Notebookcheck

Xiaomi Mi A1 Smartphone Review

Christian Irion (translated by Mark Riege), 05/21/2018

Pure Android at a fair price. The Xiaomi Mi A1 is the European version of the Mi 5X. Equipped with LTE band 20 and Android One, for a low price, it offers not only regular and timely security updates but also a two-year update warranty on the security patches.

Working For Notebookcheck

Are you a techie who knows how to write? Then join our Team!

Currently wanted: 
News Editor - Details here

The Mi A1 offers Android One at a fair price
The Mi A1 offers Android One at a fair price

While the Mi A1 has identical hardware to the Mi 5X, the difference is that the Mi A1 additionally supports band 20 which is used in Germany. Furthermore, the Mi A1 is the first smartphone from Xiaomi that does not use the MIUI operating system which was developed in-house. Instead, the device has an Android-One certification, which means that the Chinese electronics manufacturer has installed a pure version of Android on the smartphone. This also results in a two-year update warranty and regular security updates.

The Xiaomi smartphone is equipped with a 5.5-inch display that has a Full HD resolution. The device is driven by a Snapdragon 625 and an Adreno 506 graphics processor. This hardware is supported by 64 GB of internal storage and 4 GB of working memory. The battery offers 3080 mAh. Visually, the Xiaomi Mi A1 reminds a little of an iPhone. The case has a height of 155.4 mm, width of 75.8 mm, and thickness of 7.3 mm (6.1 x 3 x 0.29 in) and the device weighs 165 grams (5.8 oz).

The competitors of the Mi A1 include the Nokia 6 (2018), the BQ Aquaris Pro, and the Motorola Z2 Play. All four smartphones are part of the mid-range performance segment and are equipped with pure Android or part of the Android One project, like the Mi A1 and the Nokia 6 (2018).

Xiaomi Mi A1 (Mi Series)
Graphics adapter
Qualcomm Adreno 506, Core: 650 MHz
Memory
4096 MB 
, LPDDR3
Display
5.5 inch 16:9, 1920 x 1080 pixel 403 PPI, Capacitive, multi-touch, IPS, Corning Gorilla Glass 3, glossy: yes
Storage
64 GB eMMC Flash, 64 GB 
, 52 GB free
Connections
1 (USB Type-C) USB 2.0, 1 Infrared, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm audio port, 1 Fingerprint Reader, Brightness Sensor, Sensors: Proximity sensor, acceleration sensor, compass, gyroscope, hall sensor, USB Type-C, Infrared transmitter, VoLTE, tethering
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac (a/b/g/n/ac), Bluetooth 4.2, GPRS / EDGE (2G): 850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz; UMTS / HSPA (3G): 850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz; LTE (4G): 800, 850, 900, 1800, 2100, 2600 MHz - Frequency bands 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 20, 38, 40, Dual SIM, LTE, GPS
Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 7.3 x 155.4 x 75.8 ( = 0.29 x 6.12 x 2.98 in)
Battery
3080 mAh Lithium-Polymer
Operating System
Android 7.1 Nougat
Camera
Primary Camera: 12 MPix f/​2.2, Phase comparison AF, dual-LED flash, videos @2160p/​30fps (main camera); 12.0 MP, f/​2.6, depth of focus, telephoto lens (secondary camera)
Secondary Camera: 5 MPix f/2.0 1.12μm
Additional features
Speakers: Single speaker with Dirac HD sound, Keyboard: Onscreen, Keyboard Light: yes, Android One, 24 Months Warranty, SAR: 1.75 W/kg (head), 0.76 W/kg (body)
Weight
165 g ( = 5.82 oz / 0.36 pounds) ( = 0 oz / 0 pounds)

 

Visually, the Mi A1 reminds a little of an iPhone 6S, 7, or 8 Plus. As always, whether you like this design or not is of course purely a matter of taste. The device has a unibody aluminum case, which is excellently built. Nothing wobbles or creaks.

The smartphone feels good in the hands and also looks very high-quality thanks to its aluminum case. You can look in vain for large or uneven gaps in the Mi A1. The workmanship is absolutely high-quality, and in terms of its case, the Mi A1 can definitely keep up with the upper mid-range beyond 400 Euros (~$472).

On the right side are the volume keys and the power button. The workmanship is very good here as well, and the keys are set tightly into their places and have a comfortable pressure point. On the left side is the SIM-card tray, which can either accept two nano-SIM cards or one nano-SIM card and one microSD card. On the bottom are the audio port, the microphone, a USB-C connection, and the speaker. On the top are an additional microphone and an infrared transmitter, and on the back there is the dual-camera system and the fingerprint reader. Below the 5.5-inch display are three sensor keys and above the display there is the speaker, a front camera, and the brightness sensor.

Xiaomi Mi A1
Xiaomi Mi A1
Xiaomi Mi A1
Xiaomi Mi A1
Xiaomi Mi A1
Xiaomi Mi A1
Xiaomi Mi A1

Size Comparison

Connections - All you need

In the Mi A1 as well as in the Mi 5X, Xiaomi uses the very popular Snapdragon 625 mid-range processor. The octa-core processor has a clock speed of up to 2.0 GHz and is accompanied by the Adreno 506 graphics unit, 4 GB of working memory, and 64 GB internal storage.

At the back of the smartphone is the fingerprint sensor. Even though it is not the fastest in this price range, it was able to cleanly unlock the device 10 times out of 10 during our test. The Mi A1 is one of the smartphones that comes with a 3.5 mm audio port without needing an adapter. The port is at the bottom of the device, together with the USB-C port which serves for charging and data transfer.

The smartphone can be officially ordered in the colors black, gold, and rose gold. While the Xiaomi website only lists a single version with 64 GB internal storage and 4 GB of working memory in the colors above, at this point you can also find a 32-GB version and even an additional color which reminds us of the Apple Red Edition in various online shops.

Left: SIM tray
Left: SIM tray
Right: volume rocker, power button
Right: volume rocker, power button
Bottom: headphone jack, microphone, USB-C port, speaker
Bottom: headphone jack, microphone, USB-C port, speaker
Top: microphone, infrared transmitter
Top: microphone, infrared transmitter

Software - More is less

The Mi A1 takes part in the Android One project, which Google started in 2014. The advantages of Android One are stock Android, regular security updates, and an update warranty of two years. 

Accordingly, Xiaomi delivers the smartphone with a pure, unmodified Android. There are only two additional apps Xiaomi preinstalled. These are the Mi Feedback app and an app to control the infrared transmitter. Additionally, the Android camera app was replaced by the MIUI camera app.

While initially the Mi A1 comes with Android 7.1.1, at the beginning of the year the smartphone received the Oreo update. Security updates are always offered in a timely manner, so that you can still get the corresponding update in the same month.

Home screen of the Mi A1
Home screen of the Mi A1
Notifications
Notifications
Preinstalled Google folder
Preinstalled Google folder
Preinstalled Xiaomi apps
Preinstalled Xiaomi apps
Android One main menu
Android One main menu
Android One settings
Android One settings
Android One settings bar
Android One settings bar
System information
System information

Communications and GPS - Band 20 and stable WLAN

The Mi A1 supports all the frequencies/bands that are used in Germany, including band 20 which is particularly relevant in rural areas. It also supports LTE Cat. 6, which enables a maximum of 300 Mbit/s during download and 50 Mbit/s during upload. During our test, the mobile reception was surprisingly good in a rural area and we were even able to always use LTE outdoors. 

The WLAN module of the Xiaomi Mi A1 operates in the 2.4 and 5.0-GHz bands and handles the IEEE-802.11 a/b/g/n/ac standards. The transfer rates to our Linksys EA8500 reference router are slightly above average. The download and upload rates during active use were always very good, no matter whether we were standing right in front of the router or in another room that was separated from the router by one or two walls. 

Networking
iperf3 Client (receive) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Nokia 6 2018
Adreno 508, 630, 32 GB eMMC Flash
289 MBit/s ∼100% +22%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
Adreno 506, 626, 64 GB eMMC Flash
242 MBit/s ∼84% +2%
Xiaomi Mi A1
Adreno 506, 625, 64 GB eMMC Flash
237 MBit/s ∼82%
Average of class Smartphone
  (30.5 - 939, n=243)
189 MBit/s ∼65% -20%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
Adreno 506, 626, 32 GB eMMC Flash
48.1 MBit/s ∼17% -80%
iperf3 Client (transmit) TCP 1 m 4M x10
Nokia 6 2018
Adreno 508, 630, 32 GB eMMC Flash
345 MBit/s ∼100% +46%
Xiaomi Mi A1
Adreno 506, 625, 64 GB eMMC Flash
237 MBit/s ∼69%
Average of class Smartphone
  (44.3 - 703, n=243)
185 MBit/s ∼54% -22%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
Adreno 506, 626, 64 GB eMMC Flash
148 MBit/s ∼43% -38%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
Adreno 506, 626, 32 GB eMMC Flash
29.5 MBit/s ∼9% -88%
GPS test outdoors
GPS test outdoors
GPS test indoors
GPS test indoors

The Xiaomi smartphone supports the GPS, A-GPS, Glonass, and BeiDou satellite networks. The mobile locating via GPS works fairly accurately and the operation of the built-in GPS sensor is always very reliable outdoors as well as indoors.

Our team tests the accuracy of the navigation of the Mi A1 using the Runtastic Pro app and compares this with the Garmin Edge 500 navigation system. While the Garmin Edge 500 measured a total route of 13.38 kilometers (8.31 miles), the measured route of the Mi A1 was 13.32 kilometers (8.28 miles). For such a long test route, this discrepancy is negligible, so the Xiaomi Mi A1 does very well overall for its price range in this test.

GPS test Xiaomi Mi A1
GPS test Xiaomi Mi A1
GPS test Xiaomi Mi A1
GPS test Xiaomi Mi A1
GPS test Xiaomi Mi A1
GPS test Xiaomi Mi A1
GPS test Garmin Edge 500
GPS test Garmin Edge 500
GPS test Garmin Edge 500
GPS test Garmin Edge 500
GPS test Garmin Edge 500
GPS test Garmin Edge 500

Telephone Functions and Call Quality - Very good with a small caveat

Telephone app of the Mi A1
Telephone app of the Mi A1
Contact list of the Mi A1
Contact list of the Mi A1

The Xiaomi Mi A1 uses the standard Google telephone app. In addition to menu items for Favorites, Recent (calls), and Contacts, there is also the button for the number key pad in order to dial a number. 

The call quality of the Mi A1 is completely convincing. Our conversation partner does not sound tinny, nor does our voice arrive tinny at their end. There is hardly any difference whether you are inside a building or outdoors. While the voice quality when calling with a headset is good, the plugged-in headset did not always work 100%. At times the communication could not be established at all or was only one-sided. Even changing the headset did not alleviate the problem here, and the sporadic failures still happened.

Cameras - Convincing throughout

5 MP front camera
5 MP front camera

With the Mi A1, Xiaomi is following the current dual-camera trend as well. The first thing we should mention is that compared to many other Chinese smartphones, the desired Bokeh (depth blurring) effect works very well here and comes relatively close to current flagship models. Xiaomi uses a dual-camera system with 2 x 12 MP lenses and one aperture of f/2.2 and one of f/2.6.

For the front camera, Xiaomi uses a 5-MP camera with an f/2.0 aperture.

For a device that costs less than 200 Euros (~$236; around $198 in the US), the recorded images are better than average, and that is not only during daylight but also indoors and in worse light conditions. Only the video-recordings are unconvincing. Due to the lack of an image stabilizer, the videos are very blurry, and video-recordings will only succeed if you have a really steady hand.

Taken with main camera
Taken with main camera
Taken with main camera (portrait mode)
Taken with main camera (portrait mode)

Image Comparison

Choose a scene and navigate within the first image. One click changes the position on touchscreens. One click on the zoomed-in image opens the original in a new window. The first image shows the scaled photograph of the test device.

Scene 1Scene 2Scene 3
click to load images

We test the image sharpness and color reproduction of the Mi A1 again under standardized light conditions in our test lab. Taking a picture of the ColorChecker, the colors are mostly quite accurate and only deviate a little from the actual reference colors.

In order to evaluate the sharpness of the photos, we take a picture of our test chart under controlled artificial light. While the text and lines can be seen clearly, the edges of the image tend towards some slight blurriness.

ColorChecker: The target color is displayed in the bottom half of each field.
ColorChecker: The target color is displayed in the bottom half of each field.
Picture of test chart
Test chart detail

Accessories and Warranty - Protective display cover included

Currently, it is still difficult to process a warranty claim directly with Xiaomi in European countries, since there are only a few Xiaomi shops there (and none in Germany). The warranty will therefore go through the vendor where you purchased the device, and the general warranty regulations in your country will be effective.

The accessories included with the Mi A1 can be quickly listed. Apart from the device, the box includes a USB-C data cable and the charger, a SIM-card tool, a quick-start description, and a screen protector with a cleaning cloth.

Input Devices and Operation - Standard keyboard and capacitive keys

The Mi A1 has three illuminated capacitive keys, which are below the display. They correspond to the Multitasking, Home, and Back functions. By default, the Standard Google GBoard keyboard is available for text and numeric input.

On-screen keyboard in portrait format
On-screen keyboard in portrait format
On-screen keyboard in portrait format
On-screen keyboard in portrait format
On-screen keyboard in landscape format
On-screen keyboard in landscape format

Display - Sunlight? Oh yes, I saw something...

Subpixel grid of the Mi A1
Subpixel grid of the Mi A1

Xiaomi has equipped the Mi A1 with a 5.5-inch LCD that has a resolution of 1920x1080 pixels, corresponding to a pixel density of 403 ppi. This display has a brightness sensor in the area at the top which works reliably and very well. During the whole test period, it did not even occur to us that we should manually readjust the brightness.

474
cd/m²
482
cd/m²
441
cd/m²
490
cd/m²
503
cd/m²
462
cd/m²
490
cd/m²
478
cd/m²
481
cd/m²
Distribution of brightness
X-Rite i1Pro 2
Maximum: 503 cd/m² Average: 477.9 cd/m²
Brightness Distribution: 88 %
Contrast: 1359:1 (Black: 0.37 cd/m²)
ΔE Color 3.92 | 0.4-29.43 Ø6.3
ΔE Greyscale 4.9 | 0.64-98 Ø6.5
98% sRGB (Calman 2D)
Gamma: 2.223
Xiaomi Mi A1
IPS, 1920x1080, 5.5
Nokia 6 2018
IPS, 1920x1080, 5.5
BQ Aquaris X Pro
IPS, 1920x1080, 5.2
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
AMOLED, 1920x1080, 5.5
Screen
-36%
-45%
-7%
Brightness middle
503
417
-17%
458
-9%
434
-14%
Brightness
478
421
-12%
473
-1%
404
-15%
Brightness Distribution
88
88
0%
88
0%
81
-8%
Black Level *
0.37
0.61
-65%
0.51
-38%
Contrast
1359
684
-50%
898
-34%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 *
3.92
6.1
-56%
7.1
-81%
4.4
-12%
Colorchecker DeltaE2000 max. *
7.86
11.2
-42%
14.5
-84%
8.6
-9%
Greyscale DeltaE2000 *
4.9
7.1
-45%
10.5
-114%
4.2
14%
Gamma
2.223 108%
2.16 111%
2.28 105%
2.24 107%
CCT
7884 82%
8362 78%
8951 73%
7343 89%

* ... smaller is better

Screen Flickering / PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation)

To dim the screen, some notebooks will simply cycle the backlight on and off in rapid succession - a method called Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) . This cycling frequency should ideally be undetectable to the human eye. If said frequency is too low, users with sensitive eyes may experience strain or headaches or even notice the flickering altogether.
Screen flickering / PWM not detected

In comparison: 54 % of all tested devices do not use PWM to dim the display. If PWM was detected, an average of 8895 (minimum: 43 - maximum: 142900) Hz was measured.

Directly when turning on the Mi A1, you already notice that the colors of the IPS panel appear very strong and natural. The black values are very good for an IPS display. The color reproduction deviates only slightly from the sRGB color space, but keep in mind that the color-space coverage is only an approximate value. 

The display shows slight weaknesses in the gray values, tending towards showing a blue tint. The measured contrast is also acceptable for a device of this price range.

CalMAN Grayscales (sRGB target color space)
CalMAN Grayscales (sRGB target color space)
CalMAN saturation (sRGB target color space)
CalMAN saturation (sRGB target color space)
CalMAN color space (sRGB target color space)
CalMAN color space (sRGB target color space)
CalMAN color accuracy (sRGB target color space)
CalMAN color accuracy (sRGB target color space)

Display Response Times

Display response times show how fast the screen is able to change from one color to the next. Slow response times can lead to afterimages and can cause moving objects to appear blurry (ghosting). Gamers of fast-paced 3D titles should pay special attention to fast response times.
       Response Time Black to White
30 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 17 ms rise
↘ 13 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.8 (minimum) to 240 (maximum) ms. » 73 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (25.9 ms).
       Response Time 50% Grey to 80% Grey
55 ms ... rise ↗ and fall ↘ combined↗ 22 ms rise
↘ 23 ms fall
The screen shows slow response rates in our tests and will be unsatisfactory for gamers.
In comparison, all tested devices range from 0.9 (minimum) to 636 (maximum) ms. » 90 % of all devices are better.
This means that the measured response time is worse than the average of all tested devices (41.4 ms).

The display built into the Mi A1 is based on IPS technology. With this, the Xiaomi smartphone has very good viewing-angle stability and there are no color distortions or blue veils, as can occur in OLED displays. Even at steep viewing angles, there are no color distortions; the screen merely appears a little darker. Outdoors or in bright surroundings, the display is always sufficiently readable.

Viewing angle outdoors
Viewing angle outdoors
Viewing angle outdoors
Viewing angle outdoors
Viewing angle outdoors
Viewing angle outdoors
Viewing angle in the dark
Viewing angle in the dark

Performance - Mid-range but sufficient

Quality journalism is made possible by advertising. We show the least amount of ads whenever possible. We intentionally show more ads when an adblocker is used. Please, switch off ad blockers.

Xiaomi has equipped the Mi A1 with the very popular Snapdragon 625 mid-range processor and 4 GB of working memory. The Snapdragon 625 offers a good performance while being extremely energy-efficient. The octa-core processor has a maximum clock speed of 2.0 GHz and is excellently suited for standard tasks such as emails, surfing on the web or social networks, and playing videos and standard games. However, if it is important to you to play more-demanding 3D games, you should choose a more powerful device. For example, Xiaomi has introduced the Black Shark gamer smartphone.

AnTuTu v6 - Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
63101 Points ∼87%
Nokia 6 2018
72580 Points ∼100% +15%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
66226 Points ∼91% +5%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
67578 Points ∼93% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (59867 - 66045, n=15)
62872 Points ∼87% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (23275 - 230642, n=336)
70824 Points ∼98% +12%
PCMark for Android
Work 2.0 performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
4895 Points ∼99%
Nokia 6 2018
4719 Points ∼96% -4%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
4915 Points ∼100% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
4924 Points ∼100% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (4626 - 5558, n=12)
4896 Points ∼99% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (3138 - 8601, n=201)
4453 Points ∼90% -9%
Work performance score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
5721 Points ∼94%
Nokia 6 2018
5484 Points ∼90% -4%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
5886 Points ∼97% +3%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
6096 Points ∼100% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (4596 - 7846, n=14)
5859 Points ∼96% +2%
Average of class Smartphone (2516 - 10264, n=365)
4677 Points ∼77% -18%
BaseMark OS II
Web (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
895 Points ∼100%
Nokia 6 2018
895 Points ∼100% 0%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
806 Points ∼90% -10%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
10 Points ∼1% -99%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (649 - 958, n=15)
767 Points ∼86% -14%
Average of class Smartphone (7 - 1682, n=441)
672 Points ∼75% -25%
Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
1012 Points ∼67%
Nokia 6 2018
1520 Points ∼100% +50%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
1012 Points ∼67% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
1006 Points ∼66% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (968 - 1026, n=15)
1008 Points ∼66% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (18 - 9248, n=441)
1505 Points ∼99% +49%
Memory (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
881 Points ∼76%
Nokia 6 2018
1161 Points ∼100% +32%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
1046 Points ∼90% +19%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
928 Points ∼80% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (584 - 1553, n=15)
1005 Points ∼87% +14%
Average of class Smartphone (21 - 4798, n=441)
1124 Points ∼97% +28%
System (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
3187 Points ∼91%
Nokia 6 2018
3237 Points ∼93% +2%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
3492 Points ∼100% +10%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
3154 Points ∼90% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (1960 - 3261, n=15)
2773 Points ∼79% -13%
Average of class Smartphone (369 - 10281, n=441)
2244 Points ∼64% -30%
Overall (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
1263 Points ∼84%
Nokia 6 2018
1504 Points ∼100% +19%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
1314 Points ∼87% +4%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
412 Points ∼27% -67%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (1019 - 1323, n=15)
1198 Points ∼80% -5%
Average of class Smartphone (1 - 4308, n=444)
1134 Points ∼75% -10%
Geekbench 4.1/4.2
Compute RenderScript Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
3678 Points ∼96%
Nokia 6 2018
3690 Points ∼96% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
3092 Points ∼81% -16%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (2628 - 3678, n=8)
3197 Points ∼83% -13%
Average of class Smartphone (836 - 14362, n=138)
3831 Points ∼100% +4%
64 Bit Multi-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
4396 Points ∼98%
Nokia 6 2018
883 Points ∼20% -80%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
4369 Points ∼98% -1%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
4471 Points ∼100% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (3148 - 4396, n=10)
4131 Points ∼92% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (1131 - 10558, n=185)
3970 Points ∼89% -10%
64 Bit Single-Core Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
881 Points ∼21%
Nokia 6 2018
4210 Points ∼100% +378%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
928 Points ∼22% +5%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
907 Points ∼22% +3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (841 - 881, n=11)
784 Points ∼19% -11%
Average of class Smartphone (394 - 4265, n=186)
1175 Points ∼28% +33%
3DMark
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
2070 Points ∼96%
Nokia 6 2018
1738 Points ∼80% -16%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
2132 Points ∼98% +3%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
2166 Points ∼100% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (1636 - 2177, n=15)
1941 Points ∼90% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (530 - 3669, n=290)
1554 Points ∼72% -25%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
388 Points ∼37%
Nokia 6 2018
707 Points ∼67% +82%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
379 Points ∼36% -2%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
383 Points ∼36% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (372 - 393, n=15)
382 Points ∼36% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (67 - 5220, n=290)
1056 Points ∼100% +172%
2560x1440 Sling Shot Extreme (ES 3.1) (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
473 Points ∼47%
Nokia 6 2018
814 Points ∼80% +72%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
464 Points ∼46% -2%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
469 Points ∼46% -1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (452 - 480, n=15)
465 Points ∼46% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (83 - 4732, n=298)
1012 Points ∼100% +114%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
2079 Points ∼96%
Nokia 6 2018
1733 Points ∼80% -17%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
2127 Points ∼98% +2%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
2167 Points ∼100% +4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (1631 - 2157, n=15)
1951 Points ∼90% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (524 - 3642, n=321)
1455 Points ∼67% -30%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 Graphics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
390 Points ∼27%
Nokia 6 2018
1249 Points ∼88% +220%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
725 Points ∼51% +86%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
724 Points ∼51% +86%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (390 - 743, n=15)
705 Points ∼49% +81%
Average of class Smartphone (43 - 8312, n=321)
1426 Points ∼100% +266%
2560x1440 Sling Shot OpenGL ES 3.0 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
476 Points ∼36%
Nokia 6 2018
1332 Points ∼100% +180%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
849 Points ∼64% +78%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
850 Points ∼64% +79%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (476 - 870, n=15)
819 Points ∼61% +72%
Average of class Smartphone (55 - 6378, n=329)
1227 Points ∼92% +158%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Physics (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
15816 Points ∼92%
Nokia 6 2018
13196 Points ∼77% -17%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
17044 Points ∼99% +8%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
17204 Points ∼100% +9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (14195 - 16267, n=14)
15714 Points ∼91% -1%
Average of class Smartphone (5462 - 36494, n=476)
12164 Points ∼71% -23%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Graphics Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
13314 Points ∼72%
Nokia 6 2018
18572 Points ∼100% +39%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
13277 Points ∼71% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
13376 Points ∼72% 0%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (7668 - 13491, n=14)
12897 Points ∼69% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (2396 - 113380, n=476)
15585 Points ∼84% +17%
1280x720 offscreen Ice Storm Unlimited Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
13799 Points ∼81%
Nokia 6 2018
17030 Points ∼100% +23%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
13963 Points ∼82% +1%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
14072 Points ∼83% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (8541 - 14003, n=14)
13414 Points ∼79% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (2841 - 64405, n=477)
13472 Points ∼79% -2%
GFXBench (DX / GLBenchmark) 2.7
1920x1080 T-Rex HD Offscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
23 fps ∼77%
Nokia 6 2018
30 fps ∼100% +30%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
23 fps ∼77% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
22 fps ∼73% -4%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (22 - 23, n=15)
22.9 fps ∼76% 0%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 177, n=502)
27 fps ∼90% +17%
T-Rex HD Onscreen C24Z16 (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
22 fps ∼71%
Nokia 6 2018
31 fps ∼100% +41%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
22 fps ∼71% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
23 fps ∼74% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (17 - 35, n=15)
22.2 fps ∼72% +1%
Average of class Smartphone (6.9 - 120, n=505)
23.5 fps ∼76% +7%
GFXBench 3.0
off screen Manhattan Offscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
9.8 fps ∼68%
Nokia 6 2018
14 fps ∼97% +43%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
9.8 fps ∼68% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
9.9 fps ∼69% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (3.1 - 10, n=15)
9.37 fps ∼65% -4%
Average of class Smartphone (1.6 - 88.2, n=425)
14.4 fps ∼100% +47%
on screen Manhattan Onscreen OGL (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
9.5 fps ∼63%
Nokia 6 2018
15 fps ∼100% +58%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
9.6 fps ∼64% +1%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
10 fps ∼67% +5%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (7.4 - 18, n=15)
10.1 fps ∼67% +6%
Average of class Smartphone (4.1 - 115, n=427)
14.5 fps ∼97% +53%
GFXBench 3.1
off screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
6.4 fps ∼51%
Nokia 6 2018
9.8 fps ∼78% +53%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
6.4 fps ∼51% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
6.5 fps ∼52% +2%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (3.5 - 7, n=15)
6.19 fps ∼50% -3%
Average of class Smartphone (1.2 - 60, n=288)
12.5 fps ∼100% +95%
on screen Manhattan ES 3.1 Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
6.3 fps ∼50%
Nokia 6 2018
10 fps ∼79% +59%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
6.3 fps ∼50% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
7 fps ∼56% +11%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (3.1 - 14, n=15)
6.55 fps ∼52% +4%
Average of class Smartphone (2.5 - 110, n=290)
12.6 fps ∼100% +100%
GFXBench 4.0
off screen Car Chase Offscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
3.6 fps ∼42%
Nokia 6 2018
5.6 fps ∼66% +56%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
3.5 fps ∼41% -3%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
3.5 fps ∼41% -3%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (3.4 - 3.8, n=14)
3.51 fps ∼41% -2%
Average of class Smartphone (0.76 - 35, n=219)
8.51 fps ∼100% +136%
on screen Car Chase Onscreen (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
3.5 fps ∼45%
Nokia 6 2018
5.9 fps ∼75% +69%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
3.5 fps ∼45% 0%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
3.8 fps ∼49% +9%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (3.1 - 7.4, n=14)
3.76 fps ∼48% +7%
Average of class Smartphone (1.3 - 50, n=222)
7.82 fps ∼100% +123%
AnTuTu v7
MEM (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
4570 Points ∼71%
Nokia 6 2018
5884 Points ∼91% +29%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
5406 Points ∼84% +18%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (0 - 6586, n=5)
4312 Points ∼67% -6%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 17441, n=113)
6452 Points ∼100% +41%
UX (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
21164 Points ∼82%
Nokia 6 2018
25223 Points ∼98% +19%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
21477 Points ∼83% +1%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (0 - 21649, n=5)
16696 Points ∼65% -21%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 58766, n=113)
25844 Points ∼100% +22%
GPU (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
12776 Points ∼43%
Nokia 6 2018
19743 Points ∼67% +55%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
13693 Points ∼47% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (0 - 13599, n=5)
10363 Points ∼35% -19%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 128264, n=113)
29439 Points ∼100% +130%
CPU (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
38651 Points ∼93%
Nokia 6 2018
39585 Points ∼95% +2%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
41767 Points ∼100% +8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (0 - 40836, n=5)
31359 Points ∼75% -19%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 99873, n=113)
41535 Points ∼99% +7%
Total Score (sort by value)
Xiaomi Mi A1
77161 Points ∼75%
Nokia 6 2018
90435 Points ∼88% +17%
BQ Aquaris X Pro
82343 Points ∼80% +7%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (0 - 81789, n=5)
62730 Points ∼61% -19%
Average of class Smartphone (0 - 290397, n=113)
103239 Points ∼100% +34%

Legend

 
Xiaomi Mi A1 Qualcomm Snapdragon 625, Qualcomm Adreno 506, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Nokia 6 2018 Qualcomm Snapdragon 630, Qualcomm Adreno 508, 32 GB eMMC Flash
 
BQ Aquaris X Pro Qualcomm Snapdragon 626, Qualcomm Adreno 506, 64 GB eMMC Flash
 
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play Qualcomm Snapdragon 626, Qualcomm Adreno 506, 32 GB eMMC Flash
JetStream 1.1 - 1.1 Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (11.4 - 224, n=360)
33.7 Points ∼100% +29%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play (Chrome 59)
32.796 Points ∼97% +26%
Nokia 6 2018 (Browser: Chrome 65)
28.167 Points ∼84% +8%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (23.1 - 31.8, n=15)
27.7 Points ∼82% +6%
BQ Aquaris X Pro (Chrome 59.0.3071.125)
26.837 Points ∼80% +3%
Xiaomi Mi A1
26.077 Points ∼77%
Octane V2 - Total Score
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play (Chrome 59)
5204 Points ∼100% +9%
Average of class Smartphone (1506 - 35255, n=496)
5011 Points ∼96% +5%
Nokia 6 2018 (Browser: Chrome 65)
4993 Points ∼96% +5%
Xiaomi Mi A1
4756 Points ∼91%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (3804 - 4979, n=15)
4555 Points ∼88% -4%
BQ Aquaris X Pro (Chrome 59.0.3071.125)
4424 Points ∼85% -7%
Mozilla Kraken 1.1 - Total Score
Average of class Smartphone (718 - 59466, n=515)
11883 ms * ∼100% -20%
Nokia 6 2018 (Browser: Chrome 65)
9922.7 ms * ∼84% -1%
Xiaomi Mi A1
9867.5 ms * ∼83%
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 (8028 - 10895, n=15)
9055 ms * ∼76% +8%
BQ Aquaris X Pro (Chrome 59.0.3071.125)
8741.5 ms * ∼74% +11%
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play (Chrome 59)
7667 ms * ∼65% +22%

* ... smaller is better

The internal storage of the Mi A1 is 64 GB in our test unit and you can also purchase a device with 32 GB of internal storage. This can be expanded via microSD, microSDHC, or microSDXC card if necessary. Once the microSD card is recognized by the device, you can choose between the options to use as portable storage or internal storage. 

Xiaomi Mi A1Nokia 6 2018BQ Aquaris X ProLenovo Moto Z2 PlayAverage 64 GB eMMC FlashAverage of class Smartphone
AndroBench 3-5
4%
-6%
78%
4%
-18%
Sequential Write 256KB SDCard
57.9
61.29 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
6%
49.77 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M401)
-14%
58.71 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
1%
51.9 (19.6 - 74.7, n=49)
-10%
43.8 (6.38 - 87.1, n=270)
-24%
Sequential Read 256KB SDCard
83.62
83.42 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
0%
78.69 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M401)
-6%
79.69 (Toshiba Exceria Pro M501)
-5%
70.2 (21.1 - 86.9, n=49)
-16%
62.1 (10.8 - 96.5, n=270)
-26%
Random Write 4KB
7.19
15.3
113%
12.07
68%
47.9
566%
15.4 (3.4 - 71.1, n=57)
114%
13.5 (0.14 - 164, n=549)
88%
Random Read 4KB
78.05
38.78
-50%
37.97
-51%
38.2
-51%
48.1 (11.4 - 149, n=57)
-38%
34.5 (1.59 - 173, n=549)
-56%
Sequential Write 256KB
202.45
118.32
-42%
139.63
-31%
137.5
-32%
160 (40 - 216, n=57)
-21%
71.7 (2.99 - 228, n=549)
-65%
Sequential Read 256KB
277.43
272.59
-2%
270.46
-3%
245.6
-11%
266 (115 - 704, n=57)
-4%
211 (12.1 - 832, n=549)
-24%

Games - Not a gaming machine but acceptable

The Snapdragon 625 is accompanied by the Adreno 506 GPU which has a clock speed of 650 MHz. According to the manufacturer Qualcomm, the Adreno 506 GPU is supposed to be software compatible with the Adreno 530 top model in the Snapdragon 820.

Games such as Dream League Soccer 2018 and Shadow Fight 3 run smoothly and can be controlled well by the touchscreen.

Dream League Soccer 2018 on the Mi A1
Dream League Soccer 2018 on the Mi A1
Dream League Soccer 2018 on the Mi A1
Dream League Soccer 2018 on the Mi A1
Shadow Fight 3 on the Mi A1
Shadow Fight 3 on the Mi A1
Shadow Fight 3 on the Mi A1
Shadow Fight 3 on the Mi A1

Emissions - No warming worth mention

Temperature

In everyday usage, the temperature development of the Mi A1 poses no problem. Even during longer gaming or surfing, the smartphone does not feel particularly warm. Under full load of the systems (CPU and GPU) in the stress test using the application stability test for at least one hour, the smartphone warms up to a maximum of 37.6 °C (100 °F) at the front of the device and 36.6 °C (98 °F) at the back.

Max. Load
 35.8 °C
96 F
32.7 °C
91 F
33.4 °C
92 F
 
 37.6 °C
100 F
32.4 °C
90 F
34.5 °C
94 F
 
 34 °C
93 F
32.1 °C
90 F
32.4 °C
90 F
 
Maximum: 37.6 °C = 100 F
Average: 33.9 °C = 93 F
31.1 °C
88 F
32.7 °C
91 F
33.5 °C
92 F
31.5 °C
89 F
32.5 °C
91 F
36.6 °C
98 F
31.7 °C
89 F
32.7 °C
91 F
33.1 °C
92 F
Maximum: 36.6 °C = 98 F
Average: 32.8 °C = 91 F
Power Supply (max.)  35.5 °C = 96 F | Room Temperature 22 °C = 72 F | Voltcraft IR-260
Heat development, front
Heat development, front
Heat development, back
Heat development, back

Speaker

Pink-Noise speaker test
Pink-Noise speaker test

Xiaomi has positioned the speaker of the Mi A1 on the bottom of the case. With its 86.2 dB(A) at full volume, the smartphone does well, and even at this volume the Mi A1 convinces with a clear sound. There were no distortions or uncomfortable noises. However, like almost all smartphones, the Xiaomi also has difficulties reproducing songs that are bass-heavy, and the bass is almost completely drowned out.

Headphones can be connected to the device via the 3.5 mm audio jack. The sound quality via the headphone output is very good, and in this way it is pleasant to listen to bass-heavy songs with the corresponding output device.

dB(A) 0102030405060708090Deep BassMiddle BassHigh BassLower RangeMidsHigher MidsLower HighsMid HighsUpper HighsSuper Highs2028.730.52525.832.43129.831.14029.327.85032.534.3632325.78024.625.310024.825.212520.823.416020.131.420019.649.225018.657.831516.459.740015.965.65001570.863014.673.380014.271.2100013.976.6125013.876160013.774.4200013.573.9250013.675.8315013.777.1400013.774500013.974630013.972.780001470.6100001468.2125001464.9160001449.1SPL26.386.2N0.867.5median 14Xiaomi Mi A1median 70.8Delta2.11135.245.832.946.537.232.231.738.439.639.728.332.227.330.926.929.726.732.52433.620.939.120.947.319.551.118.559.217.568.517.566.715.768.515.872.916.673.615.87515.476.815.578.51676.715.876.41676.116.375.516.375.516.268.616.463.616.452.128.687.21.167.9median 16.4Nokia 6 2018median 68.52.112.531.634.925.436.225.331.132.928.533.633.431.631.128.423.82724.820.829.62234.621.342.220.847.621.251.919.45619.557.917.759.717.962.517.864.817.366.117.467.516.77417.274.218.271.117.977.917.681.417.778.317.875.317.97318.170.518.263.73086.11.360median 17.9BQ Aquaris X Promedian 64.81.31231.62725.426.225.331.132.930.533.627.731.626.928.425.32725.520.830.42240.121.347.720.849.721.256.919.460.919.564.217.767.517.972.317.876.317.376.917.477.116.774.117.272.718.274.917.972.617.674.317.773.517.874.517.978.818.177.818.270.43086.81.368.2median 17.9Lenovo Moto Z2 Playmedian 72.61.39.5hearing rangehide median Pink Noise
Frequency diagram (checkboxes can be checked and unchecked to compare devices)
Xiaomi Mi A1 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.2 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 29.7% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (11.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 3.2% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 3.2% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (3.1% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (19.4% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 9% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 87% worse
» The best had a delta of 14%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 39% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 55% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Nokia 6 2018 audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (87.2 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 29.6% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (7.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.4% away from median
(±) | linearity of mids is average (7% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 6.9% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (3.2% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (23.6% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 35% of all tested devices in this class were better, 12% similar, 53% worse
» The best had a delta of 14%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 63% of all tested devices were better, 8% similar, 29% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

BQ Aquaris X Pro audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.1 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 26.4% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (10% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.5% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.9% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(±) | higher highs - on average 11.1% higher than median
(+) | highs are linear (6.7% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (25.9% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 53% of all tested devices in this class were better, 13% similar, 34% worse
» The best had a delta of 14%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 74% of all tested devices were better, 7% similar, 20% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Lenovo Moto Z2 Play audio analysis

(+) | speakers can play relatively loud (86.8 dB)
Bass 100 - 315 Hz
(-) | nearly no bass - on average 30.9% lower than median
(±) | linearity of bass is average (9.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Mids 400 - 2000 Hz
(+) | balanced mids - only 4.9% away from median
(+) | mids are linear (5.3% delta to prev. frequency)
Highs 2 - 16 kHz
(+) | balanced highs - only 1.9% away from median
(+) | highs are linear (3.6% delta to prev. frequency)
Overall 100 - 16.000 Hz
(±) | linearity of overall sound is average (19.5% difference to median)
Compared to same class
» 10% of all tested devices in this class were better, 4% similar, 86% worse
» The best had a delta of 14%, average was 25%, worst was 44%
Compared to all devices tested
» 40% of all tested devices were better, 6% similar, 54% worse
» The best had a delta of 3%, average was 21%, worst was 53%

Battery life - High power usage

Power Consumption

In terms of the battery, the Xiaomi Mi A1 is anything but an energy-efficient device. In our test, the Mi A1 always had higher power consumption than the comparison devices. In tasks that demand the maximum performance of the smartphone, the consumption can quickly rise to 7.2 watts.

Power Consumption
Off / Standbydarklight 1.52 / 1.9 Watt
Idledarkmidlight 2.2 / 2.8 / 3.4 Watt
Load midlight 6.2 / 7.2 Watt
 color bar
Key: min: dark, med: mid, max: light        Metrahit Energy
Xiaomi Mi A1
3080 mAh
Nokia 6 2018
3000 mAh
BQ Aquaris X Pro
3100 mAh
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
3000 mAh
Average Qualcomm Snapdragon 625
 
Average of class Smartphone
 
Power Consumption
49%
40%
69%
38%
40%
Idle Minimum *
2.2
0.67
70%
0.67
70%
0.45
80%
0.958 (0.49 - 2.2, n=15)
56%
0.866 (0.2 - 3.4, n=576)
61%
Idle Average *
2.8
1.76
37%
1.7
39%
0.78
72%
2 (0.87 - 3.92, n=15)
29%
1.697 (0.6 - 6.2, n=575)
39%
Idle Maximum *
3.4
1.78
48%
1.78
48%
0.84
75%
2.19 (0.9 - 4.03, n=15)
36%
1.945 (0.74 - 6.6, n=576)
43%
Load Average *
6.2
2.82
55%
4.42
29%
1.69
73%
3.46 (1.69 - 6.2, n=15)
44%
3.97 (0.8 - 10.8, n=570)
36%
Load Maximum *
7.2
4.56
37%
6.3
12%
3.79
47%
5.36 (3.8 - 7.2, n=15)
26%
5.6 (1.2 - 14.2, n=570)
22%

* ... smaller is better

Battery Life

The Mi A1 is equipped with a 3080 mAh battery. In our WLAN test, the device lasted for 10:33 hours. For anyone who uses their smartphone very little and only occasionally checks their email during the day, surfs through the social networks, or checks news on the web, the battery might generally last about two days. But for those who are not that disciplined when it comes to surfing, it means that the smartphone needs to be charged almost daily. It takes about 1:45 hours to fully recharge the battery with the included charger.

Battery Runtime
NBC WiFi Websurfing Battery Test 1.3
10h 33min
Xiaomi Mi A1
3080 mAh
Nokia 6 2018
3000 mAh
BQ Aquaris X Pro
3100 mAh
Lenovo Moto Z2 Play
3000 mAh
Battery Runtime
49%
15%
18%
Reader / Idle
1833
1840
1589
WiFi v1.3
633
942
49%
730
15%
749
18%
Load
362
254
477
H.264
675
644
946

Pros

+ excellent camera for photos
+ very good workmanship
+ bright display
+ good color reproduction
+ very good voice quality

Cons

- high power consumption
- headsets do not always work as they should
- no image stabilizer
- only mediocre battery life

Verdict - Quite worth consideration

In review: Xiaomi Mi A1. Test unit provided by notebooksbilliger.de
In review: Xiaomi Mi A1. Test unit provided by notebooksbilliger.de

The Mi A1 is the first smartphone from Xiaomi that is not delivered with the in-house MIUI operating system; it comes with stock Android instead. Since the Mi A1 is part of the Android One project, you are ensured of quick security updates and an update warranty of two years. As the smartphone was developed in a manner targeted for the European market, the often necessary LTE band 20 is also on board. In terms of its hardware, the Xiaomi Mi A1 is a very good mid-range smartphone.

One of the advantages of the Xiaomi smartphones is its camera, which for its price-range takes excellent pictures with the Bokeh (depth blurring) effect. In addition, the device offers a sharp and bright display, a processor and working memory that are sufficiently sized for standard applications, USB-C, and a fingerprint reader that works very reliably even though it is not the fastest on the market. Anyone using the Mi A1 for navigation can also be sure of having made a good choice. 

Alternative devices to the Xiaomi Mi A1 are, for example, the Nokia 6 (2018), the BQ Aquaris x Pro, and the Motorola Z2 Play. All these devices come with stock Android and offer similar performance. In terms of its price, the Mi A1 currently lies even significantly below the alternative devices. 

Xiaomi Mi A1 - 06/14/2018 v6
Christian Irion

Chassis
84%
Keyboard
65 / 75 → 87%
Pointing Device
93%
Connectivity
44 / 60 → 73%
Weight
91%
Battery
93%
Display
75%
Games Performance
25 / 63 → 40%
Application Performance
51 / 70 → 73%
Temperature
92%
Noise
100%
Audio
64 / 91 → 70%
Camera
68%
Average
73%
82%
Smartphone - Weighted Average

Pricecompare

Read all 2 comments / answer
static version load dynamic
Loading Comments
Comment this article
Please share our article, every link counts!
> Notebook / Laptop Reviews and News > Reviews > Xiaomi Mi A1 Smartphone Review
Christian Irion, 2018-05-21 (Update: 2018-05-23)