Notebookcheck

Motorola Moto E6 Plus Smartphone Review: The battery rocks, but the performance sucks

Inge Schwabe, 👁 Daniel Schmidt (translated by Alex Alderson), 11/01/2019

Replaceable. The Moto E6 Plus follows on from the midrange One Vision, One Action and One Zoom, hitting shelves just before Christmas. However, while Motorola aimed the One series at younger audiences, the E6 Plus may appeal to an older crowd thanks to its removable battery. The device must compete with the great battery life of the Moto E5 Plus, but its predecessor did have its shortcomings. Read on to find out whether Motorola has ironed out the kinks with this new handset and what else the Moto E6 Plus has to offer.

Motorola Moto E6 Plus

The Moto E6 Plus has become a bit more compact than its predecessor. However, that comes with a compromise, namely battery capacity. The E5 Plus had the space to accommodate a 5,000 mAh battery, whereas the E6 Plus only has a 3,000 mAh cell instead. Motorola has returned to MediaTek for this generation too, having switched from the former to Qualcomm for the E5 Plus.

We shall also compare the E6 Plus against the LG K40, Sony Xperia L3 and TP-Link Neffos X20, but you can add other smartphones to our comparison tables too. All four come with the same Helio P22 MT6762 SoC, so we will include the Xiaomi Mi A3 among our comparison devices too for a non-MediaTek offering. The Xiaomi Mi A3 features the more powerful Qualcomm Snapdragon 665 while hardly being any more expensive than the E6 Plus, for reference.

Motorola Moto E6 Plus (Moto E Series)
Graphics adapter
Memory
2048 MB 
, 4 GB option available
Display
6.1 inch 19.5:9, 1560 x 720 pixel 282 PPI, capacitive, IPS, glossy: yes
Storage
32 GB eMMC Flash, 32 GB 
, 25.71 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm jack, Card Reader: Micro-SD (max. 512GB, FAT, FAT32), 1 Fingerprint Reader, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, proximity sensor, Fingerprint sensor, Micro USB
Networking
802.11 b/g/n (b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4), Bluetooth 4.2, GSM: Bands 2, 3, 5, 8. UMTS: Band 1, 2, 5, 8. LTE: Bands 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 20, 38, 40, 41, Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.6 x 155.6 x 73.06 ( = 0.34 x 6.13 x 2.88 in)
Battery
3000 mAh Lithium-Polymer, removeable
Operating System
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
Primary Camera: 13 MPix f/2.0, 1/3.1", 1.12 μm, AF. 2 MP depth sensor, LED flash, Camera2 API level: Full
Secondary Camera: 8 MPix f/2.0 1.12 μm
Additional features
Speakers: Mono speaker, Keyboard: onscreen, Accessories: charger, micro usb cable, manual, protective cover, Google Assistant, 24 Months Warranty, SAR: 0.448 W/kg, IP52 certified, FM radio, GNSS: GPS, AGPS, GLONASS, Galileo, fanless
Weight
149.7 g ( = 5.28 oz / 0.33 pounds), Power Supply: 60.55 g ( = 2.14 oz / 0.13 pounds)
Price
139 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team! Especially English native speakers welcome!

Currently wanted: 
News and Editorial Editor - Details here

Devices overview

RatingDateModelWeightDriveSizeResolutionBest Price
75%11/2019Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320
149.7 g32 GB eMMC Flash6.1"1560x720
79%11/2018Motorola Moto E5 Plus
425, Adreno 308
197 g32 GB eMMC Flash6"1440x720
08/2019Motorola Moto E6
435, Adreno 505
159 g16 GB eMMC Flash5.5"1440x720
82%06/2019LG K40
Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320
145 g32 GB eMMC Flash5.7"1440x720
83%04/2019Sony Xperia L3
Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320
156 g32 GB eMMC Flash5.7"1440x720
74%10/2019TP-Link Neffos X20
Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300
171 g32 GB eMMC Flash6.26"1520x720
78%09/2019Xiaomi Mi A3
665, Adreno 610
173.8 g64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash6.09"1560x720

Case - plastic but with a metal look to it


One can see that the E6 Plus is a mid-range smartphone, but it does not look cheap by any means. Motorola has concealed that it has used plastic by giving the E6 Plus a glossy back panel, which comes in Polished Graphite or Bright Cherry. Our review unit is well-built, and its craftsmanship is to a reasonable level.

The power and volume buttons both sit on the right-hand side of the device, with the headphone jack adorning its top side. Meanwhile, the sole speaker and microphone flank the micro USB on the bottom edge of the handset. The E6 Plus has relatively narrow display bezels and a waterdrop notch befitting more expensive devices. Its chin looks comparatively big next to the side and top bezels, though.

The E6 Plus is also IP52-certified, meaning that dust should not damage it internally, although there is no guarantee that dust cannot get inside. Dripping water should not affect the device either, so you should have no issues from using the device in the rain, for example.

Moto E6 Plus
Moto E6 Plus
Moto E6 Plus
Moto E6 Plus
Our review unit with the back cover removed
Our review unit with the back cover removed

Size Comparison

160.9 mm / 6.33 inch 75.3 mm / 2.96 inch 9.4 mm / 0.3701 inch 197 g0.4343 lbs159.7 mm / 6.29 inch 77.3 mm / 3.04 inch 8.55 mm / 0.3366 inch 171 g0.377 lbs155.6 mm / 6.13 inch 73.06 mm / 2.88 inch 8.6 mm / 0.3386 inch 149.7 g0.33 lbs154 mm / 6.06 inch 72 mm / 2.83 inch 8.9 mm / 0.3504 inch 156 g0.3439 lbs153.5 mm / 6.04 inch 71.9 mm / 2.83 inch 8.5 mm / 0.3346 inch 173.8 g0.3832 lbs153 mm / 6.02 inch 71.9 mm / 2.83 inch 8.3 mm / 0.3268 inch 145 g0.3197 lbs

Connectivity - A replaceable battery and three card slots

Having a replaceable battery is hardly a requirement these days, but it remains a plus in our eyes. The microSD, nano and micro-SIM card slots sit under the removable plastic cover too, alongside the battery. Motorola includes a micro to nano-SIM adapter in the box should you only have nano SIMs to hand.

The Helio P22 MT6762 integrates not only a PowerVR GE8320 GPU but also an FM transmitter. The E6 Plus has a micro USB port, along with Bluetooth 4.2 connectivity. Motorola has not included an NFC chip, but that is not unusual for a device at this price. The E6 Plus comes with 2 GB of RAM and 32 GB of storage or 4 GB and 64 GB for an additional 20 Euros (~$22).

Software - Waiting for Android 10

Our review unit arrived running Android 9.0 Pie and remained on the August 5 set of security updates. Beyond the standard suite of Google apps, Motorola includes a device-troubleshooting app and an FM radio app. No bloatware here, folks, but no Android 10 either.

Home Screen
Home Screen
Preinstalled apps
Preinstalled apps
Motion controls
Motion controls
FM Radio app
FM Radio app

Communication & GPS - weak Wi-Fi

The E6 Plus supports comparatively few LTE bands. It covers the important ones within Europe, though.

Moreover, our review unit has weak Wi-Fi performance and is only marginally better than the E5 Plus. The E6 Plus averaged just 46.6 Mb/s in our upload tests with our Linksys EA 8500 reference router, making it faster than only the LG K40 and the E5 Plus of our comparison devices. Its download speeds beat just the E5 Plus, though. Worse still, Wi-Fi reception in our review unit dropped at distances when other devices retained full signal.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
TP-Link Neffos X20
PowerVR GE8300, Helio A22 MT6761, 32 GB eMMC Flash
342 (min: 323, max: 348) MBit/s ∼100% +403%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=449)
228 MBit/s ∼67% +235%
LG K40
PowerVR GE8320, Helio P22 MT6762, 32 GB eMMC Flash
221 (min: 107, max: 246) MBit/s ∼65% +225%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Adreno 610, 665, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
158 (min: 18, max: 227) MBit/s ∼46% +132%
Sony Xperia L3
PowerVR GE8320, Helio P22 MT6762, 32 GB eMMC Flash
128 (min: 81, max: 129) MBit/s ∼37% +88%
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
PowerVR GE8320, Helio P22 MT6762, 32 GB eMMC Flash
68 (min: 52, max: 77) MBit/s ∼20%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Adreno 308, 425, 32 GB eMMC Flash
43.2 (min: 36, max: 52) MBit/s ∼13% -36%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
TP-Link Neffos X20
PowerVR GE8300, Helio A22 MT6761, 32 GB eMMC Flash
275 (min: 213, max: 287) MBit/s ∼100% +490%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=449)
217 MBit/s ∼79% +366%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Adreno 610, 665, 64 GB UFS 2.1 Flash
172 (min: 2, max: 282) MBit/s ∼63% +269%
Sony Xperia L3
PowerVR GE8320, Helio P22 MT6762, 32 GB eMMC Flash
102 (min: 90, max: 111) MBit/s ∼37% +119%
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
PowerVR GE8320, Helio P22 MT6762, 32 GB eMMC Flash
46.6 (min: 36, max: 55) MBit/s ∼17%
LG K40
PowerVR GE8320, Helio P22 MT6762, 32 GB eMMC Flash
39.6 (min: 10, max: 54) MBit/s ∼14% -15%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Adreno 308, 425, 32 GB eMMC Flash
35.4 (min: 23, max: 51) MBit/s ∼13% -24%
0102030405060708090100110120130140150160170180190200210220230240250260270280290Tooltip
Motorola Moto E6 Plus Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø63.4 (52-77)
Sony Xperia L3 Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø125 (81-129)
Xiaomi Mi A3 Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Qualcomm Adreno 610; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø158 (18-227)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø46.5 (36-55)
Sony Xperia L3 Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø102 (90-111)
Xiaomi Mi A3 Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Qualcomm Adreno 610; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø172 (2-282)
GPS Test: Inside
GPS Test: Inside
GPS Test: Next to a window
GPS Test: Next to a window
GPS Test: Outside
GPS Test: Outside

The E6 Plus officially supports Galileo, GPS and GLONASS but the GPS Test app claims that it supports BeiDou too. Our review unit achieves a satellite fix with up to two metres accuracy outdoors, which dropped to six metres when we took the device inside and placed it next to a window. Its accuracy reduced to seven metres when we moved it away from a window, though.

We also took the device on a bike ride to compare its location accuracy against a Garmin Edge 500, our reference bike computer. Despite some inaccuracies, the E6 Plus proved to be a useful navigation device.

GPS test: Motorola Moto E6 Plus - Overview
GPS test: Motorola Moto E6 Plus - Overview
GPS test: Motorola Moto E6 Plus - Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Motorola Moto E6 Plus - Cycling around a lake
GPS test: Motorola Moto E6 Plus - A loop around a residential area
GPS test: Motorola Moto E6 Plus - A loop around a residential area
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Overview
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Cycling around a Lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - Cycling around a Lake
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - A loop around a residential area
GPS test: Garmin Edge 500 - A loop around a residential area

Telephone Features & Call Quality

A look at the preinstalled dialer
A look at the preinstalled dialer

The E6 Plus transmits our voice well, but people on the other end of the line sound unclear. Switching to hands-free noticeably improves call quality, while the mono speaker even gets loud enough to make calls while cycling.

Motorola claims that the E6 Plus has two microphones. We can only spot one, but the other could be hidden behind the speaker grille. Putting one there would not make much sense though as it would be on the same side as the other microphone.

Cameras - Good for its class

The E6 Plus has comparatively good cameras, especially for its price. Motorola has equipped the device with an 8 MP front-facing sensor, a 13 MP rear-facing camera and a 2 MP secondary sensor that can provide the primary camera with additional depth of field information. The latter helps the device take decent portrait shots, while landscapes can be augmented with depth effects. These, like selfies, do not always come out cleanly, though.

While the E6 Plus cannot compete with the cameras of flagship smartphones like the Huawei P30 Pro and Samsung Galaxy Fold or a professional camera, it generally does a good job. Low-light images are practically useless unless you enable the LED flash though, as scene 3 below demonstrates.

Regular photo
Regular photo
Foreground blur
Foreground blur
Background blur
Background blur
Foreground blur
Taking a selfie with portrait mode

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3

The E6 Plus did a surprisingly good job at reproducing ColorChecker Passport reference colours under controlled lighting conditions. Our test chart shows that the primary rear-facing camera tends to overexpose natural tones, though.

ColorChecker Photo
29.6 ∆E
54.3 ∆E
39.4 ∆E
34.8 ∆E
45.2 ∆E
62 ∆E
52.9 ∆E
36.1 ∆E
43.7 ∆E
28 ∆E
64.5 ∆E
63.5 ∆E
29.4 ∆E
47.7 ∆E
37.3 ∆E
76.2 ∆E
44.1 ∆E
41.9 ∆E
92.9 ∆E
71 ∆E
52.5 ∆E
36.9 ∆E
23.8 ∆E
13.5 ∆E
ColorChecker Motorola Moto E6 Plus: 46.71 ∆E min: 13.46 - max: 92.92 ∆E
ColorChecker Photo
10.6 ∆E
11.8 ∆E
11.9 ∆E
10 ∆E
11.3 ∆E
7.9 ∆E
11.6 ∆E
13 ∆E
12 ∆E
2.3 ∆E
6.2 ∆E
7.9 ∆E
7.9 ∆E
10.1 ∆E
10.5 ∆E
4.2 ∆E
7.2 ∆E
3.8 ∆E
2.3 ∆E
7.4 ∆E
6.3 ∆E
4 ∆E
7.8 ∆E
6.1 ∆E
ColorChecker Motorola Moto E6 Plus: 8.1 ∆E min: 2.3 - max: 12.97 ∆E
A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail
A photo of our test chart at 1 lux
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

Accessories & Warranty

Motorola includes not only a charger and a corresponding USB cable in the box but also a protective cover and headphones in some countries. Our review unit arrived with the latter two, for reference. As we mentioned earlier, Motorola included a micro SIM card adapter too.

The E6 Plus comes with 24 months' warranty. However, Motorola affords 12 months' warranty for the charger, USB cable and battery. Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies and Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

Motorola preinstalls Google GBoard as the default keyboard on the E6 Plus. The device supports face recognition using its front-facing camera and has a fingerprint scanner for biometric authentication. Both worked well during our tests.

Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode

Display - An excellent contrast ratio, but too cool for our liking

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The E6 Plus has a larger display than its predecessor, despite its smaller dimensions. Its aspect ratio has also changed from 2:1 to 19.5:9, but it remains a 720p panel. Videos now play without being flanked by black bars, which is a nice change from the E5 Plus. The E6 Plus only supports DRM Widevine Level 3, so it cannot stream DRM-protected content from the likes of Amazon Prime and Netflix in HD.

Disappointingly, the E6 Plus has a dimmer display than its predecessor. Its average peak luminosity is around 9% lower than that of the E5 Plus, while it is only brighter than the Xiaomi Mi A3 of our comparison devices. However, it has a substantially lower black level, which allows the E6 Plus to achieve an excellent 3,236:1 contrast ratio. While this value is higher than the contrast ratios of all our comparison devices, the Sony Xperia L3 offers the best balance between brightness, contrast and colour accuracy.

427
cd/m²
459
cd/m²
465
cd/m²
425
cd/m²
453
cd/m²
448
cd/m²
400
cd/m²
444
cd/m²
435
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 465 cd/m² Average: 439.6 cd/m² Minimum: 9.56 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 86 %
Center on Battery: 453 cd/m²
Contrast: 3236:1 (Black: 0.14 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 7.2 | 0.6-29.43 Ø6
ΔE Greyscale 8.4 | 0.64-98 Ø6.2
93.1% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 1.95
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
IPS, 1560x720, 6.1
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
IPS, 1440x720, 6
LG K40
IPS, 1440x720, 5.7
Sony Xperia L3
IPS, 1440x720, 5.7
TP-Link Neffos X20
IPS, 1520x720, 6.26
Xiaomi Mi A3
AMOLED, 1560x720, 6.09
Screen
-57%
-18%
16%
-23%
3%
Brightness middle
453
518
14%
475
5%
533
18%
470
4%
348
-23%
Brightness
440
481
9%
467
6%
533
21%
455
3%
355
-19%
Brightness Distribution
86
87
1%
90
5%
89
3%
93
8%
91
6%
Black Level *
0.14
0.85
-507%
0.32
-129%
0.25
-79%
0.41
-193%
Contrast
3236
609
-81%
1484
-54%
2132
-34%
1146
-65%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
7.2
4.47
38%
5.95
17%
2.8
61%
6
17%
5.86
19%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
12.7
8.04
37%
12.62
1%
5.1
60%
10.1
20%
15.6
-23%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
8.4
5.4
36%
7.9
6%
1.9
77%
6.3
25%
3.6
57%
Gamma
1.95 113%
2.318 95%
2.331 94%
2.11 104%
2.06 107%
2.232 99%
CCT
8296 78%
7134 91%
8202 79%
6149 106%
8064 81%
7051 92%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9266 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

One area that the E6 Plus struggles in is colour accuracy. Our spectrophotometer and CalMAN analysis software demonstrate that our review unit has comparatively high colour deviations. Its ColorChecker variation of 7.2 is particularly troublesome, as it yields a colour temperature of 8,300 K that makes the display look overly cool.

Motorola includes a blue-light filter within the system settings, which can combat against the excessive blue tones that the display produces. Its intensity can be adjusted too.

CalMAN: Colour space - sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour space - sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour accuracy - sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour accuracy - sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale - sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Grayscale - sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - sRGB target colour space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation - sRGB target colour space

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
26 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 12.8 ms rise
↘ 13.2 ms fall
The screen shows relatively slow response rates in our tests and may be too slow for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 47 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is similar to the average of all tested devices (24.9 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
53.6 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 29.2 ms rise
↘ 24.4 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 88 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (39.6 ms).

The display has a glossy finish, so you must put up with reflections when using the device under bright lights or on a sunny day. However, we encountered no readability issues when using the device outside in October, nor did we notice any brightness or colour distortions at acute viewing angles.

Viewing angles
Viewing angles
Using the Moto E6 Plus outdoors
Using the Moto E6 Plus outdoors

Performance - In a word: weak

MediaTek released the Helio P22 MT6762 last year, so it has already appeared several times in our offices. The SoC integrates eight ARM Cortex-A53 cores on a big.LITTLE architecture, along with a PowerVR GE8320 GPU among other components.

Our benchmark results generally represent the relative performance of the SoCs in our comparison devices. The Xiaomi Mi A3 and its Snapdragon 665 regularly take first place, for instance, while Helio P22 MT6762-powered devices occupy the midfield. Meanwhile, the E5 Plus and the Snapdragon 425 fall to the bottom of the pack.

In practice, the E6 Plus often feels sluggish, especially when scrolling or switching between apps.

Geekbench 4.4
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
2166 Points ∼42%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
1380 Points ∼27% -36%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
2638 Points ∼51% +22%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
5144 Points ∼100% +137%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (2166 - 3015, n=6)
2664 Points ∼52% +23%
Average of class Smartphone
  (663 - 21070, n=325)
4691 Points ∼91% +117%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
3369 Points ∼59%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
883 Points ∼16% -74%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
3375 Points ∼60% 0%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
5663 Points ∼100% +68%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (3300 - 3660, n=7)
3468 Points ∼61% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (883 - 11598, n=384)
4726 Points ∼83% +40%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
780 Points ∼51%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
541 Points ∼35% -31%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
758 Points ∼49% -3%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
Points ∼0% -100%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1536 Points ∼100% +97%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (749 - 824, n=7)
778 Points ∼51% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (390 - 4824, n=384)
1426 Points ∼93% +83%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
5237 Points ∼82%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
2829 Points ∼44% -46%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
3805 Points ∼59% -27%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
4912 Points ∼77% -6%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
4777 Points ∼75% -9%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
6396 Points ∼100% +22%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (3805 - 5237, n=9)
4644 Points ∼73% -11%
Average of class Smartphone
  (2630 - 11440, n=387)
5331 Points ∼83% +2%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
6922 Points ∼87%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
3681 Points ∼46% -47%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
4404 Points ∼55% -36%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
6385 Points ∼80% -8%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
7984 Points ∼100% +15%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (4404 - 6922, n=9)
5891 Points ∼74% -15%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1077 - 14946, n=555)
5782 Points ∼72% -16%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
Points ∼0%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
Points ∼0%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2300 Points ∼86%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
 
2149 Points ∼80%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1740 - 15735, n=67)
2678 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
Points ∼0%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
Points ∼0%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
908 Points ∼33%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
 
341 Points ∼12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (203 - 14536, n=67)
2745 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (Vulkan) Unlimited (sort by value)
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
Points ∼0%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
Points ∼0%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1049 Points ∼42%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
 
419 Points ∼17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (253 - 14786, n=67)
2496 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1183 Points ∼50%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
912 Points ∼38% -23%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
980 Points ∼41% -17%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
787 Points ∼33% -33%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2387 Points ∼100% +102%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (912 - 1183, n=8)
992 Points ∼42% -16%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 4683, n=395)
1979 Points ∼83% +67%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
449 Points ∼25%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
431 Points ∼24% -4%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
391 Points ∼22% -13%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
253 Points ∼14% -44%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
987 Points ∼55% +120%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (376 - 449, n=8)
420 Points ∼23% -6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (75 - 8374, n=395)
1788 Points ∼100% +298%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
521 Points ∼31%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
488 Points ∼29% -6%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
451 Points ∼27% -13%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
298 Points ∼18% -43%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1135 Points ∼68% +118%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (435 - 521, n=8)
481 Points ∼29% -8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (93 - 6916, n=396)
1659 Points ∼100% +218%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1195 Points ∼51%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
375 Points ∼16% -69%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
912 Points ∼39% -24%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
987 Points ∼42% -17%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
798 Points ∼34% -33%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2343 Points ∼100% +96%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (900 - 1195, n=9)
987 Points ∼42% -17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 4703, n=423)
1891 Points ∼81% +58%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
740 Points ∼31%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
248 Points ∼10% -66%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
695 Points ∼29% -6%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
663 Points ∼28% -10%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
458 Points ∼19% -38%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1674 Points ∼70% +126%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (452 - 740, n=9)
665 Points ∼28% -10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (70 - 20154, n=423)
2388 Points ∼100% +223%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
808 Points ∼40%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
268 Points ∼13% -67%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
734 Points ∼37% -9%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
715 Points ∼36% -12%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
506 Points ∼25% -37%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1787 Points ∼89% +121%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (513 - 808, n=9)
715 Points ∼36% -12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (88 - 10427, n=423)
2004 Points ∼100% +148%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1130 Points ∼46%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
881 Points ∼36% -22%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
998 Points ∼40% -12%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
777 Points ∼31% -31%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2477 Points ∼100% +119%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (860 - 1130, n=8)
971 Points ∼39% -14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (486 - 4519, n=475)
1887 Points ∼76% +67%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
392 Points ∼27%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
303 Points ∼20% -23%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
378 Points ∼26% -4%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
216 Points ∼15% -45%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
931 Points ∼63% +138%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (257 - 392, n=8)
328 Points ∼22% -16%
Average of class Smartphone
  (53 - 7150, n=475)
1479 Points ∼100% +277%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
459 Points ∼32%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
355 Points ∼25% -23%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
439 Points ∼31% -4%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
257 Points ∼18% -44%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1081 Points ∼76% +136%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (305 - 459, n=8)
385 Points ∼27% -16%
Average of class Smartphone
  (68 - 6319, n=476)
1423 Points ∼100% +210%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1139 Points ∼46%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
851 Points ∼34% -25%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
912 Points ∼37% -20%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
1026 Points ∼42% -10%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
769 Points ∼31% -32%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2471 Points ∼100% +117%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (854 - 1139, n=9)
979 Points ∼40% -14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (293 - 4540, n=515)
1752 Points ∼71% +54%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
645 Points ∼33%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
55 Points ∼3% -91%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
512 Points ∼26% -21%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
624 Points ∼32% -3%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
414 Points ∼21% -36%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1651 Points ∼85% +156%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (370 - 645, n=9)
523 Points ∼27% -19%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 11302, n=514)
1937 Points ∼100% +200%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
714 Points ∼40%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
69 Points ∼4% -90%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
567 Points ∼32% -21%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
684 Points ∼38% -4%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
461 Points ∼26% -35%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1782 Points ∼100% +150%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (428 - 714, n=9)
582 Points ∼33% -18%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 8165, n=517)
1673 Points ∼94% +134%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
15069 Points ∼77%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
3958 Points ∼20% -74%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
11443 Points ∼59% -24%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
11696 Points ∼60% -22%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
13609 Points ∼70% -10%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
19552 Points ∼100% +30%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (9674 - 15069, n=9)
11940 Points ∼61% -21%
Average of class Smartphone
  (735 - 45072, n=675)
14216 Points ∼73% -6%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
11349 Points ∼45%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
5480 Points ∼22% -52%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
10531 Points ∼42% -7%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
10008 Points ∼40% -12%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
7609 Points ∼30% -33%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
25219 Points ∼100% +122%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (9536 - 11349, n=9)
10461 Points ∼41% -8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (536 - 209204, n=673)
22187 Points ∼88% +95%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
11921 Points ∼50%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
5049 Points ∼21% -58%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
10721 Points ∼45% -10%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
10340 Points ∼44% -13%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
8435 Points ∼36% -29%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
23693 Points ∼100% +99%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (9835 - 11921, n=9)
10713 Points ∼45% -10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (662 - 97276, n=673)
17924 Points ∼76% +50%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
19 fps ∼50%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
7.7 fps ∼20% -59%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
19 fps ∼50% 0%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
14 fps ∼37% -26%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
36 fps ∼94% +89%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (17 - 20, n=8)
19 fps ∼50% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.5 - 322, n=694)
38.1 fps ∼100% +101%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
26 fps ∼50%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
13 fps ∼25% -50%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
26 fps ∼50% 0%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
20 fps ∼38% -23%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
52 fps ∼100% +100%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (24 - 27, n=8)
26 fps ∼50% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1 - 120, n=703)
28.1 fps ∼54% +8%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
9.6 fps ∼44%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
2.8 fps ∼13% -71%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
9.7 fps ∼44% +1%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
6.6 fps ∼30% -31%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
20 fps ∼91% +108%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (9.1 - 10, n=8)
9.64 fps ∼44% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.8 - 175, n=600)
21.9 fps ∼100% +128%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
16 fps ∼47%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
5.6 fps ∼16% -65%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
16 fps ∼47% 0%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
12 fps ∼35% -25%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
34 fps ∼100% +113%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (15 - 17, n=8)
16.5 fps ∼49% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.2 - 115, n=609)
19.4 fps ∼57% +21%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
6.1 fps ∼34%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
6 fps ∼34% -2%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
4.3 fps ∼24% -30%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
13 fps ∼73% +113%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (4.6 - 6.2, n=8)
5.85 fps ∼33% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.87 - 117, n=466)
17.9 fps ∼100% +193%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
11 fps ∼42%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
11 fps ∼42% 0%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
8.1 fps ∼31% -26%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
26 fps ∼100% +136%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (10 - 11, n=8)
10.6 fps ∼41% -4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.2 - 110, n=468)
16.7 fps ∼64% +52%
GFXBench
Aztec Ruins High Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
4.2 fps ∼42%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
4.3 fps ∼43% +2%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
2.8 fps ∼28% -33%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
9.1 fps ∼91% +117%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (4.1 - 4.3, n=8)
4.25 fps ∼43% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.61 - 60, n=188)
10 fps ∼100% +138%
2560x1440 Aztec Ruins High Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1.4 fps ∼20%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1.3 fps ∼19% -7%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
0.84 fps ∼12% -40%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2.8 fps ∼40% +100%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (1.3 - 1.6, n=8)
1.388 fps ∼20% -1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.21 - 33, n=187)
7 fps ∼100% +400%
Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
6.7 fps ∼45%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
6.8 fps ∼45% +1%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
4.4 fps ∼29% -34%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
15 fps ∼100% +124%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (6.7 - 6.8, n=8)
6.78 fps ∼45% +1%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.4 - 60, n=192)
14.7 fps ∼98% +119%
1920x1080 Aztec Ruins Normal Tier Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
3.7 fps ∼22%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
3.7 fps ∼22% 0%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
2.3 fps ∼14% -38%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
8.4 fps ∼51% +127%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (3.5 - 4.7, n=8)
3.78 fps ∼23% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.6 - 87, n=192)
16.5 fps ∼100% +346%
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
2.5 fps ∼20%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
2.8 fps ∼23% +12%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
2 fps ∼16% -20%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
7.1 fps ∼58% +184%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (2.1 - 2.9, n=8)
2.68 fps ∼22% +7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (0.6 - 73, n=391)
12.2 fps ∼100% +388%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
4.3 fps ∼33%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
4 fps ∼31% -7%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
fps ∼0% -100%
TP-Link Neffos X20
Mediatek Helio A22 MT6761, PowerVR GE8300, 2048
1.5 fps ∼12% -65%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
13 fps ∼100% +202%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (3.8 - 5.1, n=8)
4.44 fps ∼34% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.1 - 60, n=395)
10.9 fps ∼84% +153%
AnTuTu v7 - Total Score (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
88242 Points ∼61%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
46450 Points ∼32% -47%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
71347 Points ∼50% -19%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
77798 Points ∼54% -12%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
140633 Points ∼98% +59%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (71347 - 88242, n=9)
76135 Points ∼53% -14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (17073 - 462516, n=297)
143675 Points ∼100% +63%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
835 Points ∼60%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
664 Points ∼47% -20%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
776 Points ∼55% -7%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
776 Points ∼55% -7%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1400 Points ∼100% +68%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (10 - 835, n=8)
578 Points ∼41% -31%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 9387, n=635)
773 Points ∼55% -7%
Graphics (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
771 Points ∼37%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
433 Points ∼21% -44%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
767 Points ∼37% -1%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
760 Points ∼37% -1%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
1886 Points ∼91% +145%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (744 - 799, n=8)
769 Points ∼37% 0%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 16996, n=635)
2070 Points ∼100% +168%
Memory (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
782 Points ∼25%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
794 Points ∼25% +2%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
690 Points ∼22% -12%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
1247 Points ∼39% +59%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
3174 Points ∼100% +306%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (661 - 1247, n=8)
928 Points ∼29% +19%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 7500, n=635)
1530 Points ∼48% +96%
System (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
2211 Points ∼43%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
1245 Points ∼24% -44%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
2195 Points ∼43% -1%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
2517 Points ∼49% +14%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
5089 Points ∼100% +130%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (2165 - 2619, n=8)
2343 Points ∼46% +6%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 14189, n=635)
2994 Points ∼59% +35%
Overall (sort by value)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
1027 Points ∼40%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 3072
730 Points ∼29% -29%
LG K40
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 2048
975 Points ∼38% -5%
Sony Xperia L3
Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762, PowerVR GE8320, 3072
1166 Points ∼46% +14%
Xiaomi Mi A3
Qualcomm Snapdragon 665, Adreno 610, 4096
2556 Points ∼100% +149%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
  (323 - 1166, n=8)
896 Points ∼35% -13%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1 - 6097, n=635)
1501 Points ∼59% +46%

Even long webpages do not run smoothly, while we occasionally had to wait for images to load. Our browser benchmark comparison tables also reflect our CPU benchmark results. While the E6 Plus cannot match the Xiaomi Mi A3 here, it fares much better than the E5 Plus does.

Jetstream 2 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (9.13 - 133, n=106)
35.7 Points ∼100% +158%
Xiaomi Mi A3 (Chrome 76)
30.692 Points ∼86% +122%
Motorola Moto E6 Plus (Chrome 77)
13.85 Points ∼39%
Sony Xperia L3 (Chrome 72)
13.684 Points ∼38% -1%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762 (12.9 - 13.9, n=3)
13.5 Points ∼38% -3%
WebXPRT 3 - ---
Average of class Smartphone (19 - 184, n=163)
66.7 Points ∼100% +147%
Xiaomi Mi A3 (Chrome 76)
58 Points ∼87% +115%
Sony Xperia L3 (Chrome 72)
30 Points ∼45% +11%
LG K40 (Chrome 74)
29 Points ∼43% +7%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762 (26 - 30, n=7)
28.6 Points ∼43% +6%
Motorola Moto E6 Plus (Chrome 77)
27 Points ∼40%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Xiaomi Mi A3 (Chrome 76)
9260 Points ∼100% +123%
Average of class Smartphone (894 - 49388, n=691)
6771 Points ∼73% +63%
Sony Xperia L3 (Chrome 72)
4422 Points ∼48% +6%
LG K40 (Chrome 74)
4197 Points ∼45% +1%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762 (3312 - 4508, n=9)
4166 Points ∼45% 0%
Motorola Moto E6 Plus (Chrome 77)
4158 Points ∼45%
Motorola Moto E5 Plus (Chrome 70)
3250 Points ∼35% -22%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Motorola Moto E5 Plus (Chrome 70)
12723 ms * ∼100% -13%
LG K40 (Chrome 74)
11955 ms * ∼94% -6%
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762 (10846 - 12799, n=9)
11753 ms * ∼92% -4%
Motorola Moto E6 Plus (Chrome 77)
11272.6 ms * ∼89%
Sony Xperia L3 (Chrome 72)
11184.8 ms * ∼88% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (571 - 59466, n=716)
10543 ms * ∼83% +6%
Xiaomi Mi A3 (Chrome 76)
4583.8 ms * ∼36% +59%

* ... smaller is better

The E6 Plus supports up to 512-GB microSD cards, which is handy if you need more storage. The device can format microSD cards as internal storage too, but it does not support exFAT. Incidentally, the default camera app allows you to save photos to either the internal storage or a microSD card.

While our review unit and all but the Xiaomi Mi A3 of our comparison devices have fast microSD card readers, only the Xiaomi shone in AndroBench's internal storage benchmarks. By contrast, the E6 Plus and our other comparison devices achieved only just about passable transfer speeds.

Motorola Moto E6 PlusMotorola Moto E5 PlusLG K40Sony Xperia L3TP-Link Neffos X20Xiaomi Mi A3Average 32 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
40%
-14%
-13%
-17%
133%
-16%
-7%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
62.35 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
60.68 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-3%
57.4 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-8%
61.67 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-1%
63.02 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
1%
50.1 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-20%
50.4 (3.4 - 87.1, n=142)
-19%
49.2 (1.7 - 87.1, n=428)
-21%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
82.54 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
83.87 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
2%
77.59 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-6%
80.91 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-2%
82.64 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
0%
67.8 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-18%
69.1 (8.2 - 96.5, n=142)
-16%
67.5 (8.1 - 96.5, n=428)
-18%
Random Write 4KB
17.41
56.14
222%
10
-43%
16.36
-6%
8.65
-50%
117.4
574%
18.2 (0.75 - 77.3, n=185)
5%
22.3 (0.14 - 250, n=751)
28%
Random Read 4KB
61.71
62.71
2%
52.6
-15%
28.83
-53%
39.39
-36%
126.9
106%
39 (3.59 - 117, n=185)
-37%
47.6 (1.59 - 196, n=751)
-23%
Sequential Write 256KB
106.09
137.89
30%
100.5
-5%
87.52
-18%
90.58
-15%
184
73%
93.9 (14.8 - 189, n=185)
-11%
97.4 (2.99 - 590, n=751)
-8%
Sequential Read 256KB
277.67
248.49
-11%
261.7
-6%
290.89
5%
279.01
0%
502.2
81%
236 (25.8 - 452, n=185)
-15%
275 (12.1 - 1504, n=751)
-1%

Games - At a low level

The PowerVR GE8320 can clock at up to 650 MHz and is only powerful enough for some light gaming. Even graphically undemanding games like Badminton League and Super Mario Run push the GPU to its limits, so do not expect complex titles to run well if at all.

The E6 Plus does not support the Vulkan API, for reference. Its touchscreen and sensors worked well during our gaming tests, which we verified by playing Temple Run. However, the lack of sensors proved to be a limiting factor. Harry Potter Wizards Unite, for example, would not install as it requires a compass and gyroscope, neither of which the E6 Plus has. Moreover, Pokémon Go stops long before we reach the end of the 2,500 entries in the Pokédex. The 4 GB variant of the E6 Plus may have no issue with this, though.

Badminton League
Badminton League
Super Mario Run
Super Mario Run
Temple Run
Temple Run

Emissions - Low thermals & a mono speaker


Temperature

The E6 Plus hardly heats up even under sustained load. Our review unit reached 35.1 °C at its warmest point during our tests, which is not overly warm. In short, the E6 Plus should never feel too hot to hold, even during prolonged gaming sessions.

Max. Load
 32.5 °C
91 F
32.4 °C
90 F
33.8 °C
93 F
 
 32.2 °C
90 F
32.3 °C
90 F
33.4 °C
92 F
 
 31.5 °C
89 F
31.7 °C
89 F
35.1 °C
95 F
 
Maximum: 35.1 °C = 95 F
Average: 32.8 °C = 91 F
30.8 °C
87 F
30.2 °C
86 F
30.5 °C
87 F
30.5 °C
87 F
30.4 °C
87 F
30.6 °C
87 F
30.7 °C
87 F
30.4 °C
87 F
30.2 °C
86 F
Maximum: 30.8 °C = 87 F
Average: 30.5 °C = 87 F
Power Supply (max.)  28 °C = 82 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 32.8 °C / 91 F, compared to the average of 33.1 °C / 92 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(+) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 35.1 °C / 95 F, compared to the average of 35.5 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(+) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 30.8 °C / 87 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 31.8 °C / 89 F, compared to the device average of 33.1 °C / 92 F.
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the bottom of the device under load
Heat map of the bottom of the device under load

Speakers

Pink Noise speaker test
Pink Noise speaker test

The mono speaker on the E6 Plus gets surprisingly loud and sounds better than the one in its predecessor. Overall, audio sounds more pleasant coming from the speaker in the E6 Plus than it does from the one in the E5 Plus, despite both struggling to reproduce bass frequencies.

We encountered no issues when using headphones, regardless of whether we connected them via the 3.5 mm jack or Bluetooth.

Motorola has also included an option called BesLoudness, rather than individual audio enhancements. The setting reinforces any sound that is playing, but it failed to convince us during our tests. Rock songs, for example, often sounded overblown with this setting enabled.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2032.233.12536.230.13129.123.1403028.25042.341.66326.824.48020.318.61002522.312517.220.416017.931.420017.133.625017.94331516.250.640016.555.150015.357.963015.664.580015.670.7100014.874.6125014.472.1160014.671.6200014.772.3250014.172.9315014.476.4400014.477.2500014.977.3630014.775.9800014.572.11000014.871.4125001565.91600016.656.9SPL27.185.9N0.962.8median 15median 70.7Delta1.212.330.333.538.128.828.528.831.436.136.63824.629.224.128.720.524.31922.316.924.419.131.316.633.413.936.91544.714.648.912.356.111.86011.865.811.966.411.464.611.264.411.565.511.362.310.959.910.557.410.762.710.669.310.565.810.660.910.648.757.2247610.40.534.3median 11.8median 59.92.212.642.643.240.146.131.232.736.435.740.339.132.231.62526.527.724.623.222.621.822.420.721.51920.819.524.818.633.719.642.620.151.720.262.121.368.716.270.318.669.617.667.916.467.616.865.116.272.316.875.516.97216.670.4186617.960.61744.565.864.130.843.269.830.381.81716.11.43.421.11.445.3median 18.6median 62.1218.3hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseMotorola Moto E6 PlusMotorola Moto E5 PlusLG K40
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Motorola Moto E6 Plus audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (85.9 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 37.1% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | reduced mids - on average 5.3% lower than median
(+) | mids are linear (6.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 4.1% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (2.8% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (24.4% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 51% of all tested devices in this class were better, 10% similar, 40% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 24%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 70% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 24% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Motorola Moto E5 Plus audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (76 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 31.2% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (7.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | reduced mids - on average 6.5% lower than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (8.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 4.1% away from median
(±) | linearity of highs is average (7.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (25.2% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 55% of all tested devices in this class were better, 12% similar, 33% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 24%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 73% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 21% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

LG K40 audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (81.8 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 39.3% lower than median
(+) | bass is linear (3.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | reduced mids - on average 10.8% lower than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (13.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 7.7% higher than median
(±) | linearity of highs is average (7.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(-) | overall sound is not linear (39.5% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 98% of all tested devices in this class were better, 1% similar, 1% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 24%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 98% of all tested devices were better, 0% similar, 1% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Power Management - A 3,000 mAh battery with decent runtimes


Power Consumption

The power consumption of the E6 Plus is as comparatively low when idling as it is under load. While the Sony Xperia L3 and TP-Link Neffos X20 are slightly more efficient than our review unit, it consumes less than our other comparison devices.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.01 / 0.06 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 0.57 / 1.69 / 1.72 Watt
Load midlight 3 / 4.88 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
3000 mAh
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
5000 mAh
LG K40
3000 mAh
Sony Xperia L3
3300 mAh
TP-Link Neffos X20
4100 mAh
Xiaomi Mi A3
4030 mAh
Average Mediatek Helio P22 MT6762
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
-14%
-8%
7%
14%
-49%
-6%
-27%
Idle Minimum *
0.57
0.9
-58%
0.68
-19%
0.57
-0%
0.57
-0%
0.8
-40%
0.711 (0.57 - 1, n=9)
-25%
0.882 (0.2 - 3.4, n=780)
-55%
Idle Average *
1.69
1.5
11%
1.53
9%
1.5
11%
1.52
10%
2
-18%
1.589 (1 - 2.4, n=9)
6%
1.74 (0.6 - 6.2, n=779)
-3%
Idle Maximum *
1.72
2
-16%
1.95
-13%
1.51
12%
1.66
3%
3.3
-92%
1.982 (1.51 - 2.9, n=9)
-15%
2.03 (0.74 - 6.6, n=780)
-18%
Load Average *
3
3.2
-7%
3.5
-17%
3.09
-3%
2.34
22%
4.1
-37%
3.05 (2.18 - 4, n=9)
-2%
4.07 (0.8 - 10.8, n=774)
-36%
Load Maximum *
4.88
4.9
-0%
4.9
-0%
4.15
15%
3.16
35%
7.7
-58%
4.65 (3.43 - 5.9, n=9)
5%
5.91 (1.2 - 14.2, n=774)
-21%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

Motorola equips the E6 Plus with a 3,000 mAh battery. As we mentioned at the start of the review, the device has a 2,000-mAh smaller capacity than its predecessor, but it still fared well in our practical Wi-Fi battery life test. While the E6 Plus cannot match its predecessor's runtime of 17:58 hours, it lasted a respectable 13:45 hours. Only the Xiaomi Mi A3 lasted longer than the E6 Plus of our other comparison devices, despite the Sony Xperia L3 and TP-Link Neffos X20 having larger batteries than our review unit.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
13h 45min
Motorola Moto E6 Plus
3000 mAh
Motorola Moto E5 Plus
5000 mAh
LG K40
3000 mAh
Sony Xperia L3
3300 mAh
TP-Link Neffos X20
4100 mAh
Xiaomi Mi A3
4030 mAh
Battery Runtime
31%
-10%
-22%
-18%
19%
Reader / Idle
2127
1724
WiFi v1.3
825
1078
31%
745
-10%
641
-22%
674
-18%
985
19%
Load
242
297
H.264
750
1023

Pros

+ good battery life
+ replaceable battery
+ dual-SIM
+ dedicated microSD card slot
+ supports up to 512-GB microSD cards
+ affordable
+ protective case included in the box

Cons

- weak CPU performance
- weak Wi-Fi performance
- comparatively few LTE bands supported
- no Android 10 at the time of writing
- mono speaker

Verdict

Motorola Moto E6 Plus smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Motorola Germany.
Motorola Moto E6 Plus smartphone review. Test device courtesy of Motorola Germany.

While the Motorola Moto E6 Plus has a decent display and battery life, its performance leaves a lot to be desired. The latter is a problem for all but one of our comparison devices too, though.

The E6 Plus is a mixed upgrade over its predecessor too. While, black bars no longer letterbox videos as they do on the E5 Plus, Motorola has equipped the E6 Plus with a substantially smaller battery. Our review unit still held up well in our battery life tests though, even if it could not match the longevity of the E5 Plus or Xiaomi Mi A3.

The Motorola Moto E6 Plus has many positives, but its performance is too weak for us to be able to recommend it in good conscience.

The additional 2 GB of RAM that the 4 GB variant offers may resolve some of the issues that affected our review unit. However, it will not make the MediaTek Helio P22 MT6762 any more powerful, so we would recommend taking a look at the Xiaomi Mi A3 instead if you are interested in an affordable mid-range handset.

Motorola Moto E6 Plus - 10/30/2019 v7
Inge Schwabe

Chassis
82%
Keyboard
65 / 75 → 87%
Pointing Device
84%
Connectivity
40 / 70 → 56%
Weight
92%
Battery
90%
Display
81%
Games Performance
6 / 64 → 9%
Application Performance
43 / 86 → 50%
Temperature
92%
Noise
100%
Audio
74 / 90 → 82%
Camera
51%
Average
69%
75%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 2 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Motorola Moto E6 Plus Smartphone Review: The battery rocks, but the performance sucks
Inge Schwabe, 2019-11- 1 (Update: 2019-11- 3)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor - @aldersonaj
Prior to writing and translating for Notebookcheck, I worked for various companies including Apple and Neowin. I have a BA in International History and Politics from the University of Leeds, which I have since converted to a Law Degree. Happy to chat on Twitter or Notebookchat.