Notebookcheck

Wiko Jerry3 Smartphone Review

Mike Wobker, 👁 Florian Schmitt, Felicitas Krohn (translated by Alex Alderson), 09/11/2018

Low specs to GO. The Jerry3 is Wiko’s latest budget smartphone, a €90 (~$105) device that compromises on system performance with its low-end hardware and no LTE radio. Find out in this review what to expect from the Wiko Jerry3 and how it compares against the competition.

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team!

Currently wanted: 
News Editor - Details here

Wiko Jerry3

The Jerry3 is Wiko’s latest budget smartphone and expands the French manufacturer’s already plentiful smartphone offerings. The Jerry3 retails for €90 (~$105), but Wiko also sells more expensive devices such as the €300 (~$349) Wiko View 2 Pro or the €170 (~$198) Wiko View 2 Pro among others.

Wiko aims the Jerry3 primarily at those who have simple demands from smartphones, as demonstrated by equipping the device with a MediaTek MT6580M SoC, an outdated chip that integrates an ARM Mali-400 MP2 GPU. This focus on delivering a budget device is compounded by equipping the Jerry3 with 1 GB of RAM and 16 GB of eMMC flash storage. This low-end set of hardware should be enough to run Android Go smoothly though.

We have chosen to compare the Jerry3 against the CUBOT R11, the Xiaomi Redmi 5A, the Nokia 1 and the Honor 7A. It is worth bearing in mind that while our comparison devices and the Jerry3 are similarly priced, our comparison devices are noticeably more powerful on paper.

Please note: The reboots and app crashes that we mention later in this review happened with both our test device and the replacement that Wiko also supplied. Since the same issues persisted across both devices we must warn buyers that potentially every Jerry3 will have the same issues as the ones that we have used. 

Wiko Jerry 3 (Jerry Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
1024 MB 
Display
5.45 inch 18:9, 960 x 480 pixel 197 PPI, Capacitive, IPS, glossy: yes
Storage
16 GB eMMC Flash, 16 GB 
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm headphone jack, Card Reader: up to 64 GB microSD cards, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, Gyroscope, Magnet sensor, Proximity sensor
Networking
802.11 b/g/n (b/g/n), Bluetooth 4.0, GSM, GPRS, EDGE: 850, 900, 1,800, 1,900 MHz. H+, 3G+, 3G WCDMA: 900, 2,100 MHz., Dual SIM, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 9.1 x 148 x 72 ( = 0.36 x 5.83 x 2.83 in)
Battery
2500 mAh Lithium-Polymer, removeable, Talk time 2G (according to manufacturer): 30 h, Talk time 3G (according to manufacturer): 15 h, Standby 2G (according to manufacturer): 270 h
Operating System
Android 8.0 Oreo
Camera
Primary Camera: 5 MPix
Secondary Camera: 5 MPix
Additional features
Speakers: One speaker, Keyboard: Virtual, Keyboard Light: yes, USB modular charger, USB Type-A to Micro USB cable, Headphones, 24 Months Warranty, SAR value: Head – 1.61 W/kg, Body – 1.15 W/kg, fanless
Weight
172 g ( = 6.07 oz / 0.38 pounds) ( = 0 oz / 0 pounds)
Price
90 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The Jerry3 has a plastic case that is available in black, green, gold or red. The back case is removable, the removal of which gives access to the battery, two micro-SIM card slots and a microSD card slot. The simple rear-facing camera is centered near the top of the back case while the single speaker is at the opposite end. The power button and volume rocker sit firmly in place on the right-hand side of the device. Wiko has placed the 3.5 mm jack and the Micro USB port on the top side of the Jerry3 too.

The Jerry3 is a well-made device that feels robust on first impressions. The case is strong and should easily withstand the stresses and strains associated with daily use. Moreover, the gaps between materials are even throughout while there is a smooth transition between the display and the case.

Size Comparison

Connectivity

The Jerry3 is equipped with a MediaTek MT6580M SoC, an ARM Mali-400 MP2 GPU, 1 GB of RAM and 16 GB of eMMC flash memory, the latter of which can be expanded with up to a 64 GB micro SD card. The Jerry3 also has dedicated SIM and microSD card slots so you can use two micro-SIMs and a microSD card should you need to. This makes the Jerry3 considerably more functional than other Dual-SIM devices with microSD card expansion that only have space for either two SIMs or one SIM and a microSD card.

Wiko has equipped the Jerry3 with a Micro USB port that operates at 2.0 speeds. This is still standard issue for many budget devices, unlike the USB Type-C with which most new mid-range devices are equipped. The Jerry3 is also equipped with a 3.5 mm headphone jack for wired audio output.

Independent journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible but we intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers and support us!

Software

The Jerry3 runs Android Oreo 8.1 Go edition. Android Go uses fewer resources than its full-fat sibling and so can run on older and low-end hardware. Our test device provides a largely stock Android Go experience that is supplemented by a few third-party apps. The Jerry3 also supports multiple user accounts should there be more than one user of the device.

Unfortunately, the system has issues running Android Go, despite its low hardware requirements. Our test device frequently restarted during testing, the cause of which we could not diagnose despite our best endeavors. Moreover, the system occasionally took a while to respond to inputs and when it did, sometimes the keyboard refused to appear in the built-in browser. Additionally, our test device would occasionally not switch to landscape mode either.

Overall, the software is riddled with frustrating issues which prevent the Jerry3 from being used as a daily driver.

Default home screen
Default home screen
Default app drawer
Default app drawer
Default app drawer
Default app drawer
Quick settings
Quick settings
Quick settings
Quick settings
Quick settings customisation options
Quick settings customisation options
Storage menu within Settings
Storage menu within Settings
Device information
Device information

Communication & GPS

The Jerry3 cannot connect to LTE networks as it lacks an LTE supporting modem. This means that the device can only connect to GSM or 3G networks and not 4G ones. Nevertheless, our test device retained good mobile network reception throughout our tests despite this compromise though. The Jerry3 also supports Bluetooth 4.1 and IEEE 802.11 b, g and n Wi-Fi.

Our test device achieved below average transfer speeds in iperf3 Client tests. The Jerry3 scored 12.5 MBit/s in the receive test and 14.6 MBit/s in the transmission test, which puts the device in the last place, behind all our comparison devices. By contrast, the slowest of our comparison devices, the Honor 7A, achieved around 45 MBit/s in both tests. 

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=297)
205 MBit/s ∼100% +1540%
Cubot R11
Mali-400 MP2, MT6580M, 16 GB eMMC Flash
51.3 MBit/s ∼25% +310%
Nokia 1
Mali-T720 MP2, MT6737, 8 GB eMMC Flash
49.1 MBit/s ∼24% +293%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
Adreno 308, 425, 16 GB eMMC Flash
47.1 MBit/s ∼23% +277%
Honor 7A
Adreno 505, 430, 16 GB eMMC Flash
45 MBit/s ∼22% +260%
Wiko Jerry 3
Mali-400 MP2, MT6580M, 16 GB eMMC Flash
12.5 MBit/s ∼6%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=297)
200 MBit/s ∼100% +1270%
Cubot R11
Mali-400 MP2, MT6580M, 16 GB eMMC Flash
53.3 MBit/s ∼27% +265%
Nokia 1
Mali-T720 MP2, MT6737, 8 GB eMMC Flash
51.2 MBit/s ∼26% +251%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
Adreno 308, 425, 16 GB eMMC Flash
49 MBit/s ∼25% +236%
Honor 7A
Adreno 505, 430, 16 GB eMMC Flash
46.7 MBit/s ∼23% +220%
Wiko Jerry 3
Mali-400 MP2, MT6580M, 16 GB eMMC Flash
14.6 MBit/s ∼7%
GPS test: outdoors
GPS test: outdoors
GPS test: inside
GPS test: inside

Measuring with GPS Test, the Jerry3 achieves a location fix with up to three meters (~10 ft) accuracy outdoors and up to nine meters (~30 ft) indoors. This degree of location accuracy is relatively good for such a budget device.

We took the Jerry3 on a bike ride to test its location accuracy against a professional navigation device, the Garmin Edge 520. Our test device performed relatively well, but deviated by 130 meters (~142 yd) over a 5.65 km (~3.5) ride. The discrepancy between the total distances recorded by the two devices is mainly because the Jerry3 tended to place us next to our actual route and failed to accurately record any corners or minor changes in direction. Overall, the Jerry3 should be suitable for all general navigation tasks, but we would recommend choosing a more accurate device when higher precision is required.

GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 – Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 – Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 – Bridge
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 – Bridge
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 – Wooded area
GPS test: Garmin Edge 520 – Wooded area
GPS test: Wiko Jerry3 - Overview
GPS test: Wiko Jerry3 - Overview
GPS test: Wiko Jerry3 – Bridge
GPS test: Wiko Jerry3 – Bridge
GPS test: Wiko Jerry3 – Wooded area
GPS test: Wiko Jerry3 – Wooded area

Telephone Function & Call Quality

The standard set of Google apps handle telephony and provide easy access to call history, contacts and telephone numbers. Both sides of a call are intelligible, but the maximum call volume is rather quiet. The microphone reliably filters out background noise too.

The included headphones are louder and provide better background noise filtering than both the earpiece and handsfree. We would therefore recommend using headphones for a better call experience.

Cameras

A photo taken with the front-facing camera
A photo taken with the front-facing camera

The Jerry3 is equipped with 5 MP front and rear-facing cameras both of which take mediocre photos. The front-facing camera struggles to adequately capture detail and cannot always keep objects in focus. The front-facing sensor lacks autofocus or image stabilization, so most photos look somewhat blurry, even in good lighting. Only the steadiest of hands will be able to take a selfie using the Jerry3 without any blur. Moreover, the default camera app has few customization options and only allows the resolution to be changed and a timer to be set.

The rear-facing camera fares little better. Panoramic photos look ok, but are often underexposed. The rear-facing sensor is much better than the front-facing sensor at focussing on objects though. However, details are largely missing from dark areas of photos and it is often difficult to distinguish between objects that are poorly lit. The same is true when taking macro photos, whereby bright areas are noticeably overexposed and dark areas lack any detail. Moreover, colors look generally washed out and taking sharp photos requires a steady hand just as with the front-facing camera. Perhaps predictably the rear-facing camera struggles in low-light conditions, the results of which are blurry, underexposed and lacking any detail. The default camera app offers no options to change exposure times or ISO levels either, which could potentially have helped take better night photos.

The Jerry3 takes terrible videos. Colors are washed out and the lack of image stabilization makes everything blurry.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images
ColorChecker: The reference color is displayed in the lower half of each area of color
ColorChecker: The reference color is displayed in the lower half of each area of color

We also subjected the Jerry3 to a more objective camera test using ColorChecker Passport. We conduct this test to identify how accurately a device reproduces colors. Comparing our test device against the reference colors demonstrates that the Jerry3 reproduces most colors too darkly, particularly black and gray tones. The only exception is with turquoise, which our test device captures too brightly. Overall, the Jerry3 cannot accurately reproduce any color on our chart. We struggled with taking a clear photo of the ColorChecker Passport chart too.

Our test device also performed equally poorly under controlled lighting conditions. We have included a photo of our test chart that we took with the Jerry3, which demonstrates the extent to which the rear camera sensor struggles with image stabilization and capturing details like fine lines. 

Photo of our test chart
Photo of our test chart
Test chart in detail

Accessories & Warranty

The Jerry3 comes with a modular charger, a USB Type-A to Micro USB cable, a SIM tool and a set of headphones. Wiko does not sell any other accessories specific to the Jerry3, but there are some third-party suppliers that do.

The Jerry3 comes with a twenty-four month manufacturer’s warranty.

Input Devices & Operation

The Jerry3 uses Google GBoard as its default keyboard, which operates just as on other devices. It is worth keeping in mind that the touchscreen sometimes responds inaccurately. We found during our tests that sometimes we needed to press next to the button we intended to press before our test device would register the input. Moreover, the keyboard also occasionally failed to appear despite having selected an input box. This could be an issue with just the keyboard app, but we have not experienced the issue on other devices.

The positional sensor is also unreliable and occasionally refuses to switch to landscape mode.

Using the keyboard in portrait mode
Using the keyboard in portrait mode
Using the keyboard in landscape mode
Using the keyboard in landscape mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The Jerry3 has a 5.45-inch IPS display that has a 960x480 native resolution and a 2:1 aspect ratio. It is worth bearing in mind that you may see a 2:1 aspect ratio referred to as 18:9; they are the same thing. Our test device achieved an average maximum brightness of 367.2 cd/m² when measured with X-Rite i1Pro2, which is only better than the Nokia 1 of our comparison devices. Our test device has a 90% uniformly bright display too, which is better than all our comparison devices.

380
cd/m²
381
cd/m²
375
cd/m²
366
cd/m²
370
cd/m²
344
cd/m²
366
cd/m²
360
cd/m²
363
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 381 cd/m² Average: 367.2 cd/m² Minimum: 15 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 90 %
Center on Battery: 0.4 cd/m²
Contrast: 925:1 (Black: 0.4 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 8.58 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.3
ΔE Greyscale 9.3 | 0.64-98 Ø6.5
92% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.083
Wiko Jerry 3
IPS, 960x480, 5.45
Cubot R11
IPS, 1440x720, 5.5
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
IPS, 1280x720, 5
Nokia 1
IPS, 854x480, 4.5
Honor 7A
IPS, 1440x720, 5.7
Screen
-11%
7%
32%
40%
Brightness middle
370
428
16%
503
36%
256
-31%
417
13%
Brightness
367
401
9%
499
36%
251
-32%
395
8%
Brightness Distribution
90
72
-20%
84
-7%
89
-1%
88
-2%
Black Level *
0.4
0.88
-120%
0.73
-83%
0.12
70%
0.18
55%
Contrast
925
486
-47%
689
-26%
2133
131%
2317
150%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
8.58
6.29
27%
5.44
37%
4.82
44%
6.46
25%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
16.5
13.2
20%
10.01
39%
11.75
29%
10.72
35%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
9.3
6.9
26%
6.8
27%
5.2
44%
5.8
38%
Gamma
2.083 106%
2.718 81%
2.451 90%
2.3 96%
2.423 91%
CCT
9315 70%
7296 89%
6590 99%
7107 91%
7839 83%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected ≤ 20 % brightness setting

In comparison: 52 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 8773 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Our test device has a 0.4 cd/m² black value, which is on par with the average of our comparison devices, but significantly higher than both the Nokia 1 and Honor 7A. A low black value contributes to a high contrast ratio, so it is no surprise that both devices have considerably higher contrast ratios than the Jerry3. While our test device achieves an unimpressive 925:1 contrast ratio, both the Nokia 1 and the Honor 7A achieved contrast ratios of 2,133:1 and 2,317:1 respectively.

Moreover, CalMAN analysis software highlights that our test device’s display has a strong blue tint to it.

CalMAN – Color accuracy
CalMAN – Color accuracy
CalMAN – Color space
CalMAN – Color space
CalMAN – Grayscale
CalMAN – Grayscale
CalMAN – Color saturation
CalMAN – Color saturation

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
26 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 13 ms rise
↘ 13 ms fall
The screen shows relatively slow response rates in our tests and may be too slow for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 46 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (25.6 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
48 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 23 ms rise
↘ 25 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 78 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (41 ms).

The Jerry3 can be used outdoors but with some caveats. The reflective display and relatively low maximum brightness make the device difficult to use in direct sunlight as reflections obscure what is displayed on-screen.

Using the Wiko Jerry3 outside
Using the Wiko Jerry3 outside
Using the Wiko Jerry3 outside
Using the Wiko Jerry3 outside

The Jerry3 has strong viewing angles thanks to its IPS display. Our test device exhibits no loss in brightness nor any image distortion even at acute angles. While the display remains readable from practically any angle, in theory, the issues we mentioned about using the Jerry3 outdoors, limit the device’s viewing angles, particularly on sunny days.

Viewing Angles
Viewing Angles
Viewing Angles
Viewing Angles

Performance

The Jerry3 is powered by a MediaTek MT6580M SoC that integrates both a quad-core ARM Cortex A7 processor and an ARM Mali-400 MP2 GPU. The MT6580M is now over two and a half years old, but it should still be powerful enough to run Android Go. As mentioned above, frequent restarts plagued our test device, but this does not affect the wider usability of the MT6580M on an Android Go platform. The device is also equipped with 1 GB of RAM and 16 GB of eMMC flash storage.

Our test device scored comparatively poorly in most benchmarks and only matched the CUBOT R11 and the Nokia 1 of our comparison devices. The Jerry3’s CPU benchmark scores are on par with the average of MT6580M powered devices that we have currently tested too.

The frequent rebooting meant that we could not assess how well the Jerry3 performed over a long period of daily use. The device felt sluggish, which was compounded by the frequent input lag that we also experienced. Overall, the Jerry3 would be difficult to use daily; the device would frequently restart and feel slow when it did work.

AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
23916 Points ∼32%
Cubot R11
23275 Points ∼31% -3%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
36883 Points ∼49% +54%
Nokia 1
Points ∼0% -100%
Honor 7A
46126 Points ∼62% +93%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (15185 - 25237, n=10)
22450 Points ∼30% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (23275 - 250848, n=382)
74754 Points ∼100% +213%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
17073 Points ∼15%
Cubot R11
19465 Points ∼17% +14%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
43861 Points ∼38% +157%
Nokia 1
Points ∼0% -100%
Honor 7A
59990 Points ∼52% +251%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (17073 - 21088, n=4)
19302 Points ∼17% +13%
Average of class Smartphone (17073 - 348178, n=160)
115872 Points ∼100% +579%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
0 Points ∼0%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
3402 Points ∼76%
Nokia 1
2335 Points ∼52%
Honor 7A
3892 Points ∼87%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (0 - 0, n=2)
0 Points ∼0%
Average of class Smartphone (2829 - 9868, n=243)
4492 Points ∼100%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
2528 Points ∼49%
Cubot R11
2516 Points ∼49% 0%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
4559 Points ∼89% +80%
Nokia 1
3054 Points ∼60% +21%
Honor 7A
5109 Points ∼100% +102%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (2516 - 3041, n=10)
2719 Points ∼53% +8%
Average of class Smartphone (3681 - 13211, n=410)
4890 Points ∼96% +93%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
10 Points ∼1%
Cubot R11
10 Points ∼1% 0%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
723 Points ∼100% +7130%
Nokia 1
571 Points ∼79% +5610%
Honor 7A
705 Points ∼98% +6950%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (9 - 640, n=10)
404 Points ∼56% +3940%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1731, n=485)
689 Points ∼95% +6790%
Graphics (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
145 Points ∼9%
Cubot R11
136 Points ∼8% -6%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
444 Points ∼27% +206%
Nokia 1
176 Points ∼11% +21%
Honor 7A
739 Points ∼44% +410%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (136 - 145, n=10)
140 Points ∼8% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 15969, n=485)
1675 Points ∼100% +1055%
Memory (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
373 Points ∼31%
Cubot R11
346 Points ∼29% -7%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
762 Points ∼63% +104%
Nokia 1
505 Points ∼42% +35%
Honor 7A
1209 Points ∼100% +224%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (189 - 404, n=10)
332 Points ∼27% -11%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 6283, n=485)
1205 Points ∼100% +223%
System (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
963 Points ∼40%
Cubot R11
958 Points ∼39% -1%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
1463 Points ∼60% +52%
Nokia 1
859 Points ∼35% -11%
Honor 7A
1962 Points ∼81% +104%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (958 - 1011, n=10)
980 Points ∼40% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 12202, n=485)
2435 Points ∼100% +153%
Overall (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
150 Points ∼12%
Cubot R11
144 Points ∼12% -4%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
774 Points ∼64% +416%
Nokia 1
457 Points ∼38% +205%
Honor 7A
1055 Points ∼87% +603%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (144 - 432, n=10)
323 Points ∼27% +115%
Average of class Smartphone (150 - 6097, n=489)
1217 Points ∼100% +711%
Geekbench 4.1/4.2
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
875 Points ∼20%
Cubot R11
836 Points ∼19% -4%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
1333 Points ∼30% +52%
Nokia 1
943 Points ∼21% +8%
Honor 7A
2127 Points ∼48% +143%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (773 - 875, n=4)
836 Points ∼19% -4%
Average of class Smartphone (836 - 21070, n=184)
4424 Points ∼100% +406%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
1136 Points ∼27%
Cubot R11
1131 Points ∼27% 0%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
1874 Points ∼44% +65%
Nokia 1
1252 Points ∼30% +10%
Honor 7A
2820 Points ∼67% +148%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (1131 - 1237, n=4)
1166 Points ∼28% +3%
Average of class Smartphone (883 - 11598, n=233)
4232 Points ∼100% +273%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
431 Points ∼34%
Cubot R11
394 Points ∼32% -9%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
681 Points ∼54% +58%
Nokia 1
492 Points ∼39% +14%
Honor 7A
675 Points ∼54% +57%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (394 - 431, n=4)
419 Points ∼34% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (394 - 4824, n=234)
1250 Points ∼100% +190%
3DMark
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
8065 Points ∼64%
Cubot R11
7498 Points ∼59% -7%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
10556 Points ∼83% +31%
Honor 7A
9249 Points ∼73% +15%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (7498 - 8913, n=10)
7999 Points ∼63% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (3958 - 36794, n=525)
12683 Points ∼100% +57%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
2465 Points ∼14%
Cubot R11
2433 Points ∼14% -1%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
5532 Points ∼32% +124%
Honor 7A
9684 Points ∼55% +293%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (2396 - 2485, n=10)
2463 Points ∼14% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2465 - 162695, n=525)
17522 Points ∼100% +611%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
2915 Points ∼20%
Cubot R11
2863 Points ∼19% -2%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
6186 Points ∼42% +112%
Honor 7A
9584 Points ∼65% +229%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (2841 - 2946, n=10)
2910 Points ∼20% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (2915 - 77599, n=526)
14738 Points ∼100% +406%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
4.4 fps ∼15%
Cubot R11
4.1 fps ∼14% -7%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
7.7 fps ∼25% +75%
Nokia 1
5.1 fps ∼17% +16%
Honor 7A
16 fps ∼53% +264%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (4.1 - 11, n=10)
5 fps ∼17% +14%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 251, n=550)
30.2 fps ∼100% +586%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Wiko Jerry 3
12 fps ∼44%
Cubot R11
6.9 fps ∼26% -42%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
14 fps ∼52% +17%
Nokia 1
14 fps ∼52% +17%
Honor 7A
27 fps ∼100% +125%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (4.4 - 12, n=10)
8.57 fps ∼32% -29%
Average of class Smartphone (6.9 - 120, n=553)
24.4 fps ∼90% +103%

Legend

 
Wiko Jerry 3 Mediatek MT6580M, ARM Mali-400 MP2, 16 GB eMMC Flash
 
Cubot R11 Mediatek MT6580M, ARM Mali-400 MP2, 16 GB eMMC Flash
 
Xiaomi Redmi 5A Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Qualcomm Adreno 308, 16 GB eMMC Flash
 
Nokia 1 Mediatek MT6737, ARM Mali-T720 MP2, 8 GB eMMC Flash
 
Honor 7A Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 (MSM8937), Qualcomm Adreno 505, 16 GB eMMC Flash

Our test device finished consistently at or near the bottom of our comparison devices in browser benchmarks. The Jerry3’s browser benchmark results are on par with the CUBOT R11 and the Nokia 1, but our test device cannot compete with the likes of the Xiaomi Redmi 5A. In daily use, web browsing on the Jerry3 is a chore. Websites take a while to load and even simple browsing causes spontaneous reboots.

JetStream 1.1 - 1.1 Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (10.8 - 88869, n=408)
254 Points ∼100% +2246%
Honor 7A (Chrome 67)
18.394 Points ∼7% +70%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A (Chrome 67)
17.927 Points ∼7% +66%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (10.8 - 14.5, n=10)
13.2 Points ∼5% +22%
Cubot R11 (Chrome 67)
12.124 Points ∼5% +12%
Nokia 1 (Chrome 66)
11.55 Points ∼5% +7%
Wiko Jerry 3 (Chrome 67)
10.829 Points ∼4%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (1506 - 43280, n=545)
5462 Points ∼100% +232%
Honor 7A (Chrome 67)
3389 Points ∼62% +106%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A (Chrome 67)
3224 Points ∼59% +96%
Cubot R11 (Chrome 67)
2144 Points ∼39% +30%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (1645 - 2280, n=10)
2066 Points ∼38% +26%
Nokia 1 (Chrome 66)
1907 Points ∼35% +16%
Wiko Jerry 3 (Chrome 67)
1645 Points ∼30%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Cubot R11 (Chrome 67)
21256.7 ms * ∼100% -9%
Wiko Jerry 3 (Chrome 67)
19458 ms * ∼92%
Nokia 1 (Chrome 66)
18927 ms * ∼89% +3%
Average Mediatek MT6580M (14579 - 21257, n=10)
16774 ms * ∼79% +14%
Honor 7A (Chrome 67)
14709 ms * ∼69% +24%
Xiaomi Redmi 5A (Chrome 67)
13112.2 ms * ∼62% +33%
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=565)
11590 ms * ∼55% +40%

* ... smaller is better

While internal memory access speeds are comparable with the cheaper of our comparison devices, microSD card performance is significantly below what the Redmi 5A and the Honor 7A achieve. In practice, this means that file transfers onto or from the Jerry3 will take considerably longer than on either of the aforementioned devices.

Wiko Jerry 3Cubot R11Xiaomi Redmi 5ANokia 1Honor 7A Average 16 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-7%
231%
17%
237%
102%
175%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
7.4 (Kingston 32GB)
6.38 (Kingston 32GB)
-14%
62.6 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
746%
65.4 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
784%
37 (6.38 - 65.4, n=109)
400%
45.2 (3.4 - 87.1, n=313)
511%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
16 (Kingston 32GB)
10.8 (Kingston 32GB)
-32%
84.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
431%
84.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
431%
55.7 (10.8 - 87.7, n=109)
248%
63.5 (8.2 - 96.5, n=313)
297%
Random Write 4KB
11.23
10.8
-4%
9.28
-17%
9.1
-19%
9.4
-16%
7.32 (0.49 - 37.9, n=223)
-35%
15.4 (0.14 - 164, n=594)
37%
Random Read 4KB
24.18
22.1
-9%
42.32
75%
25.7
6%
39.2
62%
19.7 (2.49 - 61.7, n=223)
-19%
37.4 (1.59 - 173, n=594)
55%
Sequential Write 256KB
50.81
52
2%
49.86
-2%
51.8
2%
72.5
43%
41.5 (8.74 - 97.6, n=223)
-18%
78.2 (2.99 - 246, n=594)
54%
Sequential Read 256KB
117.14
135.8
16%
293.76
151%
208.3
78%
254.8
118%
157 (9.66 - 294, n=223)
34%
226 (12.1 - 895, n=594)
93%

Games

The Jerry3 is powerful enough to play casual or simple games such as “Dead Trigger 2” but even older games like “Temple Run 2” suffered from occasional drops in framerates. Moreover, our test device took a long time to load “Dead Trigger 2”.

Unfortunately, the inaccuracies of the touchscreen and positional sensor make it practically impossible to play games. 

Dead Trigger 2
Dead Trigger 2
Temple Run 2
Temple Run 2

Emissions

Temperature

The Jerry3 is a relatively hot device even at idle. Surface temperatures reach up to 36 °C (~97 °F) at idle and the entire device averages above 30 °C (~97 °F). Predictably surface temperatures increase significantly when the device operates under full load. Our test device reached a maximum of 43.9 °C (~111 °F) in the area around the rear-facing camera. Similarly, our test device averaged around 37 °C (~99 °F) under full load.

The Jerry3 will feel hot in daily use, but not worryingly so. The device should not thermal throttle, but it will frequently restart.

Max. Load
 41 °C
106 F
35.2 °C
95 F
35.6 °C
96 F
 
 39.7 °C
103 F
35.7 °C
96 F
36.7 °C
98 F
 
 38.4 °C
101 F
35.1 °C
95 F
35.1 °C
95 F
 
Maximum: 41 °C = 106 F
Average: 36.9 °C = 98 F
37 °C
99 F
37.8 °C
100 F
43.9 °C
111 F
36.8 °C
98 F
37 °C
99 F
41.9 °C
107 F
36.1 °C
97 F
37 °C
99 F
39.4 °C
103 F
Maximum: 43.9 °C = 111 F
Average: 38.5 °C = 101 F
Power Supply (max.)  40 °C = 104 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 36.9 °C / 98 F, compared to the average of 33.2 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(±) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 41 °C / 106 F, compared to the average of 35.8 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(±) The maximum temperature on the bottom side is 43.9 °C / 111 F, compared to the average of 34.3 °C / 94 F, ranging from 22 to 326 °C for the class Smartphone.
(±) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 33.7 °C / 93 F, compared to the device average of 33.2 °C / 92 F.
Heatmap of the front of the device under load
Heatmap of the front of the device under load
Heatmap of the rear of the device under load
Heatmap of the rear of the device under load

Speakers

Speaker Characteristics
Speaker Characteristics

The Jerry3 has a single speaker at the bottom of the rear case. The speaker sounds balanced and accurately reproduces a broad range of tones. The speaker is good enough for music playback or for listening to more complex media content. Our test device reached just over 70 dB(A) in our tests, which should be enough to drown out moderate ambient noise. We would have liked a louder speaker though.

The included headphones are good enough for music playback too, and get much louder than the speaker. Headphone jacks plug firmly into the 3.5 mm jack with a soft click sound. We had no issues with headphone jacks accidentally disconnecting throughout our tests. 

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2038.140.82537.6383135.937.54028.133.95028.630.36327.832.18029.826.210030.426.612522.220.616023.925.12002034.425019.439.431517.24440016.452.250016.55563015.162.780015.167.6100014.671125014.469.5160013.767.5200012.364.8250012.162315011.862.8400011.762.6500011.763630011.665.2800011.6671000011.563.41250011.557.91600011.647.7SPL58.757.971.366.356.725.977.8N11.811.324.316.810.40.839.5median 14.4median 62.6Delta3.310.83039.631.643.7324234.947.140.355.928.85328.149.82741.522.54021.438.521.232.420.133.618.440.118.146.519.950.416.36116.56615.969.8166915.569.215.370.315.16814.966.915.168.715.164.415.163.915.167.815.265.115.258.915.255.77328.179.428.61.143.1median 15.9median 63.91.911hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseWiko Jerry 3Nokia 1
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Wiko Jerry 3 audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (77.8 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 30.9% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.7% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (8.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 1.3% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (3.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (23.4% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 35% of all tested devices in this class were better, 13% similar, 52% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 62% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 30% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Nokia 1 audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (79.4 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 26.2% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (8.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | reduced mids - on average 7.4% lower than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (8.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 2.6% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (5% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (22.4% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 28% of all tested devices in this class were better, 11% similar, 61% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 56% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 36% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The Jerry3 is a relatively efficient device. Our test device consumes less power than all our comparison devices except for the Honor 7A. Likewise, the Jerry3 is around 4% more efficient than the average of MT6580M powered devices that we have currently tested. It is worth noting that the Jerry3 consumed considerably more as an average under load than our comparison devices. This average power consumption under load is on par with other MT6580M powered devices though.

The included 5-W charger does not support quick charging and takes around five hours to fully recharge our test device.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.1 / 0.3 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 1 / 1.5 / 2.3 Watt
Load midlight 5 / 6.3 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Wiko Jerry 3
2500 mAh
Cubot R11
2800 mAh
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
3000 mAh
Nokia 1
2150 mAh
Honor 7A
3000 mAh
Average Mediatek MT6580M
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
5%
14%
17%
-8%
4%
8%
Idle Minimum *
1
0.9
10%
1.2
-20%
0.9
10%
1.3
-30%
0.816 (0.56 - 1.1, n=10)
18%
0.883 (0.2 - 3.4, n=630)
12%
Idle Average *
1.5
1.5
-0%
1.5
-0%
1.5
-0%
1.6
-7%
1.76 (1.36 - 2.26, n=10)
-17%
1.723 (0.6 - 6.2, n=629)
-15%
Idle Maximum *
2.3
2.2
4%
1.8
22%
2
13%
2.9
-26%
2.11 (1.38 - 2.39, n=10)
8%
1.998 (0.74 - 6.6, n=630)
13%
Load Average *
5
4.6
8%
2.9
42%
3.5
30%
3.7
26%
4.85 (3.11 - 6.97, n=10)
3%
4.03 (0.8 - 10.8, n=624)
19%
Load Maximum *
6.3
6
5%
4.8
24%
4.3
32%
6.4
-2%
5.69 (3.59 - 7.03, n=10)
10%
5.73 (1.2 - 14.2, n=624)
9%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The Jerry3 has a 2,500 mAh battery which lasted for six-hours and thirty-four minutes in our practical Wi-Fi battery life test. We conduct this test by running a script that simulates the load required to render websites. This runtime is considerably shorter than our comparison devices. The Redmi 5A lasted an extra ten hours in this test with a 20% larger battery. Likewise, the Nokia 1 lasted nearly three hours longer with around a 15% smaller battery.

Thanks to the removable battery it is possible to use a second or third battery when the first runs out. However, this requires spending more on additional batteries that you must then carry with you.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
6h 34min
Wiko Jerry 3
2500 mAh
Cubot R11
2800 mAh
Xiaomi Redmi 5A
3000 mAh
Nokia 1
2150 mAh
Honor 7A
3000 mAh
Battery Runtime
WiFi v1.3
394
633
61%
1009
156%
552
40%
657
67%

Pros

+ Removable battery
+ affordable price
+ dedicated Dual-SIM and microSD card slots

Cons

- low maximum brightness
- no LTE
- frequent reboots

Verdict

The Wiko Jerry 3 in review. Test device courtesy of Wiko Germany.
The Wiko Jerry 3 in review. Test device courtesy of Wiko Germany.

The Wiko Jerry3 could be suitable for those who have low demands of their smartphones and who are looking for something cheap. The device is well priced at €90 (~$105) and offers good hardware and performance for the money.

The Wiko Jerry3 would be an affordable budget device that we would recommend but for its instability and frequent restarts.

However, the Jerry3 has some serious shortcomings that render the device practically unusable. Both our test device and its replacement frequently spontaneously restarted for reasons that we could not discern. Furthermore, the touchscreen and the positional sensor are frustratingly inaccurate. The lack of LTE and low display brightness feel like a missed opportunity too.

We cannot recommend buying the Jerry3 for the litany of major issues that we experienced with both our test device and its replacement.

Wiko Jerry 3 - 08/16/2018 v6
Mike Wobker

Chassis
69%
Keyboard
63 / 75 → 84%
Pointing Device
54%
Connectivity
30 / 60 → 50%
Weight
90%
Battery
89%
Display
72%
Games Performance
5 / 63 → 7%
Application Performance
21 / 70 → 30%
Temperature
87%
Noise
100%
Audio
86 / 91 → 94%
Camera
33%
Average
61%
68%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Wiko Jerry3 Smartphone Review
Mike Wobker, 2018-09-11 (Update: 2018-09-12)