overall, the Motorola Moto G7 Power offers excellent value for money and hardly any compromises in achieving its outstanding battery life.

Motorola Moto G7 Power - 02/26/2019 v6
Stefan Schomberg

Chassis
83%
Keyboard
70 / 75 → 93%
Pointing Device
87%
Connectivity
41 / 60 → 69%
Weight
89%
Battery
100%
Display
74%
Games Performance
30 / 63 → 48%
Application Performance
60 / 70 → 86%
Temperature
94%
Noise
Audio
64 / 91 → 70%
Camera
82%
Add Points
+2%
Average
67%
85%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 1 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Motorola Moto G7 Power Smartphone Review
Stefan Schomberg, 2019-02-28 (Update: 2019-03- 1)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.