Notebookcheck

Huawei Y7 2019 Smartphone Review

Manuel Masiero, 👁 Daniel Schmidt, T. Hinum (translated by Alex Alderson), 04/10/2019

Big, good and affordable. The Y7 2019 retails for only 199 Euros (~US$224), but Huawei has still managed to cram in a 6.26-inch display, dual rear-facing cameras and a 4,000-mAh battery among its other impressive features. Read on to find out whether the device’s impressive specs on paper can combine to create a strong entry-level smartphone and how it fares against its competitors.

Huawei has upgraded the largest model of its entry-level Y series. The Chinese company aims the Y7 2019 at young buyers and has tried to lure them in by pricing the device at 199 Euros (~US$224). The Y7 2019 has numerous improvements over its predecessor, the Y7 2018, too.

Specifically, the screen has grown from 5.99-inches to 6.26-inches, the storage has doubled from 16 to 32 GB, and there is now 3 GB of RAM compared to the 2 GB with which Huawei equipped the Y7 2018. The SoC has also received a minor upgrade from the Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 to the Snapdragon 450. Furthermore, the new Y7 has dual rear-facing cameras, the main one of which is a 13 MP sensor that is supported by a 2 MP sensor. Moreover, the battery capacity has increased from 3,000 mAh to an impressive 4,000 mAh.

We have chosen to compare the Y7 2019 against other comparably priced and sized budget smartphones. Our comparison devices will include the Huawei P20 Lite, Motorola Moto G7 Play, Nokia 3.1 Plus, Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus (2018) and Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite.

Huawei Y7 2019 (Y Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
3072 MB 
Display
6.26 inch 19:9, 1520 x 720 pixel 269 PPI, 10-point multitouch touchscreen, IPS, glossy: yes
Storage
32 GB eMMC Flash, 32 GB 
, 20.83 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm headphone jack, Card Reader: Up to 512 GB microSD cards, 1 Fingerprint Reader, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, compass, fingerprint sensor, proximity sensor
Networking
802.11 b/g/n (b/g/n), Bluetooth 4.2, GSM: Bands 2, 3, 5, and 8. UMTS: Bands 1, 2, 5 and 8. LTE: Bands 1, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 20. SAR values: Body – 0.76 W/kg, Head - 0.35 W/kg, Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.1 x 158.92 x 76.91 ( = 0.32 x 6.26 x 3.03 in)
Battery
4000 mAh Lithium-Polymer, Talk time 2G (according to manufacturer): 51 h, Talk time 3G (according to manufacturer): 37 h, Standby 2G (according to manufacturer): 899 h, Standby 3G (according to manufacturer): 944 h
Operating System
Android 8.1 Oreo
Camera
Primary Camera: 13 MPix , f/1.8. 2 MPix secondary sensor, f/2.4
Secondary Camera: 8 MPix , f/2.0
Additional features
Speakers: Mono speaker on the underside of the device, Keyboard: virtual, modular power supply (5V/2A), USB Type-A to micro USB cable, SIM tool, quick start guide, EMUI 8.2, 24 Months Warranty, fanless
Weight
168 g ( = 5.93 oz / 0.37 pounds), Power Supply: 30 g ( = 1.06 oz / 0.07 pounds)
Price
199 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The Y7 2019 is practically the same size as its predecessor, although it has a slightly taller display; the Y7 2019’s display operates natively at 1520x720 compared to the 1440x720 at which the Y7 2018 operates. Huawei has reduced the top and bottom bezels to accommodate the larger display, which gives the Y7 2019 a more elegant look than its predecessor in our view. The company has included a notch too that contains the front-facing camera.

The Y7 2019 has a plastic back case just like its predecessor. However, Huawei has switched to a glossy finish rather than the matte plastic that it used in the Y7 2018. The Y7 2019 still has a restrained design though despite the added glamour and its rounded edges help it fit well in our hands.

Our review unit is solid for an entry-level smartphone and does not creak or bend no matter how hard we try to twist it. We can depress the back cover and the display, but this does not impact its rigidity in our opinion.

Huawei currently sells the Y7 2019 in Midnight Black along with Aurora Blue and Coral Red.

Size Comparison

160.2 mm / 6.31 inch 75.7 mm / 2.98 inch 7.9 mm / 0.311 inch 191 g0.4211 lbs158.92 mm / 6.26 inch 76.91 mm / 3.03 inch 8.1 mm / 0.3189 inch 168 g0.3704 lbs158.3 mm / 6.23 inch 76.7 mm / 3.02 inch 7.8 mm / 0.3071 inch 155 g0.3417 lbs156.9 mm / 6.18 inch 76.4 mm / 3.01 inch 8.2 mm / 0.3228 inch 180 g0.3968 lbs156.4 mm / 6.16 inch 75.8 mm / 2.98 inch 7.5 mm / 0.2953 inch 169 g0.3726 lbs148.6 mm / 5.85 inch 71.2 mm / 2.8 inch 7.4 mm / 0.2913 inch 145 g0.3197 lbs147.3 mm / 5.8 inch 71.5 mm / 2.81 inch 7.99 mm / 0.3146 inch 149 g0.3285 lbs

Connectivity

Huawei equips the Y7 2019 with 3 GB RAM and 32 GB of eMMC flash storage. Please keep in mind that EMUI 8.2 takes up around 10 GB of space, so you will only have just under 21 GB free upon delivery.

If that is not enough, then you can use up to 512-GB microSD cards to add additional storage. The Y7 2019 supports exFAT file system so it can read files that are larger than 4 GB, which is a limitation of the FAT file system. However, we could not save apps or data, which is disappointing.

The Y7 2019 also has what many more-expensive smartphones lack. We often complain about OEMs equipping their devices with hybrid second SIM slots, which forces end users to compromise between dual-SIM functionality and microSD card expansion. Thankfully, this is not the case with the Y7 2019, which has two nano-SIM card slots and a dedicated microSD card slot too, so you can use both functionalities simultaneously. Huawei has opted for a micro USB port over a twist-proof USB Type-C port though, which is a shame. One small consolation is that the Y7 2019 supports USB On-The-Go (OTG) for connecting peripherals like a keyboard and mouse, which is useful.

Left-hand side: card slot
Left-hand side: card slot
Right-hand side: power button, volume rocker
Right-hand side: power button, volume rocker
Top side: 3.5 mm jack
Top side: 3.5 mm jack
Underside: microphone, micro USB port, speaker
Underside: microphone, micro USB port, speaker

Software

The Y7 2019 ships with Android 8.1 Oreo at the time of writing, atop of which Huawei adds EMUI 8.2. The company has not declared whether it plans to update the device to EMUI 9 and Android 9, but we shall keep you updated if it does. Our review unit had January 1, 2019 security patch updates installed at the time of testing, which were a few months outdated.

EMUI has a slightly different layout than stock Android, which may take some getting used to if you are unfamiliar with it. Huawei also preinstalls a small selection of system tools including an FM radio app, a compass and a mirror. You can uninstall these though, as you can with all the third-party apps that come preloaded too like Amazon Shopping, Booking.com, Facebook, and Netflix. Speaking of streaming services, the Y7 2019 does not have Widevine DRM L1 certification, so it can only stream DRM-protected content in standard definition.

Default home screen
Default home screen
A look at some of the preinstalled apps
A look at some of the preinstalled apps
Preinstalled Google apps
Preinstalled Google apps
Preinstalled Google apps
Preinstalled Google apps
Preinstalled Huawei apps
Preinstalled Huawei apps
Preinstalled Huawei apps
Preinstalled Huawei apps
Preinstalled third-party apps
Preinstalled third-party apps
Device information
Device information

Communication & GPS

The Y7 2019 supports Bluetooth 4.2 and all modern Wi-Fi standards up to IEEE 802.11n. The device also supports LTE bands 1, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 20, which should allow you to connect to most LTE networks. Huawei does not specify what LTE download and upload speeds the Y7 2019 can achieve, but the SoC sets the maximum transfer speeds that the device could theoretically reach. Hence, we can infer from the Snapdragon 450's technical data that the Y7 2019 can achieve up to 300 Mb/s download speeds and 150 Mb/s upload speeds, while it also should operate at LTE Cat. 7.

Disappointingly, the device does not support NFC because it lacks the required chip. Moreover, the Y7 2019 can only connect to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi networks, which is another area where Huawei has compromised to keep costs down.

Correspondingly, our review unit achieves below average Wi-Fi transfer speeds when connected to our Linksys EA8500 reference router. Although the device maintained a stable connection throughout our tests, it could only place towards the bottom of our comparison tables. The Galaxy A6 Plus (2018), Huawei P20 Lite and Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite have considerably faster Wi-Fi than the Y7 2019 too, as demonstrated by the iperf3 Client comparison tables below.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Adreno 512, 660, 128 GB eMMC Flash
356 (min: 342, max: 371) MBit/s ∼100% +578%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=367)
219 MBit/s ∼62% +317%
Huawei P20 Lite
Mali-T830 MP2, Kirin 659, 64 GB eMMC Flash
198 MBit/s ∼56% +277%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Adreno 506, 450, 32 GB eMMC Flash
119 MBit/s ∼33% +127%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
PowerVR GE8320, Helio P22 MT6762, 16 GB eMMC Flash
55.9 (min: 28, max: 64) MBit/s ∼16% +6%
Huawei Y7 2018
Adreno 505, 430, 16 GB eMMC Flash
55 MBit/s ∼15% +5%
Huawei Y7 2019
Adreno 506, 450, 32 GB eMMC Flash
52.5 (min: 50, max: 54) MBit/s ∼15%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Adreno 506, 632, 32 GB eMMC Flash
34.8 (min: 27, max: 44) MBit/s ∼10% -34%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Adreno 512, 660, 128 GB eMMC Flash
285 (min: 142, max: 294) MBit/s ∼100% +497%
Huawei P20 Lite
Mali-T830 MP2, Kirin 659, 64 GB eMMC Flash
233 MBit/s ∼82% +388%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=367)
210 MBit/s ∼74% +340%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Adreno 506, 450, 32 GB eMMC Flash
113 MBit/s ∼40% +137%
Huawei Y7 2018
Adreno 505, 430, 16 GB eMMC Flash
56.9 MBit/s ∼20% +19%
Huawei Y7 2019
Adreno 506, 450, 32 GB eMMC Flash
47.7 (min: 43, max: 52) MBit/s ∼17%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
PowerVR GE8320, Helio P22 MT6762, 16 GB eMMC Flash
47.6 (min: 15, max: 59) MBit/s ∼17% 0%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Adreno 506, 632, 32 GB eMMC Flash
11.6 (min: 2, max: 36) MBit/s ∼4% -76%
0102030405060Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø52.3 (50-54)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø47.5 (43-52)
GPS Test: Inside
GPS Test: Inside
GPS Test: Outdoors
GPS Test: Outdoors

The Y7 2019 uses BeiDou, GLONASS, GPS and A-GPS for location services. Our review unit can find a satellite fix with up to three metres accuracy within a few seconds, which is impressive for such a cheap smartphone and makes it more accurate than even some flagship devices.

The Y7 2019 also proved its decent GPS accuracy on our bike ride, where we compared its results against the Garmin Edge 500, a professional navigation system. Our review unit could not plot as accurate of a route as the Garmin, but it only deviated by 70 metres over the 9.22 km that the Garmin recorded us having cycled. Hence, the Y7 2019 is accurate enough for all general navigation tasks like cycling, driving or walking.

GPS Test: Huawei Y7 2019: Overview
GPS Test: Huawei Y7 2019: Overview
GPS Test: Huawei Y7 2019: Cycling around a lake
GPS Test: Huawei Y7 2019: Cycling around a lake
GPS Test: Huawei Y7 2019: Loop
GPS Test: Huawei Y7 2019: Loop
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500: Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500: Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500: Cycling around a lake
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500: Cycling around a lake
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500: Loop
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 500: Loop

Telephone Features & Call Quality

The Y7 2019 relies on the default EMUI 8.2 apps for telephony. The phone app immediately displays a numeric keypad upon launch and provides direct access to contacts and favourites. Overall, the Huawei app operates just as well as the stock Google one.

Our review unit also has decent call quality. Both sides of a call always remained intelligible during our tests, although both parties occasionally sounded a bit dampened, for some reason. We experienced no issues when making and receiving calls over speakerphone too.

Cameras

Photo taken with the main camera
Photo taken with the main camera

Huawei has equipped the Y7 2019 with an 8 MP front-facing camera that sits in a waterdrop-shaped notch at the top of its display. The sensor has an f/2.0 aperture and can capture images in up to 3264x2448. It can also record video in up to Full HD at 30 FPS too. Photos generally look passable and can be spiced up either with the automatic beautifying function or with AI stickers, the latter of which we have included in our test shots. The Y7 2019 can also trigger the shutter once it recognises a smiling face, as it can if you say "cheese" too. These options, and gesture controls, must first be enabled in the settings of the default camera app.

Taking a selfie using AI stickers
Taking a selfie using AI stickers

The dual rear-facing cameras support those modes too along with a Pro mode that has options for adjusting the aperture, white balance and light sensitivity among other settings. Huawei has equipped the Y7 2019 with a 13 MP main sensor that has an f/1.8 aperture, which is supported by a 2 MP depth sensor that the device can use to create bokeh effects. Incidentally, the 2 MP sensor has an f/2.4 aperture.

The Y7 2019 has an amazingly good set of rear cameras for a budget device. Our review unit takes vivid-looking photos in daylight and demarcates between light and dark areas as demonstrated by scenes 1 and 2. Some brighter areas look a touch overexposed for our liking though. Likewise, the sensors struggle to capture fine details like the pattern of the T-shirt on the Notebookcheck mascot. Perhaps expectedly, low-light photography is not a strength of the Y7 2019, as scene 3 shows. In short, our test shot looks blurry and washed-out with weak dynamics.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images

We also checked our review unit’s main camera under controlled lighting conditions to see how accurately it could reproduce our test chart and ColorChecker Passport reference colours. The results are good, but the Y7 2019 generally overexposes colours; grey tones look accurate though. Our test chart looks sharp too, while the rear-facing cameras have no problems with reproducing black text against colour backgrounds. The bottom corners of the chart look rather pale, but this a problem for many smartphones.

ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
Our test chart in detail
Our test chart in detail
A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart

Accessories & Warranty

The Y7 2019 comes with a modular charger (5 V/2 A), a USB Type-A to micro USB cable, a SIM tool and a quick-start guide. Huawei does not currently sell any Y7 2019 specific accessories at the time of writing.

The Y7 2019 comes with 24 months manufacturer’s warranty. Please keep in mind that Huawei limits this to just the device and only affords the battery and the charger six months coverage. This limitation will not affect your statutory rights though. Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies and Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

The Y7 2019 has a 10-point multitouch touchscreen, which worked precisely and accurately throughout our tests. Huawei preinstalls SwiftKey as the default keyboard too, which functions just as well as it does on other devices that we have tested. You can replace the keyboard with another, such as those downloadable from the Google Play Store, should you wish to do so.

The Y7 2019 has a variety of security features too, including the classic lock screen password, a fingerprint sensor, and 2D face unlock. All worked reliably during our tests, although the latter is not as secure as the others and cannot be used for high-level authentication like in banking apps.

The fingerprint sensor also recognises up to five fingerprints and has gesture support. These are configurable within settings and include options for accepting calls, stopping an alarm or acting as a camera shutter button. You can swipe down on the sensor to bring down the notification shade too.

We should also point out at this stage that occasionally the USB cable would look like it was connected to our review unit, but the two would not make a connection. On closer inspection we had not seated the cable properly so we would recommend taking care when plugging the Y7 2019 in and to double check that the device is charging.

Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The Y7 2019 has a 6.26-inch IPS panel that has a 19:9 aspect ratio. The display operates natively at 1520x720 as we mentioned earlier, which Huawei markets as HD+. The display has a 269 PPI pixel density, which is rather poor compared with the 1080p panels of some of our comparison devices.

A higher resolution display would have distinguished the Y7 2019 from many of its competitors, but Huawei has done well in other areas. Our review achieved a chart-topping 542.7 cd/m² average maximum brightness according to X-Rite i1Pro 2, which puts the Y7 2019 well ahead of its predecessor and 3% ahead of our brightest comparison devices. Enabling the ambient light sensor pushes the maximum brightness up 3 cd/m² at the centre of the display. Likewise, the more practical APL50 test, which measures luminosity by evenly distributing light and dark areas across a panel, determines that our review unit reaches an average maximum brightness of 546 cd/m², which is in line with what X-Rite i1Pro 2 recorded too.

The Y7 2019 has a 94% evenly lit display too and has flawless colour reproduction, at least subjectively. The numbers state otherwise though, with our review unit achieving a middling 1,116:1 contrast ratio because of its comparatively high black value, which we measure at 0.49 cd/m².

Positively, the device does not use pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate display brightness. We observed no display flickering during our tests, making the Y7 2019 suitable even for those that have sensitive eyes.

555
cd/m²
521
cd/m²
542
cd/m²
547
cd/m²
547
cd/m²
547
cd/m²
552
cd/m²
528
cd/m²
545
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 555 cd/m² Average: 542.7 cd/m² Minimum: 3.93 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 94 %
Center on Battery: 547 cd/m²
Contrast: 1116:1 (Black: 0.49 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 4.5 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.1
ΔE Greyscale 5 | 0.64-98 Ø6.4
93% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.35
Huawei Y7 2019
IPS, 1520x720, 6.26
Huawei P20 Lite
IPS, 2280x1080, 5.84
Huawei Y7 2018
IPS, 1440x720, 5.99
Motorola Moto G7 Play
IPS, 1512x720, 5.7
Nokia 3.1 Plus
IPS, 1440x720, 6
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Super AMOLED, 2220x1080, 6
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
IPS, 2280x1080, 6.26
Screen
-8%
-3%
-5%
16%
29%
7%
Brightness middle
547
528
-3%
393
-28%
479
-12%
526
-4%
519
-5%
421
-23%
Brightness
543
525
-3%
365
-33%
481
-11%
510
-6%
513
-6%
389
-28%
Brightness Distribution
94
89
-5%
85
-10%
94
0%
94
0%
93
-1%
85
-10%
Black Level *
0.49
0.51
-4%
0.29
41%
0.37
24%
0.17
65%
0.33
33%
Contrast
1116
1035
-7%
1355
21%
1295
16%
3094
177%
1276
14%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
4.5
4.7
-4%
5.28
-17%
4.91
-9%
6.64
-48%
1.8
60%
3.4
24%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
7.9
8.9
-13%
9
-14%
9.47
-20%
10.02
-27%
3.6
54%
5.9
25%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
5
6.4
-28%
4.2
16%
6.4
-28%
6.4
-28%
1.5
70%
3.9
22%
Gamma
2.35 94%
2.22 99%
2.6 85%
2.108 104%
2.344 94%
2.06 107%
2.26 97%
CCT
7400 88%
7987 81%
7086 92%
7292 89%
7989 81%
6462 101%
7330 89%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9705 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Huawei also includes several display options for you to adjust the colour temperature of the display. The Y7 2019 has a manual mode, which is always nice to see, and three preset modes if you do not want to tweak things that Huawei calls Cold, Standard and Warm.

Our tests with a spectrophotometer and CalMAN show that the Standard mode reproduces colours more accurately of the three presets but at the expense of a visible blue cast. Correspondingly, this mode results in the display having a 7,400 K colour temperature, which is 900 K higher than the ideal value of 6,500 K. The other two presets are fairly colour accurate, but they have their weaknesses too. The Cold setting, for example, amplifies the blue cast while the Warm mode gives the display a slight green tint.

CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – standard colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – standard colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space – standard colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Space – standard colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale – standard colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale – standard colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – standard colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation – standard colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – cold colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – cold colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – warm colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy – warm colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale – cold colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale – cold colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale – warm colour temperature, sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale – warm colour temperature, sRGB target colour space

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
24.8 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 10.8 ms rise
↘ 14 ms fall
The screen shows good response rates in our tests, but may be too slow for competitive gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 38 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (25.5 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
44 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 22.8 ms rise
↘ 21.2 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 64 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (40.7 ms).

The Y7 2019 is also usable outdoors thanks to its high maximum brightness, although we would recommend avoiding direct sunlight where possible. The display will remain readable, but it will look washed-out, while its glossy finish is highly reflective.

Our review unit has stable viewing angles too thanks to its IPS panel. We noticed some minor brightness and colour shifts at acute viewing angles, but this does not fundamentally reduce readability.

Using the Huawei Y7 2019 outdoors
Using the Huawei Y7 2019 outdoors
Viewing angles
Viewing angles

Performance

The Y7 2019 has decent system performance thanks to its octa-core Snapdragon 450 SoC and 3 GB of RAM. The OS typically operated smoothly during our tests, although we noticed some lags and stutters during heavy multitasking. However, we were not left waiting for apps to load, so you should have no problems with the Y7 2019 in daily use.

The Snapdragon 450 is currently Qualcomm’s weakest SoC and can operate at up to 1.8 GHz across its eight ARM Cortex-A53 cores. The SoC integrates a Qualcomm Adreno 506 GPU, which Huawei complements with 3 GB of RAM, but the latter cannot prevent the Y7 2019 from languishing in the midfield of our synthetic benchmark comparison tables. Our review unit keeps pace with the Galaxy A6 Plus (2018), and its Snapdragon 450 stable-mate along with the P20 Lite and the Nokia 3.1 Plus. The Y7 2019 generally scored around 20% more than its predecessor too, but it cannot get close to the Mi 8 Lite and the Moto G7 Play with their more powerful SoCs.

Geekbench 4.3
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
2940 Points ∼52%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
3116 Points ∼55% +6%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
2133 Points ∼38% -27%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
3628 Points ∼64% +23%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
3229 Points ∼57% +10%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
5640 Points ∼100% +92%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (2777 - 3374, n=8)
3113 Points ∼55% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (870 - 21070, n=253)
4659 Points ∼83% +58%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
3870 Points ∼66%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
3749 Points ∼64% -3%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
2889 Points ∼49% -25%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
4179 Points ∼71% +8%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
3912 Points ∼66% +1%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
5893 Points ∼100% +52%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (3272 - 4022, n=11)
3838 Points ∼65% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1174 - 11598, n=306)
4466 Points ∼76% +15%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
761 Points ∼47%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
935 Points ∼58% +23%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
676 Points ∼42% -11%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
1194 Points ∼74% +57%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
754 Points ∼47% -1%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
1621 Points ∼100% +113%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (741 - 787, n=11)
760 Points ∼47% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (437 - 4824, n=307)
1313 Points ∼81% +73%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
4499 Points ∼74%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
4793 Points ∼79% +7%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
3874 Points ∼64% -14%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
5930 Points ∼98% +32%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
4838 Points ∼80% +8%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
4422 Points ∼73% -2%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
6052 Points ∼100% +35%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (4171 - 4759, n=11)
4480 Points ∼74% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2828 - 9868, n=316)
4824 Points ∼80% +7%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
5431 Points ∼74%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
5704 Points ∼78% +5%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
4918 Points ∼67% -9%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
7321 Points ∼100% +35%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
6238 Points ∼85% +15%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
5199 Points ∼71% -4%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
6274 Points ∼86% +16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (4836 - 5656, n=11)
5210 Points ∼71% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2695 - 13531, n=485)
5252 Points ∼72% -3%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1779 Points ∼65%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
1638 Points ∼59% -8%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
1331 Points ∼48% -25%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1025 Points ∼37% -42%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1780 Points ∼65% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
2758 Points ∼100% +55%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (1529 - 1823, n=11)
1769 Points ∼64% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 4439, n=331)
1786 Points ∼65% 0%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
414 Points ∼27%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
401 Points ∼26% -3%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
306 Points ∼20% -26%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
415 Points ∼27% 0%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
412 Points ∼27% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
1265 Points ∼83% +206%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (411 - 415, n=11)
413 Points ∼27% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (76 - 8206, n=331)
1529 Points ∼100% +269%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
499 Points ∼35%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
482 Points ∼34% -3%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
369 Points ∼26% -26%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
478 Points ∼33% -4%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
497 Points ∼35% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
1438 Points ∼100% +188%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (491 - 501, n=11)
498 Points ∼35% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (94 - 5913, n=334)
1425 Points ∼99% +186%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1765 Points ∼64%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
1671 Points ∼61% -5%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
1306 Points ∼47% -26%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1015 Points ∼37% -42%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1773 Points ∼64% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
2751 Points ∼100% +56%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (1580 - 1816, n=11)
1767 Points ∼64% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 4493, n=346)
1763 Points ∼64% 0%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
715 Points ∼34%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
604 Points ∼29% -16%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
531 Points ∼25% -26%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
687 Points ∼33% -4%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
713 Points ∼34% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
2015 Points ∼96% +182%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (709 - 718, n=11)
713 Points ∼34% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (131 - 14951, n=346)
2109 Points ∼100% +195%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
824 Points ∼38%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
704 Points ∼33% -15%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
612 Points ∼29% -26%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
740 Points ∼35% -10%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
822 Points ∼38% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
2142 Points ∼100% +160%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (808 - 828, n=11)
822 Points ∼38% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (159 - 7856, n=347)
1791 Points ∼84% +117%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1707 Points ∼62%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
1757 Points ∼64% +3%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
1258 Points ∼46% -26%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1026 Points ∼37% -40%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1852 Points ∼67% +8%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
2759 Points ∼100% +62%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (1521 - 1855, n=11)
1788 Points ∼65% +5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (486 - 4216, n=407)
1716 Points ∼62% +1%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
367 Points ∼29%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
207 Points ∼16% -44%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
255 Points ∼20% -31%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
Points ∼0% -100%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
363 Points ∼29% -1%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
366 Points ∼29% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
1193 Points ∼95% +225%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (363 - 369, n=11)
365 Points ∼29% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (65 - 6355, n=409)
1256 Points ∼100% +242%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
445 Points ∼33%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
257 Points ∼19% -42%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
310 Points ∼23% -30%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
424 Points ∼31% -5%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
445 Points ∼33% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
1365 Points ∼100% +207%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (441 - 449, n=11)
444 Points ∼33% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (80 - 5509, n=417)
1202 Points ∼88% +170%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1766 Points ∼65%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
1760 Points ∼65% 0%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
1280 Points ∼47% -28%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1021 Points ∼38% -42%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1832 Points ∼67% +4%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
2719 Points ∼100% +54%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (1504 - 1833, n=11)
1781 Points ∼66% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (512 - 4215, n=440)
1620 Points ∼60% -8%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
704 Points ∼36%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
109 Points ∼6% -85%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
524 Points ∼27% -26%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
575 Points ∼30% -18%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
692 Points ∼36% -2%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
1929 Points ∼100% +174%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (690 - 716, n=11)
700 Points ∼36% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 9963, n=440)
1710 Points ∼89% +143%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
813 Points ∼39%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
138 Points ∼7% -83%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
603 Points ∼29% -26%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
637 Points ∼31% -22%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
803 Points ∼39% -1%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
2062 Points ∼100% +154%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (800 - 824, n=11)
809 Points ∼39% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 7166, n=448)
1465 Points ∼71% +80%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
13655 Points ∼67%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
13387 Points ∼66% -2%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
9153 Points ∼45% -33%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
16576 Points ∼81% +21%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
11590 Points ∼57% -15%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
13988 Points ∼68% +2%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
20437 Points ∼100% +50%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (13596 - 15177, n=10)
14046 Points ∼69% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (20626 - 37475, n=601)
13343 Points ∼65% -2%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
12281 Points ∼42%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
11713 Points ∼40% -5%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
9713 Points ∼33% -21%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
14603 Points ∼50% +19%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
10412 Points ∼36% -15%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
12527 Points ∼43% +2%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
29116 Points ∼100% +137%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (12281 - 12550, n=10)
12423 Points ∼43% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (17412 - 162695, n=601)
19123 Points ∼66% +56%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
12562 Points ∼47%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
12048 Points ∼45% -4%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
9583 Points ∼36% -24%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
15000 Points ∼56% +19%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
10653 Points ∼40% -15%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
12825 Points ∼48% +2%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
26605 Points ∼100% +112%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (12562 - 12878, n=10)
12732 Points ∼48% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18037 - 77599, n=602)
16027 Points ∼60% +28%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
22 fps ∼44%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
19 fps ∼38% -14%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
16 fps ∼32% -27%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
24 fps ∼48% +9%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
20 fps ∼40% -9%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
22 fps ∼44% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
50 fps ∼100% +127%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (21 - 22, n=11)
19.6 fps ∼39% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4.4 - 251, n=625)
33.3 fps ∼67% +51%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
33 fps ∼70%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
19 fps ∼40% -42%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
27 fps ∼57% -18%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
37 fps ∼79% +12%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
27 fps ∼57% -18%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
20 fps ∼43% -39%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
47 fps ∼100% +42%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (20 - 34, n=11)
24.3 fps ∼52% -26%
Average of class Smartphone
  (11 - 120, n=628)
26.1 fps ∼56% -21%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
9.3 fps ∼42%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
8.7 fps ∼40% -6%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
7.1 fps ∼32% -24%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
10 fps ∼45% +8%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
9.7 fps ∼44% +4%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
9.3 fps ∼42% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
22 fps ∼100% +137%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (9.2 - 9.4, n=11)
8.44 fps ∼38% -9%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 132, n=543)
18.1 fps ∼82% +95%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
17 fps ∼81%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
8.9 fps ∼42% -48%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
14 fps ∼67% -18%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
20 fps ∼95% +18%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
17 fps ∼81% 0%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
8.9 fps ∼42% -48%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
21 fps ∼100% +24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (8.7 - 18, n=11)
11.9 fps ∼57% -30%
Average of class Smartphone
  (6.2 - 115, n=548)
17 fps ∼81% 0%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
6.1 fps ∼40%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
5.2 fps ∼34% -15%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
4.6 fps ∼30% -25%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
6.9 fps ∼45% +13%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
6 fps ∼39% -2%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
6.1 fps ∼40% 0%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
15 fps ∼99% +146%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (6 - 6.1, n=11)
5.51 fps ∼36% -10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.3 - 88, n=405)
15.2 fps ∼100% +149%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
13 fps ∼87%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
5.6 fps ∼37% -57%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
10 fps ∼67% -23%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
15 fps ∼100% +15%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
11 fps ∼73% -15%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
5.8 fps ∼39% -55%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
14 fps ∼93% +8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (5.7 - 13, n=11)
8.34 fps ∼56% -36%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.8 - 110, n=408)
14.6 fps ∼97% +12%
GFXBench
High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
3.7 fps ∼40%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
4.3 fps ∼46% +16%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
4.3 fps ∼46% +16%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
5.1 fps ∼55% +38%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (1.9 - 3.7, n=3)
3.07 fps ∼33% -17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.7 - 59, n=109)
9.34 fps ∼100% +152%
2560x1440 High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
1.1 fps ∼17%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
1.3 fps ∼20% +18%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1.3 fps ∼20% +18%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
3.2 fps ∼49% +191%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (1.1 - 1.2, n=3)
1.133 fps ∼18% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.5 - 31, n=109)
6.47 fps ∼100% +488%
Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
6.1 fps ∼45%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
6.8 fps ∼50% +11%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
6.8 fps ∼50% +11%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
8.1 fps ∼59% +33%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (3.2 - 6.1, n=3)
5.1 fps ∼37% -16%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.5 - 59, n=110)
13.7 fps ∼100% +125%
1920x1080 Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
3.4 fps ∼22%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
3.8 fps ∼25% +12%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
3.6 fps ∼23% +6%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
8.5 fps ∼55% +150%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (3.4 - 3.4, n=3)
3.4 fps ∼22% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.75 - 63, n=109)
15.4 fps ∼100% +353%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
3.4 fps ∼33%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
3.1 fps ∼30% -9%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
2.6 fps ∼25% -24%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
3.9 fps ∼38% +15%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
2.7 fps ∼26% -21%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
3.5 fps ∼34% +3%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
9 fps ∼87% +165%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (3.3 - 3.5, n=11)
3.11 fps ∼30% -9%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2.6 - 54, n=334)
10.4 fps ∼100% +206%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
6.8 fps ∼73%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
3.3 fps ∼35% -51%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
5.4 fps ∼58% -21%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
7.9 fps ∼85% +16%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
5.1 fps ∼55% -25%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
3.3 fps ∼35% -51%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
8.4 fps ∼90% +24%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (3.3 - 7, n=11)
4.59 fps ∼49% -32%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.8 - 58, n=338)
9.33 fps ∼100% +37%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
73468 Points ∼51%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
88550 Points ∼62% +21%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
59421 Points ∼41% -19%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
97294 Points ∼68% +32%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
76153 Points ∼53% +4%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
70016 Points ∼49% -5%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
143551 Points ∼100% +95%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (56497 - 73468, n=11)
69869 Points ∼49% -5%
Average of class Smartphone
  (41483 - 374820, n=228)
125721 Points ∼88% +71%
AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Huawei Y7 2019
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
57533 Points ∼48%
Huawei P20 Lite
HiSilicon Kirin 659, Mali-T830 MP2, 4096
68232 Points ∼57% +19%
Huawei Y7 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Adreno 505, 2048
45687 Points ∼38% -21%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, Adreno 506, 2048
76724 Points ∼65% +33%
Nokia 3.1 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
55264 Points ∼47% -4%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
Qualcomm Snapdragon 450, Adreno 506, 3072
55332 Points ∼47% -4%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Qualcomm Snapdragon 660, Adreno 512, 6144
118773 Points ∼100% +106%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
  (54731 - 60077, n=10)
57703 Points ∼49% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (23275 - 274007, n=437)
81300 Points ∼68% +41%

The Y7 2019 also finished in the midfield of our browser benchmark comparison tables and consistently scored less than the Mi 8 Lite and the Moto G7 Play. Subjectively, our review unit handles web browsing with ease. The preinstalled Chrome browser operated smoothly throughout our tests and loaded web content quickly.

JetStream 1.1 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite (Chrome 71)
52.897 Points ∼100%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
42.626 Points ∼81%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 273, n=470)
37.8 Points ∼71%
Nokia 3.1 Plus (Chrome 71)
24.61 Points ∼47%
Huawei P20 Lite (Chrome 63)
23.424 Points ∼44%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450 (22 - 22.7, n=10)
22.3 Points ∼42%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018 (Chrome 67)
22.191 Points ∼42%
Huawei Y7 2018 (Chrome 66)
17.86 Points ∼34%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite (Chrome 71)
10378 Points ∼100% +152%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
8185 Points ∼79% +99%
Average of class Smartphone (4865 - 43280, n=618)
5935 Points ∼57% +44%
Nokia 3.1 Plus (Chrome 71)
4508 Points ∼43% +10%
Huawei P20 Lite
4191 Points ∼40% +2%
Huawei Y7 2019 (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
4115 Points ∼40%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018 (Chrome 67)
4032 Points ∼39% -2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450 (3470 - 4115, n=11)
3971 Points ∼38% -3%
Huawei Y7 2018 (Chrome 66)
3363 Points ∼32% -18%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Huawei Y7 2018 (Chrome 66)
13541 ms * ∼100% -23%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450 (11012 - 11863, n=11)
11469 ms * ∼85% -4%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018 (Chrome 67)
11449.6 ms * ∼85% -4%
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=637)
11078 ms * ∼82% -1%
Huawei Y7 2019 (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
11012.1 ms * ∼81%
Nokia 3.1 Plus (Chrome 71)
10887.7 ms * ∼80% +1%
Huawei P20 Lite (Chrome 63)
10788.1 ms * ∼80% +2%
Motorola Moto G7 Play
4806 ms * ∼35% +56%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite (Chrome 71)
3879.5 ms * ∼29% +65%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Average of class Smartphone (24 - 161, n=93)
64.4 Points ∼100% +89%
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite (Chrome 71)
62 Points ∼96% +82%
Huawei P20 Lite (Chrome 63)
34 Points ∼53% 0%
Huawei Y7 2019 (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
34 Points ∼53%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450 (31 - 34, n=5)
32.8 Points ∼51% -4%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
32 Points ∼50% -6%
Huawei Y7 2018 (Chrome 66)
29 Points ∼45% -15%
WebXPRT 2015 - Overall Score
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite (Chrome 71)
171 Points ∼100% +66%
Average of class Smartphone (251 - 362, n=313)
118 Points ∼69% +15%
Huawei Y7 2019 (Chrome 73.0.3683.90)
103 Points ∼60%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450 (90 - 103, n=7)
97 Points ∼57% -6%
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018 (Chrome 67)
93 Points ∼54% -10%
Huawei P20 Lite (Chrome 63)
86 Points ∼50% -17%
Huawei Y7 2018 (Chrome 66)
82 Points ∼48% -20%

* ... smaller is better

The Y7 2019 has 32 GB of eMMC flash storage, which performed well in AndroBench tests. Our review unit has comparatively fast random 4 KB and sequential read speeds, but its write speeds are not noteworthy.

Our review unit also performed better than average in AndroBench microSD tests. The Y7 2019 achieved class-leading transfer speeds with our Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 reference card, albeit marginally so.

Huawei Y7 2019Huawei P20 LiteHuawei Y7 2018Motorola Moto G7 PlayNokia 3.1 PlusSamsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018Xiaomi Mi 8 LiteAverage 32 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
64%
-24%
54%
-30%
-4%
15%
-19%
-19%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
65.77 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
69.01 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
5%
61.5
-6%
64.1 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-3%
55.23 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-16%
67.76 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
3%
63.95 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-3%
48.4 (3.4 - 87.1, n=122)
-26%
47.4 (9.5 - 87.1, n=370)
-28%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
86.38 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
83.5 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-3%
85
-2%
84.7 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-2%
81.32 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-6%
83.45 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-3%
85.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-1%
67 (8.2 - 96.5, n=122)
-22%
65.5 (8.1 - 96.5, n=370)
-24%
Random Write 4KB
17.48
71.07
307%
9.5
-46%
73
318%
8.33
-52%
16.1
-8%
18.75
7%
19 (0.75 - 77.3, n=165)
9%
18.5 (0.14 - 250, n=668)
6%
Random Read 4KB
83.53
48.19
-42%
38.8
-54%
74
-11%
52.37
-37%
72.91
-13%
81.25
-3%
37.4 (3.59 - 117, n=165)
-55%
42.1 (1.59 - 174, n=668)
-50%
Sequential Write 256KB
88.77
198.3
123%
71.5
-19%
111
25%
35.72
-60%
88.48
0%
172.43
94%
94.7 (14.8 - 189, n=165)
7%
87.6 (2.99 - 388, n=668)
-1%
Sequential Read 256KB
305.05
293.94
-4%
256
-16%
289
-5%
272.51
-11%
298.81
-2%
282.62
-7%
232 (25.8 - 452, n=165)
-24%
246 (12.1 - 912, n=668)
-19%

Games

The Adreno 506 is an entry-level GPU that can handle most games, which you can find on the Google Play Store. Our review unit could not play all games smoothly though as our GameBench frame-rate graphs below demonstrate. The Y7 2019 averaged 31 FPS in Arena of Valor, but it slowly ramped up from 1 FPS, which is rather disconcerting. Likewise, even older titles like Dead Trigger 2 fluctuate between 40 FPS and 60 FPS. Our review unit averaged 56 FPS here, but the gaming experience was not a smooth one.

Moreover, the Y7 2019 could not download complex modern games like Asphalt 9: Legends or PUBG Mobile. The touchscreen and associated sensors worked perfectly throughout our gaming tests though.

Dead Trigger 2
Dead Trigger 2
Arena of Valor
Arena of Valor
Dead Trigger 2
0102030405060Tooltip
; 1.5.5: Ø53.8 (14-60)
Arena of Valor
010203040Tooltip
; 1.28.2.2: Ø30.7 (1-32)

Emissions

Temperature

GFXBench battery test: T-Rex - OpenGL ES 2.0
GFXBench battery test: T-Rex - OpenGL ES 2.0
GFXBench battery test: Manhattan - OpenGL ES 3.1
GFXBench battery test: Manhattan - OpenGL ES 3.1

The Y7 2019 is a comparatively hot device. Surface temperatures average 31.8 °C on our review unit and reach a maximum of 38.2 °C under sustained load, which is hotter than many other smartphones that we have tested. The device should never feel more than lukewarm to the touch, although two areas at the bottom of the display reached around 38 °C under load, which will feel rather warm.

We also subjected our review unit to GFXBench battery tests that we ran on a loop for 30 minutes to determine how well it manages its internal temperatures. As the graphs to the right demonstrate, the Y7 2019 had no issues with maintaining optimal frame rates in both the older T-Rex test and the more complex Manhattan test. Hence, the Y7 2019 should not thermal throttle in computationally intensive tasks, despite our experiences in the gaming tests.

Max. Load
 35.7 °C
96 F
35.5 °C
96 F
37.8 °C
100 F
 
 35.9 °C
97 F
35.4 °C
96 F
36.5 °C
98 F
 
 34.8 °C
95 F
35.3 °C
96 F
36.6 °C
98 F
 
Maximum: 37.8 °C = 100 F
Average: 35.9 °C = 97 F
31.4 °C
89 F
31.6 °C
89 F
34 °C
93 F
30.5 °C
87 F
31.4 °C
89 F
34 °C
93 F
31.6 °C
89 F
31.9 °C
89 F
33.5 °C
92 F
Maximum: 34 °C = 93 F
Average: 32.2 °C = 90 F
Power Supply (max.)  33.5 °C = 92 F | Room Temperature 21.6 °C = 71 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 35.9 °C / 97 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 37.8 °C / 100 F, compared to the average of 35.6 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 34 °C / 93 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(±) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 33.7 °C / 93 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Heat map of the top of the device under load
Heat map of the top of the device under load
Heat map of the bottom of the device under load
Heat map of the bottom of the device under load

Speakers

Pink noise speaker characteristics
Pink noise speaker characteristics

The Y7 2019 has a single speaker on the underside of its frame that reached 86.7 dB(A) during our tests. Surprisingly, the speaker did not distort despite its comparatively high maximum volume, although it sounds rather thin for our liking. Bass tones are practically non-existent, while mid and high-pitched tones dominate the frequency spectrum. Overall, the mono speaker is good enough for occasionally listening to music or watching videos, but we would recommend using headphones or external speakers for a better listening experience.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2032.233.72527.830.13124.123.24024.926.35033.337.16323.827.98026.226.710026.228.812517.422.416017.23020017.337.825016.44531516.248.340015.755.250014.663.863016.36780013.470.6100013.872.9125014.373.2160013.869.7200014.370.2250014.669.3315013.777.1400014.580.7500014.479.3630014.373.8800014.668.21000014.6651250014.557.41600014.842.6SPL26.786.7N0.862.2median 14.6median 67Delta1.413.925.917.228.626.930.327.526.819.231.32124.516.824.716.620.613.618.112.522.811.122.410.428.69.734.99.342.58.247.36.855.36.860.46.462.5664.65.963.75.363.25.464.15.1665.267.95.669.95.166.35.259.85.356.55.548.75.441.65.521.976.8180.434.80.1median 56.5median 5.914.11.7hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseHuawei Y7 2019Huawei Y7 2018
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Huawei Y7 2019 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.7 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 31.6% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.6% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (6.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 6.9% higher than median
(±) | linearity of highs is average (7.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (25.6% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 57% of all tested devices in this class were better, 11% similar, 32% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 74% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 21% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Huawei Y7 2018 audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (76.8 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 31.9% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (8% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 7% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 7.9% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (5.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (28% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 72% of all tested devices in this class were better, 9% similar, 19% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 82% of all tested devices were better, 5% similar, 13% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The Y7 2019 has excellent power consumption. Our review unit consumes a minimum of 0.51 W and averages 1.7 W at idle. Power consumption rises to a maximum of 4.44 W under load but averages 3.17 W. In short, the Y7 2019 has lower power consumption than all but the Galaxy A6 Plus (2018) of our comparison devices. All other devices consume on average between 35% and 47% more than our review unit.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.01 / 0.1 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.51 / 1.7 / 1.85 Watt
Load midlight 3.17 / 4.44 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Huawei Y7 2019
4000 mAh
Huawei P20 Lite
3000 mAh
Huawei Y7 2018
3000 mAh
Motorola Moto G7 Play
11.4 mAh
Nokia 3.1 Plus
3500 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
3500 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
3350 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 450
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
-35%
-38%
-42%
-47%
28%
-37%
-31%
-29%
Idle Minimum *
0.51
0.98
-92%
0.9
-76%
1
-96%
1
-96%
0.62
-22%
0.56
-10%
0.765 (0.51 - 1.26, n=11)
-50%
0.884 (0.2 - 3.4, n=700)
-73%
Idle Average *
1.7
2
-18%
1.9
-12%
1.7
-0%
2.4
-41%
0.96
44%
1.99
-17%
2.44 (0.96 - 4.45, n=11)
-44%
1.737 (0.6 - 6.2, n=699)
-2%
Idle Maximum *
1.85
2.11
-14%
2.3
-24%
2.6
-41%
2.9
-57%
0.99
46%
2.05
-11%
2.54 (0.99 - 4.51, n=11)
-37%
2.02 (0.74 - 6.6, n=700)
-9%
Load Average *
3.17
3.9
-23%
4.7
-48%
4.1
-29%
3.7
-17%
1.85
42%
4.62
-46%
3.52 (1.85 - 5.78, n=11)
-11%
4.06 (0.8 - 10.8, n=694)
-28%
Load Maximum *
4.44
5.62
-27%
5.7
-28%
6.5
-46%
5.5
-24%
3.04
32%
8.94
-101%
4.94 (3.04 - 7.18, n=11)
-11%
5.84 (1.2 - 14.2, n=694)
-32%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

Huawei has equipped the Y7 2019 with a 4,000 mAh battery. By contrast, all our comparison devices have at least 500-mAh smaller batteries than our review unit, which corresponds with their respective runtimes and helps the Y7 2019 deliver comparatively outstanding battery life.

Our most comparable battery life tests are those where we normalise display brightness to approximately 150 cd/m². We do this for our practical Wi-Fi and looped H.264 video tests, in which the Y7 2019 excelled. Our review unit lasted for 18:33 hours in the former and 15:38 hours in the latter, which are both class-leading runtimes. The Galaxy A6 Plus (2018) is the only smartphone of our comparison devices to get close to those times, although the Nokia 3.1 Plus gets slightly closer in our Wi-Fi test. The Y7 2019 also smashes the Y7 2018 and its comparatively measly 3,000 mAh battery, with it averaging 33% longer runtimes than its predecessor.

Our review unit also charges relatively quickly with its bundled charger and only takes 2:15 hours to reach full charge from 0%. Impressive stuff.

Battery Runtime
Idle (without WLAN, min brightness)
39h 10min
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
18h 33min
Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p
15h 38min
Load (maximum brightness)
4h 56min
Huawei Y7 2019
4000 mAh
Huawei P20 Lite
3000 mAh
Huawei Y7 2018
3000 mAh
Motorola Moto G7 Play
11.4 mAh
Nokia 3.1 Plus
3500 mAh
Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus 2018
3500 mAh
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
3350 mAh
Battery Runtime
-46%
-33%
-38%
-17%
-9%
-40%
Reader / Idle
2350
750
-68%
1305
-44%
1817
-23%
1678
-29%
H.264
938
470
-50%
687
-27%
916
-2%
662
-29%
WiFi v1.3
1113
582
-48%
624
-44%
690
-38%
920
-17%
848
-24%
547
-51%
Load
296
247
-17%
245
-17%
335
13%
150
-49%

Pros

+ bright IPS display
+ sturdy design
+ dual-SIM functionality
+ dedicated microSD card slot
+ fast and accurate GPS
+ fingerprint sensor
+ face recognition
+ SoC does not throttle
+ cool surface temperatures
+ long battery life

Cons

- no 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- no NFC
- micro USB
- meagre internal storage
- cannot store apps or data on expandable storage
- Android 8.1 Oreo
- outdated Android security updates

Verdict

The Huawei Y7 2019 smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Huawei Germany.
The Huawei Y7 2019 smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Huawei Germany.

The Huawei Y7 2019 is a triumphant upgrade over the Y7 2018. The Chinese manufacturer has improved in almost every important area including design, display, performance and battery life. Its narrow bezels and 6.26-inch IPS panel also make the Y7 2019 look more expensive than it is.

The combination of 3 GB of RAM, 32 GB of storage space and a Qualcomm Snapdragon 450 SoC is decent for an entry-level device too. There are devices out there that offer better performance for the same price, but few also have decent cameras, true dual SIM and microSD card functionality along with fantastic battery life.

The Huawei Y7 2019 is excellent value for money. Few entry-level smartphones offer as much as the Y7 2019 does.

Of course, Huawei has compromised on some areas to keep costs down. The 720p resolution is disappointing as is the lack of NFC and the inclusion of a micro USB port rather than Type-C. The Motorola Moto G7 Play and Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite offer better performance, while the Samsung Galaxy A6 Plus (2018) would be a solid alternative too and has NFC. However, Huawei has got a lot right with the Y7 2019, and its shortcomings should not detract from what is a superb entry-level smartphone.

Huawei Y7 2019 - 04/08/2019 v6
Manuel Masiero

Chassis
82%
Keyboard
68 / 75 → 90%
Pointing Device
84%
Connectivity
37 / 60 → 61%
Weight
91%
Battery
98%
Display
84%
Games Performance
27 / 63 → 42%
Application Performance
51 / 70 → 73%
Temperature
90%
Noise
100%
Audio
66 / 91 → 73%
Camera
58%
Average
72%
82%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 1 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Huawei Y7 2019 Smartphone Review
Manuel Masiero, 2019-04-10 (Update: 2019-04-10)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.