Notebookcheck

Cubot J3 Pro Smartphone Review

Florian Schmitt, 👁 Florian Schmitt (translated by Alex Alderson), 04/10/2019

Go Pro. The Cubot J3 Pro is another entry-level smartphone by the Chinese manufacturer. Can the “Pro” model succeed where its smaller sibling fell short? Read on to find out what the added Pro moniker brings and whether the J3 Pro can better challenge its budget competitors than the J3 could.

Cubot J3 Pro

The J3 series is currently some of the cheapest smartphones that Cubot sells. The series starts at around 70 Euros (~$79) with the J3, of which we were largely scathing in our recent review. The J3 Pro is its larger and more powerful sibling with its 5.5-inch 2:1 display, its fingerprint sensor and its MediaTek MT6739 SoC. The device has dual rear-facing cameras too, which theoretically should capture images in greater depth and detail than the J3 could.

Correspondingly, the J3 Pro costs slightly more than the J3 at 99 Euros (~$112), but third-party sellers are already charging less for the budget smartphone. We have chosen to compare the J3 Pro against other comparably sized and priced entry-level devices including the Blackview A20, the Nokia 2.1 and the slightly more expensive Wiko View Lite.

Cubot J3 Pro
Graphics adapter
Memory
1024 MB 
Display
5.5 inch 18:9, 960 x 480 pixel 195 PPI, capacitive touchscreen, IPS, glossy: yes
Storage
16 GB eMMC Flash, 16 GB 
, 12.5 GB free
Connections
1 USB 2.0, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm headphone jack, Card Reader: up to 128 GB microSD cards, 1 Fingerprint Reader, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Accelerometer, proximity sensor
Networking
802.11 b/g/n (b/g/n), Bluetooth 4.0, 2G: 850, 900, 1,800, 1,900. 3G: B1, B8. 4G: B1, B3, B7, B8, B20., Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 8.8 x 150.3 x 72 ( = 0.35 x 5.92 x 2.83 in)
Battery
10.6 Wh, 2800 mAh Lithium-Ion
Operating System
Android 8.1 Oreo
Camera
Primary Camera: 13 MPix , contrast AF, LED Flash. 2.0 MP depth of field secondary sensor
Secondary Camera: 5 MPix
Additional features
Speakers: Mono speaker on the underside of the device, Keyboard: virtual keyboard, Charger, USB cable, SIM tool, silicone case, SAR values: Body – 1.582 W/kg, Head - 0.356 W/kg. LTE Cat. 6: 300 MBit/s download and 50 MBit/s upload speeds, fanless
Weight
175 g ( = 6.17 oz / 0.39 pounds), Power Supply: 52 g ( = 1.83 oz / 0.11 pounds)
Price
99 Euro
Note: The manufacturer may use components from different suppliers including display panels, drives or memory sticks with similar specifications.

 

Case

The J3 Pro has basically the same design as the J3 except for the inclusion of a fingerprint sensor and a larger rear-facing camera housing. The back is removable and made from plastic as with the J3. The case has a glossy finish like its sibling’s too but comes in grey along with the same shades of black and blue in which Cubot sells the J3. The Chinese manufacturer has also included some chrome-coloured detailing that the J3 lacks, which makes the J3 Pro look slightly more expensive in our opinion. Its 2:1 aspect ratio display also gives the J3 Pro a more modern look than many of competitors that have 16:9 displays with thick side bezels. The J3 Pro has comparatively thin side bezels, but they are nowhere near as thin as Cubot’s marketing images suggest. You can see what the J3 Pro’s display looks like in reality by jumping to the bottom of the Display section.

However, our review unit also feels just as cheap as its sibling and audibly creaks when we try to twist it. Likewise, we can easily make the display deform by applying pressure with our hands. A lack of structural stability often comes with devices that have removable backs as they tend to be made from plastic, which is easier to remove and reapply than a metal or glass back would. The back case is relatively easy to remove too and gives access to the battery along with the two SIM slots and the microSD slot.

The J3 Pro is comparatively heavy at 175 g despite its plastic build and compact footprint. It is marginally heavier than the Blackview A20 and Nokia 2.1 but over 30 g heavier than the Wiko View Lite, which is not overly svelte itself.

Size Comparison

153.6 mm / 6.05 inch 77.6 mm / 3.06 inch 9.7 mm / 0.3819 inch 174 g0.3836 lbs150.3 mm / 5.92 inch 72 mm / 2.83 inch 8.8 mm / 0.3465 inch 175 g0.3858 lbs149.4 mm / 5.88 inch 70.7 mm / 2.78 inch 8.5 mm / 0.3346 inch 147 g0.3241 lbs146.7 mm / 5.78 inch 70.7 mm / 2.78 inch 9.6 mm / 0.378 inch 170 g0.3748 lbs

Connectivity

The J3 Pro also has 1 GB of RAM and 16 GB of internal storage like its sibling, which currently represents the midrange of entry-level devices. There are still many OEMs that choose to equip their budget smartphones with 8 GB of storage but increasingly we are seeing 32 GB, previously the staple of midrange devices, filter down to some budget models.

Cubot equips the J3 Pro with a dedicated microSD card slot and two SIM card slots, which is always nice to see and does not force end users to choose between dual-SIM functionality and microSD card expansion as hybrid SIM card slots do. Unfortunately, there is no Widevine DRM certification, so you must make do with streaming content from DRM-protected services like Amazon Prime Video and Netflix in standard definition rather than in HD. The J3 Pro only has a 480p display anyway, about which we will go into more depth in the Display section of this review so you would not be able to notice the difference anyhow.

Software

The J3 Pro ships with Android 8.1 Oreo Go Edition at the time of writing, which is a stripped-back version of stock Android that Google has designed to run on entry-level smartphones. Android Go takes up to half the storage that stock Android does, which Google has achieved by replacing its standard preinstalled apps with web wrappers. Google Maps, for example, is just a link to the service running on Chrome. There is no bloatware either besides Google apps, which we always welcome.

Our review unit had around 12 GB of storage free upon delivery with the remainder being taken up by the OS. Our review unit had hopelessly outdated security patches installed at the time of testing though, which dated from August 2018. We do not know if or when Cubot plans to update these.

Default home screen
Default home screen
A look at some of the Android Go apps
A look at some of the Android Go apps
Device information
Device information

Communication & GPS

One major gripe with the J3 was its lack of LTE. Thankfully, that is not the case with the J3 Pro, which utilises LTE Cat. 6 for up to 300 Mb/s download and 50 Mb/s upload speeds. The device supports enough LTE bands for use in Western Europe too, although it will struggle to connect to LTE networks outside of that small area. Our review unit has mediocre network reception when being used inside buildings just like its sibling too.

Another win for the J3 Pro is its ability to connect to 5 GHz Wi-Fi networks, which the J3 and many other budget smartphones lack. Our review unit achieves almost the same transfer speeds in iperf3 Client Wi-Fi tests that its sibling did though. While these speeds place the J3 Pro above our comparison devices, you may notice some speed limitations if you are connected to a fast Wi-Fi network.

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.9 - 939, n=381)
221 MBit/s ∼100% +262%
Cubot J3 Pro
PowerVR GE8100, MT6739, 16 GB eMMC Flash
61 (min: 44, max: 62) MBit/s ∼28%
Nokia 2.1
Adreno 308, 425, 8 GB eMMC Flash
48.7 (min: 29, max: 54) MBit/s ∼22% -20%
Blackview A20
Mali-400 MP2, MT6580M, 8 GB eMMC Flash
44.4 MBit/s ∼20% -27%
Wiko View Lite
PowerVR GE8100, MT6739, 16 GB eMMC Flash
5.9 MBit/s ∼3% -90%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.4 - 703, n=381)
212 MBit/s ∼100% +298%
Cubot J3 Pro
PowerVR GE8100, MT6739, 16 GB eMMC Flash
53.3 (min: 49, max: 59) MBit/s ∼25%
Nokia 2.1
Adreno 308, 425, 8 GB eMMC Flash
52.7 (min: 27, max: 58) MBit/s ∼25% -1%
Blackview A20
Mali-400 MP2, MT6580M, 8 GB eMMC Flash
46 MBit/s ∼22% -14%
Wiko View Lite
PowerVR GE8100, MT6739, 16 GB eMMC Flash
9.4 MBit/s ∼4% -82%
010203040506070Tooltip
; iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø56.9 (44-62)
; iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10; iperf 3.1.3: Ø53.3 (49-59)
GPS Test: Indoors
GPS Test: Indoors
GPS Test: Outdoors
GPS Test: Outdoors

Our review unit cannot locate us indoors, but it can find a satellite fix with up to three metres accuracy when tested outdoors. This is fairly standard for a budget smartphone and is nothing about which we could have any complaints.

We also took our review unit on a bike ride to test its location accuracy against our weathered Garmin Edge 520. The J3 Pro behaves much like its sibling and hardly ever plotted our route accurately as demonstrated by the screenshots below. The device even had us apparently cycling across water, such is its inability to keep up with us. In short, we would only recommend using the J3 Pro for an approximate location because it is too inaccurate to provide precise location data.

GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Overview
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Loop
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Loop
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Bridge
GPS Test: Garmin Edge 520 - Bridge
GPS Test: Cubot J3 Pro - Overview
GPS Test: Cubot J3 Pro - Overview
GPS Test: Cubot J3 Pro - Loop
GPS Test: Cubot J3 Pro - Loop
GPS Test: Cubot J3 Pro - Bridge
GPS Test: Cubot J3 Pro - Bridge

Telephone Features & Call Quality

Our review unit has the default Android Go phone app installed. The app works as expected and is just as intuitive as it is on other devices running Android Go that we have tested.

The J3 Pro has acceptable call quality, although its microphone occasionally struggles to filter out background noise. The speakerphone is not much better either and made our call partner’s voice sound thin and high-pitched. Likewise, they also reported ours as sounding rather booming, which suggests that the microphone has trouble regulating the volume of our voice properly.

Cameras

Photo taken with the front-facing camera
Photo taken with the front-facing camera

The J3 Pro has dual rear-facing cameras, which is another advantage it has over the J3. However, the secondary sensor only supplies the device with depth of field information and cannot be used independently. The main camera is a 13 MP sensor that takes passable photos in good lighting, although it cannot capture details cleanly. Photos lack detail, which is common for budget devices, but this is only a problem if you look at pictures closely. Moreover, low-light pictures are underexposed and dominated by image noise. The camera adds a noticeable blue tint too, but most of the image is too dark to even notice that this is the case.

The main camera can also only record videos in up to 720p at 30 FPS. Our review unit adapts to changing lighting conditions when shooting videos, but it does it so quickly that it looks jarring when watching recordings back. The sensor lacks dynamic range though, while its autofocus largely provides satisfactory results.

The J3 Pro also has a 5 MP front-facing camera, which is 3 MP less than the sensor that the J3 has. Overall, our review unit takes passable photos, but its dynamic range could be better.

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images

We also subjected our review unit to further camera tests under controlled lighting conditions, which confirmed our initial impressions. The main camera cannot reproduce colours accurately and yet does a reasonable job at capturing our test chart.

A photo of our test chart
A photo of our test chart
Our test chart in detail
Our test chart in detail
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour
ColorChecker Passport: The lower half of each area of colour displays the reference colour

Accessories & Warranty

Cubot includes a charger and a USB cable in the box along with a silicone case. The case is good for protecting the J3 Pro from drops and scrapes, although we found it difficult to remove without removing the back case too. Cubot does not sell any J3 Pro specific accessories or additional batteries on its website, but third-party suppliers do. Please do your research before buying third-party batteries and only do so from retailers that you trust.

The J3 Pro should come with one-year’s manufacturer’s warranty, but the terms of which are unclear. Cubot’s website is written in pidgin English, which makes it improbable to decipher any exclusions that may apply. At any rate, the company states that you would need to send the device to China for a warranty repair, the cost of which may be more expensive than the device itself.

Hence, we would recommend purchasing the J3 Pro from a reputable third-party retailer instead, which should give you more robust warranty coverage that you could rely on. Please see our Guarantees, Return Policies & Warranties FAQ for country-specific information.

Input Devices & Operation

The J3 Pro does not have any of the touchscreen issues that its smaller sibling has. The touchscreen in our review unit remained sensitive into the corners of the display throughout our tests and was a pleasure to use.

Android 8.1 Oreo Go Edition comes with Google Gboard preinstalled as its default keyboard. The keyboard worked just as well on the J3 Pro as it has on other devices that we have tested, except for the J3 of course.

A power button and volume rocker are the J3 Pro’s only hardware buttons, with Android 8.1 Oreo Go Edition utilising capacitive touch buttons instead for navigation. The two hardware buttons have a short stroke and clear pressure points, which is rather good for an entry-level smartphone.

The fingerprint sensor on the back of the device also worked well throughout our tests. The sensor unlocks our review unit from standby without hesitation too.

Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in portrait mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode
Using the default keyboard in landscape mode

Display

Sub-pixel array
Sub-pixel array

The J3 Pro has a 5.5-inch IPS panel that operates natively at 960x480, which puts it on par with many other budget smartphones. Two of our three comparison devices have 720p displays, which is worth bearing in mind if you can notice the difference. Thankfully, Cubot has opted for an IPS panel rather than the dreadful TN-LED panel with which it equips the J3. Please see our corresponding review for our thoughts on the shortcomings of TN LED panels.

Our review unit has a comparatively bright display too, which achieves an average maximum brightness of 459 cd/m² according to X-Rite i1Pro 2. The display is not as bright as the one in the J3, but it is brighter than the displays in the Blackview A20 and Nokia 2.1, putting it second in our comparison table.

439
cd/m²
482
cd/m²
481
cd/m²
426
cd/m²
476
cd/m²
484
cd/m²
426
cd/m²
466
cd/m²
455
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 484 cd/m² Average: 459.4 cd/m² Minimum: 18.46 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 88 %
Center on Battery: 476 cd/m²
Contrast: 635:1 (Black: 0.75 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 8.14 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.1
ΔE Greyscale 12.2 | 0.64-98 Ø6.3
88% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.273
Cubot J3 Pro
IPS, 960x480, 5.5
Blackview A20
IPS, 960x480, 5.5
Nokia 2.1
IPS, 1280x720, 5.5
Wiko View Lite
IPS, 1440x720, 5.45
Screen
-11%
28%
29%
Brightness middle
476
364
-24%
338
-29%
524
10%
Brightness
459
375
-18%
327
-29%
499
9%
Brightness Distribution
88
90
2%
82
-7%
89
1%
Black Level *
0.75
0.71
5%
0.27
64%
0.6
20%
Contrast
635
513
-19%
1252
97%
873
37%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
8.14
10.12
-24%
5.36
34%
4.75
42%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
16.68
19.63
-18%
9.77
41%
8.45
49%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
12.2
11.1
9%
6.2
49%
4.3
65%
Gamma
2.273 97%
2.722 81%
2.345 94%
2.248 98%
CCT
7643 85%
10121 64%
8460 77%
7261 90%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 51 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 9654 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Unfortunately, our review unit has a disappointingly high 0.75 cd/m² black value, which results in a below-average contrast ratio of 635:1. Ideally, we prefer to see contrast ratios of at least 1,000:1 as with the Nokia 2.1, because colours look a bit pale and washed-out, otherwise.

Our spectrophotometer and CalMAN analysis software also showed the display to have a significant purple tint to it, which causes colours to deviate heavily from what they ideally would be. This tint particularly affects bright tones. Positively, the display does not use pulse-width modulation (PWM) to regulate brightness, which makes it suitable for those who have sensitive eyes. We noticed no display flickering during our tests.

CalMAN: Colour Accuracy
CalMAN: Colour Accuracy
CalMAN: Grayscale
CalMAN: Grayscale
CalMAN: Colour Space
CalMAN: Colour Space
CalMAN: Colour Saturation
CalMAN: Colour Saturation

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
30 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 9 ms rise
↘ 21 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 72 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (25.4 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
46 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 11 ms rise
↘ 35 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 71 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (40.5 ms).

The J3 Pro is also usable outdoors thanks to its high maximum display brightness. We found our test device difficult to read outdoors under direct sunlight because of its display’s high reflective finish and weak contrast ratio, but this is the case with most budget smartphones.

The J3 Pro also has decent viewing angles thanks to its IPS panel. We noticed some slight colour shifts during testing, but this did not reduce the readability of the display in daily use.

Viewing angles
Viewing angles
Using the Cubot J3 Pro outside
Using the Cubot J3 Pro outside

Performance

Cubot equips the J3 Pro with the MediaTek MT6739, which is ever so slightly more modern than the SoC in the J3. Correspondingly, the J3 Pro performs better than its smaller sibling in synthetic benchmarks, but it cannot compete with the Nokia 2.1 and its Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 SoC. Interestingly, our review unit achieves considerably lower benchmark scores than what we would have expected from a MediaTek MT6739-powered device. The Wiko View Lite, which is equipped with the same SoC, scores up to 50% more in benchmarks like AnTuTu v6 than the J3 Pro does.

Geekbench 4.3
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
1447 Points ∼33%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
1160 Points ∼26% -20%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
1602 Points ∼36% +11%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
1846 Points ∼42% +28%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
1174 Points ∼26% -19%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (1418 - 1896, n=15)
1617 Points ∼36% +12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1174 - 11598, n=339)
4432 Points ∼100% +206%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
571 Points ∼43%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
427 Points ∼32% -25%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
636 Points ∼48% +11%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
653 Points ∼50% +14%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
437 Points ∼33% -23%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (571 - 675, n=15)
590 Points ∼45% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (437 - 4824, n=340)
1314 Points ∼100% +130%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
2951 Points ∼61%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
3146 Points ∼65% +7%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
3068 Points ∼63% +4%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (2630 - 5377, n=16)
2752 Points ∼57% -7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3227 - 9974, n=333)
4858 Points ∼100% +65%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
3956 Points ∼75%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
2696 Points ∼51% -32%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
Points ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
4310 Points ∼81% +9%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
2695 Points ∼51% -32%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (0 - 4711, n=12)
3134 Points ∼59% -21%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4290 - 13531, n=501)
5292 Points ∼100% +34%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
573 Points ∼32%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
Points ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
642 Points ∼36% +12%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (573 - 677, n=15)
490 Points ∼27% -14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (573 - 4535, n=348)
1791 Points ∼100% +213%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
76 Points ∼5%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
Points ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
98 Points ∼6% +29%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (75 - 189, n=15)
78 Points ∼5% +3%
Average of class Smartphone
  (76 - 8206, n=348)
1531 Points ∼100% +1914%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Unlimited (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
94 Points ∼7%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
Points ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
121 Points ∼8% +29%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (93 - 225, n=15)
95.5 Points ∼7% +2%
Average of class Smartphone
  (94 - 6312, n=351)
1428 Points ∼100% +1419%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
885 Points ∼50%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
636 Points ∼36%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (530 - 698, n=15)
572 Points ∼32%
Average of class Smartphone
  (375 - 4493, n=363)
1768 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited Graphics (sort by value)
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
250 Points ∼12%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
163 Points ∼8%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (131 - 189, n=15)
148 Points ∼7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (131 - 14951, n=363)
2109 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Unlimited (sort by value)
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
297 Points ∼17%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
195 Points ∼11%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (159 - 225, n=15)
176 Points ∼10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (159 - 7980, n=364)
1795 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
486 Points ∼28%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
Points ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
585 Points ∼34% +20%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (486 - 690, n=16)
526 Points ∼30% +8%
Average of class Smartphone
  (486 - 4262, n=422)
1727 Points ∼100% +255%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
65 Points ∼5%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
Points ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
83 Points ∼7% +28%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (65 - 185, n=16)
79.5 Points ∼6% +22%
Average of class Smartphone
  (65 - 6362, n=424)
1269 Points ∼100% +1852%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
80 Points ∼7%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
Points ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
103 Points ∼8% +29%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (80 - 221, n=16)
97.8 Points ∼8% +22%
Average of class Smartphone
  (80 - 5734, n=432)
1215 Points ∼100% +1419%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
892 Points ∼55%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
574 Points ∼35%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (445 - 690, n=15)
561 Points ∼34%
Average of class Smartphone
  (512 - 4240, n=455)
1633 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
46 Points ∼3%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
125 Points ∼7%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (102 - 185, n=15)
128 Points ∼7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (43 - 9983, n=455)
1727 Points ∼100%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
58 Points ∼4%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
151 Points ∼10%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (120 - 211, n=15)
153 Points ∼10%
Average of class Smartphone
  (55 - 7673, n=463)
1482 Points ∼100%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
8980 Points ∼67%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
8200 Points ∼61% -9%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
10427 Points ∼78% +16%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
10197 Points ∼76% +14%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
8093 Points ∼60% -10%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (7103 - 10981, n=15)
9375 Points ∼70% +4%
Average of class Smartphone
  (8253 - 45072, n=617)
13393 Points ∼100% +49%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
2880 Points ∼15%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
2470 Points ∼13% -14%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
5487 Points ∼28% +91%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
3582 Points ∼19% +24%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
2469 Points ∼13% -14%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (2878 - 4346, n=15)
3363 Points ∼17% +17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3585 - 162695, n=617)
19337 Points ∼100% +571%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
3392 Points ∼21%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
2924 Points ∼18% -14%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
6133 Points ∼38% +81%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
4185 Points ∼26% +23%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
2920 Points ∼18% -14%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (3392 - 4339, n=15)
3870 Points ∼24% +14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (4164 - 83518, n=618)
16158 Points ∼100% +376%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
5 fps ∼15%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
4.4 fps ∼13% -12%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
7.6 fps ∼23% +52%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
6 fps ∼18% +20%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
4.4 fps ∼13% -12%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (4.9 - 6.1, n=16)
5.61 fps ∼17% +12%
Average of class Smartphone
  (6 - 251, n=643)
33.7 fps ∼100% +574%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
13 fps ∼49%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
10 fps ∼38% -23%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
14 fps ∼53% +8%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
9.6 fps ∼37% -26%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
11 fps ∼42% -15%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (8.2 - 15, n=16)
9.84 fps ∼37% -24%
Average of class Smartphone
  (9.8 - 120, n=646)
26.3 fps ∼100% +102%
GFXBench 3.0 - on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
8.1 fps ∼47%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
6.1 fps ∼36% -25%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
5.4 fps ∼32% -33%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (4.4 - 10, n=16)
5.61 fps ∼33% -31%
Average of class Smartphone
  (5.4 - 115, n=567)
17.1 fps ∼100% +111%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
1.3 fps ∼8%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
fps ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
1.6 fps ∼10% +23%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (1.3 - 1.7, n=16)
1.494 fps ∼10% +15%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.6 - 88, n=424)
15.3 fps ∼100% +1077%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
4.7 fps ∼32%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
fps ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
3.4 fps ∼23% -28%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (2.6 - 6.7, n=16)
3.51 fps ∼24% -25%
Average of class Smartphone
  (3.4 - 110, n=427)
14.6 fps ∼100% +211%
GFXBench - on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
1.8 fps ∼19%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
fps ∼0% -100%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
1.5 fps ∼16% -17%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (1.1 - 2.6, n=15)
1.553 fps ∼17% -14%
Average of class Smartphone
  (1.6 - 58, n=357)
9.3 fps ∼100% +417%
AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
25012 Points ∼30%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
24802 Points ∼30% -1%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
37484 Points ∼45% +50%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
34225 Points ∼41% +37%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (25012 - 38060, n=13)
33655 Points ∼41% +35%
Average of class Smartphone
  (23275 - 274007, n=449)
82754 Points ∼100% +231%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
597 Points ∼82%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
580 Points ∼80% -3%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
649 Points ∼89% +9%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
10 Points ∼1% -98%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
587 Points ∼81% -2%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (7 - 624, n=15)
165 Points ∼23% -72%
Average of class Smartphone
  (7 - 1731, n=576)
726 Points ∼100% +22%
Graphics (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
150 Points ∼8%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
145 Points ∼8% -3%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
428 Points ∼23% +185%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
186 Points ∼10% +24%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
145 Points ∼8% -3%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (18 - 190, n=15)
161 Points ∼9% +7%
Average of class Smartphone
  (18 - 15969, n=576)
1864 Points ∼100% +1143%
Memory (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
524 Points ∼38%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
376 Points ∼27% -28%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
502 Points ∼36% -4%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
494 Points ∼36% -6%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
266 Points ∼19% -49%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (420 - 1039, n=15)
768 Points ∼55% +47%
Average of class Smartphone
  (21 - 6283, n=576)
1386 Points ∼100% +165%
System (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
1103 Points ∼40%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
969 Points ∼35% -12%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
1228 Points ∼45% +11%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
1342 Points ∼49% +22%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
957 Points ∼35% -13%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (1103 - 1526, n=15)
1294 Points ∼47% +17%
Average of class Smartphone
  (369 - 12202, n=576)
2758 Points ∼100% +150%
Overall (sort by value)
Cubot J3 Pro
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 1024
477 Points ∼35%
Blackview A20
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
418 Points ∼31% -12%
Nokia 2.1
Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 (MSM8917), Adreno 308, 1024
643 Points ∼47% +35%
Wiko View Lite
Mediatek MT6739, PowerVR GE8100, 2048
186 Points ∼14% -61%
Cubot J3
Mediatek MT6580M, Mali-400 MP2, 1024
384 Points ∼28% -19%
Average Mediatek MT6739
  (162 - 637, n=15)
291 Points ∼21% -39%
Average of class Smartphone
  (150 - 6097, n=580)
1367 Points ∼100% +187%

Moreover, we could only get one of our browser benchmarks to run without crashing on our review unit. Incidentally, we could only get Mozilla Kraken 1.1 to run on the J3 too. Again, the J3 Pro scores worse than the Wiko View Lite and the Nokia 2.1, albeit by a smaller margin than in other benchmarks.

Our review unit handles most websites well in daily use. Media content and more complex HTML 5 websites take longer to load though, which makes the J3 Pro feel much slower than more-expensive smartphones.

Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Blackview A20 (Chrome 67)
19213 ms * ∼100% -16%
Cubot J3 Pro (Chrome 73)
16599 ms * ∼86%
Average Mediatek MT6739 (13599 - 18154, n=16)
16427 ms * ∼85% +1%
Wiko View Lite (Chrome 67)
15712.7 ms * ∼82% +5%
Nokia 2.1 (Chrome 70)
13821 ms * ∼72% +17%
Average of class Smartphone (603 - 59466, n=655)
10996 ms * ∼57% +34%

* ... smaller is better

Our review unit has reasonably fast internal storage too that is on par with our comparison devices. We had no issues with its microSD card reader either, which read and wrote to our Toshiba Exceria Pro M501 reference card without issue and quickly, unlike its smaller sibling.

Cubot J3 ProBlackview A20Nokia 2.1Wiko View LiteAverage 16 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
-70%
26%
4%
-25%
35%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
60.1 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
11.2 (Kingston 32GB)
-81%
61.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
3%
61.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
3%
38.1 (6.38 - 65.4, n=123)
-37%
47.9 (9.5 - 87.1, n=382)
-20%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
74.8 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
20.6 (Kingston 32GB)
-72%
79.4 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
6%
80.9 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
8%
56.8 (8.1 - 87.7, n=123)
-24%
66 (8.1 - 96.5, n=382)
-12%
Random Write 4KB
10.1
3.4
-66%
13.45
33%
11.05
9%
7.7 (0.49 - 43.2, n=238)
-24%
19 (0.14 - 250, n=685)
88%
Random Read 4KB
27.2
11.3
-58%
50.46
86%
27.35
1%
20.7 (2.49 - 61.7, n=238)
-24%
43 (1.59 - 174, n=685)
58%
Sequential Write 256KB
47.5
8
-83%
51.18
8%
44.45
-6%
41.7 (8.74 - 97.6, n=238)
-12%
89 (2.99 - 388, n=685)
87%
Sequential Read 256KB
235.6
90.2
-62%
288.26
22%
253.17
7%
162 (9.66 - 294, n=238)
-31%
250 (12.1 - 1468, n=685)
6%

Games

The J3 Pro can play older games like Angry Birds 2 and Temple Run 2, although we occasionally experienced some slowdowns in the former. The integrated PowerVR GE8100 GPU is not powerful enough to handle complex titles though, and the device probably could not even download complex modern games like PUBG Mobile.

Additionally, the touchscreen and associated sensors worked perfectly throughout our gaming tests. We had no issues with either.

Angry Birds 2
Angry Birds 2
Temple Run 2
Temple Run 2

Emissions

Temperature

The J3 Pro’s surface temperatures are a mixed bag. On the one hand, two-thirds of our review unit remain lukewarm even under load. However, several areas exceed 40 °C, with one area reaching a maximum of 43.5 °C, which will feel hot to the touch. Likewise, these areas can exceed 30 °C at idle too. Hence, the J3 Pro should never feel uncomfortable to hold, but it will always feel warm.

Max. Load
 41.1 °C
106 F
31.8 °C
89 F
32.4 °C
90 F
 
 43.1 °C
110 F
31.7 °C
89 F
34 °C
93 F
 
 42.1 °C
108 F
31.3 °C
88 F
32.2 °C
90 F
 
Maximum: 43.1 °C = 110 F
Average: 35.5 °C = 96 F
42.5 °C
109 F
33 °C
91 F
32 °C
90 F
43.5 °C
110 F
33 °C
91 F
32.5 °C
91 F
43.1 °C
110 F
33.1 °C
92 F
32 °C
90 F
Maximum: 43.5 °C = 110 F
Average: 36.1 °C = 97 F
Power Supply (max.)  37.8 °C = 100 F | Room Temperature 21.3 °C = 70 F | Voltcraft IR-260
(±) The average temperature for the upper side under maximal load is 35.5 °C / 96 F, compared to the average of 33 °C / 91 F for the devices in the class Smartphone.
(±) The maximum temperature on the upper side is 43.1 °C / 110 F, compared to the average of 35.5 °C / 96 F, ranging from 22.4 to 51.7 °C for the class Smartphone.
(±) The bottom heats up to a maximum of 43.5 °C / 110 F, compared to the average of 34.1 °C / 93 F
(+) In idle usage, the average temperature for the upper side is 31.1 °C / 88 F, compared to the device average of 33 °C / 91 F.
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the front of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load
Heat map of the back of the device under load

Speakers

Pink noise speaker characteristics
Pink noise speaker characteristics

The J3 Pro has a mono speaker that sits on the underside of the device. The speaker produces almost no bass tones and sounds unbearably shrill at high volumes. In general, the speaker is good enough for occasionally listening to music or watching videos, but nothing more arduous than that.

Connecting headphones or external speakers via the headphone jack or Bluetooth will provide a better listening experience. We had no issues with either during our tests, and both reproduced audio cleanly regardless of what device they were connected to.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2041.639.4254341.73134.132.84040.534.15040.239.66333.929.38023.825.51002626.312528.326.216022.723.720018.722.525018.328.631517.538.740017.148.350017.156.763015.8628001668.6100017.573.312501576.116001671.920001665.9250015.858.7315014.659.4400014.463.8500014.466630014.564800014.564.51000014.559.81250014.760.91600014.755.6SPL61.464.527.980.7N12.318.1142median 16median 59.8Delta211.936.93936.539.637.235.237.640.431.737.123.830.324.43123.626.919.922.623.325.518.43218.238.815.843.414.651.415.556.11360.412.364.112.166.311.964.810.765.510.762.710.55710.353.510.758.810.560.910.563.410.665.810.663.610.564.210.65752.561.424.174.78.214.50.633.2median 11.9median 58.83.410.6hearing rangehide median Pink NoiseCubot J3 ProNokia 2.1
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Cubot J3 Pro audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (80.7 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 32.1% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (7.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 9.2% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (13.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3% away from median
(±) | linearity of highs is average (7.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (29% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 78% of all tested devices in this class were better, 6% similar, 16% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 85% of all tested devices were better, 4% similar, 11% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Nokia 2.1 audio analysis

(±) | speaker loudness is average but good (74.7 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 27.2% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10.4% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(±) | higher mids - on average 5.1% higher than median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7.5% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.7% away from median
(±) | linearity of highs is average (7.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (22% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 28% of all tested devices in this class were better, 10% similar, 62% worse
» The best had a delta of 13%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 55% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 38% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery Life

Power Consumption

The J3 Pro is no power-saving artist, but it does consume less overall than what we would have expected from a MediaTek MT6739-powered device. Our review unit consumes more power than most of our comparison devices though, especially under sustained load.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 0.1 / 0.2 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 1.4 / 1.8 / 2.4 Watt
Load midlight 5.5 / 7.2 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Cubot J3 Pro
2800 mAh
Blackview A20
3000 mAh
Nokia 2.1
4000 mAh
Wiko View Lite
3000 mAh
Average Mediatek MT6739
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
13%
36%
-3%
-4%
20%
Idle Minimum *
1.4
1.1
21%
0.7
50%
1.2
14%
1.522 (0.87 - 2.8, n=16)
-9%
0.883 (0.2 - 3.4, n=714)
37%
Idle Average *
1.8
1.5
17%
1.2
33%
2
-11%
2.17 (1.6 - 3.5, n=16)
-21%
1.735 (0.6 - 6.2, n=713)
4%
Idle Maximum *
2.4
2.3
4%
1.9
21%
3.2
-33%
2.86 (1.68 - 6.3, n=16)
-19%
2.02 (0.74 - 6.6, n=714)
16%
Load Average *
5.5
4.8
13%
3.2
42%
5.2
5%
4.73 (2.8 - 7, n=16)
14%
4.06 (0.8 - 10.8, n=708)
26%
Load Maximum *
7.2
6.5
10%
4.8
33%
6.4
11%
5.99 (3.5 - 11.9, n=16)
17%
5.85 (1.2 - 14.2, n=708)
19%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

Cubot equips the J3 Pro with a 2,800 mAh battery, which is smaller than the batteries in all our comparison devices. Taking its power consumption into account, it should come as no surprise that the J3 Pro needs charging more frequently than our comparison devices do. Our review unit lasted 8:52 hours in our practical Wi-Fi battery life test, so it should survive a full workday too on a single charge. You may even get two days' use between charges too if you use the device sparingly.

Incidentally, our review unit takes just over 2 hours to recharge fully with its included charger.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
8h 52min
Cubot J3 Pro
2800 mAh
Blackview A20
3000 mAh
Nokia 2.1
4000 mAh
Wiko View Lite
3000 mAh
Battery Runtime
5%
52%
20%
Reader / Idle
WiFi v1.3
532
556
5%
809
52%
638
20%
Load

Pros

+ decent battery life for its small battery
+ reliable fingerprint sensor
+ replaceable battery
+ LTE connectivity
+ relatively bright screen

Cons

- meagre mono speaker
- high surface temperatures
- comparatively poor cameras
- inaccurate GPS

Verdict

The Cubot J3 Pro smartphone review.
The Cubot J3 Pro smartphone review.

The Cubot J3 Pro is certainly worth the 30-Euro (~$33) surcharge over the J3. It improves in almost every area that its smaller sibling does not and without any serious shortcomings too. Moreover, it retains the good aspects of the J3 too such as its replaceable battery along with its dedicated dual-SIM and microSD card slots.

The Cubot J3 Pro is a well-equipped budget smartphone with some compromises that are typical for devices at this price.

Our review sample is, therefore, a much more rounded and better-conceived device than its smaller sibling, although it has some drawbacks that are typical of cheap smartphones. Its display is not that colour accurate, for instance, while its mono speaker is nothing to write home about. Likewise, it has higher surface temperatures than many midrange devices, and perhaps most importantly, its SoC and 1 GB of RAM are noticeably underpowered. We are not fans of its plastic case or its inaccurate GPS module either.

If you can live with all these restrictions, then the Cubot J3 Pro is a decent smartphone for the money. You also get some niceties too like a fingerprint sensor and dual rear-facing cameras, which is not always the case with budget smartphones.

Cubot J3 Pro - 04/09/2019 v6
Florian Schmitt

Chassis
62%
Keyboard
65 / 75 → 87%
Pointing Device
81%
Connectivity
36 / 60 → 59%
Weight
90%
Battery
91%
Display
79%
Games Performance
5 / 63 → 8%
Application Performance
30 / 70 → 43%
Temperature
87%
Noise
100%
Audio
50 / 91 → 55%
Camera
54%
Average
64%
74%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment on this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Cubot J3 Pro Smartphone Review
Florian Schmitt, 2019-04-10 (Update: 2019-04-12)
Alex Alderson
Alex Alderson - News Editor
I got my first smartphone aged 11, my first PC aged 12 and I have been tinkering with electronics ever since. I like to keep abreast of the latest news and technology, which inevitably leads me to switch my laptop and phone every few months. When I'm not writing for Notebookcheck, you will find me seeking out new coffee shops, bars and trying to find some hidden gems in record stores.