Notebookcheck Logo

Real Xperia 5 IV or Xperia Compact guest stars in Sony's latest promo teasers

A new Sony Xperia smartphone has been teased in some promo clips for the upcoming launch event. (Image source: Sony - edited)
A new Sony Xperia smartphone has been teased in some promo clips for the upcoming launch event. (Image source: Sony - edited)
A new Xperia smartphone has made some brief appearances in two of Sony’s latest video clips promoting its upcoming launch event, which takes place on September 1. Much of the focus of the teasers is on British songwriter Cat Burns, but there are several glimpses of what could be either the Sony Xperia 5 IV or a new Xperia Compact.

Sony is just about ready to show the world its newest smartphone, with a launch event taking place on September 1 (Thursday). While it has been widely expected that this would be the Xperia 5 IV finally making an appearance, there has been a spanner thrown in the works recently. Part of a price leak from an unverified source also included the detail that there could be a different Xperia device launched before the Mark 4 model of the Xperia 5 range gets to reveal itself. With the argument that a 6-inch smartphone cannot really be considered “compact” and Sony using the tagline “Go compact” in its new teasers, it could be argued that an unexpected compact phone is about to be launched.

The first clip (see below) features music artist Cat Burns discussing how she recorded her song "People Pleaser" and shot a video for it using Sony’s new Xperia smartphone. There is the quickest glimpse of the device in question, which is being held close to the songwriter as she records her track. This is followed by the phrases “Be creative” and “Go compact”. Interestingly, the Sony Xperia 5 IV or Xperia Compact in the clip appears to have a light gold colorway, although there is nothing else that is too discernible about the device’s showing here.

Fortunately, the new Sony Xperia is much less shy in the next clip, which also has Burns talking about her recording experiences with the smartphone. This time around, there are three looks at the Xperia, although one of them is simply recycled from the first clip and the last one is a blurry appearance while the singer is listening to a recording. But for the second look, the phone is front and center for a couple of seconds, in the hand, and once again revealing its surprisingly golden design (although this could be a protective case). In addition, the potential Sony Xperia 5 IV here has a slightly different, but still distinctive and appealing, shape than that of the Xperia 5 III.

With the Xperia 5 IV expected to have a 6-inch display, there has been some call for Sony to produce what could be considered an actual compact smartphone akin to something like the iPhone 13 mini, which offered a 5.4-inch diagonal for its screen. There are certainly pointers that this particular Xperia device being teased now could end up being a new Xperia Compact, perhaps even a distant successor to 2018’s Sony Xperia XZ2 Compact that packed a powerful punch behind a 5.0-inch display. All will be revealed on September 1 at 16:00 Japan time or 09:00 CEST (08:00 BST, 03:00 ET, 00:00 PT).

Buy the Sony Xperia 5 II on Amazon

New Xperia. (Image source: Sony)
New Xperia. (Image source: Sony)
New Xperia. (Image source: Sony)
New Xperia. (Image source: Sony)
New Xperia. (Image source: Sony)
New Xperia. (Image source: Sony)
New Xperia. (Image source: Sony)
New Xperia. (Image source: Sony)
 
 

Source(s)

Sony (YouTube 1/2)

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
.170
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > News > News Archive > Newsarchive 2022 08 > Real Xperia 5 IV or Xperia Compact guest stars in Sony's latest promo teasers
Daniel R Deakin, 2022-08-27 (Update: 2022-08-27)